TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

Prince Harry may return to Afghanistan as front line pilot

Captain Wales became a fully-qualified Apache Attack helicopter pilot yesterday.

Image: LS3 Sarah Candito, US Department of Defense 2011

PRINCE HARRY – OR Captain Wales as he is known in the army – is to return to Afghanistan after completing training as an Apache Attack helicopter pilot.

Following 18 months of rigorous training in the US, Prince Harry was named the best co-pilot gunner by 20 fellow students at an honourary dinner last night.

The Apache training is known as one of the most difficult courses that a pilot can take within the army and the Prince’s success has been hailed by Clarence House.

It also makes the 27-year-old’s wish to return to the front line a more real prospect.

He is now capable of flying one of the most sophisticated attack helicopters in the world and, according to morning reports, will be expected to do so in Afghanistan soon.

The Daily Telegraph reports that the 27-year-old will join a unit which has the highest “kill rate” of any currently serving in Afghanistan.

The Apache AH Mk1 fleet is charged with providing deterrence, as well as close combat attack capabilities there.

Of the 67 aircraft strong fleet, a number are also deployed in Libya. The attack helicopter is designed to hunt and destroy armoured vehicles and can operate in all weathers, day and night, and can detect, classify and prioritise up to 256 potential targets in seconds through its fire control radar.

It carries a mix of weapons, including rockets, Hellfire missiles and a 30mm chain gun.

Before heading to the front line, Captain Wales will be assigned to the 662 squadron in the Apache force based at Wattisham and take part in exercises based in the UK. Once pre-deployment training is complete, he will be classed as “combat ready”.

Last night, Clarence House tweeted about the honours, stating that the Prince of Wales is “very proud” of his son’s achievement.

When he is eventually deployed to Afghanistan, it will mean that the royal family will have two active members of the Armed Forces out on operational service. His brother, the Duke of Cambridge, is currently serving as an RAF pilot in the Falklands region.

However, any tour of duty will be subject to review by senior generals and the Prime Minister, reports the Telegraph. Despite concerns, the Prince himself has always made it clear that he wants to return to military life on the front line.

Prince Harry’s first – and only – tour in 2008 ended after a media embargo was inadvertently broken by an Australian magazine.

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (45 Comments)

• I honestly can’t believe the attitude of the people on here…..if Prince Harry was swanning around doing nothing people would be saying why doesn’t he do something productive & now that he is proving that he is a capable hard working man people are being critical and making a big laugh and joke of it. For Gods sake would people get over their mean mindedness and jealousy and give a bit of credit where it’s due, i just don’t get the kind of people who mostly write on the Journal blogs, they are so negative and whinging over almost everything that’s reported, if what they read annoys them so much and gives them so much angst why read it at all. Get over yerselves and stop the negative attitudes and believe me ye’d all feel better….but then again no doubt the type of people who are always in a negative frame of mind don’t actually want to feel happy and upbeat about life.

• His father must be very proud…and i’m not talking about Charles

• The spare heir is up in the air!

• You tell ‘em Mary!

• Deke
    of course people can say what they like, I’ve no problem with free speech, the point I was making is that so many people who make comments are so negative and sound so pis……..ed off over everything that I wonder why they read the Journal at all if it annoys them so much? I’m an optimist and I don’t get annoyed over what negative people say, my attitude is they are the ones with the problem not me, but some people just seem to be unable to see a good side to any story and to be honest I pity people like that as I believe they must be very unhappy in their own skin. Anyway to get back to the question of Prince Harry going to Afghanistan etc. well I say good on him for not living a “royal” life, instead he is out there working hard and contributing to his country in a positive way. I know the question of war is a very emotive issue and people have many different points of view & to be honest I don’t know enough about the situation in Afghanistan to give an opinion but I just think Prince Harry is showing great maturity and responsibility by working hard and not just hanging around being a spoilt rich kid.

• This ain’t a positive news story. Its an illegal war that was initiated after the furor of 9/11 in order to secure pipelines, opium production and strategic miltary bases under the guise of a bullshit war on terror that has resulted in the deaths of thousands of innocent men, women and children on the Afghan side and poor brainwashed soldiers on Nato’s side. With the fall of communism the miltary industry needed a new enemy to justify its vasts budgets, hence the orchestrated war on terror. I’ll be positive when these impearlistic empires with their corporations and miltary are stopped.

• Is this Actual News ???

• No this not news that should concern us in Ireland, it is just the journals daily story which brings out the haters and helps deflect the anger away from an inept government, and keeps people firmly in a past mindset , Good job journal thumbs up to you for keeping the media real

• Hey Maria and Robert,

The story is filed under our International News section. Just wanted to clarify.

Thanks,
      Sinead

• Thanks for that Sinead, Its not the story its the “may” that makes me wonder!! Definately not a hater, live & let live!!

• UK media outlets are reporting that he is to return but due to the variety of factors that are yet to be determined (Prime Minister approval, media embargoes, his safety etc.) – I believe it is more factual to say he could or may return. Either way it’s still an International news story given his position…

• Bragging about having the highest “Kill Rate” sums it up.They aren’t there to ‘help’. And PS my cats name is apache,She too has a high kill rate.

• fair play to him for getting stuck in, its says alot about his character. He could quite easily chill out in Buck house but hes putting his life on the line for his Queen and Country. To be admired. I wish him all the best over there.

• What a joke the closest he will come to the front line is skipping the queue in the officers’ mess.

• Lot of thumbs down here. Didn’t realise so many royalists read the Journal.

• I can imagine it now couple of pictures with gun in hand the rest will probably be akin to captain blackadder

• Vivas las Malvinas !

• Oh, you must mean the uninhabited islands that the British, French and Spanish fought over, and that the British claimed in the early 1800s! Funny enough, the people who live there are British, and suffered pretty bad treatment at the hands of the Argentinians during the Falklands War, so I believe they have emphatically stated (without coercion) that they want to remain British.

Since no Argentinians have EVER lived on the Falkland Islands, Im not entirely convinced they have a claim.

Oh, and as an example, even though we are located right beside Britain, we’d rather not join them in political union THANK YOU VERY MUCH

• The Falklands were run from Buenos Aries long before the English established control. In fact they had it 70 years before, and the colonial administration in Buenos Aries had purchased it off the French in the 1760’s, having had settlers there for many years previous. They established a full colony there in the 1820’s with Britain having no problem with it.
      It may surprise you Séan but Sky News and the BBC are playing this one from a very biased side.

• Yeah right.

• Laughed out loud when I heard this this morning!
    Eamonn Holmes actually kept a straight face as he announced it!!
    The chap won’t be within an ass’s roar of anything, let alone armed conflict.

• The only taliban he’ll see will be on the TV in Buckingham Palace. I’m in more danger of meeting an angry Afghani in Dublin than he’ll be out there.. The bullet stopping will be reserved for the Scots, who seem to love be used for that.

• Privliged Royal, wont be allowed near any danger the Taliban dont have any antiaircraft weapon,
    Smart advert for the Windsor family and their PR agents though.
    Definately not newsworthy.

• Look at the two fine young monarchs fighting the evils of the world for the great British empire. Give me a break, its just propaganda gearing the British pysche up for the eventual war in Iran.

• Are we talking about real life here or modern warfare 3 on the playstation.

• In related news,
    Sale of RPG’s skyrockets in Argentina

• michael..care to qualify that statement with the fact that the vast majority of civilian casualties are at the hands of insurgents either through suicide attacks..conventional guerilla warfare or IEDs..all loss of life in conflict is tragic and innocent civilian fatalities are even more so. when insurgents launch a campaign from.behind human shields it will inevitably lead to civilian casualties..a tool of Taliban strategy. you show a remarkable lack of knowledge of terrorism

• You show a remarkable lack of knowledge about Afghanistan, you probably actually believe that we are actually being protected in some way by this war. What they are actually doing is whacking a hornets nest with a stick, or alternately chasing a snake into a came field, take your pick. There is a good reason we don’t let the army run the show here, because as trained killers they are poorly placed to operate in a civilian capacity. If allowed to operate in that capacity they do nothing but breed resentment, and as such more violence see Iraq, Afghanistan, hell northern Ireland even. It would appear that this carries over on a personal level too with soldiers returning to civilian life and being unable to cope.

Add New Comment