TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Priory Hall residents criticise McFeely’s reported bankruptcy

Residents complain that Thomas McFeely will be out of debt in 12 months, while they face years of financial turmoil.

The residents of Priory Hall have kept up their protests after being forced to evacuate their homes in October.
Image: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

THE RESIDENTS of the Priory Hall apartment complex have reacted angrily to reports that the developer behind the ill-fated complex, Thomas McFeely, has been declared bankrupt in another jurisdiction.

RTÉ News reports that McFeely has been declared bankrupt at a court in London – just three days before he faces a similar application in the Republic of Ireland.

The filing comes just days after two other developers – brothers Ray and Danny Grehan – filed bankruptcy in English courts, potentially making it more difficult for NAMA to pursue claims of over €300 million against each man.

In a statement this evening, the residents accused McFeely of running “roughshod over the Irish judicial system”, and urged justice minister Alan Shatter to pursue the overturning of the London bankruptcy.

“Surely a man who endangered the lives of so many Irish citizens should not be allowed to clear his debts in 12 months when the innocent Priory Hall residents face insolvency and financial ruin through his actions,” the statement read.

While the government and Dublin City Council relentlessly pursue their aim of making the residents of Priory Hall homeless, Mr McFeely continues to reside comfortably in his mansion in Ailesbury Road.

Details of McFeely’s bankruptcy have yet to appear on Britain’s Individual Insolvency Register.

The Irish motion for bankruptcy is being taken by a Dublin woman who says McFeely has not paid her €100,000 in High Court damages over structural defects to a house purchased from him.

Council could offer Priory Hall residents €50,000 for apartments

Priory Hall residents: Ours will just be the first case of many

Read next:

Comments (44 Comments)

• EJPC 13/01/12 #

The fact is that McFeely is gone and all those residents in priory hall are effectively screwed. This country has a legal system it does not have a justice system. All the residents should move enmasse to Newry, rent accommodation there for a few months and do whatever it takes to file for bankruptcy in Belfast. Then they like McFeely can give two fingers to the degenerate political and legal class that have effectively ruined their lives

• Sinmac 13/01/12 #

Disgraceful…. No more words to describe how I feel. As a homeowner in Priorhall facing defaulting on my mortgage next month, facing financial meltdown and an uncertain future and Mcfeely will be free of debt in a year… Disgraceful

• hang on in there sinead, don’t let the b***ard grind you down. I hope to god he gets whats coming to him and sooner rather than later.

• Sinmac 13/01/12 #

Thanks Niamh

• Hi Sinmac

I have a few questions about this story that I don’t get and you as an owner might know

I feel so very sorry for the state that ye were left in and as posted here as well don’t let the bastards get you down get back at them. I’m sure there is someone in the legal profession who would love a case like this. I’m also sure that some trained but non working solicitors would love to get their teeth in to this as well.

Anyway the Q’s are

1. Did you get a survey done before buying the house. If you did did it state any defects in the build.
      2. If yes to the above Q are you chasing the person who did the survey as they didnt do their job properly.
      3. Did you notice any defects before buying. from the media Ive heard that adjoining walls had holes in them. Surely one for a snag list if true.
      4. Did you know about the builder’s history before buying.

Also if as posted below that the county manager bought 25 apartments from a builder who was in conflict with the council over another site is true then he has a load of questions to answer. Maybe the journal staff could request an interview with him about this

• re: questions 1 & 2, in Ireland, if a surveyor fucks up and misses something major, you’re only entitled to get the fee back from the surveyor. They’re not liable for anything else, it’s a joke.

• When I got a mortgage the bank sent an engineer to make sure the property was of sound structure before they would release the funds, surely a mortgage can be declared null in void if a banks engineer okays a property that subsequently turns out to be not for it’s intended purpose? It’s the first rule of consumers rights, your entitled to a replacement or a refund? That’s the angle I would be going for and not paying a cent on the mortgage till it was sorted

• You would like to think so Deco! It would scare the sh!t out of you if you could see what corruption and book passing is going on with the prior hall debacle…

• I could be wrong Dec but i think they were off the plans.No physical building to sign off on.

• Hi Dec I 100% agree with you on this. Surely it was clear at the time that these Apartments were not up to the proper standard. It has since transpired that Coleport cheated on every single screw and nail that was put into this developement. My Daughter is an apartment owner to the tune of €285,000 and if Ulster Bank try to force her into Bankrupcy they will have me to deal with. I am not going to stand by and watch the State Cronyism rob my childs future. I will do what I have to do and I defy any Judge in the land to grant Ulster Bank an order against my child.

• Even so Norman i think you give a down payment when buying off the plans to secure your property and then when built the engineer comes along to ok the build and release the additional funds, regardless off the whole thing i think it’s plain to see this was a sham build from the start, the govt/banks/council should do the right thing here whether it’s getting the building up to scratch and putting a pause on the mortgages till they are indeed habitable or the other viable option here is cancel all the mortgages and bulldoze the entire build as if it never existed, this way the residents never default and are free to go and buy/rent in the peace of mind they’re not carrying that monkey on their back for the rest of their days,.

• Accountability just doesn’t exist in this country. Loyalty trumps accountability every time… It should not matter how small the offence… If the law is broken, then someone should be held accountable and any punishment should be enforced. Now the Prior Hall residents are left holding the bag. While the members of the County Council, developer and builder sleeps easy in their beds.

• And Brian Hayes has the effrontery to tell us we are 80% to blame !!!

• I think he will be ready in a year or so to carry on as before and the City manager will allow him to carry on as before – Why is the City Manager still walking around and not put in jail? He is responsible for buying over 25 apartments in Priory Hall from the developer while his company was under investigation by Dublin Ciry Council for failing to comply with building regulations on uuanother site. He handed over 5 million to the developer and didn’t even inspect the properties. I bet he viewed and inspected his own home at least 3 times before he handed over the money. Yet he handed over the taxpayers money without a second thought for the people who would have to live there.

• jimbo 13/01/12 #

Been following this since day one,its f*ckin rediculous the way these people have been treated and let down by our governmen and now this.
    lock the b*astard up,and get these folks sorted its a fcukin disgrace how this is still ongoing

• The Revenue hunt down pensioners while developers avail of UK bankruptcy laws to help them back into the game after a year. Pick if the old and sick first, said the old lion.

• Is it possible for the residents to bring a private lawsuit against this man.

• In a court system that has used opinions in law since 1922 it would be a horrendous waste of time and will leave people with some severe mental scars.

The lawyers would clean up.

• Is it possible for the private citizens of this country to take a class action against all these developers & bankers etc etc that landed us in this mess, especially those who’ve p1$$ed off abroad?????????? and I’m only half kidding – I’m just reaching the end of my tether…………. I know my friends feel the same – —- how much longer are we going to take this BS???????

• Longer than our lifetimes from the look of it.

• The man shouldn’t be let back into the country, none of these scumbags that declare themselves bankrupt in the UK should.

• Dublin City Manager is responsible for not enforcing the law And risking another Stardust. He could face jail and if so the compensation would be paid by the corporation.

• Spot on, convicted Provo using her Majesty’s courts to avoid stricter bankruptcy here is a pathetic hypocrite, its no wonder the IRA were defeated!

• Aye !! An ex provo using Her Majesty’s courts for his own grubby little end. A court system they refused to recognise over the years. Hypocrites. “True sons of Ireland” as someone described them on another thread some time ago. The people of Priory Hall deserve better.

• Dario Fo 14/01/12 #

Why wouldn’t the council believe him. He told them they were bomb proof..

• Great to see Stephen using another depressing story to attack the IRA. I am sorry Stephen, bu the IRA did not build this complex. This developer was kicked out of SF 10 years ago. He then joined forces with FF and FG, becoming major contributor to both parties. How else do you think he managed to get Dublin County council to sign off on the Buildings safety compliance records. But there are none so deaf as those who dont want to hear. SF raised this developments safety compliance in the Dail back in early 2009. But FF and even FG/Labour in opposition didnt think it was worth following up on at the time…. Lets face it, they were getting donations from this Financial Terrorist at the time, so they were happy to keep quiet on it. However, funnily enough and it must have been ourely a coincidence, FG allowed the issue to be raised again during teh Presidential election… And they were very accomodating to the residents for the duration of the election… Now the election is over, the residents are being told that they will have to leave their temporary accomodation and go swing for any more help by FG/Labour.
      Its pure sickening. And then contributors like yourself use this same issue to blame the IRA???? Have you no shame?

• SMcB 14/01/12 #

His party (fianna fail) sure has none that’s one thing for sure.

• But on a point of fact, the IRA was not defeated. Do you follow Politics in the Six Counties at all??

• The legal system in most countries support and benefits the wealthy and the well connected. Regardless, in many of these countries there is a decorum of fairness which prevails and addresses the issues of those who do are not wealthy or well connected. However, nothing like this exists in Ireland…. The unconnected and the economic middle – lower classes are consistently taken advantage of because our laws support it.

Nothing will change until many of the laws are evaluated and modified to address the matters of all.

• It is very plain to see the anger of ordinary people in relation to the way the Priory Hall apartment owners have been treated. I feel it is time to take action now to prevent this Cancer in society becoming the norm. The real problem here is not Coleport, it is the lack of regulation in our society. The Irish Government past and present is compromised by personal involvement in construction. How in God’s name are we going to remorm this sector when so many elected members of Dail Eireann have huge interests in this sector. They are hardly going to put in Legleslation that will take money from them. That is why I urge people not to vote for Fine Gale or Fianna Fail they both are in it up to their necks. I would dearly like to see far mor independents and Women in the next Dail.

• This letter was sent by e.mail to all 166 members of the dail today.

Rosaleen’s story as told by her Father George Finglas.

My name is George Finglas and I want to tell you my Daughter Rosaleen’s story of the heartbreak that buying an apartment in Priory Hall has caused her.
    Rosaleen is at the moment too ill to tell her own story. So in order to try and assist her on the road to recovery I have decided with her blessing to tell you of the heartache she and all of her family and close friends has been going through since 2007.
    She is one of the unfortunate owners of a duplex apartment in Priory Hall now referred to by many as (Priory Hell) where she lived with the love of her life her fiancée Niall.
    The story began for her in 2005 at the age of 26, she decided it was time to settle down and enter the property market. With the help and guidance of her family and friends she researched all of the ponderable’s and sat down and worked out what the maximum mortgage was she could afford.

In 2006 the site was shut down due to serious Health & Safety breaches. I really am mystified how at this stage considering the Health & Safety Authority were involved that work was allowed continue!!!
    Eventually she moved in to her apartment on 21st May 2007.
    I would like to think her story is representative of her neighbour’s predicaments and I fully accept that many of their experiences could be far worse than hers, although I sincerely hope not.

You will recall in 2005 the Banks were giving out 100% mortgages like snuff at a wake. Rosaleen asked me should she look for a 100% mortgage and I advised her “to work hard and save her 10% deposit” which she did.
    I know of people who were given 110% mortgages by the Banks to furnish their properties and even buy a new car. I recall Rosaleen mentioning this to me and my simple reply to me was, “why would you buy a car and furniture over 50 years because that is low long it will take these people to pay off these ridiculous loans.
    ” Logical advice you would think, it’s an awful pity the professionals managing the Banks and Building Societies could not see this point of view Reckless lending to say the very least. I am involved with the Credit Union movement as a volunteer for many years and our ethos is to grant loans to members for productive reasons. 50 year car and furniture loans? I don’t think so!

To be honest at times I was sorry I gave her that advice. I say this because she did work very hard to get the 10% €28,500 of the €285,000 mortgage. If she had €28,500 in her bank account it would go a long way in setting her up to move out of Ireland, most likely to Australia a country that rewards hard working people.
    This is the hardest and most emotional letter I have ever written, I have spent my life trying to lay steady foundations for my family and society in general. I believe in the principal “ if you work hard it is right to be justly rewarded”.

I have no problem with emigration provided it is the first choice for those taking that path. But to be driven out of the country you love by lack of regulation and pure gangster-ism is unacceptable and I am not going to stand aside and allow this to be forced on my child. I know there is thousands of parents in Ireland that will agree with me on this.
    Hind sight is great, but I am old stock and believe in paying my way and that is what I thought my four Daughters to do. So I would give her the same advice tomorrow because I believe people really have to get back to basics and begin to restore basic family values and continue to work hard for anything they want in life.

Incidentally if Rosaleen had owed €285 million to the Banks this would have been laundered through NAMA and more than likely stand around 50% of the original valuation. NAMA did not pass mortgage reductions on to the property owners, yet they did to the GREEDY DEVELOPERS what sort of a society are we creating for future generations, this beggar’s belief.
    She looked at properties all over Dublin and as far as Drogheda. She used all of the headings that should be used when buying a property i.e. family supports, circle of friends, work, infrastructure, Dart, Airport, M50 parking, Parks, Hospital’s Cinema’s, Shop’s I could go on but you can see what I am getting at.

You see this is when Priory Hall looked a good starter-home for Rosaleen, it had everything she was looking for. She was looking at a fabulous colour brochure digitally mastered, advertising all her desires. You will recall the Mad way the property market was going in 2005 and that is why so many bought in Priory Hall off the plans.

All they really needed was the protection of a regulated industry, how they were failed. I will not accept as a defence from the current Government that all of these problems were caused by Fianna Fail and The Green party. I believe that any Government is only as strong as the opposition allows them to be. Mr Kenny and Mr Gilmore sat opposite the Government while this happened.
    We have laws in this so called civilized society and if you break them you are obliged to pay the penalty. Unless you are associated with the Banks, the Construction Industry, Bailouts, Galway Tents, Austerity and so on. But unless you were on the far side of the Moon for the last 5 years you will understand what I am saying.

The Gangsters in this life and especially this country will always prosper. Take C.A.B .for instance. If you owe millions to the revenue commissioners ill-gotten or not, sure you can agree a settlement and buy an Embassy. This is a stark reality and we the ordinary people see so many gangsters prosper on the backs of the honest Tax payers.

What would I do if I had the power to change the way we do things in Ireland. ?

I would take 100% of the ill-gotten gains from them and send all of the perpetrators to spike island for the rest of their natural lives no exceptions. I would also erect an unbreakable electrified force field around it so they could never escape. Because as you all know these scum of our society are killing our children, our neighbours, our friends, our work mates and prospering in front of us while rubbing our noses in it. I will continue to dream on that front.
    Single party politics will never sort this one out. What is clearly needed is the introduction of Special Courts with Special Powers that will not accept winning on the horses as a proof of income. The sooner the better a Justice Minister stands up to the plate and deal with this Cancer in society the better.

Getting back to reality. As soon as Rosaleen turned on the water in her apartment there was leaks all over the place. Her wooden floors that she had paid to be fitted before she moved in were completely destroyed.
    At that stage the stress of this was making Rosaleen ill and I took over. I reported the faults to Coleport and to Homebond.
    Homebond inspected and passed the repairs and Coleport replaced her wooden floors.
    These leaks were slow and damaging and only manifested after time. She would feel the floor lifting, see a wet patch on the wall, see a puddle gathering on the bathroom tiles, it was sole destroying and had a very negative affect on her health.

She had only got back to normality having the new floor fitted, you will recall in 2007 we had rain for over 80 consecutive days.
    Yes her wooden floors were destroyed again. This was devastating for Rosaleen and way beyond reasonable acceptance.
    I got back on to Homebond again as Rosaleen was genuinely just too ill to get involved. I flipped and threatened to instigate court proceedings and seek punitive damages for Rosaleen if this work was not done to the proper standard and certified by Homebond.
    It was plain for all to see that the builders put the outside fall leaning towards the building as opposed to away from the building and when it rained it just came into her apartment and destroyed everything.

In order to do this work correctly she was moved into another vacant apartment in block 9 which also leaked from the plumbing heating and windows for the 8 week she was there.
    It transpired that all of the fitting were only hand tight and set up to leak. I made enquiries and was told that Coleport would not pay the Sub-contractors so they sabotaged the plumbing to ensure Coleport would suffer when they were long gone.
    You can clearly see that all of the occupiers of Priory Hall were at this stage being treated with reckless endangerment, surely Homebond at this stage was fully aware of this, yet there was no whistle’s blown and no regulations enforced.

I am aware that writing this upsets Rosaleen greatly having to recall these very bad memories, but in order to get closure and help her recovery I feel I have to go public with the facts.
    Rosaleen wants to get justice and she agrees she has to muster the strength to expose this scandal. She takes great strength from her family and genuine friends and I am determined to get her justice.
    I would like to think she can became a stronger person having gone through this nightmare, but unfortunately Priory Hall has had a disastrous effect on her personal Health and Welfare.
    At that time I realized that this problem was at epidemic proportion, the amount of floors being changed was plain to see, skips being filled with warped flooring it really was laughable.
    I will leave it to the individual owners to document their own experiences.
    I had intended to address this letter to the Taoiseach Mr Kenny, but as he has already completely ignored all of Rosaleen’s neighbours letters, there really is no point. That is the very reason I am calling on all 166 of you for help.
    Incidentally all of these wonderful letters written by many of the owners tell their own story and can be viewed on the Support the Priory Hall Residents Home page on Facebook. Twitter @priory Hall. I would be very grateful if you could check it out and become a supporter. Surely Politicians have hearts too.

Like all of the other owners I am very fearful of what the future will hold for Rosaleen. The Taoiseach and Minister Phil Hogan has been personally written to by me and most of Rosaleen’s neighbours and has only issued a standard reply from their private secretaries, stating this matter will be brought to their attention.
    A disgraceful and complete fob off from the leader of our country and the Minister with responsibility for this sorry mess.
    I passionately believe that this disaster can be sorted out. The apartment owners of Priory Hall are a fantastic community and I would dearly love to see them relocated to safe homes of their choosing.
    There is hundreds of unfinished developments and empty housing pockets that could be completed to proper construction standards that would allow for many of these neighbours to be rehoused in clusters. Surely this would have the effect of building a community.
    I believe to ignore their plight will effectively cost me and you the Tax Payers on the double. Either they are re housed and allowed to transfer their mortgages to NAMA properties or they will have to be housed in Local Authority premises which is also funded by me and you.
    I do not believe the proposed retro fit of Priory Hall will succeed. The simple answer here is the properties are in100% negative equity. Simply ask yourself would you buy one of them.? If you are honest the answer will be a resounding no way.
    An estimated €7.3 million has been quoted to do this work. It is my contention that this would be far higher. There would have to be 100% testing on every nail, screw, fitting and foundation before any work could begin.
    You must appreciate that Coleport has been exposed with only the surface stuff that is hard to hide. It is plain for all to see what transpired after surface inspections. Absolutely everything was done wrong and on the cheap. Why would that be different with the works that it is easy to hide in foundations etc?
    What was hidden in the foundations and load bearing columns I really dread to think and that is why 100% testing will be required here. Does Irish society have to wait for one of these buildings to collapse to admit they were wrong?

My sincerest thanks to the President of the High Court Mr Justice Nicholas Kearns for his compassion and understanding. This man is already a LEGEND in the eyes of the Priory Hall owners and will always have a special place in all of their hearts. This wonderful man has showed these unfortunate people compassion and this has helped them get through so far.

To Niall Rosaleen’s fiancée, thank you so much for always being there for Rosaleen.
    To my wonderful family who have supported Rosaleen at every stage throughout this nightmare.

To Rosaleen’s wonderful neighbours many who have become sincere and personal friends to all of us.
    To the many ordinary people who took the time to post supportive post on the Facebook page.

To the genuine TDs and councillor’s who have been behind us from the start. I will not mention names for fear of leaving someone out, but you know who you are and thanks.

All I want is justice for all of these ordinary hard working people.

Please do not ignore my plea for help.

Thanks and Happy New Year

George Finglas

• McFeely drinks where I work every saturday at around 3pm. Vodka diet coke and a mojito for his mate. Living the bankrupt life?!

• I’d love to but unfortunately, I can’t. Sorry

• Oh well. You know I have heard that sometimes if people.want to day something but don’t want their name linked that sometimes they sst up a fake account through facebook or twitter. Not saying that you should do this or even consider it. Just saying that I have heard of people doing this.

• These people who defect to the UK to face bankruptcy there should face exile from this country. If the UK wants to declare them bankrupt, the UK should be stuck with them. If not that, then the UK bankruptcy shouldn’t prevent the Irish bankruptcy laws from affecting whether and how they do business here. Irish rules should apply if they stay here. But then, look at the way NAMA has protected the bankrupt builders. 200 grand a year anyone? Sociopathic business class run by a sociopathic political class. Are there other choices?

• Ciaro 14/01/12 #

This is being done on purpose. NAMA/Banks are delaying bankruptcy hearings in this Country to ensure these “citizens! get off the hook.

Shame on the Government.

• Cal mooney, u attack Stephen for mentioning mcfeely’s ira past and u ask him ‘has he no shame’. I would think that question could quite justifiably be asked of you. Tom mcfeely is IRA scum and from what I’m reading it would appear ur not too far behind him!!

• No Chance Of Bringing This Cowboy To Justice!!

The Government Are Too Busy Spending All Our Money Hiring The Finest Wigged (Crony) Scholars On The Sean Quinn Witch Hunt.

They Are Trying To Prevent Him Or His Family From Creating 1000’s Of Jobs In Southern Ireland Ever Again.

• Chopper 14/01/12 #

FAO: Anyone connected to the “Support the Priory Hall Residents” facebook page (https://www.facebook.com/pages/Support-The-Priory-Hall-Residents/208932465841738?sk=wall&filter=1)

Could you explain why you are removing questions and blocking people from posting on your page? Apologies to the Journal for asking this here, but I can’t ask on facebook anymore, and I assume that someone connected to the page will be on here.

I saw a link by “Tommy” in the comments above to the neighbours forum, and posted a question on your FB page to ask if this was for real? The forum makes references to homeless people (“junkies!”) being given units in Priory Hall in 2007, and the reaction of the residents. I was not trying to be an ass or stir anything up, I really just wanted to know if this was some kind of (poor) joke site or not. (Basically I didn’t trust Tommy/BuddyGunz based on previous comments he has made.)

When I was blocked, I asked a friend to try asking it again – in case there was something wrong with my settings/cache – and he did… 5 minutes later, his post was deleted. Censoring people who genuinely support you on your FB page is very poor form folks.

BTW, I did “like” the Support page again as I think you have been treated disgracefully. Hopefully, your campaign (with pressure on the government/DCC/courts) will ensure you get the right outcome, and none of you end up homeless.

Add New Comment