TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Sunday 26 May, 2013

Priory Hall residents request meeting with Irish Banking Federation

Later this month, they will hear if Dublin City Council has to provide them with temporary accommodation. The residents are requesting that mortgage providers suspend their mortgages until a solution is put in place.

Residents of Priory Hall protest outside The Government Buildings in February
Image: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

PRIORY HALL RESIDENTS have requested a meeting with the Irish Banking Federation to discuss the impending mortgage crisis for the approximately 100 families who own homes in Priory Hall.

On 24 April Dublin City Council will go to the Supreme Court to appeal a High Court order that the Council provides temporary accomodation to the residents while they are legally prohibited from living in their homes.

Should the council be successful in having this order overturned the residents will be required to seek alternative accomodation and pay both rent and a mortgage, which they say would be “financially untenable”.

Graham Usher, a Priory Hall resident and spokesperson said that they have written to Pat Farrell, head of the IBF, and they “would be fairly hopeful” about the outcome.

We would be hopeful. We feel it is a reasonable request because the reality is that if Dublin City Council are successful this is going to become the bank’s problem as much as it is the residents’. It won’t be a question of won’t pay the mortgage, it will be a question of won’t be able to pay it.

The residents will be requesting that the mortgage providers suspend the mortgages until such time as a solution is put in place. The alternative for the residents is that they either voluntarily surrender their properties to the banks without penalties or be forced to default on their mortgages.

A number of the residents have been offered short term moratoriums on their repayments. However, they said:

interest and capital continues to accumulate on these mortgages and as the situation drags on indefinitely we face the very real danger that the mortgage balances and repayments will increase to the point where they become unsustainable.
Unfortunately, the professional advice that we have received is that in the absence of a solution to Priory Hall and asuspension of the mortgages our only option may be to avail of the upcoming bankruptcy and insolvency legislation due to be enacted later this year. This seems a harsh fate for those unfortunate homeowners who through no fault of their own find themselves in this unprecedented situation.

By ‘suspend’, they are asking that their mortgages are frozen in place at their current balance with no accrual of interest or penalties for the duration of the suspension. They are also asking that the residents’ clean credit ratings to remain intact.

Usher said that if people go into arrears, penalties will be applied, and “a mortage could quickly spiral beyond people’s ability to pay”.

He said that residents have had a lack of communication with the Government, local authorities and the banks, who “won’t take any joined-up approach”, which means that “people are in the dark”.

Usher added that “it is the uncertainty that is really getting to people” and the residents need time to make a back-up plan if Dublin City Council are told they do not have to provide temporary accommodation.

Read: Hogan accused of double standards over Lowry meeting>

Read: Priory Hall residents question developer’s ability to afford legal team>

Read next:

Comments (36 Comments)

• Builders,Surveyors,County Council,Fire Department…………Is anybody in this feckin country held accountable??? Average Joe getting shafted once again. Default on your mortgages folks, walk away & start getting your life’s back on track. Best of luck.

• Agreed , they bwill get no joy here with this situation , walk away , put it behind you and get on with your life,this is a no win situation for all , its a pity and disgraceful how it got to this but reality bites

• I genuinely feel sorry for these people and the plight they find themselves in.
      There is no doubt that individuals responsible are dragging their heels in order to resolve this matter.

• everyone ( homeowners) in priory hall should pick up sticks and head to uk for 6 months, then claim bankrunpcy as it only lasts 1 yr in uk, ( here it’s 10-12yrs) and start again. ( its a pity their homes not livable as in the uk the law states you can keep your main residence. Take a look at article on sunday world bout your man shane out of westlife, he up stick at xmas 2011 to do this, and he owes 23 million also named in that is ivan yates he moving to wales to do it .

• they cant walk away in ireland, cant default as the debt will follow them here, if it were me i’d head to uk for a year then home again. start again, not saying uping sticks an easy thing to do but how are these people going to get out of this? the dublin corp are going to court again to get this overturned, yet they moved there office out of priory hall 6 mths before?

• Not so easy for the hard working mortgage holders to just ‘walk away’ without devastating effects on thier future. However… It seems to be perfectly acceptable for the developers who owe millions to hop on a plane and declare themselve bankrupt in the Queens court and be pretty much off the hook in 12 months time? For a man who served time as a ‘political prisoner’, he was happy to head for the UK on his British passport and seek refuge behind British legislation. He is a criminal and a traitor short and simple. I hope and pray that the IBF can come to an agreement that can let the residents of Priory Hall get on with their lives and forget the horrible position McFeely put them in.

• aggree with you!100%

• @Carlgillen

Just awful, I was reading an article on independent .ie yesterday and it showed (can’t think of his name just now) him and his mates on a huge yacht in the Carribean. A developer!!! that has left a huge building site in Greystones harbour and yet his labourers are just finished building an under floor heating garage for his collection of 14 classic cars.

The interviewer was interviewing some of his mates in Foxrock, Golf Club. They think he’s a great man, a good man! That just says it all.

I hope these families get justice very soon, because the stress and medication they are all on must be bloody awful.

• Sue the City manager or report him to the Garda for neglect.
    Why is the City Manager still walking around and not put in jail? He is responsible for buying over 25 apartments in Priory Hall from the developer while his company was under investigation by Dublin Ciry Council for failing to comply with building regulations on uuanother site. He handed over 5 million to the developer and didn’t even inspect the properties. I bet he viewed and inspected his own home at least 3 times before he handed over the money. Yet he handed over the taxpayers money without a second thought for the people who would have to live there.

• Paul 10/04/12 #

The local authority is also responsible for inspecting buildings. That doesn’t happen in Ireland. In normal countries you put the fire stopping technology in and stop until it’s been inspected and given the green light as a lot of it is hidden inside walls and floors. Here they inspected the paperwork after all the walls and floors are finished and it’s too late to check. I know my building isn’t properly fireproofed, someone I know had a look and there are gaps all over the place and choke rings on pipes are all visible, meaning they won’t work and any fire will not be deprived of oxygen. I’d say it’s fairly common but the treatment of the people of priory hall means we’re all probably better off risking death in a fire rather than homelessness and destitution.

• I can’t believe this is still going on for these poor people! It’s ridiculous. And even more shocking that no1 is accountable. They should not be paying their mortgages. I wonder did any of them pay the HHC …….. Could you imagine a representative knocking on their door (of temporary acc!) about HHC!

• The residents of Priory Hall have in the face of adversity conducted themselves with great dignity. I wish them well in their meeting with the IBF. As it looks like no one is ever going to live there again I do hope they are allowed to extricate themselves from the mortgages without penalty in the long term.

• @@Sean Norris

Hear, hear. Their morgs. should have been locked/put on hold since at least from the time they were told to vacate it if not from the very first time they began seeing problems, cracks etc. Good luck to them.

• jimbo 09/04/12 #

The fact that this is still going on shows how bad this country really is..

• Barry O 09/04/12 #

Nothing ever changes in this Country , No leadership at all. Politicians washing their hands all they are interested in is jobs for the boys. We need a real leader that will stand up for the people

• They should all stop paying the mortgage’s , they should also stop listening to the advice they are getting , as its from the same fools who put these poor people into this situation .It drives me mad that there is NO accountability in this country .

Time to wake up people

• I dont think its advice these people are looking for just our support. The people that need advice are our politicians council members & banks & my advice to them is fix this now to retain some small level of credability. These people are victims of corruption in our system.

• I met one of the residents at the march a couple of weeks ago, and it was just so sad to listen to her. I could just see so much sadness and many emotions in her face. It’s just appalling that these people are still in limbo.

If there are any Senators, TD’s or Ministers reading this thread, please, have a heart, imagine yourself being in this situation. It’s so wrong. I cannot believe that you are all expected to be still paying morgs. for a building that should be knocked down. I hope you all come out well 24th April.

• @ All & Madeline Angela Hind

I just can’t get it around my head, how these architects could sign off a building like this, one doesn’t need to be a welder, architect, etc. to see that the welding on those balcony’s are half arsed done. A transition student would do a better job. Everyone take a look at ‘priory hall residents’ on facebook page. Look at the photographs. Sickening.

Why, why aren’t they being dragged across the hot coals with that scum of a builder (so called)?

• Its a disgrace that this is left to drag on like it is and like myself who has a pyrite contaminated home also signed of by self regulation and by all these bodies who made big money out of the boom times. No one wants to know now theyve all gone running for the hills and we are left to fight and carry the can..The Government and its associate bodies really need to get together and sort this mess out learn and move on from it . Give the people their support and some light at the end of the tunnel as its a big wrong whats happening throughout Dublin in cases like this..
    Deal with finding a solution and then trash their costs out with these builders etc who conveniently went bust after the boom….. These cowboys are still around drag them in and make them accountable, we are victims here show humanity and let us all get on with our lives….

• I have said it before knock the kip down and move the people and their mortgages to the many vacant homes in the same area

• mattoid 09/04/12 #

Absolutely! In general I have a strong objection to the notion of NAMA properties being given away to people free of charge, but in this case I think it would be entirely justified. These poor hardworking people have been let down by everybody involved, private companies and state agencies alike.
      Give them some semblance of justice with a NAMA apartment, but don’t let that allow McFeeley to get off the hook scot free.

• Couldn’t agree more. These people were EVACUATED by the council through no fault or choice of their own and now they might be made homeless???? COME ON DCC and face up your responsibilities….aren’t they supposed to house people for God’s sake. And hundreds of NAMA properties sitting empty around Dublin. Bulldoze the sh*thole that is Priory Hall and let these poor people make a fresh start elsewhere.

• County Council scum, did they not approve the plans for Priory Hall?

• Whats that sound i hear yup the unmistakeable sound of local politicians representing these residents…Makes you wonder what does lowry have over Hogan and Kenny that he can get audiences at the drop of a hat or should that be envelope….

• It is quite astonishing that given the debacle of this entire saga from poor planning to spurious fire certs along with questionable planning practices that no one or indeed the group have not considered a class action to have all mortgages on this development deemed void due to various breaches of contract of which so many come to mind. Perhaps I was unique when applying for and getting approval of a mortgage after a torturous process but I recall engineers reports along with surveyor reports. It is shocking the Banks have not been held accountable is some shape or form. These people entered into Mortgage arrangements based on one would assume sound, safe and fully compliant properties. Regardless of what resolves this mess, these properties will forever been deemed worthless, no sane person including lottery winners would touch this development with a barge pole.

• Enda Kenny was at Fairyhouse yesterday having a slap up meal and backing horses, He dont give 2 flying monkeys for the injustice the Priory Hlall residents are suffering.

• Aurfur 09/04/12 #

Bet some creepy official will try and charge non principal main residence charge as they are not living there.
    Seriously whoever is legally preventing the owners from living there should pick up the tab for temporary accommodation and seek reclaim it from whoever is deemed culpable in law, irrespective of whether they can afford to pay or not. The mortgage providers should be culpable if they provided a survey for loss incurred. Any one who sold their professional services should be culpable. In the uk there is a sale of goods and services act which covers things that go wrong when one is buying a service or product. Surely Irish law has something broadly similar? Am so sorry for those caught up in this nightmare.

• Better probably if they solicited the support of Michael Lowry at the Dail, he seems to be able to get the ear of government ministers.

• What about the collective stamp duty these poor people have paid? Surely that has to be refunded and used to try and put this right or at the very least used to pay for their mortgages until it is put right…seems only fair to me. Phil Hogan is a disgrace…does not have the backbone to meet these decent, hardworking people but quite happily meets one of the most questionable characters in Irish politics…I hope they get justice soon.

• Graham,

Could you please search in Google for ‘Windle stops swindle’ and then tell the bank ‘Where you are a VIP’ that you will not repay the mortgage.

Cheers

The Common Informer

• I’d just default on mortgage and walk away. Hard decision with consequences, but the only sound in my opinion. These apartments are ruin now, there is damp and damage everywhere. Not worth of the fraction of the mortgages now. And what investment that is anyway? Imagine selling such apartment in couple years even if they got them sorted… Whats the property address please? Priory Hall. Uhmmm ok thanks you’re all right. I know those apartments are for many life savings and dreams, but come on feck it, there are people around you overcoming much greater things daily in their life than just couple grand lost and concrete walls. And they only wished they had same problem as you I am sure of it.

• Tabhair cabhair doibh

Add New Comment