TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Thursday 20 June, 2013

TD says state must cover cost of pyrite damage

Sinn Féin’s Dessie Ellis said the state allowed regulations which failed to stop contamination and failed to legislate to protect people.

Cracks in the wall of a house affected by pyrite damage.
Image: James Horan/Photocall Ireland

SINN FÉIN TD Dessie Ellis, has called on the government to provide funding for repairs to houses in need of immediate works due to pyrite contamination.

He made his call during a debate in the Dáil last night following the deadline for stakeholders to submit possible resolutions to the on-going issue.

Ellis said apart from the residents, “there is not really any innocent party in this scandal”. “The state allowed regulations which failed to stop this contamination and failed to legislate to protect citizens from this.”

“The quarry failed to identify pyrite contamination as did the construction companies and finally Homebond who washed their hands of the whole situation and behaved incredibly badly,” he said.

A report published in July revealed as many as 10,000 homes could harbour unidentified pyrite problems.

It was recommended that 850 homes that have significant damage should have immediate repairs to stop further damage being done.

Ellis said the state must put in place an industry levy to pay for works and monitoring of other contaminated homes which are not in need of work at present.

“Immediate work is necessary and the state must put up the money for this on the basis that those identified as being liable will in the longer term pay back this debt,” he said.

Read: Pyrite: There are ‘legal and moral responsibilities’>

Over 10,000 homes could harbour unidentified pyrite problems>

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (54 Comments)

• Where are the directors of homebond while all these shacks fall down or the architect who had to agree that the house was sound before the bank handed over the muhlaa

• The architect only does an outline design. The Structural design would be done by an engineers and she/he would have specified the correct type of aggregate/concrete/etc. to use in all aspects of the build. If a quarry sold produce as being of quality “X” but in truth it was of quality “Y”, then the onus should be on nobody but the quarry. Not even the developers have a case to answer if it is true that the quarry sold defective produce it claimed was fit for use in construction. The state has no case to answer for as far as I can see.

• @ Eoin, is it not a case that the homeowner has a contract with the builder who themselves has a contract with the quarry, so you must follow the line

• Homebond, what? They were the first to leave the country. Probably became bondholders themselves with all of the misappropriated millions they took off everyone during the boom time. They were the best in position to know it was going to go bust, why wouldn’t they want to become bond holders?

• Actually eoin you are a little off the mark there, my friend is, as we write, living in rented accommodation whilst her house is being repaired due to pyrite… Now here’s one for ya.. Only a percentage of the housing estate has pyrite problems and that’s the later builds…. The developer changed quarry at some stage through the build because it was cheaper…. Doesn’t take a civil engineer to know , cheaper quarry= poorer quality…. Now not all developers new this was muck but a number did…. It’s an oirish thang….

• Is he serious, the quarry owners should be responsible for this, it was their stone that is contaminate.

• Dessie Ellis must realise the folly of what he proposes. This would be a charter for worsening building standards and an opt out clause for insurance companies. The guy is bonkers and hasn’t used three brain cells to consider the consequences.
      This is also a continuation of the madness of what I call Magic Economics……..when all else fails then we the taxpayer pays. Well however sorry I feel for the people who bought property with pyrite in their buildings I am not prepared to pay.
      I have paid for the sexual abuse of children by priests and I have paid for the hearing loss of soldiers and then I had to pay for the hepatitis C and AIDS scandals. Then the mother lode of a failed Banking system and the digging out of gormless Developers started to hit me and now I have to find more to pay for those unfortunates who cannot pay their mortgages.
      Dessie.!
      Are ya listening?
      I’ve had enough!
      Take a running jump at yourself and stop treating my income as if it was yours to do with as you wish.
      I am neither the Northern Bank nor wish to be on the average Industrial wage!
      The next thing you’ll be asking for is compensation for the victims of the IRA’ s murderous campaign over the past thirty years.

• Read the original press statement. “State must cover pyrite cost until responsible parties are brought to account”

• @Oisín sorry dude INSURANCE COMPANIES are supposed to cover it then go after those liable not the tax payer ,Or could this be people taking brown envelopes again .lets have another 200 million euro inquiry

• Serious lack of protection for property buyers, between priory hall and this its a disgrace.

• Hogan did this so-called Report saying that there were approximately 10,000 homes with some type of damage from pyrite. Bull sh1t!!!! I know for a fact there are over 70,000 + that have huge damage. I believe there were 3 quarries involved. Some will cost anything up to EUR60/70,000 to fix. Between accommodating the families in rental properties while the work is been done, labour etc. etc.

The residents in Priory Hall, Fingal and Meath deserve an answer and most importantly given back their home or equivalent. They are all paying morgs. for places that should be knocked and rebuilt especially Priory Hall families.

• “The state must pay.” can we not change the word “state” to the word peope or Joe public or tax payer . People tend to think the state is a magical tree that just prints money whenever it is needed

• SF might there TD Aongais to print a few notes .. He loves printing ,

• Where exactly does it say in the article ‘the state must pay?’ It says the state must implement the Levy on the construction industry thereby forcing those responsible to pay. As a homeowner affected I pay my taxes, where do I come in all this? This needs to be sorted out asap. The govt need to force the stakeholders to agree to a process of remediation and get started fixing houses affected before there is serious injury. This problem along with poor building regs (which were routinely ignored over past 15 years) are a ticking time bomb. my house along with many others are falling apart. Believe me I as a tax payer do not want to see those responsible get off the hook either, but we need a solution fast, we have been struggling wit this for seven years now and it is demoralising watching our home fall apart.

• govt funding deputy Ellis refers to is in relation to council owned properties (not privately owned taxpayers homes), the other funding he mentions is front funding from the govt which will then be recouped through a Levy. http://m.youtube.com/#/watch?feature=youtube_gdata_player&v=x8Vh8NSfgsw&desktop_uri=%2Fwatch%3Fv%3Dx8Vh8NSfgsw%26feature%3Dyoutube_gdata_player&gl=GB

• Hang on get it from you’re insurance company or sue whoever did your pre purchase survey and if you didn’t get one tuff . Just got large bill for structural work done and I don’t expect you to pay and that’s a great idea the building trade is on it’s ars so lets hammer it some more.

• The construction industry creamed it during the boom, maybe they should have seen this coming….everything looks brilliant in hindsight! My house is falling down through no fault or failing of mine. We bought in good faith. We expected that standards were adhered to. We had a survey. Reactive Pyrite doesn’t start to make it’s appearance for at least two years after house is finished. The insurers have an opt out clause on defective material. Our quarry is gone. Our developer is gone. Homebond (who we had no choice in accrpting as our strictural garantee) walked away. The cost of repairing our house is max €50 grand. Don’t know about you but I don’t have that money, and quite simply why should I fork out when I already paid fr my house. With regard to ur situation if you had a structural problem why didn’t ur insurance pay out? Perhaps you had none, or it was outside it cover, or you built ur own house. But it seems you accepted responsibility, we have no responsibility for this mess. The stakeholders need to come up wit a solution immediately.

• @Jeff as far as i am aware no one that does a pre purchase survey takes a core sample of the concrete that is used in the house construction so you cannot sue them as they do a survey based on the condition of the property at the time of survey not 5 or 10 years down the line.insurance companies like homebond are washing their hands of this. think you will find that the builders are at fault as they were supposed to test all cement that was used on site so they were at fault. the reason there should be a levy is that most of the developers that built these developments are gone bust so people have no recourse so i don’t think you should be so flippant in your comment.

• Jeff, the developers and regulating bodies are to blame. Insurance companies generally put in clauses against negligence by builders, why do you think they are not liable for Priory Hall. As for the building industry, many of them completely milked it for years building substandard properties with no surrounding infrastructure, I have little sympathy for them. My sympathy lies with those paying mortgages on negative equity properties with major faults. Surveyors do not check the quality of the building products used to the extent you seem to think.

• So the tax payer should pay for this mess that developers and quarry owners caused – yup makes sense to me

• Emmet 03/10/12 #

Most certificates of compliance issued by professionals are not worth the paper if you read the wording correctly,get out clause etc.
    We need a proper Building Control Authority similar to UK. That means reforming so it prob won’t happen

• Cal
      A direct question deserves a direct answer but please allow me to offer some reasoning. Those breast implants were carried out principally for cosmetic reasons and were therefor not covered by either Health Insurers or by the State. Many regulators have said that the materials used were not licensed and thus illegal but they do not consider they create any current risk to health.
      On this basis I would say that the cost of removing these silicone enhancements should be borne by the individuals concerned. If the original implants were reimbursed because they were required for medical reason such as prosthetic replacement then the State should cover the cost of removing them.
      Now Cal do I fall neatly into your little mind game with my response?

• The legal system plunders the countries tax payers by getting “the state” to pay out compensation for every claim when individuals are not brought to justice.

I know I myself did not, nor anyone I know personally rape children, make army personnel deaf, give hepatitis C to anti-D recipients, build substandard housing units, etc etc.

It’s all about lining pockets – every man for himself. We’ll be a disastrous society as long as this mentality continues.

• John F 03/10/12 #

Shouldn’t it be the home insurance companies pay for the damage or the developers, sorry but there’s no money left in the public coffers, I bought a mobile home in Donegal 2yrs back and its leaking, will the tax payer pay for my repairs?

• So bankers and developers,gambled and lost,Irish tax payer foots the bill.Catholic church tried to cover up the rape of young children by it’s members,the Irish tax payer foots half the bill.Now Dessie thinks the tax payer should foot the bill for Priory Hall now too ???

“Ellis said apart from the residents, “there is not really any innocent party in this scandal”.

• Sinmac 03/10/12 #

Phil Hogan appointed Conor Taaffe of Homebond to the Building Regulation Advisory Board.

• Please, before criticising the pyrite homeowners for looking for Government help, consider our position.
    1. There is nothing we could have done to prevent ourselves from getting into this position. Nobody asks for a sample of the fill to be sent to a lab in the UK for testing before completing a house purchase. If you did this before buying your house, fair play to you.

2. Liability. Yes, builders, quarries and insurers all share the blame. However, most builders are bust. There is no paper trail to prove that the fill from my house – or any house – came from a particular quarry (my estate was supplied by 3 different ones). Homebond – the insurer mandated with the purchase – pay out for “major structural defects”, according to their policy document. Except where pyrite is concerned, it turns out.

3. Impact. Our homes are deteriorating, at pace. My front window is buckling away from the house structure and will eventually pop out altogether. The stone worktop in the kitchen has cracked through. Our neighbours in the estate are unable to sell their houses, as banks will not give mortgages for houses in known ‘pyrite estates’.

This is the backdrop, and its been a worry now for 6 years. This government has at least confronted the issue. What we need is a remediation fund to correct this. Because funding could take years if it were tied to construction activity, we need the Government to step in with initial funding, and this would be recouped in time by the levy. In the meantime, we would all be able to move on with our lives.

Thanks for reading.

• Sinmac 03/10/12 #

Where does it say tax payer should foot the bill for Priory Hall?

• One thing to remember in all this we are the victims in this mess I bought my “affordable ” house 8 yrs ago a yr later i discovered the nightmare of what was happening in my house,it’s been a nightmare since and continues to be so We didn’t ask for any of this mess to happen all we want is resolution now to move on with our lives – if I could turn back the clock I sure would back then in 2003 this pyrite problem was unheard of you did a snag and signed your forms – you got your 10 year warranty – none if it stands to nothing now and all gone running for the hills – none of it makes sense there are answers but few will listen as if they do it might make them look like they are “liable ” we need an solution and help I too haven’t got 40,000-50,000 to fix a problem I didn’t cause. To be honest makes me so angry at this stage it’s disheartening and disgusting the way this country is run …

• And Dessie’s IRA buddies will pay for the damage they did….

• This is not quite what Ellis says in original press release “State must cover pyrite cost until responsible parties are brought to account” http://www.sinnfein.ie/contents/24625

• oisin. what if they do not have any money? it’s one thing to say they are responsible but should the taxpayer be the default position? sorry , i dis agree , private contract and all that.

• I am delighted so many people want to bail out those who ga e suffered because of the greed/ stupidity/irresponsibility of others. So any of you who wish to help me because 30 years of pension contributions have vanished can donate whatever, whenever they choose.
    I thought not…

• @ Paddy Murray

You got what you deserved. You elected corrupt governments like FG and FF. Your blathering about Sinn Fein shows your state of mind.

• You are so right. I’m weird. I hate murder and murders. I dislike those who murdered 2,000 people, mostly their fellow Irishmen, women and children. I despise those who apologise for them. I have a thing about kangaroo courts and shooting people in the back of the head. I am not a fan of car bombs which kill innocent people. Causing untold damage to the economy, costing billions and costing thousands of jobs. And I have no time for organisations like Sinn Fein which claims to draw its mandate from history and yet tells us all the murders by their IRA buddies are ‘all in the past’ and that we should move on. Cliches, populism, milking us all for expenses. But no solutions. That’s the Shinners.

• Yawn paddy

• Would that be Somali Pyrite’s?

• 1 in 4 quarries in Ireland had no planning permission during this period of developement yet councils bought their products for building houses, roads, etc. the councillors and politicians turned a blind eye to this for the usual reasons. Just look at cement Roadstone and Quinn – they bought and sold products from illegal quarries for years. All our political leaders over the years have had connections to these companies t. From Charlie H to today it is rotton to the core. If I bought something like illegal dorsal I would be arrested yet city and county managers bought millions of Euros worth of stone products for years from illegal quarries. Will anybody be charged?

• I’d say paddy has the right old hump this evening I hope he has paid his household charge

• Yes I have paid the Household Charge. I have also registered my Septic tank and am in the process of upgrading that’s system to ensure I comply with Environmental obligations.
      I don’t use print cartridges.
      I neither buy use or remove the dye from Agricultural diesel.
      I have no penalty points on my driving licence.
      I have never been charged with or accused of an offence under criminal law.
      I am tired of bailing out the feckless the unfortunate and the corrupt.
      Anymore and I’m off to a more benign environment such as Jersey or Guernsey or even the Isle of Man and Dessie can have his average Industrial wage!

• Paddy, do you think the Government made the wrong decision in supporting the women who had low quality breast implants inserted? Come on man, tell us, do you think the Government are wrong?

• Paddy, if we just expand this a little, you might see things slightly differently. If repairs to these homes are not carried out, they will become uninhabitable. The banks won’t lend these people another red cent to purchase another home. If they become homeless it is then incumbent upon the local authority to re-house them. That would be at a huge cost to the local authority/state. T’would be cheaper to repair the houses. Now, if the government can pay out billions upon billions of euro to faceless, non-Irish, blood sucking parasitic gamblers then surely, in the name God, they should look after their own citizens.

• Three euro pints Friday night we are having a little send off party for paddy

Add New Comment