TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Aaron McKenna: We need a robust civics education if we want informed citizens

CSPE should educate on how the economy, government and tax fits together, rather than just how proportional representation works, writes Aaron McKenna.

Aaron McKenna

THERE HAS BEEN more than one survey here and abroad about the effect of the recession on the mental wellbeing of people. The latest, from the government, says that 25 per cent of children are worried about the economy and household finances.

Uncertainty messes with your head, and be it a child or an adult the recession has put massive worries and pressures onto people and families. A constant stream of news, good and bad, can be difficult to assimilate into a round picture of how the country is doing; and wave upon wave of new taxes, household bills and shrinking take home pay packets bring it home.

The biggest stress in this whole mess is the constant question, “how are we going to get through this?” Either as households and individuals, or as a country. Very few of us have a well rounded understanding of how we have got to be where we are today, and where we’re going from here. It can feel like being along for the ride at times, even though we’re all supposed to get a say through our elections and, from time to time, referendums.

Civic, Social and Political Education

For all that our education system does well, we don’t do a very good job of turning out informed citizens and voters. In our schools today we have a three year program in the junior cycle of secondary, usually one or two classes per week, called CSPE – Civic, Social and Political Education.

The heart is certainly in the right place to have such a program, but it in reality it is a mostly wasted curriculum that tells students that they shouldn’t litter, be insensitive to others or break the law. The subject is only taught at one level – ‘common’ – and is more difficult to fail than pass with any modicum of effort invested.

This course is a box ticking exercise in trying to flesh out some of the basic societal niceties. It actually carries quite some bias – for example, if you happened to be somebody who thinks foreign aid is a bad idea at a time of straightened economic conditions, the CSPE course would admonish you. There’s not much in the way of discussion of how governments effect their policies and the impact that has on wider society – CSPE will tell you that government should provide shelter to the homeless, but it won’t mention much about how massive tax increases to fund social programs might drive people out of jobs and… Well, you get the idea.

Primary school foundation

I think that if we want to have truly well informed voters by the age of 18, and if we want to help alleviate the stress of events on children in general, we should aim for a much more robust civics education spread out over the entire course of ones education; starting in the 1+1=2 foundations all the way back in primary up through in-depth discussions of different social models by leaving.

Start with understanding what government is. What it does and how, basically, it does it: Levying taxes on this and that to achieve various ends. Work from this foundation to understand that the way we do things is not the way everyone does, from nanny states to socialist states to near libertarian states. Move up the years and start to have real understandings of how government effects the economy, and vice versa. How do the welfare stabalisers work? What would happen if government just raised enough taxes to cover off the deficit? Why can’t it just print more money?

Start with the basics

These are fairly basic questions that many people, including quite a few who call for solutions based on them, do not understand the arithmetic behind or the answers to.

To be informed voters – and be able to clearly define the fragrance of many political election promises – people need to understand the governmental equivalent of what a tracker mortgage is. People often see problems and ask, “What will the government do about this?” I’ve heard this statement repeated about everything up to and including the erosion of beaches in the west by none other than the Atlantic ocean. People see problems and assume government should fix it.

If people had a more rounded view of the opportunity costs that government faces by taking or not taking a particular action, how would that affect their world view? It feels like we’re raised in a state where we expect government to fix our ever ill, when in fact more government intervention often deepens the problems; or the money government needs to throw at the problem has to come from somewhere it could be better used, like in your and my pocket.

Of course, people should also be educated on what a fully socialised state looks like; and everything in between that and libertarian anarchism. Inform people that there are different ways, that there are choices, and how the wheels of government work beyond simply explaining proportional representation and the makeup of the cabinet.

I think that, armed with that sort of an education, we could put our minds to rest a little easier; and make better decisions as an electorate and as citizens of this country.

Aaron McKenna is a businessman and a columnist for TheJournal.ie. He is also involved in activism in his local area. You can find out more about him at aaronmckenna.com or follow him on Twitter @aaronmckenna.

Read: More columns from Aaron McKenna on TheJournal.ie>

Read next:

Comments (43 Comments)

• Parents have an obligation to develop this thinking because without it would not be successful

• As someone who has taught CSPE I think is really inadequate. Firstly, it is usually just once a week. In reality this means that, as with Social, Personal and Health Education, it becomes a timetable filler: that is, principals (kind of understandably given the strictures placed upon them) use it to top up teachers timetables to the correct number of hours. This is a real problem because what you need people who have a background in social science.

This problem is compounded by curriculum overload- there are too many subjects. Usually CSPE and SPHE get squeezed by and sometimes merged into religion classes. That is, until a whole school inspection looms and schools accept that ‘oh yeah, both subjects are actually part of the core curriculum!’.

Another problem is that many of the textbooks are over simplistic. The parties are discussed without any context being given; there is no discussion of ideology and the EU section is simply propaganda ie comments like ‘The Lisbon Treaty was brought in to make the EU more efficient’. This is too basic: the students should be taught about benefits and drawbacks of the treaties from different perspectives. Attention should also be made to antidemocratic moves by governments such as gutting the Freedom of Information Act or the destruction of the Equality Authority or examples of police acting inappropriately.

I think there is a strong case to merge both subjects and to include an ethics theme in it too. From my perspective religion should be the first subject removed in order to make way for it; then train a cohort of commuted teachers.

• Another and perhaps the biggest problem now that I think about it is that ‘democracy in Ireland’ is taught as a completed project. Our democracy is described, not analysed. Young people are idealistic. They want to know how to make things better and to do so they need to be taught in an context where democracy is seen as an ongoing project. It’s not just FF and FG etc. Students need to be told stories about courageous citizens; a good example is the history of ‘the Credit Unions, whose founders wiped a large number of loan sharks and pawn shops and revolutionised poor communities. A number of founders were threatened and attacked. These are powerful examples to discuss and are community based- not parliament based.

In short the democratic process should be taught as problematic and not as a series of simplistic myths which exclude participation and kill idealism. For anyone interested in this type of approach you should read about the Brazilian educator Paolo Freire.

• Indeed, Conor.
      And they could follow that up with Eduardo Galeano’s ‘Open Veins of Latin America’ and Naoimi Klein’s ‘Shock Doctrine’, for basic primers on the subversive enemies of the democratic project.

It might be no bad idea, now that we’ve had couple of centuries of attempted democratic replacement of authoritarian heirarchies of hereditary power, to remind the kids that along with the vaunted Liberty the aims of Equality and Fraternity made up the origianal trio.
      Without that attempt at egalitarian lateralisation liberty tends to licence entrenched anti-democratic interests and recreate the original ancien regime in fresh imperial clobber.

• Sorry Colm..

Back to remedial reading class for me then.

• Thanks Damien

I’ll look them up at some stage.
      Colm

• Colm, can I refer you to my post earlier about how we were educated in this subject in the 1970s? We had no text book, just a good teacher!

• Damien, excellently put. The libertarian take on “liberty” is to make it the prerogative of the strong, those who take what they want because they can.

Whereas, the public good is a community (fraternity) project, one that prioritises the defence of the rights of the weakest members in order to promote equality and social solidarity.

In turn, social solidarity enables humans to accomplish much that we never could as a disparate collection of islands of self-sufficiency.

Great example upthread – credit unions.

• Sound, Auntie

I just responded to your other comment re T Pratchett…thought you were taking the proverbial. Excuse the retort.
      I need a pint.

• Have we all forgotten about the Dept of Education’s plan to reform the Junior Cycle in 2014. Secondary schools are being told they have to reduce the number of subjects and to focus on literacy and numeracy instead. This means that principals are faced with deciding if they should drop subjects like history and geography from the junior cycle. CSPE won’t get a look in.

• How about parents get off their asses and teach their children something instead of leaving them in front of the TV?

• You can’t teach until you’ve learned a little. And if they haven’t learned to control the TV….they’ve bit of learning left before they can teach the kids.
      Too many ‘adults’ think education is a finite, rather than, as Colm says above of democracy, an ongoing project.

• I vaguely remember doing something like this at school. Briefly. As some have said it was a class once a week or so, where nobody, including the teacher, seemed to know quite what to do. If Aaron McKenna want’s this class taught more frequently and with more attention put on it, and I’m not saying he’s right or wrong, then within a finite timetable something else has to give. We’re constantly bombarded with messages that our children have to improve in areas like math’s, foreign languages and computer sciences so maybe this is a message society should be teaching them, their parents etc. and not another subject to cram into an already packed timetable.

• The responsibility to sufficiently inform the young people of Ireland about politics falls not only to the government, but so too to parents themselves. It’s all well and good to point the finger at the education system’s inadequacies in this area, but it carries a degree of hypocrisy if mums and dads are not prepared to invest their time in explaining and discussing the political workings of the country with their children. To do this-even over dinner or whilst travelling to or from somewhere-is sure to compliment what they learn in school which-at present-isn’t very much.

As a second year university student I am not particularly familiar with how CSPE is currently taught. I can confirm, however, that my own experience of it was less than inspiring. 1 hour per week was dedicated primarily to dicussing the charecteristics of a good citizens-i.e. don’t hurt animals or people, don’t litter etc.-and matching pictures to well-known faces. The examination is a joke and many of those with whom I took it were out of the exam hall in little over thirty minutes. Designing posters and answering questions based on a comprehension will not create informed citizens.

Young adults’ knowledge of how government works and how their decisions affect us is, quite frankly, astounding. I am currently involved in the FED UP? STAND UP! campaign against fee increases and grant cuts and, while this effects everyone, the numbers who have actually become angered by such shocking stats as “39% unemployment for under 25 year olds” and “33% emigration” is minimal.

Romantic Ireland is dead and gone, certainly, but so too will an informed nation of voters be if we do not do something about it NOW.

• The government does not want informed citizens. They only want good corporate citizens and those totally dependant on the state.

• Would be nice to see a return of the concept of the public good to your grand civics plan. Sadly lacking in modern neoliberal societies like ours.

• I take on board a lot of what you say about CSPE. It’s not exactly a priority among students. I disagree with u writing it off because it teaches students to be more sensitive to others. Surely In light of recent cyber bullying teen tragedies this is very necessary. I do agree that CSPE must be a more clued in subject to current events and what’s happening in media. Make it matter to young people!

• There’s no shortage of the “government should sort this out” mentality evidenced in The Journal commentary, rarely balanced with a realistic proposal of where the money should come from.

• It’s a news site, what did you expect. We’re not all gov advisers or policy makers, just frustrated citizens!

• Sorry Ryan, have to disagree. Voicing your disapproval of govt policy, without offering, or even knowing if there is a viable alternative is irrational.
      I’ve seen a lot of Journal comments along the lines of: “the money for child benefit (or other massive €bn spend) should come from reducing politician’s salaries & pensions”.

• Well I guess that’s your perspective. But I have noticed relevant & interesting comments that do highlight alternatives. Only trouble is that they are glossed over and more often than not disregarded because they go against the grain of gov followers, being branded as irrelevant or left wing, and usually resulting in personal insults from the person who disagrees, other than that you get general wide sweeping statements such as, naysayers know nothing & all everybody does is moan.The rebound from that means the debate goes no further. You have to remember that, as an outlet for commenting on current affairs, this website give the average person an opportunity to voice their opinion. (Not policy makers and shakers, the average paddy) You don’t have to agree with everything but that’s the joys of this groundbreaking news site. Just for the record the readers comments section on a Saturday highlight a snippet of interesting and positive comments from the week.

• #Aaron – it strikes me you could do with a civics lesson yourself…calling yourself a public representative on your website when you have not been elected to any public position.

• I’m locally active in my area, for example having coordinated campaigns in assistance to DW’s local hospital in the past; the real pay campaign… I say I’m a representative, not an elected official.

• when i was in secondary school civic class usually entailed the teaches reading a newspaper at the top of the class to himself and we were told to “keep it down” = still trying to figure out we had the class when we were never taught the subject.

• I whole-heartedly agree. Political education should be more important in our schools now, to answer those questions that some pupils might have. Instead, many must learn as they go along.

In my community, the papers, radio and television have politically educated the majority of them and the rest simply have no interest and opt to avoid it, something quite impossible. What’s worrying, is the lack of knowledge among my community about bias and agenda setting in the media.

We need to start political education from the bottom and work our way up as the current C.S.P.E system offers nothing but a paycheck to the teacher. I remember three things that I learned from my years during the junior certificate and they are who the Taoiseach was at the time (Bertie Ahern), who the Minister for Health was (Mary Harney), and who the Secretary-General of the United Nations was ( Kofi Annan).

• Aaron McKenna, a regular contributor to this site should declare his political allegiances to be fair. It’s a known fact that he has leanings to Ruth Coppinger and Joe Higgins of the Socialist Party.

• Do you mean that all journalists should make plain their political leanings? If so, that seems logical. If not, why not the others?

• If the day should ever arrive that the Trots should sweep to power in Ireland, I’ll be one of the first to get a knock on the door in the middle of the night to be carted off to some gulag or other: A businessman who believes in a smaller, more efficient government and who, in this article for example, makes it plain he doesn’t believe it’s governments role to solve every problem of the world.

But yeah, I’m clearly a hardcore Marxist other than that…

• You think Joe Higgins advocates gulags!?!? Are you not aware that there were plenty of ‘trots’ as you call them also in the gulags? This is an unbecoming rant.

• we need to fix and reform the political system first, then teach the kids how it works and have them practise it in schools i.e School elections for students etc.! Then If we get rid of FF/FG/Labour/SF/Socialists, that’d be progress! These parties are corrupted by a corrupt system, we need new parties and fresh thinking!

• Orly 10/11/12 #

I don’t get why subjects like C.S.P.E., S.P.H.E. and Philosophy aren’t given proper curricula at secondary school level and made into Leaving Cert. exam subjects. If you can study their likenesses in college then why on earth not receive an education in them prior to that?

Add New Comment