TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Column: Hauling bankers to court may be satisfying – but it won’t stop the rot

Instead of our usual witch-hunt we need a serious discussion about the purpose of our banking system, writes Arthur Doohan.

Arthur Doohan

WE ALL HAD a pleasantly salacious time last week watching various bankers being hauled before the courts and given good talking-tos by our esteemed judiciary. In the vernacular I believe this is referred to as the ‘perp walk’, where the fourth estate gets to harmlessly indulge our ancient tendencies to hue and cry and witch-hunt.

All of which amounts to slamming the stable door on a horse whose cantering about the farmyard is still damaging this economy. Bad bankers and banking have caused huge current problems for everyone in the state. The same problems are afflicting most of the developed economies concurrently and concertedly.

Banking has seldom been an asset to the State or the economy in Ireland. It has had just as poor a history of labour disputes as other sectors, and it has been sufficiently unfriendly to enterprise and innovation that the State has had to set up its own banks and to establish the global model for government agencies to stimulate investment. And all this while the banks demanded the same privileges that obtained elsewhere, such as depositor guarantees and light touch regulation.

So, if we are to avoid more of the same from our banks and to help us get out of this morass, I would ask you to consider a ‘purp walk’ for banking – that is, let us take out for a stroll the notion of the ‘purpose’ of banking. Specifically: What are banks for, what have they actually been doing, what are they doing now and what should they be doing in the future?

What we have

We, currently, have what are called ‘universal banks’. That is, they do ‘everything’ with respect to money and quite a few other things beside. Our banks borrow money, lend money, move money, convert money, ‘invest’ money and advise on all of the foregoing. For all of these services they charge fees as well as potentially profiting from ‘exposures’, or the risk-taking we inadvertently allow them to enter into with our money. About the only thing they don’t do is print the damn stuff, despite what some ‘theorists’ will tell you.

This concentration of business models into a single conglomerate is a historic accident rather than a strategic decision. It is an accident waiting to happen – which it does, repeatedly, as the history of banking shows. Further, it is an accident that disregards the prudential structures that exist in all other financial markets.

Nowhere else are the risk-takers allowed operate the risk transfer mechanism. In plain English, in every other financial market in the entire planet either there is an ‘exchange’ – which is an independent entity that carries no risk – or risk transfer is done multilaterally from each to each other. Only in banking are the handful of big players, who carry the most risk, allowed to operate the ‘clearing system’.

Out of this strategic oversight grows the risk that allows politicians to frighten us with threats of ATM shutdowns, failures to pay wages and the like. The recent systemic problems at RBS/NatWest/Ulster Bank have shown us that the ‘clearing banks’ are prone to failings in this.

Conflict of interest

There is also an embedded conflict of interest in the fact that banks are allowed to charge ‘advice fees’ for selling products that they will make profits on. Is there any legislation or regulation that forces bank officials to advise clients of their competitors products or services? If there is, I assume, it is ‘enforced’ to the usual standard of the Irish fiduciary authorities, says he pulling his lower eyelid to the floor…

A further issue is that the system’s risk management tools (derivatives principally) and risk transfer methodology (securitisation mainly) have proven to be ineffective, and actually dangerous in many cases.

Added to all of this is a star system of employment leading to overpayment for what amounts to rewarding people for lucky gambling outcomes, and encouraging doubling up of both good and bad bets.

Lastly, our banks insist on being given a Government guarantee for their raw material (our deposits) so that they don’t have to take responsibility for their profligacy. This exposes us to their ‘moral hazard’ and gives them a free embedded option, known on Wall Street as the ‘trader’s put’ (the trader can put you into trouble but walk away untouched himself). It has been amusing to watch them turn the notion of ‘moral hazard’ on its head in refusing to allow borrowers some relief from the bankers’ mistakes while they refuse to deal with their own moral bankruptcy. Amusing in a very frustrating way, that is.

So, clearly, banking is a mess. But our Government is in thrall to it even if the people no longer are. Clearly, also, it has been a mess for a very long time.

It is structurally unsound, overly complicated, morally deficient, professionally conflicted, technically overreaching and given to self-indulgent excess. In parenting terms, it’s a spoilt child with a cocaine habit driving the family car… with the family on board.

What we need

Anybody can lend money to anyone else, and they can charge interest for it. So, why do we lend our money to bankers rather than directly to businesses or housebuyers? On the continent people do that – they buy bonds from (i.e. lend money to) businesses and housing associations they know. Yes, they have banks as well but (1) not so much and (2) not so big.

In the ‘Anglo-Saxon’ world of business practice that we Irish have adopted by default (a word we must use judiciously), we do have a share-buying culture but not a bond-buying one. We use our banks as risk diversification mechanisms for our prudential investment strategy. That is, we let the bank manager invest our money in a pool of loans and we take a reduced return in exchange for a heretofore presumed safe one.

We need to preserve this function in banking, and that is the only thing we need to keep.

Getting from here to there

Domestically, we have been witnesses to Lenihan’s and Noonan’s ‘Frankenstein-ian’ misadventures in attempting to create a viable banking system by assembling bits of dead institutions into facsimiles of living ones. Even the nomenclature of ‘pillar banks’ has been unfortunate – in that instead of being strong and supportive they are seen as immobile, hard and old-fashioned.

Contrary to the assertions of those in the system, neither the Guarantee, the recapitalisations, NAMA or any other of the fudged reforms has created any institution capable of advancing new credit; as the closures, redundancies and shrinking debt levels attest.

IFSC Dublin

Workers in the IFSC in Dublin (Niall Carson/PA Archive)

Internationally, we have only seen the Vicker’s Commission in the UK consider any changes to the structure and nature of banking. The concept of ‘ringfencing’ has a pleasant and well-meaning ring to it but it has not been shown to be either ‘organic’ or concretely implementable. Further, the seven year implementation timetable seems unnecessarily long for such minor reforms and seems designed to allow for a sustained lobbying process to water down the provisions which has already got under way and already has the support of the Chancellor. Fortunately, the latest wave of scandals seems likely to consign Vickers to the dustbin of inadequacy and irrelevancy.

So, having dispensed with the current situation without reference to the classic Kerryman ‘directions’ joke, we have to ask: What road do we take to get to a stable safe banking system?

The Prescription

There was nothing wrong with ‘Glass-Steagall’ apart from bankers not liking it – which in itself seems a sufficient reason for bringing it back. The implied principle of having separate and single ‘business lines’ for operations with fiduciary duties would seem a sensible one and should be extended to the fullest degree. It would make real the concept of ‘ringfencing’.

This would imply the creation of a utility clearing mechanism divested from the banks. If it was good enough for the gas and electricity networks here and abroad, I don’t see why it doesn’t apply to the banks.

It would also imply the divestiture of the banks’ credit card businesses. Again, there is no reason why not to and there is no good reason why we should be tolerating financial ‘conglomerates’. People already hold multiple cards from multiple operators, some of which are not bank affiliates; and the banks already pool credit data into separate agencies to determine credit ratings. A further advantage to separating these ‘business lines’ is that the credit card system is in itself a form of clearing system and if completely independent of the banks would give a strength in depth through redundancy to the economy’s need for payment-clearing mechanisms.

Lastly, the banks should not be allowed to dispense advice for which they charge fees which puts them into conflicts of interest. This is the same objection in principle as saying that ‘audit’ and ‘consultancy’ should not be provided to businesses by the same firms.

For those who wish to cavil about the expense implied in these reforms, I can only point to the expense we are all being put to by not having these reforms, and ask: Which you would rather go through again?

Hazardous bankers

This leaves us with the problem of morally hazardous bankers. The operational difficulty is that we ‘guarantee’ the deposits but the problems come from the loans. How can one guarantee the loans? You can’t, in practice. What you can do in practice is constrain the guaranteed banks from lending offshore.

A particular problem with the Irish banking crisis was that German and British fund managers seeking higher yields lent money into Irish banks who lent it to their pet developers to overpay for German shopping malls and British hotels. It has not been explained why it is the moral duty of the Irish taxpayer to compensate these ‘professionals’ for their greedy mistakes. I understand why the Irish must pay for the hotels and shopping malls built in Ireland, but I do not see why we are liable for those bought elsewhere.

I am not suggesting that banks should not be free to lend overseas… only that they should do it via distinct legal entities and that these should not be guaranteed by the State. If the bankers complain that they won’t be able to do business overseas, that is their problem not that of the State or its taxpayers.

In order to square the circle of competition and robustness and redundancy,  I would want to see the ‘mutual’ sector restored to a position of health and strength. This could be done in many ways but perhaps the simplest would be to merge the EBS and PTSB and perhaps IL&P to give a fourth ‘player’ in the credit advance/banking sector.

As a final flourish to wrap up everything in a neat bow tie of robust redundancy, the PostBank should be reconstituted so as to provide a third clearing mechanism.

Conclusions

These reforms would leave us with a GDP-appropriate banking industry robust to shocks with enhanced transparency and competition.

If the bankers say that they will be ‘hamstrung’, I say that they have ‘hamstrung’ the whole economy and that they should get used to suffering like the rest of us.

The Irish economy and the Irish people need working banks much more than it needs Irish owned banks and we need banks that won’t get too big for our boots.

There is a quiet discussion being held right now in the Dept of Finance about the future shape of banking in Ireland. In that ‘discussion’ the civil servants are responding ‘how high?’ when the banks talk, in exactly the same way they did when the banks rewrote our bankruptcy legislation. We need to tell our politicians to get involved in that discussion, and if they won’t then we should get involved in it directly.

Arthur Doohan is a banker by experience and a web consultant by choice. He writes at doohan.org, where this post originally appeared. It has also been posted on the TASC Progressive Economy blog.

Read next:

Comments (61 Comments)

• It may not stop the rot but it may name and shame who really destroyed our nation and it may also start the clean up of corruption in our financial institutions which in turn may change the way business is carried out in a open and honest way

• What’s the first thing you do renovating an old house?? cut out the rot!

• Bernadette i agree with you the only problem i see with this is most of these judges are FF appointed and they know how to call in a favour

• Dmc 18/08/12 #

Bankers wont be arrested. They are tied in with the politicians and Judges. Too mich dirt will get out

• I totally agree Dermot they are totally all wrapped up in the duvet together

• rusty9 19/08/12 #

Many Bankers are still rotten to the core. Just look at IBRC squandering hundreds of millions of taxpayers money in trying to destroy Quinn instead of working with him. Like or loathe Sean Quinn, there is one certainly in all of this. He offered to repay 2.8 billion euros to the IRish people, despite the fact that 2.3 billion was illegally advanced by Anglo to prop up the share price.

That offer was thrown in his face in favour of a strategy that will never see the return of one cent for the taxpayers,but instead will add bilions to our bill WHILE THIS GOVERNMENT FACILITATES THIS MISAPPROPRIATION OF OUR MONEY.

• Fractional reserve banking is ultimately a con. A con we all buy in to as depositors and borrowers. We place our savings on deposit with banks. The banks lend out multiples of those deposits. Yet must convince everyone that their funds will be available on demand when in reality they will not. To Market this con, traditionally, bankers have presented themselves as boringly honest and ethical in their duties.
      When western monetary systems were profoundly altered in 1971, the dynamics of the banking system changed. Bankers who behaved unethically could be richly rewarded with the complicate approval of governments and the state. A symbiotic relationship has developed over decades which incentivises the unethical behaviour of bankers while providing the illusion of growing economies and the states access to unprecedented funding which permits politicans to buy elections.
      Routing out the rot in banking will lead back to central banks and finance departments; ultimately implicating senior politicans and the system itself.

“Under a gold standard, the amount of credit that an economy can support is determined by the economy’s tangible assets, since every credit instrument is ultimately a claim on some tangible asset. But government bonds are not backed by tangible wealth, only by the government’s promise to pay out of future tax revenues, and cannot easily be absorbed by the financial markets. A large volume of new government bonds can be sold to the public only at progressively higher interest rates. Thus, government deficit spending under a gold standard is severely limited. The abandonment of the gold standard made it possible for the welfare statists to use the banking system as a means to an unlimited expansion of credit.”
      Alan Greenspan, 1966

• Hi Bernadette.

The ‘authorities’ want you to focus on punishing individuals, because that allows them to say this problem was not systemic and therefore the system does not need reform.

If you re-read the article carefully, I don’t say anywhere in it, that I am against punishment. I am entirely for punishment but punishment alone won’t fix the current problems and won’t be enough to stop similar abuses happening again if there is no reform to accompany the punishment.

• Sending a murderer to prison doesn’t bring their victim back, its about accountability. If they broke the law then they pay the consequences

• How can we expect bankers or anyone else for that matter to be hauled before the courts, when a sitting TD admitted on national radio to stealing millions of euro from the taxpayer, gets off scott free? This country deserves to be in the state it is! We’ve only ourselves to blame, because we’re prepared to turn a blind eye to things that don’t seem to impact on us directly! I mean look at the way people reacted when we found out about Haughey! That summed it up in one! The country is overrun by corrupt self serving bastards, and it will never change!

• Colie 19/08/12 #

What law(s) was/ were broken? They have been charged with minor breaches because that is all that they can be charged with.
      Find which meaningful law was broken by these irresponsible greedy fools and charge them. Wake up! You will not get your pound of flesh so let’s move on. Why is there this constant need in Ireland to have one or two people to blame? Bertie, Fitzpatrick, Dunne, Quinn. We ourselves have no responsibility here?????

They will not be charged with bringing down the banking system because such laws do not exist. I am as outraged as everyone else but let’s be realistic here.
      If we will feel better by having the board of Anglo or Irish nationwide in jail for 30 days then lets get it over with so we can move on!

• Of course we have responsibility, and if the government had of refused to bail out the banks and let them go to the wall as they should have, then everyone would have paid their dues in proportion to how exposed they were. But that didn’t happen did it? Instead they did guarantee the banks, robbed the people of Ireland blind and those MOST responsible – the politicians, bankers, developers, town planners, etc… came out of it better than ever while everyone else is screwed!
      The unwillingness of Irish governments to implement reform in all these areas only compounds the problem, while solidifying their position.
      How come Iceland doesn’t have a problem sorting these things out??? Oh yeah, their government actually works for their people.

• How about charging them with treason?

Article 39 –
      “treason shall consist only in levying war against the State, or assisting any State or person or inciting or conspiring with any person to levy war against the State, or attempting by force of arms or other violent means to overthrow the organs of government established by the Constitution, or taking part or being concerned in or inciting or conspiring with any person to make or to take part or be concerned in any such attempt.”

vi·o·lence   [vahy-uh-luhns] Show IPA
      noun
      1. swift and intense force: the violence of a storm.

2. rough or injurious physical force, action, or treatment: to die by violence.

3.an unjust or unwarranted exertion of force or power, as against rights or laws: to take over a government by violence.

4.a violent act or proceeding.

5.rough or immoderate vehemence, as of feeling or language: the violence of his hatred.

Definition 3 fits the Irish predicament nicely.

• Hi Brendan

If you re-read the article carefully, I don’t say anywhere in it, that I am against punishment. I am entirely for punishment but punishment alone won’t fix the current problems and won’t be enough to stop similar abuses happening again if there is no reform to accompany the punishment.

The ‘authorities’ want you to focus on punishing individuals, because that allows them to say this problem was not systemic and therefore the system does not need reform.

If you prefer a metaphor, this article is about ‘gun-control’ after an outbreak of gun murders, it is not about the guilt or punishment of the guilty. To focus entirely on ‘punishment’ is to set yourself up for more ‘gun deaths’.

• Why prosecute anyone then? These guys are responsible for destroying lives because of their greed. In a civilised society crime has to be punished

• forget enquiries and the time frame involved.A couple of waterboarding kits and half an hour later you would have the full story,Yes yes i know is torture and law forbids it but we cannot punish two generations for the massive fraud lies and greed of people who appear to just wash their hands of the whole debacle without answers.

• I second that John. Waterboard the bankers. May I suggest Journal you do a column with Enda Kenny tomorrow as to why TDs deserve to get paid so much. Ah sh!t. Enda doesn’t do interviews.

• May i suggest the water boarding of an ex Taoiseach?

• Sadly Oil & Water don’t mix.

• Hi Liam.

• Oh but when you can’t pay the mortgage because you’re paying out all your income to these jackals, then whoa you must go to jail my son, it’s a crime not to pay!

• BREAKING NEWS: Banker doesn’t want bankers to face the music. In other news turkey wants Christmas cancelled.

• Hi “Anonymous”

If you prefer a metaphor, this article is about ‘gun-control’ after an outbreak of gun murders, it is not about the guilt or punishment of the guilty. To focus entirely on ‘punishment’ is to set yourself up for more ‘gun deaths’.

• Of course they should go to trial! What a stupid thing to say.

• could not agree more john would i love to be part of the team being sent in for anwers on these bankers and lets not forget their buddies they big guys have to have people to do their dirty work or as they call it they ground work what a ruthless shower of ———-

• We should lock the Bankers who caused the crisis up in Prison where they belong. Seize their assets. Break up the Largest of the Banks. Separate retail and commercial banking. Have proper regulation and controls, Close tax loopholes and tax the rich properly and ban bonuses.

That would be a good start

• So if a murderer kills someone there is no point in going after them because the person is already dead? Excellent logic……..!

What lessons would be given if we just let them off. We are suffering financially however they should suffer in a different way. If all these bankers were locked up for 20-30 years I’d feel much better. I remember reading that the max they can be locked up for is 10 years because it was commercial/industrial fraud. Should be more!

• Hi Conor

• It’s time to have bankers get their bottoms smacked and their toys taken away.
    Funny thing is do they seem to like it?
    http://www.infowars.com/bankers-declare-u-s-europe-conquered/

• It’s down to accountability and the fact that there has been none. The clowns in power now have proven beyond doubt that they are as incapable of dealing with the lies of the w/bankers as the previous government. However I have heard it all now that the ‘socialist’ minister for education thinks it’s a good idea that a bank that has played a part in breaking the country led by a man who was there through it all is able to charge students 10.5% on loans to go to college!!! Time for the second Republic.

• Corruption should be punished no matter what. If they be Bankers then so be it.

• Interesting ideas, the current banking model is clearly not working in this crisis and has failed dismally in the past. At the moment good business proposals are getting offers of c 6.5% for long term loans. This is a crippling interest rate, can you explain why is it that ECB rates are so low and retail rates are so high? Who is profiteering from this?

• Hi Thomas, Thank you for the considered reading and response.

The banks are gouging their customers because they are 1) a cartel & 2) dysfunctional. There is no competition in this pseudo-market and because they are losing so much money elsewhere they have to make ‘excess’ profits on any new loans so as to pretend to be profitable.

The ECB will not complain as this strategy allows for further ‘kicking of the can down the road’.

My apologies that the explanation does not offer a solution or alternative.

• Shame they won’t get any time in jail well any real time anyways maybe a week or month I’m all for people paying for there crimes but with these crimes it seems to be a another waste of tax payers money trials that last weeks/months with no real outcome that would teach others not to follow suit

• Les Reed 19/08/12 #

An excellent article. But I want punishment and reform, they should not be mutually exclusive.

• Hi Les and thank you.

My point, which seems not to be well made from my reading of the other comments, is that punishment only is pointless and just sets us up for another incidence of abuse of power.

Nowhere in the article do I say that I don’t want punishment, though most commenters seem to read that between the lines.

Focussing on punishment, however satisifying, is what the ‘authorities’ want the people to do…because it encourages the notion that the individuals are to blame rather than the whole system.

• Bankers , developers and the legal profession go way back. The Four Seasons was owned or is owned by a group of legal professionals including judges and barristers. We live in a very small country and most of these guys went to school and college together.

• Lock the bankers up and throw away the key, the people want justice not more excuses and stupid statements like we wont get the money back…..aslong as the likes of seanie fitz and co are enjoying the soap dropping games in mountjoy and suffering for there crimes thats what the people want

• There is no legislation of which they can be prosecuted for any meaningful length of time don’t you get that or do you just go around making stupid statements yourself so you sound good.

• Les Rock 18/08/12 #

The whole system reminds me of the film “the firm”

• What does bankers rhyme with ?
    Do I need to say anymore.

• Damage society – you go to jail.

Should we not stop sending all criminals to jail because “it may be satisfying” but wont solve ongoing problems?!!!

• He was a banker. He would say that wouldn’t he? It’s special pleading. Personally I think seeing the bankers and politicians who got us into this mess face the music would be exceedingly therapeutic. Justice, please!!

• Hi Mary

• Like sending rapists to prison is not gonna stop rape…

• I agree for every one that goes to court or prison with tennis courts their is another 10 to take their place.The plucking of the best young minds from college into the murky lucrative financial world leaves other area’s like health education and area development short of creative unbiased ideas that Ireland needs. The whole country is rotten with non accountability not just in the banking sector.Performance and efficiency should be review’ed every 4 months if the person in charge is not up to the job replace him/her that will set the standard and make the person in charge of the sector keep standards high all down the ranks .

• alan 19/08/12 #

No one in a powerful position in the banking industry in Ireland will be jailed, but plenty of the people who took their loans will

• The banks are out of control. The Government is out of control. We are not in control of any of them.

• Very apt photo of the IFTC. 2 of the floors are empty of ‘workers’.

• Interesting article. I would take the banking reform a step further and ask if should we remove the banking function from the hands of private enterprise completely. Banking at it’s core is a very simple business. As Mr. Doohan says ‘Anybody can lend money to anyone else’ and this is the only banking function that we really need to keep.
    Let’s take banking into state ownership to ensure it’s operated properly and with minimal risk. An added benefit to the improved regulation is that the state/people collectively will benefit from the relatively easy profits to be made from the banking function. It’s the banking license that we grant to the banks that places them at the centre of the flow of money in society and allows them to siphon off some of the flow as profit. Instead we could retain the banking privilege for the benefit of the people.
    The banking institutions could be run as separate entities and measured against each other to preserve competition and maintain efficiency but the controlling stake in each would be held by the state.

• This may be a little radical. Since this is all Irish people ripping off other Irish people, Irish bankers robbing their Irish clients, Irish politicians in cahoots with Irish bankers and Irish developers, deceiving and conning every Irish person they can fiddle, maybe we should put the country out to tender? No Irish need apply.

• Kevin 19/08/12 #

Great article Arthur; very insightful and thought provoking.

• So essentially what you’re saying is, if someone murdered your family while burgling your home, you’d not want to see them jailed for the crime? Because there will always be murders, and there will always be burglars, right?

Seriously. It’s gone well beyond ROT at this stage. These are people who have committed treason against Ireland, and as a result need to pay the price.

• If you are so clever, why aren’t you rich? Of course for all I know maybe you are!

• Mjhint 19/08/12 #

Looks like no one has the stomach to end the corruption. I think us little people may end with the bill.

• censored 20/08/12 #

Arthur Doohan, you messed up your whole argument by appearing to suggest that we should not punish the people who destroyed our country. Better luck next time.

• I have been very surprised at the reactions…as nowhere do I say that they should not be punished. I can only surmise that the readers are imputing that into my use of the word ‘witchhunt’.

It is very disappointing to see that people are so fixated on ‘fixing the blame’ and not on ‘fixing the problem’, as if everyone is brought to penury we will all be happier…

Oh, well! Onwards and upwards…..

Thanks for reading…..

Add New Comment