TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Bullied: Your stories of bullying in school

We asked and you told us. Here are your stories about bullying in school.

Christina Finn

A NUMBER OF tragic incidents in Ireland over the past number of months has pushed the subject of bullying into the headlines. This week (4 – 10 March) the ISPCC is running Anti-Bullying Awareness Week to highlight the issue of bullying and discuss solutions to the problem from the point of view of children, parents, teachers and bystanders.

We asked you to tell us your experiences and we were inundated with responses. Here are your experiences, in your words, of bullying at school…

Joan

I never write or ring into places or papers, but this issue is so serious. The more that is done the better. I am a parent of two wonderful boys who are being bullied verbally and physically on almost daily basis. One boy more so as he is the one who sticks up for himself, so he seems to be targeted more. They’re good lads and do nothing to deserve it. The bullies do it so cleverly that teachers and staff are completely unaware what is happening around them. The school does plenty of talks each year, but it doesn’t work. The management and staff are so busy that they don’t even have time to care and when they do punish it, it is not enough.

One of my kids has just gone into second year and was beaten up by a sixth year. All the boy got was a three day suspension. Other kids from his class just watched and nobody intervened. Neither the child or parent has apologised for his actions. The principal didn’t even look at the footage of what happened, he thought ‘oh it’s dealt with now, the boy has owned up to what he’s done’. A few days later, I spoke to colleagues in the school and asked for them to keep any eye on my child, they hadn’t heard a single word or were not made aware of certain pupils that are vulnerable and under constant treat of bullying.

How do I protect my child

All I keep doing is re-assuring my children of their worth and how much they’re loved. I tell them that most of these bullies end up as wasters, so to speak. They say they’re okay, but I know by their sad faces it gets to them. I could easily be one of those parents whose child commits suicide over this. I am at a loss as to how best protect my child –  neither the school or the parents care. I have seen some of these bullies profiles on a social network and they seem so popular it’s beyond belief. Even kids who are really nice to my boy at school turn different when the bullies, the so-called cool kids, are around and they join in on the laughing. I am trying to teach my children how to deal with it, but they say it’s so NOT cool to tell someone, that’s why kids are suffering in silent.

Cyber-bulling

One of my children went on a social network for a while. The amount of horrible things you could see his class mates do was ridiculous, like tagging other kids in horrible pictures and calling each other awful names. As a parent I check things regularly while they’re online and I have their passwords always. No under 18-year-olds should be online without a parent having their password. I am completely computer literate, but I’d never really heard of ask.fm until now – but there are so many things like this online now it is hard to keep up. Even on Bebo you could say stuff anonymously about your friends and kids think it’s all just a joke. Most kids hide their activities and minimise what their looking at so their parents cannot see. The gardaí have talked in the schools in our locality about online activities and the dangers, but very little showed up to the meeting. I was at on on my own for 15 minutes after it started, when three other parents showed up late, and this is a school of 200 pupils.

It seems parents are a lot to blame for not bothering to educate themselves on it. I have innocently told relations that their kids are on Facebook and they had no idea. I won’t be allowing my kids on any of these sites again, its bad enough trying to deal with the bullies you can see, how the hell do you deal with the ones you can’t?

(Image via Shutterstock/Monkey Business Images)

Mark

I was victim of bullying and it was of an anti-Semitic nature. It lasted on and off for about two years. I had a supportive family and friends to help me through it but my school, and in particular, the principal acted disgracefully inadequately. My tormentors were not dealt with in any effective manner and I had to continue to suffer even after the first two times I reported the abuse. Bullying in my particular school is an epidemic which is simply not dealt with. School authorities country-wide need to be held accountable.

Lisa

It all began as I started secondary school in an all-girls school. I was so happy to be entering the next chapter in my life. As soon as I was put into my class I noticed ‘the cool girls’. This group consisted of approximately five girls. Straight away they would intimidate people, they always sat at the back of the classroom, laughed behind peoples backs, threw things at people, all of which was mostly ignored as we were all afraid of them.

As time went on I realised I had slowly but surely got friendly with these girls, who obviously were making everyone’s experience of secondary school hell. I began sitting with them, having lunch with them and even on the odd occasion, meeting outside school. I actually felt like I belonged, I felt like I must be cool if the ‘cool girls’ were letting me be in their gang.

The joy of finding new friends didn’t last long. Not long after I found myself being more of a slave than a friend. I would sometimes be ‘asked’ to go to the canteen and get all of their lunches, they obviously did not take into consideration I only had two hands, but of course I was too afraid to say no.  They would laugh at things I’d say and totally belittle me. The bossiness turned more nasty as time went on. My mother would give me €2 per day as lunch money, which I was encouraged to give away to one of the girls in the group each day. She would say to me ‘you don’t smoke, why would you need it’ and hound me until I would hand my lunch money over.

Misery

I felt like I was brainwashed, these bullies who were making my life a misery and made me think they were my best friends. I would cry for hours at home and sometimes I’d go to the bathroom at lunch time and sit in a cubicle just to get away from it all. My mother would often ask me was I okay and did I need to talk about anything, but I would not say. I felt like I couldn’t say anything, it would all just get worse. I thought I needed to stay tough. I don’t think to this day they realise what they put me through.

At this stage I had lost all my decent friends who I knew for years through primary school. I felt like if I hung around with them or talked to them the bullying would get worse. My old friends hated me as I stood back and watched them be belittled by the gang. I now found myself to be a lonely 16-year-old with bullies as ‘friends’ and my grades had gone downhill. I was failing all my subjects and my parents would often ask what happened me, that I used to be so bright, but the truth was I just didn’t have the energy for school any more – I hated it. I didn’t care if I was failing, I just wanted to be liked.

Break away

A teacher said I wasn’t doing great in my geography class and suggested I stay back a year to catch up. At first I thought no way, how could I handle another year of this, but it soon dawned on me that was exactly what I needed. It was either this or move school. As I enrolled the following year I began doing so much better for myself. I was hanging around with different people and one by one the bullies began dropping out of school. That was it, I had been forgotten about by the gang and I had never been so happy to lose friends. My grades went up, I was more confident, I started dating people, socialising more and even went on to college, which would not have happened if I had stayed friends with these bullies.

I now live in the same town as these girls and I often bump into them. I say hi and walk on. They now call me a snob behind my back and say I’ve changed, but that’s something I’m so proud of myself. My advice to people getting bullied is get away from it, get as far away as possible, it will eat at you and lead to depression. Talk to whoever you can, I know I didn’t do it at the time, but I regret not talking to an adult and letting them get away with so much. It’s so important to share your pain. A few years of my life was taken away from me. I should have been experiencing secondary school but instead I experienced depression. And it’s not only you that can tell someone, please if you see this happening to someone don’t sit back and watch, do something about it.

All names have been changed for anonymity reasons. Over the next week TheJournal.ie will be highlighting other stories of bullying. More to follow…

If you have been effected by any of the issues mentioned and would like to talk to someone please call Console on the service’s 24-hour helpline at freephone 1800 201 890. People can also access the charity’s services by texting ‘HELP’ to 51444, or at its website: www.console.ie. The charity has full-time centres in Dublin, Cork, Galway, Limerick and Wexford, and also offers services in other counties. If you are under 18, you can contact Childline Ireland by calling 1800 66 66 66 or texting 50101. They also have a live chat available on their website from 2pm-10pm every day. Its services are open to people of any age. Teenline can be contacted by calling 1800 833 634, seven days a week from 7pm-10pm.

Column: How parents can help a child who is being bullied>

Read: 63 per cent of people think schools should ban smartphones and social networks>

Read next:

Comments (55 Comments)

• One of my school tormentors recently apologised to me for his bad behaviour. I left that place 25 years ago but it played on his mind

• As did one of mine. She was really very apologetic over it, but I just said that life was too short to hold grudges. @Barbara, the excuse my son’s bully gave for his behaviour was that he just didn’t like my son. To which I replied “If you don’t like him, why waste your energy? Don’t bully him, just leave him be.”. The last straw was when my son was beaten up by this kid and his two friends on the way home from school. The principal found out and all were dragged in to her office. She yelled at them so much they came out in tears, and they were suspended for a week. They didn’t go near him again after that.

• I was never bullied at school thank god but my heart goes out to the kids. I’m an adult now and am being bullied occasionally at work, would you believe, and my self esteem and motivation etc. is in the gutter so I can imagine how awful it is for a child.

• I grew up in a small town in the west. I was continuously bullied by a particular cool kid, the usual story he was from a good family and they were involved with the gaa, Fianna fail and the mother was a pious nasty scandalising witch. Anyway he would start at me on the bus, in school, at football training etc. Get everyone to start at me and i often went home with a black eye or crying ( at 15 & 16!!) The bastard destroyed my teenage years. Why?? Because I was alot shorter and not as strong as lads my age.My parents complained… local guard was this bullys uncle… no joy there. This went on for years.

Then I left home and went to college. I grew up (physically) and being in college helped me make genuine friends and enjoy sport etc. College was great.One night I went to the local at home during a visit and there he was. He said hello and I just stood and stared at him. He knew I wasnt having any crap from him.He came over to me and said he wanted to apologise for everything. He started begging me to forgive him for what he did and said that he knew he had acted terribly etc. I told him I accepted his apology and we shook hands. He was about to stay at the table where I was sitting but I told him to go back to the bar as I was meeting friends.

He knows I accepted his apology but will not ever be friendly with him. From what I see and hear the guy hasnt many friends and spends many evenings on his own holding up the bar in the local.

• I was bullied throughout secondary school. Mainly because I didnt pretend to be thick like some of the other smart lads. So displaying intelligence of any kind resulted in name calling and jeering and general harrassment. In my first year I went to a teacher about it on my own, she then went to the school head who proceeded to reprimand thr main culprits.

But from then on I was a squeeler according to the bullies so thr bullying became more intense. I learned to just tune it out eventually and decided I’d use my intelligence to show them up in class. I ended up having better relationships with my teachers instead. Out of the 100 or so lads in my final year, I remain mates with only one to this day, he was a bullying victim too. And we both enjoy the fact that the losers who bullied us are pretty much losers to this day that have mainly amounted to being leeches of the state.

To this day I despise bullying in all its forms and will never tolerate it from anyone or any organisation.

Bullying can be overcome but its a hard slog.

• Hi, I would like to reply to Joan’s comment. I have been through an almost exact experience with one of my sons. My heart truly goes out to you.

The bullying happened to my son in primary school over many years and he did not tell us. The bullies were his “so called friends”. One of the bullies moved into the same secondary school as my son. Then it started again. My son lost his hair over it all.

However, when he did tell us what was going on, we got tremendous help from the school. We also got counselling for my son. The journey is not over yet for us all though. The initial counselling took place over a few months. However, the repercussions of the bullying stayed with my son. He finds it difficult to maintain friendships and has very low self-esteem. I share your anxiety over the risk of suicide though, this plays on my mind a lot. Recently, we got him referred to the local Child and Family Mental Health Unit, and thankfully we are now receiving great help.

Please reassure your sons that it is not their fault. They are the victims here, they have done nothing. Your family GP should be able to refer your sons for counselling if that is the road you wish to take. It helped my son a lot.

My thoughts are with you Joan.

• The most notorious bully in my old school has gone on to bully people in her workplace. She, like many bullies, had parents who could never imagine their little princess doing anything wrong, ever, and brushed off any complaints about their daughter as ‘jealousy’. The approach has to come from the schools. I think primary level schools need to actively teach that this behaviour is wrong, and adequately punish it if it occurs (ideally educating the younger child who bullies). At secondary level, I agree with the ‘three strikes and you’re out’ comment above. If the kids have no serious consequences either at home or at school, they just keep doing it.

• I’m a student teacher at primary level and I’ve taught in five schools over the past few years and all schools do actively teach about bullying and its effects in SPHE classes and in the wider school setting.
      Teachers always are on the lookout for bullying but when there are 20 kids (usually more like 30 in the Dublin area) it can be very difficult to pick up on things that are not necessarily happening in the classroom. Most schools issue strict instructions to children to report things that they don’t think are right.

I do think that there should be appropriate systems set up to adequately educate and punish the behaviour but who do you expect to do that? The teachers who are forced to sit in pointless meetings for Croke Park hours when they could be planning and monitoring classwork?

Teachers always get the blame. No wonder so many great teachers I know are planning to leave the country or switch careers.

• tom 05/03/13 #

The real world is in front of you if you open your eyes. It’s not acceptable to use exuses too many students and time taken up with self interest CPII meetings.
      If what you say if typical of all teachers then higher teaching standards are needed with a firm focus on students needs.

Until it is firmly accepted by all teachers that most important people in school is the students. Their wellbeing and education has to take priority over all other interests.

• Rachel, thanks for your comment. I find that the most profoundly depressing aspect of this pattern, that narcissistic opportunism and sadism are not only not properly punished at an early stage, they are implicitly encouraged as being the best character aspects that fit people for society. (Yes, we might vocally condemn such actions, but this is merely another example of Irish doublethink – the spoken rules are flouted while the unwritten rules of the playground are implemented with an iron fist.) This is not only bad for the bullies’ victims, it is bad for society, as such people are primarily interested in feathering their own nest and manipulating and exploiting others for it and don’t care about benefiting the world at large. They are free of the burden of conscience or compassion.

Thankfully, such people are rare. Bullying can be transient behaviour in people who are unsettled or unhappy and early correction can help sort this to the satisfaction of everyone. But for the small minority of sociopaths, there are no penalties, only more rewards that they can dream of. We don’t have to look very far to see evidence of that in certain dynasties and manifestations of power in Ireland today, alas.

• I advise anyone who is being bullied to keep a diary – hand written, and backed up online. Record every event, the time, place, etc. For cyber bullying take screen shots. If you know exactly when you’re going to be approached by the bully, record it with your phone, either video or audio. Those cannot be easily faked. This may be unpleasant to recount for some especially if the bullying is traumatic, but it will aid you for when you seek help.

• That’s good advice and particularly useful for workplace bullying.

Generally schoolyard bullying behaviour is very obvious. Workplace bullying is usually so subtle that one act of bullying in isolation may not be recognised as bullying. However, if you have a log of every time a particular person has left you off an email, given harsh and unwarranted criticism, attempted to humiliate you in front of colleagues, lies they have told people about you that you’re aware of etc… you can build a case to demonstrate the harassment.

• That’s a really great piece of advice.
      The more records and evidence anyone can gather the better. If it affects you, record it. It can only be of help to your case. Excellent contribution!

• Fon 05/03/13 #

I had the misfortune to be bullied by my first ever teacher and as it was a rural 2-teacher school, I had to endure her for four years. She would call me names in front of the whole classroom, mock me, critcise everything I did and even told my mother I should be in a handicapped school. You never forget it. The old “Sticks & stones” thing isn’t really true. Words & names DO hurt, especially when they’re coming from someone who should be encouraging and building up your confidence.

• The worst offenders of bullying are all of the people who stand by and let it happen. They are the enablers.

There is also a tendency to blame the victim in circumstances of bullying. Blaming the victim is an attempt to absolve the enablers of any wrong doing in their inaction.

• Lets take the focus away from the “bullied” and place it where it belongs…on the “bully”. Bullies need to be exposed as for cowards which they are. Bullies are insecure people with very low self esteem. They need a group (or gang) in order to operate and actually feel threatened by their “victims”, which is why they target them. You’ll never see a bully operate alone. They need the group in order to be “tough”. Ha!
    The “victim” was perfectly fine before the bully came along. Lets expose the character defects in the bully instead of making the victim feel like they should “toughen up”.

• Don’t forget the absolute devastation bullying at work also causes. It rarely gets a mention.

• Actually bullying outside of school doesn’t get much of a mention either.. I was bullied in my teens, but not by anyone I was in school with, there was cattyness and bitches in my school, but they were just teenage girls, I was able to ignore them.

What I wasn’t able to ignore was the group that used to follow me around my home town and attack me, verbally or physically, depending on the day, putting up graffiti about me. That sucked. They spread rumours and those got all over the place, including back to my parents.. It was horrible. The only support I ever got through that was my friends.

• http://www.bullyonline.org/

This is a great website with loads of information on all types of bullying. It was set up by a guy called Tim Field who was himself bullied.

• Im not sure if its done but anyone who is caught bullying to a horrible extent should have their monstrous behavior printed on their permanent record! No employee would hire them on that and then they’d be the ones struggling!

• Having never experienced real bullying at school other than reciprocated name calling I can’t honestly imagine what kids who are bullied must feel. I simultaneously am so enraged for them and the injustice of it.

The thought of kids manipulating people into handing over their money or kids beating up other kids and getting away with it, is so infuriating and frustrating to me as a reader. Imagine what it must be like to the child. Or even the parents.

I know I will be shouted down but times like these corporal punishment seems pretty appealing. Maybe that is just anger as I am sure bullying went on even when corporal punishment was in place.

Should teachers have more powers? I think a 2 strike your out rule should be in place. Hitting other kids though is completely unacceptable.

• What options are there? What can be done?

Other than the obvious suspension and expulsion what else can e done to discourage it. Financial penalties? If the parents don’t discourage the behaviour or don’t participate in the process then maybe financial penalties are appropriate? Fining parents or restricting social welfare payments as a result of their children’s behaviour would put the onus back onto the family itself surely?

• I was bullied at secondary school myself, and my eldest was for a time as well. I’ve always encouraged my children to talk to someone if they feel they’ve been singled out and bullied, whether it’s their dad and I, a sibling, a teacher or a friend they trust. It also helps that the schools they attend are good with their anti bullying policies and enforce them.

• All the recounting stories are a terrible scar on our society as a whole, it is so sad to read everyday about a young person who sees no way out but to take the ultimate step.
    I myself was assaulted on a regular basis, punched, head butted and kicked on the ground by a Christian brother, I was 13-15 years old at aged 17 I lost it when he. Struck me again and I duly struck him back.
    For my troubles I was suspended for 2 weeks, I did not have any troubles from this, did not take any legal actions later, but I would urge parents to listen to their kids and support them.
    To all that suffer bullying at any stage if others see it workmates, friends support them

• Bullying is an institutional problem in Ireland and doesn’t just exist in schools.
    Its allowed to exist in workplaces too by irresponsible supervisors who are happy to let this go on as long as it keeps the bully’s attention away from them.
    I’ve experienced and seen a shocking amount of bullying which is generally done either by supervisors themselves or by their little lieutenants and to say the systems that are supposed to combat this bullying in the workplace are ineffective would be a serious understatement so if this is the case what chance have we of convincing school pupils to cut out bullying when just as many grown ups in society are at exactly the same thing??
    I like many others like to think bullies don’t see the harm they are doing and some don’t but to say that some bullies don’t enjoy having the power to hurt is just naive. This behaviour particularly in our schools needs to be punished.

• Eamonn 05/03/13 #

I can’t forget being beaten and bullied by a teacher, thirty years on I can still remember the feeling of sheer elation on hearing of his death ,from a classmate in the school yard.

• I finished school to find that bullying takes place on a global scale much worse than what could ever happen in the classroom in my opinion.

sad but true

• An old and very true saying of my fathers was ‘the bully is always the easiest person beat’ . What he meant was they generally have nothing in them and when it’s put up to them they will generally stop their behaviour. I’ve seen this to be true throughout my life. One instance my brother was being bullied by an older guy even though my brother was bigger. My father happened to see this taking place one day and was so horrified at my brother not standing up for himself that he made my brother kick the sh1t out of yer man. Problem solved, the bully had the height of respect after that.
    With myself, I was getting hassle in national school off a guy in a class ahead of me. After two instances I’d had enough and hid a hurl in the ditch, on the way home from school it started again and u should have heard him squeal after a few scelps of the hurl. Problem solved he never came near me again. Point is bullies need to be confronted and their behaviour nipped in the bud.
    Cue all the do gooder brigade who will say violence is not the answer and violence only breeds violence but from my experience on this earth it sometimes is the answer

• You’re right Briain, in some cases violence IS the answer. Agree 100%. The people who thumbed you down would probablly expect you to mee the bully with a bag of grapes and with your arms outstretched as a sign of love! The bully fully deserved the hurl.

• Suzanne 05/03/13 #

I was badly bullied as a young girl at school and always thought it was my fault. They called me every name under the sun. I started to hate myself and I wouldn’t believe people when they say nice things about me. Being bullied takes so much out of you. I even got punched in my right ear in Secondary school. Building doesn’t go away. It takes a very very long time. I don’t get bullied now. Today I still have trouble liking myself and accepting my looks and who I am. Am lucky to love the college that I go to and have a good support around me. Bulling is a very lonely world. U feel like everyone hates you. I just wanted to die. But u will always come out on top.

• Colin C 05/03/13 #

Jeez, Suzanne, you have no worries on your looks. Hope you’re able to overcome that self-perception. Enjoy yourself at college. Best time of your life, or should be.

• Suzanne 05/03/13 #

Thanks Colin for the very nice reply. Every day I get stronger. I just have to work on leaving the past behind me. I love the college that am in now thankfully. its fun. Everyone is lovely and i get along with my class mates which is such a relief . Am even going to do another course in the same college next September :-)

• To any parents of children being bullied I just ask that you hang in there with your kids. I attended a so called top boarding school and witnessed some serious bullying. I was there in the 80′s so times were different I suppose. It s old school traditions etc. Some of those that were bullied developed very strong personalities as a result. I’m not saying that the bullying was beneficial to them or anything of the kind far from it, but there is light at the end of the tunnel.It can be overcome. I saw some very weak and timid personalities develop iron strong characters.. In the end many of these guys by their resolve in standing up to bullies made the bullies look rather pathetic.
    To any bullies out there. Be careful it does catch up with you. Some night you may be out with some friends and you will be confronted by someone. I have seen that happen too !

• Helplink Support Services is helping in this area. One of the services we provide is affordable counselling online or by phone nationwide. So no matter where people are they can receive help from qualified Garda vetted counsellors. Recently we expanded our service to include 15 to 17 year old young people who are dealing with mental health issues including bullying, cyber or otherwise. We are also working on a anti cyber bullying campaign in schools with Reach Out.com and The Printed Blinds Factory. Furthermore you can go to our YouTube channel http://www.youtube.com/HelplinkTV where you can find helpful vids about changing you privacy settings on your social media, cyber bullying prevention and other interesting vids. Learning how to use your privacy settings has been shown to be a major factor in helping in the fight against cyber bullying. Come check us out on http://www.helplink.ie for more information.

• I think Rory has a good point, if the school was a workplace, a duty of care would be enshrined in the mission statement. Every school should have a policy for dealing with this awful epidemic & have it public on their websites. Everyone should have a safe place to work, so why not a school?

• I don’t think giving him 3 days off is a great idea.he was probably delighted with himself.bring him I in and leave him stand at the wall for 3 days.thats a bit tougher.and a few pages of line.

• Orly 05/03/13 #

As a substitute teacher I have noticed a lot of bullying going on in (primary) schools that may have gone undetected by the usual class teacher. I always let him/her know about my observations but it’s usually disregarded as a sort of “survival of the fittest” ritual. The kids are seriously nasty to each other… but you should hear what’s said in staff rooms, about the bullies and the victims alike. All this hostility and meanness is a product of judgemental and oppressive environments.

It’s really important to remember that children aren’t just sociopaths who want to subjugate people they don’t like. A non-pedagogical standpoint could construe them as more overtly impressionable adults; being more honest about their dislike of people because they haven’t been socially conditioned to protect people who aren’t advantageous to them. Like has been conveyed in the comments, the victim can often be bullied right throughout their life if they don’t adapt. The bully will mostly regret what they did later in life, or they’ll become an a*shole and be shunned themselves for being socially inept.

• Orly 05/03/13 #

But nothing can be done across the board to deal with bullying, it has to be approached on a case-by-case basis. Educating children in altruism towards their classmates probably works to an extent as a general preventative, but a teacher just needs to be vigilant about their students so that they can act appropriately in cases where specific instances of bullying are occurring.

(tl;dr – You missed my discovery that Journal has a hidden character limit in the comments section.)

• Suzanne 05/03/13 #

The schools need to do more about bulling. My school did nothing and they even blamed me on the whole thing! I ended up leaving because it all got to much. Always remember that’s its the bully’s who have their own problems. I really do believe that we do better in life them the bullies do. Just remain strong.

• If your child is been bullied in school and your child turns to you for help! Don’t go to the school turn up at the bullies front door and have it out with his or her parents! If they deny it and make it look like it’s your child that is the bully well then it’s time to hit beat the shit out of him or her and tell them that is what they will get every or any time their bully thug child goes near your child again! End Of!

• I think as many experts in the field do that anti-bullying techniques need to be taught at Pre-school level. As a Montessori Teacher socialisation, empathy, independence, self esteem, respect and self discipline are part of the ethos, these are the traits we need to foster so that the child goes on up through Primary and Secondary with the compassion not to bully and the strength to fend off any bullying tendencies in their peers. You can read my ‘Anti-bullying Techniques for the Early Childhood sector’ online article @www.montessorialliance.ie

• The common thread of the complaints in the article is inaction by the school. That then , clearly, is the place to start. Focus on the schools and put pressure on them.

• TO THE JOURNAL ,please note the closing date of the dail inquiry into bullying its the 13- 3- 2013 and by the way the bullying, character assination,gang and persons must be brought to book just like and wrong doing. please send your reports on what you have experianced on all net and phone bullyings

• I wonder how many of these bullies achieve high positions in many of our security forces and other major organisations – I know at least a few.

• Many years ago now my son was being bullied at school. When we found out it had been going on for almost a year and we only became aware of it because a friend of his became concerned about him and told us. We asked our son and he described what had been happening. It was a teacher who was the bully.
    For some reason he took a dislike to my son, would hit him, single him out to ridicule him in front of the class and swear at him. We went up to the school the next day demanding to speak to the principal, who we were told was too busy to speak to us, even though I could see him on a corridor 20 feet away. Making sure he could hear me I said he could either speak to me or my solicitor, his choice. He chose me. We explained what had been happening and that our son was terrified, almost suicidal, and the other students were too afraid to do anything in case they’d risk this teachers wrath. We were introduced to our son’s year head and our son brought in, where he was told if anything happened again he was to go straight to her. I stopped the meeting at this point and made it clear, if anything should happen again he was to leave the school and go home. I would then take the school, the teacher and the principal to court as they were all responsible. I had just made them aware that this teacher was abusing my son, physically and mentally and their answer was “if it happens again”.
    Some weeks later at a parent teacher meeting I introduced myself to that teacher and made it very clear if he ever put a hand on my son again I would break his. He didn’t.
    I understand there is a need for discipline in schools, we all see the need for it, but at the same time there’s a right and a wrong way of doing this. When I was at school I saw the wrong way too many times and the right way far too few times.

• Sadly Bullying will never stop , while schools around Ireland are still in denial about bully in school

Add New Comment