TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Column: Faction fights are sapping confidence in FG and Labour

The coalition partners appear more concerned with playing tug-of-war with each other than creating a new form of politics, writes Green Party leader Eamon Ryan.

Eamon Ryan

IF I WAS to give the Government a new year resolution, it would be for each Minister to serve all the people, all the time, rather than getting caught up in faction fights where both parties measures their own gains by how much the other side of the cabinet table is seen to lose. Fine Gael and Labour have been heading down that road for the last few months, which is why I think confidence in the Government is slipping. Both sides seem more intent on pulling the blanket of favourable publicity over to their side of the coalition bed, rather than creating new and efficient ways of working in Government.

The fact that Labour has been seen to have lost out in the recent tug-of-war over the budget is a problem all of their own making. Their Party Chairman might think it all went wrong in the deeds that were done in the last two years, but the seeds of their difficulties were sown in their loose words in previous years.

In opposition, they played the economic crisis for every rise they could get in an opinion poll. In the last election they dealt up false promises that they could never uphold. Now they don’t even have the usual excuse of saying that the figures are worse than they had expected. At the moment of greatest peril the last Government opened the books to the opposition in a vain attempt to set up a national administration and keep the IMF away, but neither Labour or Fine Gael showed any interest in that offer.

Rings untrue

Their line that everything has changed since their arrival in Government still rings untrue because everyone can see that they are following the economic policies that were set in place by their predecessors, who undertook two thirds of the necessary adjustment. Taxes were raised, for the most part in a progressive way, cuts were made in a really hard way and we started cleaning up our banking system in an up-front sort of way.

The Irish people have shown a remarkable resilience in that hard process and in fairness Labour and Fine Gael have implemented two years of the four year plan, bringing us half of the remaining distance to a balanced budget. If they hold their nerve for the next year or two and the rest of the world does not fall apart, then there is a real chance we might get our economic situation back under control. The biggest risks will arise if their internal rivalry gets completely out of hand or if the European Central Bank fails to act on the words of the European leaders last June to look again at how our public debt covering the capital hole in our banking system is managed.

Beware of self-congratulation

In their book, This Time is Different, Carmen Reinhart and Kenneth Rogoff say that the greatest policy insight from similar crises in the past is to be wary of premature self-congratulation and complacency. As they say:

Several debt crises involving default or near-default occurred on the heels of countries’ ratings upgrades, joining the OECD and being generally portrayed as the poster children of the international community.

I don’t think anyone here sees ourselves as that ‘poster child’. Unemployment is too high and forced emigration too strong a scar in our collective consciousness for anyone to engage in self congratulation. However, the risk of us slipping up at the very end of this difficult process is very real.

The European Central Bank needs to act fast and fairly so that the payment of the promissory note due in March is put into a more sustainable time frame. It is not the time for fetishistic definitions as to what is or is not monetary financing. Nor is it the time to mix the issue of changing debt terms with the changes that are also needed to the loopholes that exist in corporate tax law. Our tax rules do need to change but that should be done as part of a wider international agreement. It makes no sense to use the economic dilemma in one country as a lever to force a unilateral change, which might only cripple the country further and leave the same loopholes in place in other locations.

Let’s get it right

The prize if Ireland manages an exit from our programme would accrue to everyone in the euro zone. A sense would grow that our Union is stronger than the markets had believed, which would bring down the cost of debt repayments for a range of different countries. The European political system could help that process by acknowledging that it made the crisis worse by being slow, timid and uncertain in the way that peripheral countries were dealt with over the last five years.

It is now time to manage the crisis in a more constructive rather than vindictive way. We have a historic opportunity to get it right and that is something we should not lose. It is not that Ireland needs to be treated as a special case but that in dealing with our immediate problem we make the case for being determined and being united and being strong.

The Irish political system also showed all sort of failings in allowing the country get into trouble in the first place but I will be proud if collectively we can get our people out of that fix. The two parties in Government need to put aside their differences and start showing some real leadership by adhering to that common goal for the year to come.

Eamon Ryan is the leader of the Green Party, and served as Minister for Communications in the Fianna Fáil-Green government from 2007 to 2011. You can follow him on Twitter at @EamonRyan.

Column: Sharing power is bad for the health of junior coalition partners>

Read: Column: Want a debt deal? Then let’s pressure the German MPs opposing it>

Read next:

Comments (69 Comments)

• ” At the moment of greatest peril the last Government opened the books to the opposition in a vain attempt to set up a national administration and keep the IMF away”

This is an extraordinary claim, and if true, is very newsworthy in itself. I know the Greens at one point did suggest a national administration. But I have no knowledge of the last government attempting to set up a national administration. I don’t believe any of the parties involved in such an attempt ever disclosed this before now. Care to elaborate further Eamon?

• rmcd66 07/01/13 #

Was a labour voter here in north Kildare . Never will I vote again for them as long as Gilmore is leader !, they have failed the people. All the new labour TDs will be one term only. And I know a lot thinking the same

• But who have you got then? Another party, more party whip driven factionalism? Or a new way … an alliance of independents? http://damoclesbda.wordpress.com/2013/01/02/yeah-well-politicians-innit/

• rmcd66 07/01/13 #

I would rather a new party that will govern for the right reasons and will keep the people’s Rights top of there desisions. Is it too much to ask ?

I’ll got my coat !

• rmcd66 07/01/13 #

Excuse the typos !!

• @Damocles Nice idea but an “alliance” of independents wouldn’t work as it would be less stable. We need less TDs and a change on how parties operate. The big issue I have is that all TDs are in it for themselves and not for the people that they represent.

• No thanks. We had enough of the self serving “independents” in the last few Government’s.

• “an “alliance” of independents wouldn’t work as it would be less stable.”

As I mentioned: f it was you would you want to work together for the greater good or would you want to pull in your own direction? If you were electing an independent would you vote for someone who would pull together or pull in their own direction? If you wouldn’t want to work together, don’t stand. If your candidate wouldn’t want to work together, don’t vote for them. Are you, as part of the electorate, incapable of electing representatives of who would serve the greater good?

Or are you saying that people who would seek political office are all incapable of acting as team players and that the people who elect such people are incapable of selecting people who will act as team players? Is everyone only out for what they can get? Isn’t that a rather unpleasant attitude to have about people?

• Historically independents have been seen to be single issue candidates. Your perception of what an independent is is clearly different. Stephen Donnelly is an excellent example of that type of independent

• Damocles 07/01/13 #

“Stephen Donnelly is an excellent example of that type of independent”

Well quite. Just because independents have been single issue in the past doesn’t mean that they need be in the future.

If you, any of you, stood as an independent would you necessarily be a single issue, self interested, loner incapable of working with anyone else on anything and always pulling your own way unless there was something in it for you?

• Damocles. I’m in violent agreement with you. This Dáil has many examples of independents who are not single issue. They work together as the technical group and it works quite well from what I’ve seen

• So we agree. Does anyone else agree? Who agrees and is capable of not being a single issue plank and wants to be more and can convince others that they are more and would be willing to go out there and do something?

Who wants to make their country more? Who wants, when Americans start going on about how great their government is, to be able to say “Yes, but you have a two party system, we have ordinary people representing other ordinary people working together to make life better for everyone.”? Who wants the young people scattered across the globe to see that and think “Look at what they’re doing, let’s go home and be part of that”?

Who wants that?

If you can convince me, I’ll vote for you.

• U should go to the next DDI meeting.

Tuesday 5th Feb 8-10pm
      Springfield hotel
      Leixlip
      Co Kildare

• @Damocles, if it was me and I was elected I would be about working together to create a stable government, be accountable, transparent and work for the greater good and not my own. That could include making tough unpopular decision but if there are for the greater good I would.

Perhaps I an too cynical but I do believe that most, not all, TDs are in it for themselves and while they are capable of acting as a team they won’t unless there is something in it for them. It is a rather unpleasant attitude to have no question, I would like to change that but for that to change I would like to see genuine people who want to work for all of us get into the Dail and represent us and do their utmost for the country at large.

Scrap did make a good reference to one independent but we need more of them like that. I still make out we have too many TDs, we only really need 1 TD per 100,000 people (or there abouts).

I do agree with you in principle, if you know what I mean…. :-)

• @Scrap, where can one get more info on DDI, do they have a website?

• Damocles 07/01/13 #

Is DDI government by a series of referendums?

• @tom. http://directdemocracyireland.ie/

They’re a very young organization run by volunteers so they’re still learning and the site needs some work. They’re not as slick and polished as existing parties but look what slick and polished brought us. But they are so refreshingly honest.

@damocles. No it’s not govt by a series of referenda however if an issue is of major national importance it would go for a vote to the public (bank guarantee for example). It also facilitates an ordinary citizen forcing a referendum if they can collect enough signatures. Finally it provides for recall of a TD or govt on the same principle. Switzerland have had this system of govt for 200 years and the US and Canada to a slightly lesser extent. It’s also something that was envisaged for Ireland under the 1922 constitution (articles 47 & 49) but the govt ripped it out in 1924 under article 50 so we’ve been denied this right ever since. Direct Democracy empowers citizens and holds govt accountable – no Irish govt has ever wanted that, hence the articles were never restored

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Constitution_of_the_Irish_Free_State

Look for “Initiative and referendum”

• * 47 & 48 sorry. Fat fingered it

• Damocles 07/01/13 #

I’ve looked at them before and was concerned by the reliance on referendums.

But I will look at them again.

• Why didn’t you reform the political system when you were office?

• And why didn’t they seek some advice from people who actually understood both macro economics & the monetary system properly ?

I see Eamon Ryan still has not the slightest clue – preferring to read the same deeply flawed (neo-liberal) macro economics thinking that has caused much of this mess & most certainly prevents any real recovery.

As exemplified by the nonsense peddled by Reinhart & Rogoff.

Eamon Ryan still does not understand that there will be no progress toward sustainability unless & until the march to neo-feudal slavery driven by neo-liberal economics dogma is defeated.

Eamon, you will find links to the blogs and academic work you need to be reading thru’ this online paper:

“GFC and MMT Daily”

http://paper.li/vvakrina/1323671554#

ie for god’s sake learn some macro economics

• Nice words in an ideal world but it’s Irish politicians we have whose childish self serving behavior ain’t going to change

• DB 07/01/13 #

Party loyalty comes before the people. When votimg TD should be aloud to vote on what they think is right not the way your party forces you too.

• The bigger problem here is TD’s who promise one thing at election and deliver another once in office. Allowing free votes doesn’t necessarily change this – just allows scope for someone to abuse a party apparatus to get elected, then abandon all the principals of that party once in office. That’s not fair on voters either.

• Ryan'O 07/01/13 #

Agreed Jason. Accountability is what’s needed. All we have are preforming monkeys looking out for the person who feeds them.

• DB 07/01/13 #

@Jason when you look at the budget and the voting on that it was party allegiance not electorate allegiance and doing what is right.

We defo don’t have a democracy we have a dictatorship and the opposition are powerless in every aspect.

• Confidence in the Government is slipping because of broken electoral promises – coming on the back of cumulative Governments consisting of self-serving, nest-feathering, inept, vision-less, narrow-minded liars.
    Labour would do well to study the fate of the Green Party & the price to be paid for selling out your principles.
    The one thing the majority of Irish Politicians have taught me is never to trust any of them. I have confidence in their ability to lie, spin, use ‘double-speak’ and obfuscate – not to serve the interests of their employers.
    Enjoy the 58 new Audi’s!

• Sorry Greens, u had ur chance. You royally blew it. Next election will be same result : 0 Greens

• rusty9 07/01/13 #

Confidence in this Government is already sapped.

• This Government has done well given the circumstances previous Governments have put them in and I dont think somebody from the Green Party has the right to comment. My problem is with most politicians, its like most of them are stuck in a 1960s cathloic church ruled Ireland, they are only on it for the money, make false promises to get in2 power and fail to represent the ordinary citizen

• Everyone is entitled to an opinion.

• MVM 07/01/13 #

How can you blame the last government when it was a WORLD recession?its a bit Irish blaming the last lads..
      Fg have never or will they be good in power that’s why after yet another failed attempt we won’t see them for another 15-20yrs

• So did the world recession ruin our healthcare system?

Did the world recession take backhanders from developers?

Did the world recession sign a blanket bank guarantee without reading the documentation!?!

Did the world recession contribute to a completely unsustainable property bubble which now sees people under insane financial stress?!

Will I keep going?

• They weren’t good in government than neither would FF have been if reelected , FG just implemented policies of FF so both would have messed it up , as for the world recession thing yes it is , but look at the way these fools are doing things it was politicians and bankers that caused the mess yet they are still being paid boom time salaries while they inflict pain on the people they represent. They have made bad decision after bad decision! Get them out ! It’s is a European crises, we need to leave the euro before it is a world crises and who will we have controlling us then you have to ask yourself ! REVOLUTION

• As a man that is more or less responsible for the rubbish broadband in rural ireland and the targeting of ordinary people who were driving small vans because they could’nt afford cars,
    He cant afford to talk.
    The green party were no different in power and may their exile be a long one.
    Whats it like out in the cold eamon.
    Hopefully ,the irish tory party and the sly ,crawling labour party will be joining you soon

• I wouldn’t say it’s too bad out in the cold for poor old Eamon, sure look how much severance money he’s received since he was outed. No such thing as a poor politician, unfortunately. Greens are hopefully nearly extinct.

• I can’t actually read the article because something deep inside me reminds me how useless and self-serving Ryan and his cronies were when in power. Ryan and his party could have and should have walked on FF when Bertie was in the dock but they were drunk on power. Suddenly he gets his conscience back. I voted Green over a 15yr period…what a waste of my time. **** off Ryan with yerself.

• Eamonn,
    You had it in your hands to do the country a great service and bring the last government down before Fianna Fail implemented the suicidal blanket bank guarantee. You failed miserably. Instead you supported them fully in that disastrous decision and helped to blindfold the people while they were robbed.
    I recall a radio interview where you warned us ominously that Ireland would be thrown out of the Euro if we refused to pay the bank bondholders in full. Utter guff.
    The Greens put aside their differences with Fianna Fail in order to hang on to power for as long as possible and so helped greatly to break this country economically.
    You now counsel the Labour Party to follow the same path. Your time and your chance to make a real contribution have now passed.

• I think you’ll find that in an alleged domocracy,where the lowest paid gets ?188 on the dole per week and Enda kenny gets approx ?5000 per week
    It shows the disconnect between the government and the people.
    So,of course the politians all want to look good in the eyes of the people.
    They want to guarantee their salary for as long as possible.
    Whyyyyyyy would anyone want to kill the golden goose.
    And the greens were no different when they were in power.
    Long may they stay in the waste land!!!!!!!

• You have some neck, what did you do to change the status quo?

• Its just shows how out of touch this man is . Is he not partly responsible for the miss we are in . . Did he not help screw the country. Now he is preaching to the other dim wits in power . Yes thy need his advice . Like a hole in the head .

• The people are no longer green they just look that way because they are disgusted with their leaders and have no where to turn

• Andrew 07/01/13 #

The behaviour of the Green Party and some of the fools in it ( excluding u) at the end of the last government will never be forgotten by the people

• DB 07/01/13 #

Besides party politics we have no leader in any party that the people can rally behind. We need strong leaders and people that can get Ireland going.

• It’s called “politics ” unfortunately.

• Enda Kenny has actually ignored and thinks he knows better than an economist with a noble piece prize ! This is the arrogance we are dealing with. A school teacher on a power trip! Arghhhhh I have had enough how anyone supports these people is beyond me there brainwashed sheep

• Another earth shattering message from Eamon Ryan who devotes himself to indexing the obvious. The finger wagging Greens are defunct. Can someone find a job for this man?

• Go save a tree

• This clown’s party helped to keep FF in power. The Green’s answer to everything was more taxation. The Greens were truly the yellow party. They had their day, they had their chance, they are finished.

• The same old pathethic political argument emerging from Eamon, “let’s be the EU Posterboy, won’t we look great then on the EU stage when we are getting our little heads rubbed”. We could sort all our problems out in the morning here if we faced up to things like the Croke Park Agreement, & supported entrepreneurship in an intelligent & brave way, instead of this on going situation with AIB and BOI where we are allowing these two banks to close down small businesses on a daily basis, and we are allowing them to refuse to support new enterprise every day of the week.

The bank debt, there’s a simple way to sort that out in the morning, by doing what Iceland did and say out loud and clear that we have the money to pay it, but are deciding not to because it’s NOT OUR DEBT! So what if we promised to pay it previously, in the interests of the common good, we have changed our minds so get stuffed! But you won’t see any of that kind of forward innovative and brave thinking coming from our overpaid spoilt political elite.

By the way Eamon, I’d say you are in your early-mid 40′s yet I imagine you are already drawing your extremely lucrative ministerial pension, yet you feel free to come on here and tell us that we need to hold the line with this austerity for the next 2 years at least?!? How would a man in his 40′s on a Celtic Tiger ministerial pension, know the first or last thing about austerity?!?!?

• Scarr 07/01/13 #

Eamonns statement that corporate tax rules need to change as part of a larger international agreement ( to stop large corporations doing the ‘double Irish / Dutch sandwich’ tax minimisation tactic) is risky. At present, and for the foreseeable; ( also until we actually elect a party with an ambitious and achievable economic strategy beyond ‘jobs = good’) it’s risky because we are developing something of a multi- national bubble. What happens if the next US president gets in on a strong job creation ticket and makes it much less appealing for companies to create off-shore bases? Hopefully that won’t happen. Hopefully.

• For one so educated and literate,Michael, I’m sure you have read that the 58 Audis were sponsored by Audi and travel with the presidency.!!

• Ah, The Green Party! I call them The Raving Looney Party, people in greenhouses shouldn’t throw stones!

• eamon ryan and his croines milked it to the last hour in govementlook at what is on about now makes me sicker.

Add New Comment