TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Saturday 18 May, 2013

Column: ‘The treaty is risky and dangerously experimental’

On a ‘No’ vote: Economist Terrence McDonough says evoking fear in people over the recession is not an appropriate move by government.

Terrence McDonough

THE MOST COMMON misconception about Ireland’s current crisis is that it is basically a financial crisis. While finance is important and it played a large role in triggering the crisis, its roots lay in the institutional changes that were consolidated in the early 1980s. What we are facing is a crisis in the institutions of global neoliberalism.

The main origins of the crisis are in recent capitalist policy including an attack on labour, globalisation, a range of free market policies, including light touch regulation and small government, as well as in a bank-centred economy sometimes referred to as financialisation.

It can be very difficult to stay on top of all of the new developments and day to day manifestations of the crisis. It is easy for professional economists and politicians to get lost in the ever-emerging details. For the ordinary citizen this has been a serious challenge.

‘Establishment’s emotional appeals are inappropriate’

This challenge is especially important in the next few weeks as we will all be expected to vote yes or no in the referendum on the so-called Fiscal Stability Treaty. It perhaps doesn’t help that establishment commentary to date has been based on emotional appeals. This is not limited to the fear of the consequences being denied a second bailout. In fact, there are two appeals being made and both are emotional appeals. The first emotional appeal is one of calm reassurance, contending the treaty is simple common sense and the safe and risk-free alternative. And when this is inadequate, the fear of economic disaster is invoked. Neither of these appeals are appropriate.

The treaty demands that the government pursue further austerity even after we meet the current targets in 2015. The government may be required to remove money from the economy for a further twenty years and beyond. Many of our immediate neighbours and trading partners will be in a similar programme. To impose this kind of policy on an economy in the depths of depression as Ireland is in today is an unprecedented and dangerous experiment.

The government and other advocates of a yes vote ask how we would finance our deficit if we are not included in the European Stability Mechanism. If we believe government projections our deficit will be reduced by the current programme of cuts and tax increases. Compared to the cost of the economic crisis to date, this will be a relatively small amount. Ireland will have a number of options.

‘Ireland has the option of borrowing from the IMF’

First, Ireland is small but scary. A disorderly Irish default would threaten the stability of the European banking system. A European Central Bank intervention to restabilise the system would be considerably more expensive than a second bailout of a comparatively small country. It is highly unlikely that Europe would ignore its self-interest in order to spite the Irish electorate. Secondly, Ireland also has the option of borrowing from the IMF rather than the European institutions. Experience to date indicates that the IMF would be less demanding than Europe in its conditions.

A third possibility is to set about closing the budget deficit. Irish tax take as a percentage of GDP is well below the OECD average. Taxes on wealth and high incomes are considerably underexploited.

A fourth possibility is the restructuring of debt. The Anglo-Irish promissory note payments alone constitute €3 billion in any given year. A fifth under-discussed possibility is the issuance of innovative debt instruments. It would be possible to make Irish bonds acceptable in payment of taxes in the event of any default. This should eliminate the risk premium which makes it difficult for Ireland to re-enter the markets at this time.

Any one of these options alone has the potential to substantially address the budget gap in the event of a second bailout and a failure to access ESM funding. A judicious combination of these strategies would easily finance the resulting deficit with little disruption.

‘There will be no disaster in the event of the need for a second bailout’

The “common sense” retailed by the government and established commentary on the Fiscal Stability Treaty is at directly right angles to reality. There will be no disaster in the event of the need for a second bailout. It is the adoption of the budget provisions of the treaty which is risky and dangerously experimental.

In addition to a more sceptical approach to this Fiscal Treaty, the government needs to be much more aggressive in renegotiating Irish sovereign debt. This is something that needs to be moved up on the agenda. This debt is unsustainable in the medium term. There simply needs to be a Greek style write down – it is unavoidable. When it comes to debt write-downs, it is better to do it early and not often. Hanging on and conceding ground bit by bit is the opposite of what should be done. A bold and decisive action will be better for the economy in the long run.

Dr Terrence McDonough lectures in the Economics Department of NUI Galway and at the Centre for Innovation and Structural Change.

Read next:

Comments (52 Comments)

• I’m more and more comfortable about voting No with every passing day and by all accounts, so are a growing number of other people.

• I’ll be voting no but as usual Sinn Féin and the ULA have put on a pitiful and uninspiring campaign. The left-parties in this country consistently fail to provide credible alternatives like the ones given in this article.

• I fully agree with you and I will be voting NO too. Why isn’t David McWilliams in the media? He usually calls it right. Watch his view on it here. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oAR0VRLRGHE&feature=youtube_gdata_player

• Mc Williams isn’t in the media because he doesn’t toe the establishment line.

• Another non-party political NO voter here. But I think that is about right, because the issue is partly one of the erosion of citizen’s sovereignty by vested power cliques in the European establishment – and our government, and all its parties, is now firmly part of that establishment.

As a citizen, I will vote NO because I do not feel the European Treaties, as a whole, sufficiently safguard and protect our democratic power of choice. (I don’t have a problem with Europe, per se – a Europe-wide citizen’s democracy would suit me as well as an Irish one). But I will not co-operate with my future disenranchisement, and that of my children and their children, by voting YES.

• Fingal 12/05/12 #

I enjoyed the calm, logical tone of this article.

• But, of course if you suggest any alternative that *doesn’t* involve cutting the jugular of our economy.. you will be labelled a dangerous “nut”.

In this country it is easier to escape a court date for protecting paedophiles, or bankrupt and ruin the state than it is to feel free to provide alternatives to economic and social self-immolation.

“We have no alternatives to bankrupting the state” “How about, we don’t bankrupt the state? Maybe open an economics book?” “You are living in cloud cuckoo land!!”

• “Germans are now openly talking about a Greek Exit from the Euro”

Have you any semblance of shame that your party in collusion with FF were adamant that only a yes vote on the lisbon treaty..(both of them)… would prevent Germany controlling the entire EU and fashion itself as the master race controlling the destines of every other sovereign state?
    Where’s the equal voice, the bigger voice, at the heart of decision making?…..Did you actually accept our original NO vote on lisbon and these are the consequences or was all that YES to lisbon claptrap downright lies?

• No one ever made that claim during Lisbon. Lisbon was a treaty that primarily changed the voting system for countries. Since Lisbon the weight that Ireland has around the table is increased through the formula they use to calculate a country’s vote.

Your issue is not the voting system but how Ireland uses its vote. Let’s be clear on that.

• Isn’t the reason we have a “greater weight around the table” post-Lisbon because we rejected the first version, insisted on renegotiation and had permanent presence at the decision-making table reintroduced?

So voting No in the first instance improved our standing.

• That’s true but there won’t be a second running of this referendum.

• No but there may be a new treaty.

• Yeah you’re right David, the whole yes to lisbon treaty campaign was just me hallucinating, nobody ever said them things because they’d be seriously embarrassed today….just as well the yes to jobs posters were just something I dreamt up otherwise FG would be looking like lying fools today wouldn’t they..?

Sigh, looks like this treaty debate is shaping up the same way, play on the peoples current fears, use a one-sided approach promising untold horrors if we dare vote NO and every time the minor less discussed details are spoken off the yes side say it’s misleading and scaremongering.

• And the NO side calling this an “Austerity Treaty” isn’t playing on on people’s fears???

• So if the No side called it “Putting Austerity Permanently onto our Law books” – it wouldn’t be scaremongering, right?

• Focusing your entire argument on future access to another bailout isn’t playing on fears?…, it’s the only argument FG and labour have which is ironic really seeing that it was FG/labours insistence that this blackmail clause be included…….FG knew this treaty wouldn’t sell so they needed an edge so they disgracefully and with full intent conspired with the architects of this treaty to subvert the national vote…shameful behavior but that will be FG’s legacy – a government who done it’s utmost to undermine it’s own citizens.
      SixOneReview – I don’t respond to troll accounts

• Vote No

• We may get funding from that private bank called the ECB or the IMF but not from the non existing ESM.

• be under no illusion
    germany is in control of our
    budgets and have been for quite sometime

• Dear Colm,I am writing to you to make some points arising from your comments on the so-called Fiscal Treaty and the referendum on it on RTE’s Morning Ireland last Tuesday morning.You made a small error, if I may say so, when you said on the radio on Tuesday that the Fiscal Treaty can come into force when 12 of its 25 signatory States have ratified it. In fact it requires ratification by 12 of the 17 Eurozone States for it to come into force. Ratification by the eight signatory non-Eurozone States does not count for that purpose (See Art. 14 of the Treaty on Stability, Coordination and Governance in the EMU).Minister Leo Varadkar, who should have known better, made the same mistake on Vincent Browne ‘s TV3 programme last Wednesday, and Prime Time made it similarly last Thursday.I do not know if you are aware that this issue of the Fiscal Treaty and, more importantly, the ESM Treaty being able to be ratified without unanimity amongst all 17 Eurozone countries is arguably in breach of EU law and the existing EU Treaties. This issue of a unanimity requirement for these two Eurozone Treaties is at the heart of current constitutional challenges to the ESM Treaty in Germany, Estonia and – as announced in the Dail last week – here in Ireland.This ESM Treaty requires us to stump up €11 billion in different forms of callable capital to the proposed ESM loan fund, €1.6 billion up front “irrevocably and unconditionally” – a figure that may be raised thereafter without limi(Art. 8 ESM Treaty) . And there is much more in the ESM Treaty that should make people worried. I wonder have you thought through the implications of this?Both the Fiscal Treaty and the ESM Treaty are not EU treaties, as you know, but formally speaking are ”intergovernmental” treaties for the 17 Eurozone countries. They can only come into being however – because they affect monetary policy in the Monetary Union, that being an “exclusive competence” of the EU – on the basis of an authorization or license which requires an amendment to the EU Treaties. All 27 EU States, including Ireland, must agree to that authorizing amendment, and that authorisation has not yet been constitutionally approved here.This authorization is given in a two-sentence amendment to Article 136 of one of the two primary EU Treaties, the Treaty on the Functioning, of the European Union, which reads: “The Member States whose currency is the euro may establish a stability mechanism to be activated if indispensable to safeguard the stability of the euro area as a whole. The granting of any required financial assistance under this mechanism will be made subject to strict conditionality.”You will note that the authorization says “THE Member States , not “Member States” or “SOME” Member States , but rather all of them. Yet the Fiscal Treaty as it stands provides that it can come into force when 12 Eurozone States have ratified it, and the ESM Treaty provides that it comes into force and the Stability Mechanism which it proposes may be established once States contributing 90% of the capital to the ESM fund have ratified that.A simple calculation based on the contributions set out in the Annex to the ESM Treaty shows that the eight largest Eurozone countries would contribute 90% of this capital so that, as the ESM Treaty stands, a minority of the 17 Eurozone States could bring the ESM into being. How then can the Stability Mechanism which it purports to establish be “for the euro area as a whole”, as required by the Art.136 amendment which authorises it?More fundamentally, how can the ESM Treaty for the 17 Eurozone States be enabled to put the EMU which Ireland acceded to under Maastricht and Lisbon on an entirely new economic and legal basis when monetary policy for the euro area is an “exclusive EU competence” – and not a matter just for the Eurozone countries . . . and when the rules for EMU, including the Art.125 ban on Government bailouts and the 3% and 60% of GDP excessive deficit rules plus their enforcement mechanisms, are clearly set out in the existing EU Treaties and override all other laws and treaties for Member States of the Union?If those original rules of the EMU had been enforced, the Eurozone countries would not now be in the mess they are in. Ireland complied with the excessive deficit rules of the EMU in the early 2000s, but when Germany and France broke them in 2003 and 2004 they were set aside, as you know, and the enforcement provisions in the Treaties – including heavy fines – were not applied. If they had been there would have been no need of bailouts and the Article 125 ban on bailouts would make perfect sense, for it would never have come into contention.Now Germany, France and others want to get round the existing EU Treaty rules, and especially the Article 125 ban on bailouts, by means of the ESM Treaty for the Eurozone. The “Stability Mechanism” which this treaty envisages – and one can imagine all sorts of other Stability Mechanisms that would conform to EU law – is essentially a Bank or fund which would lend directly to Eurozone Governments that might be in trouble as the European Central Bank is forbidden from doing this by Article 125 TFEU.But the EU is supposed to be a creature of law, and the Irish Constitution is obliged to uphold EU law. If the Eurozone States, having got themselves into their current mess, want to set up a structure for the EMU based on quite different rules which would effectively permit direct bailouts for Governments and the setting aside of the “no-bailout” article in the Treaties, they have to amend the EU Treaties with the agreement of all 27 Member States, and not just by means of a special treaty amendment for the 17 which flouts the express terms of the Article 136 TFEU authorization on which the ESM Treaty depends. To attempt to do that latter would effectively be to run a legal coach-and-horses through EU law and the existing EU Treaties in the Franco-German political interest.You spoke on the radio yesterday and unfortunately gave the impression to those listening as if the ESM were a pot of gold which we would be excluded from getting access to if we were so foolish as to vote No to the Fiscal Treaty. Your comments were repeated on the evening TV news and I have no doubt they will be quoted repeatedly by Yes-side propagandists during the Fiscal Treaty referendum campaign if the Government does not have the good sense to put this referendum off until we can hold it alongside a referendum on the ESM Treaty and the Art.136 amendment to the EU Treaties which authorizes the ESM Treaty.Such a referendum will almost certainly have to be held anyway, whether as a result of the Attorney-General’s advice in due course or as a result of the constitutional challenge to the ESM Treaty which Donegal Independent TD Thomas Pringle is taking in order to defend the Irish Constitution and EU law which it upholds and which should come up in the High Court during May when the Government has responded to his Statement of Claim, which I understand has been sent to the Solicitor-General.I ask you would it not be foolish of Irish voters to change their Constitution so as to impose a maximum public deficit rule of 0.5% and a permanent balanced budget rule on Irish Governments for the indefinite future in order to obtain access to a proposed Eurozone loan fund, when this fund does not yet exist, when the ESM Treaty which would establish it has not yet been ratified and may well never be ratified, and when the ratification of that treaty will almost certainly require a separate referendum to be held on it in Ireland anyway?That is why I would like to suggest to you that if one takes account of the Fiscal Treaty’s “complementary” treaty, the ESM Treaty – which, incidentally, the Government has promised the other Eurozone States it will have ratified by July! – the most rational course for people to take in relation to the Fiscal Treaty is really to vote No to it and to call for a referendum on the ESM Treaty and its Art.136 authorising amendment to be taken together with a possible second referendum on the Fiscal Treaty, when the full implications of the whole interconnected caboodle have been properly considered by the Irish public and media.In my opinion, if the Government looked at the matter rationally it would welcome such a development as being in the country’s best interests. For if people vote No to the Fiscal Treaty referendum on 31 May that referendum can easily be run again – as long as it is done alongside a referendum on the ESM Treaty and the Art. 136 amendment to the primary EU Treaties authorizing that – for Ireland has a veto on the latter.My reason for suggesting this is that if a referendum were required in this State on the ESM Treaty and its authorizing Art.136 amendment, the Eurozone could not establish the permanent ESM loan fund which they want to set up unless they have Ireland’s agreement. We need to use that veto, not ignore it.This is how Ireland could get access to real money, real relief on our public debts and a fundamental transformation in the State’s financial position. The alternative is to look for relief to Taoiseach Enda Kenny’s wholly mythical pot of ESM gold, which does not yet exist and may well never do so in its present mooted form because of the illegality under EU law of its mode of establishment and its unconstitutionality under the Irish Constitution. A No vote on 31 May opens for us a way to real money; a Yes vote makes us look like fools.The course of action outlined here would put Ireland in a powerful bargaining position – as nothing else can do – to get massive write-downs on our State debt, a cancellation of those draconic promissory notes and all the rest. It could even put us in a position to give a lead across Europe in urging an expansive, growth-oriented policy on the Eurozone instead of the current austerity that is clearly not working.This would of course require the Government to show some gumption vis-a-vis the Eurozone authorities instead of bowing to them spinelessly out of misplaced and outdated Europhilia. If Ministers fear offending Germany and France by deciding independently to hold a referendum on the ESM Treaty and Art.136 TFEU, they should be praying instead that Thomas Pringle TD’s constitutional challenge will succeed.Forgive me for going on at such length. But if there is a real possibility of such a position being attained by holding these referendums on the ESM Treaty, would it not be utter folly for us not to take it? Germany, France and the rest would have no alternative but to oblige us if they wanted Irish voters to say Yes in such an ESM Treaty referendum, for their €700 billion loan fund would depend on it.That is why in my opinion genuine Eurofederalists who oppose the Franco-German takeover-bid for the EMU which is currently occurring through these two Eurozone Treaties, as well as longstanding Eurocritics like myself and my colleagues who are opposed to further surrender of what is left of Irish sovereignty, have an objective interest in uniting to defend the integrity of the EU Treaties as they stand against this Franco-German scheme to make the Eurozone their captive.For what Germany and France are planning in their takeover-bid for the Eurozone and their proposals to change radically the EMU which Irish voters voted for under Maastricht and Lisbon, would radically alter the EU for the worse and push it in a profoundly undemocratic and anti-social direction.Europhiles as well as Eurocritics could thus validly be urged to vote No to the Fiscal Treaty in order to hold the EU together!Maybe you would consider these points and whether you think they have any merit. If you cared to meet to have a chat about these treaties and related matters for lunch or over a drink any day, I should be glad to meet you at any time or place that suited you.With best regardsYours sincerelyAnthony CoughlanAssociate Professor Emeritus in Social Policy, Trinity College DublinPS. Because of the public interest character of this matter, I hope you do not mind too much if I circulate copies of this as an “Open Letter” to the media for their information.

• An interesting piece, but would have been so much more powerful if figures were provided to back-up the points being made.

• vote NO #taxtherich

• our gov want a yes vote to allow germany dictate our budgets and spending. would kenny and co be so positive for a yes vote if germany insisted that cuts to goverment salaries and pensions in ireland be the first line of our budget savings added to that a substantial cut to the salaries of overpaid civil servants. why should they stop there, shy not make the super wealty pay thier fair share in wealth tax. maybe retirement pensions should only be paid to gov mrmbers on reaching the age of 68 years.
    maybe but i doubt it.
    eugene conroy

• Austerity? What austerity?
    The fact is most European nations government spending now exceeds peak spending of the 20th century (during WW2). No eurozone nation except Greece (including Ireland) has reduced spending since the onset of the crisis. See attachment.
    http://marginalrevolution.com/marginalrevolution/2012/05/how-savage-has-european-austerity-been.html

• Phillipa 14/05/12 #

David Higgins

In response to why we didn’t go solely to the IMF in the first place. The answer is very simple and is part of the reason the last four years have been such a disaster. We were not allowed to, it didn’t suit Merkozy’s agenda.

• This argument is about as sophisticated as the mantra of Robin Hood – take from the rich and give to the poor. It mixes personal belief with quasi economic arguments. Who is going to generate wealth in our economy if we consistently penalise the same group of people?? What angers me is that it takes very little to qualify as currency these days. Every second commentator appears to be an economist, they are all clamouring to get their point across without offering any empirical evidence to support their views. This piece is pure conjecture.

• The IMF isn’t really an option. We’re way over our overdraught limit already. The only reason we got such massive amounts from them is because the EU/EC were on board as a backstop.

As the man says, WE CAN APPLY. We’ll get SFA if anything.

http://karlwhelan.com/blog/?p=386

• EU/EC are backstop? And there I was thinking they were sucking us dry to protect the financial system, when really they just care about what happens to our unemployed, sick and elderly….

• Darren! You’re talking nonsense! It’s the IMF’s job to lend to countries in trouble! Do you honestly think they and the rest of the world would sit back and let us all starve to death? Cop on for Christ’s sake! Can’t you see that this treaty is all about protecting rich peoples living standards? Greedy bastards getting greedier!

• Folks,

Ye haven’t a clue about how the IMF operates. It might give us a tiny amount of money but it’s already tapping the likes of China, India, Brazil to prop up Europe.

DO YE SERIOUSLY THINK THAT THE HUGE MASSES OF POOR PEOPLE IN THOSE COUNTRIES WILL WANT TO SEE THEIR GOVERNMENT PROPPING UP THE RICH IRISH WHO JUST SAID NO TO EUROPEAN MONEY?

COP YOURSELVES ON.

• Question to the NO side:

If the IMF would give us cheaper money with less strings attached, then why didn’t Ireland only borrow from there in the first place?

• darren, you’re the guy that likes to quote economists. Here’s one for you..

Constantin Gurgdiev; “If Ireland was locked out of the ESM and also the IMF, it would default. That means it would be defaulting on its current IMF loans. That would be a big no-no for the IMF. It is inconceivable that the IMF would not extend the current programme.”

• @darren
      I think your caps lock is stuck.

Check for crumbs, thats usually the problem though with that doomsday attitude you may need to store them in a little bag for later consumption.
      D

• This ‘who do we borrow from’ if we vote NO, is a complete straw man argument.

Every policy thus far has been in the interests of the financial sector. It is still fragile (as we see emerging in Spain now) with €100s billions in worthless toxic assets sitting on banks’ balance sheets.

The risk of collapse from contagion from an Irish Euro exit will simply not be contemplated.

There is not a snowball’s chance in hell that Ireland will not get more bail out loans, as required.

It is our democratic right, and moral duty, to reject a treaty which will make debt slaves of our children & generations to come. Why? Because the treaty is a charter for mass unemployment & low wages in perpetuity. Look to Greece, look to Spain to see what direction these policies are going.

Voting NO is the only means we have of demanding that our ‘leaders’ THINK AGAIN.

Read the macro economics from an economist worthy of the title, not the establishment ignorant clowns we have in Ireland.

“Why Europe’s fiscal compact is bound to fail.”

http://www.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree/2012/may/11/europe-fiscal-compact-fail

• If the IMF would give us cheaper money with less strings attached, then why didn’t Ireland only borrow from there in the first place?

The IMF have said that they won’t lend to European countries unless the EU is also lending.
    A no vote locks us out of that EU funding and thus the IMF.

Even if we did get into the IMF, the IMF always charge higher interest rates and this article has given no examples of how recent experiences of the IMF have meant less serious conditions for countries.

The point about Europe’s self interest in keeping Ireland going is also worrying. Yes Europe has a lot to lose if Ireland goes bust but many thought that of Greece too. As David McWilliams points out, the Germans are now openly talking about a Greek Exit from the Euro. The Greeks may well lose the game of “blink first” that they’re playing with Germany. If Ireland takes on this kind of strategy there’s a huge risk the same might happen to us. This article fails to mention that risk.

Next it’s claimed that a third possibility to our funding crisis is just to close the budget deficit :O

That’s the Richard Boyd Barrett option that’s calling for €10bn in extra taxes in the event of a NO vote. I cannot believe we have an “economist” here claiming that this is actually a credible option.

Yes our tax take is below the OECD average, but unlike most OECD countries we don’t have military spending. We also don’t have large domestic economies like those in the OECD. They’re not as reliant on foreign direct investment as we are. To tax wealth and high incomes as a means to closing the deficit will only lead to a flight of capital from Ireland and a massive loss of jobs in our multinational sectors.

It’s also misleading to claim that any sudden closing of the deficit would ONLY involve tax increases on a small few. To realistically plug the gap in one year would require massive cuts in our public sector salaries and social welfare payments which make up well over half of public spending. This was admitted by Morgan Kelly who has called for the deficit to be plugged in one year.

I agree with the fourth possibility that the Anglo note should not be paid, but that does little to close the budget deficit and reduce our borrowing requirements. It’s mainly a reduction in our long-term debt, not a closing of the deficit.

Add New Comment