TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

Column: End this ridiculous, wasteful culture of ‘salami slicing’

Not all areas deserve equal cuts – but there ARE some things we could do without, writes William Campbell.

William Campbell

GOOGLE TELLS US lots. At the time of writing, the term ‘salami slicing’ occurs on over 43,000 British web pages. Fewer than one thousand dot ie web pages contain that phrase, and most of them relate to Northern Ireland.

The phrase is so rare in Ireland that it needs an explanation. ‘Salami slicing’ means a particular type of budget cut. In Britain, it means cuts where all areas of expenditure are simply shrunk by a percentage dictated from the top. Though eclipsed by our own crisis, Britain is going through its own expenditure cuts, but our neighbours are hotly debating exactly what should and shouldn’t be cut.

In 2009, Ireland’s first major ‘cuts’ budget in our recent crisis, was a textbook case of salami slicing. The total government budget was cut by 3.8 per cent. But the variation between departments was razor-thin, with only tiny differences between the cuts for spending departments. Drilling down, the same pattern was repeated, with only the tiniest variations between different sections within departments.

This is the worst sort of management, with no thought about how clever efficiencies can be made, no thought about which services are more necessary than others, no thought about which services are more wasteful, and no thought about combining cost savings with modernisation.

How can we combine cost-savings with reform? By analysing every process and questioning whether it can be reformed, better done by someone else, or simply abandoned.

Hundreds of staff are employed in dozens of offices across the country compiling the electoral register, in a system unchanged in centuries. But there are still problems with the database – one record in three is wrong. The staff currently compiling the electoral register should be made redundant. The revenue and welfare departments have a far more accurate database of every adult in the country, and tiny changes would allow it to be exported as an electoral roll whenever required.

Does Ireland need them more than it need nurses?

That is harsh for those staff, but the question that we need to answer is whether Ireland needs to employ them more than it needs A&E nurses or special needs teachers; and whether the purpose of the public service is to provide services for the public, or employment for people who are doing an unnecessary job, badly.

It is crazy that Ireland does not store the PPS number (or company registration number) of the owner of every vehicle – it would be a simple addition to the database of registered vehicles, and could be achieved within one year if it was required the next time motor tax is paid. Once done, motor tax could be collected by adjusting the tax-free allowance, social welfare payments or other taxes of the owner. At a stroke another enormous bureaucracy could be abolished.

An Post collects TV licences. Why? Because it was the default institution of society a century ago, when the system began, and nobody has thought to change it since. Cable and satellite TV companies should be required, as a condition of their licence, to collect the licence fee on their direct debits, instantly completing 80 per cent of the job for free, and eliminating a huge proportion of non-compliance.

Whatever your opinion of the Property Tax, its implementation is distinctly twentieth-century. Environment Minister Phil Hogan said this week that non-payers will be sent a letter. In the post. There are dozens of reasons for recording the tax number of every property owner, including tackling money-laundering, planning irregularities and making conveyancing easier. Such a system could also allow the tax to be collected with the minimum of non-compliance, and without creating a monster bureaucracy to support it.

Smartphone app

The Food Safety Authority, the National Transport Authority and the Office of Tobacco Control all have functions inspecting restaurants, taxis, pubs and other establishments, and there are other agencies that inspect services, products and premises for the public. These are mostly important functions, but it is crazy that they don’t enlist the help of the public.

Restaurants, taxis and other establishments should be required to display a web address where members of the public could report concerns, which would allow targeted inspections and much better outcomes. We could develop a single smartphone app for such reports, which would send instant reports of dirty restaurants or dangerous taxis to the correct agency.

There is no doubt that such an innovation would hugely improve the service these agencies give to the public, but they should also save the taxpayer money. These two objectives are not in competition – we must break out of the mindset that says there is a straight-line relationship between the money we pay and the service we receive, and value can never be improved.

Innovations considered space-ago a decade ago are now commonplace in the pockets of teenagers. Those benefits should be applied in the public sector as well in the private sector, and the benefits will include improved service and reduced costs.

First we must abandon the mentality that all cuts are equal, and recognise that salami slicing is the worst type of cost-saving. The vocabulary to discuss how best to improve our public service barely even exists on Irish websites; this tells us how impoverished our public discourse is. It’s time to change that.

William Campbell is the author of Here’s How, Creative Solutions for Ireland’s Economic and Social Problems.

Read next:

Comments (36 Comments)

• Joined up cross department thinking?

Sounds fantastic.

I expect massive rejection of the idea by self interested parties.

• Salami was likely considered pretentious until Celtic Tiger/Post Celtic Tiger era. We should apply the phrase Sliced Ham for ourselves.

• Maybe it’s because I was working nights and am tired but it took me till the third paragraph to realise this wasn’t an issue about poor quality meat cuts!

• I’ve lost count of the number of times I have tried to register for the electorate,alas to no avail, I’m still not on it, its ok though my grandparents are on it, pity they are dead years.

• Motor tax should be in fuel.

The council already operate fixmyarea.com with smartphone apps. You can submit issues on the go & receive feedback on progress. I’ve personally seem several issues reported fixed within a week. Graffiti, illegal dumping etc. it really works.

• totally agree on road tax being added to fuel prices, that way those who drive more pay more, the user pays. i do less than 10k miles per year yet still pay the same tax as some one,say a sales rep, who does 100k plus miles p/a.
      another area that could and should be cut back on is the number of ‘county managers’ we have 3 in our region and none of them are ever available, council are so inefficient in so many ways its scandalous, we recently received 3 letters from the same office giving the exact same information sent out on 3 separate days. savings and cut backs should start from the top.

• Smartphones? Bejaysus no… shur who has smartphones only those fancy dublin types. Don’t be coming on here with your high filluting schemes. Next thing you’ll be wanting are them internets

• I assume the author sent all these suggestions and ideas to Brendan Howlins department when they enlisted the publics help last year…

• @ William Roche – Far away hills and all that……………………………………….
    Not so sure you are going to find England any different. And their financial situation is far more grave than is being let on, they are just more clever at spinning the picture but I can assure you they are up to their necks in it almost as badly as we are. And I am not so sure their system is so much better than ours in the way that you think. If you read any of the UK media you will see that they experience the very same problems and have the very same grievances that we do when it comes to bureaucracy, red tape, needless overspending and duplication.
    I do agree that the public service is a problem here but it’s not the frontline staff that are the problem. As a Firefighter/Paramedic I for one would welcome being judged on performance because I can guarantee you that myself and my colleagues would be entitled to far more money than I am currently being paid for the work that I do. And I believe most Gardai and Nurses would be the very same. Bring it on!!!!

• I agree with you and Tom Greene, our front line staff are mostly doing a great job and deserve much more credit and renumeration than they currently receive and I agree that it is a difficult thing to measure their performance. If i had all the answers I would run for government, I am simply sharing my opinion which is what this site is for in part.
      What I was trying to get at is that yes, there are front line staff that are breaking their balls every day proving a brilliant service but there are also staff mixed in there that are sailing along on a handy number. We all know the type. “I’m not going to do more than i’m getting paid to do” etc. Prison staff and Guards are an example that I would use. Yes, the majority are doing their jobs but some are creaming off the system with overtime and sick leave. These types destroy moral and sow seeds of sedition. They need to be routed out.

Also, I can accept that the Banks are a large issue but they wouldn’t have been such an issue to the people of Ireland if the Government hadn’t taken over their debt and made it national debt. Toxic banks should have been let die.

I believe the country should be run as a business, especially when we have such a large public service. However I also agree with the OP that their can’t be blanket cuts throughout the system without any thought.
      Why is this so difficult? Why can’t we have a root and branch review of all Government and Public sector departments? If the country were being run as a business by people who know how to run a business, sections of the public sector that were under performing and costing vast sums of money would come under immediate review and reform. It may be harsh on people working in those departments but we are in a harsh situation. It is getting to a do or die stage. The government certainly wouldn’t get away with hiring all these external consultants and experts and when a cap is placed on public sector wages, it would actually be enforced!
      The sad truth is, if a body was setup to perform a root and branch review of all Government and Public sector branches, it in itself would become another huge quango with committee after sub-committee after committee filled with the same die hards that are currently choking up Nama and the ESB and whatever board is setup to mange the new water meters.
      This country is bogged down with corruption and complacency and I dont see any way out of it.
      Ok, moving to England may not be the solution to everyones problems but I certainly do not see any future for myself and my partner here and I would dread to think what kind of a future there would be here if we were to have kids.

• Another buzzword? No thanks, I see what a buzzword-heavy “debate” can do to politics in the US. No stupid names, just call it as you see it.

• ”Big” Phil Hogan can kiss my ASS!! ”Calling it as I see it”.!!!

• mcbab 08/06/12 #

Some of these suggestions are all very well and good but you would have the civil liberties people screaming blue murder.

• if we changed how these cuts are made all the sons and daughter of the farmers that keep fine gale in power would be out of a job .its will never happen

• Nothing in this country works properly because those in power have only ever been concerned by lining their own pockets. Always have and always will. Aside from the government itself, the public sector is the biggest problem in this country. The Government should put all front line staff such as nurses, teachers and Guards under immediate performance review. All over public sector departments should be slashed with all civil servants being made to reapply for their positions every 3-5 years. This idea of a job for life only breeds laziness and complacency!
    Rather than being worried about being able to borrow more money from the financial Nazies in Europe, we should be trying to get our own houser in order. It will require us to tighten the belt for a year or two but we should be trying to get to a stage where we can afford to run our country ourselves. The dogs on the street know how this can be achieved. The article above lists some of the most obvious ways to reform with technology while making huge savings.
    Maybe if this country were run by people with actual business experience instead of a bunch of self serving teachers that have spent their carer sucking off the tit of public taxes we might have some chance in the future.
    However this will never be the case. I cannot wait to leave this country and move to England where at least there is some sense of innovation, organisation and of national pride!.

• Maybe you can take Mick Wallace’s place while he’s doing his sentence. I’d buy you a pint and the author as well for actually putting out some straight talking suggestions that would work, if it weren’t for our elected officials getting in the way.

• i don’t agree with your idea of moving to England that’s not going to help us sort out the mess the country is in but i do agree with all your ideas on the public sector

• who voted for the government? as a firefighter/ public servant .. my fellow workers and myself risk our lives on a daily basis,,we are there 24/7 ready willing and most certainly able to perform the tasks that save lives . Dublin is the second safest city in the world to have a heart attack …in Dublin fire brigade we also run the emergency ambulance service and do a damn good job despite all the negativity towards the public service.. i didnt see you mention the social welfare bill , I am not talking about people effected by the economic downturn but the ones who have made a career in ripping the system.

• a well written piece and very true, except for the last bit, England is not the land of milk and honey that some people think it is, i was born and breed there and believe me if you think Ireland is bad you should see the amount of waste,corruption and nepotism that goes on in local and national government over there, the so called national pride is mainly kept for football matches and royal occasions, in general the standard of living is a lot lower than Ireland, wages and welfare are much much lower and the cost of living almost equal to ours. with water rates of over £1000st for an average 3 bed semi, £1500 council tax, little or no access to dental or doctors surgeries, and a much higher prescription charge per item than here , you cant even afford to get sick. high rents and long housing waiting lists for council housing and some very poor quality private rentals with little or no protection from the government against slum landlords, stabbings,shootings,muggings and murders a daily occurrence in most cities , we even stopped going out of a weekend because of the threat of physical violence in and around pubs and bars, and i worked in that industry for 20 odd yrs! also the chances of finding decent work over there is small, unemployment is raising and most job’s advertised are on government run ‘schemes’ which are short term and pay little or nothing above the dole. unless you have a guaranteed secure job and somewhere decent to live lined up , i’d say you should think twice before moving over there

• @William Roche

Just to pick up on a few things you said there.

1) “Aside from the government itself, the public sector is the biggest problem in this country”. What about the banks? Their debt has become ours which has made our public debt unsustainable. Taking on that debt was the single biggest contributing factor to Ireland needing financial assistance from the Troika. They have yet to lend effectively, they are starving SMEs of much needed lines of credit and have to be hounded into passing on interest rate cuts to their consumers. Our banking system is toxic and this is what has caused the massive problems in this country. Most international experts acknowledge that Ireland’s difficulty was not sovereign debt as we had been running surpluses in the years before 2008. It was a banking collapse. Without the banking problems, we would have had to reduce our spending, but nowhere near the austere levels we have had to. In fact, it is probable that our spending could have been reduced in line with the deflationary cycle we experienced at the start of the recession and the hardship would not have been so pronounced. To say that the public sector is the biggest problem in this country bar one, is somewhat simplistic.

2) “The Government should put all front line staff such as nurses, teachers and Guards under immediate performance review” That sounds all well and good until you get into the detail. How do you measure the performances of such people? There are few workable solutions to that conundrum. What targets do you set, what are the tangible outcomes you look for? In the case of teachers, the issue of payment by results has been proven not to work. How do you measure a Garda’s performance? I’m not against performance reviews, I’ve just yet to be convinced by any of the yardsticks provided.

3) “Maybe if this country were run by people with actual business experience instead of a bunch of self serving teachers that have spent their carer sucking off the tit of public taxes we might have some chance in the future”. The problem is that this country is being run as a business and is looked at in simple terms of euros. This country is a society first and foremost. If this country was run by hard nosed business people, you would have the kind of social disorder that Britain is currently having to endure. The hard nosed Thatcher/Reaganomics of the eighties, while solving the economic problems in the short term, did very little for social cohesion in the long term. I’m not saying that the economic arguments are to be thrown out the window. I’m simply suggesting that to look at everything in terms of finance ensures that you lose sight of the bigger picture. By the way, there are only 5 members of the 15 member Cabinet who are former teachers. Ironically, one of these is NOT Minister for Education (?!)

• We’ve gone with the wurst solution, maintaining the trough and protecting the swine. (If only we could get an economist to do a McCarthyesque root and branch review of all aspects of government to see what areas could be snipped and produce a menu of targeted cuts?)

• I like his comment on the electoral register. In the last General Election it had 2 votes, 1 at the town I live in and one at my parents house 50 miles away. If I had wanted to I could have voted twice. I t took me ages and a lot of foot work to find out that after I took my name off the register in my parents area some Langer from the electoral register went around checking the register to see who was on it. They saw that my name wasn’t there so they put it on without my knowledge. How many other people in this country have had the same thing done to them?

As for the HSE and the Social Welfare, don’t get me started!

• My sister had a similar experience.. 2 votes.. her maiden and married name
      I had my name removed twice by the local Gestapo.. sorry Register enforcer..

• I might well have 3 or 4 possible votes – I know for a fact that a polling card is sent to my parents house (where I haven’t lived in 8 years) and to my current house (where I’ve lived for 5). I don’t know if one goes out to either of the other 2 places I lived in between, as I was registered to vote at both. It is illegal to vote more than once though.

• William Campbell…..thank you. now….how do we get some action on these proposals?

• William if you go to England you might get a gig as a young Ken Barlow ! ;-)

• mmmm…nsalami…..

• This is pie-in the-sky thinking. I suppose the author is now going to tell us how to get the public-service unions on board to agree to job losses for some of their members and not others, to fix a problem that was caused by property developers, bankers and politicians.

As long as work is the primary source of income in our society, people will band together to protect their livelihoods, and rightly so.

Add New Comment