TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 7 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Column: For a new politics, we need more women in the Dáil

Writing for TheJournal.ie, Mary Mitchell O’Connor – who was recently caught up in a Dáil sexism row – argues that our male-dominated political system cannot represent today’s Ireland.

Mary Mitchell O'Connor

Fine Gael deputy Mary Mitchell O’Connor was recently caught up in a Dáil row after being the subject of sexist remarks by Independent TD Mick Wallace. Writing for TheJournal.ie, she argues that a better balance of the sexes is necessary if our political culture is ever to change.

THIS YEAR MARKS the fortieth anniversary of the establishment of the Women’s Political Association in Ireland. It was founded as part of a general move towards women’s liberation in the seventies, but with the specific aim of encouraging women into political life and party politics.

So, forty years on, how are we doing? There is no doubt that we have come a long way. In 1971 there were only three female TDs in Dáil Éireann. We have certainly made some strides since then. However we must look at that figure in the context of its time. The marriage bar was not removed until 1973. Women were not actively encouraged into the workplace. Nor were we matching our male counterparts in the typical male dominated fields in academia. For example, 1972 was the year the first woman graduated from engineering in Trinity College Dublin.

Now however in 2011, it is a different world. There are no excuses anymore. Girls are outperforming boys in the academic sense. Data compiled by the State Examinations Commission consistently shows girls achieving more As, Bs and Cs than boys across almost all subjects and levels.

It is far more the norm for women to work outside the home than it was in the ’70s, indeed for many families it is now a necessity for both parents to work in order to maintain their large mortgages. There is absolutely no reason why women should not have equal representation in our national Parliament.

Unfortunately however, the reality is nothing close to equality in representation. The current Dáil has only 25 female TDs out of a total of 166. A 15% female representation in Dáil Éireann is a shocking indictment on modern day efforts to bring more women into politics.
The problem, it must be noted, is not necessarily a failure on the part of women to get elected. For a variety of reasons, women are not putting themselves forward for election in high numbers.

Only 15% of the candidates in this election were women, a decrease of 2% on the last election in 2007. An analysis of party candidate selection by Dr. Adrian Kavanagh in NUI Maynooth has highlighted that there were no women candidates at all in the constituencies of Cork South West, Kildare South, Limerick and Roscommon- South Leitrim. It is a shameful fact that female representation in Dáil Éireann has never exceeded 14%.

‘He who shouts loudest’

So what is the consequence of these low numbers of women in politics? I have spent over 30 years as a teacher and school principal, a largely female-dominated environment. My career change from teaching to politics has been quite an eye opener. I now find myself in an entirely male-dominated world, where he who shouts loudest is heard. In this I refer to the constant play acting in the Dáil by many long standing TDs who should know better.

We all know, however, that he who shouts loudest isn’t always the most knowledgeable. This needless arguing and play acting in the Dáil amounts to a serious waste of time and the public are fed up with it.

There is also the obvious point that if our society is made up of equal numbers of men and women, so too should our parliament be made up of equal representation from both genders, as far as possible. A group in Cork called The 5050 Group has set about trying to ensure that we have equal representation in Ireland by 2020- an admirable cause, but perhaps we can achieve this aim before then.

So what is the new Government doing to address the low number of women in politics? Something quite significant actually. As part of one of the most innovative political reform proposals in decades, Minister Phil Hogan recently announced that political parties will be fined if they fail to implement a 30% gender quota for general election candidates. This seeks to address the hesitancy of women putting themselves forward for election.

Of course it is not enough to want more women in politics simply for the sake of it. Women already in politics must use the opportunity to further empower and better the lives of women in Ireland.

I am personally taking an interest in the issue of domestic violence and have approached the relevant ministers with my ideas on the subject. I welcome the commitment in the Programme for Government to introduce reformed domestic violence legislation, and I look forward to working closely with the Minister for Justice on my ideas when the Bill comes to the Dáil.

I mentioned my time spent in the female dominated school system, and I strongly believe that we should have gender balance across all sectors. There are not enough men in teaching, for example. My fight for more women in politics is simply a reaction to the fact that as a society, we should have the representation which proportionally reflects the society in which we live. This, clearly, is not currently the case. But I believe Minister Hogan’s proposal is a start in the right direction, and I am optimistic for the future.

Mary Mitchell O’Connor is a Fine Gael TD for Dun Laoghaire.

About the author:

Read next:

Comments (67 Comments)

• We "need" honest, competent, hardworking politicians. Gender is irrelevant.

• Quotas are never the right answer.

I *hate* seeing people praise the implementation of these things which are themselves the very height of sexism

• I agree Daniel, nonsense!

• Quotas in an Irish context also serve to harm the cause of grassroots democracy. What’s the point of having making selection conventions truly democratic by introducing One Member One Vote if party HQs are going to be forced by the fear of financial penalties to overrrule or distort them?

• Even the way these quotas are being implemented is bad. Fining a party for not meeting the quota is a horrible idea. Withholding public funding for a party which didn’t meet a quota, we could at least file under the same heading as gender equality in other areas of life; but actively punishing a party for not fielding candidates, especially to solve the problem of candidates not wanting to put themselves forward, is stupid – all it will do is punish smaller parties or suppress them.

• Disagree.

All depends on candidate selection procedures. If there was a 50/50 balance in the way candidates were selected before election, there would be no need for the idea of quotas to exist in the first place.

We all know that female politicians have to contend with child-minding, housekeeping etc so in my experience, women are less inclined and more hesitant to throw their names into the political hat.
      More men are fantastically braver to do so also. I feel it’s a confidence issue, given that it’s a ridiculously intimidating male dominated environment.
      If it was vice versa and men felt that way about nursing etc, I’d be happy to support quotas too.
      Men supporting women and vice versa is the best thing and that’s what quotas are about, they’re a safeguard to ensure that happens.

• Gender Quotas – in the context of Candidate Selection – are NOT about “Men supporting Women, and vice versa”. If you have an open One Member One Vote candidate Selection system in a party, Quotas can’t but undermine democracy. Take for example the fictional constituency of Shortford-Eastmeath. The Drink-for-All Party has a selection convention to select two candidates for the forthcoming General election. The 300 members of the local Drink-for-all party cast their votes and the results are as follows : John McGuinness 120, James Shortt 120 and Lisa Winegum 60. But then Party HQ realises only 29% of their candidates are female, and they stand to lose half their public funding. So what do they do? Do they add Lisa Winegum to the ticket? Or even worse, add her and take one of the already selected candidates off the ticket? Either way it’s an insult to democracy…

• How about a quota for non-teachers Mary? I’m not a teacher, and I feel under-represented. If we “should have the representation which proportionally reflects the society in which we live”, you and the majority of the other teacher-TDs should be back in schools!

• Can’t disagree with this one; is it 45% teachers. No quarrel with teaching, which is a fine profession, but it means that only one set of skillsets is available in the Dail, and others are not represented. There are an awful lot of people work in the computer industry, and they’re not represented for example. As for the gender balance thing; *yawn*!

• So what, a max number of teachers can become politicians?

I don’t know about you but I’ve had some fantastic teachers down the years, many of whom would be much better than some of the people we’ve been electing over the past few years.

Cowen, Bertie, McCreevey and Lenihan were all lawyers and accountants. I’d watch out for them more so than teachers, although judging by profession in any case is just plain immature!

• As I said before, nothing against teachers in particular, just against a preopnderance of any one profession. I’m particularly concerned that there are no people with experience in the multinational sector, which now dominates our economy. I’m against quotas, but for interest I gave no preference in the last election to any teacher in my constituency; a field of 15 became a field of four! If you feel prejudiced against you should reflect that the Department of Education has rules which make being a teacher a very good job for a politician, including providing some poor soul to keep your place warm while you’re in the Dail; I often wonder how those poor fellows feel at election time.

• @David, yes – judging by profession would be very immature, much the same as judging by gender would be very immature.

Mary seems to think that if you divide society according to one criterion (gender), then the numbers of TDs should be proportional to that. She reckons it’s a problem if that’s not the case, and that it should be enforced.

Similar ridiculous logic would suggest that we should have only 3 teachers in TD positions, a far greater imbalance from reality. It makes as much sense to force reductions in the number of teachers in Dáil Éireann as it does to force reductions in the number of males.

• As far as I know, there is nothing whatsoever stopping women running for political office. It is up to the electorate to vote them in?

As it currently stands, Ireland has had almost 21 years with a wonam as head of State.

By all means Ms O’Connor, advocate for more women in the Oireachtas, but do not have a gender balance policy as the core to the solution, that in itself is undemocratic. If more women want in, then more women should stand up to the plate and put themselves before the electorate and be judged on their merits.

It is rather ironic that it takes a man to attempt to introduce a gender quota to achieve your aims…

Rather than citing school grades, can you give specifics as to how this will reform our current politics by having more women? The inference made is that women are cleverer than men and that certainly is not worthy enough to have a gender quota based on school grades!

We the electorate need better than that, and do not get me wrong, I personally would like to see more women engage in politics, but do so on your own merits rather than needing fines/legislation to make it happen.

• So we need more male teachers in the school system so that we have ‘gender balance across all sectors’, grand, that seems like a noble idea. But we’re currently actually *reducing* the total numbers of teachers. So maybe Mary won’t object when experienced female teachers are fired so that they can be replaced by inexperienced male ones? Or if newly qualified female teachers are denied places in favour of their male colleagues? Aren’t those policies logical corollaries of the aspiration for ‘gender balance’? And aren’t they profoundly daft?

Surely what we need is *good* teachers and *good* politicians, and equal opportunities for all, rather than an arbitrary ‘representation’ target based on gender?

Also, I seriously worry about the realism of setting a target of equal representation in the Dail by 2020 – or ‘before then’. That’s 58 additional female TDs (83 in total) to be elected in (say) two general elections. Over the last four elections the number has increased by 5. A more realistic aim might suggest some sort of plan, this just looks like blather.

• Is anybody stopping women from joining politics or is just a case of not as many women are interested?

• The candidate selection procedure has been known to prevent women from running in elections. Remember Bertie’s “management” whereby the Fitzpatrick woman in his constituency was excluded from the ticket in favour of his pal, Cyprian Brady? Yet Brady, in spite of winning a very low vote, was subsequently elected on Bertie’s surplus! Ms. Fitzpatrick was acknowledged as a superior worker and eventually beat Bertie’s brother in the Council elections!! There is a boys’ club in politics and, because of this, gender quotas ARE necessary to provide balance in the Dáil.

• Apologies! Mary Fitzpatrick was on the ticket and got over 1,000 first preference votes. Cyprian Brady, who only got 900+ first preferences, was elected on Bertie’s surplus. Mary Fitzpatrick afterwards maintained she “was shafted”!

• I agree with all of the above comments. What is needed is TD’s that genuinely have the good of the country at heart, not the good of their bank balances. Gender is indeed of no importance.

• More women in the Dail would be good. Absolutely.

Quotas would be bad. Absolutely.

• ‘in 1971 there were only 3 TDs in the Dail’, maybe to go back there would be the solution to some problems, were any of them women?

• Politics should be about an individual of either sex being elected due to capability and as far as i see the electorate have the say who is suitable at the polls as far as possible. This sexist drive to bypass capability with gender is a slap in the face to the electorate.. How dare she affront our voting system with this single minded sexist crap…
    This proves the stupidity of this elected representative if this is her mindset..

• I don’t think quotas are the answer here. Politics has awful hours which are not anti-women but anti-family. That’s one of the reasons why Olwyn Enright didn’t stand again as a TD.

They need to cut out Dáil debates that go way into the night. Stop them in the evenings but have 5-day sittings.

They should also install a creche into the Oireachtas. There’s two bars but no creche.

• Some time ago, Aongus O Snodaigh was referred to as Shrek, by a comedian. This was not considered sexist. Why is it sexist to have referred to this TD as Miss Piggy? Disrespectful, yes, inappropriate, of course, but the random use of the S word is all too common, and, in the same way as the R word, is overused, just to whip up a fuss.

• If there is a quota based on gender then why not on race, social demographic etc. 20% male, 20% female, 20% ethnic minority, 20% lower/working class and 20% middle/upper class. Sounds fair!!!!!!!!

• There is an interesting chapter on this in Coakley and Gallaghers ‘Politics in the Republic of Ireland’. Women not standing for election is not the only problem. Studies have shown that a good percentage of the electorate would vote for a man over a woman. I don’t know how a solution could be created for this. I don’t think quotas is necessarily the answer.it’s just reversing the situation.just like parts of the electorate not voting for a person because of their gender,quotas would forces voters to vote for women because of their gender.

• Surely it should be based on ability and capability, not what sex you are ………

• For those who think nothing is stopping women from getting into politics I would recommend this report carried out by our own Oireachtas http://www.oireachtas.ie/documents/committees30thdail/j-justiceedwr/reports_2008/20091105.pdf

As for this ideas that quotas are a terrible idea – no they’re not. They’ve been proven to work in other countries. The type of quota being proposed is one at the level of political party level during candidate selection procedures – actually giving grassroots party activists more choice about who they get to put forward on the ballot paper. Surely this is only a good thing?

Gender is also the only characteristic that intersects all other groups like race and disability. And just a reminder – women are not a minority group in the population.

How can we say that the best are going forward when there is proven research to show that women are systematically excluded from politics?

• What exactly is excluding women from politics Linda? I’m not a member of a political party so I would love to know how women are not allowed to put themselves forward. Call me naive but I thought that it was just a matter of getting proposed and seconded and letting the party activists vote on the matter

• Well said Linda. There are 5 c’s widely recognised as preventing women from making it into politics. These are cash, culture, confidence, child care and candidate selection.

At the recent Countess Markievicz School Arni Hole, Director General in the Royal Ministry of Children, Equality and Social inclusion in Norway gave a presentation on the Norwegian experience of quotas.
      Her presentation can be seen at http://cpintessmarkievicz.wordpress.com

• Gremlin got into the link! It should read http://countessmarkievicz..wordpress.com

• Lucy men have to surmount those obstacles as well! As for child care there is a link just down the page where an article in the Times showed that there is a creche in the Dail but no on is using it. Confidence? If someone doesn’t have the confidence to go for election then why should they be elected? Cash? What do you want to do , pay people to run for election. Culture, not too sure where you are going there. Candidate selection, well that’s up to the party’s involved and unless I am very much mistaken women are allowed to join all political parties and vote in them as well. To get on in politics you have to work at it, there is no easy ride available.

• Actually each of these characteristics intersects each of the others.

• Brian, the easiest thing to do is read the report for yourself about why women are excluded rather than asking me to convince you – as you’re naturally inclined to disbelieve me as you’re coming from another viewpoint! Read the report and see how you feel about the issue then.

• I’ve read a large part of the report Linda ( I’m constrained by time) and tried to look at the relevant passages in it. I’m still not convinced of the quota system as it is to be applied. The pro’s and con’s section on quotas sums up the arguments well however there are some glaring holes in the argument for quotas. If women can’t get their own political party’s in order (equality wise) then they are obviously not very good at what they are doing. If the women members of the party’s http://tiny.cc/xlz6b have less representation than in proportion to their membership then it is up to them to sort it out and not the state. FG has 42% women in it’s ranks so what is stopping them from raising blue murder at the next convention and demanding that the balance be redressed? As a voter I want a tough, ambitious and strong candidate to represent me not someone who is molly coddled and lead by the hand into the Dail. I really don’t care who is in the Dail or whether it is made up of all men or all women just so long as they do a good job. Getting a nomination on one characteristic alone is not the basis for getting a job. Any job should be awarded on merit alone and not on gender, race, ethnicity or any other singular factor.

• I guess it comes down to how you want the political system to work and everyone has their own opinion on it.

I don’t think that a Dail made up of 150+ men in comparison to less than 25 women is a system that works. I think there are reasons why women don’t get through which are caused by party hierarchy’s which are in the main run by men. I don’t think that it’s because individual women are not good enough – but because the system is good enough.

I don’t agree with quotas that lead to women being lead in the Dail door like reserved seats but I do think that quotas at the candidate selection procedure in each individual party will allow grassroots activists more choice in who ultimately goes forward to face the electorate – I don’t see that as a bad thing. I think your example of FG being made of 42% women who could technically cause blue murder of a conference – is a nice idea but ultimately very naive – it’s the head honchos in each party who control most events/selections. I feel that grassroots don’t have that kind of power (not the way I would like it to be either but that’s how I see it).

Most quota legislation also comes with a sunset clause ie it runs out in a certain year as research (a lot done by Prof Yvonne Galligan in QUB). Her research also demonstrates that where more women are in politics, more women become engaged in politics – the opposite I believe to be true also – the less women in politics, the less women are interested in politics. (In fact I think this is true for all groups – where you see yourself represented, you’re more likely to be engaged.)

I want the best candidate too – I just don’t believe the system currently allows for that. I think the system is broken and this is one of the ways I would change it.

As I said before, everyone has their own ideas on this – like a case of Robert Frost poem – two roads diverged in a yellow wood and I was sorry I could not travel both and be one traveller….

If one road is the status quo with a dismal amount of women in the Dail and the other is a road with quotas at candidate selection level then I know which one I’m picking!

• Make sure that when they see elected they also get a sat nav ;-)

• “Fine Gael deputy Mary Mitchell O’Connor was recently caught up in a Dáil row after being the subject of sexist remarks by Independent TD Mick Wallace. ”

No, Wallace’s remarks weren’t sexist, they were a reference to Mrs. O’Connor’s fashion sense. Just because the two are of opposite sex does not mean that the remarks are sexist.

If you are an advocate of quotas based on gender then I presume that you would also advocate quotas based on race, sexual orientation, age, height, hair colour and any other way which you may choose to categorise different groups of people. If not, then how can you argue for quotas based on gender? It is only one of the aspects that makes up the person that everybody is.

• She proved herself to be very thin skinned with that remark. Hardly a qualification needed in the cut & thrust of politics. Male or female – just get on with the job & stop all these sideshow issues. Ability & not gender is the key.

• Mike 09/08/11 #

It was actually the other way round. She said she didn’t want to make a big deal about it. It was the media and other commentators that forced the three lads to issue apologies/statements.

• Typical…. a teacher who sees nothing beyond exam results. What more could we expect from out elected representatives.

• So how does Mary propose to make people vote for women candidates. Our political system has an over-representation of people named Mary by the way, all the Catherines and Angelicas are feeling left out.

And if you extend the quota logic shouldn’t we have a quota of Traveller, Chinese, Black and Polish candidates?

• i’m for quotas.

• Quotas are a shocking idea.

It is difficult for women to break in though. Some of these campaign teams are like little boys clubs. Women reduced to making tea or answering phones while the same old eejits plan strategies.

• Job security is important to women. Is there any in modern politics?

What may help is transferrable maternity / paternity leave. Countries with higher levels of women in politics also have the ability to let their partners take some of their leave when they have a child.

• With so many very able women being community activists, it would appear there must be a good reason why this is not translated into women becoming active in politics or indeed why they do not put themselves forward as political candidates in as great a number. It is clear to me that there is as great a proportion of women in society who are capable of representing the people as there are men.
    We need to ask what is the reason for women not putting themselves forward as candidates for the Dail. If we can then create an environment in politics where women can get true equality of access I think the Dail will benefit from being truly representative of the people of Ireland and getting the best candidates regardless of their gender.
    There is evident resistance in these comments to talk of quotas or gender equality in the Dail as if that might mean sub standard candidates being elected. I would argue that already occurs. I would argue that by taking candidates from only 50% of the population, we overlook the merit in the other 50% and thus cannot be getting the very best entering political life.

• I don’t think that it is a question of taking candidates from 50% of the population as there is no reason for not taking candidates from the other half other than the fact that they will not put themselves forward in the first place. Obviously the more women that put themselves forward the better chance there is that their representation will increase. there is an equality of access as there is no restrictive laws concerning women public representatives and there is plenty of equality legislation to back it up.

People should be elected on the basis of their personal attributes and abilities not on their gender/race/ethnic group. The argument that by taking in more women we will be ” getting the very best entering political life” is a little ambitious. Can you guarantee that these women will out shine the substandard candidates (i.e men ) already being elected or is it just wishful thinking.

• Exactly, I don’t see what secondary school exams have to do with anything. If she was going to focus on exam results then surely college exams would be a far more accurate assessment. Like how many males vs females completed PHDs in the past year. A dog in the street could tell you that the female brain is far more suited to the rote learning style of state exams than the male brain.

• I’m totally in favour of quotas, the gender imbalance in Irish politics is shocking to say the least and something drastic needs to be done to address this important issue…..

• Here is a message from former Minister Gemma Hussey (she’s asked me to pass it on as she can’t post a comment):

“It’s great to see the impressive MMO’C being concerned and eloquent
    about Ireland’s democratic deficit. It takes the shock of the reality
    when you’re in there,surrounded by wall-to-wall men,to bring home the
    vacuum that the absence of women creates. That vacuum across all the
    power elites in Ireland undoubtedly contributed to our present woes.

From Gemma Hussey”

• To blame the current crisis, even partly, on the simple absence of women is an uninformed, unfounded generalisation, implying that those characteristics known to some as feminine were all that was needed to bring true and long-lasting prosperity, and that men are uniquely and necessarily possessed of the traits of greed and hubris. This is sexism at its most base, and this comment is not worthy of a former public representative.

I despise those who led us to where we are, but it is because of their incompetence, greed and vanity that we are screwed. Not their gender.

• i think the measures you mention are good, but men are unlikely to rush to implement these family-friendly ideas in the Dail.

• Bit of a generalisation there Spacer, especially seeing as how men have families too. This isn’t Mad Men, y’know.

• See there it is again! Don’t men have families or does our society not expect fathers to parent?

• If society expected the same of fathers as they do of mothers, then men would have equivalent paternity leave to that which women currently receive – or a join parental leave system. I think until that happens we’re not expecting the same of fathers – that’s not saying that men aren’t good fathers – but from a changing the system point of view – women will always be discriminated against when there are these different expectations.

• If 45% of all current TDs are teachers, and 151 of the 166 TDs i.e. the majority are male, then why not fire a load of the male teacher TDs and get them back into teaching? Solcves a whole lad of the issues mentioned above – increasing the number of experienced male teachers active in teaching, leaving more room for some of the upcoming, ambitious, hardworking female TDs and most inmportantly ending the male-dominated image of the profession of the average Irish politician? Quotas feed into gender imbalances/sexism – stand on our own merits.

Add New Comment