TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 3 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Column: Has Michael Healy-Rae hit on a way to make us happier?

The independent TD’s comments on car registrations may have been silly, writes Eoin O’Malley – but maybe we should look into it a little more…

Eoin O'Malley

LAST WEEK, MICHAEL Healy-Rae ventured forth into a public policy debate arguing that in order to prevent the ‘car industry’ from terminal decline in 2013 we should consider changing our car registration system for next year. The thinking is that people will be unwilling to have a car with a 13 plate because they’ll regard it as unlucky. The people of Kerry wouldn’t buy cars, the car dealers would go out of business, jobs would be lost.

Many comments on The Journal.ie exclaimed the stupidity of belief in the supernatural. And we can also criticise him for his lack of understanding of basic economics. There is no car industry in Ireland. We don’t make cars here. When a new car is bought it means that the wealthy (anyone who can afford it now must be cash rich) pay the government a good deal of tax (no bad thing) but also that they export a very large amount of money for a consumer good that has little more productive value than the car they are replacing.

Up to recently, we subsidised this export of money by paying people to scrap vehicles that may have worked reasonably well and offered a few more years of use. If we were to discourage buying new cars, we’d keep more money circulating in the Irish economy, and mechanics would benefit as older cars would need more regular repair. The only losers would be car salesmen.

However, Healy-Rae may be right that people do make purchases on the basis of what’s on the car registration plate. Anecdotal evidence suggests cars with a 02 plate are typically more expensive than those with an 01 plate, even though the cars might be the same in other areas, mileage etc. It is also sometimes said that people will not buy cars from certain counties – so no self-respecting Louth man would buy a car with an MH registration plate.

‘Some of those proud drivers became slightly unhappier this year’

We also know that the current system changes when we buy cars. A third of private cars registered in 2007 were registered in the first two months of the year. January 2007 had about 30,000 new cars registered, whereas there were just 1,500 in December 2006. People like to have new cars and nothing says new like a 12-D registration plate. This means that the offices dealing with car registration have very uneven loads of work, which may be inefficient for staffing.

But it also means that some of those proud drivers with their 11-D plates became slightly unhappier at the turn of the year. Their car was no longer new. It may have looked the same, even still had that new car smell; it may have only been a few weeks old, but in the minds of others, it was one year old.

Research on happiness (it’s a growing area!) tells us that we tend to compare ourselves to others. Most of our lifestyles are far superior to that of our grandparents, but what matters more is where you are relative to others in society. So you are only well off if you are better off than your brother-in-law We also know that we take undue notice of what others think of us, or what we think others think of us.

Even if our car is perfectly functional, many of us feel deficient if it is an 05 and all our friends drive 09 cars. So what might we do?

The current system encourages those who can to change their cars more frequently than is efficient for the Irish economy or the environment. Why not move to a registration plate system with random identifications? There are downsides. Many of us like that we can tell where a car is from. But we might be able to incorporate this into the system, but just ensure that no one can tell how old the car is by looking at the registration plate. We could even move to a system where people can choose their own, and pay for it, making this a revenue raising scheme. Brian O’Driscoll might pay a premium for L31NST3R 13. And it could make the rest of us a little happier with the cars we drive.

Eoin O’Malley teaches politics at the School of Law and Government, Dublin City University. He usually cycles to work, but when he doesn’t, he uses an 11 year-old Cork registered car. He is not from Cork. You can follow him on twitter @AnMailleach.

Read next:

Comments (34 Comments)

• I take pride in the fact I have an old high mileage car, drive it into the ground. Nothing like getting your money’s worth.

• He is spot on about the no.13 being unlucky. It’s for that reason I’ll not be paying road tax in 2013. Bad luck having that number on display in the windscreen.

• No wonder he wears a cap because there is nothing underneath it.
    His father supported the worst government ever in the history of the state and now the son is carrying on the stupidity.
    Celebrity gob shite and gombeen rolled into one
    Unbelievable tripe yet again

• Ciaro 11/02/12 #

If healy Rae vanished into thin air I’d be happy.

• If you have ambitions about cars or driving.

Just move to the U.K or the U.S.A.

It’s very car and driver friendly over there.

The ”Mules” running the country here are still living in the era of the ”Ass Kart”

You’ll be dead and buried waiting for these gits to do anything.

Its far easier for them to collect lumps of VRT and road TAX from you (and give you nothing in return) and look after their friends in Audi, Merc, VW and Co. in Germany,
    rather than put in a little thought and make something creative,interesting,exiting and even more profitable out of the car industry,and road network in Ireland something to be proud off.

€1000 to tax an average car in a country with little to no public transport system?

• Bruce 12/02/12 #

I think Rae is right (even I am shocked by the admission!). There is definitely a large number of people out there who will not want a 13 reg car. Our brings me to one of my pet topics. We have in excess of 30 local authorities where a car can be registered. And a central office in ennis. Why do we have such duplication? My proposals (1) have one central licensing bureau. They alone would assign reg numbers. At this point decide if the individual county numbering or a more generic scheme should be used. (2) abolish car tax
    Instead replace it with levy on fuel
    The more you use the more you pay. That way you could eliminate about 500 pointless jobs in various local authorities. And free up an amount of wasted garda time checking for tax, signing forms (3) while I am at it: abolish green diesel. Let farmers claim back vat the same as any business. It would save tens if not hundreds of millions of € through lost excise duty; man hours wasted by customs stopping and checking cars; wipe out criminal gangs laundering fuel.

• If you are put off buying a car because it has a 13 reg plate then you should never have been on the road in the first place.

• Wow we are still thinking about number plates ! I wonder if 400,000 people on the dole are worried about their car reg, 90,000 children living in constant poverty, 60,000 emigrants who have left their car behind? Yes lets change our number plates and feel happy … !

• Once a fool, always a fool! Annex Kerry and give it the Argentinians!

• Believe me Paddy there are many of these people about. As for the number 13 being unlucky…well I gave birth to my 2nd daughter on a Fri 13th and it was one of the luckiest dates ever for me………….so enough of this rubbish

• I live in Germany and you can choose letters for your plate. For example my car plate is CLP CC 203. CLP is for Cloppenburg, CC are my initials and the numbers are given. My husband’s is F FF 962. F for Frankfurt, where he works, FF is Fitness First, his employers (company car). It is a good system.

But back to Healy-Rae, he really is a gombeen and an embarrassment to the nation!

• “pay the government a good deal of tax (no bad thing)”

The existing tax regime on cars prevents more transactions which would mean ultimately even more tax for the government.

Look at how the “scrappage” scheme drove more sales in 2011 than 2012 to date, less tax=more transactions=more government revenue. Backward-bending supply curve and all that stuff….

• What a load of sh!te

• Somehow I agree with the above, the current system only imposes embarrassment to those who cannot keep up with the Jones’s. We might be more inclined to buy a car more for it’s looks, condition instead of buying the year.
    Which car is worth more: a car registered in November 2011 with 3000K or the same car, shape and model registered in Feb. 2012 with 6000K? We are the only in Europe if not the world whom purposely imposes pressure on potential and current car owners to buy as high a year as possible and I’ve alway advocated against it! Great article!

• Maybe the journal.ie could do a poll, do these people really exist?

• In California the license plate is changed every time a car is sold. The new owner applies for new plates. This could be a way to generate tax revenue and relieve the problem of not being able to sell a car because of its year or the county it was registered in when new.

• Great article.

• If i were from kerry i would cringe every time this excuse for a politician opens his gob.
    What sort of people voted this clown (and his father) in… Oh yes it the same sort of people that apparently won’t buy 13-ky cars..

• Whilst reading this article I couldn’t help thinking, who are these people he’s writing about? Anyone I know doesn’t give crap what reg their car is. ‘Oh they are out there’ I can hear people cry. I’ve never met any. I have the distinct feeling this is the writers views only.

• Why don’t he let the people design there own kind when buying a car. Personal car plates. It’s done in d states.

• Very good idea. No-one has ever given me a good reason as to why the year needs to be on a plate at all. I can only think of one other country in Europe that even makes it semi-obvious.

And a LOT of money could be made from personalized plates, mark my words!

• The writers economic logic is skewed. “Imports are bad exports are good”, is an over simplification of the car industry. There is little to no finance available so people are purchasing from savings, which I believe are averaging c€40,000 per household. A major purchase, such as a motor vehicle does not take cash out of circulation but in fact does the opposite. The only access the government gets with regard to savings is DIRT which is based solely on the minuscule rates that institutions are offering. The purchase of a vehicle however attracts VAT, VRT, Road Tax, fuel tax at the pumps, taxation from the transportation of the vehicle into Ireland, job creations from the car industry and their associated taxes (corporate, PRSI PAYE etc). As purchases go, you would probably have to buy a packet of ciragettes to pay proportionately higher taxes.
    The simple registration system works and encourages spending which is good for the economy and given the drastic changes in fuel efficiency, it’s good for the environment too.

• I like the concept. I have a C registered van and live and operate a SME in Carlow and would like something more fitting to my location or business. I asked about rereg to CW and was told no. So I say go for it.

Add New Comment