TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Column: House prices need to fall further, or our economy is in danger

Have property prices finally bottomed out? We’d better hope not, writes Michael Taft.

Michael Taft

THERE’S BEEN A lot of discussion about whether 2012 will see property prices hit the ‘floor’.

The Government and Nama are doing their bit to help to stimulate house purchases through budgetary measures and negative equity insurance schemes.  Unfortunately, there has been little debate about the optimal level of house property prices.  Few have been asking the question – would it be a good idea if property prices stopped falling this year?

A standard measurement of ‘house affordability’ is the ratio between median house prices and median household income.  The authoritative Annual Demographia International Housing Affordability Survey suggests that affordability lies in the 3:1 range – median house prices should be three times or less the median household income.  Anything above that threshold leads us into ‘unaffordability’ territory.

One of the problems is that we don’t have official data for these median components.  So we have to patch this together.  Conor McCabe has looked at the relationship between average house prices and average industrial wages and found that while the ratio hovered around the 4:1 mark between the mid-1980s and mid-1990s (that is, average house prices was four times the average industrial wage), by 2006 this ratio exceeded 11:1.  Therefore, the ratio before speculative boom can be considered the long-term sustainable ratio between house prices and wages.

I have done my own calculation, using the Department of Environment data.

Property Ratio
There are some minor differences with Conor’s calculations.  This data is based on manufacturing wages – but what they both show is the scale of the speculative boom (the shaded area is my own estimate of wages, as the Department of Environment stops after 2007 because the CSO changed their wage calculation methodology).  They further show that pre-speculative prices fluctuated around 4.

Ronan Lyons also looked at this issue and found that average house prices were about 3.6 times the average household income during the 1980s.  Ronan suggests that this could be considered the equilibrium level.  Back in July of last year he suggested that, using this 3.6 ratio, house prices needed to fall by about 25 percent.

So where does that leave us?  In 2011, house prices fell by approximately 16 percent which suggests that the ratio has fallen to something like 5.5. Ok, this is well below the speculative heights but still well above that ratio of approximately 4 that pertained in the decade preceding the speculative boom.  To get to that level, we need house prices to fall by another 25 and 30 percent.

Taking Ronan’s equilibrium of ratio of 3.6 we find that, using the EU Survey of Income and Living Conditions, house prices in 2009 were 4.3 times that of gross household income.  This suggests a further fall of 16 percent is necessary – but we have to remember that gross household incomes are falling along with prices; so the fall in house prices would need to be more.

Where’s the bottom line?

Ok, we have now been numbed by all these prices and ratios.  What’s the bottom line?  It should make us very worried that the Government and public agencies are pursuing policies to put a floor on prices.  Housing costs – home-ownership and rents – should be driven down to a level of reasonable economic return; otherwise, they become a drain on the productive economy.  If people have to spend more on housing themselves, they have less to spend in other sectors of the economy.  This becomes a cost – and as we know from experience, a terrible cost; not only in diverting scarce resources from non-housing consumption but the danger of diverting investment away from productive activity.

What does it say about an economic policy that reviving a property market is considered desirable?  Do we really believe that building and selling houses to each other is a pathway to recovery? Have we learned nothing?  We are facing into a medium-term period of falling or stagnating real wages (wages after inflation) coupled with higher taxation that will reduce real disposable income.  And we’re talking about reviving, or interrupting the fall in, property prices – especially when they are still well above their equilibrium?

Complex housing policies are reduced to one thing – property prices.  We have rental accommodation issues (price, quality, tenants’ rights in a fragmented mom-and-pop sector); land prices and the Kenny Report; planning mechanisms for future land use; a potential regressive property tax; arrears and negative equity; rising homelessness; billions of Euros available for individuals, companies and banks to cover their speculative losses in past years; degraded housing stock; local authority waiting lists; ghost estates; NAMA; a dysfunctional private housing sector and a quickly disappearing public housing sector, etc. etc.

But never mind all that.  It’s all so very complicated.  Let’s just talk about house prices.  Let’s talk about ‘reviving the property sector’.  Let’s continue to conflate the fortunes of the economy with the fortunes of the property market.  We only need to focus on one index – and when it starts rising again, we’ll all feel so good about ourselves.

And normal business will have been restored.

Michael Taft is Research Officer with UNITE the Union; author of the political economy blog Notes on the Front; and a member of the TASC Economists Network.

Read next:

Comments (69 Comments)

• Ah, but your argument has a fatal flaw. The TDs and policy makers are all property owners themselves, in many cases, multiple property owners. And almost uniquely in the developed world, the Construction Industry Federation is regarded as the Oracle of Wisdom.

The agenda is capital growth for the haves.

As for youngsters hoping to get a home for themselves, (whisper this), there is plenty of space in Western Australia.

• Exactly! Why the fu*k should I pay 300K for a semi-detached piece of sh*t in a semi-retarded nanny state where it rains every other day and the taxes, fees, charges, levies etc keep going up? Fu*k this, I’m graduating and getting the fu*k out of here. In Australia one can get a lovely house in the country for around 200K AUS.

• Put This In A F@cking Graph Scholars.

Ireland

30′s 40′s 50′s 60′s 70′s And 80′s (and 90′s)
      No Mortgages or Loans From Banks (only for cronies)
      Council Mortgages At 20% Interest
      Unemployment
      People Selling Up/Deserting Properties and Immigrating To Real Economies
      Faded For Sale Signs On Derelict Properties

Early Noughties
      The Euro Comes In
      Stupid, Idiot, Bankers, Dish Out A Load Of Cheap Euros Recklessly On A Commission Basis For Five Years.

Late Noughties
      Ireland Goes Back To Normal.

• @ John McGrath the problem with your calculation is that you take €1000 for a two bedroom appt as a given. It is supported at that level now because of the Govt rent subsidy (which ain’t sustainable) the generally accepted principle is that you should aim for spending no more than a third of your net income on housing. which’d put the take home pay that’d support €1K rent at 36K pa or a gross wage of about 45K.

The median earner in Ireland in 2007 earned 24K pa (and that’ll have dropped like a stone since then) they had a take home pay of about 1,800 pm rent ought be pitched at about 600 pm which leaves your apartment priced at 60K pa [in 2007, and it'll go a lot lower before wages touch bottom here]

• I agree but was only using 1000 as example and that was upper-end a little
      So if you take 750 p c m it leaves value at 105 the other problem that will come into play is rural apartments will become unsalable as the management charge 2 home tax 100 + property tax water charges restriction of interest relief and section 23 relief will outway any rental income
      Am example of this last month was 2 bed 2 bath nice apt overlooking the river in new Ross 29000 it sold for at auction

• The rent subsidy should be halved. It is outrageous that the government artificially keeps rents at such a high level. This will drive down rents across the board. The Govt should bite the bullet on this and let the housing market find its own level. This would free up so much money in the economy generating jobs and tax return.

• @John, you seem to have completely missed the point, are you working in the property sector or something?

rent has to be a function of the wages people are paid (or else they wont pay rent, and move out of the country, or into their parents house)

it doesn’t matter that €750 seems reasonable to you, I’ve a friend living in an apartment which is an entire floor of a 19th Century building in Vienna, for €400/m. And New Ross is no Vienna.

We have a glut of housing in this country and a fuckton of empty buildings with the keys turned in the door.

1000 is the floor price in Dublin (though at last somebody seems to seems to be acting on the rent subsidy)
      The median price in Dublin for a relatively ordinary 3bed apartment should be in the range of €650-€700/m or the people they are being aimed at wont be able to afford them

the problem is the second order effects, as rent subsidy declines, then so too does rent (and the notional rent on the empty buildings) as that declines then the property portfolios decline even further. Simultaneously, guards/teachers/nurses with 1 or 2 buy-to-let properties will say fuck it an cut their losses, trying to dump their properties on the market before everybody else does.

And suddenly we are dealing with under-capitalised banks again, and an under-capitalised NAMA

The world bank estimates that our property prices will decline until 2017, Stephen Kinsella predicts the same. I’m nothing but an amateur economist but looking at how the books are stacking up, with Greece defaulting in March, Portugal entering the same territory, Ireland’s next bailout on the way then we’ll be falling until we hit 20% of peak prices, possibly 10% of peak prices – and that assumes the Euro holds together

• A few things missing. In the 80s and into the early 90s domestic mortgage rates were running between 12 and 14 percent, and more. Secondly, purchasers had to produce substantial deposits of between ten and twenty percent for houses. When apartments dipped in the late 80s, a deposit of 35 percent was required. These constraints, high interest rates plus large deposit, were removed in the bubble years. Their removal became a crucial driver of the property bubble, along with an army of tax breaks for all sorts of development. Moreover take home pay after tax in the 80s was much lower percentagewise than in the bubble years. Ronan Lyons ratio of 3.6 for the 80s may have applied to some dual income households, but it was not my experience at the time. For most people property was out of reach in the 80s due to unemployment and economic stagnation.

• In the 80s the interest rate went as high as 18-20 percent and then what happened the 90s arrived and to get more people buying they refused rates of interest and increased prices and increased and increased with out proper regulation. And again there is still no regulation as to value homes so for all of us who were “lucky” to buy our own home I feel bigger fools us cos now no matter weather you have a mortgage or not we have “Rent” our homes from the Government forever more with this ever increasing home tax 100 this year but what will it be in a few years

• Should read REDUCED INTEREST not refused oops

• jimbo 14/01/12 #

No SH1T! how can people spend now either way? each day there is some new tax,or stealth tax been made up,the economy is basically fcuked as is,the government are to blame.
    They key to recovery is consumer spending this will not happen as we are be blasted with taxes and hikes,common sense will tell you this,the wages are been cut the prices are going up so where are people supposed to get the money to spend,as for a house they will continue to drop they will do for some time yet,so will our money after all these taxes.
    THE GOVERNMENT want this by the looks of it they continue to add taxes and cuts so they can bail themselves out and fcuk everybody else after that

• Perceptive piece.
    The government should be devoting funds and budget provisions to regeneration projects and the upgrading of existing, unfinished and poorly constructed ‘boom’ housing which is lying idle and deteriorating through neglect and vandalism. To channel scarce resources to ‘revive’ the very beast that brought the economy down is sheer madness and is perhaps a measure thought up to help their speculative pals and the banks that that have a vested interested in the value added effect that this would have on vacant development land featuring high debt and low current value.
    The value of housing should be set at market level valuations and speculative and entrepreneurial actions should be directed to a sustainable economy rather than to the futile attempts to boost the value at which we sell houses to each other.

• First thing is people have no confidence to buy yet, so market will remain subdue. Add into that the difficulty in obtaining credit for ANYONE regardless of employment/status. On top of that, people feel they could be “locked” into a bad deal in case house prices continued to fall PLUS the fear and unknown final destination of property tax bands. Most people in employent are “uneasy” about their job security, so will hold off buying in case they need to up sticks and relocate. The reason housing was so bouyant during the boom was because people saw it as a way to make money FAST, by buying a house, then using equity release mortgages. This equity was often used to buy a second home/apartment, thus crippling availabilty for owner occupiers as so any speculators and investors surfed the market. Ive a 4000sq ft house in Cavan, and in 2006 had a reasonably small €200k mortgage on a house valued at €595,000. I used equity release to borrow and invest an additional €147K and now owe €342,000 on a house recently valued at €220,000. Dumbass move, but in good company!

• It’s clear to me that the poster Dave McCarthy has never been to OZ if he thinks he can get a hour there now for that price. Maybe beside a sewage plant…but nowhere remotely ‘nice’ I’ve lived in OZ and aren’t long back from it and from witnessing its current economy in action (almost a repeat of Ireland 2006) I really do believe that for once David McWilliams is spot on in this article: http://www.independent.ie/opinion/columnists/david-mcwilliams/david-mcwilliams-tremors-from-australias-crash-will-reach-our-shores-2984954.html

• Ciaro 14/01/12 #

In the 80s mortgages were twice the principal earner plus one the second earner. So a couple on 30k and 25k could borrow 80k. Interest rates were 12% and higher.
    The article is flawed as it is very selective about the comparators it uses.
    There were 800 new house registrations last year. There should have been thousands. There are 2 reason prices are so low, banks wont loan and people are afraid to borrow.

It’s not rocket science.

One final point, in determining house prices you have to consider demographics. Houses in some counties will never recover.

• A very common sense and wise piece of writing in my opinion, I have always thought that average house prices should be a ratio of average incomes and when prices go beyond this range there needs to be some regulatory intervention. A place to live is a human right and it’s not right to allow speculators to gain excess profit from meeting this need.

• And You Know Whats Funny

NAMA are taking huge salaries ”managing” properties in Ireland that will eventually have to be given away or someone will have to be paid to take them of their hands.

Something tells me NAMA is planning on becoming a permanent fixture.

I wonder what their final bill will be?

• CMD 14/01/12 #

I know of an estate agent in a provincial town who is employed by Nama to dispose of apartments and even though similar apartments in the area have gone for 50k -60k depending on size, he has been told by Nama not to sell for below 75k even if he has to wait for 6years. He is trying to lease them at the moment. All the banks involved are Irish ones. The non Irish banks liquidating property are happy to take what the market will allow. But of course the Irish banks can afford to wait. They are being propped up by the tax payer.

• “House prices need to fall further or our economy is in danger” I don’t want to appear disrespectful but we are already relying on bailouts and the property market has all but vanished – we’re well beyond danger already I’m afraid ! Ridiculous nonsense at this stage of the game.

• I don’t get it…. Everyone speaks of ownership. Yes, the ownership of a home is wonderful…. But owning a home requires additional money for maintenance and insurance. What’s wrong with renting? Yes, you may have little to show in terms of equity or you may not have the same type of security as a home owner… But you you don’t have the same headaches and you can save money while renting.

• I’m one of those who would like to buy but won’t. I worked abroad for years, returned in 2007 and was shocked by the rise in property prices and the changes in mortgage requirements. I rent and am building my deposit while waiting for the magic 4:1 ratio to return. It would be madness to buy before then – I need to know that should I have to relocate for work that I would be able to sell/rent my house quickly and at no great loss. I would quite like to buy the house I am currently living in, however it is on the market for €500k. I pay €700 pm in rent. Prices have a looong way to go before folk like me are prepared to give up the security of renting for the risks of purchase.

• Simply put, how can anyone hand over any money towards a property charge/household charge until we actually know the real value of our properties???

Also, looking at Insurance quotes for home insurance, some do not let you go under €125,000 even though your property could be worth less (Priory Hall?) Why are the NCA not looking into this or the Financial Ombudsman, as this is clearly a rip off and heaven forbid your home is destroyed, you wont get the money you paid for.

Big business and rip off Ireland still exists.

• Don’t worry lads prices will fall further it does not matter what stuff is being offered at if there is no liquidity in the Market is only cash buyers rule of thumb to calculate value to achieve 5% nett of management fees gov fees ect multiply rent say 1000 by 12 years by 12 months gives a value of 144000 about what a 2 bed fire sale apartment will achieve in Dublin.

• Not only they can fall, they will fall. And to all the lunatics out there – why are low house prices bad? Are low iPhone prices bad as well? No one forced the idiots who bought the houses at insane prices. So what if they are in negative equity now? They must have thought that it was a good deal at the time, hence, their mistake. And the dumbass government is trying to “stimulate” the housing marked, what a bunch of idiots! “Stimulating” was the thing that got us into this mess to begin with. Let the market self correct because, as the brighter ones among you realize, central planning has never worked. Stop fu*king with the housing marked or we will have another boom and then another quite inevitable bust. I’m sick of these do-gooder fu*ktards.

• While I’m delighted to see someone from UNITE and TASC agreeing that low cost for services is a good thing, I do wonder when they’ll apply the same logic to other areas of the economy… like the public sector, for instance.

• I was wondering how long it would take for the public sector haters to start moaning. Not long. As usual…

• Sarah, ye beat me to it. Just accept that the public sector is at fault for everything that has gone wrong. I have. It just makes it easier to skip over dumbass comments blaming us for the sh1t we’re in. Now it doesn’t bother me at all!! Hope it works for you too!!

• I’ll certainly give it a try, Paul! Thanks!

• Poor Sara. You get an awful time. Don’t mind the whingers. :-) They’d give me, private sector, a pain in my ass!

• Thanks Reada. I’m sure I can speak for all public sector workers when I say that we appreciate those that do not resent us for something that was not our doing! I really don’t understand why the people who deliver babies, put out fires, catch criminals, keep sick babies alive etc. have suddenly become enemies of the state. It makes me sad that, because I chose to care for sick people for a (very modest) living, a lot of the country seem to hate me and my colleagues, and would like to see us on the breadline. A lot of us are very close to it already. Thanks for your support.

• Sara, you shouldn’t take it personally when people refer to public sector workers. I think the majority of them are referring to politicians, fat cat advisers, and the guys that sit on boards of these quangos whose purpose isn’t really known etc. I don’t think anyone is referring to you guys, the frontline workers. You’re the first people we turn to when we’re in trouble, the unsung heroes. I, for one, would just like to say thanks to you all.

• Thank you, Tom. It’s very nice of you to say so. And I certainly agree with paycuts for politicians and high paid civil servants. Unfortunately, any “public sector” pay cuts, which are now being threatened and which the public seem to be baying for, will encompass the salaries of frontline public sector workers as well as those on ludicrous salaries.

• hi sarah. i didn’t blame the public sector for anything, thanks.

• Hi Hugh,
      Can you explain your original post so?

• Yes, Hugh. What exactly did you mean by “like the public sector, for instance” ?

• sarah…you accused me of being a “hater”. I’m no such thing.. It still doesn’t change the fact that unions like UNITE and orgs like TASC are supporters of the croke park agreement…..an agreement that can’t last….that’s essentially fixing prices at unsustainable levels and damaging the country. that’s what the article complains about in regard to high house prices.

ireland’s deficit is increasing at a preposterous pace. a big chunk of it is the bank debt. another – possibly even bigger – chunk is the fact that Ireland is spending too much on public sector salaries, pensions, our welfare rates are too high too. the govt is crippling our capital spending programs to keep paying unsustainable current expenditure rate. this is damaging the country.

these are just facts. the facts are our friends. sometimes they tell us things we don’t want to hear. no need to be a “hater”…..or to accuse others of being a “hater”.

• I think the attitude to houses in Ireland is partly to blame got our problems – we want concrete homes with concrete walls around them. Is this because of insecurity? What is wrong wtoth timber homes like the US? The Americans have an attitude of “can do” when it comes to their homes when the need to rebuild or replace as it is cheaper and quicker. We dig holes in the ground and quarry for gravel when the trees are right in front of us. I feel it is an historical thing that has cost our country dearly. Let’s start building more timber homes and leave the cold concrete behind us.

• Climate is a factor.

• Climate is not a factor Norman. I lived in British Columbia which has a damp wet maritime climate similar to our own. There is a long standing tradition of building in timber and the practical advantages of this are quite clear when you take the amount of needless excavation, concrete foundations, floor insulation, radon gas prevention, stone filling and heat loss involved in the construction methods employed here. I hope I should know I’m an architect.
      Frank has a very good point when it comes to construction costs. There is a strange attitude to the design and construction of houses here. It seems that we don’t have the settler spirit at home and we dream of houses rooted in the landscape. Now they stand as permanent monuments to the folly of our delusions.

• Sorry John probaly should have said in peoples preception it is.

• That’s exactly it Norman! We could have a great country here if we didn’t mess it up ourselves.

• As an observer…. I agree… The attitude of the Irish relating to a home is interesting… It appears that the average Irish person frowns at a timber built home or living in an apartment. Furthermore, the thought of renting is taboo! I understand that years of occupation may have driven this attitude…. But Ireland hasn’t been occupied since 1912. This attitude isn’t relevant and productive to the present.

• The builder is the factor with timber framed. When the boom was on, builders wanted to get in and out as quick as they could. They didn’t care about finish or quality, they wanted their ball of cash. I wouldn’t trust an Irish builder to erect a timber frame house, with the proper sealing, etc. a kinda important thing to have in the Irish climate.

• There is a difference between median household income and the average wage. A high percentage of households have two incomes. This percentage has probably fallen in recent years as unemploymentbhas risen.

In the decades preceeding the boom and before bank and building society deregulation, it was commonplace for first time buyers to provide, through personal savings, a deposit of 10% to 15% of purchase price. Back in the eighties we reckoned that average house prices should be in the region of 4.5 to 5 times average annual wages. This was arrived at by multiplying the average wage 4 and about another 1 to allow for equity or cash deposit. Bear in mind that in those days, prior to the 1991 interest rate shock, mortgage rates were around 5-6%.

If that logic were to apply today we would expect the average house price to be in the region of €175,000. Not far to go.

• Peter.
      In the early eighty’s ones mortgage was not to exceed 2.5 – 3 times annual income and general interest rates ran between 16 – 18%!

• Thanks John,my memory failed me. In Ireland Building society rates ranged from 10.5% to 16.5% in that period and were only slightly better in the UK where i was living at the time.

However my point remains, standard multiples were indeed 3 times one income or twice joint incomes. These multiples directly affected the value of first time buyer properties. Second and subsequent home buyer prices were driven by the aforesaid multiples plus the transfer of equity from the sold property and as you know first time buyers make up minority of transactions.

• Indeed Peter. And another little trip down memory lane! In the 80′s Local Authority mortgages ran at 20% for those in the lower income bracket who were required to provide written notice from a Building Society that they had been refused a commercial mortgage. Make sense of that!

• Debi, the thought of payng off a mortgage and using the eventual money to fund an extended holiday or leaving an heritance is a grand. However, not everyone are in a financial position to do this…. I can think of various reasons. One being under employment or being underpaid… Where saving for a down payment for a house is very difficult. So the only thing left is to save fore ones retirement, help your kids out when ever you can and pray that country will develop programs and housing for senior living.

• @Debbie

Yes.
      Certainly.
      That’s the way I should work.

But one (or many) stroke(s) of a pen (by an idiot bureaucrat) during your 20-40 year period of your home ”ownership” and
      your home turns into a millstone around your neck,bleeding you of all your cash (that the government perceives that you have)

• @Marlon, I see your point, I for one rent and don’t own a home, just far to expensive and I am unable to get a mortgage from the bank at the moment. Though in time I would like to own my own property eventually. I don’t see why I should continue to pay someone else’s mortgage when I can be paying my own.

• @Marlon.. I also agree that the government should look at retirement homes and programmes for Senior Citizens, considering we are all heading in the same direction. :)

• Junk article based on no data. No one bloody knows what the house prices are currently because:

A) They are not published anywhere. Stupid FF passed laws means selling prices are private. You only know asking prices. Totally different thing.

B) Not enough transactions. Market is stalled. Cannot base any conclusions on ludicrously low sample size.

Totally fed up with conjecture based on nothing but hot air!

• P Wurpel
      The dogs in the street know that house prices have fallen by 40 – 50%. We don’t need to have a government agency to provide us with statistics (massaged to their own ends) to prove that. You are correct to point out that only asking prices are available to assess the market and also correct to point out that the market has stalled. In that case I think it would be fair to (I know) assume that the arse has fell out of the housing market and the authors point is valid and timely.

• What are you on about. 45,000 transactions last year is not a small sample size. The price of individual house sales is not available but averages house prices are available,

• There were less than 18,000 mortgages drawn down in 2010 (Cso). The figure of 45,000 in 2011 is either incorrct (as CSO has not published 2011 yet), or massively slanted towards cash buyers, in which case the articles assumptions are off in the first place. The devil really is in the detail here.

You may think there is some value in knowing what the ‘average price’ of a house is, when they range from a shed to a castle, from dublin 4 to sneem, with everything in between, i really don’t think it is anywhere near as simple as that, and basing far reaching conclusions on fairly wobbly wide ranging data is just pointless.

• Ah now P! The devil is not in the detail there is none. As you rightly said the FFers made sure of that.
      In any case if the voting population (electorate) were to depend on the publication of government data regarding the current position re the market value of housing they would be as ill informed on that as on the other matters they lied about. My dog tells me to listen to none ‘cept him and at this moment he’s got my full attention!

• Generally people view owning a house as an ‘asset’. However, whilst this may often be true in terms of peace of mind and security, it is less so from a financial perspective. Assets in this context are items which generate a positive return. Even if someone owned their home mortgage free, there are consistent costs associated with home ownership (insurance, utility bills, upkeep, new household charge etc etc), which are a drain on financial resources. In that context it can reasonably be argued that owning your home is a liability, and not an asset. When viewed from this perspective, the option of long term renting – which is the norm in Germany and other central European countries – versus ownership becomes a much more compelling prospect.

• In Germany/France there are stronger rental laws governing long term renters, there are higher obligations to both the renter and the landlord and there are heavier property taxes dampening private home ownership.
      I do agree that who really benefits from the asset? In most cases your Will benefactors, the government in taxes aimed at getting their share and for a brief period after retirement the owner (which will now be much later even if nature is not extending the same courtesy to allow us to stay alive longer) and estate agents. The bank has gained at shared out the profit to shareholders and some low corporate taxes.
      I would agree that it would be unusual to see any family live all their life in Ireland in an apartment depending on the family size but apartments are also made bigger in Germany with more space around (not just a field) for kids to grow up in and more facilities as standard plus built to last.

• They Are Worth F@cking Nothing Anyway Thanks To The Ever Increasing Incoming Taxes,Charges And Upkeep Etc

How Can They Fall Anymore???

• You’d want to be mad to buy a massively depreciating asset in a failed state. Why? You can rent for a fraction and stash the rest away for a new life in a functioning society. Anyone still making mortgage repayments who bought in the last decade is a fool.

Add New Comment