TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 14 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

Column: I work in a bank – and you’ve got us all wrong

Yes, banks housed deceitful, corrupt fat cats – but it was the rest of us who got the blame, writes bank worker Patrick Ryan.

Image: m.prinke via Flickr

I’M NOT A historian or an economist. I’m not even a banker. But I do work in a bank. And guess what? My colleagues and I – we’re not all bad.

It seems the Armchair Dissenters were out in force on thejournal.ie again last week, barracking poor Alice Burke from the bleachers.  Her crime? Asking why Irish people are so darned apathetic. (Considering everything that’s going on – a timely question, no?)  If there’s one thing that sets my phasers to LOL it is snipers taking cowardly pot-shots from the long grass at those willing to take a stand for some cause or other: “Pull her down quick,” they say, “before she tells us something we don’t want to hear”.

Now I don’t know Alice Burke from Adam but I was delighted when, quite ironically, her column elicited a chorus of bellowing responses from the outraged ADs. ‘Who the hell do you think you are Alice Burke?’ they snorted, ‘to tell us what we’re really like. And from Cambodia too’, unwittingly proving Alice’s point succinctly: they’ll huff and they’ll puff and they’ll… probably just go back to watching X-Factor and eating dinner.

The ADs managed to drag themselves onto their laptops a few weeks ago too when the horrifying news broke that AIB staff were in line to receive ‘promotions and salary increases’. Howls of derision greeted the burgeoning reality that AIB was – shock – ‘still hiring new staff’, – gasp – ‘promoting existing workers’ and – horror – ‘raising salaries by ‘as much as 15 per cent’. “Makes me hate the banks even more” came one response: “This is revolting” came another.

‘A seedy, smoky cadre of elderly men’

One AD even suggested that “people should take out there [sic] deposits so there is a run on the banks in question…. Well I for one have lived and worked through a run on one bank. And let me tell you: it’s not a pleasant experience for anyone concerned. Especially for the staff.

The image I used to get when I heard the word ‘banker’ was that of a seedy, smoky cadre of elderly men, stuck in their old ways, unwilling to adapt to change, uncaring for their communities – who held incestuous ties between government and business – linking corrupt, inept officials with ruthless, captains of commerce: they were the people whose lobbying and interfering could affect government policy, tax and budgetary positions and whose world was characterised by insatiable greed and the accumulation of obscene wealth to the detriment of all other considerations.

Every now and then, these elderly doyens would be joined by a Gordon Gecko type character who symbolised a younger, even more ruthless and ambitious brand of capitalism – the personification of everything that was wrong about the modern developed world.

When I started working in Human Resources in a series of financial institutions in the mid 2000s, this older, traditional ‘cigars & brandy’ image of the banker was soon joined by another: the legions of young, uber-confident and ambitious college-educated twenty-somethings who joined the banking rat-race (and it really was a rat race, with everyone scrambling onto and up the career ladder as fast as they could) straight from business school.

‘The eager pretenders to the banking throne’

These kids were the eager pretenders to the banking throne – flashy but, alas, generally tasteless, sporting ill-fitting suits and high expectations, lavishing their spending on gaudy and kitsch wardrobes and apartments, their egos swinging from their huge credit card limits and spurred on, incessantly, by the utter madness of the spiralling bonus and reward system.

These kids were as duped by the system they worked for as much as anybody else who bought into it. These were the Bud Fox characters of Dublin and they were making more money than seemed natural: if you’ve seen Oliver Stone’s Wall Street (1987), you’ll know who I’m talking about.

Not one of these people, however – from Cigars and Brandy down to Bud Fox – would have ever stepped foot inside a bank branch.  They were bankers, yes, but bankers don’t work in banks. They work in discreet, air-conditioned offices, spending their days looking at arrays of screens with words such as ‘Bloomberg’ written on them.  They would rarely if ever have even set foot in a bank branch and they certainly don’t act as ‘tellers’ or ‘cashiers’ or ‘customer service agents’. They are not Bank Managers (although in times gone past they may have been).

They don’t answer phones or deal with customers (unless you’re a trader) and it’s unlikely that you’ll have ever even spoken to one; nor would you know where their nondescript offices are, or what their salaries or bonuses are like. Bankers don’t really exist in as far as say a Garda or a teacher does. They are essentially invisible.

There is a whole other world – a parallel universe – that exists side by side to yours and mine, wherein the bankers roam. It is populated by quiet leafy tree-lined avenues, expensive cars (often chauffeur driven), expensive lunches, private elevators, private clubs, private dinners and private parties. They are some of the ‘one per cent’ identified by the Occupy protests. And in their world, it makes absolutely no difference how anybody else is doing as long as the investments they make, make them money.

‘It became taboo to be associated in any way with banks’

Somewhere along the way, however, particularly after things started to go wrong and the bottom fell out of the economy and country, this rather distinct breed of banker became increasingly confused in our media and in our national discussions with another group of unsuspecting workers: bank staff.

It was now becoming taboo to be associated in any way with banks and banking and most of my colleagues in commercial banking (your local AIB or BOI for example) would intentionally lie about who they worked for or what their job was.  Not because there was anything wrong per se with what they did Monday-Friday, 9-5. But, rather, because they were afraid of being tarred with the same brush as those who were responsible for driving the car crash of our economy – Investment Bankers.

By working for BOI or AIB or PTSB, you were immediately placed in the same boat by the uninitiated as those traders and investors whose gambles didn’t pay off. And it wasn’t only awkward dinner party conversations that people tried to avoid. At work too, customers began to vent their ire in a very real and spiteful way – and quite justifiably too, it seemed.

But the problem for these customers was the ‘banker’ on the end of the phone or whose forced smiles greeted them at the bank counter were not the people to blame for the mess.  Those people and their masters are long gone, their dealings hushed up by Complicit Officialdom, their crimes not pursued by the DPP.

No, those left holding the keys were the average bank branch employees, the ones who will start their career earning anything from €18-20k.  Those whose bonuses – if they hung around for at least 12 months in the job – rarely  if ever exceeded 10-15 per cent (so after tax they still wouldn’t bring home anywhere near the average industrial wage).

‘One colleague was kicked in the shins’

The ones who will invariably find themselves on a fixed-point salary scale which means barring the occasional promotion (officially extinct by all accounts since 2007), they will know exactly what they will earn in five, ten, 15 years time – in pitiful increments.

Those who – due to the evaporation of the jobs market – find themselves trapped performing mind-numbingly boring and repetitive tasks such as filing, administering accounts, processing payments and looking at spreadsheets of other people’s money – all day long. These are the people who – like me and many of my current co-workers – had simply gone to work each morning, genuinely unaware of what was lying in wait: what we now know to have been the quite unbelievable layers of conceit, deceit and corruption that were simmering just below the surface façade of pretty much every bank and financial institution in the western world.

These are also the people who have been instructed from on high to sell sell sell. And loan loan loan. Not to mention dealing with, at times, serious personal abuse from irate and irrational customers. (I recall one incident during a particularly busy period, where a colleague was kicked in the shins by a customer who simply couldn’t wait any longer to be seen).

So my question to the assembled masses is this: Is this (by which I mean snivelling dissent) really all we can come up with as a nation? Does anyone care – even a little bit more – about what is going on here? Well, the very fact that our courageous ADs are getting all hot and bothered over these matters of such colossal irrelevance says quite a lot really about how misguided our society has become.

If any of you mud-slingers are still reading this, may I suggest reading slowly, the embarrassingly courageous piece from Anne Burke (no relation to Alice) from a few weeks ago. And by all means go mad about that.

Or how about trying something constructive about it for a change?

Glass-Steagall anyone? Anyone?*

*a law that established the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC) in the United States and introduced banking reforms, some of which were designed to control speculation.

Patrick Ryan works for a high street bank. His name has been changed.

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (70 Comments)

• Titus d 28/11/11 #

“I’m as mad as hell, and I’m not going to take this anymore”

• Like it or not, there is a lot of anger out there, and a surprising amount of people – the vocal ones- don’t care they are attacking the wrong people. You work in a bank so therefore you are a banker. And that means you are a leech and deserving of abuse. Once upon a time I would have had the same reaction as other posters and thought the author was whining, but as a public servant I have unfortunately had ample opportunity to find out that people don’t care if they are attacking the right target. I have had to listen to abuse of strangers on several occasion, in social settings, and no, alcohol wasn’t involved – funnily enough by people who when challenged by me turned out to earn a lot more than I ever will. Most of my colleagues have the same stories. So if you are thinking that he’s boring and self pitying, good for you . It probably means you haven’t had to listen to abuse just because of where you are working.

• To listen to some folks here you’d think they had won a pulitzer prize or were literary critics, they certainly believe thay are. Give the lad a break, he just tried to say what it’s like from his side of the fence, a point of view nothing more, he never claimed to have written a brilliant novel. What he said has a point, we do tend to class everyone who works in a bank as “a Banker”, and this is of course wrong, who we are referring to are the people we will never see or meet. I imagine the reason he chose to remain anonymous is that if he were to say what he just did openly his employers would take a dim view of it and thus his job, bad as it may be, would be in jeopardy. Why are there those who, when some folks say how badly they’re paid, feel the need to humilitate them further by saying how he should be grateful to have a job? Bad pay and conditions are unacceptable regardless of how many people are unemployed, if he said he had only one leg would the same people reply ” he should be lucky to have one, there’s plenty of people with no legs”?
    We’re increasingly seeing the wrong people, those who face the public, tanking the brunt of the national anger and this is an example of that. We all feel angry at the banks, many feel the need to express that but a banks staff had no hand in getting us to where we are now. By the same token, many people are angry at hospital waiting lists, paitents on trollies and the general disaster that we call our Health Service and so take it out on the wrong ones, nurses, doctors and the like. We’re all human at the end of the day.

• I think it I a point well made, customer facing people working in retail banking are taking the brunt of people’s anger with what has been done to us again and without legal change will happen again and again, yes, Glass-Seagall was repealed in 1999, after being put in place to stop investment bankers speculating with retail customer’s money. Separation o the types of banks would be a good start, that way our deposits (not that I have any!) are safe and not used to justify bailouts of commercial and investment bankers greedy and irresponsible gambling.

• I’m a little taken back, but in no way surprised, by the hostility shown towards someone who has said something I’ve been thinking for a while. Although the article does have sense of woe is me about it I do think some of the comments here are quite unjust.

I work for a bank but I didn’t make any decisions that caused anyone to lose their job nor did I recklessly lend to the general public. I work in a office rather than a branch however in my capacity I do get to hear of the horror stories branch staff can (not always) be subjected to. I’ve heard of my colleagues being spat at, threats to the point of Garda intervention and even in once case where dog faeces was put on the counter. This kind of behaviour is completely unacceptable not matter what the profession the other person is in. Of course this doesn’t happen all the time but I wanted to balance this debate; it’s not just profanities bank staff are subjected to.

I would like to ask all those who think its “okay” to abuse bank staff because we’re part of the organisation that lead us to where we are. Do you feel the same way about all the builders that worked for Thomas McFeely when the Priory Hall complex was constructed? Surely we can hold them someway accountable too? Or what about all the unemployed tradesmen that now must claim social welfare but also do a few undeclared “cash in hand” jobs when they come around? If we’re going to start throwing dirt we might as well try and find out who all these people who kept FF in government for so many years are too. Surely we can hold them accountable for something…

The country is the way that it is because of greed. I don’t subscribe to the claims that its all the banks fault as they “threw” money at people. Yes there was reckless lending but why did people take it? Greed. During the boom a belief that we should be living a life far more extravagant than our incomes allowed arose. A second investment property became a common theme; everyone wanted to make money on the property ladder. I often wonder if the people who state how hard life has become for them have a 42inch flat screen TV on the wall or an iPhone in their pocket.

I have a job and yes it’s for the bank. I feel awful for the people who have lost their jobs and am truly sadden by the stories I hear. This recession has destroyed families and taken lives. But what do I do? I thank God I’m lucky enough to have a job and work hard to do whatever I can to help fix the situation. My taxes, as do my colleagues taxes, go towards paying off the debts of this country (Believe it or not bankers are taxpayers too) while the rest of my salary goes towards paying off the negative equity I’ve also found myself lumbered with (and I’ll point out my salary is not even close the countries average yearly income). The abuse I get (from some) for working in a bank is just a bonus.

I really don’t care who’s fault it is anymore and stamping my feet isn’t going to make my debt go away. I just want to get this country moving again and I can honestly say that if there was an option to pay more tax to help speed up our recovery I actually just might…

• john you summed up this arguement very well in this paragraph

The country is the way that it is because of greed. I don’t subscribe to the claims that its all the banks fault as they “threw” money at people. Yes there was reckless lending but why did people take it? Greed. During the boom a belief that we should be living a life far more extravagant than our incomes allowed arose. A second investment property became a common theme; everyone wanted to make money on the property ladder. I often wonder if the people who state how hard life has become for them have a 42inch flat screen TV on the wall or an iPhone in their pocket.

• Hear, hear! You can’t tar all bankers / bank staff with the same brush. You’d swear we shouldn’t be allowed to sleep soundly at night.

• The term ‘bankers’ is misused.. but most can differentiate between the tellers & the upper management.
      You’ll get idiots who can’t obviously, but it’s hardly worth a boring article.

• He/She writes of the cowardly commenters on the journal yet uses an assumed name as a sign off. Laughable if not so pathetic. Prior to the banking collapse the ‘teller classes’ were just as dismissive and rude as thier ruling ‘masters’. Most people have no issue with the teller re the collapse, it was your attitude to the customer and the ‘power trip’ many of ye exercised over the working customer that p’d us off. I am generalising of course, but the article is based on many generalised customer attitudes.

• Think most people recognise the difference between frontline staff and the investment arms, at whose doors much of the blame for the current disaster obviously lies.

BUT, I’ve heard enough stories of people whose mortgages have gotten into arrears being treated absolutely shamefully by branch staff for it to be more than simply a case of isolated individuals lacking in tact. There seems to be a definite pattern of abusive behaviour towards these people – it may still involve senior staff in particular branches only, but it’s still an utter disgrace.

• I love the 2nd paragraph about the armchair decenters. Its very applicable to a lot of what the begrudges of the Irish journal society has to offer these days.

• Greedy developers, site labourers should have said something. They’re as much to blame! As for crooked politicians, don’t get me started on the voters – why didn’t you stop the madness? This is the same logic as blaming a teller in a bank in Longford for the greed of idiots at top of the Banks.

• Wow! The author takes a long time to say very little in this piece. In summary, your job is boring, you get abuse from customers and you were only doing what you were told to do by your bosses. Sounds like every job I’ve ever had.

Why the need for this column?

• I agree. Piggy-backing of the Alice Burke column is also pathetic.
      I’m bored. It’s uninteresting & uninspiring humdrum.

• The need for the column is that he’s getting abuse for his job, did u not read it?

• Well said jimbob, or he could of taken quote from bart simpson and simply have said “i didn’t do it”

• So the use of foul language results in a weakened point, in your opinion?

Bullshit, in mine. I’m on a mobile at the moment, so I’ll respond later on with a lenghtier message, but I feel that the post is well(ish) written, with a touch too much poor-me.
      I definitely feel the points raised need to be stated though.

Everyone here is *far* too quick to judge, without providing justification or reasonable explanation.

• You didn’t make any point, just resorted to casual swearing, that’s the point.

I didn’t “judge” the author. I’m pretty sure everybody with half a brain is able to differentiate between investment bankers and tellers or other front line bank staff. I’ve generally always found them affable and courteous when I need to go to my local bank branch.

People use the term bankers as shorthand for those higher ups that dictated policy. I don’t know how any reasonable person could think that a teller in your local bank branch caused the recession. This whole article seems to be based on the premise that everybody in the country is going around blaming your local teller for the mess the country is in. Its just plain ridiculous.

• And we’re all a bunch of cranks. So he won’t appreciate any Armchair Dissenters responding I’d imagine?

This particular one won’t bother, then.

• Ahem, the state of the Irish banking system is not due to the use or abuse of the sophisticated financial instruments used by ‘investment bankers’.
    It comes down to blind incompetence on the part of regular retail banks such as your employer, i.e. shoveling cheap money to people who could not pay it back.

• How did your colleague get kicked on the shins? any bank I go into the staff are behind counters and by the way I am not knocking you.It was the people at the top who were responsible for most of the mess but a lot of arrogance was being shown by those people who were behind the counters as well in the good old days

• Gotta love how people feel it’s up to every article here to be super stimulating. ‘It’s boring’. Christ. I love this country of rabid de-constructionists and professional critics (the ‘demolition crew’ as a friend of mine likes to call them – you know them by their abundance of opinion and lack of creativity of their own).

Maybe boring ‘equates’ with ‘subtle’ or ‘information-rich’? Just a theory. At least stfu and go write something of your own. Or go watch Saw part 16 or something for the adrenaline fix you need.

This person has the right to offer their perspective. Some people just have a hard-on for putting things down I guess. Sad way to be.

• Good piece.

Glad to hear you spoke to the genuine corruption. And Glass-Steagall – an absolutely KEY factor. De-regulation was really the beginning of most of the problem (though the 1% were moving in that direction since forever, it finally gave them cart blanche to treat the commercial world as their personal casino).

Most people know something is horribly wrong, but not everyone has the discrimination of mind to hone it in. And of course, we all want to make someone pay. There’s comfort in having a group of scapegoats to dehumanize.

What’s most obvious about the people that work in the bank where I have my account is that they are decent human beings. They all have warmth and humour that anyone would have. They are not the problem – they’re just employees doing a job.

…However, it would be nice to see more bank employees taking a stand against the decisions being made from the top down. Ye are not responsible for the decisions the 1% make, ye didn’t make them, but ye are not altogether removed from them either, being cogs in the machine they own, and facilitators of their plans. Then again, that line isn’t 100% clear, as the bastards seem to own almost everything they can get their hands on these days, and more and more by the day, as it is totally rigged to keep going that way.

I think it’s on everyone to wake up to what’s going on at the root of Occupy’s grievance. We are all embedded in it, and it in us. Even the dopey Tea Partiers know something is badly wrong, but they have been so duped by their charismatic (?) public figures they think are protecting their interests (with strong, right wing messages of seeming strength, and down-home straight-talkin doublethink) that they can’t see how entangled the banks and governments really are when the chips are down.

I can identify strongly with the feeling behind the article though… I remember working in two call centres. One was pretty good ethically speaking (customer service) and the second was an abomination (cold-calling, selling shite – I lasted about 3 hours in that one), but I occasionally, even in the first one, I had to toe the line in issues where both I and the customer knew there was something horribly wrong, and they were being mistreated. And you just have to take the emotional impact of it, and digest it. It’s not something I enjoyed. It doesn’t feel good to be on the front line taking that stuff when the problem is higher up the chain of command.

• On that I totally agree..
      All the customer facing staff are just that, they don’t even matter to the bank management.. They’re just peons in their eyes, replaceable..

I worked in a certain call centre where I had the same experience as you, as hard as I tried while working there to resolve the problem, the people higher up didn’t care.. There were regulations but they didn’t respect them (and this was a rather large company).. I took the abuse from rightfully annoyed customers knowing that I was doing all I could to sort it out, but I could have just been saying that – I could appreciate their mistrust..
      I have a friend working in a bank at present who has pointed out several issues which are affecting customers and contrary to regulations, the thanks she has gotten for it is tantamount to workplace bullying..

Not everyone who works in a bank is a bad person.. The ones you deal with regularly are just like you and I, they have no more say on what goes on there than we do (some of the managers are just incompetent fools, but that was a common theme in Irish companies during the boom)

• It says a lot about a company that treats both its staff and customers as human beings rather than sacrificing the staff to the holy, holy customer. Sometimes the customer is wrong, and you need to tell them to fuck off, in so many words.

Yeah, it’s amazing how it can go to a managers head that they get to wear a Penny’s suit and walk around with a barcode scanner or clipboard while everyone else is still blue collar. Such a f#cking myth of false celebrity. Seen it loads of times.

I’ve experienced a few companies that do that (treat their staff really well). They tend to thrive. The others are going continually against the grain, and will continue to struggle and suppress. It takes a lot of effort to be a bully, and to get people to produce begrudgingly through veiled threats. Working under maniacs like that in Dunnes when I was a kid taught me some really formative lessons.

I like the Alex Grey vision crystal avatar btw. Are you a yoga/meditation fanatic?

• Thank you, I am a big Alex Grey fan.. Don’t do yoga – but I tried it and it was great :)

• ~I don’t do yoga either. For some reason I read ‘Shanti Om’ and thought ‘yoga’. Me, I’m into Ken Wilber (read the shit out of his stuff in my early 20′s), and do what you could roughly call Integral Life Practice. Not in a very disciplined way, but enough that it pays off.

• They’re both symbols for peace.. Inner and Complete. Yoga is a fair assumption, as their origins are around Ayurveda, the Chakra System etc..

A pleasure to meet you Gearoid :)

• You too, bud :)

I’m on FB if you want to friend me.

• I don’t swallow the contention that it was ‘bankers’ in ‘discreet air conditioned offices’ that are/were solely responsible for the mess.

The mad scramble by very ‘in your face’ front-line bank branch managers to get 100% mortgages and other loans saddled onto people without a snowballs hope in hell of every being able to repay was obscene and driven by greed for commission.

I can’t wait for the day when the doctored paperwork that was so hastily accepted in the rush to get these loans closed is put before the scrutiny of the courts when the banks are applying for orders for repression.

And another thing. It is not the faceless ‘bankers’ that threaten and intimidate defaulters.

This piece is rubbish.

• A worthless anonymous piece of garbage!

• I agree…..it wasn’t a suited banker in an office that tried to shove a €340k mortgage down my throat in 4 different banks when I was only looking for €235k. Thank Jeebis I stuck to all I needed. Also if anyone has had to deal with a bank recently would be amazed at the amount of lies the frontline are telling customers( They may be under instruction, but they are still lying). Examples:

>>Sorry sir we can not stop direct debits from your account. Yet 4 weeks later, Sir if you do not clear your over draft we will have to cancel your over drafts
      >>We will call you back shortly- Told this many times
      >> We really want to assist you with your debt problems, but you will need to clear our banks debts first

We all need banks, but we need them to be efficient and helpful with how we deal with our money. You go to a bank now and they will barely lodge a cheque, and I know of some instances where they have refused to lodge perfectly good cheques because it wasn’t issued by their bank.

• sheet…I meant cancel all you direct debits

• Derek – Before you start slating the banks regarding Direct Debits I suggest you visit the Irish Payment Services Organisations website, http://www.ipso.ie/section/DirectDebits , and read up on the scheme’s rules. Banks don’t just say no without reason; they’re regulation entities.

• It is the experience of many in this country that the banks will do and say as they wish including front line bank staff. How do you regulate my word against theirs? On the other hand I have a copy of the letter requesting the cancellation which they ignored.

• Have you not considered for one moment that people might be upset, that while your institutions have damned this country to hell and many to the dole queue, how many persons working in banks have suffered the same fate??? Sweet FA……..and why shouldn’t the people of Ireland be upset that while everyone else is either loosing jobs those in the banks have been protected and even rewarded over the last 4 years. Get a grip on yourself and keep your head down or it will be taken off…..metaphorically speaking!! Count yourself lucky and stop rubbing salt!

• I’m not sure the 2000 or so staff in AIB being made redundant would agree with you on that one

• When did this crisis start?….what year is it now? They certainly had loads of time to save up. Many lost their jobs long before anyone in the institutions responsible for this did, so they can disagree all they like the facts are those 2000 jobs and many more should have gone long ago, so they should count themselves lucky! They have escape the first 4 years of the crisis unlike others.

• So that’s your advice: start saving up to be made redundant from your job? You know how long the country has been in trouble, so why are you surprised to learn you’re losing your job? You’re all heart, aren’tcha? If I end up having to lay off my staff, I wonder whether I’d get away with that line… But of course you meanthat it’s fine for bank workers to be laid off, willy-nilly. Yeah, put a couple of thousand extra people out there competing for the same tiny pool of available jobs. You sound like a Government minister!

• Thats not advice Cecily…..I’m stating that while thousands of others in the country lost their jobs those who were part of the institutions that ruined the country and are now paid for by the public have survived 4yrs with out cuts. Most other businesses consolidated their businesses by cutting costs in many ways including redundancies because thats the way you survive, but the banks seem to have been cushioned from having to make the necessary cuts long ago. Its totally reasonable that these institutions are slimmed down and redundancies happen after all it is the taxpayer paying their inflated wages, so we should expect far more for less since no cuts have happend since 2007.

• But bank workers DID take pay cuts, there ARE ongoing redundancies. I know that many people prefer not to recognise that the rank-and-file counter workers are really not the people who got us into this mess, but their outrageously-paid “superiors” (that goes for the public service too). And yet we automatically shout “off with their heads,” like it’s in some way constructive. Throwing these people on the dole won’t punish the mandarins – but you can bet it’ll make life harder for those of us who have to deal with banks. And for those already scavenging for the handful of jobs out there, they will end up having to compete with a couple of thousand extra job-seekers, many of them highly qualified. I really think we need a more constructive and considered approach to things.

• Cecily, if there have been job losses and cuts then either one of things has occured, a) these have been poorly reported or b) the amount of losses and cuts were insignificant.
      As for punishing people, I know many of the bank workers were not directly responsible for our current woes, but I don’t believe the institutions which the public have baled out have taken the kind of cost cutting measures a normal business has had to take over the last few years. It is way past time that all the banks which were bailed out cut hard and fast, and that those who remain work harder for less, because that the way its gone for most everyone else in the private sector, bar those maybe in companies making good profits. As for them being on the dole well they’re just facing the reality that 450k in this country are experiencing already and since they’re paid by the public purse now its cheaper than paying them to be in jobs which are not now necessary.

• maybe we owe u an apology and its not people who work in banks that are responsible for the banking crisis, and if by chance u got promoted in ur job as a banker u might not become a fat cat banker because ur nice

• This article, coupled with the responses both positive and negative, remind me exactly why I dislike this country and a percentage of the people in it. Moan, gripe, begrudge, finger point and whine away your troubles because everyone else is to blame.

• you complain about going to work and look at spread sheets all day, and how every one in the banks are treated like dirt,
    well I have news for you get over it because there is a lot of people who live on beans and toast, who never worked in banks but who now are paying the price of poorly run banks.
    did YOU tell these fat cats who were running these banks “that person cannot afford that loan ” or ” that person is over extented on there loans” well if you did nothing stop crying like a five year old in a play ground why don’t to go over and tell the teacher that some one in the yard is name calling.
    when you were making small talk over coffee did anyone say ” god I can’t belive that person got more money, because it seems that everyone outside the banks were saying it.
    what you don’t get is people are living on nothing or next to nothing, a friend of mine have ?180 per week to feed and cloth himself and his six year old child with no hope of things changing.
    I hope this message let you know what people are thinking, so keep your head down and keep going !!!.

• Get those red thumbs ready ladies and gents.

I work in a Bank (in one of those air-conditioned offices actually) and I wouldn’t be too “ashamed to say it to people at all. I’ve rarely had any issues and anytime I have had it tends to be of the “f**k bankers, like” variety. The fact is I like my work, I like working with Clients and I like money, end of really.

One little point on the article by the way, he’s wrong about us not answering phones, I spend half my day talking to Clients.

• Cheers dappydishrockery. Thanks for sharing. i love money and long walks, i spend all day on a phone too.thanks for sharing. When i was younger, i use to lie on my parents couch with popcorn and a litre of orange juice watching dvds, thanks for sharing….no point to make,just sharing ;-)

• There’s nothing wrong with any of that DashRiprock, in my opinion. Money itself, and people like you who like working with it are not the problem. If you like your work, then more power to you.

It’s the element of corruption that’s taken advantage of it that is the issue.

My favourite theorist, Ken Wilber, talks about something he calls the ‘pre-trans fallacy’ which I think is useful here. Taking human development in a very simple way of three stages – pre-conventional, conventional and post-conventional. Money and commerce (and most modern societal structures) are ‘conventional’. The protesters are sandwiched developmentally on either side of it. Some are pre-conventional anarchists. The demolition crew. F#ck the system and all that. Tear it all down.

Some are trans-conventional. The system may not be perfect, but it is not ‘wrong’. My view is that it’s in process, and that money and things like that are useful ways to run the world, and better than what came before. We don’t need to tear down the system so much as refine it – remove unhealthy elements that lack integrity. I try to be on the ‘trans’ side, and am tired of anarchists being glorified and posing as transcendent.

Most of the solutions to our planetary problems on all fronts (economic problems, starvation, wars, climate change) demand that kind of awareness in my opinion. A kind of awareness that transcends and includes rather than merely rejects. I see an element of that in Occupy, though I have no idea what ratio it is. And I hope it is the element that ends up steering it to some significant degree.

• ah it’s nice to share, Diarmuid :) Did you prefer buttered or salted popcorn? I prefer buttered personally but I understand why some people like the salted. Toffee popcorn, that’s nice too but a bit pricey although tesco do good deals on it occasionally. Orange juice is lovely too, as are DVDs and probably your parent’s couch (leather or suede?).

I guess the point I was trying to make (and I don’t really see why I need one as half the comments on this website are people just pissing and moaning with no real point) is that everyone loves a Big Bad they can all blame and bankers are that at the moment but the vast majority are just average people doing average jobs for average pay, not dreaming up the get-rich-quick scheme or next way to suck the taxpayer dry.

• hey at least you have a job. not like thousands who’ve lost theirs partly due to the greed and stupidity of your masters.

• So the rule is, if you have a job, you have to suck up the abuse – no matter whether or not the abuser has a clue? In other words, indulge the national hobby of knee-jerk begrudgers. Sad.

• ah name calling. cheap and nasty. careful now!

In fairness the guy is going on about how his job is menial and it’s not his fault his employers blah blah. Fair enough. Find and replace ‘Bank’ for ‘arms dealer’ for all I care.

What his real gripe is: he used to be proud of where he worked and he isn’t now. In fact he’s ashamed.

• whatever. reported again.

ever read the three billy goats gruff?

• I 100% agree with every word. The “banks” ie those who are on the board of directors are to blame. I understand how banks pushed credit down people’s throats and some could not say no. Now these people are in trouble and blame the bank official. However the treatment the bank officials get is disgraceful – I’ve been there and witnessed a priest threaten to shot a colleag

• Jeasus we need to move on and sort out the mess we are in the he said she said shite aint gonna cut it

• Well Patrick Ryan or whoever you are here is a question for you… if you and your colleagues knew what was going on in the Banks was wrong which it was why did you all not band together and through your union speak out?? You didnt because you all were enjoying the perks of being a banker.. Lower interest rates on Loans and Mortgages subsidised gym fees etc You say its the man on the floor who is getting the abuse well haul out your manager who is hiding in the back afraid to meet his customers have some manners when we the customer comes into you with a problem that we need sorting dont look down your nose at us after all it was our money that kept the banks afloat and you lot in jobs Yes it is horrible that you get abuse but try wearing the shoes of the man or woman who are stressed and need help and advice in their time of need and are not getting it . There are two sides to every story and you seem to have forgotten the other side.

• I’m amazed at the way people think that if you work in a bank everything is hunky dory for you. You may be shocked to hear this but bankers also took out mortgages and loans that they now can’t afford. And get this, we also pay taxes too! So next time you walk in to a branch thinking I’m stressed and the staff should understand that consider this – The person you are speaking to could be in a similar financial situation with all the stresses it includes. The only difference is they work for the people they owe the money to and when you owe money to the people you work for you there is added “difficulties”. Your manager may be informed that you are in financial difficulty and requested to discuss it with you. Great yes? Now not only do you have to worry about your finances, you get to worry that your work place also knows about your business. Oh and here comes a screaming customer….

• Yes there are 2 sides to every story: If those who took out loans in the first instance paid them back then the banks wouldn’t be in such a bad state.

It’s up to the borrower whether they sign on the dotted line or not. When they take the loan then they accept the terms and conditions attached. I’m sick of the banks but I’m also fed up hearing people blame everyone but themselves for their troubles.

• Dear high street banker,
    I dont think your article worked . There is very little sympathy on the street for the “regular” bank worker because the public has to deal with the banker behind the counter.
    It was banking greed which caused such distress to so many people . How many bankers said to a person applying for a loan “you cannot afford this” …not likely because you were told to lend lend lend..
    If your bosses were bullying you why did nobody leave, go to the union and complain or just resign?
    Now we just find you inefficient and slow to do anything for anybody in trouble..
    So dont come looking for sympathy from the general public …

• i cannot come up with a suitable phrase to describe this ”mother of sorrows, woe is me, piece of poor mouth bullshit”……………… oh wait….. i just did!
    alias Patrick Ryan, a little bit of fact is needed here,
    WHETHER YOU LIKE IT OR NOT as a ”bank worker” you ARE part of the very institutions that wreaked financial ruin on so many in this country, thru ”COLLECTIVE” BAD LENDING within the financial sector , of which everybody benefited through tiered bonus structured designed to reward prospective lending to unsuitable candidates on the pretence that the property/land that is purchased would be increasing in value by the day,
    these bonus structures filtered down from the ”air conditioned offices on the tree lined boulevards” to the front line tellers,
    as a past business owner i have first hand dealings with a ”Joe soap teller” promoted to mortgage consultant who advised me to invest in this and buy that, and when asked on what grounding this advice was based (i use the word advice loosely) i was told……. ”if you don’t someone else will”…….. that was his sales pitch, i didn’t invest thank god, but many did, this man is now back behind the glass doing exactly what you are doing and passing the book with the age old cliche…”.i was only doin what i was told by my betters”……………. BULLSHIT!!!
    BUT
    i will say, that we all benefited from one way or the other, be it less tax in our wages or new cars or the 2nd or 3rd holiday a year for some……. and we voted Bertie and co back in in 2007……. we all need to take some responsibility, even if it is in hindsight

• That attempts to trade on the very courageous piece by Ann Burke. Disgraceful!

• well i think we all realise it’s the system that’s the problem. I worked in a bank for several years and I had targets to reach, my bonus would be paid out in the majority on how well i performed to those targets, if i performed badly then my job would be in jeopardy so the change needs to happen at the top. Incidentally I worked in the UK, don’t know what the story is with Irish banks, seems if you want a job anywhere other than Dublin, you better know someone…jobs for the lads me thinks.

Add New Comment