TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 7 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Column: Ireland is not a just society. The solidarity we need has been lost.

Why should bondholders come before our most vulnerable? Fr Peter McVerry asks whether a fair society is any more than a dream.

Fr Peter McVerry

I RECEIVED AN email recently from a lady who is living in private rented accommodation.

She had got a letter from the Community Welfare Officer informing her that her rent supplement was being reduced from €340a month to €250 a month. She was told to negotiate a rent reduction from her landlord, and if the landlord was not willing to reduce her rent, she had 13 weeks in which to find rented accommodation under €250 a month. She would not be allowed to pay the balance herself (even if she could have afforded it), but failure to find accommodation at the lower rate would result in her rent supplement being discontinued altogether.

Now, her rent supplement has already been reduced twice in recent years and she has already negotiated, with considerable difficulty, a reduction in rent with her landlord to compensate. She is very clear that her landlord will not reduce the rent any further. She has lived in this accommodation for five years and it has become her home. Since she got the letter, she has been looking around for cheaper accommodation in her neighbourhood, but cannot find any. The situation is causing her considerable mental stress. She is staring homelessness in the face.

Why would the Department of Social Protection take such a course of action? It is trying to save money by reducing the cost of renting. Since 40 per cent of rental accommodation is dependent on a rent supplement, they hope to force rents down, and cite some very disputable evidence that rents are currently above market rate. However, the consequences of this policy will, potentially, make hundreds of people homeless and condemn the rest to living in hovels that are unfit for human habitation.

Patrick is 38 and has been unemployed all his life. Recently the Department of Social Protection cut his jobseeker’s allowance by €44 because he failed to attend an interview at which his skills and qualifications would be reviewed, in an effort to assist him in finding work. He was being penalised for not making an effort to escape from unemployment. He confirms for many the stereotypical image of welfare spongers, too lazy to work, too comfortable on welfare.

‘Even if a job did exist, he has no hope of getting it’

There are 436,700 people in this country out of work, many of them third-level graduates, most of them with at least a Leaving Certificate. Patrick left school when he was 14. His literacy level is low. He has no skills or qualifications. He has a criminal record from his earlier years. He is on a methadone programme and has to attend his methadone clinic every day – which due to cutbacks is now only open during the daytime. Patrick’s chances of getting a job in the height of a recession are almost nil. Yet he is expected to keep looking for a job which, even if it did exist, he has no hope of getting, or he is punished for not doing so.

Supposing Patrick actually does look for work! He has a very low self-esteem. He feels that his life has always been a failure: he failed to finish school, he failed to learn to read and write properly, he ended up in prison, he failed to ever get a job. His few attempts to get a job inevitably end again in failure. All Patrick’s attempts to find a job are simply reinforcing his sense of failure. The Department of Social Protection, in its demand that Patrick keep looking for a job, are only damaging Patrick even further.

Patrick also suffers from depression. This is related to childhood traumas which have never healed. He often lies in bed for days on end, too depressed to get up. Now, even if he could get a job, no employer would keep him on.

Ironically, in all the years of the Celtic Tiger, when some unskilled jobs were available, especially in the construction industry, the Department of Social Protection never asked Patrick to attend an interview to see how they could help him to get employment! Patrick would have been delighted if someone could have helped him get a job. Now that there are few jobs available, and hundreds of thousands of well qualified people looking for them, Patrick is being pressurised to attend what will almost certainly be a useless interview.

‘Designed to punish people for being unemployed’

This crackdown on people who are unemployed is not primarily to help people get a job; it appears designed to punish people for being unemployed. Welfare payments are seen as a waste of valuable resources on people who are unproductive in the economy. The Government’s “Action Plan for Jobs” hopes, over the next five years, to reduce the number of people who are unemployed by 100,000. 436,700 people, at least, will be competing for those jobs or training places. Even if they all materialise – a huge “if” – there will still be 336,700 people unemployed.

It would actually make more sense if those who chose NOT to compete for those jobs, thus giving others a better chance of securing them, were to be rewarded for opting out, not punished! Why ask everyone to chase jobs when we know that more than three out of four cannot succeed?

Do those who make such policies understand the consequences of their policies, or do they simply not care? I believe the people who make such policies are usually good, caring, compassionate people who simply live in a totally different world, unaware of the real consequences of their decisions.

I look with anger at the different treatment of bondholders and homeless people. A political decision was made that unidentified – and apparently unidentifiable – bondholders had to be paid, no matter the cost. And so it happened. Why could we not have made a political decision to eliminate homelessness, or blighted housing estates, no matter the cost? It is not rocket science! The problem of homelessness is not so complicated that we cannot identify or find a solution. But politicians understand the world of finance and are comfortable in that world, whereas the world of homelessness is a different world, right beside us, amongst us, but light years apart.

‘Some already-wealthy people got even wealthier’

In 1996, when the Celtic Tiger was just beginning, there were 2,500 homeless people in Ireland; in 2008, when the Celtic Tiger was just ending, there were 5,000 homeless people in Ireland. During those years when our Government had more money that it knew what to do with, the number of homeless people doubled. Why? Basically, the escalating cost of housing pushed up the cost of renting; a flat that had cost £30 per week in 1996 would cost €130 per week in 2008. Some already wealthy people got even wealthier from building or investing in houses, while at the same time, and for the same reason, homeless people were priced out of the market into homelessness.

The stress caused to that lady on the rent supplement system, the pain that is imposed on so many ordinary people who had nothing to do with the economic crisis in which we find ourselves, while those wealthy bankers, developers and politicians who were primarily responsible for the crisis are largely untouchable, is just grossly unfair.

Today, to move into a new world, a world that promises a better life for all, and a real hope for a better future, we need a new war: a war on poverty, at home and abroad, and a war on climate change.

A war on poverty would create a demand for investment in producing basic needs for all, adequate housing, food, medicines, infrastructure, health and education. A war on climate change would create a demand for non fossil-fuelled transport, for clean energy, for public transport.

‘This solidarity no longer exists’

Such a war requires a solidarity that, unfortunately, no longer exists in Ireland, or indeed elsewhere; it was almost destroyed by the Celtic Tiger. It requires a sacrifice of self-interested short-term gains, which, on the national level, is willing to put future generations and the poor in first place, and, on the international level, is willing to dismantle barriers to free trade set up by rich countries to protect their own interests, to dismantle barriers to the free movement of labour with the same enthusiasm as they dismantled barriers to the free movement of capital.

We cannot build a new economic model on an old political model. A transformed economic model requires a transformed political model, a transformation of leadership: political leadership which does not bow to powerful vested interest groups, which does not seek their own good at the expense of the good of others; which is not self-serving but seeks to serve the common good; which gives rightful place to other values beyond mere economic growth, values such as solidarity, community, respect for the dignity of others.

And so I dream on. At the heart of a new economic and political model is the concept of solidarity. We will never eliminate homelessness and poverty in Irish society, or in our world, as long as we see homeless and poor people as outside objects in need of our compassion; we will only solve homelessness and poverty when we see homeless and poor people as part of ourselves, and we as part of them. We are one people and one community. Reaching out to those who are homeless, poor and marginalised is not an act of charity, it is a demand of justice.

A shared sense of solidarity, the solidarity that acknowledges the dignity of every human being, a solidarity that feels the pain of others as our pain, that sees the desires and hopes of others as our own desires and hopes is the fundamental requirement for building a more just society.

This is an extract from the TASC Annual Lecture given by Fr Peter McVerry on Thursday June 7. For more information, see the TASC website.

Fr Peter McVerry has been working with Dublin’s young homeless for more than 30 years. He now runs the Peter McVerry Trust, providing services to those who need help in breaking the cycle of homelessness, and to aid their move towards independent living.

Byline photo: Photocall Ireland.

Read next:

Comments (83 Comments)

• That article makes you sit up and wonder what sort of society we are. Rather than become worse, I don’t think we have moved on. Politicians and local authorities still see homelessness as a minor issue. How does Joe Public help?

…by the way, the chap standing in the photograph is one of the professional Roma beggars, not a genuinely homeless person. A serious clamp down on their handlers is required.

• The Roma focus by some is a distraction. Landlords rent at the market rate. In recent years the rent supplement scheme has kept this rare artificially high in some areas . A working man with a family will rent at what he can afford, a person on social welfare rents at the rate they were allowed without having to think of the cost to the taxpayer, so if the rate was 1000 for A 2 child family , that’s what they rented at , and that’s what the landlord sought ..as a minimum knowing the state would pay. While reducing rents is necessary there is no reason that it shouldn’t be achieved over time and with due regard to individual circumstances. In the regard Fr McVerry is spot on.

• Strongbow you really don’t understand the rent supplement scheme.

In 2008 the average rent for a small 1 bedroom in my area was €1100/1300. The cheapest being €1000 for a studio or bedsit (according to Daft.ie and myhometolet.ie)

The maximum permitted rent supplement for a couple with no children was €820.
      If you made an application with any more than €820 listed as the price of rent the CWO automatically rejected it.

Of that €820, the amount of rent supplement actually paid out was €90 per week total. That’s not even 50% of the rent covered, the rest is the recipients contribution (this specific example is of a disabled couple, sole income disability allowance, €204 per week at the time). The minimum claimant contribution has increased from €24 p/w to €30 p/w, but is always more.

If you would care to look here:
      http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/social_welfare/social_welfare_payments/supplementary_welfare_schemes/rent_supplement.html
      The current maximum permitted rent levels for each circumstance and county are listed. Also you will see the bit about minimum contributions and how these figures are the maximum that your rent may be – not how much the government will pay..

Do me a favour, try searching Daft using those figures as your guide.. And don’t forget to tick the “accepts rent allowance” box on the advanced search.. Can you find much??

• Without wanting to seem harsh, I have to question how Patrick is on Job seekers allowance in the first place. It seems he is not seeking a job or fit for/reliable enough for one until some of his personal issues are dealt with.Given that a job could help with his depression (and sense of worth), If he is always overlooked, I wonder has he ever partaken in any voluntary work, to prove to prospective employers that he has some level of self motivation. It would also make him feel part of something. Equally, knowing that depression hits hard on self motivation i wonder has Patrick ever been directed towards some form of voluntary/charitable work for these reasons.

Saying that I am obviously not condoning choices made re: bondholder garuntee’s

• @ Kevin Rourke: Do you think he is employable?

He might play a role as a customer in an economy but do you really think anybody will hire him?

As a citizen and a human being he has a right to exist and be recognised, but clearly the systems did not work for him or anybody else in that situation.

Is he at fault or is the system at fault.

You cannot hold people responsible if the system is crap. Change the system to ensure people come first in law.

• @LoyalIrish Citizen

At the moment it doesn’t sound like he is employable, and given how much a lot companies are struggling it would probably be unfair to ask them to take someone on out of the goodness of there heart.

I think we are asking the same question “Is he at fault or is the system at fault.” I suppose what i am trying to say is that the answer is both

• @Kevin Rourke: You are correct that It’s a very unanswered question whether the people are wrong or the system.

If the system has been wrong then how do we turn back time and undo the damage that has been done to the people?

• Often times we mislay valuable items. We put them to one side because they’re not needed and when they’re needed again we cannot find them. So it is with our sense of community. An item we should have treasured.
    Many claim that this most vital component of societal infrastructure was cast aside due to globalisation and the Celtic Tiger, but in truth it’s value had begun to diminish even before that.
    Community can still be found in rural and isolated communities. Not out of a sense of tradition or because these communities are backward an stuck in the fifties, but because it’s needed and hasn’t been set to one side and become irrelevant.
    Modernity meant community was no longer required. We had a state which was formally structured, properly funded and open 9 to 5, Monday to Friday. The state was now the Mother and Father to our adult population. “Haven’t you had enough? Isn’t it time you went home? Do you really need 3 carrier bags? It’s no wonder your drinking so much when it’s so cheap.”
    We have turned our backs on networks community provides in favour of the ‘safety net’ the state provides, so we could be more like the English and Germans and not have to talk to our neighbours or share our business with them. We have turned our back on the ultimate safety net that is not impacted by the state of the public finances or instructions from the Troika. We have mislaid the informal yet robust safety net that community provides and which served us well over centuries.

• Well said Sean, my thoughts excatly!!

• Spot on, community is a natural construct and like alot of nature is sacrificed for the industrial format, all of us been the lesser for it.

• As always Sean, well said!

• censored 11/06/12 #

I don’t agree. In spite of the problems that Irish society has today, can we really look back to some golden age of “community” when everything was fine? Take a look at our history. The seeds of our current calamity are all too obvious.

• You’re missing the point completely Censored.
      Our politicans have been writing cheques for some time that our taxpayers cannot fund. Now those cheques are going to start bouncing.
      In the light of this new reality how are we as a society to make provision for those that cannot provide for themselves.
      We have to begin to face a reality where the state cannot be the provider we have grown accustomed to. We should realise that the state does not provide anything to society it does not first take from society.
      The idea of community is merely personalised form of welfare without the state acting as middleman and taking a cut for himself.

• Excellent article father. But Patrick in the article has never worked one day in 38 years! Regardless of the current situation I don’t see why the tax payer has to support people for their entire life on welfare without expecting a bit of effort in return to work some part of that

• Obviously a very fair point but I think he point is is that the “shape up or ship out” approach doesn’t work to drug addiction, poverty related crime and generational unemployment. I don’t think endless handouts work either but it really comes down to whether we really care about these people to the point of motivation of figuring out how to help bring them along, its like Teachers with the difficult task of teaching really disruptive and under provided children, the iron fist alone doesn’t seem to work but if we really care we can help them to improve their lives.

• Furthermore he should be on disability allowance ‘sick’ not jobseeker’s allowance given his mental health difficulties and addictions.

• I’d like to live in an functioning economy, but I would also live to live in a society which deals decisively with its most vulnerable. See sli-nios-fear .com for a way forward. It isn’t rocket science to deal with mental health or societal problems with the right plan and backup. The big problem is that we spend and prioritize expenditure in the wrong places. For example instead of paying Enda and his ministers the highest public representative wages in Europe, some of this could be re-directed. Instead of having a culture in the HSE which spends 100k equipping a low level mental health ward; to then close it 9 months later under a general hospital closure plan then we will be hemorrhaging cash for eternity. We have to find a better way – sli-nios-fear.com where change and common sense comes alive!

• DubDon 10/06/12 #

John I was blessed with a wonderful family. We grew up in the flats on the northside of Dublin and often didn’t have a penny for food let alone luxuries but my late father had given us a good work ethic. I see people like Patrick everyday and know alot of people in the same position as Patrick many came from good families. But I also know people who managed to get out of that position too… So John don’t come on here calling me a hypocrite I know what it’s like… I worked for 27 years and now do some work in the community. But what I do hate is people saying society left them behind many people have managed to pull themselves out of that rut and went on to lead wonderful fruitful lives but many others choose to stay in it and society helps them with social welfare

• Fair play DubDon. Hit the nail on the head. Far too many ‘do gooders’ harping on about the down and outs and how it’s ours and the governments fault. They seem to forget that a lot of these people are here because of the choices they made not because of their social standing or childhood. They are probably the same people that think charity is buying the big issue

• That’s the point you were blessed with a wonderful family, do you have any idea how child abuse destroys a life, you obviously don’t? Had you been brought up in a gutter with a loving family you would have had have all the skills you needed to succeed in life, unfortunately many people grew in very abusive homes , and that destroys a child’s development, their self esteem, leading to mental health problems , addictions and illness in later life. You know how it goes, don’t judge a man unless you’ve walked in their shoes, you’re judging this man, yet you know nothing about his life.

• Good for you. You had a strong role model, they instilled in you a strong work ethic and it has stood to you. Well done.

What of you hadn’t? What if your dad had got in your bed and made you suck him off as a child? What if you had been beaten and told that your were a worthless waste of space by your father?
      Would your work ethic be so strong?

“Now I’m not asking for absolution,
      Forgiveness for the things I do,
      But before you speak of any repentance,
      Try walking in my shoes,
      You’d stumble in my footsteps,
      Keep the same appointments I kept,
      If you try walking in my shoes”
      (Depeche Mode)

• Rent should be fixed by local “rent boards”. There should be adequate lock authority accomadition. I don’t understand why the rent supplement people should have any influence, if a person was able to make up the shortfall , because of supplement reduction , f,ex, by a friend or relative.

• it seems to me its not good enough to say, he is unemployable!!!! At the end of the day we all make decisions, some of our bad ones lead from our childhood however we all have to have a certain level of personal responsibilty…should Patrick have been given the tools at the start of the celtic tiger to help to secure a job, yes he should have, but we cant change the past!

He needs conselling, and a proper drug rehabilation…both must go hand in hand in order for it to be successful..it is a vicious circle, hes on the dole, depressed, and believes there is no hope for him but i for one do not believe that he can never become a working member of our society, i dont believe it acceptable to fire 188 euros at someone a week, and say nah you’ll never amount to anything so we wont even try.

I believe he was wrong not to attend his interview, ok more or likely nothing would have come of it…but we all have to jump through the same hoops…the celtic tiger is long dead and gone, but we are not going to be this way forever, and with help Patrick could go on to do some FAS courses or that, that will make him more employable in the future

What I have found being on the dole now 2 years, is that you have to keep active, help out in the community, and see if there is a course you can do to upskill, as being on it for so long really does get you down

• Going to be unpopular here but here goes. I’ve been an advocate for many years of the Cori/Sean Healy Minimum Income plan. I believe a society should mould itself to the needs of its most vulnerable. In the current climate I’m told that this is impracticable but there we are. When I suggest a means test on Child Benefit I may as well have declared allegiance to the KKK. The money is obviously there in some form to pay the nonsense of socialised gambling losses of private banks and the Great Croke Park Scam. A vocal section of OUR society has too much of an interest in demonising the poor in order to protect it’s pampered way of life. I understand anger at people who “don’t try” but there has to be some empathy here.

• Of course we are all angry that the banks have been saved to our detriment. It is inequitable and viciously unfair. However we are where we are and we must soldier on. The fact is that social welfare needs to be reformed. However, I was horrified by the ludicrous suggestion that people should be rewarded for ‘opting out’! The last thing that a person with depression needs is to ‘opt out’ and not attending interviews MUST be discouraged. We can harp on about the Celtic tiger and what went wrong until we are blue in the face, but we still have to move forward! Time only marches on and we DO NOT HAVE THE MONEY to finance these proposals! Oh, and that picture above? The man on the right is a Roma Gypsy. I frequently see him begging along with his syndicate on my way to work. No I’m not lucky to have a ‘job’ – I’m self employed and living on the edge, paying my taxes (yes Wallace you grubby little tax evader, that includes VAT).

• So you’re happy to sit back, be a good boy and do nothing but “soldier on” while we’re still paying bondholders in 2036 and your grandkids are starting school in Australia?

• Soldier on with a broken system in which the rich get richer and the rest of us…thats right, Soldier on!

• Laurens comment proves the articles point. many people have no capacity to see anything other than their own selfish smug world view.

the journals comments would convince you that the majority of Irish people fall into the. ‘best avoided’ category. the deluded hatred out there is frightening.

• and Lauren is there a problem with Roma? your comment betrays a certain ignorance

• Fr Peter McVerry is a man that deserves to be listened with, unlike the vast majority of people myself included he is speaking on an area of injustice in which he has dedicated his life to trying to change and in reality very few ever make such a sacrifice. We are told that ‘we have to “save” our banks” and we are told “we simply cannot afford” pretty much anything else, the complete contradiction and other hypocritical examples of when money is available from State and when it is not, highlights that there is a power in western society that has its interests addressed at the significant detriment to everyone else regardless of what happens, they are preserved and enriched.

When doing so blatantly contradicts an earlier stated position, the unfairness is tentatively acknowledged (it would be simply impossible to deny it such is its obviousness) we are informed its either that or financial equivalent of a nuclear bomb exploding. We see Tim Geithner the wall street lobbyist in chief that also runs the federal reserve of the world most influential currency, congratulating Spain on putting 100 billion of a private banks debt on Spanish citizens, the same man who intervened to reject some bondholder burden sharing in the Irish bailout. Financial interests come first and their power only intensifies our dinity further eroded as we “soldier on” regardless. Yes you have to earn a living and fair play to you for that but to say that we just accept the undisputable injustice of it and leave it at that is to take leave of our dignity and responsibility to the most vulnerable in society who as Fr Mc Verry so clearly points out.

• Apologies for the atrocious grammar and typos!

• If I were on social welfare I would want to give something back to society and maybe get training along the way. Why can’t the state get people on social welfare to do various state jobs from cleaning our streets to more skilled positions depending on the individual’s CV, surely that would save the state money too.

• rayven 10/06/12 #

There but for the grace of god go us all nobody here has walked in Patrick’s shoes but typically Joan burton goes all the time for the voiceless vulnerable soft targets the isolated man the unmarried mother the home helps the domcillary care allowance the carers allowance always sniping at these people A nation is judged by how it looks after its most vulnerable and we are no very nice people in this regard

• Lest we forget, the Irish collectively have, until very recently, been considered underdogs more or less globally.But now that we’ve shinned up the social strata via the celtic tiger- it’s easy to pass judgement on other human beings that don’t meet our consensus of good citizens – so we pull the ladder up, perhaps out of fear, and become judgemental.
    However, Patricks position is unenviable and I for one wouldn’t want to be in his shoes – nor would I want to take away any bit of anything that he has. I honestly don’t think we (from our privileged position) even if we are currently unemployed, or short of a few bob, have anything like insight or understanding into his mindset or the debilitating effects of his circumstances – how could we!!! The utter desolation of his predicament is just too terrible to contemplate. We can never understand where he is at and when one comes up against these agencies they are patronising at best, or they treat people like they are not quite the full shilling! To have a good life where you provide for yourself is no contest in terms of signing on with all it’s conditions and deprivations .
    Social welfare should be a safety net to – a pot – that any of us might need to dip into if we find ourselves in need. No stigma or judgements necessary and some people may need a lot more bolstering than others – just rainy day money really.

• Solidarity is the word. In answer to those who criticise Patrick, there are so many times in his life where we, society, failed him – failed to educate him, to care for him so that the effect of his early trauma might have been lessened or by showing understanding how damaged he is rather than sending letters which if ignored get his dole cut. A lifetime of depression on the dole is not a ‘dream’ life for anyone so I don’t understand why anyone would criticise Patrick for it. It’s our collective failure that lives get lost like that.

• The catholic church has loads of properties and money. Maybe it could show sons solidarity. I wonder what hand the church had in Patrick’s childhood trauma.

• Some solidarity

• Fr McVerry is almost the antithesis of the wealthy church, clearly the hierarchy of the Church through the ages often seemed to conduct itself in a manner at odds with essential Christian teaching but this man lives a very humble life, and has spent it speaking out for and working day to day with the most impoverished and vulnerable, if the Church were more like him it would not have any reputational difficulties.

• DubDon 10/06/12 #

While I have sympathy for Patrick I can’t help but feel that he has coasted along on the social welfare gravy train all his life. I’m sure there are others who suffered similarly to Patrick early on but have managed to carve out a good life. This country was awash with jobs during the Celtic tiger but Patrick chose to remain outside the workforce. Ok the dept of social welfare should have been pushing him into work but that’s only going to happen if the individual wants to work. I’m sure Patrick manages TI get out of his bed when his methadone clinic is open… Pity he couldn’t show the same eagerness to return something to the state that has provided him with money (that probably helped buy drugs) and a drug replacement program

• Hi DubDon Your a hypocrite you talk about Patrick as if you know him, You say that you have sympathy for him then you slag him off. What about the un- elected Senators that get big money and un vouched exspenses on top.I bet you was brought up by a good caring family and thats good. I live in Dublin and I seen the work Fr,Peter does.

• You obviously have no understanding of addiction and mental illness, appearing to subscribe to the “pull yourself together” form of therapy. Although there are times we all need to acknowledge our failures as a form of rehabilitation that alone simply doesn’t work.

• The fact the government operates this drug replacement program is in itself an indictment of its failure.
      Methadone is actually more addictive than heroin. With none of the pluses heroin users sought out the heroin for. They may no longer be on heroin, but they will be addicted to methadone indefinitely..
      You know there’s a plant from Africa which interrupts addiction for up to 6 months as well as causing a trip that allows the addict to see themselves objectively – in essence giving them a 6-12 month head start on their therapy.. The drug companies tried to manufacture a drug based on it but it wasn’t as effective.. And so we rely upon switching heroin addiction for methadone addiction.. Do they give Ritalin to cocaine addicts?
      A bit of Iboga therapy would be a far more cost effective means of dealing with the problem, but it can’t be patented, therefore it cannot be endorsed.. Bugger..

The mental health system in this country relies upon drugs, drugs and more drugs.. They insist that these drugs are not addictive, and that the withdrawal from them is not withdrawal it is “discontinuation syndrome” (doublespeak at its finest). Counselling and support for those with mental health problems is hard to come by, but you can get the drugs and get them for free.. No matter how much damage they may cause (See Shane Clancy and http://www.ssristories.net)

But hey, it’s easy to level criticism when you know nothing about the situation isn’t it?

• A very good article , it is irrelevant whether the man in the picture is a Roma or not. Some of the posts on here appear to reflect the type of society we now live in. studies recently have shown huge gaps developing between the wealthy and the poor. facts are Irish society has completely forgotten what it was like to be poor and having nothing like hope for example.

• Great article. Sadly it was written for the consumption of a nation that prides itself on doing all it can to ensure that those at the top remain there and those at the bottom find their way to the earths core.

The nation screams for accountability when it comes to Patrick and those like him, collectively they cost the state a great deal. But still, those select few that have as individuals cost us billions continue to remain insulated from anything that might resemble the concept of accountability.

The Irish nation loves soft targets, they love soft targets because collectively the Irish nation has no balls, no spine together with the memory of a housefly. The Irish have no stomach for taking on those who have cost us more than all the Patricks that currently reside in the state. Patrick is insulated by the state but his actions or lack thereof are subject to state scrutiny.

Shame really that the select few that cost the state billions, which we now must cover, were not and are not subject to the same scrutiny as the Patricks of our society. They have lawyers and friends in politics to insure that never happens. It’s easy to victimize those sections of society that have never seen the inside of a tent at the Galway races.

• Well said, it is simply indisputable point, the select few charged with responsibility for the common good and paid handsomely to assume such responsibility and then failed spectacularly, never mind the concept of being exposed to any acccountability to the State are still paid and continually rewarded into perpetuity for the unprecedented disaster they were complicit in burdening the Irish people with, while the most vulnerable are scrutinised, demeaned, bullied and threatened by the same State. Its like the revenue the one area of the State where they actually do an effective job at what they are tasked to do, they are disproportionately more effective and efficient than any other area of the public service and impose considerable scrutiny and accountability on those who don’t comply (unless they are in a select hand off club) with funding the state , on the other hand there is absolutely no accountability on how that money is spent.

• My God this is laughable! Patrick never had and never will have any intention of getting a job. In sure many of us have suffered ‘childhood trauma’ but we get on with it. To those stating that we are the ones being selfish, wise up! Patrick and people like him take take take and give nothing in return. I do my a lot of charity work and give where I can. I don’t condone the free ride the banks are getting or our corrupt politicians.

I had the pleasure of spending a Thursday night in A&E in tallaght recently. One lady (in her 40s) was giving out to her drunk boyfriend (babba) that he was to wake up as she’s ‘on the social to have a social life, not sit in the hostible’. Meanwhile another guy sat down and explained to me he had an appreciation for the good stuff. This turned out to be opium. He then took to gloat that he’s done pretty well for himself having been arrested 46 times in his life but only serving 6 months I prison. When people ask why people are dying on trollies I can now say that it is due, not only to our dire health system, but also to the wasters taking up beds!

We seem to be the only country in the world that offers the long term unemployed pay rises and if Fr. Mc Verry is to have his way they’ll now get even more money for doing even less. The mistake this country has made is that for far too long it has encouraged people to sit on their arses and skim the cream. Even in the Glory Days, those who were long term unemployed made the point that they earned more on the dole than on minimum wage. Economically how can that make sense??

Finally, I’d like to point out that I’m a big believer in supporting those that deserve help but far too many in this country play the victim and seem to have a sense of entitlement that is grossly out of kilter with reality.

• Perhaps those who thought the minimum wage was less than the dole weren’t too good at maths..
      Which would be indicative of a not exactly inclusive education system wouldn’t you think?
      Certainly as you rush to the hasty generalisation of all those who find themselves in such a hopeless situation based upon your experience of 3 people..

And pay rises for the unemployed? What on earth are you on about? SW had to rise in line with inflation or every single person on SW would have been homeless during the boom.. SW of €80 per week plus €20 rent supplement wouldn’t even keep you clothed, housed and fed now!

• censored 11/06/12 #

Well said Alan. Our social contract is broken, and it’s not just at the top end. I’m just as sick of hearing about the “sainted poor” as I am sick of hearing about the “job creators”.

• It’s not fair indeed….. Struggling to pay our mortgage. Cannotvafford to convert the attic….. while next door for 25 a week the asylumsekers left the place with rats and flees when they got a bigger house…. And the landlord and us with the bills for vermin… Landlord emigrated and was and is not Be to sell)

• More uninformed tripe..

Minimum contribution has been €30 since January 2012. And that’s MINIMUM.
      In reality they would be paying at least 50% of their rent..

Plus – if they are asylum seekers they should be in state accommodation, eg Mosney and the B&Bs that were taken over as hostels.. If they live in private rented accommodation then they aren’t asylum seekers, they have been granted asylum and are merely unemployed like everyone else..

Asylum *seekers* are NOT entitled to rent supplement, jobseekers, disability or anything else. They get a payment for asylum seekers of something like €20 per week, and if memory serves, that’s paid out of a global central fund, not your taxes.

Of course, you would know all of this yourself, If you would simply read the citizens information website..

Oh and ps – if they were asylum seekers granted citizenship then it means that they proved they were in need of this countries help. The reason they are interred in state accommodation is because they frequently arrive with no papers (having fled from whatever crisis they fled from), this system is sadly open to abuse and so investigations must be carried out before they are formally allowed to stay.. On e they can prove that they were fleeing from persecution or torture they are granted asylum.

But poor you, you can’t afford an extension..

• If one wants to walk on the dark side of the human psyche then publish a piece on the plight of the vulnerable and the poor. Some of the cruel and patronising comments above presented as fact but unsupported by anything like evidence are typical. We live in a wealthy country which refuses to tax well-off individuals and corporations at a realistic rate, allows them to bleed the public coffers dry and then blames those living in ill-health and poverty for the results. It is entirely absurd and represents a failure of economic, political and moral courage.

• Society can only b judged by the way we take care of our weakest and most vulnerable .we are only as strong as our weakest link . Vulnerable people cannot b expected to negotiate a decrease in rent with their landlord ,but the social worker could do it..the same thing happens with the carers . It won’t happen but if all the carers took their loved ones and left them in a and e and said “can’t do it anymore” then we would have a problem. Because the carers care for (indeed love) the people they mind every day they are being taken advantage of financially .it would cost the state up on 90k to look after each person yet the carers get pittance for doing this..look after the weak and the strong will survive

• Are comments here screened? Mine doesn’t appear to be here

• No they aren’t.. There is full information on the comments policy available under “comments policy” either at the bottom of the page on desktop or in the more section of the app.

However, the comments section is no stranger to bugs. There’s no mods except other posters and the “report comment” button.. There isn’t even a swear filter.

• Great column! Must absolutely agree. I think the key phrase is ‘new political structure’, but for that to happen we need to stop writing columns about how ‘Ireland will never change’ and actually just change it! In the words of the great Bruce Lee; ‘knowledge is not enough, we must apply. Willing is not enough, we must do’. We all need a new way of doing things. The exception to that is of course the people who have remained unaffected by the recession, that ever present 1%. And while they welcome borrowed money from the fourth reich, the rest of our country rots. These people need more loans for what?! So that we can regret giving it to them again in 20-30 years?! Forget it! Michael Collins told us that our best weapon is our refusal so I say we use that weapon! We simply to refuse to comply! Psst, that woulda been the square with ‘no’ beside it but whatevs! Right? You’ll get that extra credit card you always… Needed? Wake up Ireland, your children have been taken in the night!

• Can’t agree with u Allen .its the nature of the majority to want to get out of bed and have a worthwhile reason for living . Whether its mental illness or physical disability after that that keeps people living at a minimum income ,well one disability as bad as the next,u can’t just get over it , but u would have a better chance of some standard of life and a bit of happiness(which everyone is entitled to) with a reasonable amount of support from those who can give it .

• It’s Alan Eilish…I agree with your point but to assume that everyone who has been long term unemployed suffers from a mental or physical disability is naive. There are people out there who exploit the system and worse people who condone it by putting them I with those who are genuinely weaker.

• Sorry but no way! The only purpose any one human being has is to realise the absolute extent of their human happiness. Our current system facilitates a select few to pursue that and keeps the masses appeased with the pittance that they pay to keep them controlled. I would ask that you not be so naive as to believe that these people are not exactly in the circumstances the Irish government has designed for them. If the government cared about these people, or even thought the whole process through logically, there would be no ghost estates! It simply makes sense that you put homeless people in houses, but then all their mates loose the minuscule amount of capital that those houses are worth.

• Rob I completely agree that it is the right of every individual to realize their happiness but your argument is flawed if you believe that it shoud be at the expense of everyone else. To suggest that the government controls the masses is absurd…the majority of voters are the ‘working classes’ which implies that they have put this government in power. The wealthy and powerful still only get one vote. There is a big difference between facilitating the homeless and the unemployed, who have no desire to work (or vote either probably).

Perhaps the point which we agree on simply needs to be expended – it is the right and responsibility of each individual to realise their absolute happiness while contributing to the advancement of their community and society

• Ah Alan.. The few that you describe make up a very low percentage of those on SW. Please, ditch the spotlight fallacy.. This isn’t the Daily Mail.

• censored 11/06/12 #

Shanthi, if we want to ditch the spotlight fallacy we should also take the spotlight off the deserving cases such as Patrick. Not every on SW is in this type of situation but they are always the ones that are put in front of us to excuse the system.

• I think it’s perhaps time for a cap on income. I’m talking about incomes say maybe 50 times the average industrial wage (€35,000 x 50 = €1,750,000). Any income earned above this would be taxed at 100%.
    This tax would probably never effect 99% of the population but for those that it would effect it would reap substantial revenues. If the was agreed on a EU wide level with agreements in place with the US, Japan, Australia etc then many of the social ills we have could be eradicated. And to placate those who espouse the ‘free market’, surely an income of €1.7m a year would be sufficient! Especially as government deems €180 a week dole payment is sufficient.

That’s my take on it anyway. If we can set minimums in social welfare, minimum wage etc, then we really should start considering maximums. Considering the vast majority of the populations throughout the world would NOT be effected detrimentally, but positively by such a tax, it’s a wonder how our politicians are not pressed on the issue more.

• Does anyone remember Joan Burton announcing the pathway to work scheme? This would result in the long term unemployed having benefits cut or stopped if they turned down a reasonable job offer! I’ve contacted social welfare and FAS on countless occasions about this, and they claim to know nothing about it!! FAS direct you to a website that asks you to answer a load of strange questions! This website ( based on how an individual answers these questions) works out what job said individual is best suited to! If that’s the best idea highly paid public servants can come up with, we are well and truly bolloxed!!

• As much as I can see the sense of these maximums, you just know it would never happen..
      The people raking in those obscene amounts of money are the ones pulling the strings.. The ones exerting their influence over anything and everything. They have the worlds leaders in their pockets..

The phrase “you can’t take it with you” means nothing to these people for whom accruing material wealth seems their primary goal – to the detriment of everything else. And there’s no way they would sacrifice any of it. How do you think they got so darn rich in the first place? I can hazard a guess it didn’t involve morals or honesty..

• mrnobody 10/06/12 #

What is a just society? And from what conditions does it spring from?

• Empathy for sure. However proscriptions to end exploitation and a definition of the term are required too.

• Alan if we had full employment ur argument might hold some merit but there are 450k people unemployed not to mention all the people who have emigrated so jobs are as rare as rocking horse poo .so is it any wonder people have given up

• Its a sad reflection on society when people and their rights do not matter. The story seems to be more from a religious / social perspective as opposed to a legal perspective. If those employed in religion read up on law more often they could provide proper help.

1996 is the most important information the the story for the following reasons.

1996 is where the so called government of the day falsified the Irish Constitution on amendment 16 to introduce opinions into Irish Law, when the fact is they have been using opinions since at least 1922. The choice was invalid because the choice to introduce opinions into Irish Law had already been made before the vote.

1996 is the year the Mervyn Taylor introduced opinions into Irish Law to set up the Legal Aid Board as judge and jury. Judges, Barrister and Solicitors run the Legal Aid Board and effectively every Barrister and Solicitors have levels of authority to be judges and keep the Irish People away from international courts.

1996 is a very important year for people to study law and how its been falsified.
    1996 is a very important year in law in Ireland where the Irish People were coerced and manipulated into giving up the sovereignty of Ireland and allowing the opinions of foreign nationals (MEP’s) to take precedence over the Irish.

• Please read

• Alan what age are u and do u have a trust fund. Do u live in Ireland.

Add New Comment