TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 16 °C Thursday 20 June, 2013

Column: Ireland doesn’t need a new political party, it needs a new politics

The intentions of those launching a new political party may be good but Ireland needs to look beyond the ballot box, argues Aidan Rowe.

Aidan Rowe

TODAY, A NEW party, Sli Nios Fearr (SNF), is launching itself into the Irish electoral milieu, in the hopes of creating a new political alternative to the corruption, clientelism and duplicity of the establishment.

It has perhaps never been less controversial to suggest that politics in this country is fundamentally broken. Over the past four or more years of economic crisis, the veil of ‘democracy’ obscuring the agenda of the political class has grown ever more transparent, as the debts of the Irish capitalist class were handed to the people, and wave after wave of austerity has slashed and burned through the welfare state, without in my view even the merest semblance of a democratic mandate.

SNF are correct in concluding that the present crop of political parties have very little to offer ordinary people, nor will electing a slew of parish-pump independents to fight over the crumbs of an ever-dwindling political pie deliver anything significant for their constituents. However, their solution of electing ‘good people’ to political office to sort everything out is, unfortunately, hopelessly naive.

Introducing his new political project to TheJournal.ie readers, SNF founder and spokesperson Martin Critten claims to offer “a new party, devoid of past errors, past corruptions, self-interests and elitisms”.

While a party without a past can safely disclaim any past errors or corruptions, one can only wonder where all these people without self-interests will come from.

This observation is not just glib cynicism – our self-interests are an objective fact that exist beyond our control, and which shape our decisions and actions whether we like it or not. If I’m a politician who can take a bribe from a developer and get away with it, it’s in my self-interest to do so, however noble my intentions.

The common observation that if any of us were in Charlie Haughey’s shoes we would have acted in more or less precisely the same fashion should be taken not as an excuse for corrupt behaviour, but rather an acknowledgement that our self-interests are a real force to which none of us are immune.

Playing the game

This argument doesn’t just apply to corruption. Electoral politics has its own dynamics which are beyond the control of any one group or individual, which imposes a logic of its own on those who engage in it.

This is why, across countries and cultures – whatever system – first-past-the-post or proportional representation – however endemic corruption is in the political culture, politicians are universally reviled as liars who will say whatever it takes to get elected, but once elected, serve an entirely different set of interests: those of the wealthy and powerful.

It’s not because they’re all bad people (although some of them are) but rather because the pressure to water-down your politics, to obscure your real agenda, to speak only in contentless soundbites, and to say whatever it takes to get elected is built into the structure of the system. If you don’t play the game according to its rules, you lose.

The only alternative for ordinary people is to look beyond the ballot box and the politics of representation to a different kind of political engagement. Organising – within our communities, in our workplaces, on the streets – is the only way that we can force our interests and concerns to the fore.

The Campaign Against The Household and Water Taxes (CAHWT) is one example of this. While the campaign is not yet victorious, through organising thousands of people to engage directly in the political sphere it has thrown a quite a significant spanner in the works of the government’s plans to introduce regressive property and water taxes.

If our engagement with politics is confined to drawing an ‘X’ in a box every few years, and maybe phoning up Joe Duffy to vent in the intervening periods, then we will continue to have business as usual. A new political party, however sincere the intentions of its members and candidates, can easily be marginalised or assimilated. A politically engaged and energised population is much harder to ignore.

Aidan Rowe is an activist, blogger and a member of the Workers Solidarity Movement, an Irish anarchist group.

Column: Ireland needs a new political party and here’s how we do it

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (71 Comments)

• Denis 10/07/12 #

It’s not about new politics or new polititians , until the general pop take a serious interest in what’s going on ie taking responsibility , things will stay the same , it’s true , I’m afraid , you get the polititians/ politics you deserve as an electorate , will we grow up ? Not so sure , x factor and reality tv devoured by large portions of the pop doesn’t agur well .

• Very good article and also good luck to the new party. At least they are trying something. However a system change is needed to punish the corrupt and also to ensure the focus is on the country not the party. Saying that I don’t have a proposal or solution but will try and take some points from the article and become more involved in the my local community groups. I think a lot of people have got so frustrated with politics that we have forgot if we all do something good and constructive the collective result will be huge. So far play to Martin. His intentions and efforts deserve our support.

• the political and judicial system is busted beyond recognition its there for every one that wants to look ,corruption is at african levels at the top in ireland ,the one thing that the political class have done well at is deception they keep telling us it dont exist ,as for this goverment no differnence to its predecessor ,

• In ancient Greece the had yearly panels of random citizens to propose laws and then the rest of the public voted on them. Not a bad idea.

I also think only experts in their fields should be appointed to posts, someone who trained as a lawyer shouldn’t be finance minister, and a teacher shouldn’t be heath minister etc. General politicians could be confined to the Seanad.

• If one were to examine the true causes of the current financial crisis, one would see that it was the ‘experts’ that got it wrong. It was the holders of master degrees, and PhDs from the top universities in the world that came up with sub prime lending policies, derivatives and the créme de la créme, a religious type belief in a mathematical formula now known to history as “the Recipe for Disaster”.

Politics are for politicians. The ‘expert’ argument is for people unwilling to examine real causes and come up with real solutions deferring real thinking to ‘experts’.

• I like the random citizen idea, despite the obvious flaws with the system. Those who are chosen might hate it; have conflicts of interest; be more susceptible to corruption; be more willing to ‘feather their nests’ for when their tenure, etc etc etc.
      However, I’d say that there are none less suitable to have power than those who seek it. History speaks volumes on this.

• In ancient Greece they had an extremely classist society and slavery too. A ruling class are always going to hold their own self interests, we realy need to go about creating a society where there is no need for a professional ruling class, that is what the article is all about. Power corrupts, it’s that simple.

• One of the main things holding back politics in Ireland currently is the lack of political clarity of where the Finna Fail & Fine Gael actually lie. History also plays where too much part. Its clear to a blind man these two parties are the opposite of the same coin. Yet people blindly or semi blindly voted out a centre/centre right party for a right wing party & now despair why there is little difference in them.

I fully believe there is a very large minority in Ireland who would not be able to tell you politically which side of the fence either of these parties lie on YET will vote for one of them regardless. Especially out of the main cities. Parish pump politics also come in to play as well.

Ireland would be far better of if these two parties bit the bullet & merged so we can start to see a clearer picture as to who is centre/right/left etc & allow a more informed choice than the one currently being chosen.

Also agree with the Author on the ‘lazy’ attitude people take when it comes to politics.

Simply put Politics is life. Dont agree then take a look at Egypt & Syria tell them it doesnt really matter in the long run!!

• We need new politicians, not the ones (all parties included), who got there through nepotism! They are ALL a fuc..ng disgrace. Plus the fact that most of them are NOT remotely qualified for their portfolio, well maybe James Reilly, and look at where he is!

• Joan they are not ALL a disgrace. In many cases to run for public office is a completely selfless thing to do. They deserve more respect.

• Excuse me, but they most certainly are. The present administration is made up of nothing but liars and turncoats who were elected under a fictitious mandate that was written by the Brothers Grimm. You cannot seriously be trying to defend their honour when they dont understand what that word means.

• A lot to think about here and I certainly wish this new party good luck. You could have the best new politicians you could possibly get, every one of them extremely qualified and experienced, but if they’re going to do their politics the same way as every other party then are they not going to risk going down the same black holes?
    No sane person can doubt we elect the same tired political parties who all play the same games with us, they make promises to us, we elect them, they break those promises, the next lot make another set of promises and it starts again. The electorate are treated with contempt in this game, they’re manipulated so that each party can get a slice of the action. THAT is what has to be stopped.

• I think we all have varying degrees of an anarchist in us. Anarchism isn’t lawlessness. It is a leaderless type of system where committees of people make decisions for the common good. If someone doesn’t perform they are replaced immediately, none of this crap of waiting for 5 years to vote them out. Democracy shouldn’t be a one day event every 5 years. It should be a way of life.

Movements like the No Household Tax has awakened a political appetite in Ireland with people, a lot of them women, becoming more politically aware. Also social media and websites like this have played a big part. Take for example the recent EUref. On all the political forums the No Vote was well ahead of the Yes Vote in any polls taken. These people were more informed about the Treaty than those without access to or with no interest in politics.

My personal opinion is that Ireland is not ready for anarchism yet. Not until the populous has fully woken up and taken more interest in how their country is run but it is an aspiration worth considering. I follow a few anarchists on twitter and find myself agreeing with most of them. So best of luck Aidan and I agree that we don’t need another party. We just need people to be more engaged.

• Excellent post Reada, I wonder why we could not use the American system where elections are held every 2 years?

• We already have commitees of people making decisions for the common good in Leinster house.
      What you’re proposing isn’t anarchy and once one group starts deciding what’s best for everyone else they invariably find they don’t have sufficient powers or resources to help everyone. Then you’re either back to square one or worse.
      Articles 47, 48 and 50 of our original constitution allowed for citizens initative. This allowed citizens to propose new laws, strike down existing laws and remove wayward politicans. Similar to constitional arrangements in Switzerland. Unfortunately, due to political interference these articles were never enacted.

• Reada, you are correct regarding the mistaken association of anarchy with lawlessness. Some theorists advance the Brehon law model as an example of how a legal system might operate in a stateless society.

• I have a copy of Fergus Kellys Early Irish Law, might dust it off and maybe we could come up with our own new alternative constitution.

• So you think no voters were better informed, because they were on sites like this? Love the arrogance, but those sour grapes are starting to smell something awful…..

• Donncha. I don’t think the No side were better informed, I know the No side were better informed. I know this because I went out and canvassed in my local area for the No side and most of the Yes voters I met hadn’t a clue what they were voting for. It was all “Ah shure we have no choice” or “but shure where will we get the money”! Ye had the life frightened out of them.

It’s now plain to see that by the time Spain and Italy are finished with the ESM fund there won’t be a bob for Ireland. The whole idea behind the EUref is a fiasco. Never mind it’s not likely to go ahead anyway and even if it does the Eurozone is caving in all by itself.

But I understand why you sound upset Donncha. It was a hollow victory. Even though ye “won”, ye know ye voted out of fear while the No side voted with courage. Can’t have tasted sweet. ;)

• @reada, I’m not upset at all, very happy with the result. I would think that plenty people voted no out of fear of ‘permanent austerity’ or as a protest i.e. anger. ‘sure where will we get the money’ sounds pretty informed to me. Just to be clear as well, I wasn’t involved in any yes campaign – started as a no voter, listened to the argument, and moved to yes. decision to change was a lot to do with reading comments from each side on here. nothing to do with fear or courage. Unlike you I’m not claiming that ‘no’ voters were wrong, ye just didn’t win.

• Fagan's 10/07/12 #

Fair play to you Aidan. Get stuck in.

The politics that are the problem here unfortunately come from the attitude of the electorate, expect lots of “shure dere all the same” and shure nothing changes and lots of that kind of woe is me Bullcrap.

Very sad but true and very possible proving my own point my writing this. :)

• The simple truth is – the political systems in place in the ‘West’ are democratic IN NAME ONLY. It is just ONE big lie. They are feudal political systems where the citizens can choose their Masters every 5 years and thereafter have to shut up and be ruled by these elites and their associates.

What we actually need in Ireland is nothing less than Regime Change – the tearing down of a dysfunctional system and replacing it with a true democratic system. The main problem with that is that most people think they live in a democracy because they don’t know any better. We are told the lie from birth. See www,IrishCitizen,ie

• Jaysis Aidan, you’re popping up everywhere these days. When you get that job at the guardian you’ll come back and visit your old comrades right ;)

• best of luck 2 them,im a sinn fein voter,but im for anybody thats looking to make real changes for the real people

• So am I Jonny but I’d still welcome anything that might awaken a bit of interest in politics is something to be welcomed. Anything is better than the Irish electorate thinking that the answer to a mess made by Fianna Fail is Fine Gael. Haven’t we suffered enough?!?!?

• Best of luck in your new venture Aidan. The only problem is, short of open revolt on the streets, the partys in power are the only people in a position to change the system and they are the very same people with the most to lose by doing so. Take the whip system, for example. It fundamentally prevents a government party TD to act against party wishes, even if this goes against their conscience or good of their constituents.

Want to strike a blow and change the rancid politic in this country? Limit personal and corporate donations to €50 per TD, and only allow donations within that TDs constituency. This will help end cronyism and favours to donors after election, but still allow the average citizen to contribute towards a persons election campaign.

• Much that is sensible here. However, a couple of points:
    Without change at the top are we not in danger of entering into a destructive state vs society conflict as the aims and interests of both diverge (as has already commenced)
    A socialist anarchist movement has always struck me as an oxymoron. Socialism requires increasing levels of state interference in the lives of it’s citizens. While anarchism demands less.

• Not really. Anarchism is basically the end goal of actual communism with a stateless, classless society . Anarchists believe this has to brought about solely through community and workplace organisation and actively opposes the state and the requirement for a ruling class. You are used to modern politicical language where socialism tends to mean reformism.
      Change will only every be effective if it is from the bottom up and eventually eliminating the top. We are well capable of running our own communities and workplaces without the need for “top” at all. But this takes extensive planning and more social organisation than the country has seen since the land wars.

• We need a Revolution, Burn Them out of the Daíl and Install Sonny Knowles as our new Leader.

• Il be voting for this lot, they can only be a good thing. Anything is better than ff or fg or the rest.

• Aidan Rowe you are right to conclude that Slí Nios Fearr are “hopelessly naive”. However your analysis of what is wrong with the political system is elementary and it ignores the problems in the administrative system. Thus it appears that the Workers Solidarity Movement may be suffering from similar maladies.

• all brilliant points above and as a new member of SLI NIOS FEARR i have to say that not only will it be difficult to break the status quo, get media interest we will have to encourage people to take a leap of faith and break that stereotypical image of the smiling, baby cuddling politicians making promises with the fingers crossed. people are so fed up with previous offerings it WILL be difficult to convince irish people that an alternative can be found, there are so many vibrant, intelligent, moral, people of all ages and genders still here (or maybe some have emigrated) i find it hard to believe that this little group of people cant in 3 years time offer a decent alternative,

yes, we have to brush up, get professional, look the part, be everything to everyone but hey- give us a chance! i personally want to see more women engaging with politics and am in contact with women for election.ie who will give women the skills to break into this boys club and bring a breath of fresh air into the whole thing, i want economists, business people, students, legal professionals, not just the usual suspects that are trotted out each election- we need credible candidates with SKILLS relevant to the task at hand!!!!

all were asking is that people give us a chance because we are starting from scratch with EVERYTHING against us and nothing like the funding of the other parties, but on the upside none of the baggage and corruption of the current offerings, its bye bye to perks, cars, pensions, unvouched expenses, dodgy supplier invoices, and shoe-ins courtesy of daddy……….. naive? perhaps- but someone please offer an alternative that will motivate the population and offer choice thats transparent and equitable to all and not just tax us all into oblivion, yes, taxes are a neccesary evil but whats going on to ordinary people/business is unacceptable.

to be fair to martin, he became fed up shouting at the tv (as did I) but so far hes the only person whos gotten off the chair and made some noise- now we need others to get on board ……….. any takers?

• I will not vote for a naive eejit no matter how nice and clean they are.

I will not vote for someone who does not know how politics works and will get sucked in and blown out in bubbles by skilled politicians in Europe and elsewhere.

I will not vote for a woman because she is a woman.

I will not vote for a man because he is a man.

Anger is no substitute for skill.

I will vote for persons who have demonstrated good analytical ability and have policies based upon these abilities and have the political skill to get them implemented.

• I will be voting for the Socialist Party. Today union members are few, top 1% ( business owners and wealthy) have billions in greed money, workers wages are declining, national debt is high, and Ireland is in steady decline.

• Your wrong Aidan we do need new parties at least 2. Not tainted by any association with the present inept political party class Ireland has the misfortune to have representing them. Not sure if Mr. Critten’s party will be one of them but hopefully others will also follow his lead. One thing for sure is all our current parties are well past their sell by date and so set in their way that they will never change. I just hope come the next election there will be alternative choices for people who do bother to vote.

• So you think the current representative system functions perfectly and the only problem is that we have “bad” representatives that need to be replaced with new “good” ones?
      Has this strategy every worked anywhere in the world ever?

• Damocles 11/07/12 #

Leaving aside the humour potential of an organised group of anarchist, is citizen activism such a new thing?

Wasn’t it a form of citizen activism that led ultimately to the Irish state?

Moreover wasn’t it an eventual move from activism to engagement in the process that shifted the goal of the Irish state into a realisable and ultimately a realised state?

In reality the figurehead leaders of these “citizen” groups tend to be proto-politicians who will eventually join the very system they are initially pledging to “fight”.

That doesn’t mean that citizen activism shouldn’t go ahead, single issue campaigns can and do succeed, but don’t delude yourself to the motivations of your figurehead leaders and don’t delude yourself into thinking that it’s anything new.

• Yes, activism achieves things. This is not news.
      And I fail to see the humour potential behind the concept of organised anarchism. I do however see humour potential of you blatent misunderstading of the anarchist ideology.

• Damocles 11/07/12 #

Anarchy: “A state of disorder due to absence or nonrecognition of authority.”
      Organised: “Arranged into a structured whole”
      Contradiction: “A combination of statements, ideas, or features of a situation that are opposed to one another.”

• Rob 10/07/12 #

Sinn Fein are the party I will be voting for in the next election. I will never vote for FG again.

• Ditto

• Sinn Fein’s plan for saving us, is to gamble with our pension reserve fund. If they are wrong we will be left with nothing. Don’t gamble with what you can’t afford to lose.

• Rob 10/07/12 #

John McG,

I’m not sure if you read it, but they plan a more fairer tax system whereby the rich are taxed more, along with investment in infrastructure and public transport and much more growth boosting measures. Significantly, they will also cut the gigantic presidential salary of the Irish president. At present, it’s only open for a ‘voluntary pay cut’ – this is where FG went wrong. Sinn Fein will mandate a reduced pay cut under new laws.

• I’ll be opting for ‘none of the above’.
      SF certainly don’t inspire confidence.

• Rob, they said that they would use the pension reserve fund to pay for their job stimulus package. Thats the only cash we got. . Even if they do stimulate jobs – how are they going to get the money back into the fund & what happens to the pensioners. How are they going to fund their “investment in infrastructure and public transport and much more growth boosting measures”. A tax on the rich will take a long time to pay up – especially knowing the rich, they will find some way out of paying. So where are they going to get the money to gamble on their ideas – the pension reserve fund.

• John, most of the pension reserve fund has been spent covering bankers gambling debts. Sinn Fein want to invest some of whats left to stimulate growth and get a return on that investment. Had we invested some NPRF money when the troika came in building the spirit of Ireland project we’d now be selling energy to Europe on an ongoing basis as well as pocketing the profits from cheaper energy we’d be selling to our citizens.

But wheres the profit for fine geals buddies in that?

• Eh John McG gamble with our pension fund? I assume you are aware that our last government poured something like 18 billion of our pension fund into the banks? Not a SF supporter but anyone saying SF is gambling with our pension fund is laughable.

• Too True, If stands stiff on a baldy mans quiff. Just because someone else squandered some of the NPRF does not meen SF has to do the same.

• John McG

Your Fine Gael vision for Ireland is one where big corporations and the wealthy pay no taxes at all, and what is left of the middle class and the working poor pay for everything (including childcare). Have you heard Fine Gael’s tax plan?

The Fine Gael vision for Ireland is one of endless tax rises and nation building where Ireland is the posterboy child of the world, no matter the cost in lives or money. And they never raise a single tax to pay for their cuts to childcare. They just charge them and then complain about the deficit.

The Fine Gael vision for Ireland is to send all manufacturing jobs to Asia, regardless of the damage to this country, and just so they can destroy the unions. They have been doing it for 1 year.

The Fine Gael vision for Ireland is to end all public education and discourage going to college. Did you hear Quinn’s comments about it being elitist to want to send more people to college?

Send them all home in 2012.

• Kerry,

It’s part of the blueshirts campaign to smear SF as this, that or another. SF would transform Ireland to a prosperous economy with exports. Unlike Fine Gael who focus on tax cuts and stealth taxes to feed the global banking mafia.

• John, there’s a big difference between handing it to rich people and using it to take poor people off the dole and produce an ongoing return. But we both know that.

• As i read on twitter a few nights back… Its about time Ireland was made into a democracy as this fascism experiment is not working ! Good luck to the new party!

• take a lesson from america: 3 branches of governance that check the power of the legistature. presidency and courts have no power here and the dail rolls out a stalinist 5 year plan every election.

• Excellent points. How to engage people and keep them engaged, though.

One way would be to create a natural alignment between people’s inevitable self- interest and the common good, such that they pull in the same direction instead of against one another.

For eg. managing profitable state assets so that the dividends are paid out to citizens – each if whom is entitled to a single non- transferable share, would certainly engage people’s interest in how they are run, and whether they should be privatised.

Charging private companies for uses of the commons that they currently use for free – for eg degradation of the environment, or reductions in air quality – adding to citizens’ dividends, is another road for this.

Obliging the managers of services (both politicians and civil servants) to use those services – eg transport or health, would ensure they have a real SELF interest in making them work efficiently and well.

The possibilities are endless, and only require some creative thinking and political will.

• This country’s democracy needs another political party like a hole in the head.

The first thing we need to do is to stop voting en mass like turkeys for the parties of the rich and of the market, which are FF, FG, and Labour.
    The second thing that needs to happen is for the countless thousands who do not vote to get off their backsides and start voting for parties that have proven that they represent the vast majority of the population, whoh are low to middle-income earners.

Then we might have a chance of seeing change.

• Denis 11/07/12 #

History shows , because a lot of the population couldn’t be bothered figuring out the reality , they are only too happy to jump on a populist bandwagon be it left or right , both of which again, history shows , don’t work in the long term. The answer is take the best of both ideologies not one or the other, unfortunately don’t hold your breath waiting for a significant percentage of the population taking the time to properly inform themselves .

• Isn’t SNF the Nazi party in Sweden? Ok a different country but maybe not the best letters to pick for a new political party.

• Damocles 11/07/12 #

The BNP is also a number of political parties in Bangladesh, Pakistan, India, Bhutan, Bophuthatswana and Sri Lanka as well as being banks in Panama and France. I don’t think this keeps Nick Griffin awake at night.

• I had a read of this and thought it was good

http://www.irishdemocraticparty.ie/ideas/IDP_Platform.pdf

Has some very sensible and viable ideas

• Capitalism doesn’t work, communism oesn’t work, dictatorship doesn’t work – the markets work for an elite few; will anarchism work for the masses?

• Talk of a classless society is just pure theory. The simply fact is that class systems have existed in mankind since we became hunters gatherers thousands of years ago. In fact class systems abound all over nature especially in the higher mammals and primates. There is a class order within most animal communities and social groupings. Trying to eliminate class is forcing humans to act against their nature. It will never happen.

With regard to this article’s talk of “Organising – within our communities, in our workplaces, on the streets – is the only way that we can force our interests and concerns to the fore”, is this not the ultimate form of parish pump politics. What happens when two organised communites have different goals and ideals both of which they follow passionately? Who decides which path is to be followed and what is the “common” good? Ultimately decisions have to be made and those who lose out will always feel that their views have been ignored, irrespective of the method used to come to that decision.

Every political system has its flaws and there’s no guarantee that any replacement system for our current form of democracy would be any better that what has gone before. As for the concept of informed political activism, I don’t see it. One only has to look at comments all over the Journal to see that the majority of what passes for political debate here just ends up as name calling, insults and assertions without proof that “my party is better than yours”.

Do people really believe that we (the Irish people) as a society are capable of making decisions as a whole for the common good even if that means some of us will lose out? This is the same society that went on a ten year binge of excess because we could. And there were very few who stood aside from that despite the assertions of some today. And now this is the society that is in collective denial about what went on during that ten years. To listen to most people today you’d think there had never been a Celtic Tiger at all. Apparantly nobody did well during the Celtic Tiger bar some few top level people who are a convenient way to focus the blame and take it off ourselves.

We are the same society that has ignored countless examples of corruption, nepotism, golden circles and the like not just over the last ten years but over the last thirty to forty years because we allowed ourselves to be bought off time after time. We constantly pander to populism. During the Celtic Tiger it was the populism of being handed more and more money. In this decade its the populism of pretending that we can get out of problems without having to pay (except for some mythical “rich” who can pay for everything).

I see no evidence today to tell me that Irish society has changed in any way other than most of us are p***ed off by the fact that we are poorer. Back in the 80s we went through an awful recession and once we came out of it in the 90s and early 2000s we simply forgot all that went before. We learnt no lessons and here we are again in the mess. And in five/ten years time when we do come out of this recession we will still be the same society and we most likely will repeat the same mistakes all over again.

Add New Comment