TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Saturday 18 May, 2013

Column: Parents bringing their children to be kneecapped. Yes, this is Ireland.

Self-styled republican vigilantes are terrorising a city, writes Seamus Breslin – and perceived neglect by authorities is fuelling the fire.

Seamus Breslin

CIRCLING THE SKIES, the police helicopter alerts the public to an all too familiar scenario. With the local grapevine buzzing the word is out, yet another mutilation has been carried out, a ‘punishment’ attack. Parents are faced with what they believe to be a no-win situation: they must bring their own children to be brutally assaulted as they stand close by listening to the screams.

It is an act of barbarism that some would perhaps expect to hear about in the furthest reaches of Afghanistan carried out by the Taliban, but this is the latest form of ‘justice’ carried out here, on the streets of Derry.

What sets this attack apart from others is the forced involvement of parents, who are presented with two options: bring your child to be ‘kneecapped’, or make preparations for their funeral.

This is going to be called a city of culture but how can you call it that when there are people murdering and butchering children?

The mother of murdered Andrew Allen highlights the reality of living in Derry in recent years, as the city prepares to don the crown of UK City of Culture in 2013.

Andrew Allen became the first person executed by the ruthless self-appointed defenders of the people, Republican Action Against Drugs (RAAD), when the vigilante group gunned him down in Buncrana, Co Donegal on 9 February this year. Mr Allen’s crime was to be accused of drug dealing, a crime which this shadowy group feels merits the ultimate punishment – death. While he was never convicted of such criminality in a court of law, RAAD – acting as judge, jury, and now executioner – claim to be defending the local community from what they term “death dealers”.

‘Who are they to decide the fate of anyone?’

Who are they to decide the fate of anyone, irrespective of the alleged crime? Do they honestly believe that their warped logic provides all the answers to an endemic drug problem? Their methods failed in the past, and if the rise and frequency of the current attacks show anything, it is the failure of their strategy in the present – drugs are still widely available throughout the city.

As one recent attack showed the moral high ground adopted by this group in its stated aim of eradicating drugs from the streets is somewhat flawed to say the least. One local man, a father from a republican family of unblemished repute in the city, was instructed to produce his son for punishment. His son’s crime was not the sale of drugs, transportation of drugs, or any other involvement in the drugs trade for that matter – no, his crime was to become embroiled in a drunken bar fight standing up to a RAAD enforcer.

For this blatant act of disrespect to RAAD the young man’s father was instructed to bring him to a pre-arranged location in the city’s Bogside area in order to teach him a lesson. His father duly obliged, believing that a good ‘scare’ was all that his son would receive. Instead he was made watch as bullets were pumped into each of the young man’s legs. RAAD’s remit was seemingly changing; no longer content with eradicating drugs, it now appeared that they would also eradicate any form of dissent.

Northern Ireland’s Deputy First Minister Martin McGuinness has called for people to come forward with information to the PSNI to have the group’s members arrested and jailed; a call previously made by former Provisional IRA hunger striker, Sinn Fein MLA Raymond McCartney, at a recent rally in the city against RAAD’s actions.

‘The blood lust shows no signs of abating’

With a reported 200 young people expelled from Derry alone by the group and more than 50 maimed in punishment-style attack s such as kneecappings, the blood lust of the group shows no signs of abating. In fact, following recent public displays of protest at Derry’s Guildhall Square by various politicians, community workers, and members of the public the group dismissed those taking part and stated that no amount of street protest would divert them from their current course.

Community worker Michael Doherty of the Peace and Reconciliation Group has urged young people not to come for pre-arranged punishment shootings. RAAD now appear to operate an appointment system for their attacks. In recent months two individuals have been shot in the legs, having been brought to a pre-arranged location by their distraught parents, fearful that their sons may very well become the next Andrew Allen. Mr Doherty has stated that some people are opting to take a “flesh wound” in the legs rather than having to uproot families and move away.

One question which appears to vex local people in Derry is the fact that RAAD are not even a proscribed organisation – which itself begs the question, why not? The common feeling is that, unlike other ‘dissident’ republican groups, they offer no threat to the security apparatus of the state as their sole reason d’être is to ‘eradicate the scourge of drug dealers’.

It would be a sad indictment on the PSNI if this were in fact to be the case, as at a local level there is still a suspicion that the police care little for nationalist working class areas, and prefer to leave them to their own devices. It is in such conditions that groups like RAAD indeed tend to thrive, drawing what little support they have from the cynics who believe vigilantism offers the only form of true justice in the absence of effective policing.

Add to this failure of certain political parties to ‘rein in’ errant members and former comrades who lend passive support to the vigilantes and the cycle of degradation and violence will inevitably continue. It is with this in mind that RAAD has attempted to exert influence across the north-west of Ireland.

‘Not in our names’

By not confining its attacks to Derry alone, as the murder of Andrew Allen shows, they have spread their tentacles right across counties Derry, Tyrone, and Donegal, thus attempting to show a broad level of support for their actions. RAAD’s actions have alienated a swathe of young people, thus giving rise to the fear of what might happen if these same people decide they’ve had enough.

What if they arm themselves and a backlash against RAAD erupts on our streets? No one doubts that drugs in our society are an issue of grave concern but education, effective drug rehabilitation programmes, and the rule of law and order are the way to tackle the problem – not the barrel of the gun.

During the economic boom disposable income was there for all to see, and it wasn’t long before the drug of choice in pubs and clubs across Derry became cocaine; the availability of the drug appeared to take everyone by surprise. The current economic climate bringing with it unprecedented levels of unemployment opens up the allure of the drugs trade to young people. Easy money and flash lifestyles appeal to those who see no hope of reaching any level of financial success through employment which offers little more than minimum wage jobs, contributing to the growing number of working poor in our cities.

But surely it would be folly to suggest that the problem stems only from the economic gloom surrounding us at the moment. As mentioned, drugs were awash in the city prior to the birth of RAAD; perhaps the lucrative profits involved are what have drawn this group to the fore.

With the frequency and ferocity of RAAD’s attacks increasing, ask anyone in Derry for their opinion and you find a common response – not in our names. As Derry tries to shake off the legacy of the troubles, which brought with it little more than anguish and misery, bombed out buildings, and a divided community, there are those who claim to love their city, the Walled City, the City of Culture – and yet by their actions ensure that its continuing legacy is that of Derry, the Feared City.

Seamus Breslin is a married father of three, and the chair of the Foyle branch of the Labour Party.

Read next:

Comments (78 Comments)

• That was a tough read. I have worked with many older Irish people in London….some of whom fled the Troubles back in the 70s and 80s. Many were threatened to leave by paramilitary forces in Northern Ireland and escaped to England with little funds and without support. I once met a man that was kneecapped, describing the scene was horrific enough….nevermind experiencing it.

Vigilantism is on the rise though, not just in NI but across Britain aswell. I hear the EDL are keen on using similar methods of force for drug dealers and other ‘social undesirables’. People look for security, and if someone perceives that they can offer this service, then they have the potential to flourish. Enormous trouble ahead if these groups are not nipped in the bud.

• A shower of knuckle-dragging morons and no mistake.

• The only reason RAAD are involved with this is so they can control the drugs for money. The same thing happened in the glass factory in ballymount with the INLA. Its all about money.

• I agree these thugs should not be going around punishing and murdering people. But do you have any proof that this organisation RAAD is linked to drugs??? have you come across any articles or stories that links them to drugs trade??

• Do I understand this, their aim is to teach/get rid of drug users/dealers from the community ? But they leave the child abusers, wife beaters, rapists, anti social misfits that terrorise old people on estates, racketeers offering protection to local business and a filthy pot of other law breakers alone. No I’m still confused here.

• Apparently RAAD are now casting their nets further to include attacks on the police and the army. These sub-humans are a threat to society as a whole and need to be eradicated. If you read about this happening in deepest darkest Afghanistan you would be horrified. To know its happening next door in a first world democracy is worrying and frightening. The local community need to help themselves by identifying these “people” to the PSNI

• im sorry this is just another paramilitary group set up with a new name and a seemingly new ethos being from n. ireland i am positive this group is very heavily involved in racketeering and drug trade and anything else they can sell on black market . Hearing that thr psni are doing a bad job gets very tired , if their hands are tied with noone helping them out i.e. witnesses and victims its time the people grouped together and came forward . and just a heads up to everyone who is discussing kneecapping as a “flesh wound ” its when these cowards shoot a bullet through the back of the knee to exit through the kneecap hence shattering the kneecap and therefore leaving the person sometimes unable to walk again not on crutches for few weeks !!!!

• My guess is some people just want to torture and kill. And they’ve found a righteous cause that allows them to justify it to themselves, the irony and hypocrisy of which seems to have sailed over their thick heads.

If they had the courage of their convictions, and more insight into how the drug ‘problem’ actually seems to work, they wouldn’t be terrorizing what seems to me to be small-time dealers. They’d go after the big fish.

Why is it ‘Republican’ action against drugs? Is it not a human issue to them first and formost? If they care about people why is it a sectarian issue? Especially one that has come so far into better peace since the horrors that lasted into the mid 90′s. I think they just want to keep their little military game going. Cowards, and psychos. Probably have no concept of the pain they are actually causing.

• As someone who lives in a city ravaged by heroin – If we could guarantee the guilt of someone – I’d have no qualms with a heroin dealer being ‘dealt with’. The problem however with groups like this is that there is no court, no trial, and only the presumption of guilt. They make no distinction between the drugs – to them, someone selling their friend a bit of weed is every-bit as bad as someone mass selling heroin.

These people complained of internment without trial (rightfully so!) – But they cannot do that, and then not afford a trial to the accused. It’s archaic, and we simply cannot take the law into our own hands like this, because ultimately – the innocent will always get hurt at some point.

• The thing is, we’ve seen knee-cappings and punishment beatings used by Republican proxy groups against drug dealers for at least 30 years. It has been no more successful than government policy in preventing drug usage.

Even taking aside the morality of the tactic, it’s a bit pointless continually trying something that doesn’t work.

• Certain paramilitary sections on both sides of the polotical divide have always used this tactic to CONTROL the drug trade both North & South. Pay them protection money and work away.

• They lost their power when the young people of Northern Ireland desert the para- militaries. This is their way of reclaiming some power by force.Like the leopard, power hungy, money hungry, criminals never change their spots

• mcbab 23/05/12 #

Heard about this happening on a programme on radio 4 last week. Bit tardy with this news journal. Not only people with drug problems who are getting shot they have only to look crooked at the wrong person. The parents are told either they show up for the punishment shooting or they will be shot in such a way that they will end up in a wheelchair. The PSNI are doing their best but the people are just too scared by these thugs. The PSNI asked them to hand over the bloodstained clothing even so they could have some evidence to work on but they are too scared to even do that. Imagine living under such circumstances. United Ireland? No thanks.

• Agreed McBab… How do you think you would feel living in that community. The PSNI are respected for their even handedness in the North now. No right minded person would support RAAD. I hope these thugs are caugfht and put away.

• Legalise recreational drugs and the problem will go away. The gangsters will be put out of business. How many times does this point have to be made?

• Jonno 23/05/12 #

Less crime, extra revenue for the state etc…. It would be the sensible way to go

• Saying “legalise drugs” and the problem will go away is stupid logic. It’s akin to proposing to reclassify cancer as a minor ailment and problem is then solved. It’s also defeatist thinking.

• John, go look up the statistics of drug use in Portugal since decriminalisation. You’ll be surprised. It works.

• @ John Wallace – Defeatist? The problem with RAAD, as horrific as it is, is only a drop in the ocean when compared with the deaths that drug prohibition has caused in countries like Mexico, Guatemala and Venezuela. In the first 9 months of 2011 just over 9,000 people were murdered in Mexico, it was higher again in Venezuela. They decapitate 20 or 30 people and then leave them strewn across the highway. All because the US don’t want to be defeatist about the war on drugs. Some price to pay for a non-defeatist attitude. Compare that with 17,000 deaths from illegal drugs, both direct and indirect, in the US for 2011 – THAT is stupid logic.

• Jonno 23/05/12 #

Of course legalizing some recreational drugs wont make the problem go away of that’s a bit naive but it Will stop a lot of crime so it would be a big step in the right direction, it’s better than putting your head in the sand and hoping for the best now isn’t it

• Possession of drugs has remained prohibited by Portuguese law, and criminal penalties are still applied to drug growers, dealers and traffickers.

The use of drugs, including the use of so-called “recreational” drugs, whatever that might mean, kill more people every year than the Mexican mafia could ever do.

Again saying legalise drugs will fix the problem is like saying reclassify cancer and the problem will go away.

• I never suggested that it would go away, and I am well aware of the situation in Portugal – the facts remain legalization and regulation are more effective than prohibition.

Look at it like this – what is the point of drug prohibition? To stop the use of illegal drugs. Has it worked? Not by any empirical measurement you can think of.

So clearly there is the need for a different approach. I don’t think anyone in the world actually believes that it is possible to live in a world where nobody uses drugs. They have always done and always will. The aim is to make it LESS dangerous. To do otherwise is to be totally unrealistic.

“The use of drugs, including the use of so-called “recreational” drugs, whatever that might mean, kill more people every year than the Mexican mafia could ever do.” – I think you’re missing the point by a long way here John. The problem with drug deaths is a lot more complicated than you are suggesting. Issues of purity, dose, set, setting, individual tolerance and preventable disease are too complex to deal with by using blanket statements.

It is the illegal nature of drugs themselves that cause the the majority of the problems. Drug prohibition has only been a legal reality for about 70 years and yet drug use has increased year on year ever since.

Anyway the point is it won’t go away but continuing the prohibition of drugs is only making the problem worse.

• For those of you who just fell out of the sky, welcome to Ireland

• The same filth seeing a spike in opinion polls down here in the South recently.

Some people just want to watch the world burn.

• Sorry David, but who is that in reference to? I don’t remember dissidents receiving spikes in opinion polls down here in recent times. You should retract that statement, or clarify it.

• Seán, I think David falls into the same category of people I was speaking about yesterday on the article about Enda Kenny being egged. The type of person that launches broad, sweeping, generalising, libelous statements without any shred of truth or evidence simply to attack a group or organisation of people. It’s lazy, rude, ignorant, and/or malicious.

David, I am not a supporter of Sinn Féin because I do not agree with their economic policies. I understand that they have a terrible past, but unlike many, I am willing to accept the fact that with the arrival of new people into organisations that those organisations can change. If this weren’t the case Fine Gael would still be an ultra-Conservative, right-wing, homophobic party directly linked to murderers and terrorists. A young friend of mine joined Sinn Féin 2 years ago. He’s 21. He has only been to Northern Ireland on three, maybe four, occasions. He has never even so much as been involved in a schoolyard fight, never mind any other bad behaviour. Are you seriously calling him filth?

• Surely the title should read “yes this is Northern Ireland

• doesnt matter whether they’re catholic or prodestant for the IRA or for the INLA or the UDP or the PSNI – THEY the “raad” – should be shot themseleves. who in their right mind would let their child be kneecapped and not go to the police – are ye all fecking mad or what! seriously, with all the problems ireland has been through, now we gotta be afriad of our own? self styled mafia – congrats ireland – when the rest of the world has had enough and is trying to bring this type of thuggery to justice – we’ll take them in – are they all fecking ejits or what? not the stupid gang – the parents, the members of society, the community!

• Very interesting article and it seems the people of the NW are just replacing one shower of leeches with another, albeit a cheaper method for the latter.

You see, the current setup is very bad value for money…

Case in point: Drug dealer hires a taxi to move stash from one town to another, the taxi driver charges €40 for his service. Drug dealer pays €100 for the taxi, refusing the €60 change. He holds up his bag and shows the taxi driver it claiming he had €2000 made on it and warns the taxi driver to shut up about it and to turn up same day next week.
    This goes on for months… 5 months in fact. The dealer has made around €40,000 for this work alone. Low and behold the Gardai finally bust his operation and up to court with the dealer. Our fantastic judiciary see fit that the dealer gets a €500 fine and free legal aid, but he is then let back onto the streets to continue on.

Conclusion: Our justice system is failing us and by Jesus is our justice system a pricey little operation. Tot up the wonderful Judges wages, plus pension contributions, tot up the free legal aid costs, tot up the clerks fees and their pension contributions… and so on that operate in making sure that “justice” is being applied to those who break the law… then ask yourself “is that good value for money” ask yourself “when the government take savage amounts of money from me in taxes, either directly or indirectly – is this worth it?” NO

Now you might understand why these groups are beginning to take hold.

As further cutbacks take place to policing (front line… don’t worry there will never be cut backs to legal aid, court clerks etc…) there will be more of an appeal for RAAD like groups… the comments above already show the softening of attitudes towards this.

• Kneecapping drug dealers is as pointless as imprisoning them. Lock one up, two more take his place.
    You need to take the profit potential out of drug dealing. Make the drugs available to the addicts for a nominal fee at the pharmacy, along with the delivery mechanism if needed. This eliminates the profit, reduces the cost of enforcement, eliminates robbery to raise cash for drugs and, sorry to say, steals the moral thunder from the RAAD. They could always find work in the financial services sector.

• Aleo 23/05/12 #

May the sadistic thugs of RAAD and similar groups very soon find no loyalty from any family or community on this island.

• I think killing drug dealers is wrong, no one has the right to take a life but as regards expelling them from their city i have no problem with that. I believe our children have to be protected from these creeps who would feed them drugs with no regard for their lives. Many a parent has lost a child because of these drug dealers so expelling them is a very lenient form of punishment ,I believe a lot of people while not sympathetic to RAAD certainly feel no sympathy to the drug dealers being expelled.

• I live in a northside suburb… 4 gardai one car…. If I report dealing near a local playground…. No one shows up.
    I don’t agree with raad but can understand their sentiment.
    But the so called parents who let their underage kids de in the first place…
    If my kids would commit such a crime I would hand them into the gardai myself… Not let it escalate to this

• Even if their sentiment was what you think it is, I wouldn’t agree with their tactics. However, their sentiment is far more likely to be a mafia-like protection of their own drug-dealing businesses than any wish to remove drugs from the streets of stroke city.

• Tom, you clown. Are you from Derry, of course not. I am , and dont equate RAAD with the Dublin drug gangs that are only in it for the money. The police will not tackle RAAD because they are not attacking them or security forces and they turn a blind eye to their activities because they are stopping the drug dealers and are only hurting their own people. They are not into drug dealing you fool and. They are a breakaway group from the IRA. your mafia-like protection crap is the usual ignorant drivel we hear from people like you havn`t got a clue what goes on up here.

• It’s a bit rich of Seamus Breslin to call on Sinn Féin to “reign in” former comrades. They’ve called on the group to disband and have backed the PSNI. What more does he want them to do precisely? Is he advocating some sort of other action?

Anyway, I’m sure some members of RAAD are former members of the OIRA: The armed wing of the Workers Party which merged with his own Labour Party!

People in glass houses.

• I can’t wait to see the Radical Action Group Against Paedophiles, rapists, thugs that terrorise the elderly in their homes, oh sorry there is no profit in that, I forgot…..

• Seamus, have you ever been in Derry. what party do you belong to????

• Between a son dead of a heroin overdose or a son who has to go on crutches for a few months, it is not much of a choice.

The real issue here, is that it has come to this.

• I can’t believe the apologists commenting here. RAADs intentions are irrelevant, whether it’s to eliminate dealers, or control the drug trade. They are unaccountable, can change their intent and criteria in the morning. No-one is safe. That’s why society has laws, to protect us from both dealers and thugs like this.

• First they came for the communists,
      and I didn’t speak out because I wasn’t a communist.

Then they came for the trade unionists,
      and I didn’t speak out because I wasn’t a trade unionist.

Then they came for the Jews,
      and I didn’t speak out because I wasn’t a Jew.

Then they came for me
      and there was no one left to speak out for me.

Martin Niemöller

• A misleading headline that is an exemplar of gobshittery. “Column: Parents bringing their children to be kneecapped. Yes, this is Ireland.”

It would correctly read “Yes, this is the United Kingdom.

When there is any thing bad to said it has to be Irish.

• Gearóid, in some parts of Dublin holders of Polish passports outnumber Irish. The article should have asked “what is wrong with the United Kingdom that its citizens want to blow up other citizens of the United Kingdom, kneecap others and burn London down”. Londonderry is part of the United Kingdom and if you disagree then her majesties forces will pay you a visit in the middle of the night!

• What do you expect with not enough gardai around. People feel unprotected. If I hear of two burglars whose arms got broken (“hold your arm out on the wall”) after robbing the third house in a street…. Serves them right…. HOWEVER to do this in cold blood… I don’t know…
    Getting rid of drugs = Getting rid of antisocial behaviour.
    The parents can whinge now… But maybe they should have raised their kids better.

• “Getting rid of drugs = Getting rid of antisocial behaviour”

Are you also promoting the eradication of alcohol and its sale? As this is one of the most harmful drugs by any measure you care to cite, whether it be anti-social behaviour, cost to health, cost to the country in terms of healthcare (throw tobacco in there also). The same people who complain about drug use are often the same ones to be found pickling their livers and setting a horrendous example to the youth of today…..oh, but of course that’s legal, so it must be OK.

• There definetly too few guards in Derry

• Yippee 27/05/12 #

Close to zero guards in Derry for some reason.

• Reads like a Daily Mail rant- note to self The Journal: Be More Objective. Must Try Harder.

• I don’t want needles near a playground. Nevermind the smoking ban… My kids are passively smoking weed outside (I am not against weed but use it at home)
    Don’t say anything cause you will get threatened.
    Yes some people seem to enjoy playing vigilante…. That does not take away from the fact that some young teenagers are completely out of control cause their parents did and sometimes still do not care.
    Would you let your kids play with kids whose parents use drugs.
    In 10 years I better not find that now still innocent kid push drugs himself…. If the parents don’t.. the state and gardai don’t…. Well

The state is now hunting vigilantes…. Where if they would have been hunting criminals and prosecuting them we would not have (the need for?) vigilantes

• Stephen in the context of this article your avatar is wholly inapproprite.

• What political party is he referring to that hasn’t reined them in?

• Obviously that’d be Sinn Fein. Call a spade a spade.

• That’s what I assumed. He should have named them. There’s apparently 21% of people here in support of this party mentality, operating outside the law. They need to hear what they do “in their name”…

• I think it was unfair of him to imply Sinn Fein like that. Notice the author himself is in the Labour Party. Implying a rival party like that looks to me like nothing more than a dig at the opposition, while not naming them looks like he’s got not actual proof that Sinn Fein is in a position to rein them in. Ever since Sinn Fein denounced violence a lot of these dissident groups aren’t under their influence anymore.

• How much of this is factual? It reads like an opinion piece and it’s by a TD. I don’t doubt that atrocities take place up north but don’t believe the PSNI don’t know who/what type of gang the RAAD are, and that they are just letting them get on with it. Given all that has happened I would of thought this type of vigilantly would have been eradicated pretty quickly for fear of something elce spawning from it.

• Hi Ryan, thanks for your comment. Just to clarify that this IS an opinion piece, though if you follow the links you’ll find news reports backing up some of the statements. And Seamus Breslin isn’t a TD, although he is a member of the Labour Party as stated in his byline. Thanks!

• mcbab 23/05/12 #

This is totally factual Ryan. Just because if doesn’t suit you doesn’t make it not true.

• Ever watched Dexter? Perhaps you liked it? Anyway, there is a good reason why people approve it. I know, they approve it – it’d hard to watch how your own children die because of heroin.

Ireland among worst for drug deaths: http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2011/0623/breaking53.html

• Understandably, people want to tackle the drugs problem and being quite honest, the rehabilitation and prevention methods in Ireland are not up to the mark. Feeling safe and secure in your own community is paramount. But in no way, shape or form can vigilantism be promoted as a viable alternative to the law. Going back to my original point, lots of young people from Northern Ireland that fled to Britain in the 70s fell into an even worse situations than what they left (drug abuse, drink, mental issues etc)….these groups did not (and still do not!) eradicate the issue by using brutal force…unless killing people is some folks way of dealing with this.

• I would agree that methods these groups are unacceptable but I would refrain from total condemnation, I know how damaging could be to have a drug user in you family. He or she will drink you dry while you watch his adventures through dirty streets, psychiatric units, hospitals, prison cells and then final strike – killing himself either by overdose or suicide.

• I know what you’re saying. Looking back almost a year ago from the riots when vigilantes were out on the streets protecting the community, many felt that they were the only option in seeking security for homes and businesses because the police simply hadn’t enough resources. The case for vigilantism is a strong one once a crisis comes to a head. But d’ya honestly think that someone so addicted and in despair looking for their next hit will actually take much heed of a kneecap? When they’re already going through hoops to find that hit, hurting the ones they love and having so little respect for themselves?! People have little fear at that stage. Seriously, it doesn’t….rehabilitation of the physical and mental addiction is the only way, not brutal force. Thats just my observation now.

• This “Republican Action Against Drugs” is a farce. It is simply making sure that no small-time dealers exist to compete with this own drug-dealing operations.

• /this/ /their/

• Are you for real? It is such ignorance that enables these hypocritical sub-human thugs to prosper and continue with their misguided agenda. Your response is simplistic and naive on so many levels that it’s hard to know where to start.

Firstly, not all drugs are heroin or are so damaging to the individual or the community. In fact the two most damaging drugs in terms of both health and cost to the health system (and antisocial behaviour in the case of alcohol) are both legal, namely alcohol and tobacco. So are you also going to condone the beating and shooting of chain smokers and alcoholics? Perhaps the burning down of pubs and tobacconists?

Secondly, it has been proved time and time again that prohibition does not work, nor does the threat of sanctions, whatever form they may take.

Thirdly, who gives these people the right? They are hardly model citizens and has been said by others, this is often an action to protect their own patch. The case of the guy being shot for arguing with one of these cowardly muppets says it all.

Fourthly, what about when these people get the wrong guy? It has happened on many occasions. I suppose that’s just collateral damage in your book is it?

Fifthly, what about when these actions go wrong and the victims (for that is what they are) end up bleeding to death? You consider the death penalty appropriate?

I could go on, but what’s the point? Ignorance breeds violence and hatred, creates huge problems and solves absolutely nothing.

• You need therapy.

• angryzes 24/05/12 #

Sure, I see some of the commenters do not understand what I mean. I mean that problem on the other side – drug use problem is huge and extreme reaction like that is just an indication that it’s growing in all possible directions. Most of you, thanks God, are not parents or members of family of heroin users and of course do not support violence. And there are better solution to this problem – these anti drug activists should legalise themselves and work with police. Their knowledge of the criminal world and police with absolutely legal power to remove drug dealers from the streets could make huge difference.

• angryzes 24/05/12 #

Just an example, in Russia there is a group called “City without drugs”. They buy drugs from the drug dealers, film it on tape and then give this information to police. No need to shoot anyone. The also help drug users to rehabilitate. It was found that it is very efficient method.

• Wake up, the Provos brought the heroine to the streets in the first place,this is about deciding WHO sells it, not if it’s sold or not, it’s a turf war in the guise of a purge, dose ” concerned parents against drugs ” ring any bells, alarm bells maybe,

• Title is a bit misleading. It’s not like the parents are bringing children to be kneecapped, it’s more they are bringing them for a bit of a scare and the people doing the scaring go a bit overboard.

• censored 24/05/12 #

Meanwhile, in the Republic the Labour party is doing such a good job.

Add New Comment