TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Column: Pity Kevin Cardiff – he never signed up for public scrutiny

Cardiff’s humiliation at the EU was a rare example of political transparency – something our civil servants are far from familiar with, writes Aaron McKenna.

Aaron McKenna

YOU HAVE TO feel sorry for poor old Kevin Cardiff all the same. So few of the individuals responsible for ramming our economy into the iceberg are brought forward to public scrutiny. For those who are the public focus of attention, the ire and Schadenfreude is all the more pronounced and intense.

Brian Cowen, Brian Lenihan, Fianna Fáil et al have felt the burning of public rage since the collapse came. But they’re politicians who live and die by the sword in public performances. It’s a part of their contract, if you will.

Kevin Cardiff never signed up to such a thing as public scrutiny. He’s a career civil servant with 27 years of toil in the Department of Finance, going back to the reign of Garret Fitzgerald. He is a member of the permanent government that operates above and beyond politics, and largely above and beyond even the paltry standards of transparency and accountability we see elected officials held to.

Oh sure Kevin Cardiff, as accounting officer for the Department of Finance, has to show up to parliamentary committee meetings. But his performances in parliament following the lack of accounting finesse in tracking the national debt showed us only naked contempt of the elected officials he was facing, hubris around his own performance, and no sense of sincere contrition whatsoever.

The backlash this created is likely what may have put paid to his run at a job on the European Court of Auditors. One German MEP described the unprecedented number of emails from Irish citizens demanding that Cardiff be rejected for the job.

‘One of those rare alignings of the stars’

This present saga is the result of an unusual confluence of events. One of those rare alignings of the stars: a publicly aired government screw-up and a transparent exercise in accountability outside of Irish political control.

First, the DoF miscalculated Ireland’s debt by €3.6 billion, the error having been noticed but not rectified over a long stretch of time. As Cardiff rightly says, nobody’s cash was really lost. But this showed up the DoF as a little bit less than competent. No matter, it wouldn’t be the first time. The Irish people are used to rolling their eyes in regular disappointment at the State.

Then Cardiff came before an Oireachtas committee and got thick with our elected officials while the cameras were rolling. No matter, he wouldn’t be the first person to come before such an inquiry and scoff in their faces. Chairman of then-nationalised Anglo Irish Bank, Alan Dukes, laughed at parliamentarians while repeatedly refusing to answer questions they asked of him.

Then Cardiff came before an EU committee to scrutinise his application to the Court of Auditors. No matter, said the Government and political commentators, he’ll be nodded through like almost everyone we pack off to Europe. Except, well, MEPs are a strange bunch for parliamentarians as we know them: they made a decision based on doubts about poor performance.

‘Yes to Cardiff, Yes to…’

(No matter, incidentally, says Labour MEP Proinsias de Rossa: The committee vote didn’t give the result we wanted, so we’ll ignore that and continue blithely onwards and upwards to the next vote. It almost sounds familiar. Yes to Cardiff, Yes to…)

Well what do you know it, we’ve got more democratic mileage out of German MEPs than Irish TDs were able to give us – Cardiff’s record publicly scrutinised and then rejected as unsuitable for a senior financial role in the public service (of the EU).

The entire process of Cardiff’s application to the court is a pole apart from how we appoint our senior civil servants who, ultimately, have great influence on the running of the State.

His CV and application form were made public, allowing us a good look for the first time at the qualifications of the man who runs the department with most sway over our lives.

His personal reasoning as to why he should hold the job in the EU was laid down. He listed, incidentally, key achievements in being central to our banking guarantee, the establishment of Nama, the bank bailouts and the eventual entry of the EU/ECB/IMF into Ireland. To some minds that may (just about may) make him qualified to run a Cash and Carry (with no disrespect intended to Cash and Carry managers).

Discussing the main features of sound financial management culture in any public service, he said without any apparent hint of irony that “there should be a determination to ensure financial regularity, with robust and efficient internal control and review systems in place.” Well done Kevin, that’d win you full marks in an exam.

‘Onwards the machine trundles’

There are many more Kevin Cardiffs out there, by which I mean senior and up-and-coming career civil servants who exist in an opaque world alien to mere mortals. We know that the State fails to live up to expectations on a daily basis, be it the Department of Education not knowing how many children are taught in prefabs or by fully qualified teachers; the Department of Social Protection not being able to means-test a benefit to ensure the needy get it and the well off don’t; or the Department of Health failing to protect children in HSE state care.

Yet, we rarely see the individuals responsible. And we never see them held accountable. And onwards the machine trundles. Departments fail. Their chiefs retire on six-figure pensions in their 50s. Rinse. Repeat.

Transparency and accountability go hand in hand with efficient and good government. The reason is simple and plain: When we can see who screws up and why, and they are subsequently held accountable and their organisation visibly changed, it incentivises the prevention of future screw-ups.

It’s high time that our permanent government is dragged into the light. It’s just a pity, the cynic in me says, that the transient government would fear doing it, lest they too be held to the same account.

A comfortable system.

Aaron McKenna is Managing Director of the online electronics store Komplett.ie.

Read next:

Comments (35 Comments)

• There are over 180 000 excellent reasons (plus expenses) why Kevin Cardiff should be subject to our scrutiny.

• Hold on a minute. Kevin Cardiff has not even been held to account! He just didn’t get a promotion immediately after the exposure of the error in his dept. What planet are we on here? The European MEPs are the only ones holding the view that he should not receive a promotion immediately after a 3bn plus error and throughout it all, our taoiseach is playing the “poor Kevin” card. It’s like a 2011 version of “yes minister”

• Think you’ve really hit the nail on the head with that article, Aaron. Poor Kevin indeed…it must have been an awful shock to him to be held accountable for his actions..sure Rody-friend of biffo was doing an outstanding job at fas until some bloody gutter snipe started asking questions and ruining it all!!

• Paid hit the nail on the head. We have every right to scrutinise this guy. If you hold a directorship or managerial role in the private sector and you were blessed enough to receive a package even remotely in the region that Cardiff had it comes with accountability for your actions. His lack of oversight in his dept is his responsibility and his fault. The book stops with him and that responsibility is accounted for in his salary. Lack of accountability has done awful damage to Ireland and still continues with Enda & Co continuing to push this guy for the job. Great to hear that Irish people contacted the German MEP to express their opinion. Hopefully she forwarded the E-Mails to Enda!

• He may not have signed up for the public scrutiny but surely such a position demands it?

• His ridiculously large salary and expenses I’m sure cushion the poor dear…word of advice Mr Cardiff…if ya don’t want to be scrutinsed don’t screw up!

• Kevin Cardiff may not have signed up for scrutiny but he got well paid to do the job (€180,000) maybe if he had done his job correctly there would be no need for intense scrutiny. Alas this intense scrutiny means nothing, no accountability, only the little people pay for the mistakes of the ruling class.
    After all he is our PUBLIC SERVANT.

• Correct me if I’m wrong… but did he not not recently tell a Dail committee that he was heading of to a ‘cushy’ number in Europe. If thats his attitude…ha ha karma dude!!

• Are some commentators (perhaps) missing the irony of the ‘pity Kevin Cardiff’?

• Yup. Great article. I would love to see him held accountable.
      Infact what I want to see is a people controlled government.
      Get a decent website together where we can all input our ideas and vote on them. Laws could be passed in a matter of days this way.

Also why the hell do we pay our politicians? They should not be paid. Anyone who wants to represent the people should do so on their spare time after work. So they have an idea what the real world actually is.

• @jamie, nice to see someone looking for solutions for a change, though I don’t think it’s as straightforward as a website. Local government should have more power and our taxes should mainly be used locally. The closer those spending our money are to the people who give up the money, the better. Then people would take local government more seriously, and be focussed on solutions rather than just venting on this and other websites…

• He’s been paid handsomely out of the public purse so yes he should be subject to public scrutiny, but Enda and the boys are looking even worse for continuing to foist him on Europe.Take a hint lads. Ironic that he should get more criticism for the double counting of the 3.6 billion than his role in the rushed banking guarantee decision…

• One of the most well written articles for the ‘Read me’ section of this site! .

And.No Aaron, your subtle wit and irony wasn’t lost on this humble slave to the economic woes of this country.

Your less than impassioned pleas for sympathy for these back-biting, self serving toadies who lick up to their political masters of the day in the hope of promotion to higher office based not upon their ability or expertise but on the level of Sir Humphrey like sycophantic attention they can lavish was obvious. I’m reminded of the fawning courtiers of the Palace of Versailles and we know how that lot ended up!

So in my mind they are escaping well (so far) with a bit of slagging off.

• just because there are other too blame too, doesn’t that this guy shouldn’t be scrutinized and promoted

• I have some sympathy for Kevin Cardiff as I agree he didn’t sign up for public scrutiny- however, overall I think he should be rejected for the job. He was part of some crazy decisions & clearly gave some dodgy advice. I’m actually surprised he was put forward for the eu job- are they rewarding him or trying to get rid of him? Quite a fianna fail move in my opinion!

• Love the photo – says it all really, from a half assed corrupt little country who want to put an idiot who was asleep at the wheel during the tiger and losing 3.odd billion. Great for our reputation – and for the pissants who promote him. The only people who might really want this fool as an auditor are the private sector who are clients of the CAB!

• Good article but I disagree with a couple of things. Anyone who lists the bank guarantee, nama and the arrival of the troika as their achievements isn’t qualified to run a C&C, I wouldn’t let them run a knees up in a brewery. He may not personally have been responsible for the “found” €3.6bn but as head of the department he holds ultimate responsibility, that is why he gets paid the ridiculously high salary. In any normal democracy he’d have fallen on his sword and resigned by now, in Ireland he gets nominated for a promotion. Thankfully UKIP and the other MEPs managed to vote against him and stop it. That FG/Lab are still persisting in foisting an inept candidate on the people of Europe in such an important oversight position shows their complete contempt of democracy.

• Hmm, looks like I’m in the minority here!

• Let us remember: our public service looked greedily at the wages being earned in the private sector at the height of our boom and wanted parity. Our muppet government said: no problem – benchmarking – one of the greatest swindles ever subjected onto the Irish taxpayer (before the bailout!). OK so you’ve got parity, now learn how to live in parity with the private sector: you can’t have just the upside; you are accountable and fireable and downgradable. If you take the premium for parity you also pay the downside price.
    Same applies to unsecured bondholders: they took a premium to achieve higher interest in return for greater risk/less security. Why should they then end up with the same level of security as secured bondholders but having been paid higher interest for the supposed higher risk?
    Any government who fails to apply the natural consequences of the above is guilty of gross failure in their fiduciary duty to the country and the taxpayers. Let’s call it now – simples!

• very good article Aaron McKenna

• Yea he’s a piece of work alright

• As I said earlier. I know for a fact thate Dof deliberately downplayed income during the boom and no doubt they deliberately downplayed the availability of funding during the bust. They do this to prevent ministers in other Depts from asking for funding for their projects in a boom or to depress demands for a reduction in cuts during a bust. They would rather be called fools than allow us discuss the reality. I am sure Cardiff informed the Min Fin who in turn informed the govt who decided to suppress the existence of the 3.6bn. They support him because he supported them. If they do not then it is possible, but not probable, that he will blow the whistle on them.

• They want him out of the DoF, have obviously promised that job to some pal of mick noonan. Another political appointment of an another clown.

• I wonder how many morons are employed in the DoF???…Of course they too are politically appointed so must vote for the main parties…..Ohhhh!! God Allah or whoever is “up there” take pity on us!!!…the Dep. of Finance should be scrapped….don’t U wonder why good intelligent people like George Lee..David McWilliams or Constantine Gurgiev & there are many more good economists that can speak ENGLISH to us are not appointed to that Dept…..my mind boggles!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• BTW there is a protest march on saturday from the Garden of Remembrance against the austerity measures ,

• Just wondering, now just wondering. If one was going for interview for Cardiff”s job in the DoF and it was highlighted at the interview that you had ‘lost’ €3.6Billion the week before in your current position…………on a scale of 1 to 10 just what would be the chances of getting the job ?

• There are many others in our society whose work and actions deserve public scrutiny, and the media would be very high on that list.
    It is good to see what is being exposed in the Leveson Inquiry in London at the moment…a press without scruples, morals or a shred of compassion or decency being exposed.
    They sit in judgement on others, often not too bothered by the veracity of what they write, and caring little for the damage they do.

Kevin Cardiff should be subject to fair scrutiny. But I have absolutely no interest in the opinions of the journalists and columnists who use the public interest as an excuse for their weasel words used to inflict as much damage as possible.

• They got in in time with the Croaker (how apt!) Agreement John

• Excellent article. People, departments, companies, civil servants and politicians will always make mistakes. Some should rightly be career-ending (Biffo), some should lead to criticism and others…, well, let’s face it, most of our own mistakes go unnoticed by anyone other than ourselves.

Should Mr Cardiff be criticised for his department’s failing? Yes. Should a civil servant be subjected to the court of public ridicule? No, that should be reserved for elected officials. Should his career be ended? A life’s work for a mistake – not gross misconduct, probably not even gross negligence, just a mistake? No, he should not. Have a little compassion.

• Hi Hot Toddy,

And who in the Government or in any of the public service Depts has any compassion for

the mortgage holders who cannot pay their mortgages,
      the old age pensioners who had their christmas bonus cut last year
      the children who are taught in some classrooms that are so sub standard that no politician or civil servant(bar a teacher) would work in them
      the pensioners who have had a levy put on their pensions
      the people lying on trolleys in hospitals areound the country
      the children who were meant to be in the care of the state and have vanished

the list is endless. I have run out of compassion for somebody who has only to face ridicule or criticism.

• Orion 24/11/11 #

@ Hot Toddy

He sat there and did nothing about the reckless policies of the banks? Did he attempt to stop their reckless behavior? I think not. He was in a position of power for years and did nothing about it!! He didnt stop anybody breaking rules when it was his job to. He shouldnt be anywhere near the EU after displaying such an awful lack of competence!

• Great article but no I don’t feel sorry for Mr Cardiff, he may not have signed up for public scrutiny when he joined the civil service 20 odd years ago but as he Rose through the ranks to were he was overseeing this countries economic collapse and then to have the nerve to sight bringing in the IMF or setting up NAMA as an achievement on his CV gets me, what’s worse is he thought he was good enough for the job himself in the first place. That shows real arrogance!!
    P.S there are plenty of hard working public service workers out there, it’s the high ranking ones that need to be made more accountable for their actions and open to new ideas, that’s what I thought we elected this government to do. More fool me!

• howzat 26/11/11 #

Nice article

• Brilliant, Mr Aaron McKenna! Thank you for putting into words what I have been thinking since the news of the ‘found’ billions first broke! What dumbfounded me was that it was being played down so much…every reference to the lost/found money was made to sound like: ‘Whew, at least we don’t owe that amount’…and then slide along to another news topic. Obvious that everyone in the media was warned to do just that!!! Then – to add insult to injury it’s being shoved in our faces that Kevin Cardiff is worthy of the EU job AND has our government’s full backing. Kevin Cardiff wasn’t phased in the least by any of the publicity..almost like he’d been brainwashed into believing nothing untoward had happened on his watch. I am ashamed that it took the objective, sound view of the German MEPs’ – in response to a torrent of furious concerned Irish people demanding that he be rejected – to conclude that he was not fit for such a job! Joy, perfect joy..there is a God!….

Add New Comment