TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Sunday 26 May, 2013

Column: TDs’ pensions should reflect Ireland’s economic reality

Politicians are just the same as other public servants – and their expenses should be reduced in line with the sacrifices being made across the country, writes Sarah O’Neill.

Sarah O'Neill

RECENT DISMAY OVER former Taoiseach Bertie Ahern’s decision to claim his full pension of €150,000 despite offering it as a ‘gift’ to the state, has highlighted how out-of-touch our political representatives’ pension entitlements are from the context of austerity which has infiltrated all other sectors of society.

The International Parliamentary Standards Authority (IPSA) in the UK, an independent regulatory body tasked with determining British politicians’ wages and entitlements following a series of expenses scandals, is currently conducting a review of the final salary pension scheme, which entitles MPs to claim around €35,205 annually after 20 years of service. The chairman of IPSA, Sir Ian Kennedy stated that the current UK system is “expensive to the taxpayer and out of kilter with the modern idea of where public sector pensions should be”.

As recommended by the report issued by the Oireachtas Committee of Public Accounts in November last year, Ireland desperately needs to establish an independent commission to oversee TD expenses and allowances. However this body should operate like IPSA in the UK and go further than the recommendations of the report and include a mandate to evaluate the pension entitlements of our elected officials.

How much is each TD entitled to?

Each TD receives a salary of €92,672 and each TD’s (or Senator’s) basic pension is calculated by dividing their salary by 40 and multiplying it by their number of years service, capped at 20 years.

On top of a basic pension, each TD  and Senator is entitled to claim a once-off, non-taxable ‘Pension Lump Sum’ equivalent to three times their annual pension, upon retirement.

Any member who has served for more than 6 months in the Dáil or Seanad is entitled to a Termination Lump sum equivalent to two months salary. For a TD, this figure translates to €15,445.

These entitlements amount to an annual pension of €46,336 and retirement lump sum of €139,008  for a TD who has served for 20 years.

Furthermore, if a TD has served longer than three years, they are entitled to claim a maximum of 12 monthly ‘Termination Payments’ calculated according to number of years of service and amounting to up to a maximum annual payment of €57,920 for anything over and beyond 14 years service. A Deputy’s annual pension only officially begins after this year.

TDs and Senators who began their term in office before 1 April 2004 which includes Deputy Joan Burton, Deputy Simon Coveney and Taoiseach Enda Kenny among many others, are entitled to retire and draw their pension once they reach 50. Those who were elected after this time must wait until they turn 65.

Ministerial pensions

Although those with ministerial responsibilities receive no lump sum upon retirement, the Taoiseach, Tánaiste, Ministers, Ministers of State and other Ministerial positions – ie Ceann Comhairle, Leans Cheann Comhairle, Cathaoirleach, Leas-Chathaoirleach, Attorney General and the Leader of the Seanad – are entitled to a more generous remuneration.

In addition to their TD salary, a Minister of State receives an extra €37,370, bringing their total salary to €130,042. A person with at least two years’ service in a Ministerial office qualifies for a Minister’s pension.

After serving two years in any ministerial position, a representative is entitled to claim a pension equal to 20 per cent of their annual salary upon retirement. This rate of pension increases by 5 per cent for each year of additional service thereafter up to a maximum of 60 per cent. Therefore, after 10 years serving in one of these positions, a deputy can claim a maximum annual entitlement of 60 percent of their salary upon retirement.

Furthermore, if a TD who worked in a ‘secretarial’ position such as a junior minister before being promoted to Minister of State, they are entitled to claim a full ‘ministerial’ pension for half of the time served as in the lower paid position.

Time for change

We should not expect our former representatives to decline their remuneration, instead we need to reform the system so that their entitlements are realistic within our current economic situation and in line with the sacrifices that are being made across sectors. In a climate of political distrust and economic instability, a pension scheme that exhibits such blatant incongruity from the national reality is disheartening to the morale of the Irish public and undermines citizens’ ability to tolerate the necessary sacrifices outlined in the most recent budget.

Furthermore, we must consider the impact these ludicrous entitlements have on the ability of our leaders to position themselves favourably in negotiation talks regarding a reduction in Ireland’s promissory note. How can ECB officials take seriously reports that Ireland has suffered the harsh reforms necessary and simply cannot finance further repayments when our government officials are paying themselves salaries above the European average and shamefully generous pensions?

Sarah O’Neill is a TCD student and founder of www.dailwatch.ie, a non-profit, politically neutral platform for direct, public Q&A between citizens and TDs.

Dáilwatch will be hosting a Twitterchat around Political Representation in Ireland at 12-2pm on 6 February. Join the conversation by tweeting @dailwatch #AskaTD at this time.’ To read more articles by Sarah for TheJournal.ie click here.

Read next:

Comments (59 Comments)

• Better still…it should reflect their performance in office. Half them would starve.

• Bertie getting ?150,000 PENSION PER YEAR IS A DISGRACE. A SUPERLEVY FOR ALL GETTING ASTRONOMICAL PENSIONS.

• Also, you shouldn’t get a pension for life for 5 years work, only for full working life, so say 4/5 terms.

• We elected these monkies and they gave themselves the pensions they think they deserve… Bertie must be on as much as most serving prime ministers of most western counteries…

Close those to hospital wards to pay bertie pension
    Close those garda stations to pay serving ministers pay and pensions…

Its a great country this ireland

• I haven’t even read this article because I know my blood pressure would go through the roof, if I did.

• Say no to those receiving full pension at age 50. There is no excuse for such outlandish preferential treatment. Look like the worse you do your.job the more you get rewarded.

• I got halfway through the article and had to stop reading.
    Small wonder they lie and decieve in order to get their arses onto the gravy train.
    As a poster said “if they got paid on productivity they would starve”.
    Greedy shower of leeches.

• The article is dominated by the word entitlement. this is wrong when they themselves decided on their entitlements and certainly most have not earned it or deserve it based on results. This includes even those that were in opposition during the boom

• Dream on . That’s one reform that won’t happen in our life time .

• kmccaul 30/01/13 #

In real terms, all ex officios are hugely overcompensated with pension payments.
    Their payments reflect, looking after themselves, and increases hugely in excess of inflation.
    Nobody so far of this group has, on principle said, what we are paid is wrong. Therefore, the ridiculous pensions will remain until this generation of people pass away. This looks like the most likely outcome. I always hoped , naively, that honesty and principle would be demonstrated, though I now know that our country cannot move on, or at least trust be restored, until all the outcomes are achieved

• Its not just the grotesque pensions. Politicians have lost the moral authority to govern..its got so bad they openly admit to telling lies just to get elected, ‘its what you do during election campaigns’ and what awaits at next election? More or less the same crowd except for the gang who have run over the hill with their lump sums & gold plated pensions

• There is something very wrong with an electorate that tolerates this.

• Hang them all for treason. Pension problem solved.

• its no wonder the democratic left, sorry, the labour party renaged on reforming this. it is worth too much to them when most of their t.d.,s will be voted out the next election. enda kenny and noonan say they cant change this. there is a way, have a referendum on these pay-outs and back date them so the bastards in fianna fail are made repay their ill gotten gains. the government can make everyone else bail out the country but wont do anything to upset the bastards in the dail.

• They fooled a lot of people at the last election, posturing and pirouetting in the dail for years, accusing people of financial treason, Frankfurts way and all kinds of guff and now declaring Thats what you do at election time.
      F**k em.
      Time to demand some action has come.
      The country is full to the brim with interest groups who get their way, while ordinary joe citizen with a mortgage he cant pay, with children he cant support, parents he cant protect, job he cant rely on, life he hasnt the money to pay for and all because he works in the Private Sector.
      Public Service may be laudible but its not deserving of protection at the expense of the majority.

• A disgrace them bastards can award themselves what they want they should be answerable 2 someone double jobbing pigs teachers solicitors doctors how much money do they want.

• A good dictator for a couple of years would sort these boys and their pensions out, once and for all.

• Economic reality my A#%*e
    REALITY FULL STOP

• Surely to jasus they can live on a state pension like everyone else that worked all of their lives in Ireland. We pay them to do fook all when they are in power then to sit at home. What kind of gob shytes are we

• And turkeys should have a vote for Christmas!

• Despite all the adulation of J.F.K. that they profess, they seem to believe that he said:
    ” Ask not what you can do for your country, but what your country can do for YOU”
    Good research Sarah, its good to get that dirty washing out of the bin.

• Your JFK misquote is the motto of many Journal posters.
      Paraphrased as
      “Blame the government, blame the germans, blame everyone else but don’t blame yourself for not being prepared for a economic crash. Who’ll fix it? Not me personally, but i’ll complain alot and call everyone liars, because I’m as thick as my predicament indicates”

• We are seeing in a striking way the protection of those within the circle of privilege and the increasing impact on those outside of that circle.

Politicians, senior civil servants, regulators, quangos staffed by former civil servants, public interest directors and senior bankers are inside the protected circle. Ironically they were the people responsible for the economic devastation.

Ireland is a fundamentally unequal and unfair place. That’s a simple reality.

Fortunately for the privileged and the powerful the Irish people are not merely compliant, they are supine.

Of course we have been fooled and exploited. That’s reality. Now let’s get back to soccer, other sports, cheap cans of beer and all those other comforts which anaesthetise our pain and discomfort. If we behave well, it will only be the more vulnerable in our society who will suffer really badly.

Tug your fore locks to your lords and masters. Question nothing, accept everything and you can have an occasional impotent whinge. That is your lot.

• They shouldn’t get a penny til they are 65, that’s retirement age.

• Tom Cat 31/01/13 #

EU officials regard “our leaders” very favourably aren’t they much better than the Greek leaders getting the Irish people to refinance German and French banks.

• ”TDs’ pensions should reflect Ireland’s economic reality.”

No offence to the author but is that all that’s required now to write for the Journal? Pointing out the blatantly obvious?

Did Ireland EVER have REAL journalism?

• We should leave these golden rewards as they are.
    It is the only hope that successful educated people will ever ditch the career they have built and enter the septic world of politics.
    It is abundantly clear that there is a very loud group of aggressive keyboard warriors demanding change, but know they never have a snowballs chance of getting elected themselves. Let alone have no career to sacrifice if they did.

• Of course it should be left as it is. In order to attract liars and gombeens and the muppets that hang on their every rotten to the core word.

• So how come the Dail has such a deficit in the type of person you allude to?

• Would we not be better with a group of people who understood how to run a country and economy successfully,instead of getting in to look after sectional interests only?

• This is like the “pay peanuts, get monkeys” argument. Thoroughly debunked at this stage I’d say.

• I think this pension racket says more about us than them. I can’t imagine it’d be tolerated by any other people on earth. We were willing accessories to the heinous crimes the last few governments have committed, so technically we should all be locked up. Jumping up and down about it now will make no difference. By turning a blind eye to the acts of criminals, we helped to make them rich at the expense of our future generations.

• Your a politician . Right .

• At the rate we pay them its not monkeys we should be getting its bloody gorilla’s !!!!!!!
      Feel sick reading the article .

• Im disappointed Arb
      normally you have something constructive to say but thats just lazy

• @Norman – the deficit is because there are not enough good people getting elected, because not enough good people are putting themselves forward. True the party-politic cabal makes it appear like a closed shop in terms of who gets the machine behind them to win a seat.
      Furthermore, the general population isn’t just lazy at putting themselves forward, they are also lazy in how they vote. Whatever about being an independent, who may never get to effect actual change, there is also a deficit in people even joining political parties – if there was enough fresh blood flowing into any party they’d overrun the established power mongers or at least swing the balance into a more democratic outlook.
      I still believe a life in politics is heroic thing to choose to do with your life. Despite the too many examples we have of the starring characters in our many tribunals indicating they were solely in it to enrich themselves because the system permitted them to. There are good people in the Dail. Unfortunately they don’t form a substantial majority.

• @ Arb.
      Top post.

• agree totally
      although i would like to add that our parties are outdated and not relevant any more, what side grandad fought for should be consigned to history, you cant have new political modern thinking, theres only one politic going on and thats right of centre. we don’t have a middle nevermind a left

Add New Comment