TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Column: The Gathering should be encouraged, not belittled and criticised

This initiative is taking tourism away from the bureaucrats and returning it to the people on the ground, writes John Verling.

John Verling

THE GATHERING 2013 has begun, but it hasn’t been without its critics. Can you name an Irish project that doesn’t get a knocking? In fairness, most commentators have been positive and the small gathering behind Gabriel Byrne, has been just that – small.

What’s the idea of The Gathering? To me it’s a simple idea to try and attract more people to come to Ireland this year. The presumption is that a committee of highly trained professionals are behind it, maybe after months of ‘work-shopping’ the idea. Certainly the ordinary worker on the ground in tourism hasn’t the time to develop such grand concepts. Usually any ideas that come from Fáilte Ireland are looked on with a jaundiced eye by the hard working hospitality sector, but The Gathering has been taken differently. The simplicity of The Gathering appeals and crucially, puts projects back in the hands of locals on the ground.

Tourism

Normally Fáilte Ireland is only obvious to the tourist sector by the inane ads that pop up on TV, with some equally inane tag line. The tag-line is to be the theme for that season. Who has decided the theme or, indeed, what the theme may be, is irrelevant to the tourist sector worker. Their job is to welcome the tourist, look after them and send them on their way. All, of course, in a positive fashion. Year in, year out.

The late Páidí Ó’Sé answered criticism of his appointment to the board of Fáilte Ireland by telling how he’d been selling milk to tourists in his mother’s shop since he was ten years old. He was right of course; that’s the essence of tourism work, greeting people and serving them, just as you would your next-door neighbour. The trained, servile, non-genuine manner is annoying and I prefer that service referred to by Páidí, learned over the years. Tourists travel to Ireland for the people and the beautiful scenery, not on the back of some marketing concept.

The thing that Fáilte Ireland tends to miss is that everyone in Ireland is involved in tourism. When I say everyone, I mean everyone. From the waiter in the five-star restaurant to the guy giving directions on the side of a country road, they’re all giving an impression of a real Ireland and that attracts people here, year after year. Tourism is the lifeblood of rural communities and provides good year-round employment in our cities. The sector generates a lot of money, without which a lot of small Irish towns would be dead on their feet.

It was said at the beginning of the recession by a lot of country people that “at least we didn’t have a factory to close down”. Meaning that a lot of locals weren’t employed in the one place and therefore throwing a lot of people onto the dole if that employer closed. Tourism was a major employer in some of those areas. This continues to be the way, despite four years of recession. Emigration has returned to rural areas to take the young people again. With The Gathering, maybe those who went in the latter half of the last century can return for a few weeks and, in the process, help the current generation. There wasn’t any help for that generation at the time, maybe this time round the events of The Gathering might lead to some of the current generation having a reason to stay.

The Irish people

The Gathering 2013 is putting the ball back in our court again, taking tourism away from the bureaucrats and returning it to the people on the ground (not too sure if that was the original idea of Fáilte Ireland – they could be doing themselves out of a job). All around, the country people are organising events off their own backs and they’re getting the numbers. There are numerous trad music events, The Collins Clan Reunion, The Dingle Walking Festival and lots, lots more. That’s just from a quick glance at the next couple of weeks.

What the mainstream media and some Irish personalities abroad forget, is that the ordinary people of Ireland love organising and hosting events. They love welcoming people to their towns and villages. They love ‘the craic’ these events generate and the friends they meet or make. Yes, money changes hands, but people aren’t being shaken down. People are having fun and Ireland, both rural and urban is benefiting. The ordinary people of Ireland are doing something directly for tourists, getting up off their arses and doing it for themselves.

For that alone, The Gathering should be encouraged not belittled and criticised.

John Verling is a father of three children and is from County Cork. He writes a blog called Verlingsweek. To read more from John for TheJournal.ie click here.

PHOTOS: The Gathering kicks off with New Year’s concert in Dublin>

Column: ‘Gabriel Byrne is wrong – The Gathering is volunteerism at its best’>

Read next:

Comments (127 Comments)

• Scarr 04/02/13 #

Im cynical about this Gathering thing. I really hope it’s a success. But the hospitality sector have to do their bit and not jack up prices in order to fatten up their balance sheets. The last thing Ireland needs now are a load of tourists going back to their respective countries telling people how expensive Ireland is.

• I’m behind the idea but as you the whole idea of getting tourism increased this year and other years can be ruined by the hospitality sector getting greedy this year. I’m not sure that anything can be done about that by “locals on the ground”, you need a group with a big more impact to tackle that and unfortunately that is Fáilte Ireland.

• They are already calculating the max price they can charge— Gabriel was right, just a big shakedown.

• In retail, if you want more customers, you have a SALE. You don’t,t RAISE your prices…is tourism somehow different?

• In retail, “sales” happen when retailers are trying to shed stock before new season arrivals and/or generate income when business would be otherwise slow. The same happens in the hotel industry – have a look at the plethora of special offers in January and other “dead” months. As a country, we really ought to look more carefully at the value of tourism. We need to improve our service standards; we need to consider a range of entertainment/activites for people when the weather is bad and not assume that everyone wants to drink. we have a great and well-deserved reputation as fun, likeable people. We need to build on that. The “sure it’s grand” attitude to the quality of our accommodation, our pricing, our customer care, our public transport, our entertainment is something we ALL have to play a part in at some level.

• Post an ad in the superbowl telling every single person with Irish blood to come home for a real paddy’s day. Biggest, drunk,over emotional audience in the world. It would make ireland a kolling in one foul swoop. Expensive though

• I love this idea.. I’m heading home for a holiday in 9days…can’t wait!

• If you spot any Americans over the next 11 months grab them by the ankles, hold them upside down and shake vigorously.

• Just like any other Paddy’s day “festival.” You think there’s a country in the world where hotel rates *don’t* increase for peak season? Our duty is to provide quality service for the money we charge. It would also behove our taxi-driving comrades not to trash the country to the tourists in the back of their cabs. It’s our country: we have a duty to sell it.

• No we don’t its sold already where have you been? Sold forests sold banks sold lottery sold children sold fish sold sold sold. They gave BOI 25 billion and sold it for 2!!! wake up. The house hold charge had a barcode on it SOLD OUT.

• So we should sit on our hands? Wait for politicians – who, let’s face it, have a useless track record – to sort it out for us and we can just trundle on again, passive recipients of everything? The thing about sitting on your hands is that it gets a little difficult to hold your tinfoil helmet on.

• Gary. Have you ever traveled abroad. Have any of the people whining here ever traveled past their local post office in their life?

• Are you 7ucking serious? As much as I don’t want to answer such a stupid comment I will just to point out how idiotic your statement is. Yes, believe it or not I made it past the parish pump on a few occasions. I’ve traveled nearly all of Europe on business and pleasure, more of the latter than former. I have traveled alot of north America and again on holidays. I’ve been to north Africa, another trip in 6 weeks. I’ve been to Asia, only once but spent a month in Vietnam travelling from Ho Chi Minh to Hanoi by bus, car, bike and foot. If you want to see people really struggle try it.

I believe you are trying to suggest that travelling can open your mind, it can do and mostly does. You should travel more and open your mind then you might be able to see an old fashioned shake down for what it is.

• I still can’t help but think of it as a cynical ‘diaspora’ marketing effort, and while the idea that it is taking tourism out of the hands of bureaucrats and ‘returning it to people on the ground’ sounds compelling, it does make the entire effort seem doubly cynical, something akin to ‘big society’ tourism, where the government spend public monies on an expensive branding exercise and then ask the plebs to do all of the heavy lifting our of a sense of civic duty

• Barbara 04/02/13 #

For the Gathering to have kicked off positively in the first place. Failte Ireland should have issued The Gathering Card. Holders of this card being those Irish who did the inviting and the visitors who are returning during 2013 which guarantees favourable rates for Hotels and discounts for Tourist Attractions to make it even slightly visible that its not a complete shake down for visitors cash.

• This article starts with the plea of “Can you name an Irish project that doesn’t get a knocking?”. Maybe you should ask yourself why Mr. Verling. Could it be because we are so useless at getting things done that “Irish” has become a byword for shoddy halfheartedness? This Gathering rubbish? An embarrassment in my view, to have the sheer hard neck to base a marketing ploy on the fact that so many people have been driven out of Ireland because of useless government, massive corruption, inefficiency, a cost of “living” that is basically constitutes us being robbed blind and been driven up the wall. And now to have the balls to invite these people back? Well, very brave but the big flaw is that all those who emigrated know well just why they left here and they’ll have little desire to come back and be fleeced again. I’ll be very interested to see by the end of the year if they can say for certain that it made any more money than they spent promoting it. I doubt it.

• Amen Garrett.
      Amen.
      Trying to bill the very same people that they betrayed, betrayed to the point of where they had leave their country and their homes forever because of nothing more than corrupt politics.
      The Irony of it all.
      If the Irish Government(s) are not letting the Catholic Church Physically Rape people and their children, then they are letting Corrupt/Criminal Banks Financially/Psychologically rape them.
      Stoogeens.
      F**ing Stoogeens.

• I have no idea what this is. I live in Oz and if this is meant to bring the diaspora back home then I think it has failed miserably as I’ve never herd of the bloody thing. Can somebody please enlighten me?

• As Mr Verling says, its trying to encourage people in Ireland, and ex pats, to organise events to bring people over to Ireland, show them a great time, and send them off into the world to spread the word that Ireland is a great place to visit. Stay in touch and have a word with your relies over here as they obviously forgot to tell you! ;op

• censored 06/02/13 #

Just visualize Phil Hogan with a plastic bucket at Dublin airport arrivals. Now do you get the picture?

• Great ploy by the government. The original people would not have set foot back in Ireland. Not only the people from the famine era emigrated that was under British rule. When Ireland got its independence they gave power to a greater power “The Church”, who abused, raped and tortured have the nation of children. The people that emigrated where the lucky ones compared to the rape and mental abuse that was left behind. Dig deep into your pockets oh people of Diaspora…. The Irish government will take it gratefully …

• Fantastic piece. It is up to the people on the ground for this one. Lets be positive this once. There are people coming to see you and want to meet you. That in itself is a big social positive. We are a social nation. Lets do it collectively with our visitors.

• Exactly. Instead of waiting for those useless politicians to do it, they won’t, because they don’t know how, do it yerselves. Get yerselves out of the shit. Do something about it instead of complaining about it

• The number of red tumbs you got, Tom, shows how unwilling some people are to take any responsibility.

• Hello because we are not responsible. Where have you been? The shots are being called by a foreign gov we have lost our soverinity. We have to pay extra for a number 2!! We are not responsible and I am not owning the lies of the self confessed liars in FG or Lab. No

• Who is asking you to “own the lies of FG/Labour”??! This is about getting off your self-pitying arse and taking an active stake in your future. The politicians have proved time and again that they are a waste of space, so it is down to us to wrestle from them some control of the furture. Snap out of it!

• Aleo48 04/02/13 #

Keep your insults to yourself, Chris.

• 90% of the Gathering is being organized by people from local communities who came together and are working together to improve their areas, bring in tourists, keep jobs. Many of the whiners probably still live with ma and da. All this fake sanctimony about concern for tourists etc. Ireland as a tourist destination has a great reputation internationally and is recommended because you can get great value accommodation here.. Some of you might not like that, think that Paddy isn’t knowing his place etc but they are the people who are only happy bringing every one else down with them. The type that vote for someone because ” he fixshed de road”.

• censored 06/02/13 #

So the “whiners” live with ma and da, or is it that they have never made it “past the post office”?

Do you have anything useful to contribute yourself or are you just here to insult people?

• I posted this comment the other day and I still sticking to it. I have extended family in usa canada and uk. Talk this year of everyone meeting up for a week in july… about 25 people. I was contacted as I keep in touch with all these folk and asked for ideas. I have persuaded everyone to head for london. More to do and better value for money. Also the thought of leaving custom to my local hotels… no way. The same dirty shower who will deliberately employ eastern European staff while loads of locals applied for and got refused jobs. And before any smart asses start about lazy Irish I know plenty of young people who were desperate for jobs last summer, including family members, but no it was all staff from abroad. I looking forward to the big family catch up… but it wont be in Ireland.

• Paul 04/02/13 #

Maybe im wrong but im sure its five years of recession.

• Putting tourism back with the people; pure tosh! When I lived in London, Ireland was always a number one destination! Gatherings happened three times a year! But this concept is probably as patronising as it gets!

• A hair brain scheme by all accounts…

Money should be spent on sustainable industries, not one off gambles!

• Precisely!

• Tourism isn’t a one off gamble! As the article states it is and always has been a viable means of Ireland making money and creating jobs! It’s a marketing ploy which is used in all walks of life, tv, radio, bus shelters, airports, there is nothing shameful or shakedown about it, have you seen the Australia ads on buses? These articles seem to have the cream of the crop of the Irish begrudgers and moaners Commemting! What’s more shameful than the shady government or alleged shakedown is if potential tourists are reading some of the “everything” bashing attitudes of Irish people on here! I feel like I’m living in a black hole of depression and misery reading comments here sometimes! So far as likening the current climate to the famine I’ve even read! GET A GRIP! RELAX And SMILE! It won’t hurt!

• Fair enough on the positivity point. Although I don’t believe that in any way can you will your way out of an economic depression with positivity, sometimes it can help in other ways. But spin it any way you want – tourism is not dependable as say fisheries, forestry or farming, (which the state has let go to sh*t or is the process of selling off). Tourism depends on the whims of people from overseas and the economic situations in their countries. Something that is out of the hands of the government in this state, no matter how much advertising or gimmicks they use.

• It’s only out of their hands if they refuse to make an effort or refuse to come up with strategies to aid the tourism side of things! Not trying to offend you here but your very very wrong or misled if you truly believe tourism is based on a whim or not a strong enough industry! It is and always has been a very strong income and reliability factor in this country, as it is in many countries, think windmills, tulips and the rest in Amsterdam, think kilts and castles in Scotland, think monarchy black cabs and red phone boxes in the UK, all countries use certain marketing or campaigns to entice tourists, and I strongly believe you can’t afford not to! Sell Craic and ceol because if you sit back and do nothing for tourism then it will fall by the wayside like so many other things here and add another failing sector to our list! Don’t let the doom and gloom or government bashing over shadow that this is a positive and should be embraced while we still have something to embrace or to work towards, or dare I say, enjoy?

• It IS out of their hands. Full stop. If the economy in a country where we traditionally get visitors from collapses then no amount of advertising can change that. You are ignoring a very simple logic; tourism depends on people from another country having money to spend. Although advertising is a factor in bringing people who have the money here, if there is no money then there will be less tourists

I’m not saying don’t promote tourism, what I’m saying is that having it as one of your key industries is dangerous because you cannot control it in the way who can manage and control planting and harvesting trees or fishing and managing stocks. There is no exact science to tourism,.

I find it odd that you are actually lauding tourism in a historical context. I think the fact that you say it has always been an important industry here, and if you look at the state of employment levels now, then you have your answer as to why tourism is not reliable.

• Which FG buddy is heading it up again??

• Oh clever!!!! Quite the opposite in fact ;)

• “The Grabbing”

Come Home And See Half Of Your Countrymen and Women Living Below The Poverty Line!

Come Home And Contribute To The Bailout Of Criminal Bankers !

What Next A €1000 a Year Irish Diaspora Tax???

• Think Arthur’s day, love it or hate it, it’s a marketing campaign that WORKED! People also complain about it being a shakedown but Guinness are laughing all the way to the bank! It creates jobs, and adds a bit of fun to a miserable September night! It might be a bit cheeky like the gathering but it is a successful marketing campaign that people buy into! And spending money here is a very important thing these days! Or even MORE people will have to leave so instead of complaining about youth having to leave our shores why not support efforts to keep them here! I’m a 24 year old that’s employed in the hospitality sector so without marketing or tourists i would have to leave like others who can’t get jobs on other sectors! So I’m happy to see any steps towards sustaining the tourist angle!

• and Kane, not being smart here but if the tourism industry went to pot and you were forced to emigrate knowing that the government had failed you, then hand on heart, would you be willing to return in 10 years time for another “Gathering” at the behest of Fine Fail or Fine Gael.

That is the quandary facing many of the diaspora.

• Yeah I certainly would! It’s my home and I would always spend time and money visiting Ireland. And I wouldn’t begrudge the country an opportunity to make the best of a bad situation by employing a marketing scheme to get people to visit. A huge factor in emigration as well as lack of work is just the general feeling in this country which is low and miserable. As I know first hand because its my age bracket (and I’ve been on a working holiday year visa in Australia) that the ultimate draw to other countries besides work is lifestyle and attitude. I’ve yet to find someone who thinks Australia or Canada is as miserable as here. I come from a small town and I dread going home for weekends because I hate seeing everyone so sad and beaten. So I support the likes of the gathering or any positive initiative. If only to inject some life into the place.

• People need real action from their bought out spineless EuroPuppet Government Kane.
      Not more false Leprechaun/Shamrock/Green Beer distractions.

• To me the gathering is another Fine Gael launched campaign to smother bad news in a blanket of Hopium.

• Are you for real? That has to be the most idiotic statement of 2013 so far…

• Yes, Sean. God forbid optimism be encouraged.

• Sean, I couldn’t agree more! At the end of the year the government will give themselves praise for this great initiative, ignoring all the mistakes and headship they’ve caused.

• “Hopium” …… haha, I like it!

• What a load of Horse Manure!
      An infomercial of a distraction from corrupt lazy politics.

“Your government are inept and useless so you must beg emigrants (who were banished by corrupt politics) to come home and spend their hard earned cash.

“GET UP FOLKS AND DANCE, SING AND PREFORM FOR THE THE “WEALTHY TOURIST” while
      “YOUR STOOGEEN GOVERNMENT GIVE AWAY YOUR MONEY, YOUR COUNTRY, YOUR NATURAL RESOURCES AND YOUR FUTURE TO CORRUPT/CRIMINAL ELITES, BEHIND YOUR BACK”

“GET UP LOW PAID SERVICE INDUSTRY WORKERS AND BOW AND KNEIL FOR THE “WEALTHY TOURIST”

You can just see the posters at the next general election.

“WHO BROUGHT THEM HOME (for a week) IN 2013?”
      “FINE GAEL (& labour)”
      “THE GATHERING GOVERNMENT”

A FARCICAL DISTRACTION
      “THE BEGGING”

• The gathering, my arse!!

• All tourism in every country is about revenue and getting visitors to spend. As long as we are populated by people who are constantly negative we haven’t a hope. A nation of knockers and begrudgers. Try visiting somewhere where the people are REALLY poor and hungry, see their positivity, feckin’ DO something instead if whinging all the time.

• That’s not knocking or begrudging The Project Director of The Gathering is also a former SecGen of the Fine Gael party.

I don’t support corruption and hope it fails all corruption is bad

• what countries do you speak of Paddy? Where have you lived to ve able to make that assumption?

• So where have I seen real poverty? India. Tunisia. Syria. South Africa. Albania before it was ‘freed.’ In Romania, Macedonia even in Russia. In all of those places I have seen people help themselves. Yes, complain. Yes worry. Yes feel bitterness towards the rich by whom they were exploited. But instead of doing nothing, they did something. So. What have you done?

• I have emigrated. Did you live and work in those countries.

• I emigrated too and returned. I was lucky. No. I didn’t live and work in those countries. But I don’t get your point. Mine is simply that we whinge too much, bitch too much and waste energy complaining about things instead of doing something. ICTU is marching on Saturday. I’ll bet not one banner will urge people to simply Buy Irish. If 100,000 march, as they predict, tens of thousands of banners urging people to buy locally could make a difference. But no. It will be whinging highly paid union officials delivering the usual cliches. I hope you, and those like you, can return someday to a prosperous country which has left corruption, political chicanery and brown envelopes behind. Meanwhile, we should all try to fix it despite the politicians and the bankers.

• You have a lot of value points and I applaud your enthusiasm. I have travelled a bit too places like Laos, Cambodia, Malaysia, Coolock, Czechoslovakia and Hungary but never did I think that the people I met along the tourist track were in any way representative of the ordinary man in that country. Unless you live and work amongst them you won’t have a clue what they are like.

People who visit Ireland have nothing but positive things to say about the Irish, no different I’m sure to your experiences.

• Never did stick to the tourist track. Got me into trouble more than once…

• Kevin makes a good point. Tourists invariably say Irish people are really friendly and helpful.

• With Alan Shatter dismantling Án Garda Síochána, we cannot guarantee the safety of all those Americans coming “home” for The Gathering.
    American tourists being targeted by gougers and criminals is going to be a PR disaster.
    Shatter has already given up on protecting rural-dwellers, how can he protect tourists, particularly those who venture out of the main cities?

• Scarr 04/02/13 #

Bit of an over-reaction there. We’ve never had a Garda on every corner style policing; and crime will happen regardless. Though it does make me curious if anything will be done with the massive amount of beggars and junkies around Dublin.

• Spot on Brian.
      Come Home For “The Begging”
      Come Home and See
      Mass Repossessions!!!
      Mass Evictions!!!
      Come Home And See The Ghost Estates!!!
      Come Home And See Your Family Members Lying On Hospital Trollies For Days On End!!!
      Come Home And See Our Booming Dole Queues!!!
      Come Home And See 80,000 Native Young Irish Emigrate This Year!!!
      Watch as Your Spineless Government Discreetly Give Your Country Away To Corrupt/Criminal Elites!!!
      Come Back And See That Nothing Has Changed !!!
      In Fact It Has Got Even More Corrupt!!!
      Corruption In The €100′s Of Billions!!!

What A Farce!!
      A Absolute Farce!!

• @Brian, We are not living in the same times as when these stations were opened.
      ie cars instead of horses, radio’s instead of telegraphs, etc etc etc
      Get real

• The gathering is a scam . We wouldnt be doing this only for the country is in the toilet. It is a form of begging just re branded.

• Jumbo you must have heard something ‘ but let me give you the quick version ( we want your money)

• This whole programme smacks of Irish people doing something for their country themselves rather than expecting the country to do it for them.

That is not going to go down well with many people who are angry because the country isn’t doing enough for them.

• God forbid that any of us should have to do something for ourselves. Sure that JFK fella was only ripping the piss when he said “ask not what your country can do for you; ask what you can do for your country.” Far better that we sit back and let some feckless politician turn an entire disaster around in a year or two.

• censored 06/02/13 #

Well, is “the Gathering” really the best plan we can come up with? Seems a bit lame…. I think you’re missing the reason why people are complaining about it.

• It is undignified begging.

• I tend to see it as asking for work: “come to Ireland and let us work for you” (in the hospitality, services and entertainment industries…. oh, and foodand drink production… and local/national transport.) Hardly any worse than offering the Troika a hand shandy in return for a discounted loan.

• In an article on 27th Jan, “Il Sole 24 ore”, the Italian equivalent of The Financial Times gave a half- page spread to The Gathering. I don’t think the author, Beda Romano, was interested in doing a PR exercise for Fine Gael! She spoke of the economic and social aspects and of the real merit of The Gathering: Ireland turning its weaknesses: insularity, sometimes too fun loving people, rebellious spirit, emigration and so on, into its strengths and people abroad can’t wait to take a leaf out of our book. We’ll soon have the Greek, Spanish, Maltese, Estonian diasporas all getting behind their governments and hounding them to do replicas of The Irish Gathering. Nice to be top of the class for once.

• Of course there is some merit in community initiatives but many among the diaspora would look on this initiative more benignly if it were combined with rights that recognise our citizenship, such as a vote for emigrants. A sincere move like this would lend initiatives like the Gathering more credibility among exiles.

• You mean the Gathering has already STARTED?

• @kerron. U are exactly as ur name suggests. A loon. The only sustainable industry in Ireland is farming and tourism. The only two industries that propped the country up before the boom and will do again. So bloody support them. It’s the typical, stupid cynical Irish bollox. Open your eyes mate. Work with what ye’ve got.

• What about our natural resources Tom???

It would be Ironic if the simple folk from the Middle East (basically EX small fishermen an camel herders) came over in their Private Boeing 747 Jets and their Gold Plated Rolls Royces and picked up our prime natural resources on the cheap,
      from our Stoogen Government,
      while we were all off dressed up as Leprechauns “Entertaining” the Diaspora.

What a Farcical Distraction From The Real Issues!!
      A Farce!!
      A F**ing Farce!!!

• Kerron. I usually agree with you but Tom o’Brien is correct here. People have become so cynically that they have gone full circle and become gombeens.

• censored 06/02/13 #

This is a stupid comment. Farming can’t sustain our population unless you want to get rid of all mechanization. We have a high tech boom in Ireland right now – have you heard about it?

• No disrespect to the folks who are making the Gathering…. But why should vistors come to Ireland? The vistors that decided to stay (legally), like myself, have not been welcomed.

• Give some examples of how you werent made welcome…. go on…

• Tom I have many examples…. However, I will share just one example. As a citizen of this country, a tax payer in good standing and fully employed. If I state my opinion as to anything involving anything related to systems that run this country. … I’m told… If you don’t like it here, then go back to your own country. When I offer constructive criticism with a possible solution. .. This is Ireland and this is the way we do it. If you don’t like it here, then go back to where you came from.

If I ask too many questions about how things are run, and why it’s done this way… I sometimes get asked.. Who invited you here? If you don’t like it… Then you inow where to go.

Now I don’t think any of the above remarks are necessary or kind.

What do you think?

• Marlon — Very relevant point. And just to demonstrate what you’re talking about, as soon as you said you hadn’t been welcomed, Tom got his knickers in a knot. As far as I’m concerned, anyone living here and planning on staying has a steak in the future of this society and has as much a right to their opinion (positive or negative) as anyone else. End of story.

• Thanks Petr… I guess some people don’t realize how hurtful their words can be. Regardless, I soldier on.
      The funny thing about the unwelcome attitudes and directed spoken words… Is that my country of origin has been welcoming the Irish for years. Many of those Irish have done wonders for my country. However, the Irish government has been lobbying my country for years to permit the undocumented illegal Irish immigrants legal status.

• Hey Marlon, well said; unfortunately there’s still a lot of closed minded people out there, but rest assured there’s also many who would happily welcome you, Céad míle fáilte.

• Hey Cannabis… Thanks for the welcome! I know that there are loads of people in this country who welcome foreigners. I have had the good fortune of meeting many. However, those bad eggs make it difficult for many.
      I hope those Haters will find a rock to hide under once the Gathering kick up. But then again…. They will be the first in line to take advantage of the financial opportunities.

• Marlon, I’d guess most of the time it has little to do with hte colour of your skin or your nationality. Lots of commenters on here will sneer, slag off, abuse anyone who doesn’t fit in with their way of seeing it. If you happened to be from the north then that would be the issue, if you were from the countryside then that could be the issue or if you were from dublin then that could be the issue. My point is that it is not really anything to do with you, it’s the people making the comments who will find/look for some reason to try and belittle anyone that doesn’t share their narrow minded view of things. Always the same here, it’s either right or wrong, no middle ground and the old reliable…….. if you can’t argue the point then go for the person
      Don’t let them drag you down :))

• Hey Tom… Wisdom is a wonderful virtue. Thanks!

• Tommy C 05/02/13 #

Marlon, we dont want visitors. We want our own people back. The ex-pats.

• censored 06/02/13 #

Well Marlon, you’re really just getting the same treatment as the rest of us there. The village idiots who tell you to “go back to your own country” are the same yokels who very wittily tell the rest of us to “leave if you don’t like it”.

• censored 06/02/13 #

And btw, welcome to Ireland fellow citizen. We need your ideas and energy.

• Well said. This initiative is about playing to our strengths and tapping a receptive diaspora. It’s about generating revenue & job creation. It’s the kind of initiative only Ireland can do. What’s the motives of the Whingers and nay sayers? How can this possibly be viewed as a bad thing?

• Ryan'O 04/02/13 #

Well if I was a tourist and found out that the gathering was purely for ‘tapping’ my pockets and not tourism, I’d be PI$$ed. Guess there’s gonna be a shed load of pi$$ed off tourists so.

• These are people you are talking about, not to resources to be tapped because paddy lost the run of himself making houses on credit.

• What a pair of muppets. We’re talking about a business transaction here, not a free sleep over and a relationship building session. It’s an angle, and we should play it. Feck off with your fake indignation. God forbid some kids get a weekend job this summer to help support themselves and their families…

• Yeah… all polish kids

• O'Reilly 04/02/13 #

Tom, what’s their nationality got to do with anything?

• Maybe the fact that most of their earnings are sent home to their country of origin… best of luck to them if they can make a few bob but for you to try to argue that the gathering is going to generate lots of local revenue is far fetched. ” Oh mammy I got a job showing the Yanks the high cross of ballykillygillytown… its a few bob… thank god Seamas my precious boy … we can all have a bite to ate tonight…”

• Maybe the fact that most of their earnings are sent home to their country of origin

How do you know? Surely you didn’t just make that up?

• I never though in my life that I would agree with you but that is correct. A lot of Béal bocht comments on here that have the luxury of knocking it. Many of us B&B owners do not have that. The Gathering is having a significant impact on our bookings for this year. The same people that are whinging about it will always be whining. Given there is so much wrong with the country you would think that they would find something to actually get worked up about.

• Ryan o’ and the Mule. You have the luxury of being able to talk like that, there are 200k people whose jobs depend on things like this working. Complaining for the sake of complaining isn’t worth a pot of piss to anyone.

• censored 06/02/13 #

So Mr B&B owner – what are your rates?

• Da Moose 04/02/13 #

Embrace it and leave your change in the charity basket for our black hole debt!

• “The Gathering” is a beautifully cynical but ingenious idea formed by a government spin doctor. Rather than portraying the return of our young emigrants to visit their heartbroken families as the national tragedy that it is, “The Gathering” means that it can be portrayed as somehow a positive event.

Simple Government spin technique and I dont buy it for one second. In fact it turns my stomach.

• ‘The Grabbing 2013’.

• i am glad my son is not coming home, i dont think i will have a roof for over his head,, wind knocked the tiles off, got flooded with wind and rain, fixed the roof , but never paid my mortgage ,, i would hate him to think we live in poverty, cant afford food or heat,, why would anyone want to bring family home to the state of this country, our gardai, treated like crap, wait for the next generation to come up and not used to garda in their communities, our nurses making beds and cleaning up , that is what carers are for,, or nurses aids,,, go visit you grand dad in nursing home as they took the hour of home care to get him out of bed away,,, i would die of shame if my son came back,,, wonder does anyone else feel this way or is just me,

• The people don’t come back to see the government. The country is made up of the people. We come back to see people, family and friends – not the government, the politics and religion. We are not immune to what is going on in current affairs in Ireland. It’s worldwide. You are not the only country suffering at the hands of your government. Stop wallowing in it and whining about it. There is beauty in life. Go find it and make it better. Don’t wait for it to be handed to you or land on your doorstep! Welcome the gatherers with open arms for they will spend and create a boost in the economy. Look on the brighter side. This is a good thing!

• I am an Irish abroad and I am disappointed by the attitude of the Irish people. When I eventually found out about The Gathering, I thought it was a terriffic idea and it spurred me on to come home and help the economy and enjoy some of that Irish craic that I miss so much. I have enjoyed the documentaries online, Jean Butler, Brendan Grace, etc. I could tell my own story and people might even appreciate it. Who knows! Ireland is a unique Island. Don’t knock it. Get out of it for a while and you will appreciate it more. What the Irish Tourist Board is doing for its country is phenomenal and the entire country should be supporting the idea. What a great idea and promotion for a country. No other country has come up with this great idea. Stand up and be the leaders for once. Be driven and thrive again. Your country needs you – right now!

• Tut tut the smell of negativity

• It’s simple. Get 2 or 3 members of one of the ’3rd generation Irish’ families to visit Ireland, sure they are always saying they want to visit Ireland, to visit.
    Show them what a great countryside and friendly people we are and send them back home to spread the news to their friends, family and colleagues who will put more consideration into visiting Ireland next year instead of England or France because somebody they know, not marketing, told them how good Ireland is. This will keep our tourism up in the years to come.
    Yes I know the hotels are going to f^ck it up for us…. So get them away from the thieving hotels and the cities and into the countryside!

BTW: Scotland has done the ‘gathering’ type thing twice….. And they didn’t bitch and moan about it being a scam…. Or the government using it for good publicity. It works!

• The Scottish are stereotyped as being dour and sour but the cynical, negative Paddy routine is in full flow on this thread. People who wouldn’t get out of their own way to improve the country or its future. It is depressing to think that so many of them are young people. The gombeen mentality has a bright future ahead of it.

• censored 06/02/13 #

Do you even understand the meaning of the word “gombeen”? You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means….

• Tommy C 04/02/13 #

Verling? Wheres that name from? Its great to see non Irish people pushing for this Gathering sham but call it what it is, a cynical ploy to try and get cash from our emigrants to bump up the coffers because we dont have enough jobs here so our tax take is down.
    The Scattering more like.

Add New Comment