TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Column: The Local Property Tax is likely to lead to job losses in retail

Approximately 1.8 million people have less than €100 per month to spend after paying essential bills – they’ll have even less after the introduction of the new Local Property Tax, and the retail sector will be hit again, writes Mandate’s John Douglas.

John Douglas

THIS WEEK, most households across Ireland will receive notification as to the total amount of income the new Local Property Tax (LPT) will take from their pockets. In Mandate Trade Union, the union representing retail and bar workers, we are very concerned about the impact this tax will have on consumer spending and jobs in the Irish domestic economy.

You will not be surprised to hear that the retail sector is struggling badly. After five austerity budgets, the domestic economy has shrunk by more than 25 per cent, retail sales by volume continued its decline in January, and tens of thousands of retail workers have had their hours/incomes reduced or lost their jobs.

Why? Because consumers don’t have enough money to spend in their local shops.

1.8 million people have under €100 per month after essentials

A recent survey by the Irish League of Credit Unions estimates that 1.8 million people have less than €100 per month to spend after paying essential bills. The Irish Central Bank says almost 95,000 mortgages across the country are in arrears and the Central Bank governor, Patrick Honohan, is stating publicly that household financial distress is at “unprecedented levels.”

The property tax will come into effect in July and with the average house price across the country coming to €151,000 it will take €315 per year from the spending power of the average household. In parts of Dublin, the average house value is €333,828 – meaning it will reduce the average household spending in areas of the capital by €585 per year.

To put this in context, last month the Central Statistics Office released the Survey on Income and Living Conditions (SILC) report for 2011 and it showed that disposable income has reduced from a high in 2008 of 24,380 per individual to 21,440 in 2011, almost a €3,000 or 12 per cent decline.

During the same period, employment in the retail and wholesale sector reduced by approximately 40,300 (CSO). This, coincidently, is a 12.8 per cent reduction in jobs and shows a clear link between disposable income reductions and job losses in the local economy.

Retail is it is the primary source of income

Bear in mind that these figures do not take account of the loss of hours that many workers have experienced in the domestic economy, particularly the retail sector, with the effective result being a cut in spending power. This is something many companies have pursued vigorously and Mandate has highlighted through their Decent Work? The impact of the recession on low paid workers document.

The retail sector employs approximately 250,000 workers and is vitally important when it comes to employment, particularly for women and young workers. In the past it was the secondary income for most families, but now it is the primary source of income for thousands of families throughout the country. The recent job loss announcements and closures at B&Q, HMV, La Senza, Monsoon, Superquinn – to name but a few – are just the tip of the iceberg. The reality in retail is that the whole sector is in crisis, with most companies, large and small, hanging on the edge of survival.

The failure of the property tax to factor in the ability of households to pay is something Mandate is very concerned about. It seems absurd that those living on the minimum wage or on social welfare, or those who are already struggling to pay crippling bank debts and bills, should have to pay this tax when the vast majority of their income is already spent in the local economy helping to protect domestic jobs.

Option to defer payment fails to grasp the severity of the problem

Offering citizens the facility to defer payment of the property tax for three years fails to grasp the severity of the problem, which is that “middle Ireland”, the largest group of consumers, cannot afford to pay either now or in three years’ time. And those who do manage to pay will do so from already meagre disposable incomes, which in turn will lead to a further reduction in consumer spending, more job losses, more people on welfare and the downward cycle will continue.

Mandate has written today to all members of the Oireachtas to seek a deferral of the introduction of the property tax in July 2013 and that the government consider other revenue raising measures which will be less damaging to the domestic economy and already hard-pressed citizens.

To say that “there is no alternative” (TINA) is to attempt to deceive the Irish public. There are plenty of other ways to raise this type of revenue through a fairer taxation system and there are plenty of individuals and businesses that can absorb the cost of that increased taxation without impacting on jobs and the domestic economy.

John Douglas is General Secretary of Mandate Trade Union, the union for retail, bar and administrative workers. Mandate is the third biggest union in Ireland representing over 45,000 members. For more on Mandate Trade Union please go to www.mandate.ie, follow on Twitter or Facebook.

Read next:

Comments (98 Comments)

• Can’t remember the last time that I bought something in a shop that wasn’t food.

• It seems the government would rather people be out of work and claiming social welfare, than working and paying taxes! Or better than that, emigrated! How i come to this conclusion is simple-The government are aware that every tax payer only has an average of €100 at the end of every month spare after paying bills, so they decide it’s €100 too much, and it’s better off paying off debts for them! They need to look at the millions of Euro being paid out of the country each year before they crush their own flesh and blood!

• Agree 100%, but it will create jobs for revenue commissioners, sheriffs, loan sharks pharmaceutical company’s who make Xanax and anti depressants , every cloud has a silver lining as they say .

• ” WE WILL ABOLISH PROPERTY TAX, INSISTS TD DOHERTY ”

“For Sinn Féin opposing a tax on the family home is a core issue and is not one we will discard as others have done. Sinn Féin will continue to campaign in the Oireachtas and across the state to repeal this unfair tax.”

http://www.donegaldaily.com/2013/03/01/we-will-abolish-property-tax-insists-td-doherty/#comment-53590

• Reg, they all say that when in opposition. Unfortunately SF will never get into office on their own and would probably at best be the minority in a dual party, giving them no weight once in office. Just look at how Labour have turned there back on left wing politics to be sloppy middle right wing

• I think this time is different. The mainstream parties often did U-turns. SF hasn’t really been in government down here before so I don’t think anybody can foresee what they would do. If people vote Fine Gael out of office, many are likely to vote SF if it means repealing this tax. Politicians create tax policies, thus people can influence tax policies by voting for a particular party. Introducing a bill to repeal the property tax seems realistic enough to me. Provided it’s compensated for by a wealth tax, spending cuts, or rolling back tax anomalies.

• “I think this time is different” LOL.. more fool you. All parties are the same. They offer the world in opposition, then find out how hard it is to achieve their pipe dreams and what there actually up against. They all have the biggest set of balls when in opposition which magical shrivel up and shrink once then got their pensions sorted. I would love to believe what you say to be true, but I live in the real world and history only has a habit of repeating itself over and over and over again, and we never learn from it.

• sean 15/03/13 #

Reg , as much as i want to believe sf reversing the property tax if/when they get to gov,

The sheep of this country will pay up the property , and once sf and the other parties see the tax take from it ………….there won,t be a hope of them reversing this decision , Sad but true.

The time has come for the people to stand up ,………..but most simply won,t bother.”sad but thru”

• SF will abolish the property tax of they got in.
      Media propaganda will make sure they never get in.

• Every silver lining has a gray cloud

• Since they are the only party opposing this tax, it leaves no alternative. I’m prepared to give them the benefit of the doubt. I do NOT listen to people on here proclaiming “they’re all the same” because this is an old worn-out cliche by now. How worse could it get by voting for an alternative opposition party such as SF?

• This government are really stupid if they think that people will still have money to spend in the retail sector !

As said already , the only shops I visit are for food ! ! ! And that’s it ! ! !

And now that amount is going to be reduced thanks to property tax and then even further with the water tax !

Where does it F****** end ? ?

When i give up work and go on the dole because the ill be better off ! !

Is that what this government want us to do ! !

• Add in the cuts to public servants and it gets worse

• Pablo 15/03/13 #

Very true. That’s a lot of €100s tgat would not normally be squirrelled away but spent in the real economy. Our politicians should read the Aesop’s fable about the dog with the bone in it’s mouth looking at it’s reflection in the water. In trying to bleed the ‘spenders’ in the economy, they will lose a lot more in the future.

• Says it all John
    I have never seen Galway as quite in the week before Paddys day
    So much for the gathering
    The countries domestic economy has almost ground to a halt
    Established Shop’s closing down on a weekly basis
    Austerity policy is a complete failure and yet they keep ramming it down our throats

• These idiot bankers and right wing politicians have really done a number on the people. It’s the biggest con job in history. Criminals the lot of them……

• How can anyone exist with 25 euros a week left over after their bills are paid ?

• They couldn’t give a flying shite what you live on and if you don’t pay they will criminalise you. Talk about having a neck like a jockeys bolox…..

• We live in a country where Sky Tv is the barometer used to see if your faking or really poor, What dose that tell you about this governments intrusion into your life. They want you to pay and to hurt, Wake up it the first St Patrick’s day under a Fine Gael dictatorship Kenny will have an Idi Amin style suit very soon.

• It’s probably been considered unfashionable for decades to talk about the most basic division in society – that between people who make money off owning money, & those who work for it (if they can find a job) – the top few percent vs the rest.

But that is precisely what has driven public policy before the bust & most notably since.

The fundamental issue is that those who purport to, & by any standard of ‘democracy’ should, look after the interests of the majority, no longer do so. This includes political leadership (of all the main parties at least), public officials & most of mainstream media. Most of the senior incumbents in these fields are themselves members of the top few percent club & the rest certainly aspire to be, long before an early, well pensioned retirement.

Long past time we changed the motivational structure of public & public interest office away from peddling influence & lawmaking in return for various lucrative investment or ‘consultancy’ incomes, making many multi millionaires.

• Ida Amin!! Good God… Irish people need to get out more… 100 euro left a month…but at same time we consume three times the euro average of booze and gamble four times the euro average??
      What i am confused about is that on average the net reduction in pay for those who are in work is 8-10% allowing for additional taxes etc. since 2007. Add to the fact that the price of food has come down by about the same amount and also services, hotels etc… I am strruggling how the very same people had even 10 euro left in 2006???

• Declan what report are you getting your figures from?We drink three times more sorry?rubbish.I suggest you check your research.Times 8/3/2013 Irish alcohol consumption down 19%.
      Irish food prices are by about 4-6% but not the staples.
      I understand in defence of your governments action you will throw out figures,but at least be honest!

• Scarr 15/03/13 #

Declan – I think you’re confused about more than the net reduction in pay by the sounds of it.

• Declan
      By your previous posts you seem to have no problem bailing out foreign banks and stock market gamblers but when it comes to your own people you want to let them rot.
      Very patriotic I must say!
      What your narrowminded thinking fails to take into account is that if people lose their homes enmasse it will ultimately mean that you as the taxpayer will have to foot the bill to rehouse them.
      But dont let that get in the way of your begrudery of your fellow citizen

• I moved to Ireland during the Celtic Tiger. As the country was running around spending money left-and-right, I asked questions and watched. As friends and neighbours tried to intimidate me to get on the property ladder, I asked questions and watched. As co-workers and friends went on expensive buying trips and vacations, I asked questions and watched. When year old cars of co-workers were replaced by new cars, I asked questions and watched.

During all that time of false prosperity, no one had an answer that I believed was strong enough to borrow or go into debt. Now we are in a place, where corrections are being made. Taxes that should have always been in affect are being created. And everyone is crying foul!

The only persons I truly feel for are the folks who always spent within their means and tried to save. Those folks who spent within their means during the Celtic Tiger and watched as those around them showed off their riches. I feel for those who questioned the origins of the Celtic Tiger and the morality of politicians like Bertie Aherne.

Who I don’t have patience for …. Are the people who took advantage of the situation and are still taking advantage of the situation?

• Taxes like what Marlon? A property tax – which punishes those of us who bought a house without being a burden on the State?

• Eammon admittedly, property tax is unfair to those who paid stamp duty. But as usual, our government has not taken in consideration all the variables that are related to the property tax. Yes… There should be a property tax, however the payment made by those who paid a stamp duty on their home should be given a special consideration and discount.

In regards, to other charges and taxes… The Water Charge…. Isn’t a tax, but amounts to one.

• I agree Marlon a little. I too was observant of what was going on around me and wondering when it was going to end. People were greedy and picked and chose their jobs ,brickies were charging exorbitant prices and everyone else for that matter. I mean who would buy a house worth 5 times of what it cost to build on the outskirts of Dublin.

• Its no joke ,we really are in a police state now. I mean now they invent tax ,and you dont want to pay they steal from source or your accounts .it really is unbelievable.

• Well we all knew this was going to happen. How can you take more money off people who spend the most in the local economy and not expect their to be a catastrophic result. But what everyone seems to be missing is that, the plan is working perfectly, we think it has all gone wrong it hasn’t.

• Noonan thinks we can all pay it purely because we have something left over after all the bills are paid. Even if it is only 25 euro. No standard of living allowed. Work to pay taxes. That’s it.

• Agree with most of the comments here, except the right wing clap trap spewed by a minority. I emigrated myself two years ago after I lost my job and have been home a few times since. God Ireland is a depressing place these days. I see friends and family struggle to make ends meet, people who have worked and paid taxes all their lives, people who have never been a burden to the state either through the courts, prison services…etc! People who have retired and have had to get rid of their cars because they can no longer afford to run them. Then I compare their lives with the lives of the local people here (Channel Islands), and I ask, how can this be? How have the Irish people allowed this to happen?

• How do the government expect businesses to survive when they tax people to the hilt, that they have no money at the end of the week. It beats me! there are lots of other ways to raise revenue, other than taxing us out of a recession, what about what Brid Smith suggested where companies like google and facebook could be taxed, and tax anyone earning over 100,000 euros. The people can’t even pay their bills, so where will they find money for a property tax?

• I have a freedom of choice when a government tries to confiscate what I earn to pay a Family Home Tax. Not to mention anti-democratic policies, all directly against the majority wishes of the people. At least other opposition parties like SF got it right by tabling a repeal bill for this home tax. I give them credit for that. Maybe there are alternatives afterall…

• I certainly believe there are lots of people who only have a 100 euro left after paying all bills but why are all the pubs full on a weekend here in Dublin ? There seems to be plenty of people with money to pish away against a wall each weekend

• Mary 15/03/13 #

Not only are they making it impossible to keep local business open they seem to be actively encouraging us to spend in cheaper supermarkets that are supporting their own countries first!

• How to “Clawback the Household Tax”:-

1. “Stop smoking ……. it won’t kill you but it will KILL the Taxman.”
    2. “Give up your ol’ bins ….. find a bin partner ….preferably one with an exemption!”
    3. “Dont buy NEW cars …. no VRT on used cars.”
    (Daft to transfer €4,000,000,000 out of the economy EVERY year!)
    (Dafter to borrow money to do it!) (131 & 132 is Not Green Jersey – Keep for jobs for young people.)
    4. “Shop out of town ….. no council parking charges!”
    5. Dont buy legacy newspapers …. €600 p.a. saved …. read the Journal… all you need!

“Don’t get angry with the Taxman ……. get EVEN!”

• Why dont the unions call a general strike against this unfair tax, as it is the only way the politicians
    will get the message.

• This Irish Leauge of Credit Union report was already extensively debunked. It doesn’t specify what people consider as “essential” bills. For example, does little Johnny’s private school bills get paid before putting food on the table? What about that Sky package with all the bells and whistles (movies and sports) included? Do you really *need* to be sending little Johnny to a prestigious education? Do you really need a Sky package with all the channel you’re never going to watch?

During the Tiger we lost a lot of humility and we need to get back to that. people need to learn how to budget properly and get their priorities straight.

I await the onslaught of red thumbs.

• have to agree with john its becoming harder each week to survive and our government dont seem to understand stiffle the spending power of consumers by imposing new taxes then we cut back on other stuff like health insrance home insurance and also on basics like shopping time to live in the real world enda and co

• How to “Clawback the Family Home Tax” and pump it into your local economy.

“Give up your ol’ bins!”

“New car purchase transfers €4,000,000,000 out of the Irish economy EVERY year”. – Not Green Jersey!
    “Daft to buy new cars …… whisper ….we dont make any!”
    “Dafter to borrow money to do it!”

“Spend it locally – create jobs for young people”

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Clawback-The-Household-Tax/344370235664024

————————————————————————–
    http://www.hometaxpetition.net/ …………. 400 signatures
    http://CarTaxPetition.net ………………

• I have no sympathy for retailers. The small retailers association and ibec have persecuted public sector workers since 2008. Now retailers are screwed because no one has any disposable income due to massive pay cuts in the public sector and massive taxation for all. Who do they think their customers are? The Wealthy only shop in BTs and abroad.

• I feel for their staff, whatever they get cut in public sector will green light them to feck over their own staff even more.

• “Persecuted Public Sector workers”? By pointing out the obvious? And now you have “no sympathy” for them? Nice outlook. At the risk of repeating it – AGAIN – until the Public Sector is treated and operated within business norms (obeys the basic laws of economics) it will continue to haemorrhage money. 70% of the HSE budget goes on salary – 80% of the education budget. It is nuts. And people aren’t allowed point this out? Or ask that something be done about it?

The employer – Ireland inc – is bankrupt. People need to realise this.

• What a load of crap. Small businesses run their outfits efficiently to survive but pay astronomical rates to support the overpaid morons in the councils that they have to deal with.

• Conor 15/03/13 #

If people who use credit unions are from lower socio economic backgrounds…. And the survey was conducted in credit unions and magnified up to 1.8 million, would kind of make this survey not statistically valid.

• I said before someone telling porkies.It was shown Ireland per person spent far more on xmas than rest of Europe. We also take far more sun holidays per head than UK so it seems alot pleading broke but talking a load of bollix

• Myself and my friends don’t frequent the shops anymore,no more disposable income.

• Who would have thought taking millions out of the economy would affect the retail sector!!

Look, it’s simple reducing people’s spending power, costs jobs and tax revenues. The property tax on its own will kill jobs and the government will still wonder what’s going wrong. Raising taxes in recessions doesn’t work, it’s never worked. Every time they’ve reduced taxes they bring in more income, that’s not a fluke.

If you want to raise income reduce taxes and give incentives to employers to take on new staff ie no employers PRSI for long periods etc. Make banks lend to businesses, and don’t accept from them that taking a businesses overdraft off them and converting it into a loan is lending,its not.We need more people in jobs providing income tax and spending money in the economy, it’s not rocket science.

PS don’t make me laugh about Sinn Fein, wealth tax? It will just leave the country. Isn’t this the same party that collects even more property tax in Northern Ireland? You will have to come up with something better than this populist rubbish.

• Eamonn – Stop blaming the banks. Its the people who stupidly borrowed up to 6 or 7 times their salary for a gaff and took out 50k credit card agreements.

• @the Brass Rat.
      Your comments prove that rats do indeed carry pestilence and disease.

• Brass rat. Complete rubbish. I’d the money wasn’t made available they couldn’t borrow it.

Reckless lending practices are right at the root of this. And they are STILL being protected. By a “socialist” party. You couldn’t make it up.

• Brass Rat

Through the late 90′s until the late 2000’s my bank kept raising my credit card limit, without me ever requesting them to do it. I was a valued customer so they returned my good custom with the new limit. Did I use the new limit? Nope, and never came anywhere near it. I could buy a good quality 2nd hand car with my limit. However I knew they were trying to suck me in, so that I would end up paying interest.

But lots of people did use their new limits. During that same period my sister tapped we up a few times for “dig outs” to pay her credit card bill every so often. Her problem was she only ever kept paying the minimum, so ended up paying interest of 15-20%. In the end she had to take out a bank loan, cut up the credit card & start over. Did she learn? Nope, after 2 years of clearing the credit card she was back at it, and is now getting ready to cut up her 3rd card, if she can get a loan to pay the bill off.

I do admit she has a great 42″ HD TV & cool laptop. My 15 year old 21″ TV is beginning to go on the blink & now I see special St. Patricks day offers. I might just take out the credit card over the weekend and buy a 22″ LCD HD TV’s for less €180, or I might wait until the current TV breaks altogether. My 7 year old laptop is still going strong so until that breaks that will be fine for me.

How much to I owe on my credit card? €0.00. All because I was not fooled by the bank treating me as a special customer & allowing them to suck me into debt. I pay the full amount off every month.

I also turned down their 2005 offer of “equity release” on my home (built in 1999), even though this would have been a great way to “invest” in the property market and ensure my children’s future prosperity and my retirement.

How many others fell for that?

• Brass Rat – probably loads fell for it. Who h they couldn’t have if it was made available in the first instance. Yes you and I had the sense. There but for the grace of God go us. Never forget that.

• Carcu ,they still at it .They rang me up and asked do I want a small loan.

• So 3 million people have more than €100 per month to spend.

There is rich and poor in every country on the planet, whats the big deal here?

• Damocles 15/03/13 #

“Man Date”

heh.

• Article 11 of the irish constitution makes your mortgage income tax if you hold a mortgage with P.T.S.B. or A.I.B. ! …….. in my most humble opinion !

Add New Comment