TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Thursday 20 June, 2013

Column: The Occupy protests show an overwhelming sense of entitlement

We do need radical social change – but the Occupy protesters are going about it the wrong way, writes Evert Bopp.

Evert Bopp

EVER SINCE I spoke out against the #Occupy movement a few weeks ago I have been criticised and asked to clarify my position. It would appear that we are now living under a new calendar divided in “pre-Occupy” and “post-Occupy” era. I, as well as many others who do not agree with the #Occupy movement, have been active discussing the ongoing economic and political problems. We have examined the merits of a variety of solutions, campaigned for them and some of us have used the democratic apparatus in attempts to achieve change.

Apparently none of this means anything in the eyes of those involved in the #Occupy protests. Any questioning of their motives or actions is met with a “What have you done?” reply, personal insults and even veiled threats. That would of course be their prerogative if they did not claim to be “all-inclusive”, a “movement of the people” and (the most nauseating of claims) “the 99 per cent”.

So, before I outline my opinion on the current political and economic crisis, let me just summarise my main points of criticism of the #Occupy movement.

Firstly I do not agree with most of their complaints and demands. Across the numerous #Occupy movements there are placards demanding debt forgiveness. There is no such thing. If someone forgives you your debt, someone else will end up paying for it. That’s basic economics. If financial institutions write down debts on their books they will need to compensate for this write-down by increasing charges elsewhere or by raising external cash. The debt doesn’t go away, it is just shifted elsewhere.

‘There is an overwhelming sense of entitlement’

Secondly there is an overwhelming sense of entitlement among the #Occupy people, who expect someone else to take care of all their needs. As one protester told me: “We demand a society that guarantees housing, work, culture, health care, education, political participation and a fulfilled life.”

While these are all laudable goals it is fundamentally wrong to demand them. What you should demand is an opportunity for people to achieve these goals themselves. The same goes for the demand for redistribution of wealth. Wealth shouldn’t be redistributed. What we do need is an equal opportunity to achieve wealth. Another question on that topic is “redistribution by whom?”

There is also a danger in the way these protests pride themselves in being leaderless and “governed by the people”. By doing this they are inviting people and groups with more extreme interests to hijack the protest and use it for their own gains. There is already proof of significant infighting as well as something more surprising: attempts by certain elements to levy tax on donations raised by other groups within the #Occupy movement.

There is also a worrying trend among some of the groups coming out publicly in support of the protests. Within days of each other, both the Communist movement of America and the US Nazi Party issued statements supporting the #Occupy protests. Ask yourself what this mix could result in.

‘Rational debate has been thrown out with the bathwater’

Less than a week ago I tweeted that within the next four weeks I expected someone to smuggle a firearm into one of the protests, and possibly use it to escalate violence. This is apparently already happening at several of the US #Occupy protests; people have been sighted carrying firearms and police raided the #OccupyLSX camp yesterday after reports that someone had smuggled a firearm into the camp.

Aside from a lot of well-intentioned people, many of the Occupy camps seem to be magnets for every nutter and malcontent. Examples of anti-Semitism, calls for secession, rape and violence are numerous – and while these do not represent the essence of the protest they will colour the public opinion.

There is also an alarming trend of labelling anyone who does not agree with the protest “part of the one per cent”. This is as bad as George W Bush’s statement: “If you’re not with us you’re against us.” Rational debate has been thrown out with the bathwater.

So what exactly is my position, and what do I support? I have long espoused the need for an overturning of the current political and economical system. Every pillar of our modern societal structure is crumbling. Religion came first and politics and finance are next. We are in urgent need of a structural change unlike anything we have ever seen before.

However the main questions are how to effect this change, and more importantly, what should the goal of this change be?

I am a strong supporter of the democratic model. The wishes of the people should be respected. And if “the people” agree on anything at all it’s that the current government has failed. Not just the Irish government, but government on a global scale.

So the first step is to stop the faulty political system and to stop it ASAP. The best way to do this is to force an election. By whatever means necessary. Protest, blockades, occupying government buildings, tax strikes, you name it. But aim your protests against the government because that’s where the real fault lies. Big business doesn’t work for the people, government does.

‘We need a complete change of the system’

Then, once you have forced elections, the real cruncher starts. If we truly hope to achieve change then we need a complete change of the current political system with its stagnant political parties and outdated practices, such as the party whip system. Overhaul the electoral system too while you’re at it and introduce a list system.

All those who have protested for ages now against what they see as an unjust society should get up from behind their keyboards and either form a political party, become involved in one, or run as an independent. There is no time for fence-sitters any more. If you truly want change you will have to work for it.

Personally I would like to see a society and political system with a true separation of powers between the judiciary, the executive, the legislature and the economic. Business stays out of government but government should also stay out of business. No interference by one into the affairs of the other.

We need a smaller, fairer and stronger government. Not layers upon layers of legislation but basic and clear laws and regulation that are strongly enforced. People and business should be free to go about their business unless they break the rules. Less interference but also less tolerance. I am for a system that when a business repeatedly breaks certain important laws or regulations they are put out of business. Three strikes and you’re out.

Less interference will also result in more opportunity. Everyone should have the opportunity to better his or her situation. But they need to do so themselves and not depend on government or the private sector to do so.

Let’s create a government which takes care of the basics: healthcare, education, infrastructure and security. Let’s introduce a fairer and more equitable flat tax system. But most of all, let’s learn from the mistakes of our past and not rush in to decisions ruled by our hearts rather than our minds.

Evert Bopp is a self-employed serial entrepreneur, father of five and husband of one who founded the Greenhouse Business Accelerator and Haiti Connect. He tweets at @thenext100k and writes at Blitzkrieg Bopp.

Poll: Are the ‘Occupy’ protests a good thing?>

Column: I’m a businessman. Here’s why I joined Occupy Dame Street>

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (119 Comments)

• Where has the Irish right wing been for this crisis? Invisible, and now complaining about those who actually are doing something. This “story” is just a longer version of the trolling the author has been doing on twitter.

• Change the Government, in Ireland we have done precisely that, and that has managed to find 3.2 billion of mislaid money and handed out over 700 million to unguaranteed investors. If I invested a tenner in something that was unguaranteed and the project went belly up, I would lose my tenner. If these fat cat bankers invested without guaranteeing their investments, why or loaned money without guaranteeing their loans, WHY, should they get it back? There is gross inequality, the political route is so corrupt, that the fair few have no voice. What else is left…. the rest of us being trampled down by the greed and the mistakes of the ’1%’, and then sitting by helplessly, while taxes are raised, benefits are decreased, whilst the majority of those who created, or were complicit in the creation of the mess, sit comfortably. While I agree, there is opportunity for the whack jobs here, the majority are not whack jobs, and one would hope would have the common sense to look out for the whack jobs. If the police did their job, which is to ‘protect and serve’, then they should have no bias, either for Government, Bankers or Occupiers, so the Occupiers should be able to allow them in to deal with the ‘whack job’ disruptive element. Unfortunately, recent events have shown no such lack of bias on the part of the police.

• and this is less naive than the protesters how? You are basically arguing American capitalism and that has not worked. No actual redistribuion of wealth on a Scandinavian model. Because even the opportunity to accrue wealth hinges on that. The US and the UK are the two countries with the least vertical mobility in the western world. by a fair margin even.

As for the list system – yes it does away with clientele politics and that may be a good thing. I am German, we have a list system. What it does not do away with is the intermeshing of government and big business. And three strike rule? you gotta be joking. Company employs say 1k people and fouls up three times and you are going to put 1000 people out of a job? Get real. Jail the managers? Sure. There is not enough accountability. But the idea of simply closing down a big company is ludicrous.

While i accept that the #occupy protesters are naive and unfocussed they are working on remedying both. Your naive trust in the market has been disproved in those countries that have done so before. Social inequality and opportunity is lower in those countries compared to countries that take a more socialist approach. In Sweden if i fail as an entrepreneur I can go on the dole as could somebody who just got laid off. This sense of security leads to Sweden having way more small companies than a lot of other countries. Why? Because the personal risk is lower.

As for the nutcase accusations? see the comments above.

• This is a simple divergence of standpoint. Bopp is committed to a naive capitalism which just does not work; the Occupy movement, however confused or naive, recognises this and seeks to develop alternatives. There is no common ground between these two POVs. You favour either one or the other. But surely trust in a patently failed form of capitalism is far more naive than the Occupiers’ standpoint?

As for the demands quoted. First, they are one person’s demands — Occupy has not yet formulated any programme. Second, since the 1980s, every year the UN Annual Report has demonstrated that the global economy could deliver a basic but comfortable standard of living to everyone on the planet, including food and shelter, health and education services, clean water, etc etc — and including most of the list this one person came up with. If the global economy can do that, but instead fails to do so and allows unnecessary deaths in the millions and further suffering through starvation and war, that is obscene and immoral precisely BECAUSE IT IS UNNECESSARY.

See http://www.freeworldcharter.org/

• «Across the numerous #Occupy movements there are placards demanding debt forgiveness. There is no such thing.» Can someone remind that to the irish banks ? What is the bailout if not debt forgiveness. Something the author confirm a sentence later: «If someone forgives you your debt, someone else will end up paying for it. ». Isn’t that what we are doing right now ? Paying for it…
    And talking about the feeling of entitlement… So it’s ok that the banks feel entitled and rip the countries (this is in no way an irish specific situation), but the tax payers should only feel entitled to shut up and throw away whatever they managed to save ?

And those comments have nothing for or against #occupy… But reading such biased arguments is just …

Whatever…

• And how do you know if a business break the law? Oh yeah you put regulations in place so you can control their natural instincts.

• The fact that government wasn’t involved in business was what caused a lot of the problems. Without control from the government then big business runs amok with little concern for anyone or any thing but themselves. To have enforcement government has to get involved in business, they go hand in hand.

• There is so much wrong in this piece but hey, that it is just Evert being his hilariously curmudgeonly cartoonish self :-)

That Evert starts his piece by quoting the demands of the occupy movement and concludes it by pretty much re-iterating those same demands is beyond parody and shows you how muddled his thinking is.

Never mind that some of the great achievements of the 20th century, such as The New Deal in the 30s, an end to racism in the 60s with the civil rights movement in the US or the collapse of the Berlin Wall in ’89 were all due to people assembling peacefully on the streets in large numbers.

A lot of people in the Occupy movement would of course be what’s called ‘declasse’ and not the term ‘entitled’, which is an emotionally loaded term and is a condescending sneer.
    Declasse means that group of intelligent, smart, ambitious, capable middle class people who were educated and groomed to participate in a system that they were told had a place for them and that it could deliver a reasonable standard of living and but then they realised the system was broken beyond repair and their only options were the dole or emigration.

You invoke the spectre of “wealth-redistribution” as if it is a bad thing.
    Aside from countless evidence and research being cited showing how more equal societies have a higher quality of life, see the Spirit Level, at the moment in the Anglo-Saxon financial world there is massive wealth redistribution happening in the form of looting of public money for the benefit of private banks.

Society should be structured along the lines of improving the quality of life for all of the citizens, not to facilitate the plundering of public money by a corrupt cartel of broken banks so that the 1% can continue to enrich themselves on the public purse.

Talking about US protesters bearing arms is irrelevant when they have the right to bear arms in their constitution, it is a very gun orientated culture and compared to the quasi-fascist Tea Party movement, there are a lot less firearms on view.

Invoking the anti-semitism canard is a crude smear tactic that devalues the word and has to be challenged and it is disgraceful to play it. For this remark alone, you should hang your head in abject shame and apologise.

From The Jewish Journal:
    Exploiting anti-Semitism to destroy Occupy Wall Street
    “An ugly old tradition is back: exploiting anti-Semitism to break the backs of popular movements that threaten the power of the wealthiest 1 percent of our population. It is being used to undermine the Occupy Wall Street movement, which has conservatives in a state of near panic…….
    Linking a progressive movement to the Jews would destroy progressive movements and preserve the power of those in control.Perhaps not surprisingly, a bizarre variant of this phenomenon is now being deployed against Occupy Wall Street.
    http://www.jewishjournal.com/opinion/article/exploiting_anti-semitism_to_destroy_occupy_wall_street_20111014/
    Because utilizing anti-Semitism directly would not succeed in this country today, the reactionary defenders of the economic status quo are using the flip side of the coin: the fear of being labeled anti-Semitic. T
    hey are accusing Occupy Wall Street of anti-Semitism, relying on the old myth that Wall Street is Jewish and hence that opposition to Wall Street’s agenda is just opposition to Jews”.

The occupy supporters are highly regarded intellectuals, Nobel winning economists, politicians with integrity, novelists and acclaimed writers who have spent a lot of their career investigating corporate corruption such as :
    Noam Chomsky, Slavoj Zizek, Jeffrey Sachs, Paul Krugman, Nouriel Rouibini, Joe Stieglitz, Matt Taibbi, Max Keiser, Tariq Ali, Alexander Cockburn, Chris Hedges, Naomi Klein, Salman Rushdie, Jon Stewart, Jesse Jackson, Naomi Wolfe and John Pilger to name a few.

I am sure the hysterical, ignorant, ranting, lunatic extreme right-wing fringe like Bill O’ Reilly, Anne Coulter, Rush Limbaugh, Sarah Palin and Glenn Beck will be happy to welcome Evert into their increasingly isolated madhouse.

• I think for the debate to move on we need to start moving beyond the simple slogans. The author takes exception, with some justification, to the mantra of the “99%” but then goes on to talk about “smaller” government. This is almost meaningless.

It has to be recognised that the elected representatives of the people are better at doing certain things than businesses and vice versa. The trick for a stable democratic society is to correctly identify which area is which and demarcate appropriately. Free market theorists extoll the extent to which the market solves and do so with some accuracy but the truth is that no capitalist society works without a strong security and infrastructural framework provided by the government. These frameworks must be paid for and companies must bear a share of the cost for that which maintains them. To protect its own security the government must also perform at least some regulation of the market (as well as other sectors). The idea that government and business can be completely separate is unrealistic.

If you are a free market theorist who genuinely believes in small government go to Mogadishu and see how well businesses flourish there.

• Small government does not equal no government. That’s basic mathematics.

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_HuegrK2s-SA/SqASw0Taj8I/AAAAAAAABiA/OaZU5GFU0wg/s400/argument_is_invalid.jpg

• If you read the post carefully you will see that I never equated “small” with “no”. I was trying to point out that conservatives, particularly in America, refer to small government as a goal and attempt to cut off funds for government to make it more manageable (starving the beast). Yet many of them are very keen on maintaining military spending allowing America to have the largest army in the world. Traditional conservative viewpoints include a focus on law and order, a crucial segment of government.

I am trying to say that the simple slogan “small government” is misleading. If by “smaller government” you mean “less regulation of the financial sector” you should say so. By perpetually using slogans both sides provide straw men arguments for their opponents to attack and the real issues remain largely untouched.

As for the ending comment about Mogadishu, I admit that it was a bit cheeky and sloganish, but there is a government in Mogadishu in case you haven’t noticed. It’s just a (literally) a very small one.

• You’re definitely correct that there is a sizable ‘conservative’ demographic in America whose views on government spending are completely inconsistent (e.g. cut spending on welfare, but continue the wars on drugs, necessitating more spending on prisons etc) although I think that’s a different issue from what we’re talking about here… and I should point out that if, following Weber, a criterion of government is the ability to maintain a monopoly of violence across a certain territory, Somalia certainly doesn’t have a functioning one. That’s why it is categorised as a ‘failed state’, rather than one with a small government.

Anyhow, kudos to you for a reasonable response to what was essentially a troll-ish comment on my part. I’m seeking help.

• May well have strayed off topic alright. And fair play to you for admitting the trolling problem. I have issues with it myself. Suppose admitting it is the first step.

• I agree with some of your sentiments however once you start the small government, less regulation, flat tax mantra you lose me. And elections? We had them earlier this year, what makes you think another set now are going to improve anything.

• I agree…I think the author gets in over his head when he begins describing this idealic social system where “people and businesses are left to their own business until the break a law”…I would hope people realise that it’s far more complicated than that. The system we have is not perfect and can certainly be imrpoved by trimming some fat in Govt. but to encourage blockades, tax strikes and occupation of Govt. buildings is revolutionist rallying and not the solution. Furthermore the system we have is in constant development…our Govt. itself is a people’s movement, as are the parties which are teeming with young people inacting small changes all the time. Not sure where he has plucked the idea that the current Govt. has failed or that everyone is in agreement that it has. I’m sure Mr. Bopp is an intelligent and experienced man, but that’s no guarantee he knows what he is talking about in this case.

• Ok some fair points but extremely naive…”Big business doesn’t work for the people, government does”
    I don’t think so! Governments have never worked for the people ever in the history of modern government… Big business are responsible because it is for them that the government truly works and the ‘democratic’ system that we have is a paltry facsimile of true democracy…

• What utter gibberish! Equality of opportunity is a nonsense, if everyone had equal opportunity then what would be the motivation for accumulating wealth other than an improvement in lifestyle? People will often state as part of their persona that they are earning this much money in order to give their offspring the best chance in life, multi-millionaires on dragon’s den will often spout the line “why should I give you my children’s inheritance…” when looking at projects. Having money confers an evolutionary advantage to your offspring, that’s the whole point of why people wish to accumulate it. Without the intervention of the state the rich will get even richer the poor poorer and you have a society that is more and more unstable, a big state is precisely the instrument which through healthcare, laws and regulation, housing and education can help in assuring people have an equal chance, this is simply not the case with free market and small government. In a free market system an individual has one motivation, make as much money as possible, if they can hire a Chinese worker for two euro a day instead of an Irish worker for eighty euro a day then they will do that, of course they still expect the Irish worker to buy the goods (and with what, social welfare payments?), so essentially you get to a point where the system can’t sustain itself. And don’t even get me started on the financial services!

• Just the same old selfish, right-wing, I’m-alright-Jack social Darwinism. Yawn.

• And by the way if this ‘ article’ was posted as a comment people would see it as trolling.

• “Across the numerous #Occupy movements there are placards demanding debt forgiveness. There is no such thing. If someone forgives you your debt, someone else will end up paying for it. That’s basic economics.”

Wait… so it’s okay if we forgive the debt of privately owned corporations by bailing them out with public funds, but not bailing out the very people who pay into those funds or requiring that those corporations pay their fair share? I’m confused.

• Ken, not at all.
      Do I actually say anywhere that bailing out the banks is OK? That’s right, I didn’t think so either.
      However my article was about the #occupy movement not the banks or the bailouts.

Bailouts or debt foregiveness is *never* OK as it just puts the debt on other peoples shoulders.

• If there is no such thing as debt forgiveness, why were the banks bailed out when they went broke? If capitalism is good enough for the ordinary mortgagee, it’s good enough for the system as a whole. What we have actually is not capitalism per se–it’s a witches’ brew of casino capitalism and plutosocialism–socialism for the rich. The banks play roulette with our money, and when they lose, the government bails them out. The economic and political system is broken–it doesn’t work any more. You can’t put new wine in old bottles. What is needed–and will probably happen–is a radical, root-and-branch change of the Western political-economic system: for example, an alternative to fractional reserve banking, to our current ways of creating money and credit, to reliance on bondholders to fund our daily lives, to the present social welfare and tax systems, and maybe to our current dysfunctional form of democracy as well. And getting there won’t be pleasant–such events seldom are. The banksterocracy know that they are opposed by Left, Right and centre, so they will use the usual methods of divide-and-conquer to oppose the changes they see coming down the road.

• Let’s leave Evert alone now lads. He’s done his best to defend the indefensible. I’ve never seen an author having to defend his position so much before.

Give it up Evert and come over to our side. We’re much better craic and don’t care how much you earn we’ll just care about you. You fought a good fight but it’s over now.

• Evert, you missed the whole point because the sense of entitlement comes from the 1%. They expect low taxes, tx breaks, bailouts and of course no accountability for their abysmal performances, in other words, fuck it all up, but no pain whene the brown stuff hits the fan!! That is a pathetic sense of entitlement and its why people are mad as hell!

• @Mick I agree with your point to a certain extent. However between this “1%” and the #occupy protesters there is whole swathe of society who or of the opinion that the only thing they are entitled to is equal opportunity.
      I fully support that the hammer is brought down on those who are at the root of the current economical & financial crisis and have been actively campaigning for this for a long time.
      However I do not believe in or can support this so-called “distribution of wealth” or debt foregiveness that (for student loans, mortgage and whatnot) that a lot of the #occupy protesters are campaigning for.

• Orion 04/11/11 #

So you are saying that Not one ‘Rich’ person, ie ‘the 1%’ expect to pay their fair share of taxes? Or to take accountabilty for their actions? You are misguided my friend and are generalising, I know of plenty of people who would be supposedly included in the ’1%’ and most of them are honest people who dont mind paying taxes or taking responsibility for their actions, just like most people in the ’99%’ .

• the article has more confusion than than that being leveled against the #Occupy Movement. ‘Protests, blockades, occupy government buildings, tax strikes you name it. But aim your protests against the government because that’s where the real fault lies. Big business doesn’t work for the people government does.’ What nonsense! What about the gun wielding anarchists that might see the opportunity in those actions.
    Government in itself is not the problem it is the electoral system and how it has been twisted and abused by big business – banks included. Our democracy has been hijacked by self interest groups that financially support political parties and individual election candidates – brown envelope favours to be returned when in power. The presidential election has highlighted this and the bank bailout is a case in point – bought politics minding the minders – the banks again! And we pay, we do the debt forgiveness bit. The Galway tent may have been wrapped up but the system is still the same and the previous occupants are still part of the political establishment and still doing the same thing. Not one question was asked or answered about the source of contributions to presidential election campaigns. Oh! sorry FG remortgaged their headquaters. Which bank was that with?

• John, as an anarchist of long standing, i’m pretty sure there are no ‘gun toting’ anarchists looking to have a go at the government in that way. Infact the only gun toting folks see to be the likes of the right wing tea parties. But they are ok cos they are White American’s whose ancestors where the ok type of illegal immigrants. Now imagine a nationwide movement of black or mixed race folks in the US running around with guns with “extreme leftwing” ideas such as solidarity, and education sysytem open to any one at any time of their life who wanted to learn, basic needs such as housing water and food provided by the collective endevours of our community, developing decentralised forms of energy generation and distribution etc outside the control and monopoly of for profit companies.

Seems we probably agree on lots. Except the anarchist bogeyman

• @Mark Nothing against anarchy per se and I take your point about armed right-wing nutcases. My reference to gun wielding anarchists was in connection to the mention in the above article of the authors prediction of guns being brought into the #occupy protests while he himself was advocating the actual occupation of blockades and occupation of government departments implying a more extreme form of protest than that being criticized by him in his article. I was perhaps unclear in my illustration of his confused thinking.

• Or confused by his confusion!

• The article is clearly an attack on the Occupy protests firstly (‘nutter; Nazi; Communist; firearm; anti-semetism; rape and violence’ (!) etc.), so that anyone unsure of the particulars of the movement may form their opinion based on these buzz words. The author then indignantly attempts his own form of ‘What are you doing about it?’ by proposing pretty much another form of Capitalism, with a few more buzz words thrown in, holding governments accountable and ignoring the responsibilities of ‘Big Businesses’ to society.

Whatever the opinion on the Occupy movement, it has people talking and suggesting solutions to the current situation, which is positive whichever way you look at it.

• Ruairí 03/11/11 #

This makes no sense to me.
    Lack of regulations allowed the banks/corporations to run wild, causing these problems. But the author wants LESS regulation and also to blame the government for these actions.
    If you have lack lustre laws, and someone robs you, do you first blame the thief or the police man who failed to stop it? Both are culpable, but the thief is the direct cause of the action.
    Blame both – protest both. Direct our anger at both. But as its becoming increasingly clear – let’s focus on who really runs the show. And its not the government.

• Ruari, we had lots of regulation but no enforcement. Read m,y article I call for less regulation but *also* for stronger enforcement. We are not in the shit that we’re in because of a lack of regulation but because of a lack of enforcement.

• Further up you Evertt you where saying there was *NO* enforcement (your *text highlighting* not mine) and now youare saying something different.

This is a muddled arugment in an even muddier comment argument and Im hoping Journal will let me post a reply comment piece to it.

• @mark OK, what I meant (and I had hoped that this was obvious) is that there was paper regulation but no enforcement. Hence there was no practical regulation. If you read my article you would see that. I have also discussed this time and again with you on Twitter so you know where I stand and what my arguments are.
      I don’t oppose the #occupy movement I just don’t agree with it, it’s claims and the solutions it pretends to offer.

• I suggest people Google this guy Evert Bopp and have a read…

• Government should stay out of the affairs of business? Are you mental?

• Thinks of himself as a bit of a financial whiz, this guy?

“If someone forgives you your debt, someone else will end up paying for it.”

Wonder what happens when you get lumped with someone else’s debt, that you gleaned no benefit from whatsoever? Would like to see him explain that one away.

Seems that outrageous demands for corporate welfare are quite alright in this chancer’s world, but it’s just plain wrong of people to “demand” a basic standard of living concurrent with basic human dignity. Ugh, that article made my blood boil.

Not that I don’t think that #occupy is essentially well-meaning but misguided, but I’d take them running the world over this guy any day of the week.

• You’ve completely missed the point Niall.

If you’ve “lumped with someone else’s debt, that you gleaned no benefit from whatsoever”, then that *IS* debt forgiveness, and is exactly what the author is arguing against.

The article is essentially an argument for self-responsibility. When corporations or banks take risks and fail, they should pay for it; there is no question of “corporate welfare”. But similarly, the government can’t guarantee “housing, work, culture, health care, education, political participation and a fulfilled life.” You’re going to have to do that for yourself.

• Perhaps I have – I do get kinda a Pavlovian reaction to that neoliberal screed, especially these days.

However, I do think it’s implied in the piece that we should discharge the banks’ debts then “let the economy work its magic”. I don’t see where the author extends the “responsiblization” agenda beyond the private individual.

More fundamentally, I find the “personal responsibility” discourse to be a deeply problematic one. While it is superficially attractive, in practice I see it mainly being deployed by those born to wealth and privilege justifying their sense of entitlement, while placing the blame for the difficulties encountered by those born into less fortunate circumstances back on themselves.

Like Patrick Bateman’s telling a tramp to “get a job”.

• Flat taxes are fair???? you don’t think millionaires have a social and moral obligation to give back to the community? And nobody give me that BS argument of ‘oh they worked hard all their life’, bus-drivers work hard all their life and nobody would expect them to make the kind of money the bankers etc. do..

• There’s another occupy movement going on. It’s called #Occupy Germany’s bum.

The eu was originally formed to prevent Germany getting up their own bottoms again but instead france seems to be taking their place.

Who do sarkozy and merkel think they are summoning papandreou over to explain his decision to democratically ask his people whether or not to opt for the bailout. Then they go and tell him that the referendum will be about whether or not they want to stay in the euro.

Our european public representatives are representing the Markets not us and our fellow Europeans.

Occupy anywhere except the aforementioned I say.

• I think there is an overwhelming entitlement of the 1%. I think demanding things like a society that guarantees housing, work, health care, education is the least that the occupy movement should be demanding, it is because of the overwhelming culture of entitlement of the 1% that we don’t have these things guaranteed, it is because they see them as commodities to be bought and sold on the market, they see them as a source of profit.

Look where this culture of entitlement got us with the housing market, we look down on property developers now (and quite rightly), but the truth is the entire system that treats these necessities as commodities is wrong.

Lastly, the only people to bring weapons to the Occupy protests were the police; and the only people to get injured with weapons at occupy protests were protesters; with one soldier in hospital with brain damage after a policeman threw a stun grenade in his face.

• Nothing to see here but the author’s self-promotion.

• The author misses the whole point! Please reaqd Joe Nocera in the NYT of Nov 1 2011, po-ed page. It speaks of Jon Corzine, former Gov of NJ who destroyed MF Global and yet expected $12.1million! This is the absurd greed which has so many people really angrey. The simple facts are: Banks bought power through bribing(sorry, campaign contributions) to pol;iticans who in turn loosened regulation on banks to allow them to make osbcene amounts of money and pay no heed to the risks. When the brown stuff hit the fan, we the taxpayer got to bail them out and allow them to go back to the same behaviour again!! “Occupy” is saying ENOUGH!”

• BJ 03/11/11 #

Starts well, then loses the plot…

• I agree with the authors sentiment but I also support the occupy movement. The present government believe themselves to be untouchable and unless the unions take action the people will be squeezed to within an inch of their lives. Debt forgiveness it not the answer we borrowed the money why would we expect others to pay on our behalf?

I am desperate to see society change for our future generations, it was we who paid over inflated prices for our homes and purchased the obligatory four wheel drive. We must take responsibility for our madness, look at ourselves and how we got here then and only then can we begin to effect societal change.

Capitalism has failed yet it has its place but must never again stand alone. A truly democratic society allows business to thrive and taxes to be paid to provide healthcare, education and welfare to protect the vulnerable. Fianna Fail allowed business to rule and demanded little or no return for society, few complained and regulation was a dirty word. Its time to learn from our mistakes and move on.

I believe the Budget will be the final straw and when we take to the streets we must ensure we know what we want and how we will achieve it, until then I am happy to support the occupy movement at least they are out there doing something.

• @jennifer The argument that capitalism has failed is a blatant piece of misinformation bandied around by the left. Capitalism would have never let a disaster like this happen.

• random 03/11/11 #

@Evert The only misinformation here is the idea that the global economic system is not capitalist in nature. It is, and periodic disasters like this are a long recognised feature of it.

• evert, there is a difference between equal opportunity and equality of outcome – the former is dangled in front of people by a system driven by the enmeshment of capitalism and democracy, liberal democracy, now neo-liberal democracy – you can be what you want in life just go out there and get it, the opportunities are there. however, the latter points out that the former is flawed – in order to analyse equality one has to look at the end of the process, not the beginning or middle of it – the need to strive for “equality of outcome”, wherein the outcome of the equality policies process points to an actual “equality” is lost in your argument. thus i would say that you are blinded by the promise of what the system offers if you think that a policy of equality of opportunity offers the promise of greater equality for all of society

• 1. “No such thing as debt forgiveness” All forgiveness depends on whoever is doing the forgiving taking a loss (of one sort or another) and accepting that the forgiven person/entity will never be able to make good the loss, that’s what forgineness means. And yes it does happen, companies go broke, get liquidated, their directors create new companies and do business with the same people they’ve been doing it with before. There are personal bankruptcy laws that allow people to be debt free, whithout clearing their debts, after some time. the amount of time varies from country to country. Sometimes the debt that’s being forgiven is partly the promise to pay interest at a level that was effectively unwarranted profit and the loss being accepted is un-achieved profit.

2.”There is an overwhelming sense of entitlement”. I agree that some imagined society that consists of everyone else cannot “guarantee housing, work, culture, health care, education, political participation and a fulfilled life”. But certainly we shoud all, as a society, strive to make these things available to as many people as possible.

3″What you should demand is an opportunity for people to achieve these goals themselves” The critical part of this sentence is “an opportunity”, I note you don’t say “an equal opportunity”, possibly an oversight, or possibly a snese of entitlement that intelligent highly motivated people are entitled to better or more opportunities than less intelligent or less highly motivated people are. The second point of view might seem reasonable enough, but think how you would react if it was expressed in terms of physical ability rather than Intellectual, or emotional ability. Many who start out with a circumstantial advantage, shudder at the thoughts of any societal or governmental system that would deprive them of this advantage, thus equalising the opportunity for all.

4.”Wealth shouldn’t be redistributed. What we do need is an equal opportunity to achieve wealth” Here you do speak of “an equal opportunity” and I welcome that. My understanding of society/government providing an equal opportuniy is that the child of one or two long term unemployed parents who live in a local authority housing in an unemployment blacspot would have the same likelyhood of securing a given level of wealth, an meaningful employment as the child of proffesionally qualified parents who live in an affluent location, and are part of the influential circles in their town, city or area. That would be real equality, obviously not easily achievable, but worth working towards. If wealth is not to be redistributed why do we need government and a tax and social welfare system? Maybe we need the government to prevent the wealth being re-distributed?.
    5. “There is also a worrying trend among some of the groups coming out publicly in support of the protests”. There are always nasty elements on both sides of an argument, I wouldn’t change my opinion because there are people who I am very suspicious of who hold the same view, Concentrating on the actual merits points being debated is all we can do.

6. I agree about the 99% vs 1% issue, it can’t be stood up without some serious in depth research. Lots of people of all socio/political hues are convinced they are i touch with “the real feelings of the majority of people”. Elections tell us differently.

7 “The best way to do this is to force an election” I fear an election will be a substitute for change rather than a catalyst. The last election, not that long ago was heralded as the biggest change to Irelands democratic system in years, or words to that effect. Does anyone believe that now? It feels like more of the same to me.

8. “Introduce a list system” I agree 100%, this is the crucial piece as far as I’m concerned. We need National poloticians, not local councillors in our Dail. But don’t waste another election on the way, agitate and pressurise for it now!

9. “Business stays out of government but government should also stay out of business” Business funds and seeks to influence government all the time so I don’t believe the first half. I have no objection to Government running certain businesses. For a start they may be the only ones with a truly long term goal in sight that isn’t about maximising short term profit. Secondly they may be the only ones with the funding required for certain infrastructural projects or services. But there shouuld be a clear logical reason why Government is involved.

10.”Less interference will also result in more opportunity” I’m not sure what this assertion is based on. Interference is a very negative sounding word, regulation and/or support are more positive sounding, depending on you perspective. but I doubt any feels that regulation and support are not needed.

11. “Let’s create a government which takes care of the basics: healthcare, education, infrastructure and security” I agree, though I suspect you mean “..which exclusivley takes care…”. are these the businesses you want the Government to get involved in, the ones you don’t mind them interfering with. Why not others?

12. “Let’s introduce a fairer and more equitable flat tax system” This sounds fine but without detail it’s really hard to know waht it means.

In short the most important at the moment is to organise and pressurise for a list system, and asignificantly smaller number of TD’s, and then for system/society that is truly dedicated to providing everyone with equal opportunities to have helathy, rewarding, secure lives.

• This article is completely intellectually confused. On the one hand, Evert wants government to stay out of business. On the other he wants fewer, more strongly enforced regulations. On the one hand he wants equality of opportunity, on the other he appears to want people to provide this for themselves, as he opposes state provision of healthcare and education – the very things that would help to create the basic conditions for equality of opportunity – which under the current system of grossly unequal distribution of wealth is a fantasy in any case.

He is also peddling the usual ideological guff about the rich having earned their wealth through simple hard work, ignoring the fact that the vaast majority of the rich come from privileged backgrounds or inherited their wealth and the number of truly self-made millionaires is so tiny that we can practically list them all by name.

I also doubt if his non-inteference in business mantra extends to removing all government subsidies to business (which as the example of ‘entrepreneur’ Sean Gallagher durng the election demonstrates appear to largely dependent on government handouts) and refusing to provide businesses with basic infrastructure such as electricity, roads and ann educated workforce – which they would have to provide for themselves under a truly ‘free market’ system.

There has never been a ‘free market’ – from the very origins of capitalism it has needed a state to support it and the fundamental purpose of the state has been to provide the conditions for business to flourish – not the population as whole. This is why elections alone make no fundamental difference and only mass people power can truly transform the system.

I agree that the #occupy movement is incoherent and lacks a clear programme. It is an encouraging start however for the kind of mass participation that would be needed to fundamentally transform the system in the interests of the vast majority in society, in whose interests neither business nor government currently works. But to do this, it needs to become much bigger and to link up with existing organisations of the 99%, such as the trade unions – the members not the corrupt, sold-out leadership – and other campaigns and leftwing polkiticall parties that seek radical transformation of the system and are not wedded to minor reformism that leaves the essentially unjust nature of the system intact.

• It will need a total overhaul.

As long as you believe that you are an alien individual living in an aggressive world you will attack and defend everything that you feel represents yourself which includes your house and your wealth. The average person doesn’t want anything to change because it might mean giving up some of their wealth. You have to remember that the average person’s sense of self is derived from what they have, what they know and what they have achieved. Take that away and it means death in a small way. Survival instinct is greater than you might think. Now imagine how strong this sense of defend and attack is in the 1%. of course perhaps their identity could be formed out of being really charitable. But in the end absolutely nothing matters. Life does not care for creed or colour, status or stature it keeps on dancing. The hardest thing to do is point your finger back to that which is pointing. There is the mystery despite all your thoughts to the contrary.You have no control over the weather, over the harvests, over when the sun sets or rises, you have no control over the heart beating, the hair growing, the blood flowing, the mind racing and yet you are still certain you are in control of everything. Life does not care though whether you see or you don’t see. It keeps on dancing. Until suddenly….

I think the occupy movement is a glorious reflection of the fact that apathy is starting to go asleep again.

• very good article and a good call to action. Indeed, if you want to change life, get up and do it. I’m not sure an election will do the trick though.

• Some fair points made but you’ve stretched the truth a few too many times for my liking….

• I took one look at the headline and decided this wasn’t worth reading. See, I can do prejudice too.

• random 03/11/11 #

“Big business doesn’t work for the people”

There’s your problem right there.

• I’d like http://www.journal.ie to offer us a POLL about our yes/no/don’t know vote for the Occupy Protests – or has there been one that I’ve missed?!

• You’re losing credibility by reacting Evert!

• Brian 03/11/11 #

Makes a lot of sense. Occupy offer no real alternative bar extremism. As usual most protests attract far left which have their own vested interest in not accepting austerity. Their policies of buying votes through over generous social welfare and corrupt benchmarking has played large part in where we are today.

• Are you mental? Or have you been living on another planet and just beamed down?

It’s not socialism or the far left that’s gotten us here, it’s the neoliberal, small government, soft-touch regulation dogma that the author is spouting.

Please, get real.

• The left has a policy of buying votes? Well I guess so, Bertie did come out and say he was a Socialist after all.

• Niall, what part of a centralised monetary supply is part of the “neoliberal, small government, soft touch regulation”? This is a complete fallacy which I’m sick of hearing – and at the end of the day it is completely baseless.
      It’s low interest rates set by central planners which created the cheap credit, which incentivised malinvestment, not lack of regulation. Government has gotten so much wrong, why on earth would you want to give it MORE power?

“It is no crime to be ignorant of economics, which is, after all, a specialized discipline and one that most people consider to be a ‘dismal science.’ But it is totally irresponsible to have a loud and vociferous opinion on economic subjects while remaining in this state of ignorance.” – Murray N. Rothbard

• Are you saying that the Anglo affair represents anything less than a catestrophic failure of regulation, exacerbated by the unchecked flow of capital?

• Niall, there was *NO* regulation. That’s my point.

• Cillian 03/11/11 #

Niall, more the other way around, we’re better regulators under normal circumstances. However, the problem here was actually created by cheap credit, not lack of regulation. A negative action cannot create something, however the positive action (of a centralised body printing artificially cheap money) did actually create the mess. You can say that regulation after that may have stopped further misallocation and malinvestment, etc, but that’s not the root cause.

When Government was the cause, to suggest lack of Government was what created the mess would be the false. In fact, this only proves the incompetency of Government further with its inability to counter-act the detrimental effects of its own central-planning. Government’s the problem, not the solution.

• Interesting argument, but it’s nothing more than sophism, and is obviously flawed in a number of respects.

To start with “negative action cannot create something”, other than the opportunity for unscrupulous actors to exploit the lawlessness to their own benefit, and to the detriment of the remainder of society. Silly point.

More substantively, if you look at the (easily available) list of Anglo bondholders, it’s obvious that most of this money that helped inflate their bubble was sourced in Europe, and was thus subject to the EU/ECJ’s jurisprudence on the free movement of capital – even if the Irish government had wanted to control the flow, the options were strictly limited.

Of course, Ireland has ceded control of monetary policy to the ECB, a body that I would regard as part of the financial system, rather than of government. Interestingly, similar moves had also taken place in the UK in the early years of New Labour and in the US under Clinton.

All of this is in the context of a movement towards the loosening of government control over the financial markets, the very controls imposed or inspired by Roosevelt’s ‘New Deal’ in the wake of a catastrophic failure of laissez-faire capitalism. Sound familiar?

Your boy Friedman, it must be noted, was the key ideologue of this movement, kicking off with Thatcherism and Reaganomics.

This is before we even begin to analyse the weaknesses of the domestic regulatory system, and regulatory failures.

Now, maybe it’s my vocabulary, but I can’t think of any way of describing such an arrangement, other than neoliberal, with light-touch regulation and limited government, at least in the financial sector.

This Hayekian idea that some kind of ruggedly individualistic, righteous, spontaneous order will magically arise from an ungoverned social space should be as discredited as Soviet style communism by this stage – where the government retreats, powerful private interests will be free to do as they please. Of course, the idea of “homo economicus” – the rational, self-interested actor around whom all of this theorising is constructed – as having any basis in reality should be utterly discredited also. Being only one of the key underpinnings of classical economics.

There is one point where I do agree:

“Government has gotten so much wrong…”

True, but I think robust government is necessary to protect the public against the worst excesses of human nature – in the current context, greed. Leviathan lives on.

And please don’t try to give me some kind of “greed is good” or homo economicus type argument on this, all of the evidence show’s that people’s self interest is strictly limited.

At least government is designed to have the interests of the people at heart, even if it doesn’t always work out that way. Private enterprise isn’t motivated by anything other than profit.

The question, for me, is how we structure, monitor and regulate government, so as to ensure that it operates for the benefit of all rather than only for an elite. And, for that matter, structure, monitor and regulate business, so that it operates for the benefit of all rather than only for an elite.

Without meaning to be condescending, I think that you should look beyond economic (pseudo) science if you want to understand what’s happened here. There is a political, historical and social context that you seem happy to ignore.

• Bravo, Niall. Bravo.

You have said it all there.

• The occupy movement is gaining momentum as we can see by the journalists vain attempts to associate it with extremist groups. Successive elected governments have failed us, we only need to look at the headlines from yesterday to see that. I for one have had enough, I support the occupy movement as part of the 99% and you are right it its time we came out from behind our keyboards and joined them.

• Here’s someone doing the work of the 1%. Trying to smear a global movement in the hopes it doesn’t catch on here in Ireland like in Egypt, Greece, America, UK etc etc. To those that think revolutions aren’t the solution then ask an Egyptian or a Greek. Look who just got a referendum! Did they get it by the list system or voting? No They took to the streets and went on strike.

• This is a blatant smear article. The author (propagandist) manage to associate the movement with all the usual bogey men ( commies, nazis, antisemites) before I could read it no more. Absolute rubbish.

• I see. and refusing to debate the issues or suggestions raised helps to further the cause right?

• I’m guessing that, like me, you’re a supporter of #occupydamestreet? Unfortunately I find your narrow-mindedness embarrassing. I guess it’s people like you he was comparing to bush and his ‘if you’re not with us you’re against us’ his criticisms of the movement are valid and while most don’t apply to the one outside central bank at the moment they could very well in the future. If you had kept reading you’d have seen that his views have a huge amount in common with the occupy movement, he just doesn’t feel the occupy way is the best way of initiating change. We don’t have a monopoly on being pissed off at the system and nor are the occupy people the only ones with a right to seek change. Willy you should get off your high horse before you fall off!
      I’m the 99%

• Some fair points but you’ve made a few too many sensationalist claims with no evidence to back them up for my liking!

• Speaking of entitlement have you seen today’s Phoenix?

• Rob 03/11/11 #

The only thing the #occupymovement will change (if it actually does manage to change anything) is the make-up of the people in the 1% and 99% groups.

For every person displaced from the 1% group there is a person in the 99% group more than willing to take they’re place.

A sad fact of life: Humans are inherently greedy.

• I’m not. Speak for yourself, without generalising those you’ve no right to speak for.

• Rob 03/11/11 #

Never claimed to speak for anyone…. Just stating a Fact.

If you choose to ignore it: (as teachers say to students)

your only fooling yourself!

• What’s your evidence for that assertion?

Most of the studies I’ve seen on the topic show that self interest is modified by prosocial concerns – the strict selfishness model has no basis in reality. Except in psychopaths. And economists.

• Rob 04/11/11 #

I’m no academic but my evidence:

waking up everyday reading a newspaper, watching the news

Where Countries are fighting both covert and overt wars for Oil and other natural resources, where scams Play on the ‘marks’ susceptibility to Greed, Where the whole world is over-extended, by everyone (Banks, Countries, People) borrowing more than they are capable to pay

BTW Is the Ratio 99:1 not enough evidence for Humanities Greed……?

and back to my original point:

there will always be plentiful supply in the 99% group to make up for any deficit in the 1%.

• you argument Rob that humans are inherently greedy only rings true in the right conditions where in this case they are programmed and expected to compete with one another through a capitalist system protected and maintained by government, the education system and that same media you take in every day.
      Another way is possible I think, the idea that its in our nature to compete and be selfish is false and can be seen as quite a politically driven one intended to justify the dominant order of society and make us fall into line to be at the top of the que for the scraps from the table of those at the top.
      Given the right conditions humans do loose much of their humane side, on the I will agree with you but when there is no need to compete with one another and all the resources for living health and happy lives are secure humans become far more sociable and learn to work together for the common good of all mankind. We are social beings we need each other to survive and that is a fact!

• Here’s someone doing the work of the 1%. Trying to smear a global movement in the hopes it doesn’t catch on like in Egypt, Greece, America, UK etc etc. To those that think revolutions aren’t the solution then ask an Egyptian or a Greek. Look who just got a referendum! Did they get it by the list system or voting? No They took to the streets and went on strike.

• Waffler 03/11/11 #

thats exactly what he tells us to do

• Paranoid much? He just has a different opinion. Surely that’s allowed? There have been previous columns praising the occupy movement so surely people that disagree or have different ideas have the same right to speak their piece? As someone said about endas impending address ‘even an arsehole has the right to fart’ : )

• and we should too Nov 26 Enough Campaign prebudget protest! We stand in solidarity with the Occupy movement and Occupy Dame St

• No he’s telling us not to demand cancellation of the debt! Yes he’s allowed to disagree with the movement but there’s a difference between respectful political disagreement and a smear job in the interests of the 1%. This is quite obviously the latter. Especially coming a day after the announcement of the Greek referendum its obvious that the powers that be in Ireland are worried because a shining example of people power working needs to be quashed before it spreads!

• Yes love this. totally in agreement. About time someone has exposed these. As I’ve said here before on Naomi Wolf’s beauty queen slagging cum drama queen antics in New York – they are misguided, attention seeking, misinformed morons. Pack up your smelly tents and go home and do something positive.

• I think that a lot of people commenting would be helped by reading the article again and taking a few deep breaths to oxygenise their brains before commenting…

• Nice patronising comment there.

• There’s more sense in a lot of the comments, for AND against than there is in the article, Evert. You appear to want revolution by checklist, a nice little bespoke movement which ticks all your specific requirements. If you look throughout history, you’ll find that this has never happened, the movement grows, the revolution takes place and finer details are ironed out along the way. Movements for social change don’t come around every month. You should embrace this movement and then attempt to influence it from within, which, if your ideas have any merit, shouldn’t be a problem. If however you want to just get your name bandied about a bit more, carry on the way you’re going.

Just out of interest, where do you stand on the Tea Party movement?

• If it needs to be read twice it means that it’s not very clear or well explained in the first place. But that shouldn’t be a surprise since the article state that in the beginning : “EVER SINCE I spoke out ….a few weeks ago I have been … asked to clarify”

• here are some links to support my statement about all kind of loonies supporting the #occupy movement:

http://biggovernment.com/publius/2011/10/31/the-99-the-official-list-of-occupywallstreets-supporters-sponsors-and-sympathizers/

http://dailycaller.com/2011/10/17/red-white-and-angry%E2%80%A8-communist-nazi-parties-endorse-occupy-protests/#ixzz1bCk7Rr5L

Note: I do not state anywhere that #Occupy supports these idiots but my point is that the movement is at risk of being hijacked by extremist groups. If the #occupy movement had any sense it would repeatedly and strongly “disown” such statements of support.
    Same goes for my statement about someone smuggling a firearms. Nowhere do I suggest that legitimate protesters would bring firearms or start shooting. However by it’s nature of being totally disorganised combined with it’s size it is a perfect operating ground for someone intent to escalate manners in a violent way.

• @Evert
      Your article is so full of holes and contradictions that no amount of verbal gymnastics, links or backpedaling through this thread is not going to fix it now.

• @John I am not backpedaling, I am merely expanding on what I said in the original article.
      It’s called “debate”..

How about you point out some of those “holes and contradictions” to which you are referring?

• @Evert
      For instance what significant demands can a seriously ill patient make upon a disfunctional health service while lying for days on a trolly in a hospital corridor without privacy dignity or respect?

• @Evert
      HA HA HAA!

Are you SERIOUSLY inserting cherry-picked links from conservative tea-party bloggers (discredited ones at that) and right-leaning news feeds and expecting your column to retain any credibility.

It’s good to see categorically on which side your flag flies.

Next you’ll be linking Fox News videos to support your “arguments”.

• All kinds of loonies support ‘capitalism’ but that doesn’t make you abandon its message…I wonder why?

Add New Comment