TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

Column: Those caught up in drugs trade deserve what they get? Tell that to Geraldine Noonan

This week, TheJournal.ie’s regular columnist Lisa McInerney wonders why so many young people are naive enough to deal drugs – and why we presume that they are ‘up’ for the penalties…

Lisa McInerney

ONCE UPON A hazy memory, I was at the after party of a gig organised by a young club promoter. We ended up sitting together, chatting about the local late night scene (not as healthy as it could have been), the direction clubbing was going in (back underground), and the lively punters who’d followed the after party.

There was one young man sitting just out of earshot. He took out a wrap of cocaine, opened it up, and set to work carving himself out a little treat.

This was new to me. Not the exposure to drugs – most of my contemporaries have come into contact with Class As through their social shenanigans – but the lackadaisical attitude this guy was taking towards his privacy.

“Well, he’s not worried about being gasped at, or sponged from,” I said to the promoter, and he replied, in a hushed tone, that the lad was acting out, on the nihilistic end of devil-may-care. The gardaí had just caught him with a substantial quantity of drugs.

“A last party before prison?” I asked.

But it wasn’t the threat of the custodial sentence that was making this lad so careless. It was the threat of retribution from the people who owned the drugs he’d been caught with. He figured he couldn’t possibly get into any more trouble, so caution was cast to the wind. “He’ll probably have to go abroad for a while, lie low,” said the promoter, “or this’ll be his last party.”

Mandatory exile sounds like a walk in the park in comparison to a prison sentence, or a short trip up the mountains with a hitman. Having to take an extended leave of absence from your loved ones is not really comparable to the fate of Ciarán Noonan, who was recently abducted from East Wall after accruing drug debts (despite his mother Geraldine’s heartbreaking plea for his safe return, Noonan’s body was formally identified yesterday).

Still, it’s a miserable state to be stuck in. The obvious retort is “Live by the sword, die by the sword”, but that’s a mantra only appropriate to chances grabbed by a foolhardy warrior, not some apathetic eejit who thinks he can do a few errands for illicit merchants without repercussion.

The ones who really make money in the drugs trade are the ones who never get their hands dirty

The majority of young Irish who get involved in the drug trade aren’t calculating psychos with high pain thresholds and a hankering for the champagne lifestyle. They’re men and women clever enough to spot an opportunity for easy money, but too stupid to realise that the ones really making the money are the ones who never get their hands dirty. They’re feckless nobodies with nothing else to do. They’re easily seduced, easily cowed, easy targets. The technical term would be “gobshites”. And they’re the locals who suffer most for the first world’s love affair with illegal drugs.

You’d wonder how anyone could be so naive as to get involved in the trade to begin with. The money’s handy, yes, but the risks are enormous. A young professional who is caught with a small amount of cocaine or MDMA or cannabis will face certain consequences, of course, but nothing in comparison to what their supplier will face. And in so many cases, that supplier will be some foolish youngster who, through general lack of opportunity or the need to fund his own habit, thought he had nothing to lose.

The Irish justice system is not understanding of dealers’ personal addictions or entrepreneurial ambitions. The judge won’t care how many mortgage payments you’d missed before taking the job, how many sick mothers you’ve got. And that’s the tempered end of the side effects; however stern the law may be, the wrath of the criminal hierarchy is a hell of a lot worse. If you mess up a collection, or a deal, or any errand at all, you better have a clean passport and a unremarkable face.

There’s too much at stake in the drugs trade for making excuses and allowances. For a mere sliver of the real profits, it’s just not worth it.

We tell each other that Ireland is better off without them

It would be ludicrous to suggest that those who get involved on the lower end of the scale are helpless innocents, of course. But we still must ask, if the risks of getting involved in organised crime are so great, why are people still choosing to take that chance? Are whole chunks of our communities so lacking in respect for themselves that they’ll sacrifice personal peace to buy a cheap gun and pretend they’re in The Wire? Have we raised a generation of mercenaries?

Ignoring the fact that we have a section of the population marginalised enough to think dealing’s a viable option, or who will look for status in the stupidest of places, is probably the easiest option. But the reality is that where there is a demand for drugs, there’ll be a demand for drug dealers, and where there are people spun loose from society, there’ll be a criminal “underclass”. There’s a certain glamorisation of crime in Ireland, helped along by tabloids giving impressive nicknames to petty thugs and our folksy rebelliousness in choosing our heroes. The problem with this carry-on isn’t that it’s tricking vulnerable young lads into a life of insalubrious risk-taking; it’s that the rest of us now think that anyone who’s mired themselves in that lifestyle is ready for the penalties.

So we scoff, those of us who don’t take stupid risks, at heartbroken mothers like Geraldine Noonan, who plead for the lives of their missing sons.

We tell each other that Ireland is better off without them.

Ireland’s crime-related challenges cannot be resolved through encouraging peer-to-peer vigilantism. And anyone who thinks it does is either in no danger of getting caught in the crossfire, or has never seen a young man, lost as to what he’s supposed to do next, cutting a grim figure at someone else’s after-party.

Read previous Lisa McInerney columns>

Read next:

Comments (44 Comments)

• I like your point on the glamorisation of organised crime, the media of course are to blame, so when someone is murdered by a gun toting thug can it be referred to as a drug related murder and not “ a gangland hit” and why do the papers insist on printing street names? Viper, the monk penguin ar@ehole etc? Stop putting these gits on a pedestal, this ain’t Hollywood,

• whos turn is it to skin up? prohibition is the cause of the violence in the drug trade, as was proved in the 20′s usa, i dont see many heiniken or smitwicks murders these days

• Legalization, Education & Taxation are the answers here.

It’s an often discussed topic but if the people of the country are refusing to listen to the advice being given out of Just Say No is it no time we looked for an alternative option.

Legalize some (not all) and take it out of the hands of the criminals.
    Educate the general populous on the risks associated with taking these drugs (no worse on some than Tobacco or Alcohol).
    Tax the sale of the products and put an extra few hundred million into the Governments pockets rather than the gangsters pockets. People will pay a premium not to have to meet dodgy people down alleyways and knowing what they get is not laced with something.

I honestly think we are 20 years away from this logical thinking as the people currently making the decisions are still of a generation where Drugs are Bad (mmkay). So just another 20 years of people suffering and families being torn apart

• It is sad that some kids (and adults) prospects of gainful employment are so low that dealing seems the best option to pay the bills.
    It’s sad that anyone thinks being a dealer is “cool”, but it’s illegal – and some people actually get off on that, perhaps, as you said, because of the “glamour”..
    And when you hear about drugs going side by side with guns it’s referring to those up the chain who never get their hands dirty – not these guys.. The small timers “get enough to sort out their friends”, a criminal enterprise isn’t really the idea..

Prohibition has never worked.. It just puts more and more cash in the hands of these glamourised head honchos, and makes criminals out of people for whom that may be the only law they have broken..

And in some cases, it winds up with some one of these pawns getting killed. The guys up the chain rarely see the punishment – but are happy to dole it out..

A new drugs strategy needs to be looked at, take the power away from these thugs, perhaps generate a bit of revenue for the economy while we’re at it.. But proper education and regulation would be vital.

My thoughts are with Geraldine Noonan, so sorry you had to lose your son, under any circumstances. No parent should ever have to bury their child.

• A very well written article that hits the spot. Most of the low level dealers are users themselves who feed their own addiction. I would venture to say that it is rare to find a dealer that doesn’t use drugs themselves and is in it purely for the money. The rewards are enormous but so are the risks, not just in dealing but in possession

I was in court recently where a young man was charged with possession of a joint but his solicitor said that this was a minor offence, that his client was of good character and had recently secured a good job in the US. The judge said that it was his second offence in a year, had already got a slap in the wrist the last time and that this time the offence warranted a criminal conviction because he hadn’t learnt his lesson the first time. Bye bye US job.The guy was more downcast by the loss of the US job than the criminal conviction.

It is the mid to upper management for want of a better way of putting it that needs to be targeted and they are. The problem is that these people use lackeys lured by money or addiction to so their dirty work. Jail time is just a hazard of the job. Custodial sentences should reflect how high people are up the chain of command and upon conviction serious financial penalties should be imposed on them. Drugs are about money and power so if you take these from dealers they are left with nothing. Perhaps a year or two in solitary from day one with no access to mobile phones, 1 visit from a family member once a month and total cut off from their gang would soon stall dealers grip on their territory. This would serve to break up their power base and leave them with nothing. This might sound draconian but so are the sanctions that dealers impose on those that cross them.

• Good work Judge. You just made a criminal out of a citizen.

• If only there was something – anything! – that citizen could have done to avoid his fate.

• it was only a joint, Paul. You’d have to wonder if any meaningful justice was served here in a real sense. I take it by your sneery sarcasm that you have never been guilty of even the most miniscule transgression.

• I’ve never been convicted of anything, and if I was convicted of a crime I had committed, I’d like to think I’d be man enough to recognise that it was I and not the judge who “made a criminal out of” me.

You can argue for or against the decriminalisation of cannabis, but as long as possession is a crime, it’s stupid and immature to blame someone else if you get convicted of that crime.

• I asked if you’d transgressed, Paul.

And yes, I’m arguing the it is pretty stupid to give someone a criminal record and following that deny someone a US Visa / job prospect because he was smoking a spliff. How well is society served in that scenario?

• You’re moving the goalposts, Gavin. The post to which I replied criticised a judge for committing the unforgivable sin of convicting someone for a crime which he had committed.

There’s a separate discussion to be had as to whether or not possession of a spliff should be a criminal offence. I haven’t expressed a view on that. What I am expressing a view on is the all-too-prevalent attitude in our society that it should be possible to break the law without consequences, and that if someone suffers the consequences of a choice he freely made, it’s everyone’s fault but his own.

Kevin said the judge made the guy a criminal, as if the judge held a gun to his head and forced him to smoke a joint. He freely made the choice to break the law, and now he’s dealing with the consequences of that decision.

If you don’t like a law, lobby to change it. In the meantime, if you’re breaking the law, be prepared to live with the consequences of your actions.

• Just to add to the discussion, on the same day that the previous sentence was handed out there were a number of other cases before the court also. In general the sentence for first time possession was €100 and if there was no further transgression within a year the case was dealt with outside a criminal conviction. One guy came in and was in the same position (going to the US for the summer), it was his first offence and the judge fined him, good behaviour for a year and that would be that. This allowed him to go to the US. The second guy had the same chance but wasted it and to be fair if you saw his smug attitude before the Judge you would have seen why he pissed the Judge off and probably why he got a criminal conviction a lot quicker. If he had bowed his head and taken a more resourceful attitude he might have gotten away with it. Guy number 1 turns up smartly dressed and shows remorse, guy number 2 turns up in a pair of jeans and a hoodie, eating chewing gum and treated the whole thing as a bit of a laugh. His attitude pissed me off and I was only observing!

• Sorry, *remorseful* attitude .

• Please PLEASE forgive me for conflating the issues!

• Ah, fair enough Brian, he sounds like a chancer. Good enough for him!

• guy number 2 turns up in a pair of jeans and a hoodie, eating chewing gum and treated the whole thing as a bit of a laugh. His attitude pissed me off and I was only observing!

Now that puts a different slant on things. We’re getting a very different picture as to what type of character this guy was. It seems the judge was correct.
      But my point really is, where trivial offences are concerned, such as being caught with a spliff, it should not have gone to court, a waste of time IMHO.
      I just had an image of a guy preparing to leave for work abroad, but he gets locked up instead. I doubt it’s easy find work with a criminal record, so a life of crime may suit. Plus, a man can probably get ‘wise’ in jail through talking to the wrong type of people. Maybe I’ve seen too many movies.

• Very good article. All the comments for and against making mind changing drugs legal have no mention of why young people feel the need to escape reality — apart from peer pressure and not wanting to be considered a ‘dry shite’. Has life become so meaningless that people choose to risk ruining their health and damaging their brain for a brief period of being ‘out of it’? Never having indulged perhaps I’m talking rubbish and I’m missing out on fantastic -mind blowing experiences but somehow I don’t think so and will continue in my mundane amd focussed way for whatever years I have left- I’ve passed my ‘alloted time’ so that might explain my mediocrity!

• Great article. There needs to be a complete overhaul of hows these issues are viewed. Its easier for the police to go for the lower end of the chain then to fix the problem at the source. If legalization and taxation is a solution then its possible to look at that but somehow I doubt it would ever be considered

• Only when the fat cat users in D4 are jailed for drug use will be start dismantling this drug use monster

• We neither have the space in our jails, the resources to build more nor the capacity to lose the amount of taxpayers that use recreational drugs.

Prohibition merely enriches criminals, increases the risks to the health of users and deprives the state of tax revenue on a billion euro industry.

Legalisation and education are the answers.

• Johnny, if you believe cocaine and other class A’s are the preserve of the upper echelons of society, you have your head stuck in an 80′s cliche.

This was a thought provoking and well written article. Gardai need to send a message that violence perpetrated against any individual, regardless of motive, is not acceptable and will be punished. I very much get the impression that investigations into the murder or disappearance of people “known to the Gardai” have far less resources allocated. This sends the wrong message to the criminal hierarchy.

• Reply to Simon, while I agree that a murder of any kind must not be left un-solved if possible, I wonder how I would feel if my relative who was a law abiding citizen / decent person, was murdered and I felt the Police’s limited resources where being stretched all the more by investigations of murders between dealers killing on another over unpaid debts etc.
      Im not saying this point of view is right but I know it is how I would feel where I in that position.

• Thank you for your love and compassion Lisa. We are a deeply callous and hypocritical society, with brutal laws for young people who do not always have the maturity to consider the consequences of their actions or make smart choices – meanwhile respectable people are drinking their skulls off, taking prescription drugs and freely buying tobacco that will kill them… We now know beyond doubt that the lack of development of the pre-frontal cortex of young people aged under 21 literally makes them more risk-taking, less able to understand consequences, resist impulsive behaviour, more likely to have poor judgement, and more prone to peer perssure, so why do we not help them to navigate this difficult stage of life, instead of demonising them and locking them up? BTW, don’t we have the highest percentage of people in prison in the whole of Europe? Telling indeed about our approach.

• RIP Ciaran Noonan

• If you want a clear example of prohibition causing more problems then it solves you only have to look at the prohibition of alcohol in the USA.

• By down voting my comment I take it you are suggesting the USA should not have repealed it’s prohibition of alcohol and let a life destroying drug that kills many people every year be sold to adults for it’s recreational qualities.

• Drugs are not going to be legalised because billions of dollars of drug money is laundered through Wall Street every year and without hundreds of billions of drug money flushing through Wall St, the financial system would have collapsed in 2008.

This is a fact and people need to be aware of it.

Of course prohibition causes untold misery, suffering and crime but that is a mere “externality”. Also building prisons is big business and it incarcerates a “superfluous” population.

People that support prohibition for dubious moral reasons and for illogical health ones are the ‘useful idiots’ of the most evil, rapacious and greedy people on the planet.

• legalisation is the only way to go…& possibly decriminalisation in some cases

example Portugal:

http://www.google.com/hostednews/afp/article/ALeqM5g9C6x99EnFVdFuXw_B8pvDRzLqcA

• agreed, once there is 100% availability then there are no longer any valid arguments against de-criminalisation as anyone that wants drugs can get them any time they want, that situation has been here since the 90′s, the money spent on courts and policing an unstoppable tide of drug use would be far better spent on education and rehabilitation, plus there the added bonus of taxation and employment, too reasonable for this backward thinking country

• Plus I doubt legalization would ever be considered as the government makes too much money on booze and fags. Its not in their interest

• Whats wrong with Hugh fines for the Middle class users and publishing their names and addresses and mandatory reporting to their employers. That will cut the end user and massively cut demand. Unless these user have some sort of deterrent the scumbags will continue to import drugs into this country

• Where to start?

• I agree, I think there should be lee-way for judges to change punishments for certain crimes to fit the person and the persons circumstances.
      However drug use is not limited in any way to the hio polloi so we also need to start looking into our communities and think about better community policing, better services run by the community for the community etc and also more responsibility upon parents to control young kids and teens before they grow up and become a real issue for the community and Ireland as a whole.

• This for me is a simple mess. Lawmen know the law. Criminals know the law. Preppy kids rarely do until one side or the other teaches them. Neither teach outside of penal brutalism, (they simply cannot-both have their inviolable codes.) That’s why it’s useful to be busy doing something else- As far away from either as it is possible to get. Show ‘em both there’s more to life.

• Legalisation of drugs is the stupidest suggestion possible and only creates more problems.
    Take it from someone who grow up in the Netherlands and has seen the effects.

• Lamb 07/11/11 #

Legalisation is not the answer. Tobacco and alcohol kill thousands of people in this country every year. There is also huge fraud associated with them, through avoiding customs to counterfeiting production which costs the exchequer billions of Euro. There is also a huge cost to jobs through this fraud where legitimate traders are forced out of business by the low prices on offer from illegal traders. I am in total agreement though that the government lack a cohesive plan in this area. It must take into account social reform as well as policing and legal measures.

• I dont agree with legalisation.
    I mean imagine someone off their biccie on coke attacked and killed another or even just destroyed property etc, could it not be proved the drug had effects on the accused mental ability to think clearly and make decision re right and wrong. Then the next step is sue the manufacturers / suppliers.
    Then alcohol could be considered the same thing, maybe warning etcs would be used to prevent this.
    Re legalisation, I just think if my child came home stating they were out having a few lines of coke the night before I would hate that but if its legal what can you do. Its giving it the OK.
    Not for me.

• keep your head in the sand then, if your child is going to do it they will do it anyway, because its illegal they will do it in a potentially riskier situation and enrich violent criminals with the purchase, also they will face a far higher risk of poisoning, legalising it is the only way to regulate it and try to make it safer

• What if your child came home and said that they’d been out drinking WKD and Jager bombs the night before?

• All the talk on here is about legislation gardai naming & shaming. None of this will work. It is the community getting together & sorting it. This is my generations reponseability we opened pandoras box. This is the biggest treat.to our children & the courts are overrun with this problem. In American the war oyyn drugs is being lost. We the citizens of this country must stand together & take on this problem with the authorities & stop it & we may even be hurt or killed but if we are serious we must face up to it.

Add New Comment