TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

Column: Underage drinking and peer-pressure – a second-level student’s perspective

A few drinks now and then does little harm – but just because everybody else is doing it, doesn’t mean you have to, writes Dónal Keane.

Dónal Keane

To mark Alcohol Awareness Week, Leaving Certificate student Dónal Keane discusses underage drinking culture and peer-pressure in Irish society.

THE DESIRE TO conform, to fit in, to be accepted as part of a group, is one that is common to all teenagers. What must be done in order to gain acceptance by one’s peers is not always consistent with the individual’s morals. However, if this behaviour is necessary to acquire ‘friendship’ then more often than not it is carried out for fear of being cast out, alone.

Underage drinking is nothing new in society, nor is it a phenomenon that is unique to Ireland. Where there exists a legal drinking age, there will be underage drinking. It is an undeniable state of affairs, which has been a part of life in the past, and will be for as long as the legislation regarding under-18s’ inability to purchase or consume alcohol remains in effect.

One-size fits all rule

I am unsure as to what causes the sudden onrush of maturity that overcomes people on their 18th birthday. People are marginally different than they were the day before, perhaps even months before. I understand that no two people are the same and that reasonable drinking ages can not be set on an individual basis. However, the one-size fits all rule at 18 gives rise to the aforementioned underage drinking.

Alcohol-consumption, in moderation at any age, is perfectly fine. The problem, is the culture of excess. Ireland is renowned globally for its alcohol abuse. A fact, which I do not feel we should be proud of. Due to the illegal nature of alcohol to youths, most teenagers have their first encounter with alcohol in some field or parent-free house. There is a strong chance that peer pressure will have played a part in this. Pushed on by ‘friends’, kids as young as 13 and 14 will consume far more that their bodies are capable of handling.

I don’t think that there can be any argument that it would be preferable for young people to have their first taste of alcohol in the family home, under parental supervision. Parents could at least make an attempt to explain the importance of sensible drinking to their offspring, rather than having them being egged-on to the point of alcohol poisoning in what would be more favourable company in their eyes.

A safe environment

Parents might not be the coolest people going in teenagers’ eyes but at least if they could get their first taste of alcohol out of their system in a safe environment, there is less of a chance that a stomach pumping will be required at a later stage. Fuddy duddies they may be, but I think that teenagers who have loving, trusting relationships with their parents are happier in all facets of life.

Excess is not the only problem when it comes to teenage drinking in Ireland, reliance on alcohol is equally as bad. I am a second-level student myself, and I can testify that all social gatherings succumb to a drearily formulaic routine. There seems to be a distinct inability for sober socialising in Ireland, not just among teenagers, but across all societal demographics.

I am not suggesting for a second that the entire population become teetotallers. I merely feel that is it a sad state of affairs that the social lubricant of alcohol is required for any kind of interaction at said events. What is even more depressing is the gloomy realisations of those who have decided to abstain from alcohol that without this magic relaxant they do not enjoy themselves as much but instead are more aware than usual of the typical idiotic antisocial drunken behaviour which accompanies alcohol consumption.

Expressing feelings without alcohol

A few drinks now and then does little harm. But all too often people do not  limit themselves to a few – that would be far too sensible. The live fast, die young mentality is a sure-fire way to die prematurely of liver failure. People have the right to enjoy their nights out without having to step around vomit/be vomited on/babysit their overly-inebriated companions. There is always the few who take things a naggin too far and end up putting a dampener on proceedings for everyone.

What worries me further still is the legitimacy of drunken conversations. Science has shown that people still have control over their actions while in an intoxicated state. This does not stop them from blaming their behaviour on the alcohol though. If people need external substances such as alcohol to ‘be themselves’ I question their mental health. It is said that drunken words are sober thoughts. Why shouldn’t people be able to express their feelings without the assistance of alcohol?

Macho bravado v common sense

One thing I will never understand is how people can say that they know they’ve had a good night because they were so sozzled they wake up criminally hungover the following morning and can’t remember a thing. This defies reason. There is a macho bravado when it comes to who can drink the most pints etc. All lunacy again. It requires a great degree of self-confidence and comfort with oneself to stay clear of the crowd and do things at one’s own pace. Consume as much alcohol as you like, provided you don’t behave in a way that will affect others’ enjoyment. Common sense is what’s needed when it comes to alcohol, in a serious way. And better examples from our elders wouldn’t go amiss.

Moreover, just because everybody else is doing it, doesn’t mean you have to. I guarantee that ‘uncool’ non-drinking friends who share your values and courage in defecting from the pack will offer you infinitely more in terms of friendship than image-conscious sheep who dare not deviate from the norm.

Dónal Keane is a sixth-year student.

Read next:

Comments (21 Comments)

• Doesn’t get any easier in third level I’m afraid..

• i wish i never went near alcohol when i was that age, it set me back 20 years, you cant mature into an adult if you are drinking all the time from a young age, im not suggesting all young people do either

• Wow. Really well written and he makes his points very well and incredibly maturely.

Well done. A good article that I hope promotes a bit of debate.

• Aforementioned underage drinking.
      Its too purple, but not bad for a highschooler. Courageous young people who stand up against their peer group of eejits. Fair play

• Well written article Donal…

However, I believe that drinking is a cultural issue. In essence the attitude towards drinking needs to change. End of story.

When I was in second level (high school) in the United States. An athelete could be kicked off the team for smoking and\or drinking and antisocial behavior. This along with my parents disaproval of under age drinking kept me away from both cigerettes and alcohol.

When I lived in Germany as an exchamge student during my final high school years…. The attitude towards drinking was the same. However, if someone did drink…. They kept it under control… No abusive behaviour, throwing up or passing out!

• I moved to Canada some years ago and I absolutely hate the stigma attached to being Irish. As soon as you tell any Canadian you’re Irish the standard response is “you guys are awesome drinkers”. It’s incredibly embarrassing and I find myself trying to defend myself over it. I get passed off on Paddy’s Day since everyone thinks it’s ok to take piss out of the fact that Irish people like their drink.

I’ve noticed a massive difference in how people socialise here. It doesn’t always revolve around the pub and alcohol. People disorders many different things that don’t involve alcohol.

Ireland is still a pretty backwards place in terms of mentality towards certain things and we could learn a lot from other country’s attitudes towards alcohol.

• Barry 18/03/13 #

I very very very rarely drink but one question that bugs the crap out of my is the question.

Why aren’t you drinking?

Perhaps because I don’t need to drink to have a good time, perhaps I don’t want to waste my weekend being hung over!

Why do so many people seem to care if I’m drinking or not?

Grow up people, not everyone needs to drink alcohol on a night out!

• It’s not just the question but the shock that comes along with. The ‘how is it possible for a person to go out but not drink’ shock.

There never seems to be a satisfactory answer to the question either. It’s no one’s business whether I drink and asking me why is a very personal question to ask and comes across as quite rude imo.

Why is not wanting to drink such a big deal in Ireland?

• We could start by closing the Dail bars, forbiding alcohol on state premises, stop serving alcohol at local and national official functions, breathalyse all drivers involved in road accidents and tell Rte not to describe ” out drinking” as “socialising”.

Having a drink is harmless and enjoyable in moderation at appropriate time and places. Our public representatives should be setting an example by separating alcohol from work.

• Didn’t start drinking till my mid 20′s – Am pretty sure I wasn’t/aren’t hiding anything. That’s that theory out the gap!

• Wait till the government blames the Internet for all the drink problems in the country.

• Well done for speaking out so articulately Donal.

• Bantos 18/03/13 #

What a lovely young man. I’d say he’s a big hit with the auld ones.

• I myself am a secondary level student, and I have many friends who prefer not to have a drink, luckily enough my group of friends are very accepting of anyone’s decisions! I think if we spent more time raising better people, we’d have heaps less trouble

• Well said Dónal!

I’m in my 30′s now, but thankfully in secondary school\college I had very understanding friends when it came to me not wanting to drink. Not to say I didn’t start eventually, but I was into my early 20s at that stage. Now, as a parent, I’m trying to set a good example for my daughter, as is my husband.

In working with teenagers, and am amazed at their attitude to alcohol now as opposed to 5, or even 10 years ago. They don’t believe in having to drink to have a good time and I’m so proud of them for that belief.

• Is that a particularly comfortable fence Donal is sitting on?

A second-level student myself (who has no intention of ever drinking, either to satisfy my peer group or indulge in its apparently enjoyable effects) I agree totally that Ireland has a huge drinking problem – not helped by the fact that commentators like this push a subjective view of what constitutes “too much”.

I would like to remind Donal that a legal drinking age means just that and just because one’s parents supply drink at an age they deem fit does not make it any less illegal.

Everyone has a different understanding of the word “excess” and the long-standing attitude of “ah sure, only having a few pints is fine” has not served us in the past and will not serve us into the future.

• I’d say he’s great fun on a night out with his Kaliber shandy.

• I actually go out all the time now and not drink.

It’s not that I hate alcohol it’s more so that I just wanna drive home at the end of the night cause getting the nitelink takes about an hour door to door.

I usually stay out till about 1am which is a good time to go home and you really notice how awful people look when they are hammered.

I save a fortune and don’t have hang overs and am well able to socialise.

• Bantos 18/03/13 #

Haha nice one.

Add New Comment