Welcome to our Public Beta Site - What does this mean?
Dublin: 12 °C Thursday 24 May, 2012

Column: Verbal abuse in the home can be as damaging as fists

Image: TheGiantVermin via Flickr

THIS WEEK, SONAS Housing and Meath Women’s Refuge launched a verbal abuse campaign. Targeting women, this month-long campaign is designed to raise awareness of the issue of verbal, emotional and mental abuse in domestic violence situations. It was launched for St Valentine’s Day because this can be a very difficult day for women in abusive situations, with the focus on perfect romantic love.

I was surprised at the major reaction to the campaign – many people have said to me in the last few days that they never thought about verbal abuse in this way. Most people still associate domestic violence purely with physical violence, or believe it is only significant if there is a physical aspect.

Survivors of domestic violence are all too familiar with the fact that physical abuse rarely happens in isolation. A great deal of abuse can also be emotional, mental and psychological. A physical act of violence is very rarely designed to purely hurt a person; it’s a tactic used to disempower a person and control them. Domestic abuse in any form is a pattern of behaviour that has at its core the aim of controlling and having power over another person.

The tactics of abuse may differ – a perpetrator may use more verbal threats and put-downs, or psychological abuse, or physical assaults – but ultimately the aim is the same: to control and to take power away from another human being; to keep them in their lowly place whatever way possible.

Typically verbal abuse precedes physical outbursts; the physical violence often only happens when the abuser’s verbally controlling tactics are failing to keep the woman ‘in her place’. Some perpetrators never have to raise a finger to their partners because they can gain the level of control they want using intimidation tactics, humiliating their partners, putting them down and making threats. Verbal abuse is just one of an arsenal of controlling behaviours; however it is one that we believe needs more recognition. The reaction we have received in the last few days is testimony to this.

‘Many women identify verbal abuse as hurting them the most”

The irony of verbal abuse is that it is the one form that is so hidden, difficult to prove, so minimised in society and yet it is the one that so many women identify as hurting them the most. If a woman experiences physical abuse she can name what is happening and there are bruises and scars to prove it. Verbal abuse can have a hugely debilitating effect emotionally and psychologically but because of the lack of tangible evidence it can be harder for women to name it or to show its impact.

No one goes to A&E because they have been humiliated and ridiculed and it’s difficult to file a complaint to the guards to say that your partner isolates you from your friends. For these reasons women often stay in situations of verbal abusiveness for a long time.

Survivors of verbal abuse speak about the sense of helplessness they felt, the sense that they have no evidence, no proof, no one will believe them. This can be exacerbated by perpetrators undermining the credibility of the woman with family, friends or outside agencies.

One survivor of verbal abuse said that her husband went into a panic one evening and told her to ring the guards immediately as there was an intruder in their attic. The woman did so but when the guards arrived out he went to the door and told them that this was not the case; that his wife suffers from paranoia and mental illness and so not to pay any attention to calls for help from her again. Other survivors say how their partners would hide their belonging and change the time on the clocks in an attempt to make her think she was going crazy.

This continual undermining and controlling behaviour can be just as destructive as physical abuse, with survivors saying the scars from verbal assaults can last for years; lifetimes. These psychological scars leave people emotionally and mentally broken down, unsure of themselves, unable to recognise their true value and unable to trust anyone or anything. It can cause serious long-term mental health problems and the stress caused by living with long-term abuse can also have long-term physical health consequences.

‘Imagine being called useless, stupid or ugly at every opportunity’

It stands to reason of course. Imagine being called useless, stupid or ugly at every opportunity. Imagine every time you did something; it was wrong. Imagine being unsure of every step you take, knowing your partner was one step behind you, sneering; scorning; calling you crazy. Continual humiliation, criticism and negative comments eventually get into your head. The really awful thing is that living with these pervasive messages can become you – there may be an initial struggle but many women eventually take these messages on as her own identity.

One woman who has been through the Sonas service said her ex-partner controlled every aspect of the household and her personal life and appearance. She said she challenged him for a while but he was so much louder, aggressive and stronger and eventually, without realising, she gave up and slipped into a sort of numb acceptance. She said she began to agree with him that she was the problem; she was the awful, worthless, ugly thing he said she was. He was right – she was lucky he was with her. Like he said, couldn’t he have had the pick of women and yet somehow he chose her, even though she was so awful.

She fell into a depression and took medication to help, which numbed her further. It was only when she saw her partner abuse their child in a similar way and she could see the negative impacts on her child – the low stooped head, the lack of confidence, the sad pained face – she found some strength. It wasn’t easy but she eventually left. She said it took her a long time to fully realise all of the disempowering and negative messages she had internalised. She said what made it even sadder is that she could see her children had internalised some of the negative insults in the same way. She has now regained her lost confidence and is positive about her future again.

To get out of this sort of abuse at home takes a feat of confidence and strength, but these are the very qualities the abuse attacks, making it even more difficult to leave. Sometimes what gives people strength is knowing they are not alone, knowing there is help available and simply knowing that they don’t have to put up with being controlled and bullied in their own home. This campaign is designed to raise this awareness – there is help out there. Verbal abuse is still abuse. Sticks and stones may break your bones, but words can break your soul.

Paula McGovern is policy and communications officer with Sonas Housing.

The campaign is gendered because Sonas works solely with female victims of domestic violence. Sonas recognises domestic violence as a gendered crime that affects women disproportionately. It uses the internationally agreed definition agreed by the United Nations Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women.

Sonas acknowledges that men can also be victims of domestic violence. Sonas believes every person, of any gender, race or creed, has the right to live free from abuse.

Read Next:

Comments (99 Comments)

• Trish O'Gorman 17/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Great piece Paula. Definitely an important issue that is largely ignored..

• toorkeel 17/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Good piece….but…..are men sometimes victims of this abuse too, or is it just women?

• Niamh Byrne 17/02/12 #
      Report this comment

There is a statement at the bottom of the article recognising the fact that men can be victims too.

• Glyn Carragher 17/02/12 #
      Report this comment

@ Paula and Niamh. I know that Sonas acknowledge that abuse also happens to men, but I believe that it is counter productive to “only” deal with women, men or children. There are no women’s rights, no men’s rights, no child’s rights only human rights. No one deserves to be abused in any form, physical, sexual, verbal or mental. If an organisation receives funding from the state or the public it owes a responsibility to those it serves not to be selective or discriminatory. Abuse is abuse and needs to be dealt with where ever it raises its ugly head, but to highlight only the selected few victims (in this case by gender) is insulting, that is a function best dealt with by clubs not organisations.

• Niamh Byrne 17/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Yes but you cannot be gender neutral in relation to these issues. Unfortunately more women are affected by domestic abuse, these refuges were set up as a safe place for victims and their children, to make it safe the threat had to be removed so in this case men are the perpetrators and are therefore excluded from the refuge. I totally agree that men are victims too, there is no doubt that this is the case. But this woman works with
      women. This article is actually about the damaging affects of verbal abuse not whether the victims are male or female.

• Glyn Carragher 17/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Indeed, Sonas do excellent work, and I don’t dispute that however I disagree with you and feel that it is vitally important to remain gender neutral. If you classify any form of abuse having priority over another then you disrespect the suffering of others. I have dealt with cases of men driven from the home by violent women with no where to go except to sleep rough in their car. I have seen cases where men forced to leave the family home have had to leave children behind who begged to be taken with them. Abuse is abuse and in a civilised society we do not tolerate it from anyone in any form. You do the other silent victims no justice by abandoning your neutrality

• Niamh Byrne 17/02/12 #
      Report this comment

I absolutely do not think one should be given.priority. I have not said that. I agree that there should be equal attention given to both as they are equally.important. However I don’t think.they can be dealt with without addressing gender issues involved. The same issues apply when there us domestic abuse but in order (speaking from a womans point of view) for a woman to be placed in a safe environment she will have to nd sure that the threat is removed, in this case the man, so therefore men and women who are victims of abuse need to be treated seperately according to their gender. I do not think this is giving priority just being practical.

• Sean Walsh 17/02/12 #
      Report this comment

”There is a statement at the bottom of the article recognising the fact that men can be victims too.”

I guess men just need to suck it up their abuse is just a side note and if you can’t sure there’s always suicide

• Niamh Byrne 17/02/12 #
      Report this comment

In fairness Sean, this is a campaign ‘…..Targeting women, this month-long campaign is designed to raise awareness of the issue of verbal, emotional and mental abuse in domestic violence situations….’ I agree men also suffer from abuse within relationships.

• Charles Farrelly 17/02/12 #
      Report this comment

“Yes but you cannot be gender neutral in relation to these issues.”

Yes I can. I don’t care what chromosomes the abuser has victims deserve equal treatment. Male victims of abuse have enough stigma to deal with without yet more ads from tax-payer funded quangos ramming the message down their throats that being abused at home is a problem for women………and maybe one or two freaks

This is even worse…

“for a woman to be placed in a safe environment she will have to nd sure that the threat is removed, in this case the man, so therefore men and women who are victims of abuse need to be treated seperately according to their gender.”

What absolute bullshit. The problem is the INDIVIDUAL doing the abuse – not the entire class of person into which they were born. Why not separate victims by race? Or nationality?

We already know that the spiteful women who run these shelters don’t allow men inside so tell me Niamh – how many beds are there in the State for a man fleeing (or thrown out by) an abusive woman?

• Niamh Byrne 17/02/12 #
      Report this comment

How about you tell me charles? You seem to be intent on interpreting what I post in whatever way suits urself. As I said obviously men are also victims of abusive relationships but if you stick to the point of the article it is a campaign directed at women. Maybe you should start ur own campaign targeting men, you have my full support. You obviously feel very strongly about the issue.

• Mick Kenny 17/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Why not just have a campaign to condemn verbal emotional abuse full stop. Having an unbalanced campaign aimed at only one gender can demonise the opposite gender. The danger with this is that it can cover up the fact it happens to men too and where are their campaigns. Article like this do not give a balance view. And yes I did see the “small print” at the end of the article but its drowned out by the rest of what is said. Sorry for the rant but I a bit fed up at my gender being portrayed as the big bad wolves.

Report this comment

im not interpreting anything – Im taking your words at their face value. Which is much better than your technique; ignoring everything I pointed out

I know that the article is about only women, that’s the point that many commentators are making – that the article is only about women!

There’s a huge imbalance against male victims of domestic abuse and this campaign adds to it. All victims should be equal

• Brian Walsh 17/02/12 #
      Report this comment

WOW, believe me I have absolutely no doubt as to how damaging verbal abuse can be – but how come articles like this give the impression that its soley men doing it to women when various European and international studies suggest its more like 50 – 50, but difficult to get an exact figure because both tend not to report it for various reasons. There’s little point saying there is a small statement at the bottom of the 99% one sided article, I wonder if this were the other way around how loud would the hue and cry be?
      It goes without saying that ANY kind of abuse is wrong regardless of who is doing it but its also wrong to give an impression that all men are some sort of animals and all women downtrodden saints. The vast majority of suicides in this country are still young men, did anyone notice any of the male cancer awareness days as opposed to the female ones – a big difference? I don’t appreciate being told I’m part of a “rape culture” because I tell or laugh at a joke, I have a daughter too and nobody could possibly approve of rape. I laugh at lawyer jokes, it doesn’t mean I like ‘em.
      Its time we realised men and women aren’t that much different, we can both be abused, raped, get cancer, murdered and generally screwed up for life. Yes, it’s usually men who do this to women, but this does NOT mean all men are shites and in return some women do some of the same things to men but not all women are bad. We’re used to seeing women running marathons for breast cancer while wearing fake boobs, its all fun, but if men were to run marathons for testicular cancer wearing fake balls… oh boy. I’d just like to see a level playing field, any abuse is to be condemed and I’d love to see as much effort put into raising funds for male cancers as female cancers.

• Niamh Byrne 17/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Jeez, you guys would put years on anyone. I can’t respond now because I have to go put my gender neutral children to bed. Laters!!

• Niamh Byrne 17/02/12 #
      Report this comment

One last thing before I go @Brian I agree with everything you say except one thing…I think the fake balls is a genius idea :)

• fitszpatrick 17/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Very interesting article. Men are often on the receiving end too. Perhaps more woman experience disgusting physical abuse but at least as many men are victims of verbal abuse. It’s an issue for humanity not exclusively a woman’s issue. There is no place for misogyny or misandry in this matter.

• Val Craigie 17/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Great article and one that will hopefully continue to be highlighted

• Raphaelle Etc 17/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Definitely an issue that needs to be talked about more and a great article indeed. My only criticism is in paragraph five, you write: … are failing to keep women in their place. This comment surely oughts to be put in quotes as it is from the abuser’s point of view. The idea that there is a “woman’s place” is exactly what abusers feed on (within this context).

• Report this comment

Are you all mad? Getting punched or kicked or slapped or bitten is worse than being shouted at in 100% of cases. Go visit an A&E sometime.

• Emsy wemsy 17/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Verbal abuse can put your state of mind in BAD places…..some don’t get to A&E but instead to a box in the ground….
      Both are terrible and both should have support

• John Murphy 17/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Very true emsy.
      I am a male in my fifties and having been through a marriage, two relationships, family law courts and involvement of the Gardai in domestic disputes I have had to take a choice of box in the ground or a life above. I choose life.
      The life I choose is to live with myself, by myself and I’m happiest that way. I have grown up kids and have a great relationship with them. I would never again choose to take the risk of living in a relationship where there is no support network or understanding for men who are abused or mistreated.
      Having had the experience of how the family law system works and the attitude of the law in relation to male welfare I find that that is the best alternative to live and enjoy life as a single and unattached male.
      I have worked in the emergency services and the amount of undocumented attempted suicides by males affected by relationship problems in one way or another is frightening.
      This is not one of my better written posts on this site because, like most males, I find talking about or describing these things upsetting and better avoided. Could that be why there is less said by us about this kind of thing?

• Shanti Om 17/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Having been a victim of this abuse I have to say I find this comment highly ignorant.

I was isolated from my friends, made to feel self conscious about my appearance, made to feel paranoid about what my friends thought of me.
      It started out as sly little digs, and progressed to if I didn’t want to have sex and he did, he would scream at me and make me feel so bad that I would give in just to make him stop. Having sex with a crying woman didn’t bother him.
      I got put on anti depressants and between him and the disassociative side effects, I thought the only escape for me was to end it all.
      After slicing myself open and having to be brought to A&E, he cried and promised it would all change. He then forced me to tell my friends what happened via text message – I mean, how do you say that in a text? They deserved to be told in person, but he couldn’t allow that.. Nor could he allow me to be around my friends without supervision..
      He then threw it in my face daily for a few months until one might we were arguing and he said “why don’t you kill yourself, you’d be doing everyone a favour”, he kept goading me on until I had taken a packet of sleeping tablets and passed out..
      I was woken by a family member and brought to A&E, and had to go for a ward assessment in the psychiatric hospital..

The night we broke up he informed me that how he got his way with his mother was “to scream at her until she cries, because then she gives in and apologises”, it was a lightbulb moment..

After we broke up the abuse didn’t stop. He systematically tried to turn every person I knew against me, including people at work, which followed me until I had to quit that job.

I’d call that as bad as being punched or slapped (of which I also have experience).

• Seamus McDermott 22/02/12 #
      Report this comment

“I never laid a hand on her! Why in Jesus’ name would she come at me with a knife, yer honor?”

Why, indeed!

• Torpedo 17/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Hi guys what about a poll to see what amount of your male readers suffer abuse from their other half. Women are great in giving verbal and emotional pain.

• Ian Purcell 17/02/12 #
      Report this comment

yea that’s so ridiculous that this article and the highly insulting and gender biased radio ads are exclusively for women who suffer emotional abuse…men suffer as much, if not more than women from psychological and verbal abuse in relationships…there needs to be much more equality here!!!

• Torpedo 17/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Male suicide is high for a reason

• Niamh Byrne 17/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Its a service that deals with women and was probably set up by women who had suffered abuse. Men can always set up the same service. Male suicide is high for a variety of reasons, not just domestic abuse, equally female depression is not solely attributable to domestic abuse. Why is it whenever there is an article dealing about issues that are written by women about women that men immediately throw in the fact that they are victims too. Nobody disputes this. But this is about a service that deals specifically with women.

• Aoife O'C 17/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Why not get in touch with Amen or a similar group and see would they be interested in contacting The Journal with a similar piece?
      Men definitely suffer this kind of emotional abuse too and they have to deal not only with the abuse but also the social stigma of being “whipped” whereas a woman experiencing this abuse would lack that particular barrier to seeking help.

• Deirdre Forde 17/02/12 #
      Report this comment

@Ian- The article states at the end that it is recognised that men are also victims. However, your suggestion that men suffer more from abuse is willfully ignorant in my opinion.

@Torpedo – Are you suggesting that women are the cause of the male suicide rate? Care to elaborate?

@Aoife – I agree with you entirely. Abuse of men is something that is shockingly under exposed. Societal stigmas associated with awful backwards terms such as “p*ssy whipped” are somthing that need to be broken down if men who are silent victims are going to find a voice.

• Sean Walsh 17/02/12 #
      Report this comment

female abuse is worst and more common than male abuse

Grow up

wouldn’t it be best to say abuse in any form is wrong instead of making it a gender competition

Report this comment

“Men can always set up the same service. ”

Can we have your taxes please?

• Pa McGarry 17/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Women’s hands and words hurt too

• Shane Gleeson 17/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Once again male sufferers are ignored

• Lisa O Brien 17/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Excellent article, verbal abuse should be highlighted more, how awful to be in a relationship where someone is constantly telling you how useless and pathetic and ugly you are but I totally agree it should be highlighted for men also. Some women are capable of dishing out all of the above and it tends to be laughed at, though it must have the same effect.

• Emsy wemsy 17/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Very true. Women can be manipulative and pure evil. One of my male friends has become a total slave around his new girlfriend and she treats him like shit. I wouldn’t say he’s ‘abused’ as such but she certainly has him in a position to do damage! It is not one sided. Niamh,I know your going to point out that this is a women’s refuge set up by women,but there should be one for men too. Unfortunately a lot of men will endure the misery rather than seek help though (a lot of women do the same)

• Shanti Om 17/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Agreed.. I have a male friend who I firmly believe is trapped in an emotionally / psychologically abusive relationship. Sadly, he is not ready to stand up for himself, and our efforts to help him see the light have only made matters worse as he has withdrawn. He is being treated like a slave by someone who doesn’t know the meaning of gratitude and uses their child as emotional blackmail.
      It breaks my heart because I love him so dearly, he’s a great guy, he deserves better.. But sadly he just can’t see that and unless he does there is nothing we can do.

• Ordinary Joe 17/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Men can be the victims of verbal abuse too! We all know someone who is “henpecked” or a quiet fella who is constantly being bossed around by his wife, etc. when this is taken to extreme it’s as devastating as physical violence.

• Niamh Byrne 17/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Am I missing something….she states at the bottom of the article that men too can be victims. Perhaps it was added after the comments above. The service deals specifically with women. Very interesting article.

• Pa McGarry 17/02/12 #
      Report this comment

It’s the lack of balance that caused people to reply. A small sentence at the end of an article is hardly balance

• Niamh Byrne 17/02/12 #
      Report this comment

The sentence is all it takes. This article is about women. Feel free to write one about men. I bet if it was an article about men women would be supportive send not moan about why its not women.

• Emsy wemsy 17/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Nope,bet you’d have uproar that it wasn’t about women…..that’s just the way it is. Should have one for both is what people are trying to say,the article should be about abuse in general and places for both sexes to go

• Niamh Byrne 17/02/12 #
      Report this comment

I must be niaive them emsy because I would most definitely support it.

• Bridget O'Hanlon 17/02/12 #
    Report this comment

One comment in and already it’s ‘what about the poor fellas’. how predictable. You dont hear them moaning about not being included in things like household chores or childcare or the glass ceiling… Stand well back now, Bridget, while the whining starts, about my attitude. Why do you all want to be victims? Yes, men suffer from verbal abuse too but that doesnt happen to be what the article was about.

• Pa McGarry 17/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Get out of the 1950s….. I wish it was a case where my wife did all the cooking and cleaning, but in the real world we both work full time so EVERYTHING is done 50/50….maybe I should have married you

• EM 17/02/12 #
      Report this comment

I mind our kids. I do housework. I take care of looking after the car, the house, garden. I help with shopping etc. Anything to say about that Bridget?

Report this comment

You don’t hear them moaning about not being included about childcare?

Well, that’s because the family courts are held in camera.

By the way, I can’t say I’ve ever heard a woman complain about not being involved in mining, fishing, construction…. I guess the glass ceiling keeps them out of jobs like that and stuck in menial positions like Chief Justice of the Supreme Court and President, right?

• Peter Jackson 17/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Verbal abuse is not only directed at women. Women can give as good as they get in that arena.

• Sharon Lynch 17/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Great article Paula. Getting this subject talked about in the public arena is important so well done to Sonas.

• Report this comment

have to agree with the men, it should have been gender nuetral…men are just as likely to get verbal abuse as women..putting a line at the bottom of the arcticle doesnt really cut it

bridget, my man does his part of the housework, childcare etc etc, as well as going to work to support me and our 2 kids…its not the 1950s anymore….

• EM 17/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Hold on…
    “Typically verbal abuse precedes physical outbursts; the physical violence often only happens when the abuser’s verbally controlling tactics are failing to keep the woman in her place.”
    “it is the one that so many women identify as hurting them the most”
    …and it goes on.

A mere f**king foot note of “Sonas acknowledges that men can also be victims of domestic violence” is not bloody good enough!!

I fully support campaigns to stamp out domestic violence against women but domestic violence again men is being continually ignored or consigned to mere f**ing footnotes in articles like this. Are men supposed to just ‘man up’ or ‘get over it’??
    The fact is MANY men suffer emotional abuse from their partners; it’s a far greater problem than many, especially many women, would like to acknowledge. There should be no such thing as gendered campaigns. Violence, inc emotional abuse, needs to be stamped out, period.

• Louis Sharky 17/02/12 #
      Report this comment

What is wrong with you people????? – this is an article about WOMEN – get over yourself – if it bothers you that much write your own article!!!!!!!

• EM 17/02/12 #
      Report this comment

That’s the point Louis! Highlighting & combatting domestic abuse should not be gender specific!!

• Report this comment

It is time this topic was highlighted. I have never gone along with the ‘Sticks and stones…’ mantra. While physical abuse is undoubtedly appalling names can undermine in a unique way. I agree with all those commenting above with regard to male victims of verbal abuse.I would contend that it is even more common than abuse from males. In most Irish families the mother’s ethos prevails. Coincidentally I attended Hugh Leonard’s ‘Da’ in the Gate last night. Both father and son in ‘Da’ suffered unremitting verbal abuse from the mother of the household. Da’s solution was to retreat into humour song, and cliche.
    I have known women who could nag for Ireland. Caitriona Clear, historian NUI Galway has written of the phenomenon of ‘manipulative martyrdom’ practised by some Irish women. Abusive nagging about the husband’s family is another Irish specialty. There is a good account of this in John Healy’s ‘Nineteen Acres’.
    Shakespeare understood nagging. We have it from Lady Macbeth
    ‘Hie thee hither
    That I may pour my spirits in thine ear and chastise with the valour of my tongue
    All that impedes thee from the golden round’
    I’m doing a blog post touching these subjects. Just in time for mother’s day.

• mkconlon 17/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Domestic Violence is a silent abuser, your sister OR brother could be in a abusive relationship right now and YOU dont know about it! If they were constantly in A&E then maybe you’d know but with mental/verbal abuse you wont know. The bruises dont show.
    People (male & female) forget that domestic violence for women is always going to be worse than for men because male abusers have a higher potential to KILL their victims than the other way around!! Check out the statistics of female to male deaths by murder!

• Eoin Faz 17/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Maybe it’s the Vegan Men from yesterday’s article causing all the trouble. We should probably keep an eye on the vegetarians too just to be safe. There could be a connection between diet and abuse.

Report this comment

Great article Paula. If the male commenters spent as much time setting up the services for the abused men they refer to as they do in begrudging the highlighting of this issue from a woman’s point of view then their comments might have more weight.

• Shane Gleeson 17/02/12 #
      Report this comment

What a great spirit of equality you have.

Report this comment

I’m all for awareness raising of abuse experienced by both sexes – what bothers me is that the only time men seem to highlight the issue of male victims is in a begrudging reponse to the great work that women do to highlight the extent of the problem among Irish women.

• EM 17/02/12 #
      Report this comment

@Louis and when men do raise it, even in these contexts, they are put down! That’s one reason why it needs to be gender neutral so ppl aren’t been put down for raising the issue.
      No one is begrudging women their right to support.

• Deirdre Forde 17/02/12 #
      Report this comment

I’m dubious about the claim that if men highlight abuse of men, they would be put down. I’ve not seen evidence of it.

• Bridget O'Hanlon 17/02/12 #
      Report this comment

That’s what I was getting at Louis but you put it much better. Stop with this ‘me too’ stuff

• Chuck Farrelly 18/02/12 #
      Report this comment

“Stop with this ‘me too’ stuff”

I bet you hate gender quotas

• Firinne amach 17/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Brilliant article about time someone highlighted what so many women are suffering. Saw my sister go through the mill. All the men whininging grow a pair, walkin away from women and kids is what we do best!

• EM 17/02/12 #
      Report this comment

“All the men whininging grow a pair”

Yep. Women suffer and need suppor. Men, just man up and grow a pair. Part of the problem right there folks.

• Firinne amach 17/02/12 #
      Report this comment

I refer to men whining about this article, not about direct abuse inflicted on them. IF you’re so bothered, take action, don’t point the finger at people who actually are doing something to better the world.

Report this comment

Sooooo…….you want the men in question to fight back? That’ll end well

• Eoin Faz 17/02/12 #
    Report this comment

In Sweden, Women take equality very seriously. In a different way than it is in Ireland. They believe in equal rights for men, and a man should have every access to services that women have. They would qualify a one sided approach as sexist, a failing of their society. I’m sure we’ll get there, but these tit for tat debates will probably continue for the next 30 odd years!

• Niamh Byrne 17/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Sweden also has the highest incidents of rape in europe…how that one balances out I’m not so sure.

• Report this comment

Niamh, Sweden also has the widest definition of rape and the greatest level of rape reporting – which is a good thing. In Ireland, most rapes go unreported. As people feel less stigma with it, they are more inclined to report assaults of this dark calibre. Sweden was also the first to make marital rape a crime.

• Niamh Byrne 17/02/12 #
      Report this comment

If you read the article david it points out that the higher numbers are not due to more reporting. I only point this out because sweden is seen as a bastion of equality. If ireland had these numbers of rapes we would blame it on inequality but as the article points out we don’t know WHY swedens numbers are so high but it is pretty shocking coming from a society that strives for the perfect balance between the sexes.

• Alison Irving 17/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Of course the same abuse happens to men, and the same facilities should be available for men who want to leave their abusive partners and get help. The point is that this piece relates to a specific campaign by a particular organisation which is, as the second line says, “targeting women”. Obviously the piece is then going to relate to the situation from a woman’s point of view.

• ponythegringo 17/02/12 #
    Report this comment

It really does destroy you and while leaving your spouse may be an option , for men it means leaving their kids as well , that was the only reason to put up with it , I love my kids but we were all under her control . At least now my kids have somewhere to go where they can feel free… to be themselves.

• sara ball 17/02/12 #
    Report this comment

“Sonas recognises domestic violence as a gendered crime that affects women disproportionately”. therefore more women need these services.

there are services for men. there is amen support services and move Ireland that I know off.

Report this comment

I dont think you know what Move Ireland is for

• mattoid 17/02/12 #
      Report this comment

First paragraph on the Move Ireland website:
      “MOVE, Men Overcoming Violence, works in the area of domestic violence, with a primary aim of supporting the safety and wellbeing of women and their children who are experiencing, or have experienced violence/abuse in an intimate relationship”

• sara ball 17/02/12 #
      Report this comment

MOVE, Men Overcoming Violence, works in the area of domestic violence, with a primary aim of supporting the safety and wellbeing of women and their children who are experiencing, or have experienced violence/abuse in an intimate relationship.

MOVE does this by facilitating men in a weekly group process that involves them taking responsibility for their violence and changing their attitude and behaviour.

MOVE Ireland is a national voluntary organisation with charitable status that provides intervention programmes free of charge for perpetrators of domestic violence at a range of locations around Ireland, which are listed above.

MOVE provides awareness of the issue of Domestic Violence to reinforce the concept that violent behaviour is unacceptable and works with a network of other relevant statutory and voluntary agencies as part of a coordinated community response to end violence against women. Men attending MOVE will experience a respectful, person centred environment, which is conducive to change. MOVE will ensure their conditions of confidentiality are communicated to clients, women partners and referring agents.

We offer a weekly group session in which men can:
      • Learn to stop the violence
      • Learn to spot danger signs
      • Learn to break out of isolation
      • Learn other ways of expressing strong feelings safely
      • Learn to build healthy relationships

If your partner is violent or you know someone who is, perhaps you could refer them to us and help someone to take the first step in changing their beliefs and behaviour.

• sara ball 17/02/12 #
      Report this comment

ok thought move ireland looked at things from a male /victim side too. if there is only amen for men is that indicative of how there is not a need for as many services for male victims?

• Chuck Farrelly 18/02/12 #
      Report this comment

So first you say that there are enough services for men, then you say that the lack of services prove that there is no need for them?

Interesting logic. I bet you’re good at Twister

• John Mooney 17/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Men usually suffer in silence.

Imagine a guy going to a Garda Station and say that he is being shouted at etc. The Gardai would laugh at him. Same as a guy going into a Garda Station with a Court order that he has access to his children, again he is usually ignored.

A man is falsely accused of rape and it is proved to be false, what happens to the woman, she usually walks away with no penalty.

Women are usually better are organising and the sisters will support each other and there is nothing wrong with that. They also get large amounts of state funding as opposed to organisations that are available to support men. Men are their own worst enemy as they do not support each other in large numbers and, as I said above, suffer in silence until it is too late.

Don’t get me wrong abuse is wrong no matter who the perpetrator is, male or female.

Report this comment

the sad reality is that domestic violence is a gender based crime and so it cannot be gender neutral.

• Ken Mitchell 17/02/12 #
      Report this comment

actually thats a myth, 30 to 40 % of domestic abuse is carried out by women – there is plenty of scientific research that proves it.

• mattoid 17/02/12 #
      Report this comment

@Ken, I can only assume that the people who were thumbing down your post have their own agenda.
      A fact is a fact, even if its not what someone wants to hear…

• Ken Mitchell 18/02/12 #
      Report this comment

I dont think they have an agenda Mattoid, I just think people find it very hard to accept a fact when they have been told the opposite was true for years – its only human nature. Domestic violence in Ireland tends to happen in relationships where both partners are violent to each other, a man will use his physical strength to abuse his partner while a women will use a weapon to be violent. I’d imagine the percentages are swapped around when it comes to verbal abuse. This constant assertion that only women can be the victims is counterproductive, it encourages abusive women to continue their behaviour safe inthe knowledge that any allegations of abuse made against them will be disbelieved. I”m not denying that men are more violent and in the majority when it comes to domestic violence but i honestly believe that this constant protrayal of women been helpless victims and domestic abuse as a front in the “gender war” is counterproductive. All anti domestic violence campaigns should be propostionate – whats wrong with having every forth and fifth poster/ad showing the viewpoint of a straight man or a gay man or a lesbian who suffers in silence?

• Brian Rogan 17/02/12 #
    Report this comment

The article could have been more gender neutral seeing that it was based on verbal and not physical abuse, it probably would have been more effective too, as follow up comments would have focused more on the core issue “the actual abuse”, rather than the gender imbalance.

I’m sure there’s people out there (both male & female) who would never dream of hitting their partner, but are quick to cut them down with their tongue, thinking that they’re doing no real harm, unfortuhnately that’s not the case. This problem needs to be highlighted more and whether the above article is imbalanced or not, it’s great to see it being brought into the public domain.

• Ken Mitchell 17/02/12 #
    Report this comment

By constantly protraying men as been the aggressor and protraying women as the victim i believe articles like these actually encourages domestic violence in which the female is the aggressor.

• Report this comment

Im not even going to read the column because im sick of the sensationalist opinion pieces the journal uses for headlines the days

Verbal abuse is as bad as physical abuse? Simple question for anyone who believes that: When were you last beaten up? When did verbal abuse last put you into casualty? Would you be willing, as a test of this belief, to choose being repeatedly punched in the face over being called names ?

Constant verbal abuse is a terrible thing but to equate it with physical assault is a cheap and sickening tactic in my book.

• Shanti Om 17/02/12 #
      Report this comment

I’ve suffered physical abuse. I’ve suffered sexual abuse. And I’ve suffered verbal abuse.. I think I’m qualified to answer so how about this?
      The verbal abuse was much, much worse..

• Shanti Om 17/02/12 #
    Report this comment

It’s a pity this campaign is not just about verbal / psychological abuse. End of.
    It’s wrong no matter who does it, and THAT is the issue we need to address.

Children suffer, men suffer and women suffer too, but they all suffer equally, so why not treat the abuse equally?

• John Murphy 17/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Exactly Shanti
      The methods might differ but the effects and results are exactly the same for both genders. Cultural conditioning doesn’t help and we sure have that up to our eyeballs here!

• Colin Barrett 22/02/12 #
    Report this comment

What ! Domestic abuse in dear old catholic Ireland , surely not ! The sad fact is that in Ireland many forms of abuse seem to be culturally acceptable , no one human being has a right to abuse another irrespective of age , gender relationship status , religious or political beliefs ect. Verbal and emotional abuse appears to be perfectly acceptable in Ireland where we have the incorrect belief that we a right to say what we want , to who we want , when we want , bad news people , you dont (which is why our libel laws get tougher and more complex with every passing year) free speech is an American concept that has no basis in Irish law and anyone who believes they have a right to free speech in Ireland has been watching too many American TV programmes.
    The Irish family courts are a complete disgrace , but only reflect the disgraceful state of Irish family law , where again it is virtually impossible to prove verbal or emotional abuse , where this is relevant to this thread is the Irish family courts accept the general Irish attitude that the woman must always be the victim in any situation , there are extraordinary statistics available (but generally never have attention drawn to them) about the number of mothers who won custody of children in the courts only to go off and murder the children , more common are cases where custody was awarded to mothers only for the children to end up in state care within 12 months (if you really want to depress yourself check out cases where custody was awarded to a parent , removed from parent within 12 months , child placed in state care only to die or be abused there).
    Another manifestation of this commonly held belief that women must always be victims is the appalling treatment survivors of the Magdaline Laundries are receiving from Irish society as a whole , because yet again it does’nt suit Irish society to accept that women can abuse women , physically , verbally , emotionally and sexually (yes I did say sexual , according to witness and survivor statements , nuns (who are women in case anyone is in doubt) are capable of acts of sexual aggression towards women on a par with any man can commit , but again in Ireland we dont like to admit such things).
    In the end , constantly asserting that one gender is more of a victim than another cheapens the seriousness of abuse in all its forms , and makes it harder for all victims (irrespective of who or what they are) to seek help or try to break the cycle , but it is typical of Irish society to want to put everyone and every thing in a box and label it as simplistically as possible (i.e. all women are victims , all men are aggressors , all children are a burden and all over 65′s are worthless to society) , it really is time Irish society GREW UP and have a long cold hard look at the real world and how it really works , however on this issue as well as many others I fully expect to see the traditional Irish societal approach , stick our heads in the sand and hope the problem goes away , but as has begun to happen with other issues , people with their heads stuck in the sand tend to get bitten in the arse.

Add New Comment