TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Column: We Irish are addicted to ‘recession porn’

We all love complaining about bad news – but we need to devote that energy to improving things instead, writes Ed Fidgeon-Kavanagh.

Ed Fidgeon-Kavanagh

RECENTLY I ENDED up watching a documentary over on RTÉ called Departure Day, which showed in detail the extent and effects of emigration in Ireland. In particular, as we all know, it is the younger generation that are being forced to move abroad in the search for jobs.

Keeping an eye on the Twitter stream for the show I noticed that most people’s comments were for the most part sympathetic with the families’ situations as they waved goodbye to their loved ones. However other comments annoyed me so much that I have been driven to write this little rant.

The one tweet in particular that got me angry was this:

This semi-joking anti-Ireland sentiment can be heard day to day in conversations all the time, and the internet is rife with people bemoaning the country as a whole.

On Boards.ie a while back, a comment posted on the topic of “Why is Ireland regarded as a scenic country?” read: “Well we’ve feck all else going for us, so may as well exaggerate what we do have.”

I don’t think it’s funny.

These are not entirely original jokes of course, few of these down-talking references are. It seems to have become very common, if not quite trendy, to badmouth Ireland as a whole. I know comments like these are made in a flippant manner, but all the same it makes me angry.

We live in a great country and we are a great nation of people. We have been subjected to shoddy, incompetent and disastrous management from political parties that have sought popularity and re-election rather than a better Ireland. But the past is the past and we need to get on with it. Playing the blame game – while fun – achieves nothing for our future.

It seems quite trendy nowadays to label Ireland as a ‘shithole’, as being ‘doomed’, ‘wrecked’, and of there being ‘no opportunities’. I don’t think that Ireland deserves to be referred to in these terms. Feel free to call the politicians what you want. But lay off dismissing the entire nation as some sort of laughing stock. Life in Ireland will go on. It may be less prosperous than before, but unless we get taken up in the rapture from above by the flying spaghetti monster, we will still be living here.

And a fine thing that is, because Ireland is a great beautiful country filled with equally great and beautiful people. It is of course unfortunate that some of us will be forced to leave over the coming years, but that is the way it has to be for now. We all know whose fault it is. But this is where we are. The blame game and the slagging of our fine country doesn’t help, it just stops debate on the important stuff. The future.

So my one plea is this. Stop putting so much effort into bitching about those parties and their past actions and put more effort into becoming involved in what they do in the future.

‘An orgy of bad news’

We are all still addicted to recession porn.

I really thought we would be over it by this stage but we aren’t. As a nation we take far too much pleasure in hearing about, and dispensing, bad news, I think we always have done. But now we get an orgy of bad news on a daily basis on pretty much any news stream you’d care to listen or watch. The country is doomed, finished, about to get swallowed up into the centre of the earth etc etc etc.

Of course, good news isn’t as attractive, good news doesn’t sell papers and it rarely makes for good headlines, but we need to find a way of spreading good news as much as is possible. So make sure when you do hear some good news that you tweet it, tell it to a friend or call it in to Joe ‘the Grim Reaper’ Duffy: he probably won’t feature it, but that’s no excuse for not trying. Do whatever you have to but we need to give good news a fighting chance.

Ireland is not a joke and it’s not doomed. It is flawed in ways, but no things in this world are ever perfect.

If I were to try and encapsulate what I have been trying to get across it is this: Ireland is a great country, we are great people. But we really need to stop putting so much of our efforts, thoughts and column inches into blame games and whinge sessions – these actions do nothing to improve our situation, and it’s a national mindset we have to try and stamp out.

Let’s instead put the same quantity of time and effort into thinking about ways to improve our situation, and doing things that help our communities survive and grow. I’m not saying we need to put more effort into how we talk about the country, we just need to redirect it.

Do that and we can make Ireland a country which the poor folk featured on RTÉ’s Departure Day, and the thousands like them, can return to some day in the near future.

Ed Fidgeon-Kavanagh is a frequent tweeter, occasional blogger and chief PowerPoint-er at clearpreso.com.

Read next:

Comments (54 Comments)

• Well said. I moved to the US in the 90′s and had a great few years abroad. How many people moving abroad are in their 20′s and are scared but excited to make their way in London, Paris, New York, Sydney? Good luck to them they are in for the time of their lives. Too much doom and gloom.

• Here here, I totally agree I’m so fed up listening to this bad news wall to wall for the last two+ years, let’s start having fun again, and before I get comments about living beyond my means in Celtic tiger times, that most definitely was NOT me!

• I fucking love Ireland <3

• I immigrated here! I like Ireland, the atmosphere, the people, the scenery, the food, the services, (not the roads their dangerous), I could go on.

• We all want a return to normality but we get frustrated and angry when we see the old ways trying to creep back in either in Politics or Industry !

• just what in your books is normal, most people have learnt how to live from paycheck to paycheck, most of the negative vibes come from the media or those who sit in and watch all the soaps, if everyone got up and did some free work around their community then they will feel better in themselves and will have no problem promoting their area. ban the soaps and get involved.

• You have me laughing John, I love the SOAPS, have done a part-time degree and work with two local community ventures, do a bit of carer work (unpaid) and search constantly for realistic work to cover my costs and get off dole as I hate it. Amazing what you can fit into a day when MOTIVATED.

• Good starting point would be to pass this message onto your journalism buddies who are peddling all this crap everyday. Can’t pick up any newspaper or any homegrown TV show that isn’t gorging itself with all this negativity. What do you expect if this is what you guys are feeding the population with?

• Well said !

• remembering that we’re still richer than France helps cheer me up.

• it really had to be said!!!! As difficult it is in the moment a breakdown or recession is change and a new chanche! Me as a foreigner and having lived quite a few years and ups and down s in ireland I have NEVER experienced so much openess, unburocrative and non judgemental help and assistance and i belive very much that if everything comes together ireland is incredible flexible in its ways and thinking. I admire that and in my home, germany i can surely NOT say that. I am deeply in love with ireland and I am going to stay as this ireland is a plain land of chance now du to its openess and non judgemental ways. The simple lifestyle is something which suits ireland anyway much more – its a piscies country anyway! Love u Ireland!

• Nice theme for an article. You’re right about the total myopia to any positive sentiment regarding Ireland’s prospects. Important points as I see it…The first is that since the recession everyone is an economist or finance expert. It’s so easy to jump on various bandwagons that are going around…”Ireland should default” “Burn the Banks” “Leave the Euro” and most people do this without actually doing some research into the real situation or understanding anything about such courses of action. This approach is lazy and downright socially irresponsible, and leads only to a delusional group depression. Ireland is not “wrecked” quite the contrary…yes we’ve had a tough time but even so it hasn’t exactly been the end of the world…we have so much going for us, and definitely some will find it hard to get through but that’s why we have to make sure we take care of eachother. Negative sentiment won’t help the few families who can’t pay a mortgage. Secondly people seem to think Ireland is the only place this has happened and thus we’re a cursed backward little place…this self-deprecating view is complete nonsense. Some people just want to believe it, either because they’re perhaps understandable angry or because it serves their agenda, so they repeat and perpetuate this wrong view in order to pander to an angry electorate. The only thing that will achieve is a harder, more closed off and conservative republic.

• Well said, Ed. I have been staggered by comments on stuff in the journal. Many really negative comments are made and then given many more thumbs up than thumbs down. I wonder if readers of the journal are a fair cross section of the people. God help us if they are.

• I’m glad someone else has noticed. I have made one or two very positive comments, as I work for an Irish company abroad and I know we are doing better than people seem to think…all I got in response was some ignorant, very angry and even abusive comments bemoaning positivity itself…as well as of course more red thumbs than you could shake a finger at.

• its funny that during boom times, a couple of my work colegues moaned that there was too much work and they would rather see the recetion. ( i wonder what they saying now since out of a job). I think we are just bunch of moaners and we do complain a lot.

• Is it Tramadol Ed.

• So, essentially, shame about the weather, aren’t we a grand little country?

• There’s a tumblr that posts good news from ireland: http://irishgoodnews.tumblr.com/ Keeps me feeling optimistic ^^

• It sure beats property porn! D’jmember how we used to call a three-bed semi in the back arse of Leitrim a prime property investment opportunity. In a funny sort of way, I’m glad that I live in a house again. The idea of residing in a “property” was a little clinical don’t you think?

• While I can agree with the view of this article, it is difficult for people like myself who have spent 8 years in college only to find three only job I can get is that of a volunteer.
    I’m getting to the point where I’m going to join my fellow graduates abroad. I thought this country wanted to keep its graduates, but so far, clearly not.

• Wrong twitter contact details posted in twitter? That column on Ireland’s addiction to ‘recession porn’ is by @clearpresso BTW – http://jrnl.ie/187411

One thing I would disagree with in article.. we elected the politicians, so its not their fault, its our fault for electing them..

• I know some people are going through a really bad time and are justified in feeling hard-done by but what annoys me more than anything is listening to people who’s circumstances are still fairly OK whinging and complaining about the “bad times”. Of course we’re going through a recession but for God’s sake instead of playing the “blame game” we should all take some responsibility for ourselves. Of course the media must take a lot of the blame as bad news sells but we all need to think positive and “think” ourselves out of all this doom and gloom. A positive mind is the greatest asset anybody can have as we all have crap in our lives but it is the way we deal with that crap that either makes or breaks us.

• I moved to this beautiful country in 2009 when all the “craig” was thought to be over and I just love this place! Sure there are some things that could be improved, but there are some things that could be improved everywhere in the world, it is just up to the people to finally do it!

@Mary Cullinane: An Irish “fairly OK” looks like filthy rich to a German like myself. I feel that in general, the people still have money, its just the state that has some difficulties.

• i was really hoping to see some porn pics from the recession….:(

ah well back to RedTube….. :P

• Makes a change from property porn, I suppose.

• Thanks for your mail, well said, this country is a great one. Those who thinks by bad mouthing it will solve any problem should take a look at their on failures..every day I hear people saying or-full things about this country when they themselves have not contributed in any form to it’s upliftment. Emigration is not a bad thing it’s an experience gaining process.which every appearing human being should undertake to broaden their horizon and out look in life.

• I love that idea… “Emigration is not a bad thing”…Emigration can be difficult alright, kids leaving the roost so to speak but we Irish have always done so, it is a central theme in our geo-cultural DNA. We are an adventurous, intelligent, entreprenurial and above all sociable people, born on a beautiful but small island so we should see Emigration with pride as heritage and tradition. Without it we would only be a small but beautiful island, worth visiting…maybe. Instead we have tens of millions perhaps more people scattered across the globe who share those same traits and who know what being Irish means. We have our own vibrant and attractive culture and we hold strong positions in various other cultures all due to that same tenacity that allows us leave Ireland without ever leaving it behind.

• little some cival servants do and get paid or people talkiing about how much their house value has jumped in the last 3 months since their last valuation.

Alot of people have good news – to tell but are afraid to tweet, facebook or talk about it to friends or family as your looked at ‘look at the bollox’ we are a nation of begrudgers.

Speak Ireland up – tell some good news.

L

• Totally agree. If the rest of the journalists and media could pick up and publish more good news stories, it will snowball – in fact the news programmes should have to finish with a positive not a negative!

• It is hard not to be a little negative I have being in this country and seen us drag ourselves off the floor and to have to do it a second time is heart breaking. But we as a people have to start doing the right thing all the time, pay can’t be larger the Germany social payments have to be in line with other countries. We can’t re elect politicians that have a poor track record. Unions that only stifle progress civil service that fights for THEIR entitlements before they try to do a good job. Planning that makes housing a profit centre rather then a social need. Business elite that ran established companies into the ground to get a million Euro bonus rather then run the companies for shareholders. We need make every decision the right thing to do in the long term for the greater good

• I think you maybe mixing up anger with genuine pessimism …… By the way that program ” departure day” that you seen recently is a repeat. Quality up to the minute stuff from the national broadcaster. Ah but sure they’re great really.

• It is extremely difficult to ob optimistic when you are living with the worst of it and all you know for sure is that it will get WORSE!!!!!
      I would be a huge advocate of doing something about it but with what???? Magic Beans???? No credit from banks, difficult to secure realistic employment, not enough money to put petrol into car to sign on unless one skips dinner???
      There is only one way to turn this around and that is to halt all government actions re cuts, giving money to banks or EU, divert these monies to the country and empower it to help itself. There are no better people than the Irish to grab things by the scruff of the neck and get things done. The Gov must help by facilitating this.

• @Mary Frain…. it is hard, but not impossible. Your alive right? Always a great thing to be happy about. The sun is shining, or its pouring rain. Find the good point in it and be happy for that good point. Be happy that there is something good in everything. And before you say whats good bout being unemployed or in a recession… yes I do realise it sucks, being in it too I do know what its like, but take the point that this is a time to see what everyone is made of. To get back to being ourselves and see what can be done without money. My family was never well off in the boom times, so worse off now, but every day we laugh and are happy over something.

• I agree… I’ve been thinking the same for some time. I came across this Failte Ireland vid (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5emdftOIoos) a while ago & it really made me realise what a cracking country we have. I though “F**k dwelling on the doom” & start enjoying what’s great about our country & its inhabitants.

• Completely agree , negativity will get us no where. :) wew.

• I agree that we are hearing far too much about the downside of the economy. What I want to see is real debate about how we ensure that we do not repeat the mistakes of the past. Otherwise we will recover economically in the short term only to face same problems again. Remember the last great depression was really a fore runner of the present one. anyone care to debate.??

• We play the blame game to pretend its not our fault. The Irish need to put our hands up and admit It’s not the fault solely of government policy, bankers or the property tycoons. No one forced us to take a hundred percent morgage for a house in letrim. Ireland will be great once we stop being greedy and selfish and we look at a society and long term view.

• Didn’t take a 100% mortgage in Leitrim or anywhere else – most people didn’t. We were screwed by the bankers and their cronies period. We all know that and should get on with life while trying to ensure such national treason is not allowed to happen again and hopefully at the end of the day we will see some of them jailed ( forever optimistic there! )

• BW 27/07/11 #

Well when your force-fed a diet of Idiot (turncoat) Politicians, wanting to Ban Smoking in Private cars and Renaming a broken organisation to make everything ok (& thats just today) .

Now add to the fact 250k extra unemployed who can’t find work, being hit with extra taxes and seeing a reduction in services daily… Having a bit of extra time on they’re hands and a forum like twitter

personally, I don’t see a problem with venting!

• …It seems quite trendy nowadays to label Ireland as a ‘shithole’…

Come on, it is not trendy, it is just very true! Shithole full of retards and thieves. Food sold in the shops – crap, just look at the tasteless fruit and veg, it is not only the size that is fed to animals elsewhere, but also ridiculously expensive. “Fun size apples”, LOL, talk to people from the likes of Poland, France, Germany, Lithuania… nobody would even TRY selling those “fun size” apples there, as nobody would buy them. And the Irish? They are so excited about this “fun size” fruit. And other products? A million light years behind the rest of Europe. Simple example – Dove cream bars. The amount of varieties on sale in Ireland – ONE; in the mainland Europe – SEVEN or more. Ridiculous prices? Here’s an example: a NEFF oven. I was trying to get one for my new house last year. The cheapest here was around 1K, and it wasn’t even the top model. When I asked about the top model in the shops, I heard they even haven’t heard of it, and the ‘top’ model they had in stock was 3 generations behind the one I wanted. DID said they could get me one, so I asked about the price. 3.5K – a bit too much. I got my NEFF Navigator in Germany, and it cost me 903 Euro including delivery. Why can’t it be cheaper in Ireland? Because Irish people agree to pay top prices for the out-of-date things that are marketed to them as the latest, state-of-the-art products! I really regret having bought the house here (the developer turned out to be a thief, cowboy, you name it, who closed one company and left people stranded, with unfinished works around their homes and huge debt only to open a new company under his sister’s name and build and sell houses elsewhere to people who have no idea what sort of a person he is), otherwise I would have been out of this country a year ago. The Irish law protects the rich ones only and nobody cares about those less privileged. Third world, indeed.

• Talking down the economy when the fundementals are sound will never get us anywhere.Hic…

• I think this is very well said – our government 2006-2008 had no back up plan if the nation went bust, the one with the eye suppose to be on ball – we as a people didn’t plan either – savings were poor – not much saved for a rainy day, not all of us were frivolous during the boom years but still had a good time.

Ireland is a great nation with great people; but many of our bright, talented and hard working people will leave for shores near and far, and pay tax in a different country, add to the local communties in sports, social and community organisations. Will bring their children up in a country where there parents would rather bring them out for a walk on Sandymount Strand or to the Amusements in Courttown Harbour.

We as a nation – talked ourselves into this – yes talked ourselves into this and we are continuing by doing it again; We spoke about recession before it was even here; we stopped spending; people lost their jobs; we continued not spending and by saving more for now the rainy day was almost upon us, more people out of work, we add income levies, more taxes, lower income bands to people already working, less of the Euro flowing around – our banks hiccup and need of a state guarantee of 400billion and 50bn pumped into them to keep them alive; bankers are greedy and tell lies, after lies – we set up NAMA to get things going only to make it more chaotic capital doesn’t flow into business and small enterprises – more unemployed…. Yes we talked ourselves into it and we continue digging the hole and making it bigger.
    Our country can be great again not with property boom but sustainable what we take in – is near enough what we spend and can help the landlord (IMF/EU) their loan back – I do not wish to return to hearing about how little some civil servants do and get paid or people talkiing about how much their house value has jumped in the last 3 months since their last valuation.

A lot of people have good news – to tell but are afraid to tweet, facebook or talk about it to friends or family as your looked at ‘look at the bollox’ we are a nation of begrudges.

Speak Ireland up – tell some good news.

L

• @Gearóid Ó Murchadha

Well we know now where assumption and hope got us…!

• well its about time someone started to be positive, there is no point in sitting around whinging, I think John Mack got it in one give up the soaps and do something positive. The negative people are just feeling sorry for themselves, there are jobs out there go get them or get educted, go make sambos for the homeless, maybe go keep some old people company, Build and bridge and get over the misery.
    Irish people have the biggest hearts in the world and would do anything to help someone but unfortuntely some of them have big mouths that take over their hearts.

Add New Comment