TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 6 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Column: We need an Oireachtas banking inquiry- now

We need that Oireachtas inquiry now to learn lessons from the banking crisis – so we never again experience such a crash, writes Green Party leader Eamon Ryan.

Eamon Ryan

WE NEED AN Oireachtas inquiry now.

It is time for Brendan Howlin to stop the spinning and get on with an Oireachtas banking inquiry right now. Last week selected extracts from a ‘special confidential briefing’ to the Public Accounts Committee were leaked saying they might be unable to scrutinise the actions of former Ministers and Taoiseach Brian Cowen on their handling of the banking crisis. But the reality is that each member of that Cabinet seems, to me, to be more than willing to come into a Committee to account for what happened. Far from being reluctant to come in, I have nothing to hide – so I want to know what is the reason for a delay.

Home truths

Why do we have to wait for Brendan Howlin to build the complex legal scaffold he wants to erect for this particular issue? Oireachtas Committees can work well, as recently demonstrated when examining the issue of abortion. It is not as if the people involved are not familiar with the ways and means that the committees work. We need to get on with it so that we can dig out a few home truths from what happened, even if that is difficult for all concerned. The Irish people deserve no less.

If there is one group that is likely to be reluctant to come forward, I expect it will be the relevant officials from the Department of Finance. They are not known for liking the limelight, but they too need to tell their story. If they are reluctant to do so it will be up to the Brendan Howlin and Michael Noonan to step in and sort it out, but that is no reason to stop the politicians being brought in to have their say.

The contents of the memo leaked to the Examiner is full of legal nonsense. However, if Brendan Howlin really wanted to overcome any shyness among his own officials to turn up, the memo contains one simple mechanism he could use. His legal advice says that an inquiry can take place so long as the information on past events might help shape a forward-looking-issue. Surely this provides all the cover he needs. As the Government is following the overall approach of the last government, including implementing the ‘Four Year Plan’, every possible question could and should be asked about the full circumstances that surrounded the creation of that plan.

Were alternatives explored?

The knives will of course be out when it comes to the night of the bank guarantee and I believe we all deserve to hear the full facts surrounding that weekend. But once the drum roll is ended, I would want the committee to go one step further and establish some other important facts.

Critically they need to examine the alternatives to the course that was taken. They should start by asking about the cost of a full banking collapse, should that have happened, at that critical time. They might also ask whether we would have still seen the €15bn that the UK government pumped into the Irish banks, under an alternative approach allowing such a collapse? How would we have provided any support to people in mortgage difficulties if capital had not been put into the banks to cover such loses?

Moreover, what would have been the cost to Irish householders from higher mortgage interest rates if the ECB had not at the same time pumped some €130bn into the country? What would have been the cost of the alternative strategy advocated by the Labour Party of nationalising all the banks straight away?

We need those questions to be asked in the PAC because you will never hear them put anywhere else. It is so much easier to take the Labour line that, if only all the other parties had voted with them in September 2008 our troubles would have been blown away; the problem with that simple story is that it allows us miss the fundamental reasons for our crash. It obscures the fact that for ten years we had a government made up of high-spending Fianna Fail married to low tax PDs. It hides the fact that Fine Gael were also cheerleaders for the property boom, joining Michael McDowell and others in calling for cuts in stamp duty just as the property train started to come off the rails. It helps us forget that in the 2007 general election the Labour Party committed to a populist policy of actually cutting income tax, just at the point when we were all starting to sense that our boom economy was far from real.

The danger of ignoring the past

The biggest danger is that by ignoring the real cause of our problems the political system can carry on as if nothing has changed. Where is the change, when it takes Mattie McGrath to state the obvious that the money in health is now following various Ministers rather than the patient? Where is the change when now more than ever briefs are handed out in the Four Courts on the lines of two to Fine Gael, one to the Labour Party guy or girl? Why is political cronyism on state boards worse now than ever before? Having fought an election with the promise of change they have brought us back to politics as usual – and then they wonder why Fianna Fail are once again riding high in the polls.

Brendan Howlin clearly wants to put off an Oireachtas inquiry into the autumn to give himself some political cover at a time of another tough budget. He should have the courage to get on with it this Spring and stop the constant refrain that everything he has to do is a result of someone else’s fault. Labour TDs who are now Labour Ministers privately admitted when in opposition that they would take a similar path to the previous government should they return to power. That is what they are now doing – and they should own it themselves.

We need that Oireachtas inquiry now so that we can all learn the lessons from the banking crisis, so we never again experience such a fall. More than anything else we need it to be an honest inquiry, so that we move beyond the traditional pork belly tactics that Fine Gael and Labour are now using, while they conveniently distract people by playing the blame game of old.

Eamon Ryan is the leader of the Green Party, and served as Minister for Communications in the Fianna Fáil-Green government from 2007 to 2011. You can follow him on Twitter at @EamonRyan.

Read next:

Comments (50 Comments)

• How about a criminal investigation.
    TDs investigating TDs, he said, she said, here’s a report, someone was bold, nothing else happens.
    We’ve seen it all before.
    Go away.

• We need a people’s tribunal held in public and televised where all the traitors are tried and sentenced. Even the bit part players like Ryan who so cheerfully helped to hold Cowen and Lenihan’s costs while they kicked the shit out of us. Forget a toothless oireachtais committee or a stage managed High Court case where golf buddies go through the motions to make plebs think justice is being done

• There not going to investigate their buddies

• We do not need an Oireachtas enquiry but we do need an independent enquiry with the powers to bring criminal proceedings against those who brought about this crisis be it bankers, developers or politicians!

• And where were the Green Party when all the banks were up to no good, Eamon???

• Fingers Fingleton, Sean P FitzP, Biffo…………but what about that useless user of oxygen Patrick Neary?

http://www.herald.ie/news/630000-golden-handshake-for-the-bungling-banks-watchdog-pat-neary-27901281.html

And the other waste of space John Hurley?

Inda wants to make this country the “best little country to do business in”; now, start a business and you go bust you (currently) face 12 years bankrupt. Join the Civil Service, make a b*****ks of things, get paid off, grab your pension and disappear in to the sunset. This country does not have an entrepreneurial mind set – the people do! I find it difficult to agree with Eamonn Ryan but an inquiry is required with statutory powers to call everyone necessary.

It is truly sickening what has gone on.

• You and the vast majority of ordinary citizens have absolutely no idea how the money system works.
    Your ignorance costs you dearly. Your fiat currency is a giant Ponzi scheme using the long established trick of fractional reserve banking where we pretend to give you something of worth (cash and loans) and you pay us back in servitude and physical assets.
    It is so integrated into the normal functioning of society that our extortionate demands to save it when it collapses in cycles (“bailouts”) is guaranteed.
    Thank you for being our slaves and not realising it. Continue onward, we look forward to you and your descendants next bondage payment and all of your natural resources.

• “We need that Oireachtas inquiry now so that we can all learn the lessons from the banking crisis, so we never again experience such a fall”

The banking crisis started in 2008, it is now 2013.

No actions have been taken to prevent another bubble forming if the same circumstances arose again. An Oireachtas inquiry will not change that. The Oireachtas serves no useful function in our society.

• Your crisis is continuous ever since you used fractional banking with the birth of central bankers. You have just gone through the collapse and payout phase. There has been absolutely no change. We look forward to the next collapse once the ordinary citizen puts all their assets into our financial pyramid scheme.

What a shame you gave us control of your money supply signing up to the euro currency. We manipulate the supply of money to your nation with ease. We buy up your nation for half nothing after we orchestrate a collapse.

• BONDAGE you are 100 percent right we as a nation have been taken over as a nation from financial institutions ,people of this island they could not have achieved this take over without the help of politicians judges and senior civil servants plus the political parties involved in goverment for the last two terms,these people are your true enemies.

• We must acknowledge the major influence of our false advisors planted in your political departments and central bank who act as sentinels for our deceptions.
      Ex-attorney generals and economists who have been turned against their country for their own personal gain.
      Whatever they advice I would strongly suggets you do the opposite.

• Since my last spirited but honest comment was taken down, I’ll try again.

Mr Eamonn Ryan
      You did nothing for us while you were in government.
      Please go away and enjoy your generous pension.
      “You’re very welcome”

• How could anybody listen to this clown. He and his crazy party had their chance and they blew it. They will never ever get elected again in this solar system or indeed in the Milky Way.

• Mr. Ryan, do us all a favour and jump in the recycling bin.

• We need a banking enquiry so that in 20/ 30 years time when we are next bailing out a bank(s) we know how to do it better. Banks rule the economic world. Bailouts of banks/ other financial institutions by taxpayers is seen by same institutions as a natural part of their life cycle. It happened many times before the current crisis and will likely happen again, as no western government has discovered (or perhaps desire) to wrest power from banks.

• Ryan
    Your Green Party were nothing but sell outs. Ye got in to office and stuffed all of your pockets until everything fell apart. You were the willing helpers to Fianna Fáil as they destroyed this Country.
    Your opinion and the opinion of any member of the Green Party means as much to me as dog excrement.
    The Labour Party will be going the same way as the Greens.
    Greedy Uncle Toms with no loyalty to anyone except themselves.

• Someone people can’t see the past, neither can they see or hear those who actually see and ‘get’ the current status quo.

• Time enough for the post mortem after the patient has died. The priority right now though is to staunch the flow of blood.
    I believe a large section of the population now realise that the government is not acting in the interests of the people and have in fact betrayed us. FG and Labour are collaborating with the ECB to load the private debts of speculative financial capitalism onto the backs of the Irish people. The evidence is overwhelming.
    The vicious cutbacks to our social support systems and the various attacks on our income including the Home tax, water charges etc along with the enforced fire sale of our national assets are some of the means by which we will be made to pay this odious debt. This economic warfare is summed up in the word Austerity. We cannot wait until 2016 to replace this Vichy government. The Irish people must put a stop to this looting of the nation now.

We are ruled by consent in a democracy and so any government can be removed if a large enough body of the citizens withdraw this consent. This can be done through mass peaceful civil disobedience. This process started last year when 700k Irish people refuse to pay the unjust Household tax. The protest will continue this year with a mass boycott of the Property Tax.

CAPTA , the Campaign Against Property Tax and Austerity (formerly the anti Household tax campaign) is organising the fight against this unjust tax and the austerity program generally being imposed on the Irish people to pay for the gambling losses of the financial speculators. Please go along to your local meetings, get involved and stand and fight with us.

http://nohouseholdtax.org/

In parallel with the boycotts, we also need the Unions to finally rediscover some backbone and implement widespread industrial action to oppose the will of the government. Unfortunately they have been led by a toothless old greyhound when the country needs a Rottweiler. A sustained campaign of political pressure on the Labour party is also necessary which would include running a large contingent of anti- austerity candidates in the 2014 local elections in direct opposition to Labour.
    If these measures are not successful then more drastic action needs to be considered, up to and including a National Mortgage Strike. It is our obligation to prevent the government extracting the money from the citizens to pay for this odious debt though all possible peaceful means. We need to mark our line in the sand now and withdraw our consent to be governed in this manner.

• Bertie cold chair the enquiry.

• Declan 13/02/13 #

Little Jim, bondage informer, Michael o se. I salute you gents. Excellent succinct comments all. Nothing else to be said really. Intellect and common sense like your might give Ireland and its ordinary people a chance.

• Where have all the rest of the crazy Greens gone?

• How does the most irrelevant man from the most irrelevant party in Irish politics,get to write a column on regular bases here???

I mean does anybody really care what Eamon(I don’t accept we ruined the country)Ryan has to say ???

• An Oireachtas Committee would be an ineffective and inappropriate form of inquiry which is so Constitutionally constrained by the Maguire v Ardagh Supreme Ciurt decision that it would only be able to express very general and impersonal conclusions.

The best way to ensure that the specifics are never revealed and that no finger pointing occurs is to proceed with this proposal. A private Commission of Inquiry with very well drafted terms of reference is a much better solution.

The other advantage of an Oireachtas inquiry is that it would derail the prosecutions of Seanie FitzPatrick and others.

Sean Quinn might also gain valuable assistance from this inquiry.

• Someone people can’t see the past, neither can they see or hear those who actually see and ‘get’ the current status quo.

• Yes but only if they have the ability to do it?

• One Euro per barrel ! …shell to sea! …the cat is out of the bag and R.B.B.’s let it ! Wakey wakey Ireland !

• I have a slight issue with that line of thought.

Would you rather no small party ever go into government? Because they will automatically have things brought through that they disagree with. Its the same thing with Labour now, except of course, Greens had a large portion of their policy start to be implemented before that government fell and Labour have had feck all. Greens also had a fraction of their numbers. Greens were elected to bring in a core group of policies by their voters, economic issues were not one of them. Also if they had voted no to the bank guarantee it would have got through with a massive margin anyway.

In bed with the last shower, we are a proportional representation, you will automatically get a lot of Junior members of government. Would you rather first past the post and only get a coalition once in a blue moon?

Add New Comment