TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 13 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Column: What’s happening to left-wing parties in Ireland?

A significant impact of Labour being in government is the failure of left-wing ideas and alternatives to austerity to gain further popular support, writes Dr Rory Hearne.

Image: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

GIVEN THE RECENT departure of the Socialist Party from the United Left Alliance (ULA) the progress of the ‘Left’ in Ireland is under the spotlight again. With the increase in issues affecting people across the country such as unemployment, poverty and deprivation, bank and mortgage debt, emigration etc, the question being asked is why is the radical left and opposition social movements espousing a ‘left-wing’ or ‘progressive’ agenda of greater equality, social justice, and democracy, not growing in Ireland – as has happened with the emergence of new left parties in Greece (Syrizia) and growing opposition in Spain and Portugal?

Potential historic impact of election result

Firstly, we must return to the historic 2011 general election where left wing parties and independents almost doubled their representation in the Dail, from 34 to 62 TDs. In Irish terms, it was correct to classify this is as a political revolution, given the historic growth in support for the left. There was, at that point, an opportunity to fundamentally realign Irish politics along left/right or conservative/progressive lines. However, on reflection, the Labour Party undermined the potential historic impact of the election result by entering, as the minority partner, into coalition government with the Fine Gael.

Had Labour stayed in opposition and forced the two right-wing parties of Fine Gael and Fianna Fail to coalesce, they would have lead a predominantly left opposition with significant potential to gain enough support to become the first left-wing government in Ireland after the election of 2016. Labour’s decision was a continuation along the well-trodden historical path of mainstream left-wing politics in Ireland. Labour only had to look at its own history, and that of the recent Green Party, to see what happens in these cases. The smaller left-wing party ends up promoting and implementing the agenda of the bigger right-wing party, thus reducing the people’s confidence and belief in what left parties can do in government and, resulting in the electoral collapse of the left-wing party in the following election. This is happening to Labour in government today.

It appears that Sinn Fein, as the next largest ‘left’ party, are gaining support from Labour’s demise and we are likely to witness at the 2016 general election Sinn Fein gaining enough seats to play a key role in the formation of the next government. While Sinn Fein are presenting strong opposition and left-wing policies currently, they have not ruled out coalition government with Fianna Fail or Fine Gael, and their experience at compromise in Northern Ireland would suggest they could join a government with one of the two right wing parties, despite some significant opposition within their own ranks. Or, will Sinn Fein do what Labour didn’t in 2011 and remain in opposition until it can gain enough support, along with what’s left of Labour and Independents to lead a ‘left’ wing government in 2021?

Alternatives to austerity not explored

A significant impact of Labour being in government is the failure of left wing ideas and alternatives to austerity to gain further popular support. This is, in part, because of Labour’s acceptance, support and promotion of the current establishment discourse which determines that the government’s overriding priority is to implement austerity in order to meet our deficit targets and pay the bank debt that isn’t ours in order to gain ECB approval and the confidence of the international financial markets.

Thus we will be able to borrow again on international markets and regain our, so-called, ‘national sovereignty’. Apart from the reality that recent EU treaties and the discipline of the international markets mean there will be very little economic sovereignty left when we exit the bailout, these policies are to be pursued irrespective of their social costs. Thus it justifies the devastation being caused to the poor, the vulnerable, much-needed public services, and our society and economy.

The support for this course, despite objections within the Labour Party, has made it more difficult for alternative policy options such as taxing wealth, stimulus employment programmes, and maintaining public spending, to be given air time and legitimacy, as the largest ‘left’ party in the state is spending a lot of its time dismissing and disagreeing with them. Labour’s rightward shift to the centre does also reflect a similar trend in recent decades of social democratic parties across Europe.

Quiet trade unions

Another influential factor on left-wing alternatives not increasing support in the post-election period is the quiescence of the trade unions and their support for a social partnership approach in the various Croke Park agreements. This is in contrast to other bail out countries where the trade unions are playing a central role in increasing support for left wing alternatives and opposition, leading mobilisations and highlighting that there are alternatives to austerity. But here, while they do support the likes of the Nevin Institute, and protests such as those set to take place this Saturday, and there are the likes of Unite and Mandate taking a ‘left wing’ position, overall the largest parts of the trade union movement are focused on maintaining industrial peace as part of the narrative of austerity is necessary to regain our economic sovereignty.

It is better, they argue, to be inside influencing negotiations. This parallels the Labour Party argument that it is better to be in Government having some influence over procedures. However, the question being raised by many Labour Party and trade union members is whether or not it has reached the point where this strategy has become self-defeating and is inflicting social hardship beyond what is acceptable to these organisations.

They ask how does implementing and acquiescing to policies resulting in tens of thousands of educated young people being forced to emigrate, a youth unemployment rate of 30 per cent , one in five households without an adult employed, cuts to vital public services such as home helps or the  regeneration of disadvantaged areas (36 per cent reduction in funding on 2011 and a 10.7 per cent reduction in funding for the Local Community Development Programme from 2011) - fit with Labour’s left wing values such as equality, and trade union principles of solidarity and socialism?

Support growing

Interestingly, recent evidence shows a growing proportion of Irish people would support Labour and the Trade Unions in pursuing more radical, oppositional ‘left-wing’ policies. There are regular protests across the country about hospital closures, cuts to home helps, and local development issues, while 50 per cent, around 800,000, of people who were eligible to pay the household charge did not pay it initially.

The results of the Fiscal Treaty referendum in June last year demonstrated the growing opposition in working class and poor areas. There was 70 per cent support for the referendum in middle-class areas while no votes of up to 85 and 90 per cent in traditionally disadvantaged areas such as Ballymun were recorded. A 2010 survey by the think tank TASC revealed that 87 per cent of respondents believed wealth is unfairly distributed while a poll prior to last December’s budget showed that 88 per cent of people wanted a tax for those earning over €100,000.

It is clearly time for the left to take a hard look at what it stands for.

Rory Hearne, is a community worker, policy analyst, occasional lecturer and has been active in social movements for many years. His book on Public Private Partnerships in Ireland: Failed Experiment or the Way Forward for the State was published by Manchester University Press in 2011. He is involved with the Claiming our Future, social movement – to find out more go to www.claimingourfuture.ie

Read next:

Comments (93 Comments)

• Sean O’Rourke “You kept it really simple – protect Child Benefit, vote Labour!”

Pat Rabbitte “Yeah well…I mean…isn’t that what you tend to do during an election?”

• Labour, under its current leadership, cannot be described as a left wing party. The description is absurd. The policies Labour are involved with implementing are right wing policies.

• They’re a minority party in coalition; the policies implemented are going to be primarily those of the majority party. That’s how being a minority party works, you only get to implement, at best, a small amount of your policies. In this case stuff like reducing the cuts to minimum wage which Fine Gael would never have done alone.

• They are a minority party who could have chosen to walk on Wednesday night. A complete and utter farce. And as for their union henchmen……..

• They could have chosen to walk at any time, which would either result in Fine Gael making a deal with Independents, or an election which would be unlikely to increase the share of seats that Labour have. Walking does nothing but place the rudder entirely in Fine Gael’s hands.

• Walking would demonstrate that they have ethics and actually care about the country – and not just about their own pensions and one group of workers.

• Maths the rudder is completely on FG hands, labour are too cowardly

• You can have all the ethics you like, but leaving a minority position in government leaves you powerless to practice them in a way that helps people. Walking helps no-one, it’s an empty gesture because the numbers aren’t there. You change nothing, except push the government further to the right.

• If you look at the debate on Wednesday night, who was jeering the left wing opposition spokespeople. The main jeering was coming from the Labour members specifically Gilmore and Rabitte(Tweedeldum & tweedledee, who could’nt resist saying that). These two are accusing SInn Fein of oppurtunism, why, because they both perfected the art and think they can spot another person doing it. These guys are why the public dont trust left wing politicians, are left wingers just being populist in order to eventually get into power?. How do we know that one day Richard Boyd-barrett or Clare Daly wont be sucked into an opposition Labour party, continue to say what they’ve always said, then get into power and start toeing along the Fine Gael line.

• censored 12/02/13 #

Lads, just think of the pensions! That’s what is important to the champagne socialists of the Irish “Labour” party.

• iBob101 10/02/13 #

You heard it from Gilmore himself: “Frankfurt’s way or Labour’s way”. Now we know which.

• it is very misguiding to put eamonn gilmores face on this article as the labour party are certainly not an example in their current state of left wing politics in this country.
    when a labour minister for social protection cuts the respite grant for carers this is not an action of a leftwing party. when a junior minister for finance pulls the ladder up from all the new entrants in the civil service this is not the actions of a leftwing party. when the party leaders wife is given a job out of thin air on a mega salary this is not leftwing politics.
    so please take down the picture its insulting to true leftwing politicians

• Labour sold their souls to the devil and will reap the benefit come 2016.

• Thee is no left or right. Only self-serving people feathering heir own nests. Wednesday night proved that.

• There will never be a proper left wing element in this country while labour keeps proping up fg and ff. Until ff and fg get together their will never be a left lead government

• Despite the fact that right wing politics and its associated economics have abysmally failed, the vast majority of Irish people remain staunchly right wing. There are plenty of reasons for this. Conformity, lack of critical thinking, the herd instinct and the way in which right wing politics and economics held out the false promise of individual wealth were a factor. The Irish Roman Catholc Church has reinforced that conservative outlook, having lost sight of social justice and public morality in favour of a highly prescriptive and obsessional sexual morality.

My personal viewpoint is close to the Social Democratic model which operates in some of the Scandinavian Countries.

Tony Judt ‘s book, “I’ll Fares the Land” is a wonderful indictment of right wing economics.

The right wing politico-economic philosophy thought that the boom bust cycle has been eliminated and that capitalism was a full solution. Capitalism is prone to speculative excess and lack of sustainability.

Then there is the consideration that capitalism results in unsustainable effects on the environment and global warming anthropogenic climate change.

Democratically speaking, the absence of a significant left wing in Ireland is appropriate and to be expected. Paddy, of which I am one, is compliant, passive, interested in politics from a tribal loyalty perspective and more than happy to collude in her and his own oppression.

The real incomes of the working classes and of the middle classes will continue to decline, income inequaly will continue to become more extreme and the new privileged are those in the upper echelons of the public service, politics and regulation whose magnificent salaries and munificent pensions will immunise them to the widespread poverty which is fast descending on the rest of us.

We are a nation sold into Bondhood and we accept our fate because to rock the boat is the greatest sin in Irish life.

• Peter, yes, we are peasants , come from peasant stock, and the biggest sin of all, I’m breeding a new generation of the same

• Peter, tis rare that I agree with anyone elses slightly longer comments, but I agree fully with what you’ve posted and it’s well put!

The only upshot of this huge depressing mess that I feel we are in is that more and more I’m seeing and getting engaged in conversations where folks, myself included, are starting to use that too often unused faculty called critical thinking. So, I guess that’s something that gives me cause for cautious encouragement!

• censored 12/02/13 #

That’s partly because it’s not totally right wing. They have just enough lefty bits in the mix to keep the plebs happy (bread and circuses) while they loot the country.

• The ULA use tired language such as “ordinary working class people” and seem stuck in the past. Labour are almost indistinguishable from FF/FG, and SF are focused on creating a “United Ireland”, when the south is lost to Germany. The Greens and Labour both betrayed their electorates in relation to social justice, and I assume SF will do the same.

I think the next election will be a difficult one for voters that want social justice, it will highlight for us the massive democratic deficit that exists. It would be interesting if MRBI would do a poll asking people if they feel represented by *any* of the parties – I sure as hell don’t.

• Now that Damien Duff retired from internationals he should start a new left wing party. He has more experience than the lot tbh.

• Interesting article as much for what was not written as what was written. I think much of the reason that left wing and social democratic principles never took hold here had as much to do with historical reasons as anything else. The (heavy) industrial revolution largely by passed us thus robbing the opportunity for organised labour (unions) to radicalise large sections of the population. The Labour party had its termination largely out of the urban working class in so far as one existed in the early 1900’s when Ireland was still a largely agrarian society. For whatever reason it never seemed to appeal to “the rural workers” the foundation of Fianna Fail gave a home to this constituency and it is one that it has largely held sway over since.

Another factor that undoubtedly held back the radicalisation of the population at large was the effective “subcontracting” if education, first by the British state and later our own state to the churches. It certainly was not in their interests to ferment any radicalism.

The net result of these factors is that we have a smaller than most countries “left” in the traditional sense made up of everything from the various ULA factions through to the Labour party. Much if what should be its core has either had its clothes taken by Fianna Fail or has been deradicalised due to environmental reasons that they will never go left and might at best support an indo such as Finnin McGrath, Ming, Mattie McGrath or heaven forbid Healy-Rae.

• The banking interests have figured out that you only need to control / influence the top few politicians to dictate policy. They failed in Iceland. They succeed in Ireland. Enda Kenny was a pushover as he doesn’t have an ideology of his own. Noonan happily carried out the instructions he received from his bilderberg buddies. Gilmore and Rabbit are totally out of touch with the grassroots Labour membership. Hence the discord in the party. They want ministerial pensions for their retirement and screw ideology.
    Politicians that suit the banksters are funded and promoted to the top in US. Blair Bush Clinton Obama etc. The top Eurocrats likewise. Von rumpoy Trichet to name but two. The Geitner doctrine of banks too big to fail is really a scam to enrich the bilderberg / NWO elite. Controlled media like Fox News, Sky etc continuously support this scam. In Ireland it’s Denis O Brien s media Newstalk Today FM Independent News n Media that controls public opinion.

• Unfortunately Labour have long since crossed over to the right leaving a sizeable vacuum between the centre and the further left paries, and with nobody really able to fill this space, we seem stuck with governments made up of right of centre groupings. The historical/hysterical suspiciion of socialism in Ireland has cost us dearly. It’s looks like it’s going to continue that way unless people manage to break their addictive voting habits.

• If you don’t give Left Wing parties a majority stake in government then you cannot expect them to be able to implement their ideals. The idea that Sinn Fein and Labour should remain in opposition after the next election and use the popularity gained to set up a left wing coalition in 2021 is fatally flawed simply because a massive amount of damage could be done to working people in the intervening years and the left would be powerless to stop it.

It’s not always possible to reverse that damage. The disadvantaged people who couldn’t find funding to go to University, the poor people who couldn’t get access to medical care, the people who had their standard of living reduced for years as a right wing government lowers the minimum wage again, and the people left in dire straits as the social safety net is dismantled.

We had a completely right wing government already, it was Fianna Fail and the PDs and it worked to set up the current crises that we now face as a state, a crisis that is not easily fixable.

• Article completely ignores the spending deficit which we’ve had since 2008 (and is unrelated to bank debt) and also relies on an out-dated, useless political model when in reality the vast majority of people (and therefore parties) subscribe to ideas and theories from both left and right.

• The days of left and right are dead in the water. People don’t care about left or right anymore.
    The door is now wide open for new politics. Swiss system Direct Democracy, Libertarians, Constitutionalists, Freemen, Euro sceptics, anarcho capitalists and fake newbie “reformed” mc dowel PDs are on the way.

• Ya but all the political groups you mention are either right or left, under the capitalist system where the labour of the many is exploited by the few you will always have a left right divide. It is not an issue of choice the right left divide is a reality of the inequality caused by a class based system, rightwingers pursue a policy of maintaining the current social order where a minority reap the rewards at the expense of the labour of the vast majority, where as real leftwing policy is about social equality and the possibility of changing or over throwing the system and replacing it with a socialist or similar alternative , so you can call your groups whatever you want but the fact remains that as long as you have rich and poor you will have left and right party’s .

• What about Cro-Magnons and Crypto-Utopian Nuts?

• They’re not left wing anymore, that’s what’s happening. They’re in power now which means that all the left wing ideology gets fecked in the nearest waste bin. The Troika is in charge.

• As the author himself has said, in countries where the left are gaining popularity, they are supported by the unions. The unions in these countries have a large representation in both the private and public sectors. So they represent a large constituent.
    As a poster above has said, here in Ireland, we didn’t have an industrial based economy, but small businesses and farming. The unions never got a foothold with these workers.
    So where does that leave the unions in Ireland? Their main source of members is in the public sector.
    The public sector cannot be described in general as a part of the lower income workers. There are lower paid, but they wouldn’t be a majority.
    The unions represent the middle income earners of Ireland. So while the unions talk about social justice, they know where their bread is buttered.
    So will the unions support the extreme left wing parties? That’s very doubtful. They are linked to the Labour party, which goes some way to explain Labours move towards the centre left. As this would be closer to the position of most of the union members.

• I’m ‘right wing’ by Irish standards ‘left wing’ by American.

I believe we can regulate and appropriately privatize our public services, driving lean processes and removing unnecessary red tape. that investing in things like the health and the education of our people is important but that giving them handouts helps no one. That everyone should pay taxes and the rich should carry an appropriately higher burden of that and be happy to do so. Unions are good and fair but having political influence is not their purpose. And lastly the church and the state needs to get the F*** out of trying to meddle in people’s lives to push their ideas of morals

• The Chur h had f**k all to do with this crisis, so let’s not go there. But you are 100% right about Public Services. This is the nettle that has to be grasped, along with SW.

• The unions are as much to blame as anyone for the state the country is in now. They drove up wage costs through unrealistic bench marking and now they are keeping their heads down because they have no hand left to play. Gilmore is in their pocket and they are getting nothing for it. Gilmore promised the most a delivered the least. I bet he does what all the FF old boys did and take his pension at the next election.

• Andrew privatising our public service? Not so sure, but you make some valid points, unfortunately to implement any of your ideas is to suggest that management exists to carry it out fairly, without expecting a nice big bonus,
      It isn’t just SW that’s a problem in this country

• @ Andrew Telford, privatising public services has been a failed experiment in the UK and Ireland. Please indicate where it works and please give examples.

It is my view that health, education, criminal justice, essential utilities and retail banking need public ownership and regulation.

I don’t think that having accepted that banking is an essential service and vital to a functioning economy and society that the model of private ownership and public regulation was especially effective in that area, but the previous “success” of the banking sector was one of the reasons given why public ownership was so inefficient and wasteful as well as insufficiently hungry for success.

On the other hand if we are to have right wing economic and capitalism, then let the banks and other large businesses fail if they are insolvent and let the consequences of chaos fall.

We have not sen any directors of the failed banks pursued for a Restriction or Disqualification for imprudence or recklessness.

The essential problem with capitalism is that its harsh rules are only applied downwards, not upwards.

• That’s because public run enterprises handed over to private enterprises as is are ‘protected’ incompetent upper management are there because of nepotism… Bloated middle management structures remain to manage all the red tape and at the bottom level unionized employees fight to be compensated for every little change to their workplace fighting technology or cheaper outsourcing and better processes.

• It takes one hell of a talented leader/CEO to crack apart and re-work the public service.

I have no issues with what they are paid… But with what were paying we should be able to attract world class leadership… Instead we elect/appoint idiots and pay twice to hire a consultant to tell them what to do.

• Mgt in the banks, were privately appointed and still retained initially, the markets didn’t make these people pay, mind you neither did regulation so far
      True incompetent middle/senior mgt were retained in setting up the HSE, but that in itself is not a reason for privatisation

• @ Steven Church ,do you feel a little silly

• The absolute contempt The Labour Party show to Irish nationalism is the main reason. Sure didn’t Dick Spring say “partition is economically beneficial to the Republic , religious and cultural segregation unsure that Catholic values and moral teachings are enshrined in our society” ridiculous argument. Labour lost my vote that day

• The problem with labour, is we don’t know what their doing, personally I think their doing nothing,
    If you doing something , let us know

• No one likes austerity and if the state is bringing in €15bn and paying out €20bn something has to be done to correct that! I don’t like my wages being hit but I’m a realist, but I’m open to suggestions if anyone has an alternative to austerity to correct the states finances i certainly would like to hear them. As a politician said once don’t come to my table with problems come to it with solutions.

• Socialising private debt and loading on further to the national debt are not the way to fix our problem of excessive high and wholly unsustainable national debt. Neo-Keynesian , anti cyclical economic policies would be more effective.

The wage roll of the public service has to be confronted but disproportionately so at the upper end, the wage roll for the upper end in the medical profession and in the judiciary needs urgent attention.

Austerity measures compound the problem during a recession. Austerity will not work . Unemployment and the emigration of our best and most mobile renders us increasingly unsustainable. We are becoming a labour feeder for other countries again.

I agree that the deficit between income and public expenditure will have to be addressed but this is not the right time to do this except at the upper and more extreme profligate end of the scale.

There also has to be equity in the approach. Too little equity and fairness will cause non compliance and that is not good.

• Alternatives to austerity:

1. Do not turn gambling debt into sovereign debt. Grow a pair and default.

2. Do no spend more than you take in. Which brings you back to 1.

• I am amazed, that no one in the government seriously considers one of the legitimate options, which is default, leaving the eurozone and establishing own currency to control own monetary policy. Hard pill to swallow at first, but with a chance to come back to growth much sooner than with the scenario we have today when it’s likely the country will never get our of the debt and will remain slaving under the morally corrupt global financial system.

Funny how the “right wing” politicians cannot let go the banking socialism they created.

• Dont spen more that you take in would mean the government would have to make cuts just as its doing now ir raise taxes to counter act the deficit but suposed if they did that you would also complain … People like you seem to think without the bank debt all our problems would be solved. .. It wouldnt we would have less problems thats for sure but that dosent sold the rest of a public service and health system mess we have. And lets not forget these same problem were there in2006 but when we were a wash with money we didnt care

• Would “Pillars of Society’ of any ideology care to search in Google for ‘KPMG Hanna Windle Swindle’ and do the right thing for the widows, orphans and pensioners of Ireland?

Cheers

A Taxi Driver

• We’ve always lacked sufficient forces on the Left in Irish politics. Most countries have a combination of Social Democrats, Greens, Social Liberals, Socialist and Broad Left parties to build an alternative from. What hope do we have when we have one Labour Party(which has always been small compared to its European counterparts) and three right-wing or populist parties in FG, FF and SF?

As a Labour member I voted against the Party entering Govt in 2011, what the coalition is implementing is no surprise. Like most loyal Labour members I still hope for the future of the Party, but like most political orgs in this country, the Labour Party is firmly committed to the short term.

The only hope may lay in the grassroots Campaign for Labour Policies, who’s positions hold the overwhelming support of the Party membership.

Maybe theres hope that having brought Ireland out of the bailout, Labour can present itself as an independent party with a radical agenda for social change in 2016? Seems unlikely and even if it did happen wouldn’t yield results.

• I’ll add that both Labour coalescing with FG after 2011 and the collapse of the ULA are both very disappointing outcomes of situations with a lot of potential.

• Sean, Labour will be presenting itself to an electorate as an untruthful, traitorous, entity. Nothing less.

• To see Young Labour saying they were “sending a message to Europe” yesterday was utterly farcical. Their senior brethren could have sent a much stronger one on Wednesday last.

• Building a new left party from scratch is difficult but necessary work. It’s only being done because the working class need a new movement. Labour is irredeemable.

Up to the 90s there were actual socialists within it who were hounded out by the rightwing leadership. Now there are centre-left social liberals within it who are being hounded out by an even more rightwing leadership.

Apart from that small band of social liberals, who else is left within the party? Who are these maniacs who can stomach administering the murder of the country? In 1987 Labour were broken down to 6.5% in the polls – after yet again agreeing to an austerity coalition with Fine Gael – and those rightwing maniacs still managed to purge the working class Left out of their own party and double-down their control. The Labour Party cannot be reclaimed.

• People are better informed than in the past, they’re aware that left wing ideals dont work , that increasing taxes and punishing the successful will do little for Irelands future. We look at the left wing ideals like our socialised medicine and big government and see the failures that red tape and state run services bring. The educated people of Ireland realise a right wing low tax economy is a far better solution than the tyranny of socialism.

• Yes, because centre right managed the economy so well this last decade? low income and housing taxes really done great!
      Not to mention how deregulation worked so well for the banks and building industry!
      On top of that, those ridiculous high salaries and bonuses really attracted the best and the brightest, didn’t it?

What killed this country is rightwing opportunists and unchecked capitalism. It wasn’t the left that allowed this country to go to hell!

• Labour must surely know that they’re gonna suffer the same fate as the greens come next election time.

• Bye bye lefties! Bye bye!

• You say that people are more educated or informed however judging by your understanding of left wing policy as displayed in your comment you clearly are not one of them .

• Stephen , the right have won the propaganda war,
      But super profits left untaxed benefits no one, not even the super rich
      Without proper regulation we get horse meat in burgers, the state institution identified this issue, taxes Pay for it.

• Oh @Stephen Church, I seriously hope you don’t actually believe the fantasy you are spouting and are merely engaging in Right-Wing propaganda. The “right wing low tax economy” that you speak of exists only in your head. The introduction of the USC as a result of the banking collapse effectively increased the average persons tax on income by over 30%, and that’s just one single direct tax. This in addition to the raft of indirect taxes and reductions in social supports forced upon the Irish people and aimed predominately at middle and low income earners blows your “right wing low tax economy” theory right out of the water and the only reason the upper middle and high earners have been spared “austerity” is that the right wing parties need votes too.

As for the failure of the left to combat the pseudo Capitalist onslaught on peoples incomes, I have to say that this is partly caused by a distinct lack of leadership and clarity of policies on the part of the collective left which may be mainly explained by an inferiority complex caused by 20 years of derision by a media network that regurgitates right wing government propaganda and fear mongering not unlike an elephant with diarrhoea.

• At the moment, Labour are in the midst of a civil war with their Party Chairman and Party Leader on opposing sides, the ULA has completely disintegrated and the Socialist Party has split in two . As always, the left is brimming with righteous fervour and bereft of discipline. If the left cant organise themselves, why on Earth would the electorate trust them to organise the country?

• Does the right wing recognize the socialism for the banks and financial institutions it helped created or does it want to pretend it doesn’t exist? Actions speak, you know. Also, voluntary solidarity is one of the main principle of conservatism, so I am not sure your views of what “the right wing” means are correct.

If the twisted right wingers do not want to rectify the imbalance they caused by creating banking socialism, then they have to be brought to do it, if the majority of people wishes to do so.

• 1 – capitalism didnt bail out the banks, that was corporate socialism , the same way they bail out the people with the dole.

2 – we have never had a right wing government, we have a centre right corporatist quango in which the government is big enough for business interests to infiltrate.

3 – in a true capitalist government , the banks would never have been bailed out, you wouldn’t have a property tax, USC wouldn’t exist and neither would half the government departments that caused so many ills

• Whoa. Comparing people to banks.

• Excess regulations on things like getting a drivers license and this nonsense bureaucracy need to be tackled. Fianna Fail made it more difficult for anyone to get their drivers license without having to fork out ~€480 for “compulsory driving lessons”. This subsidizes a big government. The RSA should never have been created because the previous Dept of Transport functioned more efficiently and cost effectively. But Bertie needed to buy the unions votes in the run-up to the ’07 election. In doing so, he also increased the tortuous bureaucracy for a citizen to attain their drivers license. All these regulations won’t really prevent road accidents – TRAFFIC ENFORCEMENT does. No wonder we have a shortage of new bus drivers – too much regulation and too costly.

On taxation, I would offer to abolish property tax and water charges in return for cuts to spending. All the taxes in the world won’t help unless we cut our spending. From a social perspective, the starting point must inevitably begin by taxing the high earners – this helps reassure the low-paid they are leading by example.

• KEVIN.N 10/02/13 #

Bailing out banks goes against capitalism. But I can’t imagine if the government didn’t bail out the banks, it would be an absolute disaster for the people.

• Only turkeys have left wings

• The Irish Left has never been able to reach above cult status. 2011 was only a high water mark if you total the figures up with sticks,trots, Shinners and good old fashioned social democrats. But there’s no agreed policy framework and no agreed forms of common action.

IMHO most of the left is on wrong of the local govt issue. It has adopted a pujadiste agenda because its maximizes the Greens opportunity for oppositionist sniping at Labour (just as Labour did to the Greens).

Labour will be attacked and eaten because it is politically weak and its Feb 11 advance under Gilmore taken by FF and SF.

Adams is after Labours clothes, as his party’s recent recovery of Larkin and the Trades Union movement might attest.

• Far left (primary school, fairy tale economics). Centre left(Junior certificate economics). Post Left (Leaving certificate economics)

• I expect a survey soon to establish who are the richest politicians. If this includes their direct families I think we would be shocked. All capitalists and extremely wealthy. Not much struggling to pay mortgages other than those who got caught with the property bubble. I recently saw Mary Loo and she reminded me of a younger version of Mary Harney – could be identical twins. They all start out the same and end up the same. It’s politics and that is why they love power and money. They all live in affluent areas and left wingers are top of the list.

• Better education and information collapsed the USSR as it will North Korea etc. People and services are paid out profits.

• This piece gives us much food for thought. The trade union movement is one of the biggest civic society movements but has unfortunately has had its reputation tarnished by the partnership process and the lack of pausing for thought during the celtic tiger years. While it cannot be argued that the main role of trade unions is to protect and advocate for their working members they also have a significant socio-political role to play. Saturday’s march was an example of such a role. However, more significant at present is their current role in negotiating Croke Park II. Not only will this agreement have an impact on public sector workers but it will stand as a benchmark for our society and everyone in it. It will determine, perhaps not quite so subtly, the value and status of all citizens. It will be a political statement on access to services, on equality of burden sharing and wealth distribution (will reductions be proportionate to ability to pay?), on the value we place on state provided high quality public services and on social cohesion. This is the bigger picture that is at play, one deserving of thought!

• At present in Dublin city council it would appear the left has a considerable majority
    Labour 19
    sf 5
    people before profit 2
    eirigi 1
    plus a majority of the 7 independants
    total councillors are 51?
    How come then that its FG and LABOUR running the show?

• Left wing ! Where? Where??

• I have heard so much talk in recent times of let’s default! Can anyone tell me if we did that where will the money come from to pay our public sector workers ? I have yet to hear alternatives to austerity well we hear plenty from Sinn Fein about it but they did vote for the bank guarantee lets remember. And we hear it also from RBB but i have yet to take anything serious that comes from that guys mouth.

• According to RRB, everything will come from the bottomless pits of the Pension Reserve Fund.
      This fund seems to be the answer to all the countries problems. I wonder who brought the legislation to bring this fund into existence?
      Who ever it was, RRB and a number of parties owes them a debt of gratitude as it has been the basis of their manifestos for the past 4-5 years.

• Olibhear,

According to this article, SF voted against the formal legislation to implement the Bank Guarantee when it was put to the Dail on October 17th 2008.
      http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/kfeyeysnmhey/rss2/

Initially they voted to support the banks in principle on the fateful night of September 28th but reversed their position, correctly as it turned out, when the full scope of the blanket guarantee became clear in the Credit Institutions Bill.

• censored 12/02/13 #

I suppose we’ll just keep borrowing the money until the merryground stops.

• Karl 10/02/13 #

Its great to be abale to fevnt what and how we think and feel about our goverment here. So what can we the people do to change what happen? Or indeed in the infuture for it may happen agin. If i was to move to hong knog
    in moring, and work over there you have to pay 15% tax per year on what ever one makes in a year!!!
    Unlike here, fighting about who pays what and how much dous one pay in tax. And neither party is happy in the fairness of the taxes they have to pay in ireland. Way to high %% wise we the people are slaves to the irish Taxes.
    Is a new party the way forward? http://www.DirectDemocracy.ie Is it to much to ask for Commnsence to run ireland
    the right way.

Add New Comment