TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 13 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

Column: While you’re at the Euros, Mick, remember the fate of Paul Begley

Mick Wallace’s predicament may be understandable – but laws must apply to everyone, writes Peter Faulkner.

Peter Faulkner

I LISTENED TO Mick Wallace’s Morning Ireland interview on Thursday, and then throughout the day to the dancing on the head of the pin views of various politicos and commentators. I was struck by the inability of the media to land a killer punch and the silence of others normally so vocal on such matters.

Everybody that has ever been caught with their fingers in the till or the petty cash box always claims they intended to pay the money back. They also normally have a sad story of lost employment, drink, drug or gambling addiction etc and I am sure they are probably telling the truth. The bottom line is that wrongdoing is wrongdoing; it simply cannot be justified by some self-serving claim that it was for the better good. What crime, if any, has been committed should be a matter for our judiciary. It is the least our people deserve.

Mick Wallace seems like a decent man to me, driven to break the law by the terrible predicament facing his business and the fate of his employees. I have no difficulty in understanding his mindset in doing what he did; many business owners face these awful choices every day. Mostly they just fail to make the returns as they have not got the cash to make the payments due, making a false return is a different kettle of fish and is that one step too far over the line.

‘We have become well accustomed to a lack of accountability’

We have become well accustomed to a lack of accountability and personal responsibility in this country. One only has to look at the former bankers, regulators and other public servants who have, at best, failed us by not doing their job properly or, at worst, have been involved in patent dishonesty. They continue to walk the streets and mostly with large pension incomes to keep them in comfort into their old age.

Fair play to ya Mick, if that is the correct soccer parlance, off to the Euros in Poznan. I am however thinking about the shocking contrast to the case of that man Paul Begley who was a director of a family business that evaded import duty on garlic from China. They ‘fessed up completely and cooperated with the Revenue, paid up the money due plus interest and penalties to a total of less than Mick’s €2.1 million. I am sure Mr Begley would love to be off to Poznan or even be able to watch it on TV with his friends and family, but he is in Mountjoy serving a six-year prison sentence. One could only imagine what length of sentence he might have got if the state had had not been paid back a red cent.

I know thing are bad in this country right now and we have little evidence that they are going to get better anytime soon. Surely we are past the time of penal laws, applied with discrimination in accordance with one’s status in society. Perhaps Mick will sing The Fields of Athenry in Poznan and not think too hard about the fate of those who dipped into Trevelyan’s corn.

Peter Faulkner runs a manufacturing business in west Dublin and writes opinion pieces on issues that affect SMEs in Ireland.

Read next:

Comments (81 Comments)

• made 08/06/12 #

There should be one of 2 things happen in this case:
    1. Mick Wallace goes to prison for 6 years
    or 2: Paul Begley is immediately released.
    There cannot be double standards here.

• Peter, have to say, I like reading anything you write

• Peter. I have to say I have no idea who you are, but I would wonder about anyone who seeks publicity under the umbrella of an organisation thAT starts with “small”

• Are you well in the sheepskin head?

• If Mick read your article and had any sense he would resign today and go to mountjoy himself….such a shame and here I was thinking he was a breath of fresh air.

• I have no problem with M Wallace rather he flush it than Micheal Noonan!! There is no way Begley should be in jail. Considering micheal Noonan flushed 365 million this month 2 more or less makes no difference!!

• Anel, are you for real, or a troll? Begley commited delibrate calculated fraud. He was one of the largest importers in the country who knew exactly what he was doing. Why on earth should he not be in jail?

• Why is MW not facing criminal proceedings? Paul Begley was a director of Paul Begley ltd. MW a director of his property company so he is not protected by limited liability. He as fessed up too. He has admitted to deceiving customs. Is there a legal reason or is he protected by the Dail to avoid embarrassment?

• @ Adrian Carey

Why? because he helped put a football field together for the locals and probably filled in a few potholes with his shovel for them! Revenue and the guards should have been at his front door before he had the chance to use his flight tickets to the Ireland games.

Yes, Mr. Begley did wrong and he’s paying it, but I find it very wrong to see him serving 6 years and a murdering serves 7! To jail Mr. Wallace. Find the little bit of conscious you had at one stage in your life and own up, do the honest thing.

• also remember this guy deducted pension monies from his workers and then did not pass it on oh what a web we weave

• Begleys sentence was harsh and ignored the fact that he made good the money. Wallace openly admits the bill won’t be paid. Absolved himself of responsibility as its a limited company after doubling his salary to 300k and that of his sons to strip as much cash out of a failing business. That would have paid salaries he claims he was Trying to protect. This man cannot stay as a legislator. Wexford deserve the opportunity to select a new candidate with the moral authority to represent them. Wallace must resign…

• Wallace has shown his contempt for the people of Ireland by travelling to Poland while at the same time owing the Revenue millions. I’m trying my best to pay my mortgage with the result that I can’t even afford to go to the local pub to watch the soccer. Wallace obviously has no shame but shame on the people of Wexford who elected that buffoon to the Dail.

• What people forget is that Mick Wallace ran for the Dail when, as the timeline proves, he had broken the law and he ran on the ticket of changing politics and peoples views of politicians. He said he wanted to help the ‘little man’. He is just the same as those he was complaining about before he got elected.

• Stop. A spade is a spade. A lie is a lie. Who was it said ” I’m not angry because you lied to me I’m upset because I can’t trust you anymore”. Or something on those lines.

• Mick Wallace certainly knows his onions, hiding behind the Salomon veil to protect his tax liabilities. How about hauling him before Justice Nolan? He jailed Paul Begley for six years over mislabelling garlic. Nolan said at the time ‘it gives me no joy at all to jail a decent man’ but that he had engaged in a grave and huge tax evasion scheme. I wonder how Wallace would like them apples?

• No, in fairness Mick is a different case to that vegetable importer. Mick is a member of the Dail, part of the ruling class. He doesn’t have to obey the law, he’s a legislator, he makes the law. Mick made a simple decision; he doesn’t follow the law and followed the natural course of things by running for the Dail to be among friends.

• Why the people of Ireland haven’t stormed Leinster house yet is quite simply incredible! How many punches does it take?

• @ Rodrigo detriano

Oh believe me, I wanted to do it many times in the past four years! The only thing I can think of doing as, no one else will be man/woman enough to storm the building, is to chain myself to the railings and go on hunger strike to make people inside the building listen to us. The main reason why I haven’t done it is that I don’t want to upset my children.

I set up my own little company in 2010. I used all my own money, redundancy and savings to get to where I am today. I needed to put a new order in 5 months ago. I didn’t have enough in the business account to pay 50% of the order. I saved and sold private stuff to get the deposit together. Why? Because I was brought up not dragged up. I was always told, ‘if you don’t have the cash, do without’. Now I’ve put the order in. In 6 weeks it’ll be time to collect, not sure where the balance is coming from, maybe sell something else. But I certainly won’t be stealing like Wallace, aherne &co. or telling lies. Shame on our politicians, shame on builders, shame on them.

• Popcorn 08/06/12 #

Give us a chance Roddy. We’ve the soccer for the next month, then the GAA championship followed swiftly by the Olympics – we’re flat out till Halloween at the earliest.

• mattoid 09/06/12 #

Best of luck with the business Sheila :-)

• Banana Republic is all we seem to be. If this was the U.S., Mick would be wearing regulation orange by now…elected representative or not and with that mane shorn. But we just hem and haw and tut tut and so it begins again.

• his defence that he was trying to save state by hoping to pay in future doesn’t hold up, if he could not pay his company would have been put in hand of administrators, they would have decided if company had chance to continue and make repayments, that was not his decision to make, by choosing to opt out of that system he took money his suppliers fave him for cat and used it as a loan, which it was not, at a minimum this is reckless trading by under reporting liabilities on companies balance sheet, a criminal offence

• How Wallace thinks he can have any credibility in the Dail debating cuts to SNAs, nursing posts etc.How many SNAs would you get with 2.1. million euro??

• Double standards by revenue that guy should not be in jail!

• Agree with the points in your article 100%, Peter Faulkner.

• Mick has a tax clearance cert given by the revenue even though he owes them money. If another citizen Ives them money they deduct it from your wages for the following years so Mick migh be able to pay if his pension and wages plus assets are considered by the revenue people. It would be ok if he were left with €188:00 per week like the rest of the people on dole or illness benefit. He could survive on his expenses.

• Enjoyed that read Peter. Nail well and truly hit on head!

• Time to go Mick. Plain and simple. Due process to follow

• Cheaters never prosper, me hole !

• Now the taxpayer is paying for Mick to go to Poland! Is this the way forward for the coalition? Leo Varuka and Enda K thinks that Mick has a problem – Enda you must be on drugs as You have a huge problem and that problem is called Mick Wallace. If he is not arrested You have a bigger problem.

• Baaaaad syntax fitzenpatrik! ;)U !

• is that it? the new Oscar wilde is born. un petit Oscar peut ?tre, pour Dublin West or part theteof.

• Peter you should consider concentrating on the similarities between Paul Begley a Director of BP Ltd and MW a director of MW ltd in a future article. It seems to be that both cases are essentially the same. There was no limited liability protection for pb nor is there for MW. Both of them fessed up. Why was one prosecuted and committed and not the other? MW is part of a Dail that expects its citizens to pay property tax, water charges, increased taxes, bank support taxes. If MW is not committed is sends a message to citizens don’t pay anything. It is worse than this though because not only does MW not pay he does so on the back of fraudulent deceit and still avoids jail, yet a normal citizen can end up in jail for not paying a tv licence.

• There is nothing to disagree with in this article, but I find people’s defence of him in the comments section here and on other sites strange to say the least. In most cases the defence put forward is along the lines of others did worse things or they were all at it. This is a typical Irish reaction to wrongdoing by someone that we like. For some reason we will continue to defend the indefensible even in light of the most empathic evidence to the contrary. It could be related to our longstanding resistance to authority during our colonial past..

Nonetheless the facts of Mick’s case are clear. It’s theft. When someone bought a property from Mick Wallace’s company they included a payment of the VAT as part of the price. As good corporate citizens the company should merely hold the VAT payment until they pay it over to the authorities. In this case they used the money as if they were their own and then submitted false returns to try to hide their misappropriation of funds.

In Ireland, particularly amongst parts of the business community, it seems to be acceptable to try to cheat the taxman or the banks. This is then justified by the rationale that it was done to create employment and big tax bills were paid. No mention of the fact that the directors drew big salaries or drove nice company cars is made. The supporters of Mick Wallace are oblivious to of all of this of course because Mick is an affable guy and has done a lot for the community through his work with under age football.

Some time ago I heard Mick Wallace say that Denis O’Brien would be better off coming home and paying his taxes rather than funding the FAI to pay Trapattoni’s salary. Noble words but like Mick’s promise of honesty and transparency prior to his election, they sound hollow now. Why can people not see this? What blinds them?

With the greatest will in the world it is impossible to feel anything other than contempt for Mick’s business ethics and it is impossible to feel anything other than pity for his apologists. Ireland is still a relatively young country but only when its people can see through the fraud that the likes of Mick Wallace commit on them can we feel consider ourselves mature.

• I will have to stop reading all this topic on the journal for a period as my blood pressure is gone through the roof!

• Well said Peter.

I’m sorry for what happened to Mick Wallace, but he has shown himself up on this occasion.

• Honestly. Is it Crystal meth??

• Dmc 08/06/12 #

Maybe he could use the money he saved to get a haircut

• He will still get his pension even if he resigns won’t he? Anyway the other feckers the Mahon corruption group Bertie et al are still sitting pretty with all there pension monies. The corrupt go unpunished in this country in fact they seem to get rewarded. The system is set up in there favor this guy uses every loop hole and I am sure will suggest a few more loops, as most politicians seem to either be lobbied to create more exploitative methods to take money from workers or just create more ways to get more money for themselves. The biggest joke of all is: When would you ever trust a politician? When they are standing looking over a cliff then you might thrust them alright.

• Mick Wallace did a lot of work for Dublin City Council. To qualify for this, the company needed to submit a tax clearance cert. if the cert was applied for by the company without declaring the vat fraud it’s yet another law broken.
    Prosecution?

• Wexford 08/06/12 #

I am from Wexford and none of my friends or colleagues voted for Mick Wallace nor never would. It was shocking to see him gain such momentum joining the race so late.

I was at the count centre and the people there supporting him were mostly very young, or ex-builders, local sports fanatics.. Many of whom voted out of ignorance, peer pressure..i’m sure. I predicted he would be out of his seat within the first year. My calculations were a little bit off, but close nonetheless!

Please don’t tar everyone in Wexford with the same brush!

• TD’s generally get advice on tax from the senior tax advisors in the civil service and when these guys go to work for the biggest accounting companies like PWC, Earnst and Young, SKC, etc. they act as consultants to the government and to senion politicians. They also act for the Banks and Building Societies. This all adds up to one rule for the elite and too hell with the normal person. Mick Wallace’s spostrs events are probably being sponsored by the banks like the tennis clubs, sailing clubs, golf clubs, GAA clubs, Rugby clubs etc. all this while the taxpayer is bailing out the whole lot of them. WAKE UP.

• That money was only resting in my account…

• It must be pointed out that as a nation we are quite relaxed about the concept of the unemployed man down the road that does a little tiling on the side. It’s this attitude that causes us to elect criminals. You reap what you sow.

• That money was only resting in… Oh you know what I mean…

• The Dail Tecnical group, No ethics, no standards, no use and no dress sence. what a joke they are.
    Joe Higgins and the rest of them have been shown up for what they are, a shower of spineless selfserving money grabbing leeches living off the state, most of them are unemployable and have never had a real job. I hope the people who elected them in good faith see them for what they really are come the next election.

• get off the net and show some action on the streets

• Mick Wallace’s spostrs events are probably being sponsored by the banks like the tennis clubs, sailing clubs, golf clubs, GAA clubs, Rugby clubs etc. all this while the taxpayer is bailing out the whole lot of them. WAKE UP. Now the taxpayer is paying for the supports expenses too. Great little country we have here.

• There will be a revolution.

• @John Clarke, succinctly put. I agree wholeheartedly. To add to your point, I also think that when a decent person is working within a corrupt system and everything seems fine, then there appears to be no problem. However, when the environment changes economically, I can see how an otherwise honest person could be convinced to bend the rules. Why not he might be told. Sure haven’t all the crooked developers been doing it all the time, even during the boom. Now here you are honest and temporally cash poor, why don’t you do what all the crooked developers have being doing for selfish reasons all along, and bend the law for altruistic reasons. I can see how an otherwise honest person, under extreme pressure could consider this path. I don’t for one second condone it, but thats not my point. Due to the wholly understandable frustration of people not having seen lengthy prison sentences having been given to some of the perpetrators of our downfall, I can see how people want somebody, anybody’s head on a plate. I may be wrong, but I would hate to see people’s frustration borne out of thwarted justice, resulting in us hanging the wrong man.

• btw respect to gardai. health workers, and various others. I am talking about the administrative cabbages the really ugly part of the public service

• Ya Peter. Just if you get a chance, have a look at Paul Begley. That’s the man that had the discrepancy in tax vis a vis apples and garlic. I just want to make sure a travesty of justice hasn’t happened. If there is any way of registering dissent with regards to that I would appreciate how to concurr. I know that Judge Nolan is severe in regards to a lot of crimes, but I feel in this situation, a little rethink is needed. Regards,. Tom.

• Please Readers.
    have a look back a few months ago, and post if ye can.
    I think it was an awful travesty of Justice. I’m not saying that the Judge was wrong, a but he should rethink . What do ye think? Have a look back at the case. Anyway, I think this man got a bum deal. I’m going to do my best to get him redress.

• Ya Peter. Just if you get a chance, have a look at Paul Begley. That’s the man that had the discrepancy in tax vis a vis apples and garlic. I just want to make sure a travesty of justice hasn’t happened. If there is any way of registering dissent with regards to that I would appreciate how to concurr. I know that Judge Nolan is severe in regards to a lot of crimes, but I feel in this situation, a little rethink is needed. Regards,. Tom. I’m just talking as a person that sometimes I get a little crazy. Yeah, well, it gives you vision of other things. Anyway, how do we help this man? Thomas_Scanlon@Yahoo.com 0876710793

• Mick Wallace done wrong let the law run its course but as Vincent Browne keeps pointing out we gaze on the small fry whilst the killer whale who owns the media continues to bask in complete freedom of consequence for his proven corruption along with lowery .we are missing the big picture .an honest question does Denis o brien have connection to the journal

• this is all bull. the people who moan the most about this are the petty small minded civil servants who have never left the womb. nothing would ever happen if it was down to these people. Mr Wallace should have perhaps realised that the game was over earlier but these people are the real cause of the malaise, utterly dependent on revenues from the real world.

at least Mr Wallace has lived these people have never even been born.

• i think its bad form for the contributor to sit on th? story and thumb himself.

sorry for the spelling, digest isnt m’y first lqnguqge

• @fitszdkenfktu whatever!

I’d suggest that you open your mind, cut that hair of yours, so you too will see the light and truth of what this man Peter Faulkner is writing. He’s one of very few people, includng Matt Cooper, David McWilliams that are talking sense lately.

• look like th? smes have been mobilised…agreeing 100%…umm

• Peter Faulkner. Bit surprised you did not know that Wallace went to the revenue and said what he had done while the garlic man was tracked down by revenue. Bit of a difference I think you will agree? If the opinion piece above shows the understanding of Irish current affairs by those involved in the SME side of things then I can see why our failed banks are steering well clear of them.

Add New Comment