TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Column: Youth drinking problem? Perhaps we should look at ourselves…

The Phoenix Park concert has highlighted the problem of young people and alcohol, writes Fiona Ryan – but the problems caused by parental drinking go largely unremarked.

Fiona Ryan

WORKING FOR AN alcohol charity after an incident like the Phoenix Park concert usually means getting asked about young people and alcohol: Why they drink the way they do.

Certainly the results of the recent European Schools Project report confirm we do have a serious problem with underage drinking. The thing is, we also have a serious problem with adult drinking which never seems to get as much attention. Alcohol-related crime costs us an estimated €1.2 billion a year, but it’s not just the teens that are adding to the crime drinks bill.

Irish teenagers drink marginally less than their European counterparts but when they do drink they drink more. Worryingly, 84 per cent of 15 and 16-year-olds in Ireland say they had no problem getting alcohol, 40 per cent have been served in pubs and/or nightclubs, while one in four say they had bought alcohol in the off trade ie off-license – shop, supermarket or specialist retailer. Combine that with cheap alcohol where it is possible to get absolutely hammered for under a tenner – to put it into perspective, one hour worked on minimum wage is €8.65 – and you have a heady cocktail contributing significantly to public order as well as other types of crime.

What is often forgotten is that children and young people are also one of the groups likely to be disproportionately negatively affected by other people’s drinking. This doesn’t make for as good headlines, is complex with no easy solutions and generally makes us all really uncomfortable. Alcohol is our favourite drug and the idea that drinking might actually affect others, beyond identified groups such as problem families or out-of-control teens, is one we don’t really like to think about.

For example, one in seven kids in care is there because of a parental drug or alcohol problem. More than 80 cases of suspected child abuse or neglect are being reported every day to social services – family members with alcohol problems are the most common concern. The Report of the Independent Child Death Review Group a couple of weeks ago raised alcohol as a particular area of concern citing that in the case of the young people who had died of unnatural causes alcohol in the home was the second most prevalent issue in their lives after neglect.

Where’s the plan?

Very few media reported this finding, just as the finding from an ISPCC survey of 10,000 school children showing that one in 11 kids is currently feel their lives is being negatively affected by  a parent’s drinking didn’t precipitate any major commentary either.

When we started campaigning on this issue four years ago we were stunned by the lack of information on children affected by parental alcohol problems. Scotland and Northern Ireland had Hidden Harm action plans, strategies for responding to the complex needs of families with alcohol and/ or drug problems. In the UK, ‘parental alcohol problems’ was named as a factor in over 50% of child protection cases while one in four young carers looking after someone with a substance misuse problem.

Where was our Hidden Harm action plan in a country with one of the highest binge drinking rates in Europe and highest birth rate? Where were our comparative figures? The answer was nowhere.

If you wanted to find out about children affected by parental alcohol problems then you needed to look on bookshelves and not Government policy. Angela’s Ashes author Frank McCourt once said that worse than any ordinary miserable childhood is the miserable Irish childhood: “the poverty, the shiftless loquacious alcoholic father; the pious defeated mother moaning by the fire”.

It’s as if we can only deal with the reality of these children’s lives when, like McCourt, they are adults having triumphed over adversity.  They are safely contained, allowing us a safe distance to rationalise their childhood and explain it away as individualised experience. The notion that there may be over 100,000 children – enough to fill Croke Park – right now at this moment living in fear, weighed down with responsibility for parents or brothers and sisters, witnessing parental conflict or experiencing neglect or abuse is uncomfortable.

‘Grabbed me by the throat’

Try reading this: “I was about 15 or 16 at the time and I showed up as he went on a massive bender… He then grabbed me by the throat and gave me a solid hit to the head which knocked me to the floor. I started crying and he started yelling again.” It might surprise you to know it was written by Calum Best, son of legendary footballer, George Best. The point is not how different Calum Best’s experiences are, but how similar his is to others who have experienced physical abuse from a parent with an alcohol problem.

Just to clarify, not every parent with an alcohol problem is an alcoholic nor does every parent with an alcohol problem neglect or abuse their children. Just to complicate the matter further, not every child welfare issue is a child protection one. What we do need to realise, however, is that there are a significant number of children who are living in a situation where their parent’s drinking is negatively affecting their lives.

In response to the lack of official information on children affected by parental alcohol problems we commissioned a survey of adults asking them about their childhood experiences of parental drinking. Around nine per cent said they had witnessed parental conflict – the equivalent of 90,000 people – while the equivalent of 70,000 had frequently felt afraid or anxious as a child due to parental drinking. What also emerged was an absence of any difference between classes – so much for the Shameless stereotype.

There are signs of hope. The report of the National Substance Misuse Strategy specifically referred to children affected by parental alcohol problems and recommended a Hidden Harm type strategy for the Republic of Ireland while the Minister for Children Frances Fitzgerald has also underlined the need for action in response to our own levels of hidden harm.

So while the focus after last weekend is on children and young people’s own alcohol consumption, let’s also remember the other side – the children who are being harmed by other’s drinking.

They deserve more than to be ignored, or pitied, or congratulated as adults on managing to overcome their difficult childhoods. They deserve our consideration and a response from this State that is willing to take on the challenge of the complexity of their lives, no matter how uncomfortable it makes us feel.

Fiona Ryan is the director of Alcohol Action Ireland, the national charity for alcohol-related issues. For more information about Alcohol Action Ireland, visitalcoholireland.ie.

Read next:

Comments (38 Comments)

• Everyone loves to get on the ‘youngsters today!’ or ‘what will the government do?’ bandwagon, but until all the adults in this country take responsibility for the example they send out to their children and the rest of society, then very little will change. Both my parents drank when we were kids, but it was always at the weekend, one or two drinks while sitting down at home, mostly to enjoy the taste. They’ve passed that responsible attitude to drink on to us, and I now rarely drink, but when i do i enjoy it for what it is- a nice drink.But the responses I have gotten on nights out when I order a coke or an orange juice has ranged from “oh are you on antibiotics?” to “ah no, sure you’ll have a proper drink” to proper defensive behaviour. I have no issue with people drinking to enjoy themselves, to kick back and have fun, but there is still a pervasive attitude in Ireland that if you’re celebrating anything, that has to be done with drink. If you’re socialising, it’s better with drink, and if you’re not I’ll the next day it can’t have been a good night. Baffles me every time I hear it. /rant.

• Yeah, I don’t drink at all (just don’t enjoy it) and it gets a bit annoying that people look at me like I’m some kind of alien. It’s not a big deal or amazingly shocking and it would be nicer if it was a bit more acceptable to NOT drink on a night out.

• I’m not much of a drinker either, and there’s nothing worse than being in a pub when everyone else is drunk.. Drunk people can be extremely annoying, not all – but the ones who drink to excess certainly are..

• When I was a teenager I remember active discussion about alcohol abuse in Ireland and how to tackle it. 30 years later we still have the same problems as my own children become teenagers. The best a parent can do is lead by example.

• Thanks for a very interesting article. I imagine many persons who drink too much feel they are doing little harm unless violence is a result. The idea of so many children living in fear is a very sobering one. There is talk about banning smoking close to children. Maybe this is less important than being drunk in charge of a child. More awareness of this issue would be a good thing.

• I just can’t stand when people try to fix every problem with a hammer. I’m referring to the idea that every response to a drinking problem must be a legal one. Either increase the tax or crack down on bars, licensing, fines for those serving under age drinkers. Talk to a publican. You will find that most are not evil legal-drug pushers. The laws are largely ineffective.

The problem is almost entirely a cultural one. Like most Irish teenagers I grew up doing what everybody else did and didn’t think anything of it. Since I’ve lived in Germany my behaviour has changed radically. It is embarassing when you read newspaper reports about Australian police men warning Irish people how to behave. How you change the culture, I don’t know. But that certainly needs to be the focus.

• You hit on on a nerve here with us older (responsible?) people. I have heard so many times ” the young of today drink too much and havnt a clue about life” The young of today are our children and take example and leadership from us and we have let them down with our attitude to drink and our attitude to life. We then think we can blame them as if they have no connection to us whatsoever . We need to grow up , not them.

• This country has an unusual relationship with drink and has a reputation for such abroad. What we need is a change of attitude from the top down. The government can set an example by banning alcohol from all government buildings, offices and functions. Similarly apply an alcohol ban to all local authority, state and semi- state bodies. Request that functions inviting a Minister should be alcohol free.nnEncourage major businesses in the private sector to do the same. I have worked in a number of international businesses in the US where any alcohol on the premises for any reason would lead to instant dismissal. nnRigorously enforce existing legislation on the sale and serving of alcohol.nnChanging attitudes will put drinking alcohol where it belongs in a modern society. As a convivial accompinament to a pleasant social occasion or meal.n

• mcbab 12/07/12 #

Very good article. It seems to me the problem in this country is “monkey see monkey do”.. Children grow up seeing every occasion in their lives accompanied by alcohol be it communion, confirmation, birthday party etc. These occasions should be child centred so why does alcohol have to come into it at all? Is it any wonder then that these children grow up thinking that drinking must be a part of every occasion. I have travelled extensively and have never seen so many young people falling around drunk on a night out anywhere else in the world on such a regular basis. Have our kids lost the ability to have a good time unless they are out if their heads. Or what they perceive as a good time. It seems sometimes that the badge of honour is how bad their hangover is the next day.

• Why has this incident come down to alcohol consumption. This counrty has a worse record of not locking up violent offenders. I know of several people who were assaulted (some of them hospitalised) and after going to court the offender gets a fine maybe a hospital bill for the victim and just suspended sentence. One was up in court again a while later and walked out of that court too and again a while later. Lock up violent offenders and there will be a lot less incidents like this, (they happen all the time, not just at big concerts were journalists happen to be) don’t lock them up and these offenders will keep going.

• I spent last week in Italy on a work program with many different Europeans. We had dinner each night with most drinking no more than 2 glasses of wine. I had the best fun I have had in years. The Irish behave like savages in comparison.

• An article containing the same tired old arguments in use for the last 200 years which promote anti-alcohol policies that have failed and continue to fail. Each generation makes the same old arguments, why?

Raising the price of alcohol will not reduce consumption! It will reduce the sales figures in the country and that is not consumption nor a measure of consumption. History attests that people are much more clever than the advocates of such policies and will become more creative in sourcing their poison. The country is awash with illicit drugs but how is it that no one is calling for a price hike in illicit drugs to curb their use?

800,000 people went on the piss in Galway for the whole of last week. How many were rolling in the muck fighting like piggies? Did the higher than normal price of alcohol put them off drinking?

How is it that when youngsters are at a “rave” it is drink and not drugs and thuggery the gets the blame?

When our time has come to pass the same old arguments will still be made because they are based on faulty thinking and prejudice. Why can we not learn from our mistakes and the mistakes of generations past?

• I think the problem is that people can’t handle their drink anymore and as a society we are far too tolerant of drunk and disorderly behaviour which is usually violent.

If i’m 16 and it’s too expensive to drink in a pub then I go to a field with 6/7 cans act like a fool and no consequences. If I’m 16 and in a pub then I’m compelled to behave myself.

The Gardai and HSE need to work together and take a hard line on this.

• Agree there is a drink problem in ireland as there is in most if not all northern European countries. I believe the issue with the concerts in the park can be put down to security. Most that went there behaved and had a good time from what i hear and where shocked when it hit the news later. The best security here is the Garda not private security companies.

• Great article – Ireland has a very negative drinking culture. The issue of depression also needs to be looked at where drink is concerned in my mind, depression often pushes people to look for means of escapism which is what pushes some people to alcohol, despite it aggravating the situation. I think if we encouraged young people to talk more about how they feel and to respect themselves then we would see a sharp decline in youth drinking. A massive amount is down to parents and their attitudes though.

Just in relation to garda being the best security @Tom Shine I live beside the Park and was walking that way on Saturday, I seen one Garda pulled up giving out to a van driver who’d stopped to quickly unload something, meanwhile right in front of the garda’s eyes numerous drunk and definitely under age people are running out into the road in front of fast moving cars that were all blowing their horns and shouting at the kids to get out of the road, yet the garda didn’t do a thing!

• I started drinking in pubs when I was 15. This was a long time ago but I believe goes ot the heart of the problem.
    The group I drank with ranged in age from 16 to 30. You typically went ot the pub around 7:30 and stayed until 11:30. During this time I would have around 4 pints and sometimes more and sometimes less. But I never fell out of the place.
    What this environment led to was a social awareness of the rules of social drinking. You were there for the chat and craic and definitely not to get drunk. This I really believe was due to the wide range of ages in the group.
    Now if you go to a bar particularly in our city and town centers there is hardly anywhere to sit and normally you are deafened by the loud music. This stifles conversation and promotes the consumption of more drink.
    The harsh reality is that this in turn led to the de-socialisition of drinking. If you go to a bar to drink now it is to drink.
    It also means that there is no passing on of the behaviour model from one age group to the next.

I am not sure how to fix this. Legislation clearly wont work. Ban all music in pubs? Not really a runner.
    My son tells me he spends most of the time in the smoking area in pubs despite the fact that he doesnt smoke because it is the only place where you can have a proper conversation.

Maybe a starting point would be for joint working group from all parties, Publicans, Gardai etc but I fear this would just turn into a protectionist talking shop.

Any ideas?

• The State is going to have to step in as nanny:
    - lower the drinking age to 17, arrest/take into (very brief) care, any 16 year old who is drunk, with assessment of parents’ drinking habits;
    - prosecute bars for serving people who are already drunk and shut down the bars for a week;
    - prosecute, with short jail time, any off-licence who sells to an u-17 year old (ditto any punter who buys it for them);
    - in conjunction with the North, raise the price of alcohol.
    - all persons drinking in public places should be prosecuted.
    - more sentences should be suspended on the basis of the convicted not drinking or attending secular alcoholic courses.

Or, we can just carry on as we are.

• Conor , you raise some valid points, but i dont think lowering the age is the answer, there should be tighter controls on where drink can be purchased, i think that bringing back the old style off licences in pubs and stopping the likes of supermarkets from selling alcohol would reduce its availability to younger people, too many shops here have young kids working in them who are either too scared to refuse their peers or serve them because they are mates, and yes i am aware that it is illegal for anyone under the age of 18 to serve alcohol just a pity so many shops ignore that aspect of the law , maybe they should have to be over 21 to serve alcohol, also as a former publican with 25 yrs experience ,i could not believe how bar staff in Ireland still serve people who are obviously so drunk that they are a danger to themselves and others, i have actually witnessed (while playing in a band) people fall to the floor or off a bar stool who are then helped to their feet and served with another pint or short , totally agree with an all out ban on drinking in public areas that are not a part of a licenced premises( i.e outside of a pub ) we have a big problem where i live with groups of men and women drinking on lanes and on green areas of housing estates with toddlers and young kids no more than 10 feet away. these people are doing this 7 days a week ,cheap deals on beer and cider from local supermarket selling below cost, urinating in full view of children, (men and women) then after a few hours it time for a fight , again in front of kids, and what do the guards do? ,sweet f.a., if they turn out at all. i too am sick and tired of reading in the local paper of these same people being in front of the courts every week or two, and using the excuse ” i was off me head with the drink/drugs when i did it sir” certain local solicitors are making a killing in legal aid fees from these low life’s.
      so in short,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
      1/ raise the age of people allowed to SERVE alcohol to 21+ thus cutting out the ‘peer pressure ‘ effect.
      2/ a ban on below cost selling ,2 for 1 and all you can drink type promotions.
      3/ a much higher garda profile i.e foot patrols in known problem areas .
      4/ mandatory sentences for repeat offenders, and a limit to the amount of access to the legal aid system.
      5/ removal of drink sales /licences from supermarkets and shops to pubs and off licences only.

• What alternatives to alcohol are young young Irish people being offered. ?What is the cost comparison between running a youth club and keeping a young person in prison ?

• mcbab 12/07/12 #

Fagan. These young people seem to have plenty of money to spend on drink. Don’t quite understand what you mean by “what other alternatives are being offered”. If they have the cash for drink they have it for the cinema, bowling , gigs etc.

• For anyone who has travelled you know every other country is as bad with drink shit sick of do gooders

• Quick fix. Legalise and licence Mary Jane, and jack up the price of drink outside pubs, where bar staff should be held reponsible for serving anyone over the top.
    Side point: imagine if this mayhem had happened at the Ballinsloe horse fair how it would be spun at a certain section?
    One comment up above stressed this should be covered as ‘some Irish’…he did not suggest it should be stressed as ‘settled Irish’. Spot the blind-spot.

• I’ve heard it all now, passive drinking?? Ridiculous! As long as parents don’t get sh*t faced in front of their children there’s no problem. And correct me if I’m wrong but the problem is people’s atitude towards drugs and knife use. Although we are a nanny state so let us let the actions of a few dictate for a majority

• Well said. The government and ignorant people of this country think its drink. I think it’s the courts lenient sentence on violent offenders, lock them up every time they assuat some one they’ll soon stop and won’t escalate to knifes.

• Since young people started straying from the church, they have lost all respect for themselves and others. They have no fear of the repercussions after this life so they are happy to live a life of sin. Being people back to the church and this crazy behaviour will stop.

Add New Comment