TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Thursday 20 June, 2013

Column: Youth politics isn’t about the sins of the past – it’s about the needs of the future

Citizens – and especially young people – should take more control of the system by involving themselves in political parties, writes Fiachra Ó Raghallaigh.

Image: Jeff Daniels via Shutterstock

I CANNOT SAY how many student societies I joined during my first week in Trinity College – it seemed like several hundred. Yet there is one society which I will never forget joining: the Theobald Wolfe Tone Cumann, better known to most as Trinity Ógra Fianna Fáil.

In the year-and-a-half since I signed my name and email address on that white paper form on that freezing cold day, I have never been allowed to forget that choice. Through everything from puzzled looks to vitriolic rants, it is fairly clear that many ordinary non-aligned citizens have taken a personal affront to what I considered to be part of my civic duty.

A problem for society as a whole

Back in September 2011, I assumed that these reactions were a product of the economic crisis – not to mention the various corruption scandals -and that, once the necessary political reforms were made, it would die down. Indeed over the course of the year, I began to hear less and less criticism of the personal variety, but the amount of politically-charged ‘critique’ remained steady. I also learned that members of Labour Youth, Young Fine Gael and Sinn Féin Republican Youth suffered similar attacks from the public, albeit for different reasons.

The more I heard, the more convinced I became that this was a problem – not just for youth politics, but for Irish society as a whole. Simply put, it betrays a fundamental misunderstanding of what youth politics is, what its aims are, and what it has accomplished.

Bizarre as it may seem to some, Ógra Fianna Fáil are not interested in defending the various corruption scandals, the lack of banking regulations and the out-of-control fiscal policy of the boom years. Equally Labour Youth and Young Fine Gael aren’t interested in defending the broken promises that their senior party made prior to the 2011 election, and Republican Youth would never dream of defending Aongus Ó Snódaigh’s inordinate use of ink cartridges or Pearse Doherty’s expenses claims.

Keeping politics in tune with society

This is not an excuse for dodging responsibility, but instead meant to highlight an important fact: youth politics shouldn’t be about defending the sins of the past or even the present. Rather it should focus on the needs of the future. It should be about developing new thoughts and ideas and keeping politics in tune with the ever-changing needs and values of our society.

For a party to accomplish this goal, it needs a large and diverse membership from all walks of life. Contrary opinions should be allowed – and even encouraged – for only that way can there be proper discussion and debate over policy direction.

This crucial fact is all too often forgotten – in that we often expect party members to defend the party line even on issues which they strongly disagree. The net result of this is that few young people are willing to affiliate themselves, which in turn brings negative repercussions of its own. All political parties in this country hold democratic votes on major policy decisions, which effectively make the grass roots the agenda setters. Every election manifesto, every programme for government has its origins in motions workshops that take place all over Ireland.

In a country where the dominance of parties over the political system is absolute, this vote afforded to party members is a very powerful one – one which unfortunately is only wielded by a fraction of the electorate. The smaller the number of individuals that draft policies and vote at Conferences and Ard Fheiseanna, the more likely that these individuals will not represent the sections of the community whom their policies will affect, and that in turn these policies – however well-intended – will be defective, socially unjust or politically unworkable.

Politics has never been so uncool

Everyone deplores that governments break the promises that get them elected – yet few ask why more citizens do not take part in deciding what those promises should have been in the first place. Even fewer question why the young people who decide to take responsibility for their future, by affiliating themselves to political parties and exercising their vote on policy decision, should suffer the vilification that they do.

For although we are living in an era of rising education costs, youth unemployment and mass emigration, it has never been less “cool” to be a student politician. Does this not seem completely illogical?

The fact is that Irish society badly needs more young people to join and get involved in political parties. Those that choose to stand up and make their voices heard ought to be applauded, not demonised. They are simply carrying out what they rightly perceive to be their civic duty, and this country would be in a much better place now, had more done the same.

And though it would be easy for me to use this comment piece as an advertisement (“go and join Ógra, be part of the comeback”), I will be honest and admit that what suits me may not suit others. I would rather young people join any political party, or create one that suits their own needs, rather than remain unrepresented and voiceless in our party-dominated political system.

The needs of our generation are too great to be silenced by cynicism and political opportunism, and we must stand up and refuse to be overwhelmed by it.

Fiachra Ó Raghallaigh is a Trinity College Dublin student, member of Trinity Ógra Fianna Fáil, and blogger at TheReillyWriter.

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (54 Comments)

• Good man Fiachra…
    I know so many people involved in every political party throughout the country & I always say to them, “Well, I may disagree with you, sometimes quite strongly, but at least you’re out there *doing* something & not just setting up fake accounts on twitter so you can moan anonymously”!

There is such a ridiculous stigma about being a member of a political party amongst these sorts of people. Some people on this site actually think “Ah sure, you’re a member of Fianna Fáil…” is a perfectly reasonable way to dismiss someone who actually took the time to get involved!

• “Ah sure, you’re a member of Fianna Fáil…” is a perfectly reasonable way to dismiss someone who actually took the time to get involved!”

It is, because it says something about the person and their moral fiber. Give what the party is associated with and stands for. Why would anyone join them?

Also it is quiet sickening to think that the abuse the memory and good name of Tone by using it for their gang in Trinity.

• But Paul Anthony, you would say that. You ARE a member of Fianna Fail, are you not.

I can sum up in two words why it’s legitimate to regard Fianna Fail and its members as intellectuality, morally and now financially bankrupt: promissory notes.

What were they thinking? Anyone would be crazy to vote for them.

What’s needed in youth politics, contrary to this recruitment piece, isn’t membership of the established parties, it’s a new way of looking at and doing politics, every single one of the established parties, bar none, are spent.

• One thing I will say is that Fiachra writes a good article

• Lynch 01/02/13 #

Oh he had the best of help from Mount Street no doubt. Their best policy minds proofread it, and advised Fiachra as to what “sins of the past” he could safely admit!

• Lynch 01/02/13 #

Paul Ward is Ogra’s Dublin Organiser. Fiachra Ó Raghallaigh goes to university in Dublin. No doubt they discussed this article over pints before hand?

• mcula 01/02/13 #

@Lynch. Does it read like it was proofread to you? What parts?

• @Lynch: Wow. The obsession you seem to have with myself & Fiachra (You mentioned the two of, by name, on a post about Silvio Berlusconi!!!) is rather creepy.

Also, for the record, I was elected by the members of Ógra Fhianna Fáil to the voluntary, unpaid position of Dublin Organizer roughly 18 months ago at the FF National Youth Conference, correct. I step down in roughly 2weeks at the next National Youth Conference. You’re more than welcome to attend in an observer capacity.
      Discussing articles over pints, or whatever it is you’re on about, is not with my purview, unfortunately.

• Lynch 01/02/13 #

Whine, whine, whine. Oh those nasty people called me names! How dare they?! All I did was cast my lot with the very crowd that ruined the country.

• Get rid of the whip system.
    Then I’ll listen to YOUR ideas.
    Otherwise you’ll just fall into line as time goes by.

• We need to change the politcal system. Plenty of people go into policitcs for the right reason. We rarely will ever hear about them though becuase to climb up the political ladder you have to be as much as sleveen as the person thats gone before you. The sytem is wrong and obviously corrupts. Problem is the people who have control of and can change the system are the very people it benefits.

• Good article, I just hope that some of the young budding politicians on this site are in the minority, for they certainly seem to follow the party line without thinking for themselves

• Lynch 01/02/13 #

The writer of this article included, I presume?

• I would hope not, but personally, it does seem to be the same people from identical backgrounds in the two big universities, UCD and TCD who end up running the show, or keeping the show running even, I was in college at the same time as Creighton and Varadkar, they’re from my generation, but once you get a sniff near the main party, it’s goodbye ideals, hello party-line and blushing in Brussels. I can’t understand how a young person in college today would want to align themselves to any of the main political parties, they never had a ‘golden age’ or did much for the people of this country to be proud of since the foundation of the State, at times it seems like there are mini family-run cabals dominating county councils and Dáil Éireann, it’s a major problem. Why don’t I do something about it? Because I don’t have the money to take the chance of running for election in my locality and not getting elected, also, I would be nowhere near as competent as the likes of Stephen Donnelly.

• Read that headline and knew it was ?gra FF. The youth party for the under-35s that I can only assume recruit with brain slugs.

• Standard abusive “Fianna Fáil are evil” comment to save the rest of you the trouble of posting it.

• Well, seeing as McGuirk here has had his flirtations both with FF and the Blueshirts, neither of which ended very happily (or so the story goes), here’s our one stop bitching off Civil War parties shop.

• and the PD’s and Libertas.

• Quite the pattern emerging alright: if it’s regressive, right of centre, and dedicated to promoting elite interests … well, heeeeere’s Johnny.

It’s funny, I was just having a conversation this evening about the shocking fact that there’s been no real movement in Irish politics since the crash, and how profoundly disturbing that is.

Granted, there is some kind of stirring on the libertarian right, who are, to my way of thinking, promoting even more virulent versions of the right wing ideas that’ve gotten us into this mess in the first place, and there is/was the Occupy movement, who were well-intentioned, but hamstrung by a lack of organisation and related unreality and ultimate unviability of a strictly non-hierarchical approach.

What’s wrong with us? Have we run out of ideas? Is the best we can offer young people the notion of signing up to the same old gombeenism?

Young people should engage with politics: learn about economics, about power, about resistance, about struggle (read your Foucault), about other visions and ways of working together towards a better future. They should get involved with their communities – things like Ballyhea are a shining light. But the last thing they should be doing is providing fresh meat for the FF/FG grinder.

• Excellent article Fiachra. Political participation is hugely important. We need more people active in politics, not less.

• So why not get involved yourself Aoife if you feel nobody represents your views.

• Ah Higgz, my ould blossom. So, it would appear that FG and FF can bury the hatchet for long enough to try selling young people on the idea of perpetuating the same tired, corrupt old gombeenism that’s been inflicted upon this country since the 30s?

For clarity, I’m all for young people getting involved, but I would hope that they’d not be conned into reproducing the same mediocrity, intellectual and moral midgetry that we see in the established parties.

Let’s think about what’s gone wrong in this country and try something new, the time is right.

• Lynch 01/02/13 #

FG agreeing with FF. What’s new!

• Nonsense. Learn from history or repeat the same mistakes. Anyone joining FF Youth knows exactly what kind of evil organization they are joining. Any of your stated objectives could be far better accomplished by forming a new party.

• Youth politics should focus on”the needs of the future” ? Fianna Fáil have left such a legacy that it beggars belief that we have any sustainable future at all.

• FF FG and the labour louts have blocked boycotted destroyed and slandered any new political force or new idea at local and national level. They practice obstruction politics to keep the status quo.
    At a local level the rotate Mayors, they appoint town clerks that have more clout then the elected chamber. They have an impenetrable wall of burocracy to hide all shady dealings.
    The freedom of information act is a complete joke because any thing that you request will only be issued at the descression of the revelent department and can be censored.
    By all means get involved in politics but joining ff fg or labour is just supporting the rotten corrupt system they built you will not change anything,you become one of them.

• Great article, well done Fiachra! I have sometimes thought about getting involved in youth political societies in college, but always was put off by the fact that I found all of the parties to which they’re affiliated to be severely lacking/generally shit. This article would make me reconsider joining in, despite this. Thank you!

• Those youths with no interest in politics may just have it right.

I’m instantly suspicious of any youth who joins a political party youth group. Next generation of business as usual.

• Suspicious of joining a youth group? You just proved the only good point this article made! The pro FF nonsense was just that, but he’s absolutely right to call for increased party memberships. Either that or have thousands of lickle independents galloping around the place.

• I’m surprised that someone intelligent enough to get into Trinity would join the youth wing of a criminal organisation?

• wow that was vague, could he list the policies he’s in favour of?

• If you are interested in Policy or bettering society then you do not join FF. There are lots of other parties that do policy, FF have relied on people since the 70′s that have no vision but power for its own sake and the perks it brings them. Whether those perks are legally obtained or otherwise is immaterial for many of its leading lights.

That is why the rise for FF in the polls can only go so far and their future is still bleak. What future for a party that is such a broad church that it tries to buy off everyone at the same time, while loads of people are buying its key members off.

The 18-20% who are backing Independents in polls are angry at the political system but the especially hate FF and all it represents. The 18-20% who are backing SF will stay with them at this stage, they on the left and Republican so they aren’t going to go to FF, no more than FG or the DUP. FG will stay on 25%+ even in worse case scenario. FF will struggle to get over the 25% in an election, and it will remain transfer toxic. It’s cllr’s are mostly old, its TD’s are mostly silent or dim bulbs like Dimmy Tooley and Niall Collins.

Why would a young person join them, unless they were born in to the mindset and tribalism of it all.

• mcula 01/02/13 #

@Bri_Shiels You use the term tribalism.

Do you think that the the culture, as it exists over there, could also be termed as sectarianism?

Or sectarian tribalism? Often in the Republic of Ireland’s newspapers, references such as ‘genetic disposition’ and ‘the correct set of the right genes’ is used to refer to individuals involved in –what the author above himself describes as– a system of absolutist rule over his own society. The author desires association with this system and suggests that fellow citizens who do not crave being party to the absolutist system he acknowledges are, perhaps, thinking irrational or acting illogically.

I recall ‘genetic disposition’ being specifically applied repeatedly to Mr Brian Lenihan (Jnr.) in the years and months leading right up to his death. And genetics are also mentioned with regard to others persons professionally employed in the houses of the Irish parliament.

Given this ‘extra, unique, local expectation’ in the context of Irish society, this extra ‘genetic’ requirement (or equally: ‘inherited disposition’), as is often reported of the figureheads in the Irish society landscape….. what would be thé term to add to ‘sectarian tribalism’ that would best capture thé essence of thé profession ‘elected public-representative’ in the Republic of Ireland?

• I love the way this is painted. After 7 years in NUIG there was one thing I realised; those who were in Ogra Fianna Fail or Young Fine Gael had their voices heard above anyone else. These people were usually the ones who would win SU Elections, by playing down their political connections and aiming for the depoliticised mass of students who bothered to vote. These people have turned the Student Unions into service-providers thus crippling the Irish Student Movement for a number of years. These young politicos would be the voice of condemnation any time a student decided to act against fees. They would tell all their non-political friends that the students who had principles and were properly anti-fees and anti the commercialisation of education, that they were “nutters” and they would paint resistance at being “uncool”. These hacks and careerists would be the Auditors of Law Societies and running the SUs thus ensuring their parent parties that there would be no trouble from the student masses. Every time those of us outed them as FF’ers or FG’ers we’d be outlawed as “conspiracy theorists”; a number of years later we’d see that these very same people were operating in the background of FF or FG. Student politics has nothing to with the author or his brand of careerist hackery, student politics is meant to be about resistance, enlightenment and solidarity with those in struggle outside the University, shame on these people for ruining that for years to come.

• Joseph, funny you’re the first person to mention the word “Students Union” – as if everyone under 30 has to be a student of some sort. I also remeber you as one of those people who tried to bully me out of a lobbying campaign in favour of fully exchequer funded fees, based upon the fact that I was in Ógra and therefore part of some “neoliberal conspiracy theory” to make us all slaves to “the banks”. At the time I could have made a big deal about the fact that you were on the steering committee of the ULA, but unlike you I felt (and still feel) that being in a political party isn’t something to be stigmatised. However it would have been completely naive of me to think that you weren’t pursuing some agenda of your own to to the benefit of the ULA and the detriment of our cause in general.

• Joseph Loughnane’s political unpopularity in NUI Galway derives from his ignorance and lack of toleration to any opinion other than his own. Without even getting into the politics he preaches his demeanor is so strikingly insulting that it is impossible to debate politics with him. Fair play to anyone who joins a political party.

• Fiachra, the fact that the term “Students Union” was not mentioned in your article speaks volumes. As for brining up past experiences and airing them in public, I shall answer them. The people of this country have a large amount of distrust towards FF. Any time I, or other student activists have moved against FF, we have gotten the support the wider public. As for your accusation as to what I believed you were at; your organisation has consistently failed to address the most important issues in education, instead jumping on populist ideas due to a lack of ideas and principles. Yes, I did once sit on the SC of an alliance that has now unfortunately broken down, but I did so in a bid to influence what many people believed at the time was an answer to the corrupt parties in Irish politics. Most of these meetings I attended via skype as you see, we don’t get paid for building our organisations. If you are in a party that is doling out savage cuts every week of the year, then you deserve to be stigmatised, to expect anything else undermines the real concerns of the Irish public. My agenda, now that you mention it was that of free education, a grant that comes on time and an end to the commercialisation of education. All issues that are leading to 1000s of people either having to emigrate or drop out of University. To the benefit of the ULA? Are you seriously comparing the ULA to FF? I don’t remember the ULA bringing this country to financial ruin, destroying our reputation in the eyes of our peers abroad and dragging the people of this nation through so much hardship that it will take years to bring some semblance of normal living back to this isle.
      Conor, another FF’er, how organised ye are at backing each other up. One can’t help but laugh at the idea of “political unpopularity” in NUIG, when successive Unions led by FF and FG hacks have completely depoliticised the students there and killed any idea of students having the muscle to scare governments into masking cuts that affect them. Ignorance? That implies I somehow don’t get what FF are at, but I do, like many others do, it’s just some of us like to say it to your faces. My own opinion is usually one that come from a collective decision to fightback against austerity. I naturally find the view that the Irish people should pay for the mess your party created as intolerable. Talk of my demeanour must be referring to the numerous times I have been involved in protests aimed at your party, protests that the ordinary people of Galway still congratulate us for. It is very difficult to debate politics with people who have none, your organisation is founded on corruption and lies, everything that you say to me is designed to shut me and others up for daring to voice our opposition to austerity. Besides that, I’ve never spoken to you and never remember you ever making any attempt to engage with me either. G’day sirs, my apologies for being one of the many people that can see through your lies.

• mcula 31/01/13 #

Good article Fiachra. What about applying the description politics? … ‘Youth’ anything really sounds like it’s just a practise-run?

Across Germany, ‘youth-’ politics is that about which primary- & secondary-school students are encouraged to learn in their classrooms. That prepares (young, youthful) minors to partake in society’s politics after they have reach adulthood (i.e. 18+).

Perhaps a contemporary Ireland political-realist’s approach would be to start instructing minors currently in the Irish schools about the political systems in the United States of America, the Commonwealth of Australia, New Zealand, Canada and the United Kingdom? Would that be a political realist’s preparation for the forthcoming adult-lives of these young people, these minors: your Irish children (brothers, sisters nieces & nephews &c.)?

Last year, those territories mentioned are precisely the destinations of Ireland’s most valuable export-commodity? Educating the next upcoming-generation of minors would be a move to equip them for their future lives, in who-knows-where overseas? The members of the Oireachtas could work together in unison & in harmony to apply for direct subsidisation from the leading export-destinations? It certainly is worth looking into.

Given official statistics now report* emigration from (the Republic of) Ireland is occurring in numbers not witnessed anywhere since the ‘Great Famine’ in Ireland? (Not the ‘Irish Famine’ of 1740s, one hundred years beforehand.)
    Do you think it somewhat a coincidence Fiachra? That so many of the indigenous population, once again, depart precisely that very same country in countless droves? And, once again, no complete statistics being gathered at the ports-of-departure despite the arrival of the Digital Age since your island’s previous mass-exodus?

It seems rather amazing (and beyond a coincidence) that reporters in the Republic of Ireland are reliant on statistics gathered by foreign authorities in (overseas) countries to where these vast numbers of the Irish population are presently removing themselves? Even those figures do not include children and non-working spouses who accompany the Republic’s departing workforce?

It would seem the departed are posting their last into the Republic’s ballot-box by voting with their feet and leaving altogether? What do you think Fiachra? Who can say that those people are not thinking of the(ir) next-generation? Just as you also do in your article and in your own way?

May I ask you Fiachra, if you know and care to impart it: what is the English translation of Ó Raghallaigh?

[*Irish Independent, Dec. 31 2012. 'Irish emigration at famine levels', by Aideen Sheehan.]

• boo hoo poor University student gets called names. If people were interested in”change” in this country they wouldn’t keep attaching themselves to the septic institutions that are the political parties on this isle. Fiachara does not care and is more interested that we simply forget and get back to our cosy lives of being abused by FF and stop this Lab/FG nonsense. You don’ t want to linked to the past? Your group is named after Wolfe Tone the father of Irish (Violent) Republicanism, the curse of this country for 200 years

• mcula 01/02/13 #

Some direct points there Rob.
    On another note, I looked up this character : Theobald Wolfe Tone. He featured in the secondary-school history books I recall reading in the 90s. One part of his life and subsequent death that I am certain I did not read about back then (in those department-of-education books) was that the man was suicidal?
    Am I the only one who didn’t know that? One of my brothers is even named after this guy…? I wonder does he know it? (Or realise it?)
    One wonders? Were psychiatric disorders such as depression, bipolar, schizophrenia, alcoholism and/or drug abuse even invented back then? Wiki says that’s the prime reason why people (even heroes) opt for the suicide route.

I wonder if that could possibly be explained by being Irish? What with the statistics there being so consistently high down through the ages?
    After all, it appears he spend much of his adult life as an emigrant in England, the US, the lowlands and in France? It was only later, after returning to Ireland, that the chap end-up killing himself?

• It didn’t help that he was locked in a jail cell and was to be hanged the next day, after his petition to be shot by firing squad was denied. That may also have played a part in his decision to end his own life.

• mcula 01/02/13 #

Yes Dave… that is surely probably a factor in takings one’s own life, seemingly as a statement option (given that it was already legitimately forfeit)?
      iForgot about that, thanks. And also forgot the part where he lay dying for eight days after he failed to even succeed with his suicide option… as you say, to escape the fate placed upon his person by the Irish authorities? What was his capital crime against Ireland anyhow?
      Was it something to do with dressing-up as a French adjutant-general; or travelling under a false name; or collaborating with Europe’s undisputed tyrant of the time in a conspiracy to overrun Ireland by naval & military invasion no matter what the cost in human life; going forward, just as thé République did all across the mainland?
      Reports of the day tell that before sailing to invade Ireland, Mr Tone spent years&years in America and continental Europe. His Ireland, the one he would have remembered, it would have changed in those years? Right? It would have been a different place, certainly given the events of those years that he wasn’t living there any more? Would he have even recognised it, had he landed?
      And, in those (increasingly less-youthful) years not living in Ireland, he was present in the Lowlands when the ‘French Executive’ arranged a naval force to be launched from the puppet Batavian Republic in 1797? That republic’s military forces had overrun the Lowlands in the previous three years, causing mass starvation and huge upheaval among the population there: pretty? Mr Tone witnessed all of that as a French officer of the République.
      Is that what adjutant-general Smith (or, Mr Tone in his civvies) had envisioned for Ireland when he landed there the following year? Somewhat less the youthful personage he was upon his departure years before? Now dressed in his French military-uniform? Were his intentions to bring that new and politically divisive, ultimately destructive, model of the French Republic’s Reign-of-Terror there to Ireland? With all its political intrigue, murderous trappings and deadly consequences? What exactly was the plan Mr Tone formed while being an eyewitness to The Terror (de schrikbewind) spreading through the Lowlands in the years preceding his final, desperate, (obviously psychiatric) last-ditch expression of ultimate failure? Viva la vida.
      Could his (adult-) plan have been to make Ireland a French ‘sister-republic’ of the day; before patriot (& emperor à la maximus-prime) Boneparte forced the inhabitants of Ireland to accept his own brother as their new reigning monarch? Or perhaps….even a King Wolfé (in the context of those times in NW-Europe)? OK, his final plans didn’t work out for him: but what wére those plans Fiachra? And were they affected by his (obviously) psychiatric state?
      Does anyone in your Society know, Fiachra, what the gist of his Generalé plans were…. upon his return: as a ‘grown’ man? Y’know, the spirit of them and such? (other than the suicide option).
      Did any reporters get to interview him when he revisited Ireland? #OnlyAskin’.

• Youth politics is simply adult politics with more “street experience”. The employment cultural change and the change on attitudes forced on young people by this recession from a generation ago only highlights that conservative employers who don’t know the labour market and are unwilling to adapt to a more difficult, better skilled but more competitive labour market these days will become the financial losers in the days to come.

• mcula 01/02/13 #

yes, you are correct there Kevin.
      But, the ‘days to come’ you refer to arrived in the Republic of Ireland a long, long, long time ago.
      In my view, there was only one brief moment, relative to the two generations that had passed since the new ‘Republic of Ireland’ was (finally) permitted to become a member of the United Nations in December 1955, where a like ‘cultural change’ you mention was directly relevant to that new, fledgling republic.
      Remember the mid-nineties? The Berlin wall had just fallen and there was a general sense of relief with regard to the threat related to the Cold War. the Iron Curtain? Our continent slowly getting to grips with the results of the Second World War? I was reading sociology at the NUI. One course I sat, aptly called “the diaspora”, students learned the of science in Ireland attempting to come to terms with the ‘plague’ of emigration… which in those days had seen a year-on-year drop in the population (B&D included & accounted for) since the year 1845. It was 1995.
      That’s 150-years of year-on-year continual population depletion. That was, and always had been in living memory, Ireland’s lot in the world.
      I shall never forget the lecturer’s disbelief and apparent excitement, coming into the classroom and immediately making an announcement. The figures from the CSO had ‘just been published’ (there was no internet then and this fanfare of the ‘publication of’ something was still important in those days). With water welling in his own eyes as he explained and urged ‘the significance’ of those figures he announced. Telling us (he could hardly believe it either) that in the previous year (1994) the figures seemed to suggest the first positive-balance in terms of inhabitants in the republic since the Great Famine.
      So, the break from the overall national statistical character of the country, even before it became a republic. It didn’t last long in the bigger picture, parents? Did it? And, learning sociology at university in the mid-nineties, the “in” module for us students was that dealing with the rampant suicide ongoing up and down the country. Attempting to analyse and research it: put some understanding on it.
      That’s back to how it used to always be now too.

Ireland was, of course, in that regard the ‘poor man’ of Europe in those regards (total emigration and massive suicide). Or, so it was explained to us lucky fortunates whose parents could pay the expensive fees to get a university education to have these unique aspects of Irish cultural heritage explained to us by old men with letters after their names. Back then, there were only 17 members in the European Community: Ireland having the most potential and hope of the all those members. Hope for that dreadful, constantly lamented (ah-sure, what else can one do, better then than you?) situation of 150-years of total emigration to be somehow turned around by massive financial assistance of the other EC members. It was supposed to achieve something other than a terror state… with the remainder-fortunates acting on ways that clearly suggest they were hell-bent on bankrupting all their countrywo/men? That is the result of their good works? And surely, they ‘are’ good works?
      As teenagers growing up in the late eighties and early nineties, there was simply only two groups in the society: old people and minors. There was a show on channel-4 called “thirty-something”… most of us youth never even knew what thirtysomething meant. There just was none.
      For the genetically-disposed members of the parliament of the day, stemming the massive emigration bleeding the country to death, alongside stopping those who couldn’t afford to emigrate from killing themselves as an alternative, was ‘everything’ in the campaigns they ran to sustain their careers as publicly elected representatives.
      The ones you have today simply don’t, or wont, deal with those matters. To me, that is a sure sign of some nature of psychiatric reaction and horror-disbelief/or ‘unbelief’. Just like the personal denial I experienced with my own parents as one, then two, then three, then four, then five of our direct family departed overseas, not to return. Then I left too (Mary Robinson was always a big role model for me and my entire generation, so I followed her direct, personal example to us all and got out of there promptly).
      She was right too: just look at that state now? They’re talking famine talk again, not to mention the piracy and import-export of illegal contraband on a scale not ever witnessed in the Republic of Ireland.
      Like your old Grandpa-Pat Kenny always says: suicide is not an option. So… if you haven’t got grey hair yet like your ol’ grandpa-Pat clearly does, then you can always still opt to escape & save themselves. That is clearly what is happening.

That’s ‘being Irish’ as it always used to be. Ask your grandparents: they’ll tell you if they’re still sane, can admit the truth and aren’t inebriated on prescription drugs. Unfortunately many of the grey hair are nowadays, over there.
      And that ‘is’ new. Before the glitch period of brief national positive opportunities, it was always just the alcohol that got these stay-behind cases through their days. But now it seems they are mixing that with drugs: and these are the folks telling you that they are in charge of the charade performing “Captain of the Titanic” over there?

Add New Comment