TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 19 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

Column: Here’s why cyclists need to change – as do motorists

The way we view each other with mutual suspicion is often down to cramped roads, crap cycle lanes and a lack of intersection between how motorists and cyclists use the road.

Eoin Lynch

CYCLING IN DUBLIN is, at the best of times, a dangerous thing to do. As we head toward the darker, colder days of autumn and the clocks go back many road users need a few weeks to readjust.

At this time of year the car becomes a sanctuary of comfort for many motorists – heating up full blast, radio on to break the monotony of sitting in the heavy traffic that the school days bring. And of course there is the build up of clutter – the spare jumper, an umbrella, countless empty coffee cups, hats, scarves and all the other things we might need “just in case the weather turns bad”.

At the same time roads become more of a challenge for the cyclist who is dealing with the elements head on. Stronger winds, slippy roads and heavy showers often prove too much for many who revert to public transport or the car. According to Cyclingindublin.com the trend is that there is safety in numbers for cyclists. The more there are on the road the fewer accidents and fatalities there are, so as the fair weather cyclists drop off the risk increases for the hardcore.

I am both a cyclist and a motorist but I cycle a lot more than I drive. I figure I am a mid-table rule-breaking cyclist. I do run red lights, I have cycled on the footpath and I often forget to signal when turning.

There are of course those cyclists who would never dream of bending the rules of the road and part of me salutes and appreciates them and yet another part of me wonders why they wait at a pedestrian crossing when there is no one else around for a two-mile radius. There is the other end of the spectrum where the rules simply do not exist; it is a world often occupied by those who cycle either very rarely or all the time, such as a courier friend of mine genuinely believes that he has a different entitlement to the road then other users.

“I am a mid-range rule breaker”

As I say I am a mid-range rule breaker. As the law of averages or just good old dumb luck would have it on Monday morning I got a smack of a car. A Micra was turning left off Lower Gardiner Street onto Talbot Street. The driver forgot to indicate, and as she turned left I careened into the side of the car. The young woman jumped out of the car, apologised profusely and asked me if she should call an ambulance. After a couple of minutes we were all smiles and both went on our separate ways.

As the woman was getting back into her car she apologised again and said “I just didn’t see you”. The fact that she just didn’t see me was the thing that I found surprising as I do my best to look like a Christmas tree when I am cycling. I have three lights – two on the bike and one on my helmet, and a fluorescent yellow bomber jacket so I am fairly noticeable.

I realised that it wasn’t so much that she hadn’t seen me, but that she wasn’t looking for me. She was genuinely surprised that a cyclist was on the road, as are many motorists. The 2011 census recorded 39,803 cyclists regularly using Irish roads and yet despite these figures many motorists see cyclists as these annoying things that try and squeeze past your wing mirror every now and again.

The woman in the Micra mentioned to me that she had recently passed her test. It is a while ago since I sat my driving test, but if I recall correctly there is very little attention given to cyclists. I am not suggesting that a licence should be required to cycle a bike but it might not be a bad idea for a learner driver to cycle around the city for a few hours to give them a better understanding of why cyclists do certain things. For example when a cyclist suddenly stops or swerves a few inches into the road he is not playing chicken with a car but is most likely avoiding one of the man potholes that pockmark the street and roads of Dublin.

“The mysteries of The Cycle Lane”

However, a few hours of cycling would not be enough to explain the mysteries of The Cycle Lane to the novice. Cycle lanes are without doubt the single most dangerous feature on Irish roads for the cyclist, above pedestrians, motorists, even above other cyclists, because they give a false sense of security. I have often chuckled at seeing someone on a Dublin Bike swear blind at a bus because the driver cut across the cycle lane, only to have the bewildered bus driver ask the cyclist how he, the driver, is supposed to pull into the bus stop. He may even point down to the road markings which clearly signify a bus stop.

“But it’s a cycle lane,” the cyclist will plead.

“Yes, but it’s a bus stop too,” the bus driver will tell him as he drives off, leaving the biker scratching his helmetless head and thankful that he wasn’t squashed like a bug by the bus.

Cycle lanes appeared in Dublin the late 1990s and as the City Council website brags, “There are now almost 200km of on-road cycle tracks, bus lanes and off-road cycle tracks that cyclists can use. We’re also continuously expanding and improving the network”.

“Accidents continue to happen”

There is something distinctly botched about the cycle lanes in Dublin. They are incomplete, dangerous and it is very difficult to find someone in Dublin City Council who will put their hand up and say, “Yes, I’m the one trying to sort them out”.

Despite budget cuts the RSA continue to do steadfast work, but accidents continue to happen. According to the Garda Press Office there have been seven cyclists killed on Irish roads this year: an increase on 2011.

I am not for licensing or taxing cyclists, but the way cyclists view themselves, and the way in which they are viewed by other road users must change. Surely the government who have become very good at guiding public opinion when it comes to voting on various referenda can turn their hand to helping make Irish roads safer for cyclists, especially at this time of year.

Eoin Lynch tweets at @Eoinlyncho

Read more articles by Eoin Lynch>

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (109 Comments)

• Great article it’s nice to see a cyclist/driver give a balanced view rather than someone from the cyclist or motoring lobby slag each other off

• i do both also, have to admit cyclists get on my nerves when im driving but the reality is you are taking your life in your hands going out on a bike, not enough done to promote this (potentially) healthy activity here, if there were adequate facilities maybe these issues would not be so prevalent

• cyclists need to cop on and stop cycling 2and 3 abrest on secondary roads also undertaking cars and causing a nuisance in urban areas…it seems to be 90% of cyclists

• but they have the same rights to use the roads as motorists, maybe cyclists and motorists should be supporting each other in an attempt to sort out the obvious difficulties

• it would be great if they obeyed the rules of the road instead of this I’m a cyclist give way attitude

• I agree with Vinnie. I live in a rural are on the way to Kinsale and a lot of cyclists use the road. They cycle two or three abreast and give cars no chance to pass, sometimes it’s just one guy taking up the whole side of the road and won’t pull in. I’ve seen drivers get so frustrated they they attempt a very dangerous overtake. I know not all cyclists are like that but I’ve seen enough to think of them all with contempt.

• Vinnie, cycling abreast like that is allowed under the rules of the road. While I don’t cycle in groups myself, I can appreciate the reasoning behind it, firstly it makes cycling easier by slipstreaming behind someone else, but it can also be safer for the cyclist on secondary roads. A lot of motorists (not everyone, but I’d say the majority would), when they encounter a cyclist, will take a chance and try and pass them irregardless of road conditions such as an upcoming blind turn or solid white line. If a car comes around the corner and the motorist doesn’t have enough room to pass the cyclist, then chances are they will swerve into the cyclist rather than collide with the other motorist. Cycling abreast forces motorists to regard cyclists as proper road users, and if you can’t safely pass two cyclists abreast, then you shouldn’t be passing them in the first place.

• @john it is against the law to cycle 2or more abrest I dono where you got that it wasn’t as is undertaking..the..its stupid to suggest its safer to cycle taking up the whole road..its hardly the tour de France where they would be trying to streamline, it would also help if they were directly behind each other not scattered

• Vinnie, my source is the rules of the road pdf from the RSA it outlines the situations where cycling abreast are forbidden, those being in heavy traffic, when overtaking, and “if cycling beside another person would endanger, inconvenience or block other traffic or pedestrians”, outside those situations it is legal. I’m not endorsing cycling abreast in all situations, obviously if you could safely pass if the cyclists weren’t abreast then the cyclists should move in and allow you to, I don’t think (at least the majority) do it just to annoy any motorists, but there is call for it in order to discourage motorists overtaking in dangerous conditions.

Just to give an example, there is a part of the route I take each evening where I have learned from experience that I have to move into the center of the lane. If I don’t do this then at least a couple of times a year a motorist will attempt to overtake me and then immediately turn left. More than once I have been either forced to turn left with them, hit the side of their car, or break sharply. Fact of the matter is, cyclists are forced, for their own safety, to assume that the motorists around them are generally incompetent and to act accordingly. Most of the time that will be an unnecessary precaution, but the odd time it isn’t, it can be the difference between life and death.

I’m sorry if you are forced to sit for an extra minute in your heated car behind me, I’d rather you weren’t back there either.

• John, you just confirmed Vinnie’s point. You said it’s illegal to cycle abreast if it will block on inconvenience other traffic. Frankly, if cyclists are going to act like an ignoramus then they should expect to be treated like one.

• exactly my point on a secondary road it is never safe with blind corners narrow roads etc it increases chances of being hit with a car,if you take up all the road leaving drivers little or no room should a cyclist fall or something infront of the car causing it to swerve..

towns are the worst bikes weaving in and out of traffic ignoring red lights and stop signs..
      I’m not trying to say all cyclists are the same but the majority ruin it for the rest..

• oh iv no problem waiting a extra minute or two as I’m used to it with tractors its the manner in which other road users are treated

• No Barry I didn’t just confirm Vinnie’s point. I was very clear that I’m not in favor of cyclists doing it when it inconveniences other traffic. In fact I both quoted the relevant text and then clarified my position just to make it abundantly clear where I stood. I’m sorry that you didn’t seem to pick up on it, but allow me to clarify once more just for you. The text states “if cycling beside another person would endanger, inconvenience or block other traffic or pedestrians”, it cannot inconvenience other traffic on stretches of the road where overtaking is unsafe or explicitly forbidden as overtaking in this situation is illegal anyway. My main point was that cycling abreast isn’t illegal, as Vinnie incorrectly stated (otherwise why would it be expressly forbidden in certain situations), and to illustrate why in certain situations cyclists might choose to cycle abreast.

• Vinnie, the point is that the situation can look very different from a cyclist or motorists perspective. Sometimes I have to do things which might inconvenience you for my own safety. Another example is that I am very familiar with my stopping distance on my bike, so when I’m going at around the same speed as cars (in town obviously) I will leave enough space in front of me in case the car stops suddenly. This is doubly true on a hills, and triply true if the road is wet. When I’m cycling, irregardless of whether I’m matching the speed of the car in front of me, if I cycle on the left cars will overtake me into the space I’ve left for my stopping distance. Every time, because from a motorists perspective they need a lot less distance on a wet hill, so they just assume I’m slower than the car in front of me. So on this stretch of road I cycle in the center of the lane, explicitly to stop cars from overtaking me, from their perspective I’m probably just another a**hole on a bike taking up the whole road, but they don’t have the entire picture.

As for the weaving in traffic, I’m not sure if you are talking about moving or standstill traffic. I’m not going to defend people who do it in moving traffic, but I’m not sure what the issue is in standstill traffic (provided they aren’t hitting cars of course).

• Vinnie, you might like to check out traffic law before you go lecturing cyclists. Undertaking has never been illegal. The Rules of the Road refers to ‘When cycling alongside traffic stopped in line’ (see http://www.rotr.ie/rules-for-pedestrians-cyclists-motorcyclists/cyclists/cyclists_cycling-safely.html). The new statutory instrument S.I. No. 332/2012 confirms this by setting out the conditions when it is legal for cyclists to undertake.

I really have to laugh at all the drivers complaining about being ‘held up’ by cyclists. Look around you, folks. It’s not bikes that hold up cars. You’ll find a safe spot to overtake any bike within a minute or two. It’s cars that hold up cars. But look at all the energy that goes into complaining about bikes!

Be careful what you wish for. If you treat cyclists badly, they’ll get off their bikes and back into their cars, and you won’t be able to get past them then.

• A Canadian study has found that *totally separated* cycle lanes cut injuries to cyclists by 90%: http://www.theatlanticcities.com/commute/2012/10/dedicated-bike-lanes-can-cut-cycling-injuries-half/3654/

Those posting on the ‘Rules of the Road’: the law in relation to cyclists changed this year, allowing undertaking, cycling in contraflow bus lanes and cycling abreast: http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/2012/en/si/0332.html

• The next cyclist that runs me over on the footpath will not escape my justice!!! That’s a promise !!!!

• when i was doing my driving lessons the instructor always said ‘look in the side mirror for the man on the bike’, and now when im turning i always say this to myself!

• ROBERTO 29/10/12 #

I really believe there is a bigger issue here. Lack of quality cycle lanes. The ones that exist in Dublin often stop and start randomly. The cycle lanes are also often merged with parking spaces and bus lanes.

Another issue is one way systems that only work for cars.

There needs to be more of a push to provide safer roads for us and that 100% includes cyclists. Its time for change.

• Good article, but no mention of anywhere outside of Dublin?
    I am a pedestrian – unless in the car with my husband, in my town the council have boasted about creating over 2km of cycle lanes, but on my walk home the cycle is on the (normal size) footpath. When I am walking bikes whizz past me without a warning or a care but I get a fright every time. Also if I am walking our puppy on that path I am mindful of the fact that she could get in the way of a cyclist.
    Drivers are another story, it could be pissing rain but most don’t care because they have the heat and the radio on and will leave people standing at a zebra crossing because they have the road.
    I could go on and on but this would end up being an essay, not a comment.
    I just wish everyone would consider other people when they are on the road- or in general life when I think of it!

• not enough cycle lanes and not enforcement on the ones that are there, where i live there is one cycle lane and its 12 meters long (for real), in the pheonix park are exquisite cycle lanes with footpaths right beside them, but for some reason the footpaths seem to be invisible to pedestrians, cycling in holland was a pleasure, cycle lanes everywhere

• cycling is a great activity but cyclists who go out dressed in black with no lights can have no complaints if car doesn’t see them and hits them,lights and reflectors cost very little if your cycling make yourself visible or get the hell out of my way

• Is that person cycling outside the cycle lane??

• yeah was reminded when I saw that pic of a stretch of road near Terenure where the road is narrow so the cycle lane is actually part of the (huge) footpath space yet I still regularly have to slow to a crawl because a cyclist is on the main road and there’s no room to go around them while they are less than a foot away from a nice wide (empty) cycle lane…

• jesus 29/10/12 #

You’ll notice the cyclist in the picture also has a left hand outstretched signalling they are moving away from the cycle lane.

In any case, cyclists are not compelled to cycle in the cycle lane. Often there are obstructions or the surface is seriously substandard and dangerous to cycle in. Cyclists have the same priority on the road as a motorist does. In fact, it would be better for cyclists to move out into the centre of the lane they are in – it makes them much more visible to other road users, and stops ignorant motorists from trying to squeeze past them when there is not enough space.

• What really gets me is people walking along the cycle lanes in the Phoenix Park with buggys and toddlers. Those lanes are clearly marked. How stupid and irresponsible are some people?

• I must be blind cause I cant see any arms or hands in that picture

• jesus 29/10/12 #

Well given that the arm is not visible on the left handlebar or anywhere around the torso, you can make the reasonable deduction that it is outstretched. EIther that or the cyclist is an amputee (which would probably have been caused by an inattentive driver).

• censored 29/10/12 #

Can you see the bike Aaron?

• While I acknowledge that there are many fine cyclists that obey the rules if the road,you neglect to mention in your piece the many cyclists who regularly flaunt the rules of the road by cycling down the wrong side of the road to escape traffic and NOT move for oncoming motorists. On my way to work I see many cyclists who are openly aggressive with drivers and have seen and experienced instances where a cyclist will bang a car or do damage to a car because they wouldn’t move. I think there needs to be more objectivity

• Yeah, if you make contact your car gets scratched. If we make contact we could be confined to a wheel chair for the remain days. It’s very real then drivers don’t check the inside mirror.

• at barry, i agree 100% have been knocked off the bike several times by drivers turning left and failing to check the mirror, and bus drivers pulling right in on top of me

• I wasn’t talking about making contact with cyclists. I was saying that some SOME cyclists openly break the law by cycling down the wrong side of the road n then hit as in punch or kick a car that doesn’t move even though the car has the right of way. Read the comment properly before criticising

• There are also a lot of drivers who are openly aggressive with cyclists. Personally (when driving on the left of the lane so not doing anything to annoy other road users), I’ve had things thrown out car windows at me as they overtake or I’ve had people in the passenger seat reach out and grab at my arm (kids with cars). I regularly have people overtake me leaving way too little room or even clipping me (it’s hard to say if this is ignorance of how much room they need to leave or actual aggression; I’ve heard it happening a lot from other cyclists as well though). I’ve also had drivers hit the back of my bike and push me forward a little when waiting for traffic lights (again hard to say if it is a genuine mistake or not).

The difference is when you are in your car, you are usually surrounded by a small group of other cars, so your sample size for motorists aggression or rule breaking is much smaller than mine. Whereas I’m moving at about the same speed as most other cyclists, so my sample size for cyclists aggression or rule breaking is also much smaller but I’m passed by tons of cars, so I’ve got a much larger sample size for motorists. Objectivity is needed from both sides.

• mattoid 29/10/12 #

@Revolting peasant
      You have a point if its a result of the car not fully overtaking prior to turning, but undertaking is illegal regardless of whether its a car or bike doing it, so whilst drivers should always check their mirrors before turning, an undertaking cyclist is performing a dangerous illegal manouevre and is just inviting trouble on him or herself.

• “undertaking” is not illegal. Read the rules of the road.

• mattoid 29/10/12 #

@Censored – maybe you should read the rules of the road.

Undertaking is illegal except in limited specified circumstances, ie:

1) You want to go straight ahead when the driver in front of you has moved out and signalled that they intend to turn right.
      2) You have signalled that you intend to turn left.
      3) Traffic in both lanes is moving slowly and traffic in the left-hand lane is moving more quickly than the traffic in the right-hand lane.

In any other situation (eg. bike undertaking a car on a single lane road) undertaking is illegal. Sorry to burst your bubble.

• censored 30/10/12 #

“3) Traffic in both lanes is moving slowly and traffic in the left-hand lane is moving more quickly than the traffic in the right-hand lane.”

If you have invented a bicycle that can somehow undertake a faster moving vehicle in the right hand lane, then I suggest you apply for the next Nobel prize for physics.

• mattoid 30/10/12 #

@Censored
      Now you’re starting to sound ridiculous.

This condition applies solely to multi-lane roads (motorways, dual carriageways etc.) when heavy or queued traffic is moving at different speeds.

Not exactly the same thing as a bicycle cutting through on the inside!

• @censored, in case you havny noticed, in the vast majority of cases cars are travelling faster than bicycles, these incidents have happened to me when a car has come from behind and turned on top of me, not where ive cycled into the side of the car, i.e. i have had my position on the road which the car entered without looking

• Interesting read. The bottom line is cyclists and motorists share roads that were (in urban areas) not designed to accommodate both cycle lanes and separate motor lanes. Consideration is important by both sides. I cycle in Dublin every day and have been hit by cars twice. I wear hi-vis gear, lights, helmet etc and consider myself a careful cyclist. Yet I’ve been told… “I didn’t see you”. The truth is that on many occasions drivers don’t use the correct turning/mirrors procedure because of laziness. If they did they wouldn’t have driven on top of me.

If I hit a car it might cause a minor dent. If a car hits me, somebody might be breaking some very sad news to my family. Please be aware of cyclists

• Nice to see both sides of the coin.

Of my limited road cycling experience around cork city, many of the cycle lanes are home to debris, stones glass etc and on my road bike, is a no go area (on a mountain bike I’d take my chances)

Anyone out in poor light without the proper reflective clothing and lights is asking for trouble(this goes for walkers too)

In brussels some one way streets allow bicycles against the flow of traffic, seems to work pretty well.

• jesus 29/10/12 #

The line “he came out of nowhere” or “I didn’t see him” is a disgrace any self-respecting road user should be ashamed to use. In the vast majority of motorcycle accidents, a car driver crosses a motorcyclists right of way.

Motorists need to stop just looking for other cars when they are crossing junctions, turning, etc and start also considering pedestrians, cyclists and motorcyclists, and be aware of inattentive blindness

• yes. but it’s the fact that there’re different rules of the road for different users that make it confusing.

• tom 29/10/12 #

the use of indicators is very important and being a past cyclists and motor cyclist I pay attention.

but I’ve notice when at a junction turning left with indicators on the hoards of cyclists that chose to ingore all the visible signs and undertake to continue going strait on. same with buses pulling into bus stop the continue to try undertake dispite bus indicators on and break lights showing.

• Tom, exact same thing has happened to me a few times, and I’ve been lucky not to knock the cyclist over.

I’ve learned to assume the cyclist will ignore my indicator and undertake even though I’ve been waiting to turn left at the junction before them.

Admittedly, I once forgot to look out for a cyclist going straight on when following traffic on a right turn (without a filter light) at night, no harm done as there was a decent gap between me and the next car, but I was the one in error there according to the rules of the road. I still feel the cyclist shouldn’t assume he can whiz down the road at night without a bother, it’s easy enough to make such an observational mistake following traffic, as wrong as it may be.

Ultimately I think both sides need to stop thinking its all just a matter of who’s right and who’s wrong, it’s also a matter of looking out for either side making a highly probable mistake. I wouldn’t feel much better if I ran over a cyclist but I wasn’t the one in error, better to be cautious and avoid an accident altogether.

It would be interesting if both drivers and cyclist received training on awareness of likely errors made by both sides.

• But sometimes when people say “I never saw him” or “he came out of nowhere” they actually do mean it, especially if they live in a place with not many cyclists. When drivers aren’t used to cyclists, cyclists may pass in front of their eyeballs but their brains won’t register them.The more cyclists there are on the road the more people will be used to them and the fewer accidents there’ll be.

• Don’t really like that attitude to the problem though Ian because it implies a few accidents will need to happen in the mean time. The saying “You cant make an omelette without breaking a few eggs” unfortunately comes to mind…

On my original note, it is good advice that as a driver you should not only avoid making mistakes but should also keep an eye on other drivers making mistakes as well, this advice adequately applies to the driver/cyclist (and pedestrian) relationships as well. Regardless of whether I’m correct or not, I’ll be trying to expect the unexpected from all users of the road.

• Always loads of Stephen Roche wannabes cycling side by side taking to each other on the road thinking they are too professional for the cycling lane …those idiots give a bad name to other responsible cyclists.

• I cycle to work everyday..from Dublin 8 to Dublin 1. I don’t run any red lights. There are two parties involved here..cyclists and motorists…both are to blame..I meet cyclists with headphones and cyclists with NO lights/dark clothing…motorists/taxis run red lights all the time…I think cameras NEED to be placed in the cities around the country..at every red light..make it law to wear a helmet..no listening to music…full fluorescent jacket..lights..and FINE FINE FINE those who break the law!

• everybody breaks the rules a bit – pedestrians not waiting for the green man or walking on cycle lanes, cabs, cars and buses speeding up when the light goes orange, everyone changing lanes and turning without indicating, cyclists acting like there are no rules at all half the time, even gardai driving and cycling while talking on mobiles. the only answer is to chill out and take care – assume that kid with the headphones will step off the pavement without looking, that at least three cars will go through the junction after the light turns red, that that cyclist is going to try to cycle straight through the crowd. after all you’ll be stuck at the next red or behind another tractor/bus etc. before you know it. the only real rule is don’t hurt anyone and don’t get hurt. why get so stressed? as an after thought, I heard that in Oxford or Cambridge (can’t remember which), local by-laws exempt cyclists from the rules of the road altogether, and it works very well apparently because other road users are not surprised when cyclists do something that cars etc can’t. is anybody familiar with this?

• I drive 60 klms a year throughout Ireland and its cities. I also like to cycle. I have no doubt that having a learner drivers cycle some part of the test route before passing a test would be a good idea.

• That’s why I sold my bike already after a few weeks. I am from the Netherlands and I consider Dublin is cyclist hell. And I must agree car drivers are not aware of cyclist’s at all. Dublin City Council make the road more bikesafety so people would take there bikes more and car drivers would get use to cyclist’s!!

• I passed my driving test recently too. There is nothing specific about looking for cyclists while driving, but they are very serious about checking blind
    spots before you move out or turn.

Which is what that girl didn’t do

• “The more there are on the road the fewer accidents and fatalities there are, so as the fair weather cyclists drop off the risk increases for the hardcore.”…. so it when cyclists becomes drivers that the risk happens, is it because they still think they can use bike lanes, break red lights, and ignore all that is happening around them ;)

Would have to agree most drivers don’t know how to treat cyclists is in the same ratio as most cyclists don’t know road equity.

• I cycle in London, a fairly cycling friendly city and have found over the last 4 years that as the number of cyclists have dramatically increased so too have the motorists become more aware and used to them, as a result it is a lot saver than it once was. I have also rain red lights since my first days I feel this is totally necessary as the operation of the lights was not designed with my safety in mind rendering it obsolete in my eyes. When lights change there is a frenzy for cars to get away, it is much safer for me and the motorists if Ive broken away and built up closer to the roads pace. Its always a calculated risk but I have never had an accident and never hit a pedestrian or even been close. I think angry motorists would benefit from cycling for a time and they will quickly come to this way of thinking.

• In Cork city they need to introduce a law requiring all cyclists to stop at red lights ..

• Cyclists will not obey the rules of the road until they can be issues with an on the spot fine – currently summoning a cycling offender to court is the only option for law enforcers – steamroller to crack a nut !!

• As a pedestrian, cyclists drive me nuts, few seem to understand traffic lights.

• RonA 29/10/12 #

I had a close encounter with a cyclist a few years back, making a right turn after a bus passed a cyclist with a little led on the front of his bike appeared out from behind the bus. I stopped dead and he was going so fast he breaker and skidded at an angle into the side of my car. Garda confirmed it was not my fault but the cyclist still claimed of my insurance and got €70k. Ever since then I avoid cyclists because some of them have a suicide wish waiving all over the place without looking. I am all for cycling I have a nice bike myself with I like to take out as often as I can, but I Turley believe until cyclists have to register their bike and display a registration plate and pay some level of at leat 3rd party insurance, along with liability for where they break the rules of the road they will take no responsibility for their actions. How many cyclists do you see at this time of year with no lights on their bikes cycling up the wrong side of the road…

Note I do acknowledge also that this is not all cyclists, there are lots of cyclists and motor cyclists who are law abiding road users and deserve motorists to pay attention.

• Ron – do you reckon that the registration plate system works well in ensuring that drivers take responsibility for their actions? Given the amount of drivers that I see breaking red lights, failing to use indicators, and phoning/texting/surfing while driving, I’d have to suggest that it is a fairly useless system for enforcing road traffic law.

• While you make an interesting point Shane proportionately more cyclists break the rules, while proportionately more drivers obey them, so when you look at from that context it may very well make a difference.

• You’re seeing what you want to see, Darren, and not seeing what you don’t want to see. Almost every single driver breaks speed limits in urban settings. And that’s before we even think about those not indicating, not observing, using their phones etc. Many road users ignore road traffic law.

But this ‘mandatory registration’ idea is a red herring. It would build a layer of bureaucracy with no benefit. It will discourage cycling, and increase traffic jams, obesity, diabetes. It’s a foolish proposal.

• Nope Shane I’m purely a pedestrian and have to deal with drivers, cyclists, and other pedestrians on a daily basis (actually I’m all for jay-walking fines, it’s a miracle nobody has been gotten themselves killed at the crossing between Westmoreland street and the O’Connell street bridge with their stupidity). While I do see driver’s breaking rules,using phones failing to indicate, I see more rule breaking on the part of cyclist. Running red lights especially at pedestrian crossings is the most common offence I observe. I’ve been injured twice by cyclists, once I got badly bruised when one clipped my side with the bullhorn on his bike at speed while he was cycling on the footpath, and last year I was knocked over ass at college green when one ran the pedestrian light.

• I’ve no time for cyclists who endanger others by cycling along footpaths or break red lights. I’ve take certain actions to make things difficult for such cyclists in the past. But let’s get real – almost every motorist breaks the 50 kmph speed limit every day. Cyclists don’t have a monopoly on law breaking.

But we need to look at what problem we’re trying to solve. You could count on one hand the number of serious injuries caused by cyclists. In most cases, a cyclist who breaks the law is putting themselves at risk, and no-one else. By contrast, cars and trucks kill and injure thousands of pedestrians, cyclists and car drivers and passengers each year. If you want to improve road safety, start at the root cause.

• Cycle lanes should be part of the footpath infrastructure not the road infrastructure. Cyclists are vulnerable like pedestrians. The risks to a pedestrian sharing an infrastructure are much much less than cyclist sharing the road infrastructure. I live in Munuch and that’s how it’s structured and it makes cycling a pleasure and safer for everyone concerned. It also means cyclists are largely unaffected by traffic lights.

• Am I correct that cyclists may ride two abreast unless that are causing an obstruction or forcing other road users to break the law in order to overtake

• A “mid-range rule breaker” perhaps sounds good in theory. However, if the guards catch you, the result is a court order and about €75 penalty (depends of the judge’s mood at the day).
    Anyhow, there are so many law breakers around, Some of them appear there:
    http://dublincyclists.blogspot.ie/

• Speaking as a Cyclist, and one that commutes to work using a variety of roads (Country Lanes, the Phoenix Park, & City Streets) I have to say that I find motorist’s in this city to be great. The Cycle lanes can be a pain due to design, but so can the roads that everybody else uses!
    To say that I’m sick and tired of this whole Motorist Vs Cyclist ‘war’ is an understatement!
    I cycle 8 miles to work, and 8 miles home. I don’t wear a Helmet (I don’t believe the protection they provide adequate to justify them) nor do I dress myself in Lycra & 3M, I use Hand-signals, stop at all red lights, use a full set of lights and a bell & I believe myself to be a very competent road user.
    I’ve never felt in danger to be honest, and any issues that I’ve ever had have been with a couple of Taxi Drivers, and predominantly with Cyclist’s who seem to believe they’re in the Tour De France with all the Lycra ect. ect…

• You really should wear a helmet! My husband was knocked off his bike by a lorry driver. He hit his head off the kerb. The helmet was smashed and the doc in the hospital reckoned it saved his life!

• Completely agree with you Gerri – shocking how many people don’t wear helmets! Obviously a helmet won’t save you in all situations, similarly a seat belt in a car won’t either but that doesn’t mean you shouldn’t wear one and it annoys me when cyclists say helmets are useless – ask and real doctor in a real A&E department. I’d feel so vulnerable without mine – I knew a 7 year old boy I went to school with when I was younger who fell off his bike without his helmet on – he fell awkwardly and hit his head off the kerb and died – in that case there was a strong chance the helmet would have saved his life – that stayed with me forever! A helmet is to a bike what a seatbelt is to a car – if it increases my chance of survival even by a few % then that’s enough for me thanks!

• Firstly I would like to say that I always try to keep an eye out for and give due respect to all road users and pedestrians alike. I would take issue with the column pointing out that he thinks its ok to run a red light when there’s nobody within ‘a two mile radius’. I don’t care how clear a junction is, if its a red light you stop. Motorists cannot legally decide to run red lights when there’s nobody around and no other road users can either. If you want to cross the junction, get off your bike and walk across as a pedestrian,otherwise wait for green.

• Seriously, get some perspective on this. Running the odd red light on a bike is fine. In sensible countries cars can even turn left on red lights. Also, what the hell is the difference between rolling through an empty junction on a bike and getting off and pushing it. If motorists are so offended/jealous by cyclists breaking lights then they should get bikes themselves. Anyway, as far as I can see motorists are no angels either.
      I’m a cyclist and a motorist and as far as I can see there’s plenty of room for everyone once a bit of respect is shown by both parties. Also, if our nanny state government start making new laws for cyclists all that will do is put more cyclists back in cars and clog up the roads even more and nobody wants that. Live and let live. There’s no need for all the animosity.

• tom 29/10/12 #

the bottom line is a cyclist just walks into a shop buys a bike and off they go. no training no requirement to even know the rules of the road, soon following the heard of other cyclists many with poor attitude towards other road users. the Garda don’t inforse the law on cyclist and many take this opportunity as the go ahead to abuse the rules of the road that are there to insure everyone’s safty.

until cyclists are required to know the rules of the roads and can be held accountable for their action nothing will change. A license and reg plate is only way this can work same as every other vehicel on the road.

• I agree with you but I find the cyclists with all the gear to be the most frustrating. It’s a rare sight to see one in a bike lane, they should be heavily fined if they don’t use it. Cars should also be fined for parking on them!

• Yes, because bicycles weigh several tons and are capable of travelling at very high speeds, causing serious danger to all around them. Sure nearly half a million people were killed by cyclists in Ireland in the last year alone!

• js1711 29/10/12 #

Tom. A pedestrian doesn’t need to know the rules of the road to misuse the road either. As a driver and cyclist pedestrians can be equally dangerous with jay walking and stepping off the edge of paths to overtake other pedestrians without looking behind for cyclists. Awareness for everyone is required. It’s a generalisation to say its one group or the other. Individuals are at fault.

• As I cyclist I want to say ladies; when you are turning left at a junction, please allow room for cyclists to pass on the inside instead of hugging the kerb..,

And you know those yellow boxes. Yes your not allowed stop in them

• i must admit as a motorist cyclists breaking the rules of the road does set my rage metre to 100 but its funny him talking about cyclist and driving tests when i did my test i failed because i over took a cyclist. he was cycling at a relaxed 15 kph and i was trying to maintain that speed without cutting out but when there was no one coming the opposite side on this narrow road i over took the cyclist got to the end of the road and was ordered back to the test centre to be told i had failed because there was a solid white line but i was also about to be failed on progression because i was holding traffic up. he basically told me i was to drive past the cyclist without crossing the line on this narrow road and told him that would have ment me hitting the cyclist and he said thats the rules of the road

• I have to say, i can’t believe a driver would be responsible if involved in a crash with a cyclist on a country road. This is what i have read. If a motorist is within the speed limit, and he/her hits a cyclist when going around a sharp bend, in the same direction then surely the cyclist must be responsible. I also think cyclists should need tax and insurance. I’d be more worried about the condition of my car than that of the cyclist to be honest if the above kind of accident happened.
    I’ve had many bad experiences with cyclists, cycling 3 and 4 abreast, with big lines of traffic behind them, with not a care in the world, and to be honest when i see a cyclist on the road now it just makes me angry because they are in the way.,

• Everyone who uses the road should pay road tax. This should be ringfenced for road maintenance and creation of safe cycling thoroughfares.

• cyclists should pay more ,they have plenty of money to splash out on epo and other drugs,that lance Armstrong’s loaded,let him pay for the cycle lanes!!

• Rubbish! Cyclists cause no damage or pollution! Road tax should be put on petrol as it is on the continent! Polluter pays! Cycling in France is far safer than here as motorists know how to drive with courtesy! All car drivers should have to cycle for a few months before they get a driving licence.

• I’m amazed by some of the tv campaigns that are on for motorists to be “aware of cyclists” while many cyclists aren’t aware of the rules of the road. I.e going through red lights! I cycle a lot & some of the abuse you get from cyclists for obeying rules of the road. They should have to do some sort of theory test because a lot seem to think it doesn’t apply to them.

• Im a half an half cyclist and driver altho i see your point that you see alot of rule breaking on a bike jus like you do in a car but a theory test wouldnt be the answer so the person goin to work everyday would need to do a test and te person who cycles tp his local shop has to pass it sure childeren would have to be tested aswell as rhey mainly use bikes .. Its un manageable

• Im a half an half cyclist and driver altho i see your point that you see alot of rule breaking on a bike jus like you do in a car but a theory test wouldnt be the answer so the person goin to work everyday would need to do a test and the person who cycles to his local shop has to pass it sure childeren would have to be tested aswell as they mainly use bikes .. Its un manageable

Add New Comment