TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Eamon Gilmore: Labour has brought Ireland from chaos to stability in two years

Labour has had to make some tough choices in government but, as a result, Ireland can be more confident about its future, writes Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore.

Eamon Gilmore TD

TWO YEARS AGO this month, this Government promised stability to a country in economic free fall. When we took office the country was in a state of chaos. We had lost our economic sovereignty. No private sector investors were prepared to lend money to the State. The banking system was broken and rudderless. There was a profound sense of crisis.

In March 2011 there was only five months worth of funding left to pay wages, to keep hospitals and schools open, to pay pensions and social welfare. Excluded from the international markets, our only other source of money was the bailout loan from the EU and the IMF. That deal came with onerous conditions – and it came at a high price – but in March of 2011, that was the choice we faced.

The banking system was on life support. Lack of credit was threatening to kill off the real economy. A quarter of a million jobs had been lost in the private sector in the preceding three years. Ireland’s reputation as a place to invest, and a place to do business, was deeply damaged in every international boardroom and in every capital.

That is the mess we inherited from Fianna Fáil.

The road to economic recovery

Two years on, we are much further down the road towards recovery and stability than we might have expected. Economically, the promissory notes and Anglo Irish Bank are gone. We have sold Irish Life and we have recovered €1 billion of the money invested by the State in Bank of Ireland. We are currently working on a deal on the extension of our bailout repayments.

There are modest signs of recovery in the domestic economy and the latest jobs figures from the CSO are encouraging.

For the Labour Party, our Ministers are delivering: Joan Burton has retained core welfare payments and has embarked on major reforms of the welfare system, Ruairi Quinn is driving an agenda of reform to school patronage, Brendan Howlin is delivering on a far-reaching agenda of public service reform, and Pat Rabbitte has published the first Affordable Energy Strategy and last week announced the establishment of an Energy Efficiency Fund.

Social reform

After 20 years of inaction, were going to legislate for the X case. We are putting marriage equality to the Constitutional Convention. We passed the Children’s Rights referendum and are moving ahead on a programme to deal with the root causes of child poverty.

No one is claiming that it has been easy. And no one is claiming victory. But we can be confident in what has been achieved so far. And, because of those achievements because of the steadfast courage of the Irish people in the face of unprecedented adversity we can also be confident about our future.

There is still a huge amount of work to do, and some key issues remain outstanding. Central to that is the challenge of getting people back to work, and helping create jobs for people to come home to. For that reason we are continuing to implement job creation schemes and ensuring that those who have lost their jobs have the skills to return to employment.

Real achievement

It also means seeing the personal insolvency reforms deliver relief, this year, for people with distressed mortgages.

We have also had to take some tough decisions and we do not underestimate the daily impact they have had on people’s lives. We haven’t fixed everything and there is still work to do. But I am confident that when we go to the people at the next General Election we will be in a position to say that our record will be one of real achievement and that we have the vision to shape the new post-crisis Ireland.

Eamon Gilmore is leader of the Labour Party, Tánaiste and Minister for Foreign Affairs & Trade.

Read next:

Comments (167 Comments)

• Sean O’Rourke: “You kept it really simple – protect Child Benefit, vote Labour!”

Pat Rabbitte: “Yeah well…I mean…isn’t that what you tend to do during an election?”

• So true Jason but the sad thing is that they dismiss their blatent lies offhand and actually try to justify them.
      It just goes to show exactly how low these pigs will go in order to get to the trough alongside kenny and his band of paracites.

• That’s it, give yourself a big pat on the back. I for one will not forget the lies you spun in the last election!

• I wonder are you reading the replies Mr Gilmore?
    My family is one of the “lucky ones” my husband and I both work. In the two years you are in power, our taxes have increased, our child benefit has been cut, our household bills have risen substantially. My husband misses our kids birthdays and school plays because he has to work away regularly. I sit at my kitchen table trying to budget and work out what I can cut so our heat isn’t cut off. I could increase the hours I work but with no tax incentive for childcare it would cost me more to work more. My 5 year old is two years waiting for a hospital appointment and my 6 year old a year waiting on an OT appointment while you keep sending our taxes to the banks.
    You are completely deluded Mr Gilmore and have no idea of the realities so many families are living. Keep patting yourself on the back though

• I think me shaw is mr gilmores spin doctor? He’s trying exceptionally hard to justify the governments failings!!

• What did you think was going to happen? You thought the good times were coming, did you? You thought after the debacle that was the last Government and the crushing debt they left behind FG & Labour were going to produce a magic wand and everything would be rosey in the garden? You were deluded, so. All those hardships you mentioned are we the people paying for the mistakes of the Celtic Tiger years. They were inevitable. And you live in the clouds if you think they could have been avoided. What you fail to factor in is that it could have been a whole lot worse.

• When Alex White stood on my Door step and told me a vote for Labour was a vote for protecting child benefit, I believed him.

• @Kevin,
      You are wasting your time trying to get people to see sense.
      Its a more comfortable place to sit and sulk and blame the government for everything.
      Its like attacking the fire brigade and blaming them when they come to put the fire out in your house.
      But some people just refuse to see that, and they never offer alternatives to what the Government are doing.

I am not happy with the situation and I am being fleeced with extra taxes etc, but I understand why its necessary.

• Wait till they tax your maternity leave.

• @ Clothes Horse.

Look on the bright side. The last 2 years have not been completely wasted.
      ‘When Alex White stood on my Door step and told me a vote for Labour was a vote for protecting child benefit, I believed him’
      At least you learned something

• Well wasn’t it there fault .. Any decent government with balls like Iceland would have stood for the irish people not bow to a troika after promising not one more red cent was going to bind holders . We,ll protect children’s allowances . They’ve ignored the fact our oil and gas finds could bring trillions into the irish economy + massive employment . Yeah the irish would rather moan . Wait till we raise and stop all this nonsense . Accountability is needed .

• Well then your pretty foolish.

• None of us would mind paying extra taxes IF the money was going to KEPT IN THE COUNTRY .The problem is that the money is paying corruption and not every one is paying their fair share either… I will not register or pay this odious tax.

• Its like attacking the fire brigade and blaming them when they come to put the fire out in your house.

At least the firebrigade dont throw petrol on your burning house Jame Connolly founded labour party do!!

• Economically, maybe, in the eyes of the financial markets but not socially. I live in a society, first and foremost, not in an economy and all I can see around me is instability.

• Stability? The only thing stable is the number of businesses shutting down and numbers of young people emigrating.

• Feel free to direct your ire at Fianna Fáil, not the Government trying to fix what they done. Ridiculous the short memories of some people.

• Yeah but they created two jobs over
      5 yrs yesterday…. That’ll solve it!

Self praise is no praise….

• And what where they doing in opposition for all them years,just go back and look at their manifestos for all the budgets and you will see they actually wanted to spend more and lower the tax rates further,they where just as happy sitting there on their arses saying nothing while their wages went thru the roof along with pensions etc,they don’t touch anyone’s pensions because they know they will be getting there’s very soon.

• Labour have followed the exact same path that was laid out by the IMF for FF! They have done absolutely nothing different! SAME SH1TE, DIFFERENT NAPPY!

• I don’t have a desperate short memory Kevin.
      I remember well the blatent lies and deciept and the “difficult decisions” gilmore and the other liars made..

• Eamon Gilmore is a proven lier. The most dishonest labour man ever to hold junior coalition.

You really need a dose of reality eamo, public sentiment is the polar opposite of the lies you tell.

“Isn’t that what does in an election”

Lier, sellout.

• Well 3 joe Costellos wife and both his sister in laws is widely reported. And blood transfusion board members?

• And property speculator in a small way.

• I notice these politicians talk about Ireland never the people,They might save Ireland on paper but the Irish people are being decimated in the process.

• Kevin, it was THIS government that seriously destabilised millions of families lives at this stage in order to balance their books!
      Most of these families had their own budgets sensibly balanced until the government put us into a weekly/monthly deficit to pay off debt that is not ours..

• So so true… Any party that wanted to blow the myth on which the Celtic tiger stood in 2007 had no chance of getting a vote, let alone influence government policy… Including the mighty Shinners

• Your deluded. If they didn’t think they could do better than the ” crowd before them” they shouldn’t have bothered putting their names forward. Keep using that old gem and the country will never prosper again. If you applied for a job in a failing business to try and bring it around and then kept blaming your predecessor , how long do you think you’d stay in the job. Get your head out of the sand and be realistic

• Kevin Shaw
      Are you for REAL ?
      This government its’ Ministers and back benchers LIED to get where they are . They have NO moral standing ,yet they continue to push austerity AKA Poverty on us. The country is suffering . Look at the protests.

• Really, Gilmore reminds me of the spokesman for the pigs in “Animal Farm” where the reports given by him to the other animals were of increased harvests, increased wealth, etc, while those animals did all the work and starved while the pigs lived in luxury.
      “Animal Farm” should be required reading for everyone in this country!

• Redux ulama of some people to see what is front of them

• Fix the other showers problems by implementing the same policies and expecting to grow while cutting and taxing are you for real.they are two years in watch them go the same way as the greens and pds.How many labour tds out side the whip they really hung old shorthall out at least thats pne labour seat. D D I all the way real change

• Not so sure that many people will share your sense of achievement, classic spin…

• You know something I noticed this morning?

The sun rose in the west.

A pig flew by my window.

Oh, and I believe black is white.

• rory well said when i hear gilmore speak i think of comical Ali.

• More like chemical Ali! Blowing up the whole country with their austerity!

• They really, really are deluded. No two ways about it.

• Senator Fidelma Healy Eames gets another free holiday at the taxpayers expense.

Fine Gael members of the Oireachtas who are opposed to the government’s plan to legislate for abortion are flying to America on a “fact-finding mission” paid for by a shadowy pro-life group and the taxpayer.

They will be fundraising for the Life Institute and Youth Defence while in America.

( Sunday Times front page news story, Sunday 3rd March).

http://www.thesundaytimes.co.uk/sto/news/ireland/article1224422.ece

Senators Fidelma Healy Eames and Paul Bradford have confirmed they will be on the trip organised by Family & Life to coincide with St Patrick’s Day. Yet another free holiday for Senator Fidelma Healy Eames who seems to believe that the sole function of Government is to provide free trips for her and her family.

Terence Flanagan, a backbench TD, is also scheduled to go but did not return calls seeking comment last week.
      Paschal Mooney, a Fianna Fail senator, has been invited but has not decided yet whether he will go.

Healy Eames revealed Family & Life will pay for the trip to New York and Washington, which she said was “a search for truth”.
      Family & Life are another Capel Street/Nic Mhathúna oufit ( Youth Defence / Life Institute).

• You and your lying party are finished

• I live in a middle class estate in Wicklow. Some labour activists delivered party leaflets last Saturday. They were practically run out of the place. Labour have openly and shamelessly lied to the electorate. They will be destroyed in the next election. I personally will never vote again. No one represents my interests

• I live in Lucan labour guys post stuff through my letterbox and ran cowards.
      But all political party’s do the same afraid to talk to people on their door
      Steps prefer to canvass in shopping centres surrounded by party members .

• Such self congratulation turns my stomach. Where was labour when the household charge and property taxes were introduced? Where was labour when rafts of new crippling taxes were introduced? The vulnerable and the poor are much worse off than they ever were, but I suppose when you have constant access to smoked Salmon Pâté these things become trivial. I’ll never vote labour again.

• Is Gilmore on drugs, they are destroying the country and the people within it. I see on the news this morning they are now going to tax maternity benefit , its more of the same from them cuts and taxes. They have no shame.

• Just dropped my best mate to the airport this morning because he’s leaving for good to find work abroad. I think that’s enough said

• It is a shocking state of affairs with everybody leaving. I was trying to sort out a school reuinion for my class of 2005. Of the 87 people in the year, only 19 are still in Ireland.

• Loved the way that there was a press conference. The question is, was it to celebrate being in government for 2 yrs or that they lasted to qualify for their huge pensions : (

• Gilmore the comedian. Hope somebody is getting a laugh out of this.

• More self indulgent bull from the future ex Labour leader.

• Looking forward to never voting for Lab ever again.Pat Rabbitte justifying lies on the “Week in Politics”saying “thats what you tend to do during elections”.That finished Labour forever as far as i’m concerned.

• Cop on to yourself you buffoon. Award your wife a top job without it being advertised,pay top price for your land from public funds and in the meantime those without have even less. Self praise is great. Will never ever vote Labour again or should I say Shadow Kenny Party. Clown

• Oh dear God! You blatantly lied to the electorate before the last election. When negotiating with the Troika you have 4 aces in your hand – the EU WOULD NOT let the Euro fail so you could have asked for anything you wanted! You make it sound like you’ve eliminated the promissory notes, but all you did was convert them from something quasi-legal which we could have negotiated with, so solid sovereign debt – which we cant
    And the hardship hasn’t hardly started yet. What about when the property tax, water charges, etc hit? What about the impending mortgage default collapse?
    It would be laughable if you weren’t in the government.

• Gilmore you are a complete and utter turncoat – How you must be mocked by real labour and socialist leaders in other countries.

• Let’s see Ireland currently has a 14.1% unemployment rate down about 0.1% in two years. (Gilmore will claim that)

People still struggling with unsustainable mortgages, relationships splitting up due to financial pressure and a spiking suicide rate.

The Health system is still in tatters.
    Banks still generally not lending.
    Burglaries increasing by a massive amount.

Cuts to Garda Stations and other services. More Violent crimes occurring and people having to emigrate for careers in there field. It doesn’t seem stable to me! What does anyone else think?

But it’s ok according to Happy Gilmore!

• I take it by “stability” he means mass unemployment, mass emigration, a Jobs Bridge scheme used to force people to work for pennies and keep the unemployment figures low, people freezing to death in their own homes, 400,000 homes in mortgage arrears, 60% of all electricity and gas customers in arrears, a failing health service, the Gardai on the verge of going on strike and our natural resources being sold for pennies – including our oil, gas, fisheries and forests.

Then you can add in cutting child benefit and anything else they can find to cut except their own fat salaries.

Mr Gilmore should reduce his salary to €25,000 per year and try living on it and then come back and tell us all about the f’ing “recovery miracle” they think they’ve created.

This in addition to their proposed property tax and now a proposal from the ill-educated buffoons in Government to force people to post comments via social networks.

The reality is that FG/Labour took a country that was on its knees and proceeded it to kick it in the face and the back of the head while it’s on the ground.

Im summary this:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yAS0c5AkiNg

and this:
    http://www.thejournal.ie/poll-are-you-happy-with-what-government-has-achieved-so-far-822235-Mar2013/

• We are still in chaos, largely because of you.

• What a sad joke never gona vote labour again utter betrayal

• Some achievement, our best and brightest leaving in their droves, domestic economy in the toilet. A people crippled by taxes (and more to come) Howlin “no more to come” does this sound familiar. Yes Eamon you have achieved a lot…..Delusions of grandeur.

• 1 labours way of frankfurts way. A lie
    2 abolish upward only rents. A lie
    3 ban corporate donations. A lie
    4 every little hurts slogan. A lie
    5 no household charge. A lie

Lies, lies, lies while feather bedding continues.

• What does he want, a big medal. History will record him as the labour lead that cripped the very people that but him in power with his household charges water taxes ect.

• Gilmore is clearly living in a different Ireland than the rest of us ……..

• Labour are truly toast. Labour is bringing about Croke Park II as it is part of the government. I mean, a left party is bringing about sweeping pay cuts for the second time on a few years?
    All the lefties will probably swing to SF next election.

• DOO 07/03/13 #

*cough…splutter… Jaysus, nearly choked on me breakfast reading this sh1te. too much on Labour this morning,can only handle in small doses. Great piece Eamo, you have parted Irelands grey sky. Thank you tanaiste.

• Gilmore,Burton and. Rabbitte.You have destroyed any trust I ever had in politics.Thanks. Labours way me arse

• Can’t seem to recall either Labour or FG shouting stop during the Celtic tiger , I think they sat back and soaked up the largesse of the taxpayer funded pay rises.

• well i think we all know what way Bert left us in. now for this gang most people knew that things are very bad hence the big change we all voted for real change. savings at the top and all that. the vote on the senate all the other stuff we have got none of this. he wood lose the same in child benefit as some body with no work, well tell me where is the fairness in that.

• Yeah all my family/friends have either moved away or are planning to move, the rest of us here are bled dry and will continue to suffer more financial pain, but Ireland’s stable. Good joke Gilmore. I suppose when you keep saying lies and spin over and over in your mind you actually start to believe yourself. I think there’s a name for this type of delusion.

• In my opinion Mr Gilmore you should pull the rip cord ,and land on planet earth,you must be in a dream world,when you do land stop waffeling on.

• Self praise is no praise at all.

• Gilmore says we got rid of the promissory note instead of saying that it was replaced by a protracted onerous instrument that will be a noose around the Irish people’s neck for decades. It was a private debt that was owed by a private entity and should never have been paid in the first place. The mantra of burning the bond holders seems to have quietly disappeared! His speech is spin doctoring at its best!!

• Pat Rabbitt must be having another good laugh this week just like last week over the Lowery affair ,they would make you sick

• ”We haven’t fixed everything & there’s still work to do” – now who is it that used to say similar cliched shit like that? Hmmmm!! Before you know it Mr Gilmore your time in politics will be over but your legacy sadly will continue to hurt the ordinary people of Ireland long after your gone. Your a 3rd rate spin doctor & nothing more than that. If you were an ice cream you’d lick yourself ( would be sh*t ice cream though)!

• what planet are they on???

• Is this the truth now ,really the truth ,I mean you did make statement,s before that were not totally reliable .
    To be honest I can’t see it and to be more honest I don’t think you do either ,we hear waffle about
    120 job,s hear and there and next day hundred,s gone because of closure,s
    You can’t eat hope and that,s what a lot of people are down to

• jrbmc 07/03/13 #

Do these Fookin Donkeys think that they would have got in to government if FF hadn’t drop the ball ? That fact that there was no other choice is the only reason their in and we’re still in a sorry state . If there was an election tomorrow they’ed be out and the next ‘ no other choice ‘ government would be in , don’t expect things to change for the next 10-15 years

• Spin nothing more it should read from chaos to mayhem in two years

• Steviej 07/03/13 #

The goverment didn’t do anything in their promised “100 days” and even in 2 years the country is still a mess. They need to stop paying unprotected bond holders and start worrying about the Irish people instead of Brussels. This country is a joke and will be until the people stand up to the goverment

• In cloud cuckoo land as usual mr gilmore, do you really believe this guff yourself????

• Save it – you’re a disgrace.

• What a horrible man and utter bullll

• Barty 07/03/13 #

The country is going from civility to anarchy and this bloody grab all in 5 years government because we won’t get reelected is the cause. Time for blaming FF is long over if they can introduce legislation to pick the average joes pockets surely they can do the same for ex ministers, bankers, to relive them of a hefty percentage of the massive pensions they are on at our expense.

• Barty- the time for blaming FF is over, is it? They did 50 years worth of financial damage but after two years you have decreed this Government should have it all sorted? Wake up.

• Kevin, this is how deluded you are, FF weren’t in power for 50 years before Fg/labour were elected. Admittedly they, sorry- we -,put some corrupt and inept politicians in place during the 90s and early 00s with Ff. But,before that ur buddies in labour were in a coalition again that had people leaving this country in their hundreds of thousands for England and the USA. Also, I’m open to correction on this, but were labour not also involved in the hole tax the children’s shoes debacle. Was Gilmore and rabbitte, Noonan and Kenny all involved in government then. Child benefit cuts? Taxing children’s shoes in disguise. Now Kevin who has the short memory?

• Ryan'O 07/03/13 #

Ehh Kevin have you forgot they converted ILLEGAL prommisery notes into sovereign debt???…….

This will take a further 50 to pay….

The same if you ask me.

• TheJournal? Shame on you guys for giving this lying leech another platform to spread his deceitfulness. Labour propaganda! We produce some of the worlds finest writers and poets, sporting icons and musicians but have the worlds worst politicians. What a great shame!

• If it weren’t so serious, I’d tell you not to make me laugh and it’s too late for that. But the policies you’re implementing, are FF’s and not yours. You told bare faced lies to get elected, you’ll pay for it and expect a wipeout!

• Brian Lenihan, 13th April 2010: “It means that we are stabilising as an economy and it also means we are turning the corner, and there will be increased numbers of jobs created,” he said. “At least we’re on an upward trajectory”

• And what do you say about the property tax?
    What do you say about the cuts on garda? You already closed a lot of stations, you just needed to cut also salaries!
    What do you say about cutting salaries to nurses? Nurses!!!
    Shouldn’t you protect the working class??

• There are a few posters in here commending gilmore and his ilk. A message to them posters – YOU ARE SPINLESS, post under your real names……………….?

• You can’t call it the Labour Party, if it doesn’t work.

• I genuinely let out a loud chuckle when I saw the article title on twitter. What a joke.

• So Gilmore admits he is responsible for us paying the banks’ debts, which have crippled this country, over a longer period. And this is meant to be some sort of achievement. I give up.

• Typically delusional Labour. They have destroyed this country. Just Fine Gael lackeys. They are what the Greens were to Fianna Fail and come next election will deservedly come to a similar end.

• LMFAO !. He must be thinking of Iceland .

• So glad. NOT.

• Is Gilmore for real?????

• Hahahahahahahaha Just have to laugh at it at this stage.

• you’re one ignoramus of a man Eamonn and you can tell yourself any amount of lies that you like but the people will see ye all removed from your cushy jobs by the end of the year!!

• Gilmore you arw an idiot things are no better you fool.

• The more people that emigrate-the better,in this governments books-less welfare to spend!!…but as usual,their deluded…I went to the uk in the 80s-I’m not emigrating again-I’m staying to
    Piss this lot off!!!….

• They want the Troika to go after all the hard yards are made! How frightening is that! The really big promise of reform of government and public services hasn’t happened. Cuts and no reforms and savings with the bureaucracy. Demarcation and bad work practices abound.

• Did I miss something ?

• They said they were going to take a stand against the EU Bank (Merkle, and Sarkosy). Just like my pug, as soon as they got there, they laid on their backs and looked for a tummy tickle. My only worry is, when the next election comes, what will we replace them with????? That is the next crisis for the Irish people.

• Can I just ask, what has changed??? The banks are falling apart and gouging customers in an attempt to stay afloat. They STILL aren’t lending, so no credit. People leaving the country in droves to find work, so there are no jobs, and we’re an international joke as the good little toadies of Europe. What has changed? Perhaps they judge sucess by securing funding from europe to pay their huge wages and outlandish pensions? Or maybe it’s the gold stars on the IMF balance sheet that means they are sucessful? If I wasn’t trapped here caring for my parents, both in their 80′s because there is no funding for healthcare left here. I’d be out of this country like a shot and will be when they’re gone. Not only to find a job but because it sickens me to see what has become of this country at the hands of our Goverment. It’s simply not a place I want to live anymore sitting and waiting for the next turn of the screw when they need a little extra cash.

• i think u r living in cuckoo land

• Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha…. gulp…. ahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha. Seriously though, the smug sleeveen has secured one of those ridiculous pensions……… He doesn’t give a fiddlers for any of you. Now let me continue… ahahahahahahahaha.

• Absolutely amazing. This person lives in a different universe. Nearly as bad a Coughlan yesterday.

• I think the wider issue here is the role of the left in this country. We could go marxist with Sinn Fein, but they’re likely to belly-up and do what Labour are doing once they get hold of power. Then we have the perceived lunatic fringe of Richie Boyd Barrett; a champagne socialist, Ming, Clare Daly, Mick Wallis across the ideaolgical spectrum right out to Shane Ross. We don’t have history of socialism as the catholic church & state crushed it in it’s infancy at the foundation of the nation. For example, Irishmen who fought for the International brigades in Spain in the 1930’s were interned on their return, while Irishmen who fought for Franco were recruited as gardai. We should consider a southern far-left alternative without the Northern Incendiary element. But how we do it without some grubby opportunist lining his pockets like FF & FG are doing is the problem.

• Good man Napoleon Gilmore! Go and have a glass of wine with ya & have a cakkle with your comrades over cuts to the vulnerable! Labour to be renamed the Liar Party! Not to be outdone, FG are on par with ya too

• Haaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha!!!!!!!!!
    Steady on there, Eamo; you’re jumping the gun a bit for April 1st.

• Labour’s way, or Frankfurt’s way? Must be Frankfurt’s way, so.

Good little pixiehead, Eamon. You keep telling yourself that what’s going on today is “stability”. It’s easy to be stable when you’re creaming off €300k a year, yet expecting others to work for a tenth of that.

I’m ashamed I voted for Labour in the last election. It’s a mistake I won’t be making again.

• Read the headline:-”Labour has brought Ireland from chaos to stability in two years! “- that’s the headline from Eamonn Gilmore. Gilmore and his government have crucified the middle class with extra taxes many unjust to pay the big salaries of TD,s and their big unfunded pension schemes. The developers,bankers and retired TD,s who caused the collapse of the economy are being paid big salaries from NAMA -bankers and TDs on big pensions. Strange behaviour from Labour who claimed he has saved Ireland!!! Who is now paying the bills- we are!!!

• At what cost, there’s little stability in the unions

• ha ha ha,, funniest thing i have heard in long time,, his a real twit,, oops sorry is that bullying ,, stability is bank telling you they are selling your home,, while you ration yourself to 2 slices of bread a day,, trying to keep a roof over ones head,, stability is thinking where does one go and try to keep it from your kid so they can do their leaving, there is no stability in ireland,, just leeches lining their pockets,, making sure there is enough money to pay their pensions,,, and germany will pat their backs,, ass holes

• I want some of whatever he’s smoking!! it must be powerful stuff.

• You would expect spin from kenny no doubt penned by one of his overpaid advisors but from the supposedly proctecter of the working class is hard to stomach considering what his doing to this country with more to come, but while he loves to harras fianna fail over past failings, the people will do to him what they done to cowen no doubt

• The electorate don’t forget and you’ll be got in the long grass.

• You should all read animal farm again and compare it to this government. I’m helping my son with a project for school and this is the book he’s reading. Sounds very familiar. This government are traitors to its land and it’s people. The pigs have taken over the farm.

• You sir are a member of the SITH,

• Some Clown that lad.

• Everytime I see a picture of him his mouth is stuck in that position, what’s that all about???

• Is this fool living in a different country than us…. Bye bye gilly… You are a lying two faced waste of space

• What is this eejit smoking?

• Methinks the ‘socialist’ has had far too much champagne! It’s bad enough spinning this kind of horse***t but now he starting to believe it as well. Self congratulation is no congratulation. Gilmore has lied and his Labour party have shown themselves to be no different from the other two ‘civil war’ parties. Just another bunch of lying venal gangsters on the make.

• Eamon Gilmore has not changed TD’s and Senators entitlement to claim a full pension after 20 YEARS of service (civil service 40 years!) – And those in a ministerial position after only TWO YEARS. This means that our politicians are accumulating a pension at a degree that is at least TWICE the normal rate of equivalent grade civil service employees. Upon retirement, each TD who has served longer than 20 years is furthermore entitled to claim a retirement lump sum of €139,008, a termination lump sum of €15,445, and 12 monthly ‘Termination Payments’ for the first year of retirement, calculated according to number of years of service and amounting to up to a maximum annual payment of €57,920. The full pension each minister is entitled to is made up of both parliamentary and ministerial pensions, and amounts to €92,298 annually

• Equality legislation springs to mind ;particularly when some of them held onto a position e.g. teaching post , that denied some one else from getting a permanent job, buying a house etc.

• i’ll have a pint of whatever gilmore is drinking please, if it can make you see ireland through such rose tinted glasses it must be good stuff. seriously though the man ,like the rest of this self gratifying bunch of pillocks, is deluding himself if he thinks that they have done a good job. talking of jobs nearly 500 lost again this week in the medical /pharmacitrical industry, 240 to go at abbott’s in clonmel and another 230 in some other plant, is that really stabalization mr gilmore?. a man was so distrught at the way his life has been ruined by these austerity measures that he tried to set himself alight outside leinster house yesterday (don’t see many comments on tht in the journal) anyway eammo, you might be able to dazzle your fellow t.d’s and party suck-ups with your rhetoric but the rest of the country see’s this government for what it really is, a shower of self serving, money grabbing, clueless gombeen who couldn’t be trusted to run a bath ,let alone a nation, led by a second rate failier of a deputy headmaster. good luck with your delusions mate!

• the Grunts say it well
    with their Tune

Into Submission

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zMPLBsl5GmY

• I posted a comment this morning , was there a problem with it

• Why don’t you all grow a pair and vote Sinn Fein in.. I think they deserve one chance at running the country. Just the one mind :-)

• It’s interesting how many posters seemed aggrieved that the government parties lied to get into power. While it is true the extent and amount of the lies are on the high side, can anyone name any democratic government in the world that did not get elected on promises they then could not deliver?

Political manifestos are at best statements of intent and at worse tools to dupe the electorate.. That’s modern democracy for you. The real rulers of our world are the markets, who are nameless and unaccountable and our political leaders are their puppets. Sinn Fein, should they loose the luxury of opposition, will be just as inept in facing down the true masters, for all their protesting to the contrary.

• Shane Bradley…..what’s a realist like you doing here, on a naysayers forum?….shouldn’t be allowed !

• This government have been about 1 million times better than the previous FF gov who got us into this mess and had no solid plan to get us out.

It’s sad to see the masses will turn on them for having to make tough decisions.

While I would have liked to see the sort of leadership that wasn’t scared of public service strike action, Labour have made leaps and bounds on social policy, often dragging FG kicking and screaming along with them. We might finally get a reformed school system. We might finally get a modern secular constitution. A lot has been achieved in 2 years thanks to Labour’s influence in this government and there is more to come.

• You are seriously deluded, Labour will be decimated in the next General Election. They have hurt the most vulnerable people in our society the most. Carers disabled and mentally challenged . The cut the pensions of those who destroyed our economy by 5%. They really are awful. And please stop blaming The Fianna Failers all politicians took increment after increment and never said a word. They saw the stack of cards fall and said and done nothing.

• Pararagraphs 1&2, excellent. The rest- not so much.

• What new policy have they introduced over the past two years? They have certainly abandoned all the policies the promised. Wake up, the are just doing what Fianna Fáil were told to do by the troika and trying to claim credit for it

• Ah, would you give it a rest! This government and doing exactly what FF would have done! They are certainly NOT doing what they said they would do when they were in opposition! Liars and traitors the kit if them!

• Ryan'O 07/03/13 #

The blame game continues.

Sorry jim and Kevin both labour and fine gael have surpassed the atrocious behaviour and policies of Fine Fail.

Continuing the same under a different name equates to stupidity.

After all we voted FF out for that reason.

• It isn’t the masses turning on them, just the deluded.

Leadership is what the country has needed for the past 2 years.

If a new manager is being recruited by the staff of a bankrupt company, they will fail the first interview if they are the only candidate promising to impose harsh measures, let people go and do whatever the market demands to ensure the viability of the company over and above the self interest of individual staff members.
      If they get the job, and the company and its market drop lower into a negative death spiral, are they expected to stick with their interview aspirations or show leadership and focus on the primary mission – survival of the company?

I know what I’d rather my elected leadership to do. And I respect them for doing do in the face of all the nasty small minds who can’t or won’t see the greater good is being served.

• DOO 07/03/13 #

Arbitrasure – I get it. Ireland should be run like a business. Ireland is a failing business,overspending. Perhaps incentives of slashing td’s pay be great start. Overpaid lot id assume you’d agree? Reduce tax on goods+services, create incentives to reduce cost of living. If the living part weren’t so hard, unjust, perhaps Irish people would just accept this awful medicine and back to recovery in 20…well, I will probably be dead,but im sure it’l be a great day when we do pass that “corner”.

• @DOO – I agree, whatever cut they recently took, I think 10%, should have been 20%.

Reducing the cost of living is a good idea. As an agricultural country perhaps we are capable of originating much of the milk, eggs, grain, vegetables and meat we need for basic diet and can levy a carbon tax on imports to help our farmers produce be favoured in the supermarket and small shops. I don’t think we can ask the farmers to take a hit and produce for even less than they already are in slavery to the big chains. In previous economic depressions it wasn’t unusual for governments to create subsidies for basic food stuffs for people to feed their families. I don’t know how the whole CAP system works and unfortunately it seems food is too cheap already so maybe this isn’t an area the Government should meddle in.

What other ways can the necessities of life be made easier for people to have. Tax breaks on childcare would seem good to me. Many people caught in negative equity with big mortgages are now both working and after paying for childcare there is only a few hundred euro in the difference in staying at home for one partner. To aid Ireland’s economic productivity it would be better that we have more people working rather than less.

Tackling the public sector pay and pension bill is a thorny issue right now.
      It costs EUR110million for every 1000 jobs cut from the 290,000 people employed in the public sector.

Perhaps we need some new ideas on what the public sector does. Let’s not make people redundant if there could be public entities that could be cash flow neutral; if not in some cases profitable.
      It is obvious when we see multinationals profiting from supplying public contracts to Ireland with roadworks, broadband, health and other services that as a nation we are missing out on by outsourcing rather than insourcing. There is a profit margin for those contractors.

Add New Comment