TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Saturday 18 May, 2013

Column: Our obsession with ‘insults’ against Ireland is a waste of energy

There was anger when Katie Taylor was ‘claimed’ as British – but such a reaction exposes our insecurity, writes Aaron McKenna.

Aaron McKenna

EVERY COUPLE OF weeks, there is a story – or four – that rubs some salt into the national shoulder chip. This week we had a British newspaper briefly steal Katie Taylor from us and some Australian Olympic commentators offered the advice that we’re basically British, so should be competing for Team GB. Meanwhile, the nation was plastered as a bunch of piss heads by a different Australian newspaper and to cap it all off, someone started sticking rather pointed “Welcome to Northern Ireland” signs on the border.

The Taylor gaffe was just that: a silly mistake from a British press that was also claiming the Dutch dressage team as their own in a collective photo editor SNAFU. I doubt the Dutch minded very much, as most who saw it took the opportunity to poke fun at normally jingoistic tabloids mistaking bright orange collars (not to mention the wrong colour medal) for homespun British fashion.

Of course, we do claim more than a fair few successful people with Irish roots – no matter how tenuous – while complaining how implausible it is that every American we meet has a great great aunt from Mayo. If Katie Taylor were English and her father Irish (instead of her Irish and he a Yorkeshireman originally) we might be hamming up the link. Just saying…

The Aussies have been more churlish in their separate but related comments. For a nation so proud of itself and sharing a colonial history (though of a different tenor to ours) you’d think they would more sensitively consider such comments. But you can’t make a nation account for every rude eejit in the world.

Monkey see, monkey do

A piece in the Australian newspaper The Age offended with “For centuries, Guinness and whiskey have sent the Irish off their heads. Now all it takes is a petite 26 year old from Wicklow.” To be honest, this one didn’t offend me quite so much considering that the first place we send visiting heads of state after the Áras is a pub on top of the Guinness Brewery. The official Irish hospitality area at London 2012 also features a Father Ted themed area in the bar.

It’s Monkey See, Monkey Do – and if you don’t want a reputation as a nation of drunkards, consider the face we put forward to the world. We play off the craic-agus-ceol-with-a-drink-in-hand-by-the-warm-hearth to attract folks to Ireland, and should probably question what role this has to play in our being lampooned abroad as drunks.

“Welcome to Northern Ireland” is a story that, were the Olympics not in full flow, would probably be getting a few bigger headlines in this, the political funny season. We have a happy relationship with the UK where our border is concerned – in that for all effective intents and purposes we don’t have one. Since the end of the Troubles you can cross the border without taking much notice except for the speed limits.

Indeed, Ireland has stayed out of the EU border system so that we can remain ensconced in our happy union. If we entered the Schengen Area Agreement, we’d need to check passports going to and from the UK, something that would be a big no-no.

Perceived slights

Now the frontier is being marked in about the same way that a dog urinates on a tree, mainly to tell the other dogs he’s there and – in our case – irritate people of a certain persuasion.

One theory of Irishness is that to be Irish is to not be British. They give us 12 points in the Eurovision, we give them two and we’ve always got our eye on them. But the Brits have a bigger national inferiority complex than we could ever claim to muster. The end of empire hasn’t ever really sat well with them, and Britain seems to be a nation focused on past triumphs a lot of the time.

Watch them cling to the ‘Special Relationship’ with the US, a much bigger affair than our yearly tribute of a bowl of shamrock – compare it to the wars and treasure they’ve endured for the pat on the head. Meanwhile, English national football commentary seems to be a lot of words surrounding the date “1966” over and over and over again.

My point is that every nation has their ‘thing’. And while these incidents may fall into the class of #firstworldproblems, our national obsession with our nationality feeds right back into our place in the world, and its place for us.

You may not be as young as you feel, but you are certainly only as confident as you think. Constantly looking over our shoulders for perceived slights, or reacting to pointed insults, is a waste of time and energy.

Aaron McKenna is a businessman and a columnist for TheJournal.ie. You can find out more about him at aaronmckenna.com or follow him on Twitter @aaronmckenna.

Read: More columns from Aaron McKenna on TheJournal.ie>

Read next:

Comments (106 Comments)

• As an Irish person with two British parents, this article is nice to see. Thanks Aaron.

• Great piece. It’s perfectly fine for us Irish to take the mickey amongst ourselves but if it’s from British quarters it’s handbags at dawn. Sometimes reminds me of the ‘N’ word among Black Americans. And as for the Aussies, need we pass judgement on people throwing stones in glass houses? I think not, we’re above it.

• Well, that’s the obvious stereotype, but does anybody really give a sh*t?

Sometimes people are outraged. Other times papers say people are outraged and folk play along. I think “British Katie Taylor” is an example of the latter.

• In a British program about Samuel L Jackson and Colin Farrell’s lastest movie SWAT presented by British presenter, Kate Thornton, the following exchange occured:

Thornton: What was it like working with Colin (Farrell), cos he is just so hot in the U.K. right now?

Jackson: He’s pretty hot in the U.S. too.

Thornton: Yeah, but he is one of our own.

Jackson: Isn’t he from Ireland?

Thornton: Yeah, but we can claim him cos Ireland is beside us.

Jackson: You see that’s your problem right there. You British keep claiming people that don’t belong to you. We had that problem here in America too, it was called slavery.

Irish Independent 2004

• You can’t blame the world for getting confused, when you look at the day to day culture there is very little difference; we go to Spar to pick up milk, come home dress in our Next jumper & Topman pants, have a cup of tea, go and work in Boots, listen to the same UK/American pop on the radio, come home eat our Tesco bought chicken, watch Eastenders & Corrie & then go to the pub to watch Man United! There are cultural differences such as GAA, dance, Gaeilge… erm, Dunnes, Pat Kenny? But in the grand scheme of thinks (Chinese v Indian culture for example) they are tiny. So yeah, I don’t think we can blame someone when they don’t know exactly what Ireland is.

The one thing that never ceases to amaze me though is the amount of English people who think Ireland is in the UK. But thats more of a stupidity thing, how can you not know your own country?

I think we should embrace or similarities while enjoying the richness of the differences. History is history, recognise it, learn from it, but whats the point in being bitter, we can only change the future

• I find it insulting to say that we are easily insulted.

• I found I felt embarrassed for the commentators and journalists on this and felt it little more than a gaffe.

Then I felt more embarrassed for the comments Irish people put up on facebook in mini-campaigns to have Katie Taylor apparently “given back” to Ireland.

Was it not enough to know that it would be the tricolour she would drape around her shoulders if and when she won? And that that image would be beamed around the world?

• I and I am sure many others certainly don n’t get too excited by these “slights” that Aaron has written about. I have more important things to worry about. It’s our media (print & phone in shows) that do get excited. Newsprint & programme schedules have to be filled donn’t you know.

• We need to get over ‘The Old Enemy’. It’s a worn out cracked old record now. We need to grow out of our babyhood as a nation. We can be proud without carrying bitterness and hatred. We need to look at our collective behaviour to see how the rest of the world views us. We need to stop throwing our toys out of the pram every time someone thinks we are British or drunks or whatever. It’s not worth getting riled up over. Rather it may be that some comments ring true and we don’t like it. We can learn by this instead of ranting in reply

• The only people that seemed to be upset the last few weeks over identity where our unionist brethren up north,who were upset that team GB didnt include n ireland in their team motto, even Cameron had to fly over to console them.

• Barry 11/08/12 #

the article is spot on,

another very worrying trend in Ireland is we almost love to see people fail, or if they are successful we do our best to bring them down.

take u2 and bono, we,ll cry and moan if any newspaper in the UK claims them as English

however many in Ireland will moan about how he’s odd or thinks he’s gid it some other such nonsense.

bottom line is he has done good and he,s used his bands popularity to make changes and push for positive changes both on a large and small scale

but people like a good moan……maybe they’d just be happier if he was drugged up and off his face on drink all the time

• Is Obama really Irish?

• Simon 11/08/12 #

I’m speaking for myself here, but it seems to me that its the media that make a big deal about being insulted, I really couldn’t give a rats.. just me?

• Never was a truer word written by a journalist
    Well Done,
    Mr. McKenna!!!!

• What’s wrong with having a little bit of national pride, is it so bad? If anyone remembers the days of Italia 90 when Jack Charlton could do no wrong we had a wee bit of pride then. For years our flag was hijacked by the IRA, if you saw it flying outside somewhere that wasn’t a national event you tended to stop for a second and wonded “whats going on here”. But in 1990 we took it back, I saw house’s, cars, dog’s and even people painted in our national flag. It was feckin’ great.
    I don’t see anything wrong with correcting a mistake about another country claiming one of our finest athlete’s, we’re proud of her. It’s how we correct the mistake, politely, with a little humour if possible. No need to be rude. In Poland this year many of Ireland’s supporters showed amazing pride and support for their national team. The same was shown again this week for Katie in the Olympics. I’m proud of them all. Thank you.

• Brian Walsh, sorry to inform you but your comment is an example of the classic ignorance I alluded to in an earlier comment. The Irish flag was the flag of the IRA long before it was the flag of the Republic.

• @Charlie I’m well aware of the history of my national flag, I merely said that since the tricolour has been adopted as oun nation’s flag it has also been used by the provisional IRA, hijacked, since the “troubles” began. For many years to see it flown, especially in border regions, was an indication of potential trouble.
      Other countries like the USA have great pride in their national flag, as do many British people, French, Australian etc. It’s a shame we don’t have the same pride.

• Nicely put 

• Nicely put  @Brian

• The only hijackers of the flag are the Irish government. The IRA did not hijack the flag as it was their flag long before there was a republic.

• The Irish tricolour flag as we know it was used in 1916 then adopted by the Irish Republic in the War of Independence in 1919 and later by the Free State in 1937. Are you seriously suggesting the Republican Army forces of 1916 equate to those of the PIRA of today, the two are worlds apart?

• Ah now you introduce the PIRA to cover your earlier blooper. Your original comment was “For years our flag was hijacked by the IRA”. As the IRA preceded the Irish Free State and republic it was their flag that the Irish Republic hijacked. If you had gone beyond Wikipedia you might have found the following reference.

to most, Irish people it was still ‘the Sinn Fein Flag’. From Hayes-McCoy (1979), A History of Irish Flags from Earliest Times

It was used unofficially by the government in the Irish Free State, but not with the intention that it should become the national flag:

“The government in Ireland have taken over the so called Free State Flag in order to forestall its use by republican element and avoid legislative regulation, to leave them free to adopt a more suitable emblem later.”
      [PRO document DO 117/100 written in 1928]
      In the event the tricolour was adopted as the national flag, but not until 1937.

• If the British are daft enough to give Jedward 12 points in the Eurovision then that’s their problem.

• mcbab 11/08/12 #

Very good article and oh so true! We have absolutely no capacity to laugh at ourselves and take offence way too easily especially if it’s something in the British press. A bit like a child who thinks the world revolves around them and can’t understand it when other people are just getting on with their own lives.

• People do get offended far too quickly.

• How is it “our” island?

And agreed, we do get slighted very easily. It’s rather sad, “to fancy every bolt that is leveled at our vice is to be pointed at our person”.

• Yup! Time to grow up methinks! Who cares what is said by those that don’t understand. More fools them. There’s me thinking so many of us have grown up due to the amount of cheering on the English / British in the Euros and olympics (as per facebook and twitter).

Unfortunately the way we carry on with the drink, we do leave ourselves open for stereotyping and a good slag off. Sure aren’t we the masters of stereotype ourselves. We’d get a gold for that – and a gold for the drink.

• I wonder what all the Brit haters on this forum would say to Katie Taylor’s Dad.

• Smiley 11/08/12 #

Wasn’t St Patrick English?

• The Irish particularly those of the pale suffer from a self hate engendered through cultural injudiciousness that historically has its genesis in English nationalism. Such people display an astonishing ignorance of Irish culture and history and are unwilling or too dull to educate themselves. It is a disease that causes them great self harm. They are happy to be called drunkards, stupid Paddys, thick Micks etc. thinking that these terms apply to everyone else and not to themselves!

• But is culture the arts & things unique to Ireland,?or the collective ideas, customs & social behaviour of the general population? If the general social behaviour of the ‘Pale’ is not parts of Irish culture you’d deem Irish doesn’t make them any less Irish. They are partaking in Irish social behaviour, and who are you to judge whats worthy of inclusion in Irish culture & whats not? I’m afraid going out and getting langered on a Friday is as much a part of mainstream Irish culture (& British for that matter) as the GAA. Or are you trying to say we should emphasise what is uniquely Irish and try not to participate in anything else? If so thats a mindset with a genesis in the fantasist Gaelic revivalists, seeking to foster a stronger Irish identity via things uniquely Irish at the expense of everything else. If you view Irish culture as purely things that are uniquely Irish then why are you writing in English? Your speaking a language with a genesis with the British invaders. Up the GAA, up Gaeilge, but also up meeting friends for an Italian coffee in a French restaurant with a conversation in English!

• ..agus tá tusa cinnte sotal mar sin. Níl aon leithscéal ar aineolas.

I am saying that our nationality changed 90 years ago. It is time to get with the programme and stamp out the stupidity of self hate.

• Tá sé aineolas a rá ‘tá aineolas ort mar níl suim ar bith agat ar an cultúr traidisiúnta’. Dúirt tú é sin nuair a dhúirt tú go bhfuil daoine sa phale aineolas mar ba mhaith leo rudaí Sasanach, Man U, eastenders gan dabht atá i gceist. Tá cultúr beo agus tá sé ag athrú i gcónaí. Féach ar an tEaglais, bhí an tír seo an reiligiúnda 50 blain ó shin, bhí sé cuid mór den chultúr, ach níl anois. Tá an ceart agat, caithfidh muid ag dul ar haghaidh gan féintrua ach tá an chutúr beo, difriúil, ach beo ag an am céanna.

• Tá an sotal ag briseadh amach fós.

Ireland has been for centuries a multicultural society and culture does indeed evolve. There is no argument there. You have missed my point and it is a very simple one; there is one section of our society that is hostile to all other sections. It is the realm of the barstool bore and its folklore is accepted as true fact by a populace too dull to engage in education!

• I understand your point, but actually I think Irish people generally have a more acute knowledge of their own history & culture than most other older nationa, I think its out of this knowledge that some people choose to actively leave some of it behind, and it some cases rally against it in places like TheJournal as can be seen in any article about the Government, Church & Irish language. I dont think its ignorance, I think its actually the opposite. Whether thats a good or bad thing I haven’t made my mind up. But I wouldn’t call a whole section of society uneducated or boorish because they don’t agree with, partake in or rally around certain elements of Irish history & culture.

• Again you get it wrong. At no stage did I advocate that anyone embrace Irish culture or certain aspects of it. I am saying that the traditional hostility to all things Irish is based on ignorance and historical cultural prejudices. These artefacts are manifest in Irish society in general and in particular are acute in the Pale where the prejudices from history remain strongest. “Bigotry or prejudice in any form is more than a problem; it is a deep-seated evil within our society.” Judith Light

• Sam I Am 11/08/12 #

I agree with your last point but I think its insulting to the people of the pale to suggest there is a larger section of people there that are ‘hostile to all things Irish’. I don’t know where your picking that up from other than there is a cultural difference between the Dublin & the rest of the country, more a perceived divide in my opinion based on little more than snobbery & the differences in lifestyle (inevitable given urban v country). Anyway, I’ll stop now before we get sued by The Never Ending Story for copyright infringement.

• Ironic then that these ‘cultural differences allow Dublin social bottomfeeders to have the illusion of some social status. The ‘cultural differences’ argument is too superficial as evidenced by the majority of the comments here. Even the original article is full of disdain with mentions of dogs pissing, drunkards, monkeys and the only pejorative term for the Irish nation missing is the British term for the Irish “White Ni*gers”.

In one of life’s great paradoxes the ignorant are ignorant of their ignorance. If one was erudite and aware of the source of such prejudices one would not keenly proffer them. For one would know how idiotic it is to label oneself a drunken Mick.

• A bit esoteric Charles, but I completely agree with you. The article itself barely scratches the surface, and 90% of the comments here have missed the point entirely. Well said.

• censored 17/08/12 #

Well said Charles. I cannot understand the servile attitude displayed by many Irish people. Even during the “boom” those who lost the run of themselves acted like peasants who were suddenly invited into the “big house”.

• Calling Katie British. How dare they?
    Couldn’t be further from the truth.
    Oh wait. Her father is English. Still!
    Next they will be claiming U2- huh!
    Ok, so Larry is the only Irish one and the other 3 are 1/2 English.
    Oh, stop, you’re just punching holes in my argument.
    Ok, Barack Obama- now he is Irish.
    Got you there didn’t I? Can’t answer that.
    And how about all the great Irish freedom fighters. Wolfe Tone, etc. not an English man among them.

I’ll get my coat.

• Although it was probably nothing more than an honest mistake,it did bring me back to the days when Barry McGuigan was referred to as a British Boxer by the english press……..until he lost.

• Bruce 11/08/12 #

Oh dear august is here and silly season abounds.

Get over it folks.

But just to stir it up: perhaps ireland would be better as party of the united kingdom. Afterall if lord gerry adams and sir martin can take the queens money then what’s wrong with us following? Time to start a campaign: “Eire wants back to UK”

• History & national pride aside; Would be any worse off in the UK than the EU? Yes, we are making a lot of money through Euro exports to the Sterling UK and we have created, and still have despite the decline, a lot of jobs off the back of our corporate tax rate. Socially, it’d be great to have the NHS.!

• Sam I Am 11/08/12 #

History & national pride aside; Would be any worse off in the UK than the EU? Yes, we are making a lot of money through Euro exports to the Sterling UK and we have created, and still have despite the decline, a lot of jobs off the back of our corporate tax rate. Socially, it’d be great to have the NHS!

• Poor attempt at:

a) being funny
      b) being controversial

• Bruce 11/08/12 #

Reply to gaf nay.
      Back to bed and get out the right side.

To all the other “commentators” who think foul language somehow enhances your argument, well it doesn’t.

Pity the journal would not block foul language.

• Sean O’K, that article a) Has nothing to do with this and b) read the actual full transcript of the interview, the context of what’s said is completely different.

• fcukin eurovision!!pathetic!who gives a rats ass about the eurovision song contest?!!all this europe bollox all the time and with the european tourists visiting ireland laughing at you behind your backs!i have heard them,german,swiss,austrian you name it!!are thinking ya wull..der irelander ist zer thick!!haha

• 14 and a half billion years of evolution …

• There is nothing wrg with being proud of being Irish. Ireland has its good and bad points just as ever other country in the world does.

Regardless of nationality, race or religion etc. you should try to avoid being defined by what you hate. Where is the pride in hating the British or if your British the French or Germans how can you hate the British while supporting Man Utd. or Liverpool?

Ireland has a lot to be proud of it is an independent country with a long history and hopefully good future.

• I believe giving out and letting off steam is perfectly acceptable, why! , when people are afraid to say what they feel they become depressed ,and moaning i think is the least harmless thing we do, which is why were the better nation always….

• What the Brits did will never be forgotten. Don’t forget that they still occupy a part of our island. Until this stolen land is given back then they will never get 12 points from us at the Eurovision!

• Hear about the Irishman showing up with a roll of barbed wire in London. He wanted to enter fencing in the Olympics!

• And rightly so, we are who we are, Irish and proud not some sub serviant asian colony that wants to kiss a** to the Brits, when others claim our people as their own it is offensive and demeaning to us as a nation, so the message is” if you havent got one get your own” and that applies to all p.s god shave the spleen!!!!!!

• Typical slavish mentality by some on here. I think a lot of Irish people these days are disappointed that they are not part of Britain themselves. Just because you would love to be labelled as British doesn’t mean the rest of us do.

• I’m irish and proud anyone insults me or says im another nationality i get upset and break there jaw end of…

Add New Comment