TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Sunday 26 May, 2013

Lisa McInerney: Senator’s ‘frape’ gaffe signals that panic – not reason – rules social media debate

Fidelma Healy-Eames and Eamonn Coghlan were “given an important task that deserved research and clarity of delivery – instead we got ludicrous schemes and half-remembered gossip”.

Lisa McInerney

I’M THE SECOND eldest grandchild in a large family.

As such I’ve got a Facebook newsfeed inundated with the kind of things I find tiresome, but my younger relatives find gut-bustingly entertaining.

Like Victor Meldrew at a Lil Wayne concert, my Facebook visits tend to be characterised by bewilderment and only occasionally restrained rage.

The ‘frape’ is, of course, a near permanent feature. They’re not usually hard to spot, these would-be-wily impersonations. A sudden announcement of complete disregard for personal hygiene. An endorsement of deviant sexual practises. Something to do with farts. Even if old age hadn’t brutally done away with my sense of humour, I’d think them tedious: familiarity breeds contempt.

The thing is, you don’t have to be a digital native to know what ‘fraping’ is. Hey, you don’t even have to have a Facebook account; all you have to do – if you’ve heard this confusing portmanteau and want to know what it means – is ask someone. Any teenager will be able to tell you. Or you could google it; the Urban Dictionary pops right up.

The first reaction one might reasonably have on watching Senator Fidelma Healy-Eames wildly misinterpret the word ‘frape’ (and, for that matter, the word ‘rape’) is that perhaps Fidelma Healy-Eames is not a digital native, or even a digital day-tripper, and perhaps we should take her slip-up as an example of the middle-aged confusion that defines many Irish parents’ relationship with social media.

That Healy-Eames got the term so wrong – and made it sound much more sinister than the practical joke it is – could be interpreted as an opportunity to educate those not yet adept at using social media, just another kink that needs to be ironed out so we can return this commotion to the mouth of The Simpsons’ Helen Lovejoy, who’s no doubt wondering who swiped her soundbites.

“Ill-prepared nonsense”

But that would be rather generous. Fidelma Healy-Eames isn’t simply an out-of-touch Irish Mammy confounded by technical lexicon that hints at crimes far greater than mere vulgarity. Fidelma Healy-Eames is a senator, a well-paid, well-resourced public servant who was tasked with preparing a coherent statement about cyberbullying in Ireland.

The ‘frape’ mistranslation was only one gaffe in a five minute speech made up almost entirely of ill-prepared nonsense. “I heard…” she confided at one stage, “… that [sexting] is a criminal offence”. One would have thought that senators making presentations about a matter they’re telling us is of the utmost importance might have brought more to the table than vague recollections of issues of hazy portent.

Making his statement on the same day of the committee hearing, and faring just as atrociously, was Eamonn Coghlan, who wondered if passport numbers, IP addresses and credit card details couldn’t be all sewn together so that people who wished to make derogatory statements online would have to pay for the privilege.

What exactly were the senators’ orders here? Were they invited to address the committee only ten minutes before, plucked from the hall outside and thrust blinking into the spotlight without so much as a snappy brief on which to prop their ignorance, because surely that would be the only excuse for this kind of embarrassing performance. Such dithering speeches confirm nothing but contempt for their remit; this was an important task, and it deserved research and clarity of delivery. Instead, we got ludicrous schemes and half-remembered gossip.

“Cyberbullying issue deserves thoughtful debate”

This is supposed to be about the welfare of our own people, with special significance given to the welfare of kids and teenagers who are wide to social media, but not yet wide to the motivations of those using it.

Cyberbullying is a problem, one most of us don’t wish to play down. It deserves thoughtful debate. The internet isn’t just a helpful tool; it’s a major
constituent of modern life. In fact, much of the problem with bullying behaviour online can be attributed to the same ignorance as displayed by both senators: people believe that the internet is lawless, repercussion-free, and that online access equates to a licence to act with anonymity and impunity, pitching missiles at the faceless because what your conscience don’t know can’t hurt it.

Much bullying behaviour is linked to this brand of immense stupidity; how many Irish fourteen-year-olds have sent death threats to tweeters who don’t share their love of petulant moppet Justin Bieber?

Imposing sanctions on the use of the internet might seem like the quickest, easiest way to stop online harassment, but Canute himself would have better luck. And one would wonder if Coghlan and Healy-Eames aren’t just reacting with blind panic at the thought of this rampaging digital behemoth chewing up our children, if it wasn’t so obvious that even blind panic would constitute more effort than their recent discharge of hogwash. Is this how we’re intending to safeguard the welfare of our citizens? Lock down communication rather than tackling the desire to harm others or the inability to battle through it?

“Lack of desire to engage”

Is locking down communication the intent, because silencing dissent is far more pleasant to those in power than working with the plebeians to end their grousing? Is this lack of desire to engage with the issue a symptom of something far more worrying than digital naivety? Is this debate not so much about online safety as it is about buffering our political class from the bitter disappointment and anger that characterises their people?

As Healy-Eames and Coghlan were entertaining the committee with their meanderings, their party colleague Senator Catherine Noone was speaking in Brussels on the topic of a responsible internet, and summed up her thoughts with the statement that “individual education and empowerment will always be a far more effective tool than centralised policing”.

What a pity that this more sensible view wasn’t shared by her counterparts. What a pity that they hadn’t conferred with her beforehand, seeing as they were all focused on the same core issue. There is such a large difference between ignorance and wilful ignorance. The first can be remedied. The second points to bigger problems.

Read previous columns on TheJournal.ie by Lisa McInerney >

Read next:

Comments (75 Comments)

• More research went into this column than the senator’s speeches. Which couldn’t have been hard.

• Check out her 2011 outburst at the gaming industry. http://fidelmahealyeames.ie/2011/08/03/cap-required-on-time-spent-computer-gaming-–-healy-eames/ An embarrassment to the West of Ireland. I can’t believe this woman gets paid so well by the Irish taxpayer.

• Paul 11/03/13 #

oh dear lord

• What a ridiculous useless gombeen

• What hope have we…..

• now you’ve made me look at her website…..
      First thing that strikes me is the utter ridiculousness of her statement – but no point going there.

Then I noticed her tag line is “Speaking up for Galway. Standing up for you”. I’m still trying to get my head around how the Seanad works, so open to be corrected here, but is the basis not supposed to be Senators represent groups rather than geographical areas?
      Wikipedia (not her website) tells me she is the Fine Gael Seanad spokesperson on Education and Science, but her own sites lists Fidelma’s priorities as well beyond that (Fidelma’s Priorities: Education; Business, Enterprise and the Economy; Environment, Transport & Infrastructure; Health; Arts, Culture & Gaeilge; Adoption; Disability; Women’s Issues……no mention of science strangely).

I’m a long way from being convinced about removing the Seanad, however I am in full support of reform. However, does this not scream of her pushing agenda’s outside her remit? 1) speaking for the Galway people instead of in her nationally appointed position, 2) setting priorities outside of her remit thereby displaying her lack of focus 3) ommitting part of her appointed responsibilities from her priorities, and most of all, is someone getting paid to do her PR (or at least her website) who is tasked with ensuring appropriate messages and profile?

Sorry to pick on FHE specifically, I don’t have the energy to look at other Senator’s web pages – it was all just a bit too obvious after the link posted above

• Paul 12/03/13 #

Ironic thing too Sally that on her website she also welcomes EA Games to the west of Galway a year later.

• So many facepalms listening to her (or in her own version – slaps in the face)
    Fidelma sounded like somebody from a past generation, just substitute the words ‘rock and roll’ for ‘social media’ and she’s back in the 1950’s.
    I’m sick of the pathologising of what is SOCIAL contact by people who can neither use it nor appreciate it, let alone pay their car tax online

• She wants to setup a ‘frape crisis centre’

Yet she doesn’t know daft it means

• Excellent article highlighting the utter inadequacy of a woman who can’t pay bills on time (in spite of her huge wedge) and the rambling of a man who achieved a senate seat by running slightly faster than someone else 25 years ago

• Out of touch does not even come close to what they are.

• I am more curious about what she has said about it since. She made a fool of herself but I heard no apology. Surely some kind of explanation of why such ill researched speech is due.
    I don’t need to be told it was mindless babbling from somebody who was clueless. What I want is some justification for lack of research.

• Another excellent column Lisa.
    FHE is a national disgrace and has come to represent the cult of ignorance popular with our dear leaders.

• And we pay her HOW much?

• We’re a laughing stock, so much for building a technological, science driven country when our beloved politicians are as thick as 2 short planks.
    Embarrassing.

• A serious issue turned into a joke by the incompetence of two middle aged politicians who are completely out of touch with the country. What’s new?

• A serious issue is turning into a joke by ignorant posters. Senator Coghlan did not make a speech nor put forward recommendations, he merely put a question to the Minister about tackling cyber bullying. Now this just shows how use of Internet can spread vile attacks without knowing facts.

• snooch 11/03/13 #

Its hardly vile pointing out that it was really obvious that senators on a very relevant comittee dont really have a clue about the the most basic fundamental issues related to the problem they are meant to be discussing.

• Wouldent be as shoddy or lazy claiming their expenses , I dare say..

• Really did you just defend those overpaid half wits because I looked at the footage and wondered how they actually got up everyday and put their shoes on. They are a disgrace to the office they hold. No wonder the population are disillusioned with politics. There needs to be a serious overhaul of the system to stop idiots like this getting into public office. May I suggest some form of aptitude and intelligence test

• I watched it live (I know *hangs head in shame*) and Coughlan (who’s achievements I have great admiration for) definitely suggested paying to post on the Internet. I did not get up-in-arms about the comments as they were laughably ill-informed, but Coughlan definitely suggested pay-to-post.

• Does she not know any teenagers she could have asked what a frape is!

I can only imagine the horror and disgust on her face as she tried to work out how you could get raped on Facebook! That would have been priceless.

• If I was given a task, for example, speaking or making a presentation on a particular subject, and I failed to do so I would be in trouble and would possibly be disciplined!

• Roll on the referendum to abolish the Senate!

• If it was filled with knowledgeable senators that were in touch with the country then it wouldn’t need scrapping but unfortunately it isn’t and I fail to see how it ever will be so unfortunately the best option is to be rid of it.

• There are good senators, like John Crown, who make thoughtful contributions for debate. But for every John Crown, there is a Fidelma Healy-Eames, Eamon Coughlan and Ronan Mullen. Get rid of it.

• Do you think the Dáil is better? Are TDs more knowledgeable and more in touch with the country? There’s no point abolishing the Seanad if the Oireachtas you leave behind is still made up of politicians who are no better than the ones you had before. At least with Seanad elections there tends to be more variety in the candidates who run. Historically, its drawn in a lot of very knowledgeable people, with dissenting or specialist knowledge and views: Doughlas Hyde, W.B. Yeats, T. K. Whitaker, Ivana Bacik Mary Robinson, David Norris. A lot of these people might never have gotten elected to any one constituency at a Dáil election. What part of the country would have elected Yeats when he called for divorce legislation or Norris and Robinson when they wanted to decriminalise homosexuality? But with non-territorial constituencies you can draw in people from all across the country, and get representatives who appeal to a lot of voters, but aren’t concentrated in one area, which is the weakness of the Dáil system. After all, since the foundation of the state the Seanad was designed to be a platform for minority and dissenting voices. If John Crown’s bill were introduced it would take control of the Seanad elections away from TDs and councillors, and make all the Seanad elections more like the University constituencies, which have tended to elect the best caliber of Senator, because they’re elected by the public rather than by party cronies.

• Cearbhall Turraoin writes: “After all, since the foundation of the state the Seanad was designed to be a platform for minority and dissenting voices.”

Really? Where’s the Seanad panel for the Unemployed and other marginalized groups? The Seanad was designed to be exclusionary.

And, actually, I think the Dail is better because they’re all elected and, if we don’t like how they do their job, we can vote them out.

• If Crown’s bill passes you will be able to vote them out, no need to abolish it. And yes, it really was designed to be inclusive of marginalised groups, but in 1922 those perceived to be in the greatest danger of marginalisation were southern protestants. That’s why the Seanad gave people like Hyde and Yeats a platform they wouldn’t have had in the Dáil, which Yeats used to speak out in favour of legal divorce. Obviously there’s a difference between who we feel is marginalised today and who was over ninety years ago. But that point proves the case for reform, not for abolition. Today there are different groups that are marginalised, and we can reform the way the Seanad operates to give a voice to people who aren’t well represented by the Dáil. The Seanad has done a much better job in representing issues and groups which don’t get represented by the parish pump politics that dominates the Dáil. Even in just the last few decades there have been Senators that have championed human rights, abortion, law reform, contraception, and other issues that most TDs wanted to run a mile from. Yeah, of course you get people like Healy-Eames and Eamonn Coghlan in the Seanad, that’s why we need to give the public control of the Seanad elections, rather than politicians voting for their own colleagues and electing any old party hack. But for every bad senator, how many bad TDs has the Dáil produced? Healy-Ray, Michael Lowry, Liam Lawlor, Bertie, Biffo, Mary O’Rourke, John O’Donoghue, Martin Cullen, James Reilly, Phil Hogan. These people get elected because they’re able to rely on the old certainties of local, parish pump politics. We need the Seanad, reformed and elected by the whole country, to act as a check and balance on the Dáil.

• It is reminiscent of the US Senator, Ted Stevens, who called the Internet a set of “tubes”. “It’s a series of tubes. And if you don’t understand, those tubes can be filled and if they are filled, when you put your message in, it gets in line and it’s going to be delayed by anyone that puts into that tube enormous amounts of material, enormous amounts of material.”

Before making public statements, our Senators and TDs should really know of what they speak lest they be thought the same kind of idiot. Oh, that’s right, they are both FG, and therefore by definition ignorant of modern communication methods that are used by the common classes. No different than Senator Stevens (R) in USA.

• The More I hear our politicians speak on subjects the more the cliché ‘Lions lead by lambs’ sounds true! Unfortunately there’s only one place lambs will head to! Still, Healy-Eames has yet to grasp the concept of taxing her car, so she is, in all reality, light years away from social media! Begs the question, as to why do we let these ignoramai legislate for us!

• How much were these incompetents paid? More money wasted.

• It really is a disgrace people like this are given such positions that lets their misinformed notions be aired. It just goes to show that the Seanad is a useless waste of taxpayers money. Bring on the referendum…….

• JakkiB 11/03/13 #

We are so laughed at……

• We need to drop these fools ASAP

• The Seanad will be nothing but a distant memory soon, and rightly so. Utter g*bshites!

• zozimus 11/03/13 #

A very nice piece of writing, I really enjoyed it. It made me rue anew the fact that I’m about to be asked to pay a new tax on ‘wealth’ that I already paid stamp duty on, for which I will get nothing in return. Well, except the steady helmsmanship of our senators.

• At least if we elected these idiots we could only blame ourselves.

• People given tasks way outside their range of competence! Sad to think that we are paying them for the drivel they presented. The Oireachtas is loaded with incompetence and mediocrity masquerading as leadership.

• JayK 11/03/13 #

There’s an interesting profile on Facebook for Fidelma Healy Eames that was set up after this speech. I’d recommend people check it out.

• It’s things like this that make it increasingly clear that any solution to the problems associated with the Internet come from the Internet rather than be imposed externally.

• so we the tax payer paid almost €3000 per TD and Senator to be brought up to speed regarding Facebook and Twitter and this is what Fiddles Healy Eames has to say about fraping?!? you’d think whoever was addressing these apes would have explained the importance of always remembering to sign out of your accounts, or else you will be fraped

http://www.joe.ie/news-politics/current-affairs/how-much-did-we-pay-to-teach-tds-and-senators-to-use-facebook-and-twitter-0022934-1

• Great read. Just goes to show, these lot are riding a gravy train. It’s a cushy job. You get well paid, to do what is seemingly very little and when she had a bit to do, she did it half arsed. She’ll still get paid though! Happy days, right?
    Absolutely taking the piss out of the taxpayers.

• man if I was in a job and talking such waffle as this yolk does, clearly indicating she hasn’t the foggiest notion of what she’s on about, I’d be out on my ear so fast my feet wouldn’t touch the ground yet this ape is on such savage money and expenses she doesn’t want to pay for anything!!

• Healy – Eames: I like the way she has given each of her brain cells their own name.

• Two good reasons to abolish the Senate

• Well written, well thought out response to a pair of f*€kwits..

• Very well written piece and thank you for highlighting this Lisa!

The economic repercussions of a misinformed outburst of this type, by an overpaid and pointless Seanad member, could be absolutely horrific. We’ve now been publicly painted as a country where our “leaders” have little or no understanding of social medial – this is the kind of commentary you’d expect from a third world country.

What better excuse for companies like Facebook to go “f’k this…we’re outta here” and move their operations to India or the Philippines? Welcome to Facebook please choose a username, password and enter your passport number. Because the Seanad can dictate the global online policy of a multi-billion dollar company.

A public apology is the very least this moron can make to the Seanad, the social media companies in operation in this country and the people who pay to keep her misinformed arse sat where it is.

• We now have politicians trying to control social media and they don’t have a single clue how it functions haven’t a clue on its terminology yet if I’m not mistaking didn’t our politicians take payments from the public purse and weren’t these same politicians meant to learn computer basic skills it is now obvious that the cash they took for computer skills was spent on something else the truth will always prevail. But I would like to know why this money wasn’t paid back because a lot of politicians are still computer illiterate.

• Ireland’s getting fraped by giving idiots like this airtime. I’m telling ya the 19th century English notion of Paddy is coming true. Oh the embarrassment.

• When is the referendum going to be held so we can rid ourselves of this hall of cronies

• Kind of reminds me of this :)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iDbyYGrswtg

• Does this mean I’ll be forced to head off to an abandoned warehouse just to have have a boogie soon!

• Usually Lisa’s articles are just rubbish feminist rants but this is decent. Fairplay.

• FHE didn’t get the term that wrong

Add New Comment