TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

Opinion: So much has come out to show the Vatican is dysfunctional

As we await the election of a new pope, Fr Tony Flannery believes that it is being increasingly accepted that the Vatican is in urgent need of reform.

Tony Flannery

AS WE AWAIT the election of a new pope, there are many interesting things happening during these interim weeks.

What I find most surprising, and hopeful, is the fact that it is being increasingly accepted across the board that the Vatican itself is in urgent need of reform. So much has come out in the last couple of years that shows conclusively that it is a dysfunctional system.

What is really surprising is that even some of the cardinals are voicing the need for reform of the Curia. Words like scandal and corruption are being used widely. So those of us who hope for reform and renewal in the Catholic Church will look to the actions of the new pope in his first few months to see if he is serious about reforming the Curia.

If we get a pope who continues the policies and actions of the last two, then the Church is in enormous trouble.

I am not optimistic.  The system itself militates against change. For instance, some people are hoping for a pope from Africa or the Far East, or maybe Latin America. If that happens my fear is that the curial system will quickly gobble him up, and he will be rendered ineffective. No system wants to relinquish power, and the Curia will certainly resist in every way they can any effort at reform.

The other way in which the system militates against change is in how the new pope is chosen. When Benedict retired all the heads of the different ‘congregations’ within the Vatican had to step down from office. The new pope will not know he is getting the job until the votes are cast. And when that happens he will immediately be caught up in the ritual, – the dressing up, receiving congratulations from all the cardinals, and then out to the window to be greeted by the people.  He will have no time to think or to plan.

When Enda Kenny, for instance, was elected Taoiseach he was fairly sure for some time that he would get the job, and he also had his own team coming in with him. The new pope will have none of those advantages.

It would be an extraordinarily courageous action by him to tell all the heads of the congregations that he was not re-appointing them, and then to proceed in a very short space of time to replace them by people from outside the system who would come in with fresh ideas and approaches.  But that is the only way that the system could be cleaned out. The easy way for him will be to tell all the existing heads to resume their official positions. In which case there will be no change.

I am sorry that Keith O’Brien will not be at the conclave. He showed some signs that he is a man of open mind, willing to think in new ways. He did make mistakes in his life, as he has admitted. But as a society and a Church we are obsessed with matters sexual. When O’Brien said over a week ago that many priests found it hard to live the celibate life, we know now that he was speaking out of his own experience.

People who speak the truth out of their lived experience should always be listened to. I would be much more interested in banning from the conclave those cardinals who did not promote reform and renewal in their diocese, or who did not make place for the voice of women at all levels in their church.

So, watch the first couple of weeks of the new pope. See what he does with the Curia. In particular, take note of the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith. If the existing incumbent is re-appointed, then you can take it that there will be no real change, that things will go on as they have done for the last thirty five years.

Tony Flannery is a member of The Association of Catholic Priests (ACP). The ACP is an association for Catholic priests who wish to have a forum and a voice to reflect, discuss and comment on issues affecting the Irish Church and society today. He recently refused to sign a letter supporting Church teachings on women and sexual issues.

Read: Protest at Papal Nunciature over treatment of Fr Tony Flannery

More: Fr Flannery ‘couldn’t look in the mirror’ if he signed Church statement

Read next:

Comments (88 Comments)

• Poor ‘Keith O’ Brien’! The man was a hypocrite, he preached so much about not allowing gay marraige and then it turns out he himself had made sexual advances to make priests going back years! He has an ‘open mind and able to think in new ways’ only when it suits themselves!

• We are (rightfully) obsessed with all things sexual – especially when children are concerned. Cards on the table here. I am a Mass goer with a deep faith – and very proud of it.

It is sad to see the comments immediately above (with people not missing an opportunity to knock the Church and its flock.

One thing to remember. Like all sections of society it was infiltrated by paedophiles. And the worst part was the cover up.

It is ludicrous that, in this day and age, that we cannot still have married or women priests to start with.

The Church had to change – and be seen to. And fast. Otherwise it will crumble.

I have the greatest respect for the beliefs (or lack thereof) of others. Yes I would have a problem with some religions.

But, unfortunately, for whatever reason, people seemed poised over keyboards to ridicule those who profess The Lord.

But yet some of those will have their children receive the sacraments whilst at the same time hiding their disdain whilst attending. A funny ole world as they say.

A sad day indeed.

• Eamonn, I have no problem ridiculing the church in public and infact I regularily debate the hypocrisy of the church with some ‘pious’ family and friends.

The two most common things I learn from such debates are

1) I know more about the factual history of the church than them
      2) when asked ‘name one good thing the christian church has done for mankind’. No one’s come up with one yet…….maybe youll fare better

• So Eamonn, do you feel the Church should not be knocked? “Cards on the table” indeed. The Church is the one place where cards are never on the table unless their hand is forced. Paedophiles have infiltrated society? So this bishop in Scotland, who was going at lads in their late teens, was he a paedophile? Or, and I am asking simply for clarification, is paedophilia and homosexuality much of a sameness for you?

• @Alan. Don’t be a bigot. Faith is faith. Just because you don’t have it or clearly know nothing about it it doesn’t mean it don’t exist. There are people who have faith in God. Superstition is a completely different issue. Look it up.

• Eamonn,
      Im sure you didnt mean to but you said in your first sentence the church is (rightfully) obsessed with all things sexual, especially when children are concerned – is the church obsessed with sex with children? ( it seems so….)
      Why is the church so ‘rightfully’ obsessed with all things sexual? Jesus did not go on about ‘all things sexual’ – he preached love and tolerance.
      the church’s obsession with sex and contraception has led to real harm – the spread of AIDS and othe sexually transmitted disease and overpopulation.
      And may well lead to the demise of your church

• @Christopher – I respect your right to believe what you want but I don’t respect the belief in itself and I will openly criticise it. Millions of people having “faith” does not immunise that belief system from criticism, satire and ridicule. Frankly I would much rather you debate that belief system with me than cry “we have faith leave us alone”. If you cannot defend it from criticism then how much “faith” do you actually have in it?

• @Ian: you’ll see from my comment above that I do no think they should be knocked. I do (and continue) to criticise them if I see fit. I laid my cards on the table.

I have nothing to hide. I am proud of my faith and am eternally grateful to God for the life and family I have been blessed.

It does sadden me to see the vitriol aimed at the direction of myself and people like me. Calumny, etc I suppose.

Everyone is entitled to their opinion – even those two-horned Catholics (as perceived by some) like myself.

Will the Church collapse? Possibly. Will those one billion or so Catholic s just fold up their tents. Absolutely not.

And Ian – for what it is worth I have relations and friends who are gay. And, to be honest, it’s a cheap shot on your behalf to present such an “argument”.

• @Dave. Nice try Dave. You know what my sentiments were. ALL paedophiles – religious or other – shod face the full rigours of the law. Full stop.

• But why Eammon is the church so obsessed with sex and people’s sex lives?

• Hard to know Dave. Some will quote you scripture; other church law. Personally? I believe it’s people’s own business and given what the Church itself has covered up, should no longer be an issue.

• The verb “to knock” used as a transitive verb mean to criticize. So, you don’t think the Church should not be knocked, yet you criticize it. Gobbeldygook!!!! But then, you adher to an organisation which specialises in contradictory outpourings. I said nothing to suggest YOU are hiding things. You, however, have mentioned it, so now I DO wonder. You are proud of believing in a girl giving birth without having been penetrated by a penis and being inseminated by the ejaculate exiting said penis? You are proud that each Sunday you eat the true body of Christ, thereby, if this truly is the body of God made man, committing the crime of cannabilism? Well Eamonn, so be it. You have a right to believe all that stuff and more. Pride is a highly subjective emotion, so, no skin off my nose. Now with regard to the “cheap shot” gay question. I found your wording unclear, but simply wasn’t sure whether or not there was a subtext. I asked for clarification and you answered. The “cheap” you used doesn’t say a lot about me, but speaks volumes about you.

• wrote that while typing a report. busy day!!! just glide over the double negatives and misspellings. soz

• No Ian. What I meant – and you know it – is that the Church is not beyond criticism. By me or anyone else for that matter.
      However, there are people who spend their every waking hour – fingers poised – for the next opportunity to bash the Church

My faith is very strong Ian – and it would take a bit more than your rant above to shake it. ;)

But your knee jerk reaction is quite interesting. A lot
      of frayed nerves there by the look of it…..

• “No Ian” What question of mine are you answering? No, you don’t believe in the virginity of Mary? Or, no, you don’t believe in transubstantiation? Those were the questions I asked. Your writing is a string of non sequiturs. My “rant” is truly how I see these issues and I stated clearly that I accept people’s right to believe what they will. I am sure, although you have referred to an honest question on my part as cheap, that a person of you moral background will afford me the same respect. My frayed nerves??? Maybe a manifestation of the frustration at your lack of any true engagement with what I have said. Where have we experienced this before……oh yeah…. the Dáil, :-), amongst other places.

• How can you be proud of your faith. What did you do to achieve it?

Seems like you’ve done nothing except accept the brainwashing you grew up with. Hardly something to be proud of

• @Christopher – people had faith in the banks…….faith is an over rated concept. You’re entitled to any faith based on superstition but we’re entitled to point out the childish nature of your faith

• Well said Alan

• @Eamonn – your faith is NOT strong. Of it were you wouldn’t need to keep defending it. Very simply, your mind is not open. Two very different tjings

• Eamonn, you get the green thumb from this Atheist. I wish there were more like you who will put dimples where they belong, and with the same breath condemn and point up the warts on the face of Catholicism. That allows for sharing and mutual respect.

I do ridicule the major religions of our day just as philosophers from Socrates, to Hitchens have. The highest calling in life is to be a philosopher…to seek truth (note the small “t”), and then to share it. It is not that hard to find a truth in science or in life’s experience, but when it is a hard, unpopular truth, confronting eons of entrenched culture and dogma, it gets tougher to noise it about. This board is filled with philosophers who noise about the light they have with others. To some it is insulting, but do they examine, and assay the comments they hate? Seems not, as few rebuttals grounded to fact are read, just hand wringing and calls for censorship.

We have enough common enemies to confront together, from microbes to militarism, where we can find friendship and mutual support. Can we not judge one another upon our conduct, and not our beliefs? Most of the people I love are Christians and they love me as well. Just as they do not hate the sinner, only the sin, I feel the same as a still-born Christian, I hate the manipulation of the masses by a myth, run by a covey of cabals, not the victims.

We were all born atheists, and agnostics, come back home, come back ye who have fallen away.
      (Comic relief).

• In my dictionary the second definition of “superstition” IS religion. Look it up.

• Why do you have a problem with some religions. Your beliefs are just as ridiculous as the others. If you were raised in another religion, you’d believe their claptrap

The deeper the faith, the shallower the thinking

• Thought it was a good article until it mentioned O’Brien. He has persecuted gay people and any Catholic who is not orthodox in a wide range of areas. His hypocrisy is very harmful. He is not fit to be a priest, let alone a Cardinal.
    If this is the kind of man that will be electing the next Pope…
    At least he stood down, Brady should follow his example of a quick exit. That is where reform starts.

• You pray for me Christopher and I’ll think for you. If you attend a church, you support it by association. “Those who believe in nothing”…wow, you are very naive if you think that people who can see religion for the vile superstition it is, believe in nothing. I don’t need the false security of an imaginary friend to see how amazing the universe is or how to be a decent human being. Catholiscism breeds hypocrites who can attend a church on a Sunday thinking they are not part of the problem when in fact you are allowing it to continue unabated in its abuses.

• Tony Flannery does not seem to realize that O’Brien only resigned and apologizsed because he was exposed by the media. He has had years to come clean and admit his wrongdoing yet he chose to continue in his highly paid job and use it as a platform to incite anti-gay feeling. He is a total hypocrite like so many catholic priests and bishops

• Unfortunately, power creates greed and greed is the begining of so many nasty traits in man. Sadly and naively, it was religion that was to aid us and rise above such human transgressions. However, find that the Vatican itself was unable to follow the 10 Commandments.

Shame on the institution of the church for deceiving me and shame on me for believing in the church. In my world… I appreciate the guidance the church has given me. However, the church has gone where no institution should have ever gone. I will never have the relationship with the church as I once had… However, I will continue to believe in God and cynically believe in the church. Together the Bible, Aesop’s Fables and the wisdom of Confusious will be the moral guide for my children.

• Marlon thank you for this well balanced comment. People use these subjects to spew hate of a church they were never a part of. They use it to justify their own hatred. In truth they were never up to reaching out in faith to help their neighbour or interested in living a life that challenges us to stand up to evil as being a true Christian teaches. They confuse the institutional church with people getting on with their lives and being guided by christian values. You make the correct distinction between believing in God and or the Church as an Institution. Some commentators have no clue of this difference so they spout the usual church hate and bigotry towards those of us who believe in God not a church. Big difference here a difference you can clearly see.

• Thanks Christopher….

I fortunately had an advantage over most Irish folks when it comes to religion. I was brought with choice. Though I attended Catholic Schools and went to church. My parents permitted me to join my friends and their families when they went to their place of worship. I expereinced Judism, Lutherenism, Episcopalianism, Muslim and Greek Orthodoxism. I even joined one of those chfurch revival Babtist choirs (lol), that was a kick.

The point is that I God in all of these places. My God was no more important or better than anyone elses God. Nor did I loose my God when I was learning about other’s religious dogma. To me what was most important, was my parent’s support of being a good person regardless of what I am faced with. As a side note: The American Catholic Church supported segreation and inequality.

I eventually entered Catholic Seminary High School summer program to determine if the life of seminarian was suitable. It was not…. However, it was good for my Dad.

My Dad, after retiring from his career attended, the seminary and now is a Deacon or Lay Priest. He now works for the church and togther with my Mother supports disenfranchised the populations of my hometown.

Now when we’re togther we have delightful debates about religion, the church, God and self. Where does it fit in the scheme of life?

Again, I have had choice all my life. Many persons are not as fortunate as I or are willing to step out of their own comfort zone.

Good luck to you Christopher.

• Christopher – give us one reason why, as a Christian, you are more moral, or right than the rest of us

Just one….

• Using Enda as an example is actually quite accurate. He continued the policies of the previous administration, as will the next pope continue the small minded, 500 year old attitude that they cling to..

• Couldn’t agree more Brian, I remember the day I realised ”when I die that’s it I’m dead” scary shit but I worked through it and I’m all the better for it. Religion tends to block people from facing this uncomfortable truth.

• The Catholic Church is rotten to the core

• Careful now, the iona red thumb brigade will be out soon

• Down with that sort of thing, people who are afraid of death? Are the ones, who believe in sky fairies and are easily led like braindead zombies!

• above comments amaze me. If we are so afraid of death and believe in fairies why are atheists so obsessed with God. The only fear i see is through the comments of non believers. Faith allows you to let go of fear. Try it some time.

• The reason we are so obsessed is that YOUR beliefs are shoved in our face every day without balance or respect for other religions or lack of religions. When a corrupt paedophile ring has infiltrated nearly every facet of modern life you can be damn sure I will be obsessed with criticising it every chance I get. Lest we forget you are almost as aetheist as me.

• Barry 04/03/13 #

Christopher Gardiner, faith allows you to let go of fear?

Nonsense, look at the history of the catholic faith.

- Your born and die without being baptized…you go to hell..this later changed and then changed again, now its kind of ignored because people think its crap, handy that eh?
      - You sin and you go to hell or limbo, but its ok your family can pay for your to get into heaven by getting the priest to pray for you
      - You kill yourself because the church accuses you of being a witch or in lead with the devil and your soul goes to hell….your property goes to the church, works out great for the church.

Hundreds of fears of fear created by the church, many people especially older people still believe in the likes of limbo that was drilled into them as kids by the catholic church. These people still ask for masses to be said for people so they’ll get into heaven…and they still hand over money to do it.

Whilst some faiths can allow people to let go of fear in this case the catholic church has created fear throughout its history

• Ah but you see the church was built up on this carry on. They can’t & don’t practice these things anymore. God has shown them the way & they’re a delightfully peaceful organisation now. They’ve changed their colours.

• Hahah! There’s 7 of em there!

• Stephen, as a man of faith can I ask you a serious question?

Your church professes forgivness for those who seek it, but this man, who while being man of station in your chuch took part in homosexual acts. A most heinous sin in the eyes of the church (but not a commandment)

Is he destined for hell? Is he going to heaven if he asks forgivness? Is ghandi in heaven even though he was hindu but not gay?

• You are simply lazy & supporting a disgusting organisation by attending service’s in your local church. It’s really that simple. Thats what you are doing.

If a family member or friend (or even many of them & their family & friends) got ripped off by a particular chain (Lets say a car dealership) on many occasions & the stories were in the news & papers EVERYDAY about how corrupt this dealership is, (You know what’s coming now yeah?…….)

Would you still go to this dealership to buy a car?

Be honest!!!

• I think the Catholic Church is gone too far for change.

• Ahh good morning Iona I see you’re all awake now

• The Vatican is a corrupt cult interested only in amassing vast wealth and protecting paedophiles

• They also never miss an opportunity to say that society is obsessed with sex. It is they who are obsessed with sex, not society. Society knows that sex is normal. The Vatican should stick to what it knows best and loves most – money

• Shock…horror….the Vatican is dysfunctional?….my goodness I won’t rest easily tonight…..

• Jeremy Irons for Pope!!

• @Christopher – do people go to church to worship god? Really? You only have to read the bible to see what a c*nt god really is. Really!

• secular state please, the sooner they are out of our schools- the better!

• Who are you to dismiss the millions killed by your church as “drivel?”

• Christopher.. Is there not a passage in Isaiah that says Jesus’ father will not be found in a temple?
    In fact there’s several quotes throughout the bible that prove Catholicism is not Christianity, the Vatican have more in common with the Pharisees that Jesus kicked out of the temple than anything else..

But you’re a Christian, surely you worked this out for yourself, right? Because us non Christians can see it..

• It’s the hypocrite capital of the world!

• It’s just so ridiculous. Two thousand years of Chinese whispers leads to this. The irony is that for believers the original message was simple, clear and yes, modern.

• @Paddy – it is scary and will continue to be scary (it’s why religion is a great comfort blanket for the weak) – it’s hugely liberating though because it allows one to live in the moment rather than preparing for a non existant next life

• Holy shit!

• Maybe if GOD made an appearance and apologised for all the troubles.

Oh wait, he never has made an appearance has he?

Maybe this is his moment?

• Mysterious ways you see

• If there is a god and it decides to appear, what makes any of us think we could ever even understand what it is we are seeing? The human mind may be advanced but we still cannot understand the sheer scale of the universe. So how could we understand a god?

That’s why I have to laugh at religions who claim to know all the answers. It is impossible to know. Yet the Pope makes a cushy living pretending to be the mouthpiece for a creature (who just so happens to look and act just like one of us only with superpowers) and claiming he cannot be wrong due to this. The sooner we start accepting the ridiculousness of ancient religions the better.

• The world makes more sense when you remove the idea of a supernatural being who lives outside time and space.
      Take the bomb blast in Karachi yesterday which killed around 40 and injured over 150 outside a mosque. They must be wondering where their god was? Why did ‘he’ allow it to happen? But those of us free from the shackles of organised religion understand that there was nothing ‘mysterious’ about it. It’s just ignorant, twisted individuals killing each other for no good reason. But they don’t deal in reason, or logic. Religion is no different than astrology or psychics (e.g the fraud psychic Sally).
      A fool and his money are easily parted.

• Refuses to obey? Deluded much?

• Graham 04/03/13 #

Let the fun begin. Stephens back with his comedy gold posts.

• I favour abolition of the Vatican instead of reform.

• By the way I am not afraid of death. I don’t invent a god because I am afraid of Dying. Its the opposite. I don’t care when I die because I believe in God.

• I take comfort in the knowledge that the greatest critic of the church today would be Jesus himself.

• What happened my comments – have I been censored ? !

• Wasn’t gandhi a pedophile he liked to sleep naked next to young girls to test his fate.

• Ruairi, you mentioned above about educated, open minded, liberal people. If you put aside your intense dislike for the Catholic Church you should have noticed that I clearly stated that I was NOT defending wrongdoing. I condemn wrong doing and hypocrisy from wherever it comes Church included. I too consider myself educated, open minded and liberal that is why I will not engage in the hate filled rants that I read here. I do exclude your good self from that grouping but would take issue with your understanding of open mindeness e.g. you can see no good in the Catholic Church.

• John, i cant see good in the church and have never been given an example of the great goodness the church has done!

I’m well aware of the of the feeling of community felt in the church, but mainly in rural communities. But you can get that in a mosque or synagogue.

I posed this question to a devoted member of the catholic church who I’m very close to.

If you were born in Malaysia would you be Catholic?

My point is, are we (I was baptised) catholic because we didnt have a choice?

The question is based on the fact that Malaysia; while a muslim country is extremely tolerant of other faiths.

• Stephen mcElliott. Your response leads me to believe you read in the Mail on sat last, an article which mentions options, one being, condensing the church to exclude Catholics who use contraception and live ‘in sin’ ie outside marriage. Maybe try thinking outside the box…original like

• John, your quite correct and I would ammend my post if I could.

Not all those opposed to the churches power and infuence are educated nor enlightened. Some people just like to bash their keyboards in a quite un educated and ignorant manner.

But please take note that in my experience, many catholics are unable to think for themselves and if a priest told them the sky was red, they’d be calling those insisting that it was blue ‘god haters’……

I had the Jehovahs witnesses in 4 times for coffee. I asked them to discuss their religion if they would listen to me. I also asked the respect me in my home and not use the word faith.

They dont call round anymore. …

• Wow!! There seems to be a lot of hate out there. Pity though that it is directed at one institution only. Before you start reaching for your keyboards I am not trying to defend wrongdoing. Fr. Flannery knows well that the Catholic Church is made up of humans and of course is subject to the weaknesses of the human condition, we only have to read our history to know that. Sure even Jesus’ disciples haggled between themselves in his presence as to who was to be in charge. Nothing new in what is going on now. The remarkable thing though is that the Church is able to survive all of it and has done so from it’s beginning! To all of you angry people out there I ask you to look at yourselves in regards to wrongdoing. The borstal schools, the Magdalene laundries, 97% of child abuse taking place in families, 200 children in State care in the last 5 years DIED while in care. All of this stuff was supported aided and paid for by the State! Where is your hate and disgust at the level of child abuse in families? Where is your outrage at the 200 child deaths in the care of the HSE? Why be so silent at the level of child poverty in our country? Now ask yourselves where do you fit in to all of this wrongdoing.

• This article is about the catholic church john, hence the direction of our vitriol

• John, are you actually defending the chuch by saying that their not the worst?

Wow….that reminds me of a conversation I had with a family member who defended the magdaline nun’s by saying that they didn’t know any better!?!?! And that it was the family’s fault the girls were there in the first place…

Its attitudes like these that have the educated open minded citizens so vocal about their opposition to the churches overstayed welcome in our homes and minds.

I will debate the failings and faults of this very old cult on any forum, public or online.

And if an article I written about abuse in the home, or the 200 children who died in the care of the hse, I’ll give my opinion on that forum too

• The weakest post on this article so far John. Very weak.

• Thanks John for highlighting one of the weakest of the paltry excuses for the endemic child raping in the church. Sure the state was complicit, as were families. But what was the main reason for people acting so backward, so deluded, so unREASONABLE? They were all living in a harsh, oppressive catholic society. Take away the church, and you remove these problems.
      Imagine a man knocking at the door, telling you to kick your daughter out onto the street for having a child out of wedlock. If it was a government employee, you would contact your solicitor before turfing her out. But when a clergyman requested such a horrible act, it wasn’t even questioned. THAT’S power!! They won’t try that any more.
      To think that there are people on here, fighting for their right to be shackled, is pretty sad.

• Well said John.

• deirdre 04/03/13 #

I think fr flannery is a good man. I understand his fear about what our next pope will be like. I am a practising Catholic and proud of it. I get plenty of stick about my views on this forum. However i feel the Vatican needs to be burned to the ground. Catholicism has the answers in life for me. Its all about the TRUTH. Dont know if the Vatican knows the meaning of the word truth. Talk to victims of child abuse. I hope those responsible for choosing the next Pope will listen to their conscience and pray to the Holy Spirit for guidance.

• You have no idea what you are talking about. Separate the Church as an Institution from your comments first before you even try to understand the issue. People attend their church to worship because they believe in God. They do not subscribe to the litany of abuse and hate you have outlined. That is the usual drivel we have to listen to by those who believe in nothing. None of us are stupid enough not to know the abuses in church history. people who go to church believe in God. that is their reason for going. It is not to condone evil done by any church and by the way the founder of the Christian Faith namely Jesus never wanted these rules and regulations imposed on people. he wanted free thinkers to try live good lives. Thats all. The man made rules and the abuse all came later through history and became entrenched in the catholic Church. There are good people in the catholic Church and no amount of listing problems and evils will change that. Faith is good. Faith encourages millions all over the world to do good int heir daily lives. Who are you to dismiss their lives and their contribution?

• It seems the majority of the out and proud homosexual people on here are very anti-religion. This really confuses me. I’m still at school and our teacher explained to us recently that the church was mainly where gay people went when they weren’t accepted by society in the recent past. He explained that a lot of priests ended up just being frustrated because they couldn’t come out as gay and that’s why a lot of them started molesting little boys. Surely that’s no longer a reason for joining the church so the people who join now are mainly good people who won’t go the way of the confused people of the past. This gives me great hope for the church.

• I feel the church is anti-homosexuality as they see it as a gateway to other acts which they consider vile. The fact is that it’s mainly little boys who are molested by grown men. Regardless of age this is nonetheless a homosexual act. The church feel that by not accepting homosexuality in any form they are actually protecting the young and innocent.

Add New Comment