TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 13 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Column: ‘Friends are marrying, having babies. Our family is still in limbo’

One year after being evacuated from Priory Hall, Alison Doyle describes the impact on her young family.

Alison Doyle

OCTOBER 2011 STARTED off as such a happy time for myself and my family. Our little man Sean turned one on the 10th and had just started walking, so we were in the process of child-proofing our duplex apartment. To our horror we discovered within a week that our home was in no way fire-proof …

So we were given 48 hours notice to pack up  and evacuate.

I will never forget the sense of panic as we realised we had been living in a ticking time-bomb for over four years. Living on the third and fourth floors we would never have gotten out had there been a fire. Having to decide what parts of Sean’s first year were not important enough to keep while we packed all of our belongings up quickly was heart-breaking.

We stayed with family at first, but as the weeks went on and we received the 16 page document from DCC detailing that practically every single fixture and fitting in Priory Hall was either unsafe or badly constructed, the realisation that this was not going to be fixed in five weeks hit home. Whilst being relieved to be out from such a dangerous building at the same time we were still sad and missed our home. We had spent a lot of time and money making it into our little haven. What I think most people forget is, we were happy while we lived there and still have many happy memories – be it parties before Sean came along or time spent with family and friends.

Life for the last year has been surreal. We tend to live from court date to court date, bank letter to bank letter. Our mortgage is on moratorium as we are paying rent ourselves, so even though it’s a small relief to have this in place, capital interest is being added the whole time. Our mortgage now is close to €400 more than the day we left Priory Hall, if the interest keeps accumulating in this way we could never afford it if the bank won’t extend our moratorium past the present agreement. They have never given more than three months at a time, this time it’s two months. It’s amazing how quickly the time comes around again, like one big recurring nightmare.

Incredulous

We have written letter after letter to TDs and An Taoiseach, attended the Fine Gael Ard Fheis, protested outside Dáil Eireann every Tuesday from last October until the beginning of the resolution process, held protests and candlelight vigils, doorstepped the Taoiseach while he visited a business not five minutes from Priory Hall… and still we are in limbo.

People not connected to the situation are incredulous that we are still out of our homes a year on with not one brick touched to remedy them since last November. Had I been told last October we would still be in this position I would never have believed it.

And yet life goes on around us. We’ve had friends get engaged, others get married and have babies, normal things for people of our age to do. Meanwhile we are still in this little bubble of uncertainty.

I’ve tried not to let Priory Hall become who I am but it’s very hard to stay positive all the time. The worry is always there, will this be the month the bank says they want their mortgage back for something completely worthless? How much longer will this drag on for? How has not one person been held accountable for the danger we were allowed live in for over four years? The unfairness of the situation hits home every time I drive by the security gates at Priory Hall.

All we were trying to do was start our lives together by buying our first home. Instead this home has put our lives on hold for a year, and will continue to do so until a solution is put in place.

Alison Doyle is a former resident of the Priory Hall development in Donaghmede, Dublin. This Saturday, the residents will mark one year since their evacuation with a protest march beginning at the Donaghmede shopping centre at 2pm. For more information, visit their Facebook page or follow on Twitter at @prioryhall.

Read next:

Comments (35 Comments)

• What a bunch of incompetent, self serving, and outright corrupt criminals we have in positions oh high importance. It’s beyond belief that this kind of stuff is still tolerated in a country that was deemed one of the best places to live, only a short 5 years ago. Dublin city council should be completely disbanded right now. They more than anyone else are completely responsible for this debacle. They have been responsible for more waste of taxpayers money in this country than all other county councils combined!

• Great comment and very true.

• If ever there was a reason for DCC to pull their finger out and fast track a solution that will give these people hope, it is the above story. It is the sum of all the troubles young couples have found themselves in as a result of the recession, to which they shoulder no blame at all for their circumstances other than to aspire to own their own home and raise a family.This was done by many couples who believed in the spin and the promises of the Celtic tiger driven ‘golden age’ ,sold to us by the government of the day in hand with the banks and building societies ,who now treat these people like pariahs,and have shirked all responsibility for the situation people now find themselves in as a result of their (banks/building societies/council and government) mismanagement and corruption.They are not looking for charity,they are looking for justice.They like many people this country have already paid for ,and are continuing to pay for your failure.Pursuing the builders and ignoring the plight of those caught up in the legal chicanery is tantamount to punishing the victim for being the victim.

• Reading the majority of comments on this article and many others in the past 12 months shows that people seem to care about these families.

If you really, really care about what they are going through be at Donaghmede Shopping Centre 2pm this Saturday 13th October and show your support. Their situation could be yours tomorrow.

Keep strong Alison and everyone else from Priory Hall. Shame on DCC, architects, safety etc. and the worst sick, thieving individual of all, the so-called builder.

• I had small dealings with FCC and they are rude, offhand, sarcastic and cruel.

That was my experience of them.

• Sinmac 11/10/12 #

This is heartbreaking to read, how can this be allowed to drag on for a year

• A national disgrace. These people need to be homed, not housed.

• Only that its too expensive I’d have hopped my phone off the wall after reading that. I can only begin to imagine how the residents feel. It tells us all that is wrong about this country and our fear of accountability. The fact that it got built to this poor standard in the first place is bad enough but to think that one year on nothing has been done. And, the arrogance of the banks. I better stop or the phone gets it.

• ISBA 11/10/12 #

Very pertinently expressed Alison. Surely, residents should en bloc write to mortgage providers advising them that there will be no further payments until all issues have been resolved. And where are all the professionals that signed off on the design and construction of the complex. Surely some professionals must carry responsibility and have professional indemnity insurance. And what about Homebond, that historical monopoly so good at collecting money and paying its fat cat executives but inevitably responsible for nothing.
    Without ramping up the pressure considerably, residents will get nothing out of this gombeen laughing stock government who it seems are determined to preserve the status quo of Fianna Fail’s Galway Tent brigade. Surely, a structure can be put in place to facilitate residents making a seem less switch to NAMA controlled alternative housing if that is what it takes.

• if they are not safe why do they have to continue to pay for them?.. I don’t understand? it’s the governments job to look after its people, it doesn’t look like they are doing that to me.

• of course the government aren’t looking after the people. We see examples of it every day, defending AIB rate increases, cuts to child benefit, reviewing disability payments, but this is scandalous ignorant treatment of families for a full year. To allow these people live in a vacuum where they cannot get on with their lives, not knowing if mortgages will be affordable IF the situation finally gets a resolution. FG and Lab TDs should hang their collective heads in shame. Ye are destroying this country even more than the shower you denigrated when in opposition and you are needlessly ruining lives. Lapdog cowards.

• Truly hard to believe it’s a year since the residents have been evacuated from their homes and they still live in the same uncertain predicament. With the banks being nationalised, you would think the government would step in and help. Shame on them!

• Thanks Alison, I’m both furious and saddened reading your article! To think we were child proofing our apartments, thinking of our children’s safety, when we were living in a potential death trap unbeknownst to ourselves. Shame on DCC and everyone involved in this debacle, hopefully our government will step in soon and help us get on with our lives. Every day this goes on the more stressful it’s becoming. Thank you for showing the human side.

• I live near priory hall and its disheartening to pass it most days and think of the families who are still out of their homes one year on. It’s terrible that they are now burdened with mortgages for homes they can not live in and the developers got away scott free.This its the biggest example off everything that’s wrong with this country. Very sad.

• It’s scary to think that a year on the developers of these houses haven’t been held to account.
    Every mortgage in that development should be written off by the banks and billed to the men who built them.
    The government should be ashamed to allow this to go on so long.
    What a corrupt state we are

• The government should be sorting this out.
    Priory Hall is another failure of the state. They did not put in the necessary controls to ensure that the property being purchased was up to a livable standard. Dublin City Council even signed off on the quality.
    The government are a disgrace.

• This probably isn’t going to make me very popular but the residents didn’t ensure they were buying a place that met the required standards that were set down by government. A relatively cheap engineers report would have highlighted the issues before anything was bought.

is it not what should be done before you commit so much of your hard earned money to buying a home?

• it cost DCC upwards of 40k to hire engineers to produce a report detailing the defects in the construction. The investigation involved removing exterior brickwork and examining foundations.

It is simply wrong to suggest residents should have had to carry out similiar checks when they had bought the property in good faith along with the required building certifications

• That’s not true. It is standard practice to get an engineer’s evaluation when you buy a new home and it costs a couple of hundred euro. Each resident would not be paying an engineer to evaluate the entire Priory Hall development, just their own apartment. From that evaluation alone serious issues would have been found before any purchase went through.

• I searched for fees when buying propery, and the survey fee is listed as something that should be done: http://www.justlanded.com/English/Ireland/Ireland-guide/property/fees

Don’t get me wrong I still think this is a horrible situation to be in. I’m just saying it can’t all be simply blamed on whoever is in government

• Surely these are standards the builders would need to meet regarding new builds; the onus would be on the builders and developers to meet legal standards, I would have thought.

Does Homebond not protect the residents of Priory Hall at all?

While I would agree that structural engineers reports are need for older houses, I wouldn’t have thought it was the case for new build; in hindsight it may have been advisable to get a structural engineers report, but then in hindsight I’m sure almost everyone in the country would have acted differently in the celtic tiger years.

I bought a new house in 2006 and didn’t get a report so I not sure if it was standard practice or even if it is standard practice now. Maybe it depends on where you live

• Cooperguy, it’s usual to get a “superficial” engineers report. Those contracts specifically state that they will not lift or move any facade. They wouldn’t even lift a piece of carpet. Besides, afaik, banks make you get one (or get one done for you) before giving a mortgage.
      We bought a house and got a survey done and it wasn’t worth the money at all. Lots of caveats in it and it didn’t tell us anything new.
      Joyce,
      I agree the developers & builders **should** be responsible, but they all keep passing the buck. If the legislation isn’t tight enough to hold Homebond or the builders responsible, then that is surely due to inept governance. Laws need policing, otherwise they are fairly pointless. DCC architects signed off on it complying with standards, so I think it was fair for people to have assumed that the necessary checks would have been done.
      The state is charged with creating the necessary legislation & structural framework to safe guard it’s citizens. That hasn’t happened in this case.

• Creatively Maladjusted I totally agree and its not just in this area that the past and present government have inexcusably let people down. To be honest I am not 100% sure whether its down to lack of legislation; I think the developer of Priory Hall has been declared bankrupt (I might be wrong on this). Either way we don’t enforce the legislation thats in place, and until we start too, even more legislation would be pointless.

Whether DCC are legally responsible or not is of little or no consequence because they are morally and societally accountable. DDC and the governments actions or inactions and the tolerance shown be us regarding DCC treatment of Priory Hall residence is a very sad reflection of the society we are. Until we start to understand that we as a people are compliant when faced with corrupt actions, nothing will change for anyone accept those with power and money.

• Government is not keen to get this sorted as there would be precedence. Do you think Priory Hall is the only cowboy builder’s job in celtic boom years where only thing construction bosses cared about was getting from one site to another asap as there were raking in fortunes. Quality? You’re having a laugh :-)

• It’s a disgrace to blame the families for buying a house that is now deemed unsafe to live in. What if there had been a fire and people had died? Would those people have also been blamed for putting themselves in this position? The problem is no-one wants to be held accountable because Prory Hall is just the tip of the iceberg. It’s just another example of profit before people. Where are the building developers? Are they still in business or have they folded?

• Why weren’t the fire safety issues not picked up when the banks sent out surveyers before the mortgages were approved?? The banks should write off the mortgages as a bad debt !! at least

• To whom it may concern…we are votes..not people….ironic is it not?

• I notice there is never a mention of the developer / builder in any of the comments. As far as I’m aware, he declared himself bankrupt in England and in so doing, washed his hands of the whole sorry mess… Who is this guy anyway
    and can he not be held accountable in some way for this debacle.!!!

• Not sure where he is now but this was from April
      “McFeely was sentenced to jail for three months and fined €1 million for failing to carry out remedial works as ordered by the courts. However, the judge in the case later granted a reprieve.”

looks like he got away with it….

Add New Comment