TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 16 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

Aaron McKenna: This apology for Jerry McCabe’s death should not be slated

You may not agree with Sinn Féin, but criticising Gerry Adams for apologising is pure political point-scoring.

Aaron McKenna

WHEN THE DÁIL sat to express its sympathy to the family of murdered Detective Garda Adrian Donohoe, Sinn Féin leader Gerry Adams took the opportunity to apologise to the families of security service personnel, like Detective Garda Jerry McCabe, killed by Republicans during the troubles. The political nattering classes reacted with revulsion in what has become a familiar political script surrounding Sinn Féin.

Fianna Fáil’s justice spokesman Niall Collins told the media that the statement “makes me sick”. Politicians from the government benches similarly lambasted the republican front man for his expression of contrition. In previous debates, Gerry has been taken to task for republican deeds during the troubles that have never seen an apology or, in some cases, acknowledgement.

Gerry is damned if he does and damned if he doesn’t, and it’s an entirely politically cynical strategy from Sinn Féin’s political opponents in the Dáil.

Successive Fianna Fáil, Fine Gael and Labour governments fought long and hard to bring Sinn Féin and their republican brethren to the table so that the killing and dying could end in Northern Ireland. They argued with, cajoled and begged unionists to come to the same table with people who they were waging an ongoing and brutal civil war. People came together from both sides that had had bullets pumped into them and sat down to try and make peace.

Sworn enemies

One of the key stumbling blocks in Northern Ireland, as in any peace agreement, is the compromise between seeking justice and leaving the past behind. Irish governments signed up to an agreement whereby killers, from bomb makers to trigger men, would walk free from prison. They negotiated a deal where sworn enemies would sit side by side in a democratic system set up to be rigged towards 50/50 fairness.

Negotiators from the Irish side breathed a huge sigh of relief whenever loyalists and republicans would simply sit together and talk.

That was then, this is now. The difference now is that Sinn Féin is active and moderately successful in Irish politics south of the border. They are present in the Dáil in greater numbers than ever before, and in most every engagement between them and other parties the old history is dredged up. Gerry Adams could be putting down a question to the Taoiseach about water meters and he’d start responding with his usual bumbling comparisons to the Troubles.

Adams has been rightly and roundly criticised for the halting move towards apologising for the murder of Jean McConville. Then, when he stands up to apologise for the killing of Jerry McCabe his opponents tell him they’re sickened by it. In reality, Irish politicians are sickened by the success Sinn Féin is having in democratic politics, and are clutching at whatever they can to discredit the party.

Political expediency

I believe that Sinn Féin have some of the looniest of looney-toon ideas and policy proposals. They would, if in power, drive this country straight off a cliff. But that’s not the default argument used against them. It’s dragging up the past and attacking them on the troubles, just a few short years after Irish politicians of the same parties broke their hearts trying to get republicans and unionists to bury the hatchet.

Sinn Féin is now a party of the democratic system. There is no use, beyond political expediency, in dragging up the past time and again as the default response to any political point that Sinn Féin is making. It’s disingenuous and flies in the face of the spirit that was engendered around the Good Friday Agreement.

As we’ve seen with the actions of dissident republicans, like the Real IRA, and around the recent flag protests by loyalists in the north; the peace we enjoy is tenuous in places. I’d rather frustrated republicans follow the lead of people like Gerry Adams and Martin McGuinness into political activism than see them pick up a petrol bomb.

Killings

A story recently emerged from British state papers claiming that Dessie Ellis, a Sinn Féin TD, was involved in up to 50 IRA killings. He has denied it. However, he is a self-admitted former member of the IRA and was sentenced to ten years in prison on explosive charges. Was he involved in those particular incidents? Either way, I’m not sure what the value of bringing it up today is.

Today Dessie Ellis is an elected representative protesting the property charge, hospital bed closures and austerity in general in his community. If he was involved in any as-yet-unacknowledged actions in the past, it would be very good in my opinion. Irish politicians from other parties would, however, attack him for his ‘sickening’ apologies after attacking him for not making them. It’s hard to win.

The cats and dogs in the street knew that Ellis, McGuinness and others were in the IRA before they admitted it. Now that they’re involved in democratic politics, the price we asked unionists to pay is probably one politicians in the south should consider: Bury the hatchet, because no good is to come from constantly harping on about what went on in the past bar landing a few cynical political punches.

The apology for the murder of security personnel should be taken for what it is: Perhaps overdue, but a proper statement of contrition for the past. Only the families of people like Jerry McCabe can judge if the apology was sincere and take it how they will. Irish politicians who weigh in otherwise are just looking to save a few votes, and that’s a cheap price to put on our long-awaited peace.

Aaron McKenna is a businessman and a columnist for TheJournal.ie. He is also involved in activism in his local area. You can find out more about him at aaronmckenna.com or follow him on Twitter @aaronmckenna. To read more columns by Aaron click here.

Read next:

Comments (175 Comments)

• We should all remember that all political parties in Ireland have a their roots in conflict, in most other countries this is similar

• Very true. However, none but Sinn Fein has people who have participated in living memory in such widespread violence.

• who met the killers when they were released from prison? was it not martin ferris a member of sin fein there to greet them on their release. thats hardly moving on.

• @Adrien

So when’s the cut off point? When can we expect people to stop jumping up and down like children?

• tom 02/02/13 #

Excellent unbiased journalism very well written. SF has shown remarkable leadership over the years through very difficult times.
      It’s more than embarrassing to watch the leader of this country reply to Dail questions in such a disgraceful way.

• It should also be pointed out very clearly that the War of Independence took place with the support of the vast majority of the people of the country at the time. It was a movement of national liberation. That is not to excuse the dreadful things that were done during this war but there was a claim for legitimacy for those who carried out those actions.

Sinn Fein/IRA in the north never had this legitimacy. They commanded neglible support in the Republic of Ireland and did not have even a majority of support within the community they claimed to represent while they carried out their acts during the period of 1960-1996. There is a difference between the two scenarios.

• I’m not sure, Khaosan. Perhaps when all concerned with a particular event or time are deceased? My point was that Sinn Fein are the only party in the Dáil who’s members have committed and endorsed serial murder on Irish people in our lifetimes.

• Irish Rebellions that did not seek mandates first, 1798, 1803, 1848, 1867, 1916, 1918 and 1969 acts such as the execution of the Chief Secretary to Ireland Lord Cavendish in 1882 and thousands of other acts, that often involved killing enemy combatants or those who aided them. War is not nice business.

When there are enemy soldiers on the ground and your populace is under attack you don’t go canvassing door to door.

FF and FG would hardly have removed the Penal laws at this stage, so lethargic are they.

• M Bowe 02/02/13 #

Did u live in the north of Ireland during this period. 68/96? What are u basing ur statement on?

• yes its true that all parties had their roots in conflict but what sickens me most is the snide remarkes made by our so-called educated ministers when ever someone has said anything of usefull value in the Dail.
      are they children or men.
      this “did ya hear bout yer man” is like school girls gossiping (apoligies to girls everywhere).
      lets face it if Sinn Fein are asking the questions that hurt their doing the right thing and when not if they get into power are they going to do the right thing for the irish people.well the crowd we have now labour/fg/ff/greens/pro dems have all made a cock-up of this country.
      its time for a change

• Great article

• Second that

• What are your thoughts on Mary Loo Rolls comment that the killing of RUC Officers and Gardai was different?
      Hollow words from Gerry Adams a professional liar…

• He is in good company in the dail so.

• “What are your thoughts on Mary Loo Rolls comment that the killing of RUC Officers and Gardai was different?”

RUC officers were complicit time and time again in providing assistance to Loyalist terrorists, and indeed engaging in terrorism. For all intents and purposes, the RUC was viewed by the nationalist community as an extension to Loyalist terrorism in the north. They were an biased policing service, who provided information to the lowest of the low in the north. Collusion was not the exception, it was the standard within the RUC.

Calling the RUC a police-service is an insult to real policing institutions around the world.

So yes – the RUC and the Gardaí were drastically different.

• Of course the results of killing guards are different from killing RUC men, there is no one still in prison 17 years later for shooting an RUC man

• The RUC were a paramilitary force that were engaged in atrocities and murder campaigns against the Nationalist civilian population since they were formed. When you put on that Uniform, you made a very clear statement about what you were for. Collins had countless RIC men executed in the Black and Tan war. RUC members knew from history that police forces that rule through terror are met with terror. As Micheal Collins said ” they are repaid in their own coin”. I have no problem that Irish people held RUC members to account for their actions.

• The killing of any police offficer is murder. There is no distinction. Murder is murder!

• If they were a legitimate police force I would agree, but clearly they were not. Hence the disbandment at the end of the war

• Balanced journalism!? I nearly fell over! Good piece, pity about some of the comments from the old familiar point scorers

• Liam 02/02/13 #

I’m no supporter of Sinn Fein but the way in which Fine Gael, Labour and Fianna Fail respond to them is childish and shows that they cannot create constructive criticism.

• For over ten years our neutral government has supported the Tony Blair & George Bush “War on terror” by allowing the use of our ports in that war for the transport of weapons that have killed hundreds of thousands of innocent people.

Do Irish politicians who have supported this war by their action and or inaction not have blood on their hands? Or does the blood count not matter because it is not on our doorstep?

• Best article I’ve read on here in a while. I’m not a Sinn Feiner due to some of their policies but I do think Gerry Adams is the most charismatic and competent leader out there and both himself and his former Unionist foes have shown great courage and direction in changing the situation in the North and in the hearts and minds of many. A slow process and a thankless one at times.

• I don’t think he is charismatic at all. I thought he was better off when RTE censored what he was saying.

He truly comes across as a bit of a bimbo if you listen to what he says. No doubt his being part of the SF policy think tank reflects this.

I was impressed by Martin McGuinness though in the Pres election.

Adams is a disappointment and he ensures he doesn’t ever spend too long in the limelight as he knows he is a weak thinker and speaker, hidden behind a facade of confidence.

• mcbab 02/02/13 #

Thomas. You and Julie should get together!! You can share your delusions!!!

• “I’m not a shinner but…” Grow a set of balls kid. Come out of the closet…

• Boys yere boss is a traitor and a stupid one at that and that is a reeeeeeeeeal big problem for this country.Biggest problem the country has ever faced an Enda’s in charge and only after surviving coup against him i dont admire Bruton i dont like him but i have to give him kud,os for trying to get rid of the E.U’S pet dog who is running a country in to the ground for a bone.Nice.

• tom 02/02/13 #

It was state censorship of all irish media and that was very wrong.
      Even today RTE isn’t a credible source of unbiased factual documentaries and news. This still needs to be address as it my TV licence that is being used to prop up a government propaganda broadcaster.

• When Fine Gael accept responsibility and apologies for the massacres of fellow Irish men at Ballyseedy Cross Tralee, Countess Bridge Killarney and Bahaghs Cahirsiveen, and Fianna Fail accepts responsibility for and apologies for depriving the nation of Michael Collins’s leadership by murdering him, then I’ll take their criticism of Gerry Adams and modern day Sinn Fein seriously. They ought to remember their own parties pasts lie in SF/IRA,

• Well said John! Not to mention the Blueshirts going off to fight for Franco after being suitably blesed with holy water at Dun Laoghaire pier. However I truly believe that Collins was assisinated by Brit intelligence as they knew he was truly the most dangerous man in Ireland. Prior to travelling to Cork he had uncovered the identity of a major spy in his own forces and was preparing to invade the North as soon as he had the Anti-Treaty forces with him.

• Mick. A very interesting theory. I’d be curious as to your source of information. Please feel free to send me advice as to where I can research your theory further.

• John, I first started hearing this about 30 years ago when I asked why nobody was alloded to see the armoured car Collins was travelling and then I heard that the uniform supposedly worn by Collins had been replaced because the hat was way too small, the original one had a bullet hole through it. Also the tunic had a powder burn on it indicating a shot fired at very close range. Then I met some people in NYC who told me the story of Collins driver that day who had to go on the run from the Free Staters, hiding out in the FRanciscan monastery in Cork city for a couple of months before being smuggled out of the country to NYC and he never returned home. Back in the 80′s a book was published by a former Irish Army captain, John Feeney or Feehan was his name I believe. As far as I can remember the book was called The Assination(or murder) of Michael Collins. Colins had some trusted people going through all the British Intelligence files in Dublin Castle and the morning he left Dublin was informed of the identity of this high ranking spy, whose code name was Thule. Collins promised to take care of it as son as he returned…..you know how he would have done that!!LOL! What he was doing was taking arms from the Brits to fight the “Irregulars” and was sending arms over the border to arm the Northern IRA. His trip to Cork was to call on the IRA to join him in the invasion of the North. The Brits knew Collins could pull it off but also they had to conceal the identity of the spy.

• Mick. Can we correspond directly. My email is seanomaolain@hotmail.com strangely enough I’ve heard this rumour / theory before in part or in full.

• Garda special Branch and Ruc Mi5 special branch colluded for years when will they admit it to the victims families never mind showing sympathy, fine gael labour finna fail all knew this from 1974 Dublin Monaghan bombings thats why the investigations into it ended 1 week later, uvf have bombed Monaghan 5 times last being just before the gfa to put pressure on republicans to support the gfa ,Cavan 2 times dublin 2-3 times from 1970 no convictions, Truth is there are brit govt agents in all Irish political parties lots operated openly in the Irish govt that also attracted slave mided people brainwashed by rte and british press.

• well put Eamon. Anybody rememer the Littlejohn borthers? They robbed the AIB in Grafton St after holding the manager and family in a tiger operation. They were Brit agents, caught by the Special Branch, convicted and then released by Garret Fitzgerald.

• Liam Cosgrave is alive and well and living under garda protection in Rathfarnham/Templeogue. He is privvy to all these secrets but strangely has never released any (auto) biography or memoirs. This is very suspicious given his role as taoiseach at such a critical time in Irelands history. Given the trust bestowed on him by the people of Ireland who elected him surely it is his duty to come clean on these critically important issues. I suggest a petition and publicity campaign to force the issue before he takes what he knows to the grave, he’s not getting any younger.

• If I recall Adams is about 64 by the time we have another general election he will be past normal retirement age, I said it before so will say it again why doesn’t he just retire or take a backseat and let someone with clean hands take over his party possibly someone who if they wanted to know the operation of the IRA need to read a history book and not just rely on memories!

• “I said it before so will say it again ”

You could stop saying it anytime now to be honest. It’s not a very original point. And, presuming you are not a member of SF, what concern is it of yours?

• tom 02/02/13 #

Gerry Adams has given a lot to this country both north and south and continues to do so. Unlike the current and past governments who are guided by self preservation at all cost.

• Wow. Mcab. I’m blown away by your extremely fact based and adult comment. I think I have completely changed my opinion. Well done

• The dogs bark, but the caravan moves on…

• Whatever about Gerry and his chequered past, FG/FF/Labour are trying to distract us from their failings. Like the Guy that causes a bad crash, shouts look and runs away!

• Stephen, rather than shout “Quick, look over there…”, what do you make of Gerry’s apology?

• Sorry but its your comment that is the distrction? An attempt to get us all to look away from what the article is about. Its nothing to do with FG/Lab, its about Gerry Adams’ apology.

• tom 02/02/13 #

Isn’t that the distraction. Take the fouse off FG failing strategy to manage the economy. Look over there, not here at unemployment job loses water and household charges, cuts to services and propaganda about debt deals and country recovering.

• Nydon 02/02/13 #

Not a member of SF but I have to hand it to them that even the worst of them seem to be more politically astute than some of the best of the rest.
    Maybe it’s because they have not yet hit the stage where public representation is achieved by inheritence or purchase.
    What puzzles is that for such a politically astute organisation, they’re so slow to seize the opportunity to retire their direct links with the past and remove the FF FG easy target from their back.

• Far from being astute I think they’ve actually being exposed quite badly on this issue. The genreal tenor of anybody that I’ve met in relation to this (bar SF supporters) is that this was a politically motivated apology with no sincerity at all. Even Blessed Mary Lou has been exposed here by trying to say that there was a difference in killing Gardaí and RUC officers.

I think SF have been caught badly here because they are trying to reconcile two parties in two different administrations.

• I agree Nydon.
      During the last election I considered voting for them for the first time, but then I checked their website, and they were still portraying a paramilitary image. They still harp on about a United Ireland when the South is lost to Germany/Europe, and when many in the North see themselves as Northern-Irish (as opposed to Irish). Also, If the Unionists in the North can share power with SF, I do not see why Southerners can’t.

The United Ireland aim is not one I share and it makes it difficult for me to vote for them because they want to give that so much time. As a Southern citizen, I’m much more concerned about regaining our own sovereignty and our democracy that our other parties have decimated.

• Great Article, agree with you.

• censored 02/02/13 #

Why is FF/FG/Labour so afraid of SF? :D

I can’t help but think any non FF/FG/Labour political movement in this country will be viciously attacked in the same way. I am still hoping that the traitors who brought this country to its knees will be locked up, have their pensions removed etc.

• Great article best I’ve read for a while, I wouldn’t think Sinn Feinn would be the right party to run the country but I don’t think they’d be any worse than F Gael or F Fail, I’m sick of listen to the lot of them they spend more time talking about each other than our countries problems. F###k them all!

• Ian 02/02/13 #

Why is adams apologising for the actions of an organisation he has always denied having membership of? How stupid does he really think we are?

• Why did David Cameron apologize for the actions of the British army on Bloody Sunday, an organisation he was never a part of?

• Ian 02/02/13 #

Everybody knows that david cameron was speaking on behalf of the british government and he had no personal connection to the british army or the events of the troubles. Gerry adams on the other was frequently pictured carrying the coffins of ira terrorists and practically all intelligence from both the irish and british intelligence agencies say that adams was very close to the top of the ira. Personally im happy that sinn fein and its leaders are involved in the political process, im just insulted when very blatant lies are told by them.

• Bruce 02/02/13 #

Ian

You are right. Adams has a great knowledge of organisations he claims he was never a member of.

Adams has no credibility whatsoever.

• Bruce you are the one with no credibility. The dissidents paramilitaries that operate in that area HATE Adams and Sinn Fein with a passion. If Gerry Adams was within range of their guns they would shoot him on the spot. So how so you figure that he knows what they are doing when they consider him a traitor and a sell out?

• Bruce 02/02/13 #

Oh come on Brian. Adams knows the members, structure and their tactics.

I am sure they hate him. Adams has shafted so many people he must have many enemies. I have said it before and will say it again: Adams does not have one ounce of integrity.

• I agree with most of that article except the part where you slate SFs economic policy….it was not SFs policy’s that got us in the mess we are in today…I for one will vote for them next election.lets face it we can’t do any worse than FF/FG/LAB

• Crocodile tears from somebody that is at best insincere at worst deeply involved in authorising the acts that lead to Garda deaths. We move on but never forget.

• Gerry Adams apology should be slated.

It should be slated because of the opportune time he made it in the week of a murder of a Garda was in itself political point scoring. He couldn’t do it for 17 years, why?

It should be slated because he still refers to D/Gda McCabe’s death as a killing when we all know it was premeditated murder.

It should be slated because when he made the apology the man who picked up the murderers from prison (TD Martin Ferris) a short time ago sat a matter of feet away from him. This must have been so insulting to the murdered man’s family.

• Agree that Det McCabe was murdered, not killed.

• Bruce 02/02/13 #

Brian,
      Agree 100% with you.

Author what a ridiculous article. The bottom line is evil acts were carried out. Nothing can diminish it.

Adams only “apologised” for the “killing” of garda McCabe because he needed to do so to placate his adopted constituents and condem the murder of the Garda last week.

Apologises from Adams, Ellis, Ferris and others in Republican movement would only be accepted when they candidly admit their past: no excuses, no cover up, no conditional waffle just plain honesty.

Then maybe families like Jean McConville’s, Jerry McCabe and many more can have peace.

Maybe as a starter Adams could make a frank statement to the Gardi about his South Armagh associates.

• Ye do but the court only tried them for manslaughter .Its evident everyday that the major political parties drop all democracy when it comes to Sinn Fein and return to tried and tested damnation of a party that was is a political party that was a mediator during a civil war about civil rights 4hrs up the road.The funny thing i see is supporters of parties hold the high ground on moral authority even after their parties sat back never helped anyone really who they could’nt buy a vote off and after 80 years of rule these same parties have overseen the destruction of our country ,the murders and countless rape of children, cover ups backhanders corruption croynism and bribery, that we must accept as normal.My grandfather said beware of those pointing fingers because they are usually have someting to hide.A garda friend of mine told me the main political parties and top gardai themselves will never let Sinn Fein into power because if they get hold of the garda files the cover ups the conspiring would bring them all down.Sinn Feins past is there for all to see.Have a think and look at what has gone on in this country and that is only the tip of the iceberg everyone knows deep down this country is rotten and has being goverened that way along time.

• So what you’re saying Jack Daniels is don’t mention Sinn Feins past but shit all over the other parties for theirs?

• Jack Daniels, you are spouting Class A unadulterated rubbish. I can categorically guarantee you that for every article lambasting SF to the fires of doom, there are 500 lambasting FG/FF/LAB each and every day of the week.
      SF are getting away with murder (excuse the choice of words – no pun intended), and always have. They are not excused from their past, none of us are, we have to live with it, that’s life and life is a bugger, but SF are by no means excused from it.

• What im saying o’reilly is that Sinn Feins past is all we ever talk about if people want to talk about the past lets stay there so and we’l start dragging up others partys past so. Its like this except the present our like all people not ready for change live in the past .Trawling up Jean Mc Conville and dragging out Jerry McCabes wife everytime Sinn Fein try to deal with todays problems only stinks of fear and incapability to debate the future that’s what im saying man.Im not up for old party propaganda im young i want a life its not about who controls its about the way it is controlled as far as im concerned i have no future under FG/FF policy NONE so im going to make it happen for myself by getting someone who loves Ireland to govern it.

• @Jack you say “someone to govern Ireland who loves it”, who? (And don’t say SF as they are just like all the TDs we have who only live themselves and their party & friends!)

• Hey lads time to join the 21st century young people want a future ye old boys and yere age group aint providing it all ye do is talk about a Garda that wa killed 20 something years ago in a botched robbery.Ye haven’ta clue whats happening to yere countryye just sit round wanting a litlle change but not too much.Ye lie the country this way have ye a pnsio on the way if yere not willing to help the future generations step a side people mu age have had enough of tip the bullshit culture this country endorses ..man up or be quiet.Do something anyway.Saying the same site as Pat Kenny Marian Finucane boring boring.

• Remember ferris supporting garda killers while a td. Supporting people robbing money, our money from our institutions andshooting our police asking for them to be released, having lovely warm photos with them.

Sinn fein is twisted full of twisted people who prey on the less intelligent in society.

Never, ever, ever will I vote for them. But having them there to vote for is domacracy so let them on. But don’t forget what lies beneath

• Is that right Tom how do you know are you a member of S.F do you go with to their meetings.Id say Tom your basing your thoughts on your own misgivings abut partys that have probably let you down in the past in fact let everyone down really.

• Julie 02/02/13 #

Reilly what I think he is saying is SF past has been highly publicised people know , FG FF past of corruption etc has all been covered from scandal to scandal through the years, as for, for every article printed about SF there are 500 for FG and FF are you surprised by this what have SF done politically wrong recently, what have ff FG done that why their in the papers more, SF have not been involved in corruption brown envelope Galway tents destroying the country, what do you expect.

• Julie, Sinn Fein have not been involved in corruption?
      I thought you said you did research? Must have been from SF sources only…

• Julie 02/02/13 #

Name a few incidents so for me Reilly of corruption( and yes w have all heard the ink problem) political recent corruption not the past and the IRA which is by the SF party.

• @Jack.. It’s good to hear a younger persons point of view , you’re well entitled to it and I agree with it also .. It’s the old bast***ds & begrudgers that dredge up the past that are holding the country back, which is the reason it’s in the shite it’s in at the moment…

• Gerry Adams has stated that he would have no compunction revealing his role ioaths troublesas part of a comprehensive truth commission which includes all protagonists. I have a funny feeling there is nothing Irish republicans could say that would satisfy you anyway.

• McCabe was murdered there is no doubt of that, but was it premedidated? I really doubt that!

• Sinn Fèin is on the rise, the government knows this, along with FF who are scrambling to claw back electoral support.
    The more attacks on Sinn Fèin, the more under threat the government feels.
    Remember that the next time Sinn Fèin holds the government to account for abandoning the vulnerable, the poor and the decent hard working citizens of this state and Mr.Kenny or one of his cabinet throw back a snide, unintelligent remark to avoid the question.

• Too little too late

• Gerry Adams’s apology was politically motivated though. It shocked many of his party in the north who then rushed to try and differentiate between Gardaí and RUC officers.

The simple shameful fact is that he apologised in order to protect the SF vote which was threatened by the publics rightful anger at the recent killing of a Detective Garda.

That’s why it made other parties sick and that’s why it makes me sick to the core. It should make every law abiding citizen of this country north and south sick also.

His apology was a shameful political move nothing more nothing less and should be seen as such.

• But is Niall Collins not guilty of the same thing, political point scoring?

You mentioned ‘to keep the votes’. Was Niall not doing the same, to make sure people know that FF are still relevant ?

• How many Gardaí were shot by anti-treaty republicans in the 1920s who all later went on to join, organise and lead Fianna Fail, does that make you sick to the core Hugh? Its all political with FF, they’d rip up the GFA or sell it for a buck to fight Sinn Fein. They’d rather have unionist majority rule in the six counties than have Sinn Fein in government. Shows the level at which Fianna Failures operate at. That sicks me to the core.

• And if he had kept quiet would your stomach be OK?
      We do not need sermons on political motivation from FFers!

• I think 5 were killed during the civil war, 1 uniformed civic Garda and 4 members of a special unit set up to interrogate republican prisoners. The same unit is linked to the murder of 25 republicans without trial in the dublin area.
      Notably one prisoner had his eye shot out during interrogation. Dark days indeed as Sean Lemass said in relation to the civil war “both sides did terrible things and they knew it”

In relation to the GFA I think you will find that Fianna Fáil along with other party’s did a lot to accommodate Sinn Fein and being them to the table. Indeed it could be said without the efforts of FF/FG/LAB/SDLP and others SF would still be out in the cold. If that cost us votes then I say it was worth it to bring SF away from the gun and into democratic politics. Sinn Fein would do well to remember that.

• Ah now, FFer rewriting history again to try and lay full claim to the peace process. Give over!

• The only one trying to rewrite history is Adams, spouting pure nonsense over the airwaves any chance he gets. The only ones who believe him are his own blind followers who think he is as pure as snow. Catch yerself on.

• Look at Niall Collins, it is not less than 3 years that he demanded that a Guard be sacked for calling for an end to corrupt practices in FF Govt;s. Less than 3 years since the traitor Brian Lenihan and FF friends handed over control to the Troika and also agreed to cut the no. of Guards down to 13000.

There is no love lost between older Republicans and older Guards but do not dare to suggest that FF have any meas for the Guards or a genuine concern about the tragic death recently.

• Denzil 02/02/13 #

He couldn’t have said this in 1996 ???? ???????????????????????????????

• Denito 02/02/13 #

Where to start with this article.

First of all, SF’s opponent’s are cynical when they attack Adams’s apology, but the writer sees no cynicism in the timing of the apology, coming as it did after a young Garda was murdered in his own constituency and amid the public revulsion that ensued.

“There is no use, beyond political expediency, in dragging up the past time and again as the default response to any political point that Sinn Féin is making.” Why not take the same attitude to Fianna Fáil? After all their economic recklessness which led to a massive loss of our sovereignty is all in the past too.

While the Good Friday agreement has certainly delivered the goods in bringing peace to Northern Ireland, I don’t share the writer’s view that it’s principles extend as far as requiring political parties in the Republic to roll over for Sinn Féin in the manner that the SDLP did in the north. The idea that Adams, Ferris et al. should be treated with kid gloves in case it drives some “frustrated republicans” towards violence is not acceptable in a democratic state. If they have truly signed up to democracy, they have to take the rough with the smooth and have any skeletons in their closet rattled from time to time, the same as any other politician would.

This article, on the whole, reads rather like that “Leave Britney Alone” youtube clip from a few years back.

• Couldn’t have said it better myself.

• Julie 02/02/13 #

2 years since FF played a massive role of corruption that brought this whole country to its knees. SF, the troubles were 20 years ago. SF seems to be the only party who care and are concerned about equality and the economy, they want to stop 3.1 billion illegally leaving the economy and being destroyed instead keep it here and invest it in jobs , that is so loony how could they dream of that. Enda talk talk talk talk and actually get NOTHING done, what has he done organised the gathering, broken up families all over the world, reduced the amount of disposable income people have, ruining small business, not given any help to mortgage holders 4 years in, avoided every good question asked of them by SF by bringing up the decade ago past, do you know why because they can’t ask the question truthfully or they don’t have a clue. All the while paying themselves massive salaries. There was mistakes made but a least they didn’t sell there people out the stood up to fight for their rights, what are our lot doing for us ?
      SF and independents are the only chance we have left, lets not make the same mistakes again, FG and FF have proven they will lie to you to get what they want, your tax money and their luxurious lifestyle at any cost. I for one an sick of them, SF will have me vote I want the future of Ireland to be secure and with the present government I don’t have a clue what they are at or what they will do next to hurt the people they represent!

• Is the SF kool-aid nice Julie?

• Julie 02/02/13 #

Jim either respond to my comment or go away, you obviously have nothing to say.

• Lets face it, Niall Collins is a third rate politician. He is only there to keep the Dail seat in the family after his uncle retired. You know, the uncle who was convicted of tax offences.

Problem is though that his type of cynical opportunism and faux outrage is exactly the type of thing which gives politics a bad name.

It says something about where his priorities lie in that he spends most of his time obsessing about Sinn Fein as opposed to to focusing on the government..

Some brass neck though from Collins given his Fianna Fail governments Garda cutbacks.

• But Limerick Born,
      Why are you mentioning FF’s past?
      Don’t you want what happened in the past to remain on the past?
      I thought the central argument to any discussion like this by SF supporters is the let the past remain in the past?
      Or do you want selective history memory?
      I don’t quite understand.

• Aaron, mr Adams did not apologise for the murder of Gerry MCabe he said wanted to. There is a subtle difference and for a man as verbally dextrous as mr Adams I believe he would be aware of the difference. Some examples of the difference :
    I believe : I want to believe
    I understand : I want to understand
    I forgive : I want to forgive.
    If mr Adams is truly sorry for the murder let him say so. I want to believe it could happen but unfortunately I dont believe it will.

• Well put. I am no fan of SF in regard to both their constitutional strategy (keep moving goalposts) and their economic policies (a new form of economic recklessness) … But give me the SF of today anytime in preference to the SF of yesteryear (armed with bullets and bombs).
    In fact by not taking SF head on in relation to the current issues… Others are only giving their looney left views undue credence.

• Could he not have apologised at the relevant time? The day of Garda Jerry McCabes murder was the time for that. The timing of the apology was shocking. The day before the funeral of D/Gda Donohue was inappropriate.

• mcbab 02/02/13 #

The timing of the apology was totally inappropriate. Makes you wonder if Garda O’Donoghue had been murdered in any other constituency than his own would he have made an apology at all.
      Also McDonalds remarks only serve to show that the callousness continues on. Anybody who was deluded enough to think that the younger sf party people were of a different mindset can now see that it is not true.

• If it wasn’t his constituency I would imagine there would be no apology. The apology and subsequent attendance at the funeral was a cynical exercise with political connotations. You see folks the people of Dundalk are no fools, witness the streets last Wednesday.

• Agree.
      In order for SF to move on they need to not only clear out the leader, but everyone else who has had a relationship with him – otherwise they’re all indirectly implicated (whether they were or not involved is irrelevant as long as they have to keep standing up for their leader and putting out his fires).
      Only then will people start to actually believe anything SF say (if even, but it’s a start).

• I cant see them doing anything different to make digruntled voters of other parties vote for them keep on making sense keep on putting the people first keep on thriving for equality and stick to what your party objectives are and let people see what their all about changing leaders because certain people think it would be considered populist something SF are regularly accused of .Gerry Adams will hand over leadership when S.F think its the right time and if people want to vote for them they will but it will be based on the current problems we face.Gerry Adams is the leader and Mary lou Doherty and all the rest have a huge say because it is a different set up to the rest.Peadar Toibin was cautioned because their was a vote on issue at ard fheis but Peadar still said what he had to say and will continue to do so and the rest of the party know this .S.F will be in power when the people see they are the only alternative along with Independents to the incompetence that has gone before.

• Excellent article but I will be voting SF in the next election.. I’d like to see Pearse Doherty running the show by then ….

• Why did it take Deputy Adams so long to apologise? Too little too late.

• Bad PR after Adrian Donohue’s murder with Dolores McCabe and Gda Ben O’Sullivan being so prominent in the coverage… Not to mention, now that Delours Price is dead, her tapes can be released.

Damage limitation from Adams, nothing more. A genuine apology would have been given 17 years ago.

• Good points made …but a bit contradicted by Mary Lou’s recent rantings?

• Fair play to Sinn Feinn they look there trying hard. However the rest of our political establishment are in denial and actually are running scared .

As of now Sinn Feinn are the only party who haven’t had a major contribution to the destruction of our economy and people. They haven’t betrayed us either.

So for them reasons they are getting my vote next time.

• Should David Cameron be slated for apologizing for Bloody Sunday? After all it was over 30 years too late and he was never a member of that organisation (or so we are told).

Should the people who have used the murder of Garda Donohoe as a means of attacking Sinn Fein and Republicans be slated? Mattoid here is an example of people who are engaged in this despicable practice of using Garda Donohoe’s murder as a political football to their own ends. The Irish Independent reports http://www.independent.ie/national-news/girl-16-is-suspected-member-of-garda-murder-gang-3371971.html that the Gardai believe that it is a criminal gang that carried out the murder, that the IRA have said that they didn’t do it and that the IRA might in fact deal with the criminal gang themselves as they have brought down too mush police activity to the area. Yet still there are people who totally ignore all the news reports and insist on using a Garda’s murder to their own political ends. Hypocrites is probably too nice a word for them.

• Denzil 02/02/13 #

Your forgetting what he did say back then
      “” in fairness to them they carried out this act having been authorised by someone to do so “”
      Being authorised what the hell is that supposed to mean
      sure its grand then lads shoot away you were authorised by someone sure shoot 2 gards in the back like little cowards

• Denzil what’s your point got to do with my comment? I mentioned nothing about the Adare attack. One of my points is about people using the deaths of Gardai for their own political ends.

• From reading your post Brian, I can’t take you seriously. You seem to suggest its fine if the IRA take care of the killers themselves. That’s not justice. That’s murder. That’s what The IRA did to Garda McCabe.
      Gerry Adams has no credibility. If he really cared about Ireland he would walk away and give sein fein a chance to truly leave the past behind.

• Man on the Street I would appreciate it if you read my comment properly before you go accusing me of advocating summary justice or murder. What I said was ” The Irish Independent reports….. that the IRA might in fact deal with the criminal gang themselves” Now I don’t write for the Irish Independent, I didn’t write the article (which you obviously didn’t read) and I certainly didn’t endorse that type of action. So I don’t know where you are coming from accusing me of advocating that the IRA murder the perpetrators of Garda Donohoe’s murder.

BTW Adams should have left years ago but like all politicians he has got too used to the cushy life.

• Correction Brian. All other partys have seen leadership change over the last 30 years. Why has Gerry never been challenged? I believe its because the party is not a democratic one but a dictatorship. Right down to the party imposing the same austerity on its TD’s that it rails against in the Dail…

• O’Reilly what are you correcting me on exactly as I mentioned nothing about Gerry Adams or Party Leaders?

• O'Reilly 02/02/13 #

Brian, you suggested he stayed on as leader like the others cause he likes the cushy life. Fact is, he’s seen all the others come & go yet he has never been challenged. He’s there because he says so…

• O’Reilly he has been President of SF for the past 20 years and I think that he should step down and let a younger leadership take over. He carries the baggage from the past and I would love to see Enda Kenny try to deal with Pearse Doherty or Mary Lou when he couldn’t throw past IRA actions against them! Christ the poor man wouldn’t know what to do!

As for Adam’s length of tenure I see no wrong in that as I’m sure that you are aware there are many companies in the world of business who have CEO’s in positions for a great length of time. If it ain’t broke then don’t fix it would seem to be the case here. If other political leaders have gone by the wayside then it’s because they were not doing their job right, Cowen, Bertie, Haughey spring to mind. If Adams can bring bring SF in from the cold, implement the GFA and put it on a par in the polls with FF then why would SF get rid of him?

• mattoid 02/02/13 #

@Brian
      I have no particular axe to grind with SF – I am not tied to any party and I choose who to vote for in each election for a variety of reasons. I’m certainly not aiming to make any political capital out of this as you suggest, but I do think SF as a viable party need to distance themselves from those linked with the bullet and the bomb.
      What I do have a problem with though is people who would lead our country who have shady pasts and who are blatantly dishonest with the people in this regard.
      Ask yourself why Adams has come out with this statement now – this week? After 17 years of not only refusing to apologise but of lobbying for the killers’ release, not to mention his party colleagues greeting them as they were released from jail?
      That, my friend, is hypocrisy.

• P.Capore 02/02/13 #

If SF distance themselves from past Republican struggles and sacrifices then they will loose their support and most of their membership. It is not going to happen. If you want the FG/FF gombeen circus to continue fine but I don’t.

• mattoid 03/02/13 #

Not at all – if Adams were to hand over the reins to Mary Lou and Pierce I think SF stand to gain support from large numbers of mainstream voters who are looking for change but who have a moral objection to voting for Adams and his ilk.

• Mattoid, are you friends with jim corr?

• There’s no way in hell a former terrorist group should be running our country

• i think the recent death of one of his murdering collegues and the impending stories to eminate from the new york interviews .. not printable till her death .. has him running scared

• “new york interviews ” hahahahah I think you mean Boston, and they won’t be released until ALL interviewees are dead. Could be a while horse. In the meantime, get your facts straight.

• P.Capore 02/02/13 #

The New York Interviews are the big one indeed Brian. Will cause problems. He is meant to have slated Martin McG’s fashion sense in a Cosmo article and that SF HQ in Dublin gets its biscuits in Dunnes.

• “Am I the only person who thinks Adams might know more about Garda Donohoe’s murder than he is letting on?”

I’d have thought so, yeah.

• Mike 02/02/13 #

Will Adams repeat his apology outside the sanctuary of Dàil Èireann?

Will he ever acknowledge his membership, sorry, leadership of the IRA?

I know people have to move on, but we’re talking about the murders of innocent men, women and children in the not-to-distant past and in that I include soldiers and police officers.

Cop on and stop defending the indefencible.

• Gerry should retiree and let Mary lou and Pearse run the show…

• James you are right that they should be fair game -but only in an honest way -not to be taunted and abused in the Dail as a means to avoid answering important questions about current policy decisions by this government.

On the question of campaigning for prisoner releases. It was all part of the GFA , and would you not think they would have been far more hypocritical if they disowned those prisoners who were part of the same struggle.

Remember we now have people in government in the south who were previously part of the struggle but denied they had a secret army -and did disown their prisoners. Which ones do you believe were the most honest?

• Good so we agree on that Angela, that politicians of all parties should be criticised when appropriate. I totally agree with you about them being taunted to dodge questions in the Dáil – it’s the standard of ad hominen, immature debate we’ve come to expect in the Houses of Oireachtas – Willie O’Dea was an expert in this regard.

Regarding the people in government at the moment who were previously part of the struggle, are you referring to Eamon Gilmore’s past involvement with Official Sinn Féin?

Do you honestly believe that the killers of Jerry McCabe were part of any struggle?

• Winn Féin will never move forward unless Adams steps down. I have great respect for Gerry Adams and believe he did a tremendous job for peace on this island, but if he wants SF to move on, he needs to step down.

• Dave 02/02/13 #

Indeed Mark. The Sinn Fein peeps need to open their ears a little and hear what others are telling them – they are saying loud and clear that they cant vote for SF with a clear conscience while the current leadership remains.

• well, when one removes all the above posters who have obvious political affiliations of their own, then I believe most will agree with the tone of the article.

It was a fair and balanced article- though I couldn’t help note that the author wavered a bit and couldn’t help himself but criticise SF economic policy for opposing austerity. (the establishment will always be the establishment and incapable of thinking outside the box).

as for the timing of Adams apology – are people really suggesting he should have remained silent on such a murder taking place in his own constituency? I wonder what all the wise ones on this site would be writing about now if he did that.

Truth is -most people today are worrying about how they can pay their bills and get their next meal – not what happened 20 or 30 years ago. Thats Whats killing FF &FG because they can see SF as addressing those very issues which were and are caused by the FF/FG/lab Troika.

• Sinn Féin don’t oppose austerity in Northern Ireland where they are in government, they impose it.

You’re right. Thankfully, most people don’t worry about what happened 20 or 20 years ago. However, for some people, people who lost loved ones in the conflict 20 or 30 years ago, I’m sure these people think quite a lot about what might have been and events 20 or 30 years ago feature quite strongly in their daily thoughts.

I agree with Aaron McKenna’s point that if Sinn Féin make a point about their policy that the other parties disagree with, then the parties should challenge that point on its merits, rather than mentioning links with violence. However, I disagree strongly that Sinn Féin’s relationship with those who took part in the armed conflict should be airbrushed out of history.

We pay Gerry Adams’ salary, he must earn his democratic mandate for the next term, so just like any other politician I think he is fair game for criticism.

I would criticise his apology because it didn’t sound sincere and genuine. In particulary, I think it goes against Mr Adams’ and Sinn Féin’s behaviour in the years following the killing. Mr Adams personally campaigned for the killers’ early release; Sinn Féin members were photographed laughing with the killers in Castlerea Prison; Marin Ferris was on the welcoming committee when the McCabe killers were released from prison – none of these sound like remorseful acts of contrition to me. What do you think?

• Fair point Brian – its a bit like saying Fianna Fail was once linked to the IRA, or Labour/Demorcatic left was once linked to the Official IRA etc.

For example -in todays sunday independent -the editorial criticised Gerry Adams apology- Yet the Editor in a past life publicly defended the Altershot Bombings by the Official IRA in 1972.

Now Theres IRONY and HYPocracy for ya SINDO Style

• SF are getting votes because they are presenting opposition to the government regardless of motive. I will never ever vote for SF because of what they were. BUT…. I have found myself agreeing recently with some of their policies and comments…. ALL politicians say things for political expedience. Gerry Adams has taken a risk expressing some political risk within his own party, for loyalists and others it will never be enough.

For the current generation SF will always have big problems to over come but i think they are thinking long term and i can see a day when SF may form a coalition government wherever thats good or bad i dont know

• Well I’m no conspiracy theorist if that’s what you mean, but you have to admit that on the face of it there appears to be a strong possibility of paramilitary involvement, and there’s very little that goes on in Republican circles that Adams wouldn’t be aware of, even if he’s not involved.
    By apologising for Jerry McCabe’s murder is he seizing the initiative in trying to distance himself from the killers of Adrian Donohoe?

• Yes

• Apologies are good; disclosure is better.

• What an obnoxious little article; first off, McCabe was murdered, not killed. The intention to end his life was premeditated. And now, after 17 years of pathetic rationalisations, we’re supposed to respect Gerry Adams for crass opportunism in the light of another officer dead in the line of duty? Pure bullish politics and morally bankrupt. Sinn Fein play the populist card because it suits them to do so – yet where they’re in power up north, they’re implementing severe austerity measures. I don’t mind this as economically it probably makes sense, but I am staggered by their blatant hypocrisy. But worst of all, the author wants us to give SF a pass on democratic merit; a party who have consistently contravened democracy and supported violence, a party whose leaders quite literally have blood on their hands. What a joke.

• P.Capore 02/02/13 #

Many political parties across the world have advocated the use of military action during conflict, especially when under attack. Most of them in fact. Most European Govt’s have or recently had ex-military personal in them. The Irish Independent described McCabe’s death as a killing, take it up with them for setting the vocab.

• P.Capore 02/02/13 #

One other point, your knowledge and concern about Jerry McCabe is so shallow that you don’t even know how to spell his name. Lot of respect there David.

• Sinn fein see every event as an opportunity even the murder of a member of the Gardai. They are as ruthless cynical and calculating in politics as they were during the armed struggle as they called it. Remember they denied they were involved in the murder of Gerry McCabe, John Morley and Henry Beirne initially only when when they facts came to light did they admitted to it, so they still have a distance to travel to establish credibility. But again their motto is hog the head line and they have managed it on the murder of a decent man may he rest in peace.

• Denis, nice rant there against Sinn Fein and you have managed to do ” it on the murder of a decent man”.

Small problem though.

Sinn Fein were not involved in the murder of Gerry McCabe, it was a unit of the PIRA.

John Morley and Henry Beirne were not murdered by the IRA or Sinn Fein, they were murdered by the INLA http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Deaths_of_Henry_Byrne_and_John_Morley .

I would suggest that based on your factually incorrect comment that you ” still have a distance to travel to establish credibility.”

• Ah Brian would you cop on now. Are you seriously trying to tell us that Sinn Fein and PIRA have no links? You’re even worse that Gerry “I was never a member” Adams.

• Jim where did I deny that there were links between SF and the PIRA, I would be grateful if you could point that out for me.

Also ( and to be honest I’m getting tired of having to repeat myself for people who don’t bother to read comments properly) Look at what Denis said ” they (SF) denied they were involved in the murder of Gerry McCabe, John Morley and Henry Beirne initially only when when they facts came to light did they (SF) admitted to it, so they (SF) still have a distance to travel to establish credibility.”

I pointed out that it the McCabe manslaughter charges were brought against members of the PIRA and not Sinn Fein. Are you trying to tell me that Sinn Fein were involved in the Adare attack?

I also pointed out that the killing of the other 2 Gardai was carried out by the INLA, so could you show me the links between SF and the INLA I you wouldn’t mind.

There were very strong links between SF and the PIRA in the past, that is an undeniable fact, however to accuse SF of being directly involved in the Adare attack and the killing of 2 Guards by another completely different organisation is a complete fabrication. If you are going to criticize me I have no problem with that but please do me the courtesy of reading my comments in full and the comments that I am responding to. That way you won’t have to go around putting words in my mouth like ” Are you seriously trying to tell us that Sinn Fein and PIRA have no links? ” when in fact I never said any such thing.

• P.Capore 02/02/13 #

Jim. Not every Republican was a Volunteer but every Volunteer was a Republican. SF are part of the Republican family, course there was some cross over. Not to the degree that people believed though.

• What troubles was was mc cabe involved in???? What did shooting him have to do with the troubles?? Jerry Adams was one of d main men who wanted those guys released under the Good Friday agreement. They acted on their own when they shot mc cabe in adare. Had nothing to do with the troubles

• Adams also campaigned for the release of loyalist thugs who’d tried to kill him.

• Ya they tried to kill him during the troubles. He was in the ira and he was a part of the troubles. Mc cabe had nothing to do with the troubles.

• You said “Jerry[sic] Adams was one of d[sic] main men who wanted those guys released under the Good Friday agreement.”

I was just pointing out that he wanted all prisoners released, not just republican prisoners.

• P.Capore 02/02/13 #

Well a lot of people in Limerick Republican circles were very sore over the circumstances in which Hugh Hehir was shot dead. An eye for an eye does leave the whole world blind though.

• Well said Avril. Well Gerry Adams agreed to the Good Friday Agreement, ergo he wanted all prisoners released, not just republican ones. However, it seems like he made a special effort to have the killers of Jerry McCabe released. He said that he got a personal, private assurance from Bertie Ahern that the four men held in Castlerea Prison for the killing of Jerry McCabe would be released. I don’t remember him boasting in the media about assurance he received about the release of loyalist prisoners under the GFA.

What point are you making about Hugh Hehir? He was killed by the Garda Special Branch in 1988, during an armed robbery of a Post Office in Clare. An IRA “fundraising” mission. Do you think that his killing was a motive for the shooting of Jerry McCabe and Ben O’Sullivan? Could you please just explain why you brought his name into things?

• Once again Aarron, pure nonsense from you…

• I’m pleased to say Im very happy with the size of my balls O’Reilly. I didn’t vote Sinn Fein last time out and am not a party member. Therfore not a Shinner. I was just expressing my opinion on the article and the man. And that’s all it is. An opinion. Not an insult. Crass statement without fact or personal childish statement. Ill leave those for you.

• Yes, you are.

• Yes I do James, and deep down I believe you know that to be true also.

Just because you dont or didnt share their views and political outlook -not to mention their methods in trying to achieve them, doesn’t or cannot take from the struggle they were part of.

That is not to say they were right to be in Adare that day, or they should have had weapons or used them or any of that. They were there for a reason and it was all connected, whether we like it or not, to a then yet unresolved political struggle/conflict in another part of our country.

to now insist they were not part of that struggle, is as silly and as immature as the call by a unionist politician some years ago on the British Government to say it had never been at war with the IRA.

Or indeed as crazy as some bright spark historian saying the German Nazi’s weren’t involved in a struggle to achieve a political vision, because people just didnt like Hitler and his sick criminal enterprise.

• He got hes reaction so, didnt he Declan?

Blueshirt reactionaries

• Good man Aaron… Talk about playing to your audience!!! The SF brigade that live on this site will love you… Its hard to take you seriouly…. A few months back you wrote a very insulting piece on Enda Kenny…which i am sure the SF brigade loved also… And then you come up with this…!!!
    Your probally just looking for a reaction… More look to you but nobody will take you serious..
    D

• Let me tell you something Aaron, The Blueshirts and Labour did not ever try bringing Sinn Fein and the Republican movement into mainstream politics, in fact quite the opposite. When the Peace Process began, with a big imput from Irish-America, John Hume was castigated by the revisionist media in Dublin for “daring” to meet with Gerry Adams. The fact is that despite extremely viscious slander from John Bruton and his fellow travellers including the revisionist media in Dublin, Gerry Adams and John Hume, not to mention George Mitchell and Bill Clinton persevered and through Adams sincerity and leadership the IRA were convinced to destroy their arsenel and sit at the peace table. None of this had any imput from Blueshirts or Labour. All they did was slag the process until it was seen to be successful and then they jumped on the bandwagon. Gerry Adams should be lauded from every corner of Ireland and al we get are these stupid soundbites! Shame on the “establishment” aprties of Ireland!

• mattoid 02/02/13 #

The thumbs would suggest otherwise

• sdfdf

Add New Comment