TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Revenue uncovers oil laundering plant in Co Monaghan

The plant was operating when gardaí searched the premises, and represented a potential loss to the Exchequer of around €7.5m per year.

Image: X-PRIZE via Flickr/Creative Commons

AN OIL LAUNDERING plant has been discovered in Co Monaghan.

Officers from Revenue’s Customs Service, supported by the Garda Regional Support Unit, uncovered the plant this morning in Longfield, Castleblayney, Co Monaghan.

They said it had the capacity to launder approximately 15 million litres of fuel every year, with a potential loss to the Exchequer of approximately €7.5m per annum.

The oil laundry was in operation when Revenue officials carried out a search of premises, and was concealed in a curtain-sided lorry in a commercial yard.

The lorry, two 40-foot containers, two tankers, a van and 40,000 litres of laundered product were seized.

A “significant quantity” of toxic waste was also uncovered at the site.

Gardaí arrested three men, one who is in his early sixties and two who are in their mid-thirties. They men are currently being detained at Carickmacross and Castleblayney Garda stations and enquiries are continuing.

The operation was the result of surveillance activity carried out by Revenue officials and forms part of their ongoing activities to tackle fuel fraud.

Revenue said that as part of its strategy in this area, “an international search for a new fuel marker was announced by revenue authorities in Ireland and the United Kingdom last week”.

Revenue said it would like to “remind motorists and the public that they should be aware of the risks posed to their vehicles by using laundered fuel”.

It also takes much needed funds from the Exchequer; hurts legitimate trade and of course it is funding criminal activity.

Read: Oil laundering plant, cigarettes and smuggled fuel seized by Customs>

Read next:

Comments (24 Comments)

• The reasons these operations are not just taken out immediately are as seen with this one! The authorities wait and ensure the plant is operating and that there are individuals present! I don’t think that you can say that three arrests are the result of the authorities having a low tolerance! I don’t think you can really criticise when on one hand you say the locals turn a blind eye and then say nothing is done! People need to take responsibly for what is going on on their own doorstep before blaming others for inaction!

• Gerard 10/07/12 #

Good work, cost me €1200 to get my injectors replaced because of washed fuel from a “reputable” filling station.

• Derek 10/07/12 #

Report that station to the police. If you had to replace injectors your probably not alone. I wouldn’t let them off if they are making a quick buck which ends up costing customers costly repair work.

• Gerard 10/07/12 #

I already did Derek, so did alot of people in my area, they were shut down by customs about 2 months ago. 2 brothers from dundalk were running the station. Only found this out after they were shut down. All the staff were locals and hadn’t a clue what was going on

• A certain supermarket chain of petrol stations are notoriously guilty of that

• Fuel laundering in a border county?
    Never!

• The problem is that the courts do not regard this as serious crime. A recent case saw a man covicted of laundery 6,000 litres PER DAY! When arrested he refused to say where he was taking the stuff or who his accomplices were. Sentence…two years, yes two years suspended. Where’s the deterrent.nnThe solution is to abolish agricultural deisel and repay the tax to farmers against receipts from the oil delivery company.

• mcbab 10/07/12 #

Well done to the Customs and Garda.

• Surely in this day and age we regulate this more effectively. Why can’t farmers keep all receipts for diesel and submit them with their monthly/annual returns to get a tax rebate. X amount of litres allowed per annum based on Y number of registered farm vehicles.

In a simple stroke, diesel laundering would stop, or am I missing something?

• Darren 10/07/12 #

Great Job done by guards and customs again ..

• Resel 10/07/12 #

They should just advertise that this kind of fuel will damage your car costing you more in the end. Then people wouldn’t want it.

• Just remember lads. If you’re driving back to Dundalk from Blaney, don’t go through Culaville or the siezed goods and plant will be taken off you AGAIN ! http://www.thejournal.ie/customs-truck-carrying-fuel-laundering-evidence-hijacked-and-set-alight-148712-Jun2011/

• My husband’s family live near the border, in a rural area. They can point out the lorries, drive you past the laundering plants and name the people involved. They like most people in the area (and judge them how you like for this, but they have to live there) just say nothing and ignore it.

I’ve heard people say (and obviously this is no more than a feeling or hunch) that there is a certain ‘tolerance’ for this by the authorities. Plants that appear to operate openly, for months/years, are one day raided. Some people say (and this would be just hearsay) that on those days the stock is low, equipment has been moved and there are fewer lorries than normal.

I have heard people say they’ve seen customs vehicles regularly pass these lorries and farms in the time they operate, a long, long time before action is taken.

Of course I have no evidence of anything I’ve written above. It’s most likely just local gossip or an urban (or rural) legend.

• O No! Not again……. (“,)

• Sorry but can someone explain how oil is laundered – do they mean diesel??

• Agricultural diesel is sold at a lower price to farmers. It is marked with a red dye which can be detected by the Gardai if used in a private car.These smugglers buy or steal ag. diesel and use chemicals to wash out the red colour.These chemicals are very bad for modern diesels as they can affect the injectors and the mirror finish on their high efficiency fuel pumps.
      What a lot of people don’t know is that there is a similar scam concerning petrol.Additives which are bad for the engine can be added to “stretch” the petrol.

• Slippery !!!!!!!!!!!!

• pjbrowne 11/07/12 #

the people don’t know they are buying it most petrol stations are in on the scam there making a fortune selling it to unsuspecting drivers it ruins modern deisel engines you would be better off using the agriculture diesel before it was washed and take your chance st least it won’t ruin your engine

Add New Comment