You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

aon focal eile

Why was Richie Kavanagh pressing the flesh at the Fianna Fáil Ard Fheis?

He’s out on the campaign trail.

Fianna Fail Ard Fheis Brian Lawless / PA Wire Brian Lawless / PA Wire / PA Wire

HUNDREDS OF FIANNA Fáil members have descended on the Citywest Hotel today for the party’s one-day conference.

You’re likely to spot a few familiar faces among the crowd, including a certain former taoiseach who is due to make an appearance, but one was attracting particular attention earlier today – the behemoth of Irish culture Richie Kavanagh.

The Aon Focal Eile star was seen meeting and greeting several delegates.

This ranged from sitting TDs…

… and councillors…

… to the garda public order unit who are on standby at the hotel today.

He even found time to pop into the 1916 Corner.

An unusual sight at a party ard fheis, but he explained he wasn’t just there to meet and greet.

“I’ve always been a big supporter of Fianna Fáil, and of Charles Haughey,” he told TheJournal.ie. ”There was great craic back in the day putting up posters.”

Kavanagh said he has been involved in the election campaign of  Councillor Jennifer Murnane O’Connor, who is running in the Carlow-Kilkenny constituency.

16/01/2016.77u Fianna Fail Ard Fheis. Pictured Lea Sam Boal / RollingNews.ie Sam Boal / RollingNews.ie / RollingNews.ie

The singer, who is now battling Parkinson’s disease but has vowed that it will not affect his performances, said the area “badly needs” a Fianna Fáil TD to take a seat in the general election.

We’ve been out canvassing with her. We even went up the side of Mount Leinster in a jeep. We’re going places no TD has ever gone before.

“There’s plenty of votes up on the top of Mount Leinster.”

Follow @TJ_Politics on Twitter for all the latest from the Ard Fheis.

Poll: Will you vote for Fianna Fáil? >

More: Catch all of our election coverage over at TheJournal.ie Election Centre >