TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Rights group calls on Israel to end Palestinian residency restrictions

In its latest report, Human Rights Watch says that control of the population registry is forcing families apart.

Palestinian Hussein al-Ustaz sits with his children in his house in the West Bank village of Bir Naballah on 4 February 2012.
Image: AP Photo/Majdi Mohammed

A GAZA-BORN woman recently sneaked into her native land through a smugglers’ tunnel because the legal route was blocked. A car mechanic who settled in the West Bank 15 years ago to raise a family lives in fear of deportation because his ID card says he’s originally from Gaza.

They are among thousands of Palestinians who the New York-based Human Rights Watch says have had their lives disrupted by Israeli restrictions on residency in the West Bank and Gaza, territories captured by Israel in the June 1967 Mideast war and sought for a Palestinian state.

In a 90-page report released today, Human Rights Watch called on Israel to lift restrictions on residency, saying they are often arbitrary and violate international and human rights law, including the right to family life.

“The result has been to split families apart, to arbitrarily ban people from moving around and to arbitrarily prevent a large number of people from returning to their own homes,” said the report’s author, Bill Van Esveld.

HRW said about 35,000 Gazans who moved to the West Bank remain there without permits, while Israel last year agreed to register 2,800 as West Bank residents.

The US government estimates that about 2.5 million Palestinians live in the West Bank and 1.6 million in Gaza.

Israel handed some 40 per cent of the West Bank to Palestinian self-rule in the 1990s and withdrew from Gaza in 2005, but never relinquished the final say over who is a legal resident of the territories. Israel has cited security grounds for retaining the right to block entry.

Israeli government spokesman Mark Regev said Israel has granted residency in the West Bank and Gaza to tens of thousands of Palestinians over the years and accused Human Rights Watch of anti-Israel bias.

He said Israel’s policies are subject to review “by a fiercely independent judiciary.”

(Video via HumanRightsWatch)

Israel set up the register after a September 1967 census in the West Bank and Gaza, issuing ID cards to nearly 1 million Palestinians. Human Right Watch said at least 270,000 residents were not present during the census, having either fled the war three months earlier or spending time abroad for work or study.

Israel excluded them from the registry and blocked the possibility of return for many, the report said.

A woman known as Umm Basel, born in Gaza in 1967, said her parents fled to Jordan before the census. After life in exile in Egypt and Jordan, neither of which granted her citizenship, she paid smugglers $200 three months ago to sneak her and her son into Gaza through a tunnel. She has since applied to Israel for a Gaza residency permit, but has received no word the request is being processed. She would not give her full name for fear of repercussions.

Egypt shares a border with Gaza and largely limits passage to those with Palestinians with Israeli-approved ID cards.

Israel’s policy on residency rights has fluctuated, along with the ebb and flow of the conflict.

Israel has in principle allowed those with ID cards to apply for residency for spouses or children, and over the years, tens of thousands of such requests were granted. However, huge backlogs built up, especially at times of tension, and Israel also stripped tens of thousands of their residency on grounds they had stayed abroad too long, the report said.

In a related issue, Israel has banned virtually all Palestinian travel between the West Bank and Gaza since the outbreak of a Palestinian uprising in 2000, citing security. The two territories, on opposite sides of Israel, are considered one entity by the international community.

Separated

Hussein al-Ustaz, a Gazan man who moved to the West Bank before the travel ban went into effect, remains an “illegal alien” even though he married a local woman and they have six children.

His ID card identifies the 34-year-old as a Gaza resident and Israeli authorities have so far refused to change his registration to the West Bank. If stopped at an Israeli checkpoint, he could face arrest and deportation to Gaza.

Al-Ustaz said he misses his parents and eight siblings. “My sisters have all married, and I haven’t seen them. My brother was killed in Gaza during an Israeli incursion in 2006. I didn’t go to the funeral,” he said.

Regev charged that the group has obsessively focused on Israel, was criticised for this by its founder in 2009 and that it had used anti-Israel activity to raise funds from Saudi Arabia’s autocratic regime.

Van Esveld said the group has done far fewer reports on Israel than on other countries in the Middle East.

Read next:

Comments (43 Comments)

• Barry you are a bigot, everyone is entitled to their own opinions even the people who don’t agree with you.

• Let see if it will go for a vote on the security council for condemnation. We wonder who will veto it?.

• Do you hold the same level of objection to Russia and China continuously backing Syria and Iran.
      Maybe you should look up the remit of the security council as this would more than likely be beyond its remit

• Barry, how is Russia and China’s position here any different from the US’s during the recent Lebanon and Gaza conflicts involving Israel where thousands of innocent civilians were killed, injured and displaced?

• Imran,

Firstly would you mind asking Cork against Fascism to remove all their posters for you as some “guest speaker” . They are stuck up all over the city of Cork.

Secondly thousands??? now who is being dishonest. By Hamas own admission over 700 of the dead were its active members.

How many Israeli’s who were innocent died since the outbreak of the intifada now that has been thousands. The last time I checked it was over 1,600

We had a number of rockets fired into Southern Israel during the week. Silence here on the journal and feck all anywhere but the Israeli media.

• 7000 Syrians have died in the last few months. And god only knows how many in Iran. But the Russians and Chinese have constantly backed them at the UN security council. While the US bashers here will whine if America defends Israel at the UN . the few limited comments here under the articles about Syria actually welcomed Russia “standing” up to American “imperialist” attempts at the UNSC

• Apologise Imran. Names mixed up there is a UK human rights lawyer with the same name as urs coming to cork. Mccurtain street is destroyed in posters about it

• Hahah, you’re call me a fascist? What a joke

I said both Cast Lead and Lebanon 2006…. It’s easily up there in the thousands

Barry, was you telling me one day that you went to Israel with the view they were in the wrong and only after speaking to Israel did your opinion change.

I remember on the same thread asking you how how many Palestinian families, farmers and the like did you speak to and find out their story….

You never answered…. Will you now?

• *speaking to Israelis, obviously

• Read back never called u a fascist.

What question ???

• Right, too many topics being raised and this is going nowhere as it’s all been said and done.

Was it you who told me you went to Israel to see what was really going on there?

• Why would I talk to them. ?? I hear their narrative day in day out.
      I went to hear the other side and learnt a lot.

I spoke to plenty of Arabs in East Jerusalem who stated any re division similar to when Jordan divided Jerusalem and they would try remain in Israel. I stayed with Armenians and they are by and large more Zionist than many Jews in Tel Aviv. As we’re ye Bedouin soldiers I met.

But I am back in Israel this summer and I will go to the West Bank for round two and speak to farmers and see how they live . To be honest it would be easier to speak to Arab market sellers in Hebron when I am there which I will also do.

• So you’ve only really spoken to those who have allowed themselves to be assimilated over time…. possibly so they can live a somewhat stable life.

I appreciate your honesty, thanks.

Please let us know what you discover when you do finally get to meet those on the other side.

• What exactly is your narrow definition of the “other side” . You sound like a yank in a new York Irish pub preaching about the troubles .

Assimilated??? What because they realise their life expectancy ,income,health and religious freedom is increased,

I spoke to plenty of Arab gay people in Tel Aviv and their grate fullness to the state of Israel would bring years to any lgbt activist. The lives they lived in fear in Gaza and west bank was sickening

• Is a British Asian who has “assimilated” into British life also a cop out???

• @ Barry, I think the Bedouins in the Negev would disagree. The Prawer Plan seeks to make Bedouin dispossession Israeli law.
      There’s already several “Bedouin” towns, where Bedoiuns were removed from their farming land and made to settle in what we would term ghost towns. These are among the most impoverished parts of Israel, no jobs, and no land to farm.

Chaim Yavin discusses it in his travelogue “Beyond the TV News: Arabs in Israel”, I know I’ve suggested you give it a look before, did you ever get a chance?

• Barry, where did I say it was a cop out? Please don’t put words in my mouth.

Why are you always on the attack man? Anyone utters a word of criticism against your beloved Israel and you’re all over them in the blink of an eye… Unleashing the full fury of your pro-Zionist tirade.

I thought I made my position very clear when we had a lengthy discussion that time…. I don’t support boycotts or the destruction of Israel or any of that shite. I have Israeli grapefruit in my fridge because I like how it tastes.

There were many in Ireland too who would have gladly lived on peacefully under the crown at the time…. Who could blame them or the ones on the other side?

• Shanti the Bedouin serve in the army and the diplomatic corp. the Bedouin are treated much like Irish travellers ie, forced to settle. I don’t agree with it. But it’s what’s happening with the roma,Irish travellers and Bedouin. And if your so concerned with the Bedouin please spare the Bedouin in Egypt a taught .

• In the eyes of Israel if you support human rights you are anti Semitic

• Where did you pull that from??? Any evidence ??

• @ Barry Williams This is from the above article,
      If you read any article on any media world wide, that is critical of Israel the standard reply of Israeli spokesmen is standard ” Antisemitism,”

Human Rights Watch called on Israel to lift restrictions on residency, saying they are often arbitrary and violate international and human rights law, including the right to family life.

Israeli government spokesman Mark Regev said Israel has granted residency in the West Bank and Gaza to tens of thousands of Palestinians over the years and accused Human Rights Watch of anti-Israel bias.

• Shame on israel. It’s time the rest of the world stood up to israel. They continue to break international law without punishment or even the threat of punishment or sanctions.

• Facebook or intel or Skype or aim or microsoft – Barry you just mentioned some chunky corporations born in US. Why not add : Dept of Defence, Congress, and Wall Street? Sad thing is: Israelis(Jews) barely avoided shoah…now they try the same thing with Palestinians(victims swiftly became agressors). Keep them under pressure, deny education, allow hamas to act the way they act – so that gives them legitimization for ruthless retaliation and land-grab.

• “now they try the same thing with Palestinians (victims swiftly become aggressors)”. With respect your sense of historical perspective is rather skewed.If you said the Israelis should be more sensitive in their treatment of Palestinians because of the terrible experiences of their own people, I would respect your opinion. But “the same thing?” That’s just wrong.

• now that comment is just so out of order! explain if you will the support given to the nazis by figures such as Grand Mufti of Jerusalem who turned down Neville Chamberlains offer of restrictions on Jewish migration to the Holy Land and the promise of a Palestinian state in 1939 in return for support in forthcoming war…preferring instead to support Adolf Hitler who was totally anti semitic..that term correctly includes arabs btw

• term correctly used it shld say…as in meaning of the abhorrent term

• If we are to boycott Iranian oil why not boycott Israeli avocados………

• While your at it boycott Facebook video chat. Intel, motorola . Microsoft and cherry tomatoes . And many cancer treatment drugs. Go up and google Israeli inventions and boycott them. I’d hate for you to have Israeli goods in your cave when you have to move back in.

• The UN have been calling on the for years, look how they reacted. Europe is one of if not their biggest trading partners. Only a realistic boycott will work. Then again uncle Sam is always on standby for them

• Israel did not even exist until after the 2nd world war even though Palestine is mentioned in texts that date back over 2 thousand years.
    Palestine was basically cut in 2 at first and then another 1/4 was taken from it.
    If this has happened to Ireland, then the Republic of Ireland would only comprise of 8 counties.

• Sorry what texts??? The roman empire when they expelled the Jewish residents and renamed it Filistine??
      Seeing there wasn’t even a P in the ancient Arabic script I find it amazing you would suggest that the Palestinians called their country Palestine when they could never spell it. And do you view the Jordanian part of the British Mandate of Palestine as part of what you refer to as “Palestine”

• obviously not the texts Moses read! stupid comment of the week

• Despite it making no difference, I never buy Israeli fruit in the supermarkets. I just won’t support a country which imposes such cruel policies on their neighbour

• Do u use Facebook or intel or Skype or aim or microsoft. And I doubt the Israeli economy is too concerned by someone like you not buying their fruit. Israeli fruit exports have shrunk due to increased internal demand.

• its symbolic Barry that’s why I said “despite it not making a difference’

• @ Corky – you do realise that a sizeable amount of “Israeli” fruit is produced by Palestinian farmers in the West Bank but sold internationally under the label of Israeli? By failing to purchase Israeli fruit, not only are you harming innocent Israeli farmers (and I’m sure there are extremists among Israeli farmers who are support anti-Arab policies, but not all do), but you are also harming those you seem to support (i.e. the Palestinians). If the state of Israel is as cruel as you seem to think, do you not think such a cruel state would simply pass on the economic damage from such practices as yours to the Palestinians and not onto its own citizens?

• Yes corky your support for the symbolic collective punishment of all Israeli’s Jew and Arab.

• Barry, Skype was invented in the Baltic countries (Estonia i think …), and recently bought over ny an American multi-naional. Intel is an american company with some offices and development centres in Israel… Are you suggesting that intel shoudl pull out of Israel ? Interesting if you think they should… As a way of impolsing sanctions? Anytime there are articles on this site stating facts about Human Rights groups holding up Israel to accont for their Human Rights records, you come on here bleating about Syria. Stick with the subject matter of the article (if you are able). Journal.ie has run many Syrian artiles and people dont go nuts on those topics, bleating about Israel. We all know you love your country, and will say whatever you can to try and shift attention away from the abuses. Democarcy my backside, when 4 million people have no control of their own borders and they are not allowed to vote in the Israeli parliament, as the Israeli government insist on maintaining Israel for the Jewish population. I am not anti-semitic. I have some very good Israeli friends. Its the Israeli governments human rights policies that i have a major issue with. They bleat on about being the only democracy in the middle east, while at the same time, deliberately and willfully ignoring the plight of 4.5 million palestinians that they are controlling.

• my country ???? Since when was I ever Israeli??
      My apologise for mixing Skype .but the instant messenger service it offers is an Israeli invention. As is Facebook camera chat . Most of Intels latest technology has been based at its Israeli research and development centre . Throw out you USB stick and laser keyboards.
      Stop using instant messenger . Don’t buy any food which may have used drip irrigation technology and make sure when you go abroad your hot water is not heated by hot panel solar panels. All Israeli inventions

• And 7 million Israelis have no say over their own borders because the Palestinians won’t sit down and negotiate an agreement along the armistice lines of 49.

• So back to Israel and Palestine. I hope these families do get their Id cards but lets do a comparison of The comments here versus the numerous reports. Seems the journal.ie readers are only to happy to attempt to ignore abuses in Syria. But then again that’s Ireland for you. 7. Thousand Syrians dead and barely a protest in Ireland. Rocket attacks from Gaza and Israel strikes back and wide spread protests and flotillas. Double standards really

• spot on Barry…irish left wing hypocrisy

• Barry, may I suggest you follow your own advice? I see a couple of examples of snide comments here, referring to people as cave dwellers or coming across as petty saying things like “someone like you”, I realise you apologised when you made a mistake on the name of that other guy above and I gave you a thumbs up for having the good manners to own up to that mistake, but really, if you want to direct people to the comments rules, you need to avoid the subtle ad hominems…

Add New Comment