TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 15 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

Robinson slams burning of Polish flags on Belfast bonfires

Politicians condemn the burners as “bigots”

People gather at a huge bonfire on the Shankill Road in Belfast as Orange Order members celebrate the 12th of July this year
Image: Niall Carson/PA Wire/Press Association Images

NORTHERN IRELAND’S FIRST Minister Peter Robinson has condemned the burning of Polish flags in Belfast on July 11th.

Calling for “respect and understanding”, Robinson asked those who carried out the burning how they would feel if it was their flags on the bonfires.

“I think we need to have respect and understanding and tolerance for other traditions in our country. The one question I always put to myself in these circumstances is — how would I feel if that was my flag on top of that bonfire?”

Polish and Irish flags, as well as election posters for a Polish SDLP candidate, Magdalena Wolska were burned in the fires, which took place the night before the 12th of July. Members of the Orange Order traditionally march on the day to commemorate the victory of William of Orange over  King James at the Battle of the Boyne in Meath in 1690. Bonfires are traditionally lit by many loyalist communities to celebrate the victory.

Maciek Bator, of the Polish Association said the Polish community “embrace and respect all traditions here in Northern Ireland” but found behaviour such as flag burning “totally appalling and offensive”.

“The Polish flag is a symbol of freedom, independence and peace for the 30,000 Polish people living in Northern Ireland and around 80 million across the globe,” he said in an open letter.

“By burning the Polish flag and other symbols, some members of the local communities were able to express their strong political views and promote anti-Polish sentiments.”

Alliance South Belfast MLA Anna Lo condemned the burners as “bigots”.

“It is completely unacceptable for people to burn any flag. The people who burnt these Polish flags are nothing more than bigots. It is the actions of a hateful person who would do such a thing.”

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (86 Comments)

• Des B 20/07/12 #

And yet no mention from Robinson of the bigots burning our flag on their bonfires every year. It really is a nasty, hate-filled place

• Peter 20/07/12 #

this is the country we should boy cott imports from those jerks depend on us for exports

• Would it not be normal behaviour for hate filled people to burn a flag of peace?

• Belief systems created for racial or national advantage always result in conflict, this their purpose.

• A flag of peace like the Irish tricolour that contains orange to demonstrate that the green bears it no hostility and wishes for peace!

• I think the proper term is “racist”. ” Bigot” is the politically correct version.

• Jonno 20/07/12 #

But poles are Caucasian too so why would it be racist? Maybe people are over using racist when they should be using bigot or I should read up before I write up

• JTHM 20/07/12 #

They’re not a different race, so it can’t be racism. It’d be debatable to say they are a different ethnic group or even a different and distinct culture. It’s an issue of sectarianism and a very negative take on national identity, so “bigotry” is not being used for PC reasons, only for reasons of accuracy.

• Fagan's 20/07/12 #

Not that the Orange Order would condemn it, not that they would condemn the celebration of beating a 15 yr old boy to death because he was Catholic. It is what the Orange Order, they are an equal opportunity bigot, they hate u no matter where u are from if u are Catholic or Gay.

The North isn’t all a hate filled place, Belfast is without doubt the best city in Ireland to go out in. Absolutely brilliant craic. It just has a problem with about 100k bigots who believe that they are superior to all taigs, micks and Paddy’s and who are fighting a loosing battle against equality. mutual respect and a shared future.

Their day is over.

• If people believe that Caucasians can’t be racist to other Caucasians then the Nazis werent racist, but merely bigoted sectarians.

• JTHM 20/07/12 #

@ Eoin – Basically yes. The Nazis tried to propagate the myth that they were a separate race, so they’d have defined themselves a racist, but in fact they were cultural/national bigots. Whether Jewish identity is based on race or religion is always a muddled issue…

• JTHM – the Nazis were racist. Modern definitions of race – and most scientists don’t agree it exists – tend to limit to black, white, Asian, if at all. However in the 19th and early 20th century “white” racism was specific to certain “white” groups – ayrans. Which obviously excluded Jews but in the case of the Nazis excluded Slavs. The British version of Aryanism excluded Celts. These groups defined themselves as racially superior to the out-groups which means the Nazis were definitely racist to Jews, and the Orange Order to Irish Catholics.

• People are suggesting to boycott NI? What utter nonsense! What about the vast majority of people in the north who find this flag burning disgusting… Why do they deserve a boycott because of the actions of a few thugs? I’m from the north, I am as disgusted as anyone at the antics at these bonfires, and it’s bad enough that they are allowed to parade their sectarian hatred, but why should I have to suffer a boycott from people in the south?

• JTHM 20/07/12 #

The Nazi’s were racist, yes, they didn’t much like other races. But they couldn’t, in biological terms, be racist against the Poles, as, outside of wacky pseudo-science, a racial differentiation between German and Polish does stand up to scrutiny. A modern definition of race could only be a preponderance of genetic similarities common to people of one race but not shared by other not of that race. It’s a matter of degree. There wouldn’t be enough differentiation between Gean and Pole to show this. I think you’re confusing race with ethnicity. As for the Nazis, they were nuts. Their conception of the Aryan race was pure fantasy. The “historical “Aryan”s came from northern India – they were by no means Caucasian. The Celt vs. WASP argument is equally spurious, there far too many similarities in the gene pool to actively make a clear racial distinction. Making divisions based on hazy concepts of what race is is itself often bigoted.

• This might be a bit off-topic, but here’s a fun video of marchers pausing at a Catholic church to march around and around in circles playing “The Famine Song”. Wait ’til the end of the video to see the cameraman being assaulted by what looks like either esteemed actor Richard Griffiths or a steamed ham with a stick

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=My5cf2zlkpo

• JTHM, you argument is spurious. A group is racist if it

1) Considers itself a different race to another group, and generally if it considers itself a superior race.
      2) Acts in that racist fashion, you know particularly engaging in genocide.

Calling the Nazis non-racists is absurd.

The modern definition of race is generally that it doesn’t exist. A popular version is that race is Asian, White, Black etc. exist as races. Thats not the scientific version.

If we go to the scientific methodology of assuming that no race really exists, then nobody has ever been racist, including American slave holders, or the KKK. Which is totally bonkers. The Orange Order are, therefore, racists.

• Can we stop with the brash generalisations about ‘that place’ please? It is a minority who carry out this disgraceful behaviour. The people of Northern Ireland need to be given a chance. The bigots will die out in a few generations as everything is still quite raw.

• @ Jono – white or Caucasian is not a race. There is no such thing as race. If you (and I don’t mean “you” personally) believe there is such a thing as race then it means you see a fundamental difference between blacks and whites, or between any other groups of humans, which indicates you are actually a racist. Racism, while initially coined as a term to refer to the belief that there are fundamental differences between the world’s “races” (be they Mongoloid, Caucasian, Negro, etc.), is now used as a term (both informally, and by organisations such as the UN, the EU, Council of Europe, AU, the Red Cross, etc.) to describe any discrimination, attack, denigration, etc. on any person based on that person’s ethnicity or nationality. So, yes, white Ulstermen denigrating white Polish simply because they are Polish is indeed racism. Similarly, white Irishmen denigrating white Ulster-Scots because they happen to be Loyalist, Unionist, etc. is also racism.

• Just couldn’t bring himself to condemn the burning of the Irish Tricolour could he?

• Cpm 20/07/12 #

Stay classy, Northern Ireland

• Northern Ireland needs a bath

• Them hillbillys would burn anything or anyone

• i dont remember this bit from the visit northern ireland ad

• The burning of tricolours and KAT(Kill All Taigs) signs, which happened across Northern Ireland, on the 11th of July, shows us the true sectarian nature of the Orange Order and it’s many supporters. We should not humour this mindset, or prostrate ourselves before them in the name of inclusiveness. Doing so weakens the values of our state, and is not acceptable to the vast majority of peace loving people in this state. We need to ask ourselves if these racially intolerant people are the type of friends that our state is looking for, or needs? The Orange Order are a sectarian and socially-ignorant group, which should be resigned to history, as any sane minded person must recognise, but if people refuse to do so, we should never try and lower ourselves to their level, regardless of the external pressures to do so.

I believe we should lodge an official protest with Northern Irish authorities over the burning of our flag. Why should we tolerate such overt hostility and bigotry? Their economy NEEDS us to survive, so we have far more power than we openly acknowledge. We should demand the same respect we give them. Anything less should be condemned. Are we destined to be trodden on forever, in the name of peace? I do not think we should take this carry on so placidly in future. We deserve better than that…

• I agree with the sentiment behind your comment, but I don’t think it would be worth it lodging an official complaint. Flag burning isn’t illegal in the UK so going down that route wouldn’t work. At the end of the day, its a piece of coloured material and I think in the Republic we have more important things to be concerned about. Those Orange Order members would relish it if we made a complaint…tri-colour sales would sky rocket because of the amount they would burn. Leave the kids to their toys….

Eventually all NI residents will get sick of them…as you say NI is industrially reliant on the Republic and even more so on the UK. Outside of that they just have tourism….and the Orange Order are not going to help boost that. I know its one of the reasons I don’t visit NI.

• The orange order is basically the Irish version of the KKK…

• Jonno 20/07/12 #

Lol ohh the irony

• My Dad had a solution long before the peace process. Let them have a huge parade, enormous one. Right down the middle of Belfast and other city centers. Just like Paddys day. Not through residential areas. Bang your drums for a day. Make it a one day festival. Not a season. No racism No antagonizing No Bonfires, just a fun day out. Let’s face it, if there were not major civil rights abuses in the north (that we in the south completely ignored) there would have been no Provos.

• Ain’t that last sentence the truth! No surprise Northern nationalists feel resentment towards the south.

• Fagan's 20/07/12 #

If the South had bothered and demanded that laws normal in Europe be implemented in the North, such as equal rights, One man, one vote, then I doubt if there would have been any trouble.

Sadly though most people here, were dead against such injustice in 50′s America or in South Africa but turned a blind eye to it to it up the road.

If the FG/Lab. Govt in the mid 70′s had released the findings of the Dublin/Monaghan bombings that showed British army involvement, it would have caused an out cry across Europe and America and would have probably forced a peace settlement. If, If, If. Unfortunately the state here was always obsessed with maintaining the status quo, no matter if it meant brutal and violent discrimination in the North, economic stagnation and emigration in the south. The people in control had to be kept there, for good or bad.

• wonder did Tourism Minister leo Verruca complain about burning of our tricolour and the polish national flag when he was chatting to the orange order on the 12th?

• I think it’s great that we’re possibly going to led these outright bigots march in Dublin. Maybe then not only will disaffected Irish youths riot but possibly Polish youths too. Stay classy orangemen :)

• Great to see they’ve found somebody new to hate. I wonder should the National Front be given permission to march through say Brixton or Toxteth to give them their right to demonstrate their heritage?

• The hiding that the NF and other fascists would get in both places wouldn’t be worth it for them to have five minutes of a march. I see the EDL around my area in Tower Hamlets regularly, they’re always outnumbered, the local community and the police won’t take their guff and are thrown out of the area back to the hovels from where they came from.

Problem is, certain sections of the community in Northern Ireland has left this kind of behaviour go on for far too long. This type of thing would NOT be acceptable In England, or on mainland Britain…so why have it in Northern Ireland?!!

• The continuation of the occupation of the six counties requires religious hate, otherwise the two populations would naturally assimilate, intermarry and befriend and ”become more Irish than the irish themselves” the belief system created hundreds of years ago is still fulfilling it’s intended purpose.

• The people who burn Irish and Polish flags are the same people who hang Israeli flags in their area as a counteraction against nationalist sympathy towards Palestine and then rush out to remove them when their comrades in C18 and other nazi groups call for a visit…..seriously mixed up people, we should have sympathy for them, they’re obviously retarded.

• Fagan's 20/07/12 #

Many National Front and British Fascists take part in Orange marches in the North and England and Scotland. When they do that, the media here congratulate them for standing up for their heritage in front of Irish Nationalists who are just being awkward, and don’t realize that songs about killing them are a cultural treasure.

The National Front or the BNP wouldn’t even run the Orange Order close when it comes to extremism or bigotry or the capacity and willingness to use violence.

• Fagan, I reckon you’re right. When I lived in Glasgow, members of the SDL often marched behind the Orange Walk (note: they don’t march beside the walk, it is often the followers of the OO that cause the violence on the streets, again from my observation).

One of the SDL’s posterboys: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-0kL_URt4uo. Similar to Frazer, this guy is a nutcase but the language used is similar to certain areas of the North, I often heard KAL, the Famine Song etc in Scotland.

For me, the worst thing is seeing the kids follow along on the act…

• Not surprising in the least when this sort of bigotry is seen as the norm:

http://www.u.tv/News/IRA-HQ-claim-over-schools-Italian-flag/a415e119-9230-4265-b9d5-a16348618fac

• These people seriously need their own planet!

12th of July = Misfit day

• Paul 20/07/12 #

This lot are a menace to humanity. Horrid people.

• I wish NY Immigrants were Polish. Asia for Asians, Africa for Africans, White countries for Everyone. It’s Genocide. White Rabbit Radio

• i suspect inbreeding plays a role in this. this anger is really not normal

• I would expect nothing less from the most Bigoted, Racist, Homophobic, country in Europe. The country is a total mess. They will never have peace. Disgusting people.

• Ironic that your own comment is bigoted and racist isnt it Mark? You obviously have a chip on your shoulder to tar everyone with the same brush. Sad.

• I said nothing different to all the rest of the comments andy.

• Andrew my first comment is about the article above, not about the whole nation as you say, those responsible are the most BIGOTED, RACIST & HOMOPHOBIC people in europe, they are disgusting nasty people. And no i do not have a chip on my shoulder about N.I. I dislake the nasty people that do things like this, they will never have peace……………….. The country is a mess because of these people.

• Your statement about a country being bigoted and racist is a bit different from an organisation being bigoted and racist. Not every loyalist is an Orangeman the same as not every nationalist supported the IRA.

• My comment about the country being Bigoted & Racists is because of people like these. N.I has so much hatred in it. Things will never change that country so long as these people do nasty things like this inciting hatred.

• Excuse me? Disgusting people? I completely resent that- I am from Derry and despise the Orange Order and all it stands for, I also despise some of the idiotic dissidents in my city but your complete tarring of the people in the North is just wrong!
      Finally now the South is reacting to the bigots and neanderthals, pity that didnt happen when those bigots and neanderthals were shooting and opressing people!

• I seriously hope you are saying disgusting people in reference to orangemen and not me or the vast majority of people that have no time for this? People wonder why the nationalists in the North protested and got violent- these people used to rule us!

• Fiachra if you read my comments again you will see i am talking about those responsible for “this” meaning the article above, what we are all commenting about.

• Lets ban the bonfires, carbon emissions and all that!

• Diversity is a just a code word for less White People. Nobody says an Asian country that is virtually 100% Asian needs more diversity. Nobody says an African country that is almost all Black needs more diversity. Anti-Whites claim “anti-racism” and demand diversity for White countries and ONLY White countries. They say it’s Africa for the Africans, Asia for the Asians, but White countries for EVERYBODY. They say they are anti-racist. What they are is anti-White. Anti-racist is a code word for anti-White.

• Feck, i fed the trolls

• Michael 20/07/12 #

The worst thing is ppl from abroad think their Irish the same as us, well their not, bloody hell northern ireland change your name,
    ppl in the republic of ireland are sick of ye tainting our island’s name!

• Ireland is for the Irish. And anti-racist is a codeword for anti-White.

• Sadly Internationalism is the new Racism.

• Hello Fiachra. No i am from Bangor. My god, how anti-White are you. Just read what you posted “care to account for your genocide of the native americans?” So what you are saying is ALL White Americans to this DAY are to blame for some evils in the past? Are you saying they DESERVE to be replaced via mass immigration and assimilation because of events from the past?

“I might suggest you look at the immigration into Ireland in which the vast majority is in fact white.” REALLY? Currently perhaps, MAYBE (have you been to Belfast and the surrounding areas in a while or do you live in the sticks?), but if we use France, Germany, England, Spain, Italy, Sweden etc. as examples of the future for NI immigration what will you say when the vast majority is non White and White children are becoming minorities in every school in Northern Ireland? This is happening elsewhere in Europe, NI is only behind a little because the “troubles” deterred non Whites from moving here so my question is what WILL you say WHEN that happens? Will you STILL be arguing a position that puts us in a future Northern Ireland without any White children? I mean that is ultimately the end result of mass immigration and FORCED assimilation. Now i should warn you that by promoting this you are in fact promoting genocide. I have clearly stipulated that forced mass immigration and assimilation does constitute genocide in my first post yet you are still here arguing as a proponent for it. Who do you think you are kidding anti-White?!
    Anti-racist is a code word for anti-White

• It is a normal and natural thing to prefer one’s own ethnicity and traditions and to resent being told one must not only allow massive immigration into your country but to also LOVE it and for GOD’s sake don’t EVER express opposition to it. You must mutely accept ANY and ALL initiatives to ‘assimilate’ and embrace ‘diversity.’

To see immigrants otherwise is the modern day thought crime of thought crimes. Ireland is loved by many around the world because it is IRISH. Poland is loved by others because it is POLISH. When tourists come to these countries we expect to see their traditional cultures and peoples. When you rob them of their heritage by forcing ‘assimilation’ on them, you also rob the REST OF THE WORLD of the richness of these cultures.

• I have my own opinions of immigration which I won’t bother talking about. But you cannot compare genocide to people choosing of their own free will who they reproduce with.

• King Olaf, the United Nations definition of genocide is as follows:

Excerpt from the Convention on the Prevention and Punishment of Genocide
      “Article II: In the present Convention, genocide means any of the following acts committed with intent to destroy, in whole or in part, a national, ethnical, racial or religious group, as such:

(a) Killing members of the group;
      (b) Causing serious bodily or mental harm to members of the group;
      (c) Deliberately inflicting on the group conditions of life calculated to bring about its physical destruction in whole or in part;
      (d) Imposing measures intended to prevent births within the group;
      (e) Forcibly transferring children of the group to another group.

Bringing massive non-native immigrants and demanding that the existing social systems adapt to support them easily falls under b,c & d, especially c: when you do this you are DELIBERATELY trying to bring about the destruction of the native Irish (in this case) population at LEAST in part. Or, are you so virulently genocidal that you cannot see this? Tell us King Olaf, what do YOU think happens to a specific population when you force them to assimilate with huge numbers of other groups (remember, they Irish people did not get to vote on their immigration policies, it was done for them by their so-called ‘leaders.’

Aboriginal peoples are also fighting this sort of genocide in Australia. If you support this genocide in Ireland, you must also support it in Australia (which would make you a genocidal psychopath.)

• I think the north should become its own country and europe and the world just turm its back on it. maybe a bit of isolation wud help them cop the f*ck on

• White people are not native to america… Therefore by your own logic they carried out genocide and usurped the native population, and so for your quest to have people live in their ethnically native areas would mean bye bye all North American Europeans and all South American Latino populations, not to mention south africa, australia, New Zealand etc.

• Did i not have a long drawn out discussion with you trolls a few moths ago (changed your name i see) and your American arent you (the last one who said that was) care to account for your genocide of the native americans? Oh and I doubt Fine Gael and Labour are preparing for the ultimate destruction of white people… Just Irish peoples pockets. I might suggest you look at the immigration into Ireland in which the vast majority is in fact white. But i’ll leave it at that you nice little bigoted racist troll.
    Oh and i dont really care for slogans but if you want to be a little less subtle just say “white power” dont worry you’ll get your point across.

• they’ve been burning tri colour for so long ppl are de sensitised to that. part and parcel of the 12th. union jacks and NI flags are burnt on Halloween. fair is fair.

Burning Polish community symbols is a new low. even for loyalists. having said that though any Scottish or English people who have stood for the UUP would get the same treatment at some bonfire somewhere in republican NI

• Yeah, your right about being desensitised to the burning of the tri colour…its just normal to see it happen now. Having said that, I never saw a union flag being burnt at Halloween while growing up. This is pretty bad though burning the Polish flag though, there isn’t even any history behind their reasoning for burning it. It just absolute hatred for Catholics.

Whatever about the parade, I don’t really care and wouldn’t want it stopped because it would go against freedom of speech. Its the bonfires the authorities should ban…I mean they have stopped many other less dangerous things for health and safety reasons!

The people who take part in it though have no hope of ever changing in my opinion. They have no future, so they can’t help living in the past.

• Scarr 20/07/12 #

Is the burning of the polish flag a catholic thing or a ‘they took er jerbs’ thing?

• tozyurt 20/07/12 #

It just shows how successful the peace process was. Immense hatred still exists , separation Walls still exist … Now the economic incentive gone , dont expect any friendship from these guys. Solution will be a partition of North between ROI and UK maybe a population transfer in some places to avoid conflict in the future and build a real border forever . And we will all get rid of this weird hatred ridden entity called Northern Ireland

• Please do not feed the trolls!

• White people, according to you ten should then should be in America, what do you suggest- move them all back to Europe and give America to the natives?

• Carlin you sound like a bigger idiot then your father.

Add New Comment