TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 13 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

RTE failed in obligation of fairness to Sean Gallagher… says RTE Board

The Board of RTE has said it fully accepts the findings of the BAI and that it is bringing in new guidelines on social media to ensure ‘Tweetgate’ doesn’t happen again.

The #aras11 debate on The Frontline last October
Image: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

THE BOARD OF RTE has said that the broadcaster failed in its obligation of fairness to Sean Gallagher over the tweet read out during the presidential candidates debate on RTE’s The Frontline programme last October.

The Board said that it fully accepts the BAI’s decision to uphold a complaint from Gallagher over the tweet, which was attributed to Martin McGuinness’s campaign and referred to a donation made to Fianna Fáil collected by Gallagher on the party’s behalf.

The Board also said that it “echoes the apology” made to Gallagher by the Director General of RTE.

In a statement, the Board said that RTE’s news and current affairs coverage had a fundamental duty to serve the truth by getting the facts right and reporting them without bias:

The BAI has found that the programmes were unfair to Mr Gallagher in three respects: in the broadcast of the first tweet without verification; in the failure to provide clarification on the provenance of the tweet within the same programme; and the failure likewise to provide clarification of this on the next day’s Radio One broadcast of Today with Pat Kenny.

The statement went on:

In each of these instances RTE failed in its obligation of fairness to Mr Gallagher. The Board wishes to echo the apology expressed to Mr Gallagher this week by the Director General.

The Board said that it was reassured by a number of findings by the BAI. It also acknowledged the public concern caused by the matter.

The Director General of RTE has confirmed new protocols are in train to ensure that RTE’s internal rules and regulations meet the standards of journalism and current affairs coverage.

An internal editorial standards board is to be established to maintain and monitor appropriate standards, the Board said.  A new full set of Programme Makers’ Guidelines is being finalised, which will include protocols governing the use of social media in RTE’s journalism, particularly in live programmes.

There will also be an “intensive” review process with senior editorial staff to address issues and concerns, as well as potential risks, highlighted by the furore over how the tweet was dealt with.

RTÉ director general apologists to Gallagher over Frontline ‘mistakes’ >

BAI upholds Gallagher complaint over Frontline tweet >

Read next:

Comments (84 Comments)

• Thank God for the “incompetence” of RTE

• ….. so how much compensation will he get ?

• we get a smidgen of truth for once and people are getting sued

• Sweet suffering jesus. An agenda driven Miriam can single out one particular candidate and ask the others if they felt McGuinness was suitable for office and that’s ok, but an accusation Gallagher could have easily dealt with if he wasn’t up to his neck in FF lies is worth an apology.

Thank god I don’t pay any license fee to those muppets.

• This made great tv, but on the other side Sean Gallagher had know about this for a week before it was brought up at the debate. If he had been able to answer the questions better, he could have easily got away with it, but it was his imcompetence in answering whether he had not had not collect a cheque that swayed me not to vote for him, and mentioning the word evenlope. Think in hindsight we have got a better president in Michael D

• The tabloid US style journalism that has sunk into the D4 obsessed RTE is frustrating. I don’t even watch RTE news anymore and have not paid a tv
    Licence in over a year. I pay UPC and that’s enough.Why should I add to the Pat Kenny wage fund anymore

• My mother, well into her seventies, unbeknownst to me, had been campaigning against Gallagher. Due to illness. I was unaware of this. Apparently, she disliked his lower wet lip. Previously, she had disliked beards, due to the fact that the wearers had something to hide, in her opinion. Being a scientifically minded person, I did not know how to take her stance. On reviewing video footage of the candidates, I have noticed that she was at least correct regarding the abundance of liquid upon his lower lip. What this tells us, I don’t know, but some of our grey haired friends know more than they are letting on to.

• CMD 10/03/12 #

This is getting more ridiculous by the minute. So now the fact that SG has problems with his eyesight and has a wet bottom lip!!! is a reason to slate him. I’m not too keen on MDH leprechaun face either but now I have to put up with it. Not that we’ll see much of by the look of it. Almost 4 months in power and 1 visit to London where he only managed to upset the most popular paper with the Irish in Britain by refusing to meet them for a one to one interview. Then today he goes to see a play in wheatfield prison. Well worth his fat salary.

• LMAO! Give your mother my love Dhakina. His wet lip drove me mad too. ;)

• Reada! This is a family friendly site. Read the comments policy.

• Smack John murphy. I don’t have a dirty mind. You know what I meant. Aaaaah. >:-O

• Thanks, Reada, My mother was adamant that she was right, regardless
      of scientific proof, that Gallagher
      was not to be trusted. Her proof of dodgy characters( drool included ) was all that she needed. I will pass your compliments on to her. Thanks!.

• Hi Dhakina,
      Hope I didn’t appear too flippant – just having a bit of a lark late at night. Your mom had great insight! Best wishes to you and her.

• Not at all John. I think even she would have a laugh at that, although I don’t think I’d be comfortable to share the joke in the same room, at the same time. It’s interesting though, to watch her personality change from, subservient Catholic, to jeans wearing and occasionally swearing elder citizen. I’m so proud of her!.

• Fair play to her! Never too late to rip at the powers that be. Tell her to keep up the good work and watch out for those slobbery lower lips – never a good sign that!!

• Fair play to you too, John and Reada. Please excuse the lack of fada’s, Reada. I haven’t figured that one out yet. But seriously, I can’t wait to tell her of your reactions to her endevours. I’ll have to wait until she gets back from her annual bone defrosting exercises though. I wouldn’t be surprised if my next shock was discovering a secret stash of punk rock records in her luggage along with a request to know where the most reasonablly priced Doc Martins can be purchased.

• Just watch that she doesn’t start heading for Dame St. to get the camp up and running again. Then you’ll have something to worry about!

• Hey guys. Still up? Your mam has stopped worrying about things and is tuned into her 6th sense. That’s how she knew he couldn’t be trusted. The slobbery lips was just a visible thing for her to easily identify.

• All animals have a 6th sense. It’s just that the human species has based too much emphasis on the tangible 5. ;)

• But if you’d like to know how to do a fada on an iPhone it’s easy. Here goes… When wanting to use a fada hold your finger down on the chosen vowel and slide don’t lift your finger upwards and all options will appear. Continue to slide your finger over to the vowel with the fada and lift your finger. Tá súil agam go bhfuil sé ceart go leor. :-)

• Hey Dhakina! We’ve got another slobbery lower lip fan back from a night on the tiles. What’s the world comin’ to??

• Resign is not in our vocabulary and now included should be Integrity.

• What about the rest of them? They all got roasted time and time again.

• Will Pat Kenny apologise ???

• Not going by his pre-emptive and hubristic radio slot with Pearse Doherty and Fionnan Sheehan a few weeks ago which amazingly concluded in effect that it was all something of nothing. That deserves an investigation all of its own.

• I thought Sean was going to turn a blind eye to this……………. Thank you, I’m here all week.

• He confirmed he was a FF bagman, less damage done than if he had become President

• Did a detailed reply and it disappeared, for the umpteenth time, wasting my time.. This is a regular occurrence on this site and is a major pain. Sometimes I’m told I have to log in to comment, even though I am logged in, then I go back and find the draft comment which I resubmit. Sometimes I copy with a view to pasting if there is a mishap but sometimes I forget. Am I the only one ?

• So am I right to assume that the director general will do the honourable thing and resign? Surely the buck stops at the top on this one!!

• Ah come on! Give my head a break…sweet mother divine…the country was spared a chancer…we should be grateful!

• The Journal is getting more and more like the Endapendant every day – I’m out.

• Aah,now Diego,don’t you go being one of those grammar,syntax and spelling nazi’s! The bloke has the right to be as incoherent as the next man!

• I hate RTE with every bone in my Body,privatize it and save the taxpayer 220million euro per year and pump it into our shite broadband but it won’t happen mouth piece of the state its like the catholic church enshrined in oirish life,its losing 34million ah sure we will just change the name from licence fee to broadcasting charge catching the people who rightly don’t pay it, evasion of this RTE TAX is 35million same as their deficit Zzzzzzzzzzzz EMIGRATION RAMPANT,so they have licence fee and advertising from eh MCDonald’s tesco Dunnes Vodafone etc ,why not get rid of the ads,or put ads on for example that highlight irish products and services like tourism your local farmer selling goods your local shops restaurants etc,do the IMF know there is a slush fund up in Montrose dublin 4 that’s losing taxpayers money Zzzzzzzzzzzz

• Pure amateur hour from RTE. Like Gallagher or not this simply was not fair and while I have a certain amount of sympathy I have absolutely none for McGuinness.

• But Lee, you have many times in the past, made comments supporting FF… Would i be right in asking, would there be a touch of FF in your current support for Gallagher??? How can you reconcile these mis-truths with YOUR God? Doesn anyone else on this thread have a problem with Lee supporting FF, sorry i mean Gallagher? Give him thumbs up if you agree with him ;)

• As usual the sinn Fein spin doctors are taking over the journal….

• @Diego I should have written it better I agree, in paragraph form.New Zealand abolished their public service broadcaster,same population as ireland

• Well said Declan RTE is taking the michael out of the license payers. Just look at the wages they pay Duffy, Kenny Turdidy and Collins even that man in the morning Shane Byrne is on 200 grand a year.

• RTE have also been unfair to Sean Quinn in Prime Time programme on 3rd No. last when they deliberately misrepresented what he said, a fact that can and will be proven. There is certainly an agenda in evidence by our State Broadcaster as they have consistently refused to ask the most obvious questions:

! Given that Quinn submitted a business proposal that was approved by Deutsche Bank which guaranteed the return of all monies despite the question of the legitimacy of the debt, and the retention of all jobs, what has Anglo recouped to date in its strategy on QUinn and what has it cost the taxpayers in PR and legal costs?
    2 Given that the people of Ireland cold end up being billed for billions if the Quinn family win their case and they end up being compensated for the illegal destruction of their companies, why was Anglo allowed to take over the Quinn Group PRIOR TO THE LEGITIMACY OF THE DEBT BEING ESTABLISHED?

See http://quinn-anglo-blogspot.com/

• CMD 09/03/12 #

You are do right Patricia. In rte there is an agenda against anyone who doesn’t come from the pale. How dare Sean Quinn become a billionaire- he’s only from Cavan/fermanagh How dare Sean Gallagher attempt to be president. He’s only an ordinary man from a small Cavan farm.

• How dare a self educated man born in Limerick and raised on a small farm in Clare with strong ties to Galway attempt to be President! Oh wait a minute….

• Not to mention that he had the support of only about a quarter of the electorate in opinion polls days before the election. What a turnaround! Amazing!

• I know Charles. What a glorious awakening!

• Seems like the subversion of Democracy is acceptable, desirable even, for many around here. Imagine the squealing if the shoe was on the other foot. The situation is very simple. The National Broadcaster, funded by the People (all of them) via the State, allowed itself (being as charitable as I can) to be used as a pawn to derail the campaign of the frontrunner in a supposedly democratic election. And failed to correct the record when it knew it had been had ( more charity). And contributors come on here with their “wink, wink, nudge, nudge” comments essentially celebrating the event even while RTE is holding its hands up in yet another damage limitation exercise. I find that quite disgusting. I think I’d feel the same no matter who was the victim of this outrage, or what his or her politics. (I was no fan of SG, but preferred him to MDH, as it happens). As for the happy campers hereabouts, they have shown their true colours.

• You know Charles I accept that there’s a lot in what you say. I will readily admit that if the same event occurred against my preferred candidate I would be pretty peeved. Then, thinking on it a bit more I feel that had he not have been of such a ‘flawed pedigree’ his handling of it might have been better. He stumbled and fell ’cause he knew his game was up, his race was run and his goose was cooked.
      You do realize of course that Fianna Fail have a rather dubious past in presidential election campaigns from the ‘mature recollection’ of not having made phone calls to the rather spurious remarks on Mary Robinson’s hairdo and the like. Sean Gallagher was indeed romping home on the basis of his celebrity profile but as soon as the flimsiest of tripwires (an unverified tweet for pitys sake!) was put in his way he fell headlong and the day was saved. Feet of clay you could say.

• John, please see my comment re attempted reply down below. Another problem is that when I do go back and resubmit my reply it appears as a fresh comment rather than a reply.

• John. It wasn’t just Mary Robinson’s hairdo FF took offence to. I think it was Pafraig Flynn and his typical FF attack questioning her newfound interest in her family. Back to the kitchen woman. It’s a pity his daughter didn’t take her father’s advice. Yuck. What a git.

• Whatcha mean kitchen sink? Poor oul Pee had several houskeepers an the like to look after that kinda thing.

• You hit the nail on the head there Charles.

• @Diego do you get the gist of what I wrote ?I also got 8 thumbs up!anyway what I wrote is RTE needs to be totally privatized do you agree?

• RTE Board another Fianna Fail quango Chairman is Tom Savage whose brother is a prominent Fianna Failer in county Louth
    This is all a smokescreen to obtain money from the taxpayer. As we know Gallagher knows all the angles on this front
    Wait and see

• Who thumbed me down?,so I’m wrong in what I wrote,leave journal.ie and go off and watch the Angelus and Nuacht clowns who thumbed me down,if the government increased the licence fee to 300euro you’d probably pay it or go to mountjoy

Add New Comment