TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 19 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

RTÉ to make on-air clarification over Corrib Garda ‘rape tape’ coverage

The clarification comes after the BAI upheld a complaint by Jerrie Anne Sullivan that RTÉ coverage of the case on July of this year caused her “undue distress and harm”.

Jerrie Anne Sullivan
Image: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

Updated 4.25pm

RTÉ IS TO make a statement about its coverage of part of the Corrib ‘rape tape’ claims.

It follows a complaint to the Broadcasting Authority of Ireland (BAI) by Jerrie Ann Sullivan, one of the women whose arrest led to a senior Garda and his colleagues recording themselves talking about the women who were in their custody.

The BAI said that RTÉ’s coverage of the deletion of files on the camcorder that recorded the controversial audio caused Sullivan “undue distress and harm”.

Shell-To-Sea said the correction will be broadcast before the 6.01 News and Nine O’Clock News this Wednesday, 7 December.

The complaints were made by Sullivan under the Broadcasting Act 2009 section 48(1)(a)(fairness, objectivity and impartiality in current affairs) and section 48(1)(b)(harm and offence – Code of Programme Standards: section 3.5.2 factual programming).

She stated that the news report about the outcomes of the investigation by the Garda Siochána Ombudsman Commission into sexually threatening remarks allegedly made by members of the Gardaí broadcast on the Six One news programme was incorrect.

Her complaint centred on the headline ‘Ombudsman says Mayo arrest tape was altered’, which she said was factually incorrect.

She also stated that RTÉ broadcast the line that “part of the recording of the arrest of two women about whom Gardaí were alleged to have made sexually threatening remarks was deleted and overwritten”, which she said was false.

Sullivan said that part of the recording of the arrests was not deleted, and that instead an unrelated file on the camera was deleted and overwritten.

She said the GSOC is aware of that and it did not state that part of the recording was deleted.

The GSOC report states that “footage of the original incident giving rise to the GSOC investigation was recovered from the device along with a number other files that had been deleted and overwritten”.

Sullivan said that RTÉ misinterpreted the GSOC report and broadcast false information that was offensive and harmful to her, and that it damaged her credibility as well as causing offence to the wider community in Kilcommon, Erris Co Mayo.

The report was broadcast during the course of the 6.01pm and 9 O’Clock news.

RTÉ said it believed the studio introduction and report were fully accurate and there was no breach of impartiality or objectivity.

The BAI said that the findings of the GSOC report as summarised in the introduction to the news report are not supported by the GSOC and the report was inaccurate.

It said the “phraseology” used in the report didn’t sufficiently distinguish between the recording that was being investigated and other files on the camcorder; and that this phraseology and inaccuracy in the introduction would have reasonably resulted in a view inferring that the recording being investigated had been tampered with.

The BAI committee was of the view that the report would raise unfounded questions for viewers about the integrity of Sullivan, so it was in breach of section 48(1) of the 2009 Act, and that the report casued undue distress and harm to Sullivan.

It did not agree that the report would have caused undue stress to the community of Kilcommon, Erris.

Sullivan said:

I am relieved that at least one aspect of the misinformation put out by state bodies about this incident has now been corrected.
In correspondence with me prior to the BAI decision, RTE attempted to vigorously defend their inaccurate reporting, citing Minister Alan Shatter’s also misleading comments as a basis for the news.

Dublin Shell to Sea spokesperson Caoimhe Kerins alleged that the situation with the digital camera was explained by telephone to RTÉ, but they ignored this information.

Communications minister Pat Rabbitte, meanwhile, has ruled out the prospect of amending the Broadcasting Acts in the wake of the settlement reached between RTÉ and Kevin Reynolds.

Rabbitte said he would not consider a change in the law requiring RTÉ to publicly declare the extent of its out-of-court settlements, in response to aparliamentary question from Fine Gael backbencher Bernard Durkan.

Read: Gardaí claim Corrib protestors discussed rape prior to taped remarks>

Read: Corrib ‘rape tape’ gardaí will not face criminal charges>

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (29 Comments)

• That woman (Jerrie Ann Sullivan) is a nuisance. Old news, yawwwn.

• Are we still going on about this?

• We Evert? Oh the Lulz

• Aoife Barry 05/12/11 #

Hi Evert, this is a new development in this news story which is why we are reporting it.

Aoife

• I suppose you think its ok to have people continue to shame this women over innacurate reporting.
      As if she didn’t get bad enough treatment from those gardai.
      People on the comment section of this site have been continually bringing her up with the allegations that she falsified evidence to discredit the current occupy movement.

• Bazza 05/12/11 #

@john McHale
      “as if she didn’t get bad enough treatment from the Gardai”

What bad treatment did she get ?

She was causing an obstruction and the Garda moved her on !

Later, the Gardai were on their own when they had a private conversation, which was recorded.

• @Evert Bopp – We’re still hearing about this because four months after the incident, the Garda Ombudsman (GSOC) issued an interim report, on July 28th, that was a classic exercise in spin and misinformation, which undermined the women who made the recording public. It implied (though didn’t say outright) something that was false, namely that the recording had been altered before being given to GSOC.

RTE duly obliged and reported this implication as fact (“Corrib rape remark recording ‘was tampered with’ ”). Jerrie Ann Sullivan complained to the BAI that this was simply not true. It took another few months for the BAI decision to be announced: that RTE’s coverage was “inaccurate” and “caused her harm”: GSOC did not actually say in its report that the recording was tampered with.

GSOC had created a confusion by selective reporting and by exploiting the facts: namely the fact that a separate video file on the digital camera had been deleted (Jerrie Ann and her university lecturers explained to GSOC that this was an older, unrelated recording covered by academic confidentiality. GSOC’s interim report omitted these explanations). To journalists not reading the interim report closely or to news media willing to run with GSOC’s spin, it seemed like GSOC were saying the recording was tampered with.

So that is what the public ended up hearing from RTE – that the “tape was tampered with” and maybe the “rape tape” was not what it seemed to be. GSOC succeeded in getting this meme or piece of false information into the public mind, and now RTE is being forced to take the blame.

(What people seemed to forget was that when the original story broke in April, the Garda Commissioner apologised for what these Gardai had said; the Garda Sergeant who made the rape jokes in the car gave his story to a tabloid newspaper a week later, saying “I’m so sorry”. There were no denials. There was no suggestion that the rape conversation never happened. This was the beauty of GSOC’s “tape tampering” spin in July – to create a doubt in the public mind about whether the rape conversation had ever taken place, even though the Gardai in question had never denied it.)

• Yawwwwwn……get over it……soooo 2011….

• Oh this again! Calling all SF “supporters”

• Whats it got to do with Sinn Fein? Jaysus is a bout a cops recording themselves talking about raping women to get info out of them. Sinn Fein have had fuck all to say on this. Too busy cutting hospital budgets up North which playing the opposition down here.

• I set up the account to comment on the journal mark as I did not have a twitter account and I don’t use it. So that explains that.
    Nothing fisher than a fella like yourself who pops up for certain topics to dish out your far left wing views. You seem to have a particular horn for this corrin shower.
    Oh and you didn’t answer my original post, just replied with a meaningless comment

• Surely in legal terms it’s not up to the injured party to decide what’s applicable as evidence or not.
    I think this was a massive backfire for Shell2sea who are still trying to wring every bit of publicity out of it
    Yawn

• > Surely you would go deleting files just before handing a device in for a criminal investigation.

It wasn’t a criminal investigation. GSOC made clear at the start that it was a “public interest inquiry” and that the Gardai would not be facing criminal charges. After all, joking about rape is not a crime. (Also worth noting is that the women involved did not initiate the inquiry by complaining to GSOC. GSOC launched it on their own initiative.)

> how can she prove that the deleted files were academic related.

I’m not sure whether she can. However, she and her lecturers were put in a very difficult position. The camera belonged to NUI Maynooth, where Jerrie Ann was doing an MA. She and the academic staff of the university were bound by confidentiality agreements / ethics not to pass on the recording, because it was of a research interview (with people living close to Shell’s inland refinery talking about, among other things, the policing of the area). The academic staff have explained that they made several attempts to arrange with GSOC to have the older file deleted by an agreed third party in the presence of GSOC. They say that GSOC flatly refused and simply threatened them all with criminal prosecution. The critical decision by GSOC was to fail to mention any of this in their report; they only told one side of the story, so that readers of the report were left to assume that there was something suspicious about the file deletions.

It was perfectly clear to GSOC that the recordings from March 31st were intact on the camera. They just manipulated language to imply that something was fishy.

> this matter has been dragged out way too much. Time to move on

If your character had been attacked in this way, I’d say you might not be so relaxed about just moving on.

• Get over it Girl….

• Sorry but how can she prove that the deleted files were academic related. Surely you would go deleting files just before handing a device in for a criminal investigation. I doubt gsoc were going to use her academic files! The whole thing is very fishy on her part. And this matter has been dragged out way too much. Time to move on

• Im happy to put my face to my comment mate, ive nothing to hide and i dont spin. Nothing fishy there. Neither have i hidden that i work in social justice campaigns and project, that i see free market fundementalism and its relationship with the state at the core of inequality that gets reproduced generation by generation. As yes in interested in direct democracy where people actually ahve control over the major decisions that affect their lives. And yes im an anarchist. All very left wing indeed, though not really very scary. unless like the Fox News you think Sesame street is a Communist plot.

Anyhows::
    1 GSOC where invited to over see the deletion process, they refused. No idea why, best to ask them but they where given ample opportunity to play a role in that process
    2 It wasnt a criminal investigation
    3 The process is only being drag out by instiutions of the state or semi states, not anyone else.
    4 No one asked GSOC to carry out an investigation
    5 No one denies the cops spoke about raping women they just arrested, including the cops themselves

I can understand you think this is fishy as you have a clear dislike for the corrib shower. Thats fine, your opinion and all that, but would be great to hear what you actually think is fishy. Like there was some plot to blow up shit, or some crazy stuff on there. Or maybe there was academic research that the woman in question had genuine ethical concerns about breaking the trust of research participants (for what its worth i know that is the case, but hey you can believe i just lie straight up on forums, and that i dont take my self seriously etc etc)

Not sure if that helps, and apols about the twitter confusion but never came across folks with a twitter account who never tweets. Seems we both can jump to the wrong conclusions based upon prior assumptions

• Eire 05/12/11 #

Director General & senior management in RTE current affairs have to go! Their credibility is in tatter’s as I commented before on others posts RTE had an untouchable air about them , there was never any Management or political will to call to task the Gun Ho journalism it’s only thanks to the court of public opinion & the courts that RTE’s knees are bending there will be many more story headlines similar to these & all very serious to come down the lines

• And RTE contributors make how much again ??? amd why ???? Bloody disgraceful… and i remember folks on this webs-ite and politics.ie at the time, using the RTE slnt on this news-story to discredit he capaigners …. Bloody RTE and his pro-government stance ALL the time … This is why i am glad SF will have their opportunity today to broadcast their own stance on the budget … you cannot rely on RTE to do the right thing and broadcast anything unedited, that in anyway goes against the sitting government .. and they have run enough FF propoganda documentaries in the last 3 months to try and suggest that it was only Biffo that was at fault in during the last government, to try and get the rest of the cute H*ors off the line too …
    In summary, RTE are overpaid, underworked, propoganda artists for the government …. This is just another example of their incompetence…. Sell off RTE to FOX news .. Both are about as “fair and balanced” as eachother.

• Yawn!

• Silent P 05/12/11 #

OMG the evil Garda said a bold word in private. Off with their heads.. Get a life people. Please.

• Good stuff, proper order!

• I suspect the BAI is made up of their own gang. Vincent Brown on his TV show said at the time that Irish men say “I would love to rake her” all the time. This statement amazed me as I never heard the expression before in all the bars, clubs I visited. Following his remark I complained and nothing was done. It is who you know in our country not what is right that matters. If somebody else made this comment in the workplace something would be done by the women at least in the organisation.

• Hmm a twitter account set up to comment on here and has never has sent a tweet, has no followers and follows two people since first posted. Nothing smells as fishy on this page as yourself “Eagle Eye”

• Corrib

• If I gave an interview on condition that what I said was in confidence I would probably think it unethical of the interviewer to then tie herself to a JCB or whatever it was with my supposedly confidential interview still in her possession.

Even though there were no prosecutions & despite the inadvertent subsequent recording there’s every chance that these interviews were viewed by the cops prior to the camera being returned

So while its proper & in the public interest that this is clarified by RTE I would be more worried for the Good name of the Interviewees rather than that of the irresponsible Interviewer.

• The woman was arrested walking along the side of the road, not tied to a “JCB or whatever”.

• Regardless of the circumstances it was a betrayal of trust on her behalf to be in possession of that confidential info when there was a good chance it would end up in the hands of the police
      It doesn’t require a masters degree to surmise that Taking part in a protest here poses a real risk of arrest
      So what if prior to the release of the camera the confidential research element was watched by the gards to see if it would reveal any “criminal intelligence” ?

Add New Comment