TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

Seventh advertiser suspends funding for Rush Limbaugh’s show over “slut” comments

The radio host had harshly criticised a student who testified to Congress over contraceptives.

Conservative US talk show host Rush Limbaugh.
Image: AP Photo/Ron Edmonds/PA File

A SEVENTH ADVERTISER has suspended their support for the conservative US radio show host Rush Limbaugh following his controversial outburst against a law student over contraception.

Sandra Fluke, a law student at Georgetown University, recently addressed Congress in support of insurance covering the cost of contraceptives.

Following her testimony, Limbaugh accused the student of wanting people to pay her for having sex, branding her a “slut” and a “prostitute”.

His comments sparked controversy across the US, with the White House criticising his remarks as “reprehensible”, while President Obama personally contacted Fluke over the incident.

Limbaugh’s comments also caused his show’s sponsors to back away from his broadcasts. The latest, the floral company ProFlowers, said in a message on its Facebook account yesterday evening that it does “not base our advertising decisions to align with any particular political view or opinion as our employees and customers are as diverse as the USA”.

“Mr Limbaugh’s recent comments went beyond political discourse to a personal attack and do not reflect our values as a company. As such, ProFlowers has suspended advertising on The Rush Limbaugh radio programme.”

Limbaugh apologised to Fluke on Saturday after being criticised by both Republican and Democratic politicians and after a number of advertisers left the show. In a statement on his website, he said that he had chosen “the wrong words in my analogy of the situation” and that he had not intended to make a personal attack on the student.

“My choice of words was not the best, and in the attempt to be humorous, I created a national stir. I sincerely apologise to Ms. Fluke for the insulting word choices.”

Clear Channel’s Premiere Radio Networks Inc which hosts Limbaugh’s program, says it is supporting the presenter throughout the controversy.

“The contraception debate is one that sparks strong emotion and opinions on both sides of the issue,” Premiere Networks said in a statement emailed on Sunday to the Associated Press by spokeswoman Rachel Nelson.

“We respect the right of Mr. Limbaugh, as well as the rights of those who disagree with him, to express those opinions.”

- Additional reporting by the AP

Read: Barack Obama condemns US radio host for ‘slut’ comments >

Read next:

Comments (36 Comments)

• Good to see advertising pulled from this slimeball

• Slimeball….haven’t heard that phrase in years!

• A pathetic non-apology if i ever saw one.

• As much as I can’t stand the man, his apology is a proper one, even if it is only being made for commercial reasons.

He said he used the wrong words and apologized for it.

A non-apology is where they apologize for your reaction: “I’m sorry that people were upset by my words”.

• “I sincerely apologise to Ms. Fluke for the insulting word choices” and then insinuates that the real problem is that he caused “a stir”. He didn’t once apologise for the pain and suffering caused by his actions or the fact that he was completely wrong and mis-represented her. He’s only apologising for using the word “slut” to describe but not for actually inferring that she is a slut. An apology is what you give when you make a mistake and you are sorry for it and that is completely absent here. Looks like a non-apology to me man.

• It’s not really a proper apology since he says he’s apologizing for his choice of words and for singling her out as an individual – which means he stands by the claim he was making: that contraceptive tablets exist solely to allow women to be promiscuous and that any organization providing/paying for contraceptive tablets is promoting sexual immorality.

Which is still utterly repugnant. Especially since he was making his remarks as a rebuttal to people pointing out contraceptive tablets are, for many women, an absolute necessity to regulate otherwise cripplingly painful symptoms.

• It is great to see that fat ugly obnoxious arrogant slug put back in his box.

• I note he has only apologised for his choice of words

• I will always remember Bill Maher commenting on Rush Limbaugh’s infidelity. “We all know whats in his heart, lust and cheese fries”. Total sleezebag.

• Neither freedom of speech or the first amendment cover slander, he may be free to say what he likes but sometimes there are consequences.

• This guy’s been spewing hate and slander for years, why only now are his advertisers and his network deserting him? When this happened to Glenn Beck and it cost him his Fox News slot, I hope this forces that turd of a human being off the airwaves like it did to his tinfoil hat buddy.

• RDX862 05/03/12 #

You can’t really get rid of them anymore. Glenn Beck started up his own internet television station and reportedly has a couple hundred thousand paying subscribers.

• That will shut him up,hopefully for good.

• @Kevin … You are jesting !! He is the most popular talk show host on-air . The Americans love him . It was a bad choice of words but he was right to speak out about it if he wanted to . She was using 3000 dollars worth of contraception a year and she was the one who promoted that and seeking it for free . That is almost 60 dollars a week !!!
      She must be a busy girl and im not knocking her for that , pardon the pun .

• Conservative Americans like him allright I wouldn’t say all Americans like him.He was dropped from a group buying an NFL team a while ago because of how divisive he is.By the way Sandra Fluke was raising the case of a friend of hers who suffers from ovarian cysts for which she needs contraceptive pills to help.Costs her 3 grand a year.Seems excessive to me!

• @Niall: Is that taking into account the ridiculously high costs of American medicine?

• Er lads, no offence but you appear to have no idea how much contraception can cost..
      http://m.plannedparenthood.org/mt/www.plannedparenthood.org/health-topics/birth-control/birth-control-pill-4228.htm
      As you can see from this link it can cost $15-50 per month. Factor in price changes at drugstores / clinics, routine check ups for contraception..

You could say “well put her on the $15 a month one” but it doesn’t work like that, a woman needs to be prescribed the correct method for her individual needs.

You should see how much the pill can cost here.. I remember getting a nasty shock when I was given a prescription years back, IR£30 per month!
      No idea how much the injections cost, the coil is about €200-300 to have it fitted..

$3000 a year is not a crazy amount..

• Insurance are happy to pay for it… Do you know how much birthing a baby cost the US healthcare system

• In cracking form today Niall. Naughty…

• Looks like Vigo from Ghostbusters.

• And only NOW people are outraged by Rush???

• He also said in his “apology” that he had “stooped to the level of the left by choosing those words”

• Great opinion piece by Maureen Dowd in The Irish Times today about this.

• I’m sorry I chose the words slut and prostitute to describe your flagrant whoremongering…

• This is a typical example of leftwing censorship.
    Leaving Limbaughs comments what they are, he should be free to make those.
    Freedom os speech is exactly that; the freedom to say what one wants without the risk of prosecution or censorship in any form. It also means that people are free to say *things that you do not like*.
    The wave of faux moral outrage by the “tolerant” left wingers demanding that Limbaugh should be shut up/down is contrary to this. Obamas pathetic phone call turns it into state sponsored censorship and is no more than a pathetic vote winning attempt.
    The fact that advertisers are pulling their contracts doesn’t indicate a moral statement, it’s simply advertisers making a monetary decision.
    Really this is just so many kinds of stupid.

• Denis 05/03/12 #

He is free to say what he likes.
      And everyone else is free to call him a total slimeball for what he says.
      Advertisers are free to pull their contracts if they think being associated with an slimeball will cost them money.
      No one has been censored.

Free speech doesn’t mean everyone has to agree with what you say and no one is allowed question it.

• The hypocrisy of the left is that they themselves often use the most vulgar, sexist and sometimes downright misogynistic words to attack women like Sarah Palin.

• No one is censoring him, they’re criticising him for a horrible, basless slander he bestowed on a young woman who didn’t deserve it.

• @ Evert: That just sounds like a typically Rush Limbaugh style uninformed opinion. Nothing to do with “left wing censorship” – it has to do with people being outraged that an ignorant, unintelligent human specimen can get away with verbally abusing a young adult instead of having the intelligence, decorum, ability or verbal understanding to attempt to put together a proper argument to show his opposition to her view point.

Ironically, its the same thing you done in you’re argument by accusing people who want a bit of decency in how people in the public sphere, and even more so people with widespread influence, as being “”tolerant” left wingers”. Very Rush Limbaugh of you ;)

• First off, in this particular event there’s an actual element of slander involved – which ISN’T protected by free speech.

Secondly, it seems it’s you yourself who are advocating censorship. After all, all anyone has done is express an opinion about Limbaugh’s comments and offered his sponsors the opportunity to consider if they wish to be associated with them. Nobody has said that he shouldn’t be free to speak his mind in a free and open society.

In contrast, you don’t want people to speak their minds and you don’t want companies to make their own decisions about how they do their business. Your position, if reflected in society generally, would be a stranglehold not on democracy but unacceptable infringement by government on the freedoms of business owners.

• Liberal media bias….blah blah blah…..censorship….blah blah blah…..freedom of speech…..blah blah blah…..right wingers talk such shite.

• He is a talkshow host in the states,try listening to howard stern,opie and anthony or imus, you will here the same kinda talk and probally worse.Might not agree with the man but I dont want to see this OBama admin telling us what we can or cant say.

Add New Comment