Welcome to our Public Beta Site - What does this mean?
Dublin: 9 °C Thursday 24 May, 2012

Class size increases would do ‘irreparable damage’, say teachers

Pupils at a school in Dublin
Image: Leon Farrell/Photocall Ireland

Updated 11.27

A TEACHERS’ UNION has said proposed increases in class sizes would do “irreparable damage” to Ireland’s school system.

The TUI warned that “the future of our young people” was at stake, adding that subjects such as physics and maths – which have been highlighted by the government as priorities – would be hardest hit by the changes.

Annette Dolan, deputy general secretary of the union, said the changes would mean “a large school would lose two teachers or 66 classes of tuition every week”, adding: “The survival of ‘minority’ subjects would come under serious threat.”

She was responding to new Department of Education proposals to cut the teacher-pupil ratio in primary and secondary schools, putting children in larger classes.

The plan submitted to the government states that having more children to a classroom is the most efficient way of cutting education costs and could deliver savings of €75million a year, according to the Irish Times. Under the proposal, there would be one teacher to every 28 primary school pupils, where currently it is one to 27. In secondary schools the number of pupils per teacher would rise from 19 to 20.

The paper reports that the changes could mean a loss of 350 primary and 850 teaching posts. The changes could be a significant plank of the next Budget. Figures released last year show that class sizes in Ireland are already the second highest in the EU, with one in five primary pupils in classes of 30 or more.

Annette Dolan continued: “Students at second level have only one chance.

Weaker students need more support in smaller class groups, not less support in bigger groups. An increase in the PTR [pupil-teacher ratio] would also have repercussions for the integration of those students with special educational needs.

She added: “Our international reputation and the future of our young people are at stake here. The system cannot sustain another PTR increase.”

Read Next:

Comments (41 Comments)

• Anna Monaghan 04/08/11 #
    Report this comment

yet again children are the targets. they have taken away resource hours, SNA support , teachers for travellers are cut, home school community liasion is also cut. How many children are being taught in substandard over-crowded classrooms?

• Collie Woods 04/08/11 #
    Report this comment

Secondary school mid 90′s 29 in the class.

• Danny moran 04/08/11 #
    Report this comment

Oh fantastic. What bright spark authored this report? What a crazy idea. So we’ll save a few quid(feck all in the grand scheme of things), but have a less well educated student body and more unemployed teachers. Bravo

• Sean Smith 04/08/11 #
    Report this comment

The race to the bottom continues – for some.

• Roy Mitchell 04/08/11 #
    Report this comment

Good luck implementing the Revised Primary Curriculum in an overcrowded, under-resourced and time short classroom!

• Chris lynch 04/08/11 #
    Report this comment

I had a Primary School Class size of 34 and a secondary School class size of 30.

• gvnfnly 04/08/11 #
      Report this comment

What’s your point? "And look how I turned out!" Just because it was done in the past doesn’t mean we should continue it:( As usual with successive govts, a disgraceful & moronic decision.

• sure2bsure 04/08/11 #
      Report this comment

I remember counting 56 in my class in the 70s ..primary. In secondary we were graded like potatoes into classes in the 30s from A to F. I think by today’s standards the F class would have had it’s fair share of ADHDs and dyslexics. By the time I did my leaving there was just A to D. They may have well tattooed C on my forehead. I’m now in my 40s I have about 10 in my class now in university..long time to wait hehe

• Report this comment

The pupil-teacher ratio is already 29:1, which will increase to 30:1 under this government plan. I’ve read this article here, The Irish Times website and the Breaking News website. I do not know where they are getting their figures from, but they are all wrong.

• David Higgins 04/08/11 #
    Report this comment

I presume that the lost of teaching posts would be offset by retirements and rises in population. Even if this cut goes ahead, we’re going to need more teachers over the years.

You could probably save €75m by cutting money paid for the state exams. Supervision and correction should come part of the job description. Otherwise teachers have 3 months paid leave at our expense! It’s worse than the FÁS scandal but sure we’re used to it.

This is also a sign that we must revisit Croke Park. It’s wrong that the children will suffer while Teachers and other PS workers still enjoy a significant pay gap over the private sector.

• Report this comment

Job losses is just one issue. The major issue is over-crowded classrooms.

As a teacher and as a professional, I make no apology for my pay. I trained, I qualified, I was lucky enough to get a job, and I work for every penny I earn. It’s time people stopped under-valuing teaching as a profession.

• Fintan O'Mahony 04/08/11 #
      Report this comment

The failure of society at large to recognise that paying for societies necessities is an important investment is awful, complaints about the quality of schools and education in general ignore that you get what you pay for: fail to invest in education and your society begins to fail. As for the old red herring of three months off, Irish teachers spend more time in front of the their (overcrowded) classes than any other OECD nation while being paid significantly less. (http://is.gd/GlCHeN).

Report this comment

I don’t under-value teaching as a profession. I have huge respect for it. I just did the leaving and I owe much of my work to my teachers, many of whom have put in great work for us over the past two years.

However with an €18bn budget deficit we need to make cutbacks or we go bankrupt and then you’ll see teacher salaries cut by up to a half overnight. Nobody wants to see that.

Unfortunately it’s a choice between increasing class sizes or cutting teacher’s salaries. I don’t want to do either but I know that if I had to make a choice that I would sooner protect the children than protect teacher’s salaries. I hope that’s not an insult to teachers but when you account for job security, pensions and the holidays the choice becomes even easier in my mind. I think we should at least freeze increments over the short term. They’re unaffordable at this point in time.

Report this comment

Your solution presupposes the cuts are inevitable and ignores the failure of successive governments and the DES to
      ‘pay it forward’, in other words to invest in educational infrastructure and quality and well rewarded teaching as a guaranteed way of securing our future. We are in an economic mire but turning the road forward into a culdesac is no solution. And btw reducing the issue to a teachers wage cut vs a cut to educational investment is naive, they’re the same thing, invest in your workforce and you see the benefit tenfold.

• Jim Redmond 04/08/11 #
      Report this comment

David, worse than Fas, really? The teaching gig is open and honest – nobody is scamming anyone else. However I agree that teachers (such as myself) should have to supervise and correct state exams and that all staff training should take place over the summer break. However can’t see it ever happening because of the unions.

• Eoin Sheehy 04/08/11 #
    Report this comment

This is rubbish anyway, I went toprimary school (not so long ago)in the good times in a class of 36, my brother had 42 and now go to secondary school with a class of 21, these pupil teacher ratios don’t seem to be enforced.

Also it’s a joke that nowadays we’re closing special needs schools because of lack of money yet continue paying the likes of Blackrock college huge grants, when they can afford to go with out it.

Report this comment

The pupil teacher ratio is not reflected in the size of each class group. What the DES consistently fail to explain is that the PTR functions as a method of calculating the number of teachers in a school. A school with 450 students and a PTR of 19:1 can provide approx 520 hours of teaching a week, the same with a PTR of 20:1 can only provide 495. That means something in that school has to go, usually a ‘marginal’ subject like sciences or higher maths, you know the ones commentators keep telling us are essential for securing our future.

• Aideen Reilly 04/08/11 #
    Report this comment

Let the teachers take a pay cut if they’re so concerned about the education of children. The outright refusal of public sector unions to accept the economic realities is leading to increase in class sizes

• Danny moran 04/08/11 #
      Report this comment

Aideen, how exactly do you figure a further reduction in teacher salaries will solve the overcrowding issues in classrooms? You’re missing the point completely; with an increase in the ratio as proposed, not only will there be more and more unemployed teachers, but more importantly, students with dyslexia, ADHD, dyspraxia etc etc, will suffer most. By and large, good students will still manage(but should we be content with just ‘managing’?) while those who need most attention will suffer. This is a devastating blow to our young people. We need to increase funding and improve our education system, not continue to dismantle it.

Report this comment

Aideen, the economic reality is that previous generations at least acknowledge the importance of social capital, while they didn’t have the money to invest in it. More recently when we had the money we decided that investing in the future wasn’t important and that low taxation was preferable to schools with indoor toilets and the odd computer. Short sighted comments about public sector workers prove the point. And by the way, I’ve taken a pay cut of 19%, I’d teach for free if only the private sector shop owner would give me groceries for free.

• Aideen Reilly 04/08/11 #
      Report this comment

I work in the public sector so I’m not just having a go. Its very simple, cuts have to be made, public sector workers have refused that this be to their pay, so what do they expect of course class sizes are going to increase as the department has to reduce their wage bill by other means, i.e not hiring new teachers. As a result another generation will suffer when instead investment should be put into this vital area but the department have their hands tied

Report this comment

Let’s go through that in reverse. The DES has it’s hands tied: no, pay and investment were introduced without consultation four separate times in the last 3 years, inefficiencies in administration are no reason to hurt frontline services.
      Reducing the wage bill: any new entrant to teaching this August (that’s when we go back) will begin on 14% less than someone who started last summer, and they’ll probably pay more into their pension than they’ll ever get out of it. That’s just new entrants, they’ll still sign up, but that’s because they want a shot at being like this http://t.co/BfUkIYX
      Public Sector refuses wage cuts: yes, that always works, we say no and they say okay.
      Cop on.

• Ben O'Reilly 04/08/11 #
    Report this comment

We should stop subsidizing private schools, where class sizes are much smaller, and use this money in the public sector. The teachers will always shriek (ala the Simpson’s) “Will nobody think of the children” whilst in actuality thinking only of their own narrow interests.

• Mike 04/08/11 #
      Report this comment

People who send their children to private schools pay the same taxes as everyone else, why shouldnt they get their teachers salaries paid for in the same way public school childrens teachers salaries are paid.

• Danny moran 04/08/11 #
      Report this comment

@aideen. Great. It’s solved then. All newly qualified teachers can start lining up at the dole office because the departments hands are tied. Meanwhile employed teachers can take a further pay cut. Your pessimism and lack of determination to try and do something about this problem is something we could all do without. I’d gladly start on a lower salary-you on the other hand are employed. Easy to cascade the rest of us from the upper echelons.

And I reiterate my previous question to you…

• Danny moran 04/08/11 #
      Report this comment

@Fintan. Great link. Interesting viewpoint that resonates to us all at some point and a gentle reminder that teachers can make a real difference. May I suggest Frank McCourt’s ‘Teacher Man’ also… Funny if not inspiring

• Claire O'Brien 04/08/11 #
    Report this comment

There are 29 children in my sons primary school class, there were 29 in my class in primary school too. Nothing has changed. This is not new or news.

• Gerard Kellett 04/08/11 #
    Report this comment

what I don’t understand is the fact that in the 70′s, 80′s and early 90′s the class sizes in my school were between 30 and 40. the people at school in those years are the generation that spawned the “Celtic Tiger”. if class sizes were so relevant then this would never have happened. the problem with education now is the fact that the pupil are totally disrespectful to the teachers and parents alike. they expect everything to be handed to them without having to work for it. Students and parents need to cop on and stop blaming the system and take some responsibility for the children’s education.There is also still a lot of anger in the private sector as regards pay in the civil service in general and in teachers pay. People see teachers with 2 & 3 months holidays every year most of them with full pay for this time off. You can’t blame people for being angry about this. Resources are shrinking in all government departments and it should not be about the unions against the government. I should be them all pulling together to get the best outcome for the students. But this won’t happen because of greed abduction selfishness on behalf of all parties.

• Report this comment

Dear RuaIrí, don’t go down this road.

Leave the children, the sick, and the old out of this stupid mess we’re in. It’s hardly their fault.

In fairness teachers do need to catch up on technology in all subjects and more efficient teaching using online resources etc. but I say no to reduction in class sizes.

Let the able-bodied middle and rich classes sort out our problems. Not our children.

Report this comment

I want to see increased taxes on the wealthy too, but you’d be lucky to get more than a billion out of the upper classes and then you’re right down into the middles classes where most of us lie. We need 18 billion.

I share your frustration that we’re not the ones who have caused this crisis (except those who voted Fianna Fáil in the past) but sadly we have to work within the economic realities of the present :(

• Edan Gallagher 04/08/11 #
    Report this comment

Whenever this comes up it’s always quickly reduced to a debate about June, July and August. Check the class contact stats – we’re way ahead. In the ‘good old days’ of massive classes kids with special needs were in special schools (if they attended at all) and there were few or no international students. The demands of the job and the work environment are more diverse and challenging than in the past.
    A public / private spat is a nonsense, successfully promoted and ingrained by the last government to deflect from their own gross failures. At the end of the day everyone will pay for declining education provision- financially by having to pay for private tuition to maintain subject choice or grades through grinds and socially as young people are left behind due to a lack of resources. I would prefer if the unions didn’t go with ‘think of the children’ (although they hav a point) – maybe they need to clarify that teaching, although usually a heartfelt career choice is not charity work.

• Tom Kenna 04/08/11 #
    Report this comment

The increase in PTR will have a different effect in Primary and Secondary levels. At Primary level, more students will be in each classroom but for the Secondary sector the issue is about the number of teachers that facilitates the creation of a timetable that allows the curriculum to be delivered. An increase in PTR just means that there are fewer teachers to provide the service and so the school management must make decisions as to what subjects can be offered to students, and at what level.
    We have already seen a fall off in minority subjects like Maths-Physics, higher level Maths etc, and the Department have plans to reduce the examinable curriculum to 8 subjects at JC level.
    So the question then must be posed; which subjects deserve priority within the curriculum? Is Physics more worthy than Art or Music? Can Classical Studies be sacrificed so that students are taught Chemistry ?

While this increase in PTR will have an adverse affect on the working conditions of teachers, it will be slight by comparison to the inability of our education system to provide an opportunity for students to achieve their potential.

• matthew713 04/08/11 #
    Report this comment

A secondary teacher teaches 22hrs. The students do 28hrs. So a 20:1 ratio means a 25.5:1
    All practical classes limited to 24. So all non practical classes must go higher than 25.5 average.
    Increasing the PTR lowers the quality of education whereas shorten the school week to 26hrs (ie half day friday), will lower the Quantity of Education but not the quality.
    Confused?
    Current ratio 19:1 means 19*28/22 = 24.2 average class size
    Proposed 20:1 means 20*28/22 = 25.5 average class size and 5.3% less teachers
    Half day friday + ratio 19:1 means 19*26/22 = 22.5 average size OR 24.2 average and 7.1% less teachers

• John Hurley 04/08/11 #
    Report this comment

As it is, Ireland has one of the lowest investment rates in Education for an OECD country. we are 28th on the list, with the Czech republic, Italy & the Slovak Republic spending less. Our spend in 2007 (the good times) as a percentage of GNP was 4.7% compared to an OECD average of 5.7

Don’t believe me?
    Follow this link, and look at Indicator B2 (you’ll need Excel)
    http://www.oecd.org/document/52/0,3746,en_2649_39263238_45897844_1_1_1_1,00.html

The whole exercise seems to be “this is the easiest way to cut money” rather than look at budgets and costs in a comprehensive manner.

• Sinéad Ward 04/08/11 #
      Report this comment

It’s what we do with the money we invest, not how much we invest. Secret is to cut numbers of trainee teachers and make it harder to gain entrace into teaching courses and assess potential candidates more vigorously. There is a lot that can be done to use the funds more wisely, and Ruairí Quinn is the man for this job. So far he is one of the few good things about this new Government.

• Billy Donovan 04/08/11 #
    Report this comment

It doesnt look to be that much of a change, problem in the irish education system isnt the class numbers, its the below average or un-interested teachers teaching the subject. Who then piss and moan about everything, we all know the education system is under funded, so going on strike will fix that and destroy the education of the students will it??

• Sinéad Ward 04/08/11 #
    Report this comment

There were 30 in my class in primary school and I got a great education. This is just bad news for newly qualified teachers who feel entitled to a job once they finish their degree/postgrad. Doesn’t work like that in private sector and shouldn’t do in the public sector. An over-supply is an over-supply and they’ll have to move for the work or else re-train in another area. I have no sympathy for them, we are awash with below average teachers who are in it for the wrong reasons.

• Ciara Brennan 04/08/11 #
      Report this comment

Oh, Ireland. The above is the old “well that’s the way it was in my day, and shure aren’t we all grand, so and we are” chestnut, butchered and reproduced to be balanced on the obviously chipped shoulder of people like you, Sinead.

I am a newly-qualified teacher. I have no entitlement to a job, nor do I expect one. I have spent over €500 on photocopying, printing and postage on applications for jobs this summer and though this is a big stretch for me financially, I have accepted this to be a necessary evil and I’m getting on with it. I am not restricting myself geographically either – I’m applying for work all over the country where I will be miles from family and friends. Hopefully something will come. I work damn hard for every child that I have ever had the (wonderful) opportunity of working with, and I’d like to think that every parent I have encountered on my career thus far sees the passion, energy and commitment I give to my job, and that I give to their child. I never come to school later than 8am and I never leave before 4pm. I also spend hours of time – and hundreds of euro – off my own back planning interesting, stimulating lessons and making attractive and appealing resources to engage the child fully in lessons. I do this with great joy and without having to be asked.

I would take ANY class right now, regardless of size, but we have to accept that having a smaller number in a room has a huge effect on the one-to-one time that every child wants (and deserves!). Whole-class teaching is just one aspect of teaching and learning, and I’m sure you’ll understand that the new curriculum (which I presume you’ve read in full, given your self-assured, adamant response above) calls for child-centred, hands on learning which is MUCH more difficult to address in room packed to the rafters with children.

I’m sorry if that is too demanding a response for you, but I’m a sympathy free-zone as you so eloquently put it.

• Report this comment

I honesty don’t know how any teacher can teach with 30 children in the class. It must be bordering on crowd control a lot of the time! Very short sighted decision!

• Jimk Kelly 04/08/11 #
    Report this comment

We the tax payer have already experienced the urgent need to reduce class size, after all look at what large class sizes produced in the past .Take a look at past governments .

Add New Comment