TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 17 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Schoolchildren plan a minute of silence for Great Famine victims

This weekend is the official State commemoration of the Great Famine.

The Famine Sculptures Dublin

SCHOOLS ACROSS IRELAND will hold a minute-long silence tomorrow afternoon to pay tribute to those who lost their lives or loved ones during the Great Famine in the 19th century.

Children in Ireland’s primary and secondary schools will remain silent for one minute from noon on Friday as a gesture of respect for and acknowledgement of those who died or suffered loss between 1845 and 1852.

Minister for Arts, Heritage and the Gaeltacht Jimmy Deenihan said the students will also “contemplate famine and hunger worldwide” during the reflection period.

He thanked them for supporting the National Famine Commemoration Committee’s initiative.

“In pausing to remember the past, we also remain aware of world hunger and the issues around the shortage of food which affect so many parts of our world today,” he said. “There is no doubt that the experience of the Great Famine has shaped Irish attitudes to famine today. Ireland remains deeply committed to tackling world hunger, and providing humanitarian aid and relief around the world.”

The 2012 National Famine Commemoration is being held this Sunday in Drogheda in county Louth. An Taoiseach Enda Kenny will officiate the formal State ceremony.

Drogheda was the second largest port of departure during the famine years, according to Deenihan. More than one million people left the island at that time, forced into emigration when faced with a choice of hunger or a dangerous trip across the Atlantic.

There will be a series of events in the town at the weekend, including commemorative walks, a reenactment of the Soup Kitchen of 1847 and an exhibit of material from Strokestown Estate.

See the website of the National Famine Commemoration 2012>

Read next:

Comments (37 Comments)

• There was no famine in this country. It was a genocide aimed at exterminating the native Irish, catholic population. The potatoe crop did fail, but it failed all over Europe.The other crops and livestock in the country were taken from the country under armed escort and taken to britain.
    It’s time this was officially recognised because it did happen.

• Fagan's 10/05/12 #

One of the biggest exports during that period was potato’s to England.

There is nearly one hundred recorded incidents of famine between 1740 and 1847 in Ireland. Massively outpacing the rest of Europe in that, many of these localized events killed hundreds of thousands.

The Prussian nobility, considered the most brutal Landlords in Europe at the time, did not charge as much as the Anglo Irish Lords here.

• Those people were murdered. As the country was exporting food at the time. It genocide. It was not like a famine in Africa where there was no food.

• I’m amazed I have to explain… The Irish were punished for hunting, wild animals were considered property of the king & poaching was actively discouraged. There were huge quantities of oats, barley & wheat – all of which were being farmed by the Irish, and then exported under armed protection to fuel the industrial revolution in England, while the farmers starved. Millions of pounds worth of crops were exported from Ireland at a time when the local population was literally starving to death. The Irish were denied basic rights to food and also education – in theory an educated population could find a way to get around the circumstances by developing other resources, but that was not a possibility for the Irish. The reason we don’t accept responsibility for The Great Hunger, was because it was a situation which was inflicted upon the Irish & there was very little they could do to act against it.

• Is all of this documented? Is there written account of this being the sole reason Irelands population was halved during these years? There was 8 million Irish at the time. I still cannot fathom how people could have been watched to ensure they werent fishing. There were wealthy Irish people who could have helped but chose not too. It would be our own people I would be upset by if they let people starve.

• T’is indeed, me dear…check the National Archives here in London and you’ll find what you need. Imports and exports from the British Isles are in the port records. Plus I assume ships had logs that are still available. And I agree about our own people letting Irish peasants starve. Some landlords were incredibly cruel, hence the evictions. Some did all they could to help too…good and bad in all.

• I thought we referred to it as ‘the great hunger’ now that all are in agreement that there never was a famine in Ireland…

• I’ll be telling my kids exactly what the minute of silence is about; British thievery and the results of it. When are these “committees” going to stop lying to themselves and the people who actually pay attention to them and face the fact that there was no famine?

• Sher didn’t the Emperor of the Ottoman Empire request to give around £10,000 to famine relief at the time but Queen Vic suggested that he must only give £1,000 as she herself personally donated £2,000? Says it all really! They couldn’t have gave a flying f*ck about the Irish…as long as their own people on the mainland were fed. John Mitchell was the person who advocated that it was genocide…revisionism has altered that opinion to a more British friendly version.

• Two acts brought in by Parliament around the Famine ensured over half a million emigrated or starved. No.1- The £4 rating clause which made landlords responsible for paying rates on holdings valued below £4.No.2- the Gregory quarter acre clause which refused relief to anyone holding more than that amount of land. Bye bye peasants and clachans.

• Ciara you’re a disgrace whatever planet you are on stay on it

• I would hardly call her a disgrace. Just a bit gullible and uninformed. This is something out government have never talked about because they haven’t got the balls and don’t want to upset queen vic incase she come looking for that thousand quid back. Taking that kinda money out of the economy now probably would cause a famine

• Nah not a disgrace. Needs to read up about the subject alright, Christine Kinealy’s book is a good starting point. On another note, a big chunk of Irish history has been removed from the English and Welsh history syllabus…the Famine used to be a core part of the curriculum in modules for secondary students but this has been recently reduced. As part of colonial expansion (which they teach in bucketloads), I would have thought the Famine and Irish troubles would have a prominent part in there somewhere.

• Much the same happened in Scotland during the 1800’s with the Highland Clearances and it’s own famine. It was more valuable to keep sheep than people on the land, so they evicted the people. Gaels, Scots or Irish were simply being ethnically cleansed from their lands to line the pockets of their landlords. It’s something that needs to be remembered.

• I think remembering the famine should be about us as a people & not in any way about britain. Its more important than that & to reflect on this time & our culture & the fact that even though the british are gone we are still being persecuted because of actions by people that still have no interest in our plight. Quiet reflection & understanding we are a resilient people that will rise out of this.dark time again.

• Quite an irony that the blighted potatoes will now be available in the form of chips on the shoulders a new generation of Irish kids.

• Look if your going to be a fussy eater. Your going to have to pay the price.
    How about getting over it ?? It was nearly 200 years ago

• Jonno 10/05/12 #

: 0

• Alien8 10/05/12 #

Famine or no famine, why do kids have to have a minutes silence for events in 1845? It’s a school, not a premier league football game. Will there be famine memorial armbands next?

• Either way people died or were forced to emigrate. Im sure there was access to fish,deer, rabbits etc and people would have had oats, barley, wheat. so many blame the British for this. When are we gonna accept responsibility for ourselves instead of blaming everyone else? We need more famine commemorations. The struggle of these people should never be forgotten.

• I’m in shock at this comment.

• Which part Paul?

• Hahaha Ciara, serious trollin’ coming out of ya these days! The ‘Famine’ was a mismanagement of policies by the British…they took Malthusian theories to the next level in the hope of modernizing the agricultural system in Ireland. The fact is that there was no famine as Paul rightly points out above, look at the evidence of exports of Irish foodstuffs to Britain and see for yourself. I suggest you read up on this and quit these ridiculous comments.

• Ann marie, they cant be that bad,sure they took you in! More english than the english now are ye?

• Ha bet you like bitchin’ about emigration aswell…sher I’m a product of that! No problem with the English, wasn’t the ordinary mans fault that the Irish starved during these times. Policy makers made massive mistakes, plus the instability in British politics at the time certainly didn’t help making a streamline plan in tackling the starvation in Ireland. But seriously, read up about it though…the evidence is all there.

• I wonder if we could get a law introduced into the country (similar to the holocaust laws in Europe) that if someone tries to peddle the crap that there was no genocide or forced hunger, that their evil carcasses be thrown in jail for the rest of their lives.

• Cal im sure if the evidence was there like it was for the holocaust then it might happen but until that day comesn I doubt it.

• Fagan's 10/05/12 #

Jeezus Ciara.

Incredible historical ignorance there. If there wasn’t food from the fields why didn’t they go to McDonalds.?? Only slightly more ridiculous that your suggestion, slightly.

• Ah here Fagans, so is every kid in ireland ignorant? When you were in school were you told it was genocide or a famine? I may have believed what I learned in school but plenty on here believe anything theyre told.

• Ciara, may i ask you, do you think that the Nationalists in the North during the 1960’s that were marching for civil and equal rights to the Unionist brethren were marching to start an armed war, or just out on the p*ss, or do you believe they were right to march? I ask this, because, every time i have seen you posting about the North, you suggested that all the Nationalists were the cause of the war there, and that they should have just stayed in their place and accepted things as they were.

• Ciara I am a republican & I support the peace we have in Ireland & think that we do have a united Ireland & accept the UK as friends of ours but your comment I would compare it to holocaust denial. The British were running the country they occupied it & if you read history their own citizens were horrified at conditions here at that time.

• Cal, im fascinated by irish history, I think its incredible. I have only really become interested in it over the past 5 years or so but I was brought up not to blame others and without hate. Yes more could have been done to help and yes those in high places ignored the plight of the natives but I am not full of resentment and bitterness.

• Michael, can you show me where I denied this ever happened?

Add New Comment