TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more ยป
Dublin: 4 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Should unemployed people be given a date to be off the dole?

Minister Joan Burton will be introducing a ‘prediction of exit’ date for people on the Live Register, by which they must have found employment, reports say today. Do you think this is a good idea?

A queue at a social welfare office in Dublin
Image: Photocall Ireland

- Updated 1pm

IT IS BEING reported that unemployed people will be given a date by which they should be employed and off the live register.

A spokesperson from the Department of Social Protection said that Minister Joan Burton will introduce a ‘probability of exit’ date for people on the dole.

According to the Daily Mail, the length of time will differ depending on the person’s qualifications, with people in the IT sector being given around three months and others having a six month grace period, says the paper.

It adds that people who exceed the time allotted will be “given a pep talk”.

The dates are said to be being put into place from next Wednesday but the department has yet to confirm all of the details.

Today, we’re asking if you agree with such a proposal. Do you think that a ‘prediction of exit’ date needs to be introduced for people on the Live Register?

Tell us your reasons why in the comments below.

Poll Results:

Read: 57 ways to create jobs according to the Seanad>

Read next:

Comments (257 Comments)

• Maybe we could introduce an alternative time limit i.e. The minister responsible MUST generate 100,000 jobs within 6 months or else should be forced to step down, without pay, pension or perks and then look into getting a visa to a country as far away as possible… (at least this would lead to one immediate vacancy for someone who KNOWS what it is like to be in a position of unemployment)….just an idea…

• CMD 24/01/12 #

How in gods name can people get off the live register if there are no jobs for them to go to except of course to emigrate. Joan Burton has to be the worst example of a so called “labour/socialist”minister ever. She makes Thatcher look like Mother Theresa. She now planning to cut the old age pension from next September for thousands of people who were expecting to get a full pension after working for years. Proposing to change the contributions criteria so some people will be getting anything up to 35e a week less than they expected. And she still gives a 30k a year wage rise to her personal adviser. Rotten to the core this government.

• This measure could have been introduced during the boom time when there was plenty of jobs but it too late now. It is not fair to stress people out more.

• Err stress people? Its very simple there are something like 400,000 people unemployed in this country, so where are all these jobs?
      Who’s going to be the one’s to deliver these “pep talks”, 99% of those in dole offices up and down the country are even more aware of the situation than most of us so I can’t imagine them being comfortable delivering them.
      This whole idea is ridiculous. She may as well propose to get Harry bleedin’ Potter to conjour up some jobs, about as much chance of success.

• A reasonable thing to do ten years ago. When seeing long term unemployed men and women who were perfectly able to work was profoundly wrong, for them and society. Long term unemployment destroys the societies in which it exists.

That was then, this is now. There aren’t that many jobs out there. In Holland and the other Social Democracies, where you are looked after from cradle to grave, and where growth is the normal, after 2 years on the dole you are given a job, no if’s or but’s, you turn up or loose everything. Up to those 2 years you can get 80% of your previous salary in dole. That is a hell of a way to do it, they also get on average 40 days a year off but shure aren’t they just a bunch of shinner communist atheist loohlahs with their 4% unemployment.

Vote FG/FF for jobs.

• Yes, but in order that someone is given a job there must be a job there. I think that in times of recession it is unfair to penalise people who are unable to find new work, but I do think that a sliding scale system should be applied in better economic times. Long term unemployment is a choice for some people and if there are jobs to be found, there should be an incentive to take them up.

• great idea wrong time. Should have thought of this in 2002 when the people on the dole were layabout longterm bums not now when they are normal people who would give their all for a job

• Ridiculous. I think the pep talkers will be given many many pep talks by the unemployed because there are NO JOBS. As usual, the employed are taking the moral high ground in regards to those who cannot get employment. Stupid mentality

• Yes I agree with you Matt. You can’t get blood out of a stone. There are not many choices for the unemployed, when Burton forces us to get off the dole with no income, only emigration, staying and eating your own veg, or in most cases not, just eating grass, and the employed who are taking the moral high ground have probably never experienced being on the dole, and are being so snobby, oh they make me sick!

• What a spectacular piece of right wing nonsense- A pep talk!! “pull yourself up by your bootstraps”, “get up off your arse and do it for yourself” etc..and of course this won’t be open to abuse by the “pep talkers” at all. The labour party seems to be hell bent on becoming the party of the self righteous middle classes, more betrayal in ther name of political expediency! Looking forward to the big pensions lads?

• Not only are we to hand over taxes to bondholders for debts we did not incur, now we are to wave a magic wand and create over 400,000 jobs? Note how it’s been left up to the people to find work? What are our elected representatives doing to create jobs? NOTHING.

Joan Burton – Stop attacking people who have been forced onto Social Welfare through the ineptitude of your colleagues in the Dail.

• A lot of people are not on the dole by choice. It is the re secession that is causing the hassle.You only have to look at the amount of young having to emigrate to find work. So it is not for the want of trying..

• Oh come on!!

People are immigrating because they want to see other countries and all on the dole are lazy shower who need kick up the back side and all politicians are clued in to what’s going on.

Or don’t you agree with current ruling party :)

• Toureag 24/01/12 #

Ms Joan Burton, this is not fair & why are u so hard on unemployed who can’t get a job. We won’t forget u in next election!

• Yes. It’s an excellent idea. “Dear person-who-lost-their-job-of-20-years-because-of-our-fucking-up-the-economy, you will only have to be on the dole until , by which time we will have found a job for you which will pay your bills, which won’t require you to spend six hours a day travelling to get to and which won’t vanish in two months time”.

I’m just not sure how the Minister could actually manage it, because it’s apparently rather hard to create jobs in an economic depression…

• Me thinks this goverment has even less ideas than the last goverment and just as corrupt

• or

“Dear person who-hasn’t-looked-for-a-job-in-20-years-because-you-got-more-sitting-on-your-ass, tax payers have enough on their plate with bailing out the old boys networks and bank rolling public pensions we’re just given you notice to stop watching Jeremy Kyle and look for a job”

• Not all unemployed people sit on their arses, alot have to clean the house, cook and wash clothes, and as they say womens work is never done.

• I do not think it is a good idea at all. Where are the jobs for these people. Some are cheats, most are not. What are they supposed to do, go out on the street begging.

And all this from a LABOUR politicians, the supposed champions of the working class. Well there you have it, just like in the soviet union the bolsheviks murderers were the elite ruling class living the life of riley while the workers suffered, died and were ordered about by these self same self styled rulers. Worse than any king or queen.

Why is it the left always turn out to be tyrants of the people they claim to champion? Is it because they use such humanitarian causes in the first place to catapult their own egos and careers?

• Do you notice how often the children of politicians end up getting the seat of the parent? What is the difference between this and the so-called tyranny of kings the west sought to abolish. Democracy is only an illusion foisted on the unthinking masses to allow a perceived respectable, perceived elected representatives into leadership positions to rule us by dictat.

I sense a massive revolt is coming to Europe and all the bankers and politicians will rue the day they lived their corrupt privileged positions, pretending to be elected by the public and pretending to serve us. They serve themselves and see themselves as better than most of us. I stopped some of the FG on the street to ask them a question about our economy and they sniggered and laughed in my face before they realised I was serious and articulate, they then tried to hide their laughing. I think we will have the last laugh.

• Joan Burton to create half a million jobs by 2013 or get tossed out of the country on a famine ship. Sounds like a fair deal to me.

• So why do I pay my PRSI? It is a tough Market out there?Have any of these trolls been out of work themselves?A buddy of mine has been more than 6 mths looking for a job and he is an IT professional with an MBA. Every day I turn on the radio I hear another banana republic statement. Muppets!!!!

• What about a time limit for the government to create jobs for the 450,000 unemployed? What ever happened the “jobs budget” of last year?

• Maybe they need a ‘pep talk’.

• Government create jobs? Oh how I laughed at that one, the only jobs government ‘creates’ is for their own crony’s who they then break their own pay ceiling for in order to pay these crony’s as much as possible, oh and don’t forget the SpAds, they like to create jobs for their ‘advisors’ too after all, perish the thought that these ministers would actually know anything about what they are in charge of. Well school teachers don’t know everything you know!

• If only the government had โ‚ฌ1.25 billion in cash that could be put into infrastructure, special needs assistants and maybe setting up a few businesses. Instead of handing it all over to unnamed gamblers. If only they they weren’t spineless liars who consistently target the poor.

I voted for Burton and Gilmore’s crew of weasels because I thought they were the best of a bad lot.

• Diarmuid I couldn’t agree more with you, I voted for this shower as well thinking naively thinking they too were the least worst of a bad lot in terms of the underpriviledged and unemployed. This seems like a complete knee jerk reaction from Burton, who’s fast becoming our very own Iron Lady, and I don’t mean that as a compliment. How are they going to create these 450,000 jobs that people will be expected to take up when they’re taking even more money out of the economy?All that’s going to happen is that emigration rates are going to rocket. It’s unfair and ill-thought out and smacks of desperation.

• There is a lot of wising up all round between us. These people are career politicians, which would be fine if they actually were realy there to serve people and country.

I would find it a privilege to earn say 40,000 grand a year to serve the people of this country, an honour a privilege. These people see it as a burden that must be richly compensated and for that they then get to grease up all their friends. And after 20 years of jostling and cut-throating their comrades they may become taoiseach and gain the position of infamously living on in the Irish history books, as a listed mention.

This is what we are voting for. Who said that elected group of people is less dangerous and accomplishes more than a lone individual who is knows what a country needs and is prepared not to compromise until that country and it’s people is up off it’s knees and running?

How is our so-called elected democracy now better than a monarchy or dictatorship. They would probably get more done for us and not have this country hostage to international banker pirates.

• If the jobs are created and are stable, then yes it’s a great idea….but if the jobs aren’t there then it’s just another way for the government to save money and yet again screw ordinary decent people over in the process!!

• There should be a short time limit for TD’s to get results for us before we kick their useless ass to the curb.
    The government is completely and totally disconnected from the people they are supposed to serve. Troika puppets!

• Vote Lisbon for jobs!

• This is brilliant. Here I thought the unemployment problem was a symptom of a global recession the likes of which hasn’t been seen in a century and it turns out we were just lacking in ‘pep’! GO TEAM IMBECILE!

• This is a great idea for lifestyle dolers who never worked and have no intention of finding work. If they can be weeded out great.
    But for genuine recipients it will mean date to emigrate.

• I think as stupid as this idea is, if you read an article and it says “According to the Daily Mail” you can be pretty sure its crap.

• Era Chrrrisssssht!!! I’m sick of this like!!! I have a degree in music! They have now cut music from 3 secondary schools in my town!! What am I suppose to do?!?!!! I can’t take on pirate students because I can’t live on about 50โ‚ฌ a week with a 16 month old and no medical car which I would lose if I am sel employed!! They are takin funding from the arts an pulling music from schools! There are no part time jobs available!!!(waitressing,shops etc) around which I would gladly take! NOTHING TO GET OUT OF THIS HOLE! I hate being dependant on the government!!! :( they are IDIOTS!

• I am sorry for your situation, but I am also glad to see it is not just construction that had this problem. I started an electrical apprenticeship in 07, back when electricians were greeting plenty of work, and the job I had kept on the people they trained. Queue recession, my job started letting people go one they were qualified because they were too expensive. Cut everyone’s rates to 90% of basic rate, and there’s no other jobs available out there.

I would also happily take a minimum wage job, but there’s not many of them out there.

• @lisa
      Things sound tough for you and your husband.

All you can do is keep going and remember it wasn’t the government who created this problem, they are trying to repair the sinking ship while its still sailing in the middle of the ocean

• Your degree in music doesn’t mean you have to be pigeon holed forever. I originally studied music but moved on to. More lucrative career. It meant earning well below average for the first 5 years but after 10 years I was on double an average salary.

It sounds callous but I found the same after about 5 years of being underemployed and treated like an idiot, my town had only one music teacher and she had her job because she was a nun. I faced up to the reality that only special people with private school backgrounds and connections , and religious orders got proper music jobs, accepted it and moved on. Oh an don’t start me on the well heeled teachers and retirees who I was forced to compete with who couldn’t even play but undercut me on price! Sometimes you just have to face reality.

• Disgusting, what a country we are becoming – Burton and her ilk make me sick.

• Such a measurement will have to take account of the Labour Market on an ongoing basis. You can’t expect people to just walk into jobs in sectors where there are no jobs. We should have had this during the boom and while there’s never a bad time to bring this in, I just hope it’s fair and gives people enough time and encouragement to get back into employment.

• will encouragement create jobs that dont exist? do you honestly believe there are jobs out there for all these people? wake up

• Erm, @Joe, I can’t speak for David, but I gather from his comment that he believes that the idea will have to take into account what jobs are actually available and whether the claimant’s skills actually meet those requirements.

• if they took into account what jobs are actually available they wouldnt be doing this at all.
      All it would take is for someone to look into EXactly how many jobs there were on offer in this country at the moment to see that the numbers do not add up (i bet you anything there are NOT 450,000 jobs goin or will be any time in the next two years) . this is just an excese to force more people to emigrate why cant you see that?

• Yeah! That’ll show the half a million slobs currently signing on. Luckily there’s half a million available jobs.

• Let’s give the government a time limit to find all these jobs. Failure to do so will mean removal from the Dail and straight on to minimum benefit to replace their fat pay cheque. Their vacant seats to be filled by a previously unemployed person.

• Based on qualification???! Now I don’t want to paint everyone with the same brush but the majority of people who have been sitting on welfare for years and years do not have a college degree… Which means they have a longer ‘projected exit time’… Which means, people with qualifications who are actively seeking work and not successful will be bothered by welfare after a few months, while those who have no intention of getting a job will be left alone for the most part.

Here’s an alternative:
    Go back over the years and bother those who have been on welfare since 2000.

• I think bondholders should be given a date to get of the gravy train.

• CMD 24/01/12 #

Wonder how much the pep talk givers will be paid. Who will they be. Can I as an unemployed person with lots of people skills apply. What’s my chances!!

• Such an incredibly stupid plan at this time. Fair enough if there were jobs available but there just aren’t. Attacking the weakest in society again. These vampires need to be staked.

• Well said !

• Wasn’t Joan Burton in the Labour party at one time? Shows how low they have fallen, maybe they need a pep talk!

• She has lost all credibility imho. I would have rated her in the past as someone who perhaps cared about more than her own self interest (naive I know) but now I honestly believe there is not a decent one among them. The whole shower of them are vermin. I’m sick to the back teeth of the disingenuous bs that they spout and their abuse of the people of this country.

• I’ve never seen a party drop their core values and policies so quick in all my life. Fast becoming the greens. Eamonn Gilmore seems to have gone into hiding since the last election. And seems quite happy allowing Joan Burton continue on her path of destruction without any resistance. Is he just riding the gravy train until the next election, will he come out with more spin and lies to get re-elected and hope and pray we get rid of Fine Gael so he may achieve Enda’s goal? Toaiseach??

• Hmmm I’m not sure I’d give him that much credit. I think he is completely lost and incapable. He isn’t up to the job -similar to the rest of them. They don’t know or care about what they are doing other than getting a hefty pay check and ensuring inflated pensions. This government is a disaster. We need to clean house and start all over again.

• I’m not giving them any credit, believe me. But that is any politicians ultimate goal, become part of a leading government and ultimately become Taoiseach. Whether they are up to that job remains to be seen. The problem with this country is that it seems people do not need the relevant qualifications to do the job at hand. The Toaiseach appoints his ministers, not on merit it seems either. But who appoints the Toaiseach? What job interview does he have to attend only win an election. It doesn’t make sense.

• Good point Fiona. I think one of the main problems with our politicians is they are too well paid. By paying them so much we are only attracting the low lives who care about little more than lining their pockets. If the wages were 1/3 of what they are we might have some chance of attracting people who truly feel the need to serve the people instead of themselves.

• Well said Paul. There should certainly be a criteria a candidate must fill in order to be eligible to run in the first place.

• I do not think people get it. People on the left and far-left care nothing for the vulnerable. It is the same old story when letists like the bolshevists in Russia got into power claiming they were all for the people and the worker, they got in, then a few of them ruled the roost while dictating and ordering everyone else around.

All hail commissar Burton and Gilmore.

I also know the rightwing FFers and FGers are just as bad, just in a different way of operating. What we need is a centre group who are neither left or right, just decent and with a modicum of common sense and Irish pride.

• Minister Joan Burton should try and go on the dole, and then see if she can get a job! before making statements like that!

• Burton and co should be given a date to fulfill election promises and if they don’t do it boot them out see how they like it

• Hey Joan, why don’t ye just be up front about it and give everyone signing on a plane ticket to Canada, Austrilia, London or the States and tell them go get a job there! How can you set a dead line for half a million jobless and expect them to pick up a job within any time frame. Fucking delusional!

If you want people out of the country to bring down the live register feck’n say so!!

• sounds like a new rule to force people into low paid employment. the labour party has stooped to a new low!!

• Miss Fiona, What path of destruction has joan Burton been on??? Its her job to try and cut waste and fraud
      out of the welfare bill.I dont agree with her latest idea,but to suggest that she is destructive is like something
      you read in the sun or some other rag that sensationalize just to sell tabloids, at least try to be constructive.

• @Raynond, I presume this comment is for me? Yes, it is her job to cut waste and fraud out of the welfare bill but the way she is doing it is destructive. She is scaremongering, constantly coming out with reports that fraud is rife in the social welfare but it is not the case. The social welfare bill is at an all time high. But that is not the peoples fault. Naturally, as it is one of the biggest bills we have at the moment the pressure is on her to reduce it. But to try to reduce it by attacking the very people who are forced to claim it – that is what is destructive. She is turning people against each other. Making the taxpayer hate the welfare recipient because somehow, somewhere they are defrauding you and taking your hard earned taxes. Just how many people believe that half the people on the dole are fraudsters? The REAL fraudsters in this country are the people who defrauded the banking system. And are walking around scot free. Just the other day a man was jailed for 18 months for fraudulently claiming โ‚ฌ14,000 in jobseekers allowance. Yet an ex politician can fraudulently claim a leaders expense of โ‚ฌ41,000, an expense only Independent politicians are entitled to claim, while it was found she had returned to the FF party? Not one day in jail for that lady in question? Now, two wrongs will never make a right – but surely two frauds should carry the same sentence, no? And I’m not sensationalising – that is a fact. And that is only a tip of the iceberg as to what the real fraudsters in this country have got away with. Pointing the finger at the genuine social welfare recipient is destructive. It destroys peoples faith in the system and that is what she is doing.

• The bottom line on welfare payments is that no one, irrespective of the size of the family, ill dependents and so forth, should be ‘earning’ more than the average industrial wage. If the ‘dole’ is made more attractive than employment, can you really blame people staying on it?

• When the “experts” can’t see through the fog of the “current economy” – do they really expect the harassed social welfare officer and the unfortunate unemployed person to predict with any realistic accuracy?

• Definitely a good idea in some respects, though it will require more than a ‘pep talk’ to get people back into employment if their skills do not match what the labour market needs. I shouldn’t imagine that all of the builders, plasterers and others whose skills in construction are unemployed will magically find jobs in cloud computing!

• they dont care! this is an obvious excuse to kick people off the dole, they know full well there are no jobs for people like that and they will kick them off it wether they have made an effort or not. After all the poor bondholders and eu bankers need their cash

• Quite obviously Conor you and your 76 “followers” have never found yourselves on a dole queue. Very demoralising going from 50,000 a year to 55 pounds a week. Do you really think that those on the dole want to be there?

• @Joe I think myself and my “followers” are actually in agreement with you. As I already said a pep talk is all very well and good, but without jobs that match people’s skills. There should be a focus on Job creation and ensuring that people attain the necessary skills for those jobs, or do you have some problem with this?

As a matter of fact I have personal experience of unemployment. Most people in that situation just want to get back to work and regain a sense of dignity! Any kind of pep talks need to be aimed at the minority who believe that welfare is a lifestyle choice!

• Apologies Joe, that was directed at Dan Delaney

• true that connor but remember it is a MINORITY not the amount that the govt or media would have you believe

• I have two issues with this story as reported in the Irish Daily Mail:
    1. Does it strike anyone else as timely that the Irish Daily Mail carries this story today, less than 24 hours after its sister paper in the UK engaged in typical right-wing tirades against “benefit-cheats” and such-like, and lambasted the House of Lords for their decision to reject a Government Bill limiting the amount of benefit families can claim? I find it more than a trifle ironic that, given that the House of Lords was for many years the bastion of Toryism, that a newspaper long famed (or infamed) for its stridently right-wing views should suddenly turn on them like this. Of course, it suits them when the evil-doers are formerly Tory Church of England bishops.
    2. Coming back to home, I think this idea/kite (delete as appropriate) is good in theory, but is practically almost impossible to put into practice. The Department of Social Protection has serious problems with its benefit systems, particularly when it comes to people (such as myself) availing of part-time work when appropriate. What makes Minister Joan Burton think that any system, which can’t even discriminate between people working part-time and those not in employment for a number of years, and which can’t even link up to the systems at the Revenue Commissioners (witness the pensions debacle), will be capable of threatening people with cutting off their payments if they are not willing to take up work?
    3. This notion of people being taken off the Live Register, which counts people on part-time work as well as those unemployed for long periods (i.e. more than 1 year), is spurious. A quick glance at any recruitment sections in newspapers or websites shows that the majority of employers now seek people on short-term basis, with a view to possibly extending this based on performance. Therefore, the whole idea of the Live Register needs to be re-examined.
    I recognise that the majority of people on the Live Register are hard-working people who are genuinely seeking employment, but the tone of the Daily Mails piece and comment is typical of right-wing hardliners who want to see people crammed into menial low paid jobs just to beef up tax revenues without any real thought for societal structure as a whole.

• You can see where she’s going with it, but as another answerer put it, there isn’t jobs. Why didn’t the government do this 10 years ago? I knew of many many a person drawing the dole, and working, and even knew of one fella who was working for himself and drawing the dole. Maybe investigate people who are on long term unemployment, but even at this, some are unemployed at this length due to familiarity, and they would almost need a ‘pep talk’. Anyone newly on the electoral, I seriously doubt is doing it for the fun of it. It just seems the government are hitting the most vulnerable every time. I know the social welfare system needs to be changed, as for my circumstances, I’d be much better off if I never worked, and thats whats wrong with the country, but I’ve always choosen to work, even if it didn’t suit. Just make’s you wonder where their heads are at at all…..

• Would it be possible for someone in Journal.ie (or somewhere else) to set up a website that we can all direct our disdain in a systematic & structured method to clearly voice or opinions in a way that can be officially presented and put before these so called leaders of our society. We voted them in. We need a clear channel of communication to them on an on-going basis rather than waiting until the next General election.
    Any thoughts or ideas on this? Its a call to arms of sort!!
    Many valid points are being made on this website on a daily basis but they are falling on deaf ears (as far as politicians are concerned)

• And Job Bridge is not a real job…….people who have finished their Benefit payment and do not qualify for Job Seekers Allowance (Dole) can’t access these Job Bridge Jobs….and if you look at the FAS website it is full of them so where is she going to find the jobs!!!!!!

• Come next election it will be this evil woman who’s out of a job.

• Ok, where I can see in theory how this system could work, I don’t see how it can be put into practice given how few jobs there are for the numbers that are unemployed. However, I come from an area where most unemployed are long-term dole receivers, actually most never worked a day in their lives and never contributed to the PRSI system that supports them. And I have a massive issue with that.

However, then there’s the other side, the person that worked solidly for 20-30 years who is now being told, well, you got very little of the system you paid into, but now, you have to go and get a job…any job, or you’ll be cut-off. I know myself I’d go back working as a cleaner, shop assistant or waitress if I had to. However, there are people where that work would not financially support them and it’s not fair to expect people to probably struggle further if they were to just take a job like that just to suit the social, and in turn lose some of the benefits that’s probably keeping them and their families going.

Bottom-line, the social welfare system in this country is not a fair system. In other countries, you only get what you put in, which, though not ideal, does not encourage people to stay on the system because they can. And let me be clear, I know not everyone on the dole is a long term receiver or plans to be a long term receiver. But I do see those that are taking the P*** on a regular basis…

• People should be given a date by which they must prove that they are actively seeking employment or doing something positive to improve their chances of employment, but once that is proven, they should not be forced off the dole.

• I wonder how they plan to implement this? Are they just going to suddenly call everyone on the dole in for a “pep-talk” in 6 months time? If you’ve been genuinely looking for work but can’t get an interview, let alone a job, are they just going to cut you off? Will this just send more people down to the CWO (or whatever they’re called now) because they have NO INCOME and no way of getting any? Do more people go to their doctor and get certified too sick to work due to stress so they avoid having to look for a job?

When I applied for JB just over a month ago, I was told I’m not entitled to the full amount due to not earning enough in the relevent year, however, if I continue to claim, in 24 weeks, I’ll be into a new claim or some such, and based on my earnings in the relevent year then, I will be entitled to the full amount. I told her straight, I hope to god I won’t be still claiming in 24 weeks time. I truely hope I will have found a job that pays more than the โ‚ฌ147 I’m currently getting per week on the dole. I don’t plan to stay on the dole for 6 months, but I can’t be sure I will find a job. . . And I’m not even fussy, I’m a qualified electrician, but if I could get a job working in a shop or waitressing, I’d happily take it. Once a job covers the cost of my petrol, and the amount I wouldn’t be getting from SW, I’ll take it. Unfortunately, a morning spent on the FAS website shows even the most mundane and minimum wage jobs are looking for people with experience!

• ‘Pep talk’ sounds almost Orwellian

• Just in the interest of fairness, could we have some other polls like
    Should the Bankers, Speculators, Politicians and Neo-liberals that caused the mess(not the unemployed as some would have you believe) be boiled in hot oil???
    or
    should Joan Burton be asked to resign from the “labour” party and join the Tory Party (where she really belongs)
    there are so many more I could add, but just those first two for starters! in the interest of impatiality (we don’t want the journal to be accused of bias against the unemployed do we ?)

• I am really surprised how out of touch with reality Joan Burton appears to be. Before she got her ministerial position, I seriously though that she was someone who advocated an understanding of the problems in Irish society, particularly social justice and inequality. I can see now, I was wrong. Unemployment exists predominantly from a lack of employment opportunities, how can they set a time limit on unemployment, as the economy gets worse and worse as the days go by? Where are these employment opportunities going to spring from? Is Joan Burton going to single handedly create them?

Joan Burton, and her department of social protection seems intent on stigmatizing and punishing people who are ‘unemployed’, regardless of their situation. It seems also intent on creating this divide between people who are ‘employed’ and people who are ‘unemployed’. As it somehow, the ‘unemployed’ are to blame for their predicament, and the ‘employed’ are supposed to hate them for it. As if somehow, the problems of the state boil down to the people on social welfare in Ireland. This ‘vilification’ of ‘the unemployed’ has been a consistent policy for Labour since they got their claws into state office. It is deplorable and demeaning how the unemployed have been scapegoated by this current government as the source of the drain on Irish finances, while at the same time, billions are going into defunct banks, and to pay off bondholders. It seems to me, at this stage, that Joan Burton is only short of suggesting we throw the unemployed into Irish Gulag’s and keep them there until they have learned just what a scourge on society they are!

• What a ridiculous blind and irritating idea.

How about this instead: Ministers given a 30 day deadline to complete 90% of the promises they made.

I’m not exactly sure what a ‘pep talk’ is exactly, a threat perhaps?

Social Welfare Office “You know, if you don’t get a job in 5 weeks you’re gonna get shoved off the dole.. and most likely have serious issues. Such as death from starvation! Mwahaha”

Person on Social Welfare “Uhm.. but I can’t afford to print off CV’s anymore! I’ve already sent in 3 to each company in my town, what else can I do?! I need help!”

Social Welfare Office: “You can go on a CE scheme for โ‚ฌ20 a week! :D”

Person on Social Welfare “Oh…. :’( ”

There are other sides to this, such as the people who make more money than me while on the social welfare.. of course I need not say that I disagree with that!!

• this is disgracful,what is this woman trying to do ,is she trying to push everyone who are just bearly hanging in there over the edge ,im ashamed of the labour party and what they have become ,enjoy your time in the limelight labour party ive a feeling come the next election you will be back out in the cold and this time nobody will trust you to protect the vulnurable in our society, you are a disgrace to that great man James Connelly,SHAME ON YOU .remember that old adage fool me once shame on you fool me twice shame on me ,margerate thatcher will never be dead while joan burton is alive ,go find the jobs for all these people you want to throw off the dole you ignorent excuse for a human being

• Well put Mariann SHE IS TURNING OUT TO BE A HORROR I’m beyond working age but I hate what is happening to the the younger people of working age. Keep up the good fight. This country, this society is as much yours as Joan Burton’s. Neither she nor her cohorts have no right to debase our humanity in the way they are. Copy your comment to an email and send it to the Labour Party.

• How about a length of time a t d sits till he or she makes a meaningful contribution to the process or freeing up teaching jobs held open for t d s
    Indeed one has only look to see that former junior minister willie penrose has returned to practice at the bar.
    This policy may have merits but the labour party do as I say nit as I do is a bit Irish.
    I urge people unhappy with present government to target last and 2 nd last elected t d in their constituency as that will frighten them into action

• if this plan is managed correctly it is a great idea. there are many on the live register who have never worked a day in their lives or paid a penny in tax yet are supported from the cradle to the grave by the State. This ludicrous situation needs to be addressed.
    However, for those who are on the live register who have become recently unemployed since the “bubble” burst and are trying to better themselves by retraining so they fan try and gain employment and at the same time trying to keep the lights on at home for their families, these are the people who need to be helped, any these peoples needs should be taken into account.

• I just said this above – but I think it applies to this comment too:
      You can bet your ass this idea wonโ€™t affect anyone on โ€œa bookโ€ like lone parents, or long term sick. I think youโ€™ll find, a lot of the people who are โ€œscrewing the systemโ€ are well practiced in how not to get booted off the dole. Alcoholics/drug addicts who know they just have to turn up to their medical assesment drunk to get another year or two on their book, no questions asked. The people genuinely looking for work are not the problem โ€“ because theyโ€™ll take work if they find it!

• I agree with you Antoinette, but I can tell you one thing if some person turned up drunk for an interview as they have “issues” and therefore cant get employment….their feet still wouldn’t have touched the ground and their arse pocket would be bare too. People like this are ideal candidates to have their payments cancelled.

• Well I have known people who did that every time they were called for medical examination my social welfare. I agree that these are the people who should be left penniless, but they are not the people who will be affected by this proposal.

• The sad thing is Antoinette, you are probably right. But the long-termers should be looked at first. My definition of long-termers are those who have never contributed a penny of tax in their lives.

• I’ve paid little to no PAYE in the past few years, that’s due to the fact that I’ve earned too little. It’s not my fault they took the low paid out of the tax bracket. I’ve paid my PRSI, that should entitle me to help when I need it (like now) but because my partner works more than 30 hrs/wk, I’m not entitled to help with my mortgage. Because I earned so little in 09 (due to reduced work hours, and time spent training) I’m not entitled to the full โ‚ฌ188 that a single person who’s never worked is. Because I’ve been on UB for less than 3 months, I’m not entitled to training grants etc.

Sorry for the rant, but the system is fucked, and needs to be changed, but this is not the way to do it.

I resent the long term unemployed who live on benefits and don’t want to work. I just think that something else has to be done.

• rocky, as soon as u put ur hand in ur pocket u are paying tax, vat etc.
      same goes for the longterm unemployed u speak so highly about.

so, to say they have never paid taxes to the state is incorrect.

i often get the feeling that u were born in the wrong time
      and wrong country. I’m sure u would have shone wearing
      a black uniform, sporting a shiny Luger :-)

• @Antoinette, I agree totally with you. The types of people I have a problem with are the ones who have been on Social Welfare for years and years, the types who when there were jobs a plenty chose to sit around and basically not get up of their arses and get a job with the paw out. The types of people who have never contributed anyting to the system. These people in my opinion should be targetted first and formost. The poor guy who worked for 20 years and now finds himself unemployed with a family to support deserve as much assistance and help as possible to retrain and get back in there.

@Joseph: The idea that supporting the likes of Joe Bloggs who signed on the dole at 18 straight out of school, and never bothered to get up of his hole and get a job or do a course to educate himself and has been happy to do this for the last 10 years is absurd to say the least.
      Just because Joe Bloggs rolls out of bed at 11 o clock and heads down to Spar for a can of Red Bull and in payying for his can is a taxpayer as there is VAT on the can is doubly absurd and I would go as far saying probably the most idiotic thing I have ever heard.

• Rocky. See any similarity between your view of long-term unemployed and the British State’s view of the Irish in the 1840s?

• None.

• It’s very hard to listen to this crap from the Labour party and their fellow travellers when government ministers have trampled on all the guidelines regarding payment to advisors to ensure they get massive salaries in line with their “expertise” and “ability”. Funny how many of them are former party hackswith just the right “expertise” to deal with an economic collapse…or was that how to dodge the truth while still appearing to maintain integrity.

Minister Burton and her labour party colleagues particularly should be ashamed of themselves-remember us lads, the working people of Ireland, y’know, the ones you used to pretend to represent?Apparently the 470,000 of us now unemployed will be able to set exit targets for ourselves-brilliant!! I hadn’t realised that was all we needed. I take it all back about the special advisors, they’re obviously far cleverer and better than the rest of us!

• I think Joan Burton would be better employed, pun intended, to ponder on her own probability of exit date. The sooner this lot gets voted out, the better.

• the unemployed must also be offered educational / qualification upgrades,

• It’s not like the majority of people in Ireland are on the dole by choice. By creating this deadline the government are further forcing people to emigrate and these are usually people who have skills. Essentially what we are left with in Ireland are people with fewer skills and lower levels of education thus reducing the viability of our workforce. It’s also a case of the government punishing people for their having failed us through not creating more jobs.

• Presumably the government have 400,000 plus jobs in their back pocket now that Ms. Burton is introducing this new so called incentive, has Minister Burton actually ever had to live on the social welfare? My experience was horrible, the staff behind the counter looked me up and down and muttered under their breath “here comes another one”. I worked hard for over 20 years before I lost my job through no fault of my own. This country has become a joke and is it any wonder when its being run by clowns, perhaps Miss Burton will give us all character references when we appear in court for stealing a loaf of bread to feed our children, because we couldn’t find jobs before our “predicted exit date” !!!!!!!!!!!!!

• I voted yes. But naturally it would only work if we had a decent government that could provide jobs for them. Dole should be for a limited time to help people out of work while they search for a job of their choice.

I firmly believe that the current system of doling out the dole to long term unemployed is unimaginative. Everyone has a value and something to contribute to society. Our challenge is to find people’s strengths and find something for them where they can contribute, even part-time.

Nobody deserves to be dumped on the scrapheap. It suits because the system is lazy. There would be far less crime if people felt part of their community. If we look around our country there’s plenty of work to be done.

We have a community based president now and we should listen to some of his ideas. Time is ripe now!

• Definitely agree with you there Rรฉada. It’s far too easy for us as a nation, and the government of the day to forget about the problem and hope it will go away. Emigration and the failure of allowing people to languish on the dole long-term are not the solutions. Creating employment and up-skilling are. Minister Burton’s proposals will only work if there is something out there for the unemployed to do!

One the point of using people’s skills ion the community, it is a fabulous idea if used well! I remember about twenty years ago when my own father was unemployed, the local welfare office asked him if he would like to contribute to a local project restoring stone walls in the area. He jumped at the opportunity to feel valued and make a positive contribution to society once again. Nevertheless, the welfare office totally overlooked the skills he actually had in IT, administration and as a sales manager where he could have made a greater contribution in terms of organising such projects, administering them and securing discounts on materials purchased etc. A loss to both his self-esteem and the larger community.

• It’s time for the new socialist to speak out Conor. Money is only energy and should not be given for nothing, it is merely an exchange. Nothing is better than receiving money for a job well done.

I love to see someone doing their job well whether it be making an area beautiful by cleaning or helping make someone better or by building a wall.

People’s bodies and spirit know when they’re valued and when they’re just being told to shut up and disappear back to the estate they’ve been herded into! I’m serious.

• I agree ,however ,if you made this same comment a few months ago (which I had done) you would be branded uncaring and told that people did not choose to be in this situation,which is true. People need to work , for self worth and confidence . To feel that they are doing something for society,their community,their neighbourhood. New Socialism ! Sounds good
      However , I do not think that a pep talk to people who are recently unemployed and can not get work is right. What about telling the people who wont work , have not worked in years and years to get off their politically incorrect asses and join society . Pull Their own weight
      Seperate the chaff from the wheat . A time limit ,pep talk, that is all nonsence when there are no jobs available…..

• I agree with Eileen, 3 years agio I found myself unemployed and was unable to get work for 10 months. It is incredibly demorialising to sit on the dole queue while applying for job after job and getting nowhere. The notion that people who have been made recently unemployed are quite happy to do this is quite simply not true. Of course I recognise that there are certain individuals who make a “career” of living off the state, but for the majority of poeple forced onto the dole, the very notion of a pep talk is incredibly insulting.

• Exactly Edel, any pep talk for the majority of people needs to be focused on giving people hope when they are at their most despondent. There is a tiny minority who require more vigorous attention.

• I’m thinking someone forgot to set their alarm and is still in dream land, the only jobs out there seem to be voluntary jobs, and although these are not ideal perhaps they should be looked at in terms of people not getting something for nothing. Money earned is money that is valued. Should we be earning dole? I am a full time mature student and I work voluntary, for me it’s about keeping my sanity and giving myself a purpose. I know that not everyone is in a position to take on regular voluntary work, but it is better than the alternative; doing nothing. Give us back our sense of pride.

• is it coincidence that this comes out the week after the troika were here? They did recommend that there be limits to the time a person can claim dole for – maybe Bruton is offering them a watered down version of what they want – e.g. a pep talk rather than hard action.

• I think it’s time the little man up in the รras went over the Taoiseach’s head and dissolved this incompetent Dรกil……go on Michael D….you know you want to…

• Length of time you get to stay on the dole will be based on qualifications? What about geography, successive governments have turned the country into a series of hubs and there are large areas where work simply isn’t available and no efforts are made to attract any investment.

People need support, to start new business, to get back to work, they don’t need to be scolded like school children, but hey, I guess its all you can expect in terms of strategic thinking from a bunch of people who trained as teachers.

• That is true Eyepopper. I live in a rural area, where there is absolutely no prospect of employment, I don’t drive, am unemployed, so that only leaves taking the bus, which costs alot of money. The ECB prefers we give alot of money to the senior bondholders, instead of helping the unemployed to find work after a long time. Their ancestors were nazi leaders, who stripped the jews of their eqipment, killed them, and then went to Argentina to live in luxury, so the irish govt is listening to these guys, instead of us the unemployed. We can go to hell as far as we unemployed are concerned. they don’t care about us, they’re just interested in paying off the debts to a dead bank.

• What !!! Start Cutting Dole payments to families who are among the 450,000 unemployed in a country where there may be 10,000 jobs available (mostly minimum wage which wouldn’t feed a cat don’t mind a family) if even that many. We wont count the jobs for the boys and the girls as they were never available to those outside the inner circle (of corruption) anyway. Maybe people can start businesses of their own ops I forgot the regulations,permissions and charges involved make it impossible to do that unless you have money already. Great lets borrow the money to start a business, ops the banks which we have bailed out will only lend money to people with money. No feck it cut everything across the board so even more businesses close down because people have no money to spend, putting even more people out of work. That way the public sector can be drastically cut as they will truly have nothing to do. People should wake up and realise that every penny of social welfare paid in this country gets spent directly into the pockets of small business. Cut everything it Sounds Like a great way to start a Revolution

• It’s a stupid idea as there are no jobs waiting at the end of the prediction window. I used to work in the arts, full time but now any artist jobs in Ireland are for schemes or work placements, I’ve been to university and have a family to support. My predication date for coming off the dole coincides with my emigration date, no surprises there!

• You made a choice to work in the arts. I’ve a lot of respect for people who choose to spent their life doing something they love acknowledging all the risks that a life in that field may bring. I would love to have the passion determination and talent to make that decision.
      Presumably you thought about the future at some point. How did you envisage you would provide for your family if your career didn’t pay?

Nobody forced you to become an artist. Please accept some responsibility for your actions.

• @Rob Jones
      What difference what area of work someone is in, point is,there is very little work. Artist or builder!! List could go on…..

• @GillJones
      I went to college, I like to draw, I don’t expect the state to pay for me to indulge my fantasies. If I’m not good enough to fund myself I don’t sit there expecting others to fork out. Sometimes we have to put our dreams on hold for a bit, accept the reality of the situation and move on.

• Thats good to know Rob, good for you. But the FACT is there are few job opportunities and mass unemployment. It does not matter what profession a person does/ has or wants to do, the fact and the “reality of the situation” remains the same…mass unemployment. I hope you remember your own words next time you go see a movie, listen to music or indulge in something creative! This island is bad at the moment and would be a hell of a lot worse it there were no arts. Louis Le Brocquy would agree with me, i’m sorry you dont.

• So many thoughts, such a small character limit : Top 3 then.

1.Minister Burton is presumably aware of the state of the jobs market at the moment?
    2. Imagine what she would have done had she gotten the Finance portfolio she wanted.
    3.Aren’t labour meant to be left of center?

• This woman is beginning to remind me more and more of Maggie Thatcher by the week. So so ignorant.

• Was listening to spin 103.8 this morning and a guy was chatting about an employer who offered a girl a job for 30k, she turned it down as she said “to be worth my while to get off the dole I would need 32 plus” that is the problem with the mess of our social welfare system!! Between her dole, medical card, rent allowance etc etc some people are getting way to much!

• Who was the guy??? Did you bother to find out? probably don’t call it spin 103.8 for no reason, hard to believe that someone would turn down 30k, I would nt, and I doubt the majority of the 450,000 others would nt either, so maybe check the facts and put the tar-brush back in the bucket!

• Gerard i 110% agree with you, the talk show and gut on it were genuine though…..i think its madness she did not take the job, my point is…and you must have missed it, was certain people on the dole are getting way to much. It’s not the persons fault, its common sense that you would pick the higher money, whether its the dole or working as a living, my point is the dole / tax system is flawed. Nobody should even think twice about whether they should choose the dole over working, when it comes to which would earn you more!

There was also an article a while ago in one of the papers, ( not The Sun btw ) cant remember which, but it did state that a couple, depending on there circumstances cound earn 90k a year on the dole. This was actually confirmed by the Dept of Social Welfare. And People wonder why this country is f*****

• Still like to know the guys name !!!????
      90,000 on the dole if you have 10 kids, probably incl childrens allowance , which everone gets , prob incl rent allowance which goes to landlord (landlords gets 500 million euro annually in rent all) , probably incl monetary value been put on medical card! But here is something you wont read in the same paper I know a guy (can be verified and is truth) who was unemployed, married two kids, huge mortgage…took a job working at minimum wage, but can only survive with aid of family income supplement, he cant afford to go outside the door! meanwhile his boss pulls up outside the job in a brand new BMW, paid for from the proceeds of slave labour and from people like you, whose taxes go to subsidise slave labour, but you wont read that in the paper! probably an even bigger reason why the country is f@@@ed

• I was told by my current employer that someone turned down a job as the salary of โ‚ฌ35k was not worth it based on all the benefits this person was getting between medical card, dole, rent allowance, child benefit etc.
      I know someone else who has been on and off the dole for near 4 yrs. Off dole only to do Fas course. She was offered a job and wouldn’t even take the interview cause it was door to door selling which is “below her”‘!!!!

• @paula I am not denying there is abuse in the system! there is abuse in all systems, off hand could you tell me how much was taken from tax evaders last year? Probably not? I would not be surprised if you did nt know as it does not get plastered all over the papers and tv as welfare abuse does! (btw it was over 300million euro). They also get refered to as “tax defaulters” , compare that with the terms used to define welfare abusers! The truth is that prior to the bust unemployment was below 100,000, which is considered full employment, as there would be people on the list who would be working part time etc, Therefore there are over 350,000 people on the dole , through no fault of their own, incidently they are unemployed due to a recession caused by “the wealthy” , many of whom are now the ones attacking the welfare system! In the last year there were reports that snitching on people on welfare had reached a new high, is it not a pity that we did nt have the same public suspicion about Bankers, the Church etc, might have prevented all the misey we are going through now !

• I don’t think that is representative of the majority of jobseekers out there. I recently applied for a 25k job which I didn’t get in the end after the interview. I would have been delighted to be earning that. Compared to what I get on the dole, it would have made a big difference to my life.

• Rob Jones-Thank you, I appreciate your sincerety and my apologies if some of my language was intemperate, this is a very tough discussion to have without tempers becoming frayed!
    Mick.

• How about we change this up, and we give people a rise in their dole payments the longer they are on the dole. Then we may get some action from the government on job creation. A huge public investment in job creation through a public works scheme instead of pumping money into the Anglo black hole would achieve this.

This plan is the usual “paint all people on the dole as lazy and work-shy” plan that has existed for many years. The vast majority of people on the dole are neither lazy or work-shy, but just can’t find suitable work. For people that think living on the dole is a lifestyle choice, they need to get real and wake up. It is a horrible existence that very few people want for themselves.

This is a typical Thatcherite policy from the Mini-Thatcher Joan Burton!

• Does anyone know if Joan Burton is reading this?

• Another load of spin to keep our minds off the payout to the bondholders

• Well they can go boil their heads for I care; I don’t remember voluntarily becoming redundant 3 YEARS AGO Still NO job, despite all my effort and hard work.
    Don’t do our betters actually ever talk to ministers of parliaments of fellow member states about these ideas. Do they ask what happens in Poland, Spain, Greece etc after unemployed are cut off within 3 months?

Anyway, as I have already told them, if I end up in poverty or in debt, I am landing it on their door.

• Why can’t this government get on with getting this country out the shit and stop bringing stupid rules which don’t help anyone . No jobs out there we know government knows,stop pissing around !

• Should some one on the dole be given a date, No. Should the official working with the individual, Yes…

Civil servants should have target dates by which they expect to find employment for someone on the live register. I don’t think it is useful for an individual on the dole to be aware of this date as it may breed complacency.

Civil servants need more structured and active engagement with those seeking employment.

• Some people just haven’t a clue makes me laugh really… Yes there are some wasters on the dole long term, I live in a small town and there just isn’t any jobs locally and I mean 25 mile radius The work is just not there in places …..

• People need to relax and think about this logically. Any problem/issue that is tackled by using extremes will undoubtedly be unfair or unjust to certain parties. However, there is no doubt that on we have a disgusting infestation of leeches within our society, (mainly Irish people let me add).There are thousands of decent, honest people who are unfortunately through no fault of their own are drawing the dole. A bill of some sort is needed to tackle this issue. The social welfare system needs to be reformed in some manner. We all have stories of how it is being grossly abused by the lower classes of society and in some cases of late by so called middle & upper classes. Perhaps a method of means-testing would tackle the problem. I agree with Emma’s sentiments above. I would add that we need to grow up as a nation and stop our ridiculously misguided PC-ness!!! Perhaps we could learn form Germany’s model…

• Learn from Germany’s model? A two-tier system where those eligible receive the equivalent of โ‚ฌ2,200 earnings per month and those not eligible have a “minijob” scheme which pays as whopping โ‚ฌ400 per month? Don’t look to Germany for well-balanced social security and civil service systems…

• I think for long term unemployed who don’t make an effort to find work or are too picky with a job offer then yes there should be a time limit.
    For those who genuinely are looking and simply can’t find any job whether it be in their profession or not then further consideration needs.

• I feel as if this shouldn’t pass..

Many people who has tones of experience might need the money to keep up with rent and food for themselves.. I mean, the thought of having people off within a date is largely impossible and it surely can’t be done.. It would take months of searching for that to happen.

say for example a person was looking for a job as a factory worker and a month before that person finds a job, they get cut off the dole.. What do you think can happen.. there’s a possibility of that person that have to go to their parents for help.. possibly they can’t keep up with the rent if possible..

If this idea passes it could cause more people to go homeless..

Think about it.

• I would agree with the Minister but only in circumstances where there is plenty of employment. You cannot expect people to find employment if it is simply not there and especially where a person has no skill or qualification. It would be unjust an immoral to take someone off social welfare in those circumstances. I wonder how the Labour Party will fair in the next election after all the measures they are introducing that are affecting ordinary people. What about measures to make the rich pay more?

• Hmm the options for the Labour party

1. Target the poor – hope they blame FG & FF.
    2. Target the private sector – they don’t vote for Labour so no lose there.

3. Target the Public sector unions – no chance, we must cut everyone else to protect our electoral base.
    Blame the borrowing on FF, home free for the next election.

• Another kite being flown to test public reaction before it’s introduced – & if so it’ll be introduced tentatively, amended over time to save the blushes of this Govt, and the people will shrug their shoulders and say “sure theres nothing I can do about it” because we Irish people always take stuff lying down!!

When will we learn? .BTW – Love to know who’s in charge of spin for this crowd! Always baby steps before anything harsh is introduced!

• I feel this is a case of apples and pears and therefore will inherently result in a brawl argument if kept combined like this. It is obvious from the comments above that genuine people have been let in the lurch regards jobs but also I think it is paramount that tax money does not go to people using the recession as an excuse to sit on their arses.

• In normal circumstances this would be a good idea but these are not normal circumstances – there are no jobs there are no prospects – there for far too many are the only options of dole or emigration and generally those on the dole who do not emigrate after so long (9mths- a year) generally don’t emigrate due to a variety of personal reasons! This is yet one further step to take away the dignity of the unemployed and it is a disgrace!

• The economy is after taking a nose dive because of the decisions the government/ bankers have made over the years which were powered by greed. Whether we like it or not there are not enough jobs out there and most genuine people are doing everything they can and are just barely keeping their head above water. I do not think it is fair to give people a deadline in which they must be off the dole. Unless the government can prove that they are investing job creation and they are doing there bit then maybe it could be an option. The government/bankers need to be held accountable for their actions and need to stop punishing ordinary people for the mistakes made. Perhaps people who have been on the dole since before the recession and simply “don’t want to work” need this kind of action.

• People always mention the people who reject jobs and it is better to be on the dole….HOW DOES THAT WORK? I dont even want to mention the amount I get when I am back on the dole not because I want it but because I am restricted in my circumstances. What about the people like me applying more than 5 t imes to aldi to sit at the til or even to stack shelves just to do something I dont care . But MY CV is not even read and is back in my house after 3 days…..5 times the same. Overqualified and then ( I AM NOT A RACIST I AM MYSELF A FOREIGNER) all the polish and ONLY polish people sit there…. i get mad of course…Hardly english and even rude…..so where does that qualify for the stupid stupid decision??????

• Feeds 24/01/12 #

Not a lot of people know that the dole in Ireland provides fairly sufficient funds to live to a lot of peopleโ€”maybe not to live comfortably but in a lot of cases comfortably enough. It’s not just the basic payment, it’s also quite hefty rent allowance, fuel and energy allowances, free commute etc. (not sure about details). It does add up.

Of all people I knew were on the dole (most still are), they could always afford to go to the pub or cinemaโ€”which you can’t always say of a lot of employed people. Who do you think is this large crowd in shops during working hours? Tourists? Pensioners? Yup, it’s people whose only job in the world is to spend your tax money.

Did you know that the dole pays you two week of holidays per year which you can spend anywhere you please? Is this not absurd? Is there any other country whose taxpayers are so ridiculously generous? (rhetorical, but probably there is). The unemployed can just take public money they’ve been getting and spend it on Costa Brava or wherever. And all of the unemployed I know spend their holidays abroad. Isn’t it insane?

Nobody on the dole really has to look for work either. Once a year they just fill a short list of a few phone numbers they called looking for workโ€”and that’s it.
    It is, technically, permanent vacationโ€”or semi-retirement if you will.
    There is no incentive to take any jobs if you’re getting guaranteed money for not working is there?

At the same time, since the dole eats up over 1/3 of the budget now, the taxes go up to cover that scheme. As taxes go up, the number of jobs naturally decreases. The cost of work is high and add to this that people will not take low-paid jobs anymore (since they’re no incentive to leave the dole).

It is an unsustainable vicious cycle. As much as it’s unpleasant, it has to be broken at some point or the whole thing is going to collapse.

• very well put

• I am angry about your comment that unemployed people can afford to go to the cinema. The fact is that they cannot afford to go and see a film, or go to the pub, or have a meal out or buy clothes, so don’t you dare make that assumption, and it is very dangerous for you to generalise. I am unemployed, and I haven’t been to the cinema for about two years, and I haven’t been to the pub for absolutely ages, or I never go to town. I hope that you never have to go on the dole, and I assume that whoever you are, you have a well paid job. The senior bondholders of Anglo are the real criminals here. I also haven’t been on a two week holidays a year for ages either.

• It needs to come in but not in such black and white formats.There should be a scale for all people. Maybe 4/5 years of social welfare at a max. In the 4 years you retrain or go to college/course and keep your benefits at 100% or you can prove you have applied for jobs. If you are seen not to be looking then scale it down 25% every year. That way the genuine unemployed who want to get back to work or retrain are supported in full while the people who are craddle to grave on social welfare recipients are tackled. Social Welfare should not be affected if you are working 1 or 2 days a week or once you dont go over the PAYE Tax Credits system inclusive of the dole. It took me six months to get someone to work a part time job one day a week as I was competing against the dole. It did not work for my business to grow and also for someone to get back to work and increase income in the employees house. The problem was say you paid an empolyee โ‚ฌ100 for a days work and they lost โ‚ฌ75 of the dole they were saying they were “only getting paid โ‚ฌ25 for a days work”. People need to be supported back to work and small businesses need to grow. 1 day can turn to 2 and eventually a full week in time.

• Are they going to ressurect Gypsy Grimey Socks from Wanderly Wagon and have him stirring a cauldron of whifferiferous foot woolens as he sniffs the noxious fumes and predicts when you will get a job? ฤฐt probably would be more accurate than anything else they propose.

• This is a blatant attack on the most vulnerable in society do they think people are stupid no reduction in the budget then hot on the hells comes this proposal the jobs are not there so this is utterly ridiculous and is just a thinly disguised way to reduce welfare payments how can people get off the dole when there are no jobs and no training opportunities ah sure but the Germans want it so it has to be what next forcing our women in to prostitution as in this womans case. http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/europe/germany/1482371/If-you-dont-take-a-job-as-a-prostitute-we-can-stop-your-benefits.html

• Sorry meant Burton

• Has my comment been removed???

• Gav 24/01/12 #

Mixed feelings on this. I know quite a few people who are on the dole who don’t want to work. On the other hand, certain industries are in more difficulty then others and a genralisation here could force more skilled workers to emigrate. It is up to the government to understand a case where someone has made a real effort to get work, as opposed to people coming up with a list of mates who they claim have ‘interviewed’ unsuccessfully for imaginary job positions. Perhaps when someone on the DOL goes for an interview, the potential employer could add them to a database, which could be monitored centrally…

• HOW????????? Well there are no jobs around, that works ONLY if there are jobs around and they are NOT> The government seems to live in their own little padded world. Of course if you have ONLY to live of 100000…..
    Lets be honest, the idea works when the circumstances fit, like your are single, are able to relocate or have a family and there is family support and people have the qualifications which are needed like Nurses, Doctors, IT. What about the lone parents for example, no family support, and NO jobs around? You can NOT make this decision in general but have to look at EVERY person individually and their circumstances! What next…man…

• I think feeds has just landed here from outer space

• if their were jobs out their then their would be no need for people to be on thedole in the first place every day you read of thousands of people being let go out of jobs .. and what is this hitler government doing … nothing they shoul start taking money of the top cats and leave the rest of us alone ..

• Solovoci 24/01/12 #

Do we not have a similar system already?? You are brought in for a little friendly chat and lots of useless notes are taken and filed and away on the merry go round again. I think it’s past time that the dole was reduced in phases..Long term dole is stupid and non productive. We must work as a nation again and not just expect the hand out. Raise the minimum wage but a swift kick up the arse is needed twords the hand outs. There is lots of jobs out there but we must realise that a job means WORK and not when it’s suits all the time. embrace the gift that it is and learn from productive countries.

• Dear John Dole,
    as an adult you are responsible for looking after yourself. Please remember this as you read on.

We will provide what resources and opportunities we can for you to get back to work including education, training. We’ll show you how to run a small business, we’ll give you money to help you get back on your feet.
    There will come a point where you will have to try to stand on your own.

You need to get out there and find a way to make a living. This may involve hardship, you may have to work long hours for low pay. You may have to travel long hours each day for employment. You may have to move your family somewhere new if your home will not sustain you. If the business you worked in is no longer sustainable you will have to retrain. The road to finding full employment will likely involve rejection. If you set up your own business you may fail a few times. Each time your try you will learn.

We know it is hard. There will be times where you won’t want to get up, won’t want to apply for another, won’t want to do the study required for exams. You must persevere. As an adult, your life is your own.

We’re giving you a date to help focus the mind. We think this target gives you sufficient time to get focused and try. If you struggle, come and talk. There are classes and people who can help. The responsibility is yours to do this.

Wishing you the best. We know you will try hard.

The State

• Well done for assuming that people who are unemployed dont take responsibility for themselves, don’t know what’s involved in building a successful career and need a date to help focus them.

Lets not kid ourselves, those who want to work are already focused, those who dont will find some way around this like they do everything else (unfortunately those people are part of most western societies). This this isn’t about focusing people, it isn’t about encouraging them, educating them or helping them, its about 1 quite simple thing, massaging the live register.

• Dear State,
      You appear to think that you are in some way apart and different from me the citizen so let’s just recap here. I am a citizen, the fundamental building block of the state. I have been in the workforce and paying tax since I was fifteen. I attended an averfage school and went straight in to work when finished rather than going to college. I served an apprenticeship during which I worked for below minimum wage and paid tax on it. Later in my life I retrained and reeducated myself and worked with some of the most vulnerable people in the state-I saw this as good citizenship. I am now unemployed with little prospect of finding employment any time soon but, being a good citizen of the state, I have paid all my taxes and PRSI for just this eventuality. I don’t need the state to tell me how hard the road to employment is, I have walked that road many times in my life and am quite offended by the trite, stupid, vaccuos, unthought out right wing claptrap that passes as a response from “The State” or perhapd the writer of the grossly insensitive piece sees him/herself as being more a part of the state than me?

• @MickCorrigan
      apologies. I knew it was wrong writing that. I haven’t experienced all that you have. There are those that have worked and have seen the rug pulled from under them. Unfortunately, I see those who have been given every opportunity and choose to ignore it.
      I have tarred all with the same brush because I see some unemployed relaxing everyday as I go to work and on my way to college at night. I wonder why I bother working hard to fund the lifestyle choice of a few.

Frustration hurts on both sides.

• Duplicitous State,

I am neither rightwing or leftwing.

I am people wing…Irish people wing and we are coming for you.
      Then after you are deposed, we will provide jobs that you have destroyed and are just not there, including the supposed self made jobs.

• Brian 24/01/12 #

In theory it is a great idea. Why should tax payer have to continually fund the lifestyles of the lazy? However those who are recently made unemployed or who have decided to go back to education should be exempt (within certain time frames). Kennedys quote of “ask not what your country can do for you…..” springs to mind. Those who contribute to society should be rewarded. as for the others, time to step up to the plate. Too many people I know have it handy on the social with no intention of coming off it. Why? Because its more economically beneficial to not work. Handouts everywhere and I’m sick of it.

• 206 td’s + senators + 500 approx advisors {cousins & spouses} .+ odds + sods ? = 1000 approx /* 52 = ? 520’000 ! Ipso Every body takes a week in the oireachtas . take home โ‚ฌ 2000 ? & cut payments to โ‚ฌ8000 how would that work out /

• I think its a terrible idea! There are so may of us already trying to do the best with the situation we have… some of us are living away from home as not to be a burden their parents who cant afford to keep the household going. We are also trying to make a living. There are a few people that take the piss and dont do anything with their lives!

Most of these people are sitting begging on the streets and/ or shooting the cash they get into their bodies. what are they gonna do with those people?? what are they going to do with the people who dont make an effort at all?

The Dole system in general is stupidly run….. for quite a few people the only way to get a Job in Ireland is to know someone in the Industry or business you want to get in to… things like Media and Entertainment/ photography are more based on a a “who you know” Not what you know basis….. to do that you have get out and meet people and prove your worth! Only you are not allowed to volunteer when you are on the dole because you are not available to work 24/7 according to their contract.

I did a 3 month course with fas a few years ago and became a qualified waitress…. when i went to apply for numerous jobs…. I was told I didnt have 2 years experience so they wouldnt Hire Me…..

What the government doesnt understand, is that by cutting the welfare and by making people poor and homeless, stops that money being spent in the businesses that are currently functioning and hiring people. we dont spend in their business they lose money which loses jobs which puts even more people on the dole role!

• Rent allowance is not ‘hefty’ – as a couple you still have to pay E35 out of your dole payment to cover your rent and single people have to pay towards their rent out of their E188 a week as the rent allowance doesn’t cover it- there is no ‘free commute’ – except for oap’s and people with disabilities, there is no ‘energy allowance’ for people on the dole and few people qualify for fuel allowance. How about going after the wealthy families that get child benefit they don’t need before attacking the poorest in society. You obviously don’t have a clue what its like to be poor or how poor people live – Costa Brava my arse – having the heating on in the closest people on the social get to that. Obviously you have lived a cossetted life with your architect friends and have no clue what its like to go without. You are as detached from reality as our politicians.

• Feeds 24/01/12 #

If you only have to pay โ‚ฌ35 as a couple per week, I’d still call it very generous. Where can I rent a one-bedroom for โ‚ฌ140/month?

My friends were getting (and likely still are, like other tens or hundred of thousands) as unemployed couple, almost โ‚ฌ700 out of the โ‚ฌ800 their total rent was.

• Paulie K 26/01/12 #

I think it would have been a great idea during the boom as too many people were not willing to work when there were jobs available. However now there are no jobs to be had. i myself have been out of work a year since Christmas and although I’ve sent out hundreds of c.vs and made hundreds more personal calls seeking employment the answer is always the same. I am an electrician by trade and although i have searched for vacancies in this area i have also tried to get jobs in any other areas. There are no jobs. stop punishing ordinary people for the mistakes of the elite.

• Feeds 24/01/12 #

How about: limit the dole to some fixed period for all, e.g. two years?

Two years is more than enough for anyone to learn a new profession. I know people whose excuse not to even look for a job is “I’m an architect, there’s no jobs”. At the same time I know an architect turned a successful mobile app designer.

How about ordering everyone on the dole to do basic public jobs, like sweep the streets? Is there anything wrong with that idea?

How about demanding single mums on welfare to provide creche services to neigbouring working mums?

• “How about ordering everyone on the dole”
      I have issues with that comment on a number of things.

I don’t like the thought of people being bullied (ordered) into doing things.
      If they don’t want to re-train as a marine biologist, why the hell order them to??

Many, many people on the dole have spent their entire lives in a single profession. They left school at a very early age, with some not having a leaving cert. They enjoyed their jobs, they made a life from those jobs. They owe everything they have on those jobs and yet you would ask them to ‘humiliate’ themselves by sweeping the streets?? The country might be broke, people might be jobless but damnit they still have some self dignity!

Your attitude is not what this country needs right now.

• Aranthos Faroth, I agree with some of your points, I understand that you might think that there would be a reluctance for people out there to retrain, but as a 40 yr old mature student I will be doing all I can to make sure that I make myself as employable as possible, you are implied that sweeping the streets is humiliating, I would gladly sweep the streets too fund college, there is no shame in honest work. I dont get a grant as I live in my mothers house and I am expected to get pocket money from my mother. I live in my mothers house along with 3 other generations of my family, my elderly grandmother who is not well. My sister and her children, who have moved in while they are putting the money together to go to Australia. There are 8 of us living in the house, we each do voluntary work. As much to escape all the other people in the house as to have a sense of purpose . It is not an ideal situation, I am always broke, but I am one of the lucky ones, I appreciate what I do have, and although this country is in a terrible mess, I am hopeful.

• Just to clarify, it is Feeds who site Knob!

• Feeds 24/01/12 #

Arantos Faroth, I am sorry but if there’s no jobs in what people can do, their professions are nothing but hobbies in that reality.

If I studied philosophy, should I sit on the dole, refusing jobs that are not philosophical? Because this is what you are proposing. Do you think everyone around works in their original trained profession? You’d be surprised how many people at cash registers working their asses off selling crap to unemployed aristocracy have higher education.

Times change quick. My profession didn’t exist when I finished school and anyone can learn to do what I do quite well in a year or two.

I don’t mean to bully people to do what they don’t think suits them. I just want to stop the insanity of paying people for not doing anything. It is not only economically absurd and devastating, it is also unjustโ€”to forcibly tax people who work in order to pay others to do nothing. It may be called “social justice” but it is a perversion of good old “normal” justice.

The only explanation for paying for nothing is that the unemployed are huge electorate and will vote for those Robin Hoods who extort from the working to give to the relaxing themselves on the couch. They have the real power to tax the working. Have you noticed how taxes go up every year and the dole is barely touched? This is why.

“Humiliate themselves sweeping the streets”? Really? Since when working a broom is more humiliating than sticking your hand out and signing at the welfare office? How demoralised are we to have our values twisted around like that?

I suggest to help those people by giving them simple jobs, not handouts. You’d be surprised how many of them will find proper jobs instantly if they had to work for their dole. Of those unemployed I know? All of them, I am sure.

• Ana 24/01/12 #

What’s next? Deporting broken people from their homeland? They’ll say they have to do so to clear the streets full of homeless people. Surely, that wouldn’t go down well with Ireland’s caring image.

• A MORE USEFUL WAY TO DEAL WITH UNEMPLOYMENT WOULD BE TO INCREASE THE DOLE TO NATIONAL AVGERAGE PAY. TAKE AWAY ALL FREE NON-ESSENTIAL HEALTH AND EDUCATION ENTITLEMENTS. TAX AS A NORMAL WAGE. ONE CONDITION YOU MUST TAKE A JOB IN THE PRIVATE OR PUBLIC SECTOR WHERE THE GOVERNMENT SAY THAT PEOPLE’S LIFESTYLE CHOICE IS UNJUSTIFIED. NO DOLE QUEUES,FULL EMPLOYMENT. NO NEED FOR DEMOCRACY. I’LL BE YOUR DICTATOR FOR FREE.

• Many of the indigenous population who can draw the dole will rather than work. How else could all the Eastern Europeans get work in Ireland while the Irish drew the dole? In the UK recently I advertised a job and 50 people applied, 2 Eastern Europeans and 48 Indians! Not one British person applied. Salary ยฃ30K/year. Something is gone arseways.

• That is not true at all. I have heard many many Irish people who cannot get work and will gladly work in McD’s just to do something, anything to be out and about, contributing to their home and providing an honest service and honourable work for themselves.
      Many are turned away. Many employees want to employ east europeans, also for immigrants from outside the EU, you do not have to pay them minimum wage, you can pay them up to 3 euro an hour because there is a loophole by which you can pay them because they are not tied to the minimum wage, as they are not resident until they are here for 5 years.
      Then as you can imagine, in jobs with high rate turnover, employers can have that go on with such immigrants indefinitely and hugely reduces their costs. Although I am very much against immigration as a policy, I abhor treating any human in this manner.

• Brian, “for immigrants from outside the EU, you do not have to pay them minimum wage, you can pay them up to 3 euro an hour because there is a loophole by which you can pay them because they are not tied to the minimum wage”.

I can’t see any exception in the minimum wage rules for non-EU immigrants (there’s not too many of those anyway in comparison to the EU immigrants). Please refer us to somewhere that shows this.

• Obviously this is not going to be an adverstised official line. The government do not want to admit to this, like they have lied about many things over the years.

However these loopholes do exist with the following example highlighting these varied cases and ways of getting around the minimum wage:

Irish Workers Protest Immigrant Hires

By SHAWN POGATCHNIK
      Associated Press Writer
      December 9 2005, 10:59 AM EST

DUBLIN, Ireland — More than 10,000 labor union members protested Friday in Ireland’s capital and other cities over shipping company Irish Ferries’ plan to replace its workers with low-paid Eastern European immigrants in the country’s most bitter industrial showdown in decades.
      Irish Ferries, a subsidiary of Dublin-based Irish Continental Group PLC, earlier this year offered its 543 unionized workers on its main Britain-Ireland routes payoffs worth 25 million euros ($30 million) if they quit voluntarily.
      But when the company two weeks ago began introducing new workers, chiefly from Latvia — who were willing to work for 3.60 euros ($4.25) an hour, less than half of Ireland’s minimum wage — union chiefs seized control of two ships, forcing the company to shut down services at an estimated loss of 2 million euros ($2.5 million) a day.
      …Irish Ferries insists it’s legal for an international shipping company to ignore Ireland’s minimum wage, and has applied to register its ships in Cyprus to increase its leverage on the issue.
      The government has harshly criticized Irish Ferries and pushed, so far in vain, for a mediated compromise.

Members of several unions, including teachers and bus drivers, gathered in Dublin’s Parnell Square, the home of several labor-union headquarters, for a march across the River Liffey to the parliament building, Leinster House.
      Many carried placards said that read, “Stop outsourcing,” a reference to the increasing practice of hiring low-paid immigrants from Eastern European states. More than 150,000 workers from the European Union’s most recently admitted states, chiefly Poland and Latvia, have taken up jobs in Ireland in the past 18 months and are prominent in restaurants and pubs, and on construction sites and farms.
      David Begg, secretary-general of the union congress, rejected accusations that the protesters were hostile to immigration. He said unionized workers wanted to stop “the suppression of wage rates in this country.”

• @William
      “non-EU immigrants (thereโ€™s not too many of those anyway in comparison to the EU immigrants)”

Are you sure? The census figures are not accurate as stated in 2006 by Conor Lenihan, and that they have no real indication of how many immigrants are in the country.

Trade Union leaders challenged the accuracy of immigration figures in Sept. 2007. ICTU said the census(2006) count of 11,000 Chinese in Irl was far short of the 100,000 chinese that observers said are actually here.The census said 63,000 Poles, the Polish embassy said the real number was as high as 200,000.

source:Sunday Times 2/09/09

So 10 times the number of Chinese, 3.5 times the number of Poles, how many more Africans, Pakistanis etc, are here above what is stated?
      Also many EU citizens work and save to buy a home back in their EU country, whereas when 3rd world people get into Europe they are here to stay.

• The number of months that someone can claim the dole should not exceed the number of months that person has spent in paid employment.

• So what happens to all the 18 year olds that have just left school, never worked in their life, and can’t find work due to no experience?

But then again, I do like the idea that you think someone who’s been working the past 20 years could stay on the dole for 20 years. …yet a college graduate would get nothing?

• Kids still living with their parents should not get the dole. Ever.

• kids living with their parents don’t get the dole. Ever.
      you have to be 18 years old to qualify.

• And once you’re 18 and out of full time education, your parents no longer get children’s allowance towards your keep and can’t claim you as a dependant, for tax or any other purpose. You need a job or SW to pay your keep. You will only get โ‚ฌ100/wk while living with your parents, which is not enough to support yourself.

• and david, if they were to cut off the ‘kid’ living at home
      wouldn’t the ‘kids’ just move out and then look for rent allowance,
      costing the state more?

c’mon, i would have thought that u being the political giant and member
      of Fine Gael would have thought that fully through…
      ahhh… what am i talking about…
      thought it through… d’oh!!

• The concept makes sense: that unemployed people with the best hancesof reemployment are pressurised to job seek. But why not do it properly, and instead front load welfare into the early months so that those who stay the longest see their welfare gradually reduced, which is exactly the opposite to the current system where you are practically rewarded for staying longer

• Ok I’ve got a question. If she goes after the people that have been on the dole for 10+ years. More than likely they have never had a job in their life so will find it extremely difficult now to get one. They’ll be kicked off the dole, so what are they supposed to live on then?

• you have had 10 years to figure out what you want to do, here is an idea. educate yourself and get out there and get a job…just an idea.

• @Rocky 400,000 job seeker. How many jobs do you think there are in this economy? Educate yourself

• @Andy. Anyone who has been on the dole for the last ten years and is NOW worrying about their payments being cut as they NOW cant find a job should take a long hard look at themselves in the mirror. This country had 4% unemployment during the boom. Whether you were happy out making rolls in a deli, labour on a site or do whatever, you could find a job, there was jobs for everyone if you were bothered to get up of your hole and walk 100m and find one.

If you bothered to read my first post you would see that I have no issue with the “recent unemployed”, those who have worked all their lives and now find themselves unemployed since the crash. I think these people are the ones who need to be supported. These are the people swamped in debt with mortgages and families, I have no sympathy for the type of person who was unemployed for the past 10 years during the “Boom”. These peope need to educate themselves and get out there and if not…snip snip..no benefits for you son!!

• Ok Rocky. Snip snip. Then what?

• ….your payments are slashed..snip!

• Yep. Get that bit. Then what?

• Well……you better sort yourself then matey if you want to eat. The taxpayer wont be paying….

• At least it will get a few freeloaders off the register. The country can’t afford any sort of social welfare. When the money was there , the country enjoyed lotsa free meals, now there’s no money…. So tough luck,we can’t fund ur lovechild anymore, if u can’t afford kids don’t screw around.

• You can bet your ass this idea won’t affect anyone on “a book” like lone parents, or long term sick. I think you’ll find, a lot of the people who are “screwing the system” are well practiced in how not to get booted off the dole. Alcoholics/drug addicts who know they just have to turn up to their medical assesment drunk to get another year or two on their book, no questions asked. The people genuinely looking for work are not the problem – because they’ll take work if they find it!

• “Nรญ thuigeann an seach an seang”

• what the hell is this goverment at they wont be happy till we are begging on the streets and or stealing then we will more likely end up in prision. what one of the minsters make in a week would feed a family and pay bills for a family for a month!!!!!! less talk and more action is need’ed maybe the same way we get rid of the last goverment we didnt like ..stand up shout be heard take action

• They are re-opening the Gladiator Schools, throwing a few in the arena and who-ever is left alive? Gets the Job, It may be cleaning toilet bowels or wiping our rulers backsides! But its a job, goddamn it!

• I’d hardly call Fianna Fรกil “her colleagues”.

• David there’s no difference between any of the 3 parties who formed the last two governments. Just a different shower robbing the people of Ireland.

• And what would you call them, David? Are you one of those people who say “it’s all Fianna Fails fault, they left us this mess?”.. Because Fine Gael and Labour were in the room. Or are we to believe that when Fianna Fail were making all these deals and decisions that Fine Gael and Labour were having a sick day? And all the decisions that have been made since FG/LAB have come into power has been Fianna Fail’s fault too?

• @Fiona Yes. FF gave up fiscal sovereignty to the TROICA, did you not get the memo? That was what all of that fuss was about. Since 2009 there has been a MASSIVE deficit between what the state takes in revenue and what the state pays out. FF DID NOT SHARE POWER. That aside, expecting the unemployed to live on NO Income when there are NO jobs available is only asking for crime and the black economy to grow.

• Please don’t get me wrong Andy, I am in no way trying to state that Fianna Fail are blameless in this whole scenario, I am merely stating that FG and Labour were present in the Dail when all of this was going on. So they had a heads up. And the cynic in me believes that they knew exactly what was happening, knew that Fianna Fail were on a massive landslide and they just rolled with it to achieve their own goals. To either be a leading party or part of a coalition. Enda Kenny has certainly achieved his life goal.

• Only if you get rid of subsidies for Farmers, Rte and pretentious American Corporations or anybody i missed from the list.

• What has that to do with the question. Its a seperate issue. Subsidies for farmers are paid by EU, RTE is a joke and needs to be sorted. All countries give concessions to companies to get the jobs. Look at the amoount of jobs in this country from “pretentious American Companies” Microsoft for example should just leave?

• @Eugene O’Rourke: Simple economics.

Companies should make money from customers not politicians. Its called supply and demand.

If companies are forced to work through customers then they would be less inclined to put them on he dole in the first place. No dole queue and plenty of customers should be good for the society. Why asset strip Ireland and give it all away.

• @Loyal Citizen. Makes no sense when on international stage. If you want to get mutinationals in you have to give them a carrott or else go elsewhere. It happens worldwide. Ireland is competing against the rest of the world and your answer is for companies to make money through supply and demand. Yes that is the natural course after they come here but to get them here in the first place you need to incentivise them. One of Ireland’s main exports is computers yet we dont have a household computer name for an Irish company such as HP etc Do we say goodebye to those jobs? I want to see politicians creating jobs as thats one of there main jobs. Do you want them creating jobs?

I dont understand where you are going with the asset stripping as without these companies we will lose more of our greatest asset which is our people. A lot of companies at present are forced to make jobs redundant and its not great for a company to be doing. If it is its obvious its struggling so less profit and reduced trade which is not good for the company or employees. Some companies have left Ireland as better terms in other countries but thats business and the sooner we accept thats how it is the faster we can move on. Look at all the new companies in Ireland recently who are looking to expand like Facebook. i dont know how they are asset stripping Ireland.

• @Eugene O’Rourke: I can’t see why we have an education system that trains people to work for the yanks.

Train Irish People to develop their own products and then the yanks could work for them.

I would never have allowed the yanks here. There are enough Irish People who do have talent to invest in to choose their own destiny.

• @Loyal Citizen. Your comment says it all really. So short sighted considering the amount of people employed by American Companies and also the trade we have with the USA. Great economic sense to cut off all those connections. Business is global now we cant be living in a vacuum of little old Ireland.

• @Eugene O’Rourke: If you know about technology then you will understand how much comes from Asian countries.

Why do Irish Politicians only finance the yanks? What’s wrong with Japanese, Chinese, or other Asian technologies?

These American do not have a monopoly on brains and the world is a much bigger place. In terms of rules it is most likely that the Irish are being kept in servitude and it will result in more emigration. Only time will tell.

• @Loyalirish. There is more than American companies that benefit from incentives. Have you not heard how they are trying to break into the BRIC countries recently. Japanease companies are based here but it is easier to do business with a country you have a historical connection with (Irish Americans) to get you in the door. We as a nation always dealt with the USA and should maintain that relationship aswel as getting into new markets. Either way I dont think there is much point in discussing it as you are so anti-american it is pointless. America is bad seems to be the only answer you can give but when you consider the thousands or Irish employed by American Companies I think America is good for us along with other markets.

• @Eugene O’Rourke: I can’t imagine why you mention BRIC Countries.

Irish Politicians lost the European Funds in 1997 on a graduated basis. There is no evidence to say that they have the money to encourage companies from other countries here to create jobs in the same way as they did for Americans.

There have been very few Asian Companies here getting the same quantity of funds as Americans and the consensus is that Irish Politicians put all of their eggs in one basket.

The subsidies are no longer and you seem to be in favour of financing American Corporations until nothing is left. Maybe they should have financed the Irish and kept the money in the country.

I do not consider that I am anti American but i do object to asset stripping Ireland and giving all to Americans just for jobs, it keeps people in servitude and is a crime.

• b

• The 51% against are probably on the dole . Good luck to any one actually seeking employment .

Add New Comment