TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 15 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

Slow down, save lives: Gardaí tackle speed on roads

Operation Slow Down kicked off at 7 o’clock this morning.

File photo
File photo
Image: Sam Boal / Photocall Ireland

OPERATION ‘SLOW DOWN’, a Garda initiative to tackle speed on Irish roads, began this morning and will continue through 7am Saturday.

The Traffic Corps hopes to raise awareness of the dangers of inappropriate and excessive speed and reduce the number of related collisions and deaths as a result.

For the past six years, there has been a year-on-year decrease in the number of road fatalities in Ireland but so far in 2012 there have been four more deaths than at this time last year.

That comes after a particularly disastrous June which saw 25 people lose their lives on Irish roads.

Why today?

Historically, the highest number of deaths occur on Fridays and Saturdays. July and August are also typically the worst months on Irish roads.

Ninety-seven people have died in collisions so far this year, with more than half of those incidents occurring at the weekend (Friday to Sunday). In the past five years, 226 people have been killed during July and August on Irish roads.

Speaking at the launch of today’s operation, Garda Commissioner Martin Callinan explained that a speed limit is “not a target” but the maximum that may be travelled when conditions are perfect.

“We are appealing to all vehicle drivers to keep within the speed limits, and when necessary, slow down. The time lost by reducing your speed by 5 or 10 km/h on a long journey is insignificant, but the increase in road safety terms to you and all around you is very significant,” he added.

Each Garda division has set up an area where members are available to give road safety advice and distribute leaflets. Gardaí will also be leading by example and have promised to reduce their speed.

Public and private sector fleet operators have been asked to participate in the initiative by circulating employees with the key message to “Slow Down” and, whether driving for business or private purposes, to always drive within the speed and at a speed appropriate to the prevailing conditions.

There will be highly visible speed checkpoints on national primary and secondary roads, carried out by local members and the Garda Traffic Corps, and also by GoSafe vans.

More: Gardaí to run operation to get drivers to slow down>

Read next:

Comments (42 Comments)

• I reckon the state of the roads don’t help with the fatality count!!

• I am astonished at the number of cars I see driving without lights on in the early evening/ dusk. I think it should be mandatory to dive with your lights on all of the time.

• Its coming in 2014, all cars now sold must have DRL( daylight running lights) still I agree with you, there are a lot of morons out there with no lights in heavy rain, dusk and fog.

• I’m not sure I agree that this is really needed, maybe in bad weather or winter but on a bright day if you can’t see a car without it having headlights on there are clearly eyesight issues of more significance!

I can understand this in northern candanavia with short daylight hours and long snowy winters, but here? hmm seems a bit nanny state.

I guess maybe they just can’t trust the public to remember to turn their lights on?

• Speed does not kill, this is just a soundbyte.
    If speed killed we would all be dead from flying in aircraft.

It’s bad judgement, poor training, drugs/alcohol, distraction WHILE AT SPEED that causes collisions on the roads.

• Trev 06/07/12 #

I would love to know how many of the single car fatal RTAs in the early hours of every weekend are due to alcohol rather then speeding. RSA never publish any stats

• Garda tackle speed alright!! But it seems only on dual carriageways and motorways. I’ve only seen these Garda gatso guns on roads where there are rarely ever accident. The prefer to shoot fish in a barrel than tackle black spot areas. It’s a money game and that’s it. 50kmh at the Guinness end of the quays and having a van there 4 nights in a row isn’t for anything else but making easy money.

• They may postpone operation slow down.
      Never seen a Gardai get wet to date.

• I totally agree. Just this morning I passed a Gatso van heading out of skerries on a road that has no speed limit signs! So nobody has a clue what the limit is along the road. It’s a total scam & that van is in the same spot every week. Handy money for them!

• If everyone knows the speed guns or Gatso positions. Why the hell do people still get caught??????

• Gerard 06/07/12 #

Do people honestly believe that the guards are purposely going out to make revenue for the same government that has cut their pay by almost 40%? By reading these comments you would think the guard was getting a commission

• The standard of driving in this country has come a long way but when people say there are no speed signs on a road just means they did not pay attention to the last one they saw. People usually do not speed deliberately, they just do not have a clue or care what the limit is, but they always remember to put on their front fog lights on a sunny day !

• @Gerard – not the Gardai, but the private company who runs much of the speed camera vans etc. After the Dun Laoghaire Rathdown debacle regarding the quotas in the public tender for parking fines that broke news this week, the possibility of speeding fines having a quota or being a cash-cow revenue generator are not exactly far fetched!

• The more visible the Gardai are on the highways and byways of Ireland the less speed there’ll be. And this initiative will save lives.

• I agree. I also wish it was a daily occurance and not a 24 hour initiative.

• G. Smith 06/07/12 #

The problem is Gardai would be there to see a range of things and intervene not just speeding issues. Not just with fines but sometimes with a word of advice and explaination of why something is dangerous. Instead we now have the same problem as the UK – a faceless unwavering array of vans with cameras – oh and lets not forget that many of these are operated by private company not the Gardai. These don’t police the roads, they’re a box-ticking facade of road safety.

What gets to me most is we used to have all the “accident blackspot” signs. That’s where the problems were, at specific points. Do they put cameras at those points? No! they put them somewhere on that stretch of same road, usually NOT at the point where the accidents typically occur but where it’s convenient for them to park, possibly beyond the point of danger where the speed limit is the same but there is no significant risks to anybody.

And enough has already been made of the setting of the limits (or lack thereof leaving insane defaulys) by the local authorities. I won’t go into that again.

• 400,000 x 2 less journeys a day is saving lives . . . The figures include those using a vehicle to literally leave the live register. Do the risk assessment maths; 2.5 million or so cars (forgetting the trucks) doing two journeys a day 365 days a year. 171 fatal injuries doesn’t even compute into this figure. So the money to risk is vastly disproportionate. Sadly you can’t get rid of the fact accidents will happen. I know I lost my father to the roads and had to rationalist it, as not being anything other. Would far prefer policy funding was concentrated on our mental health issues to reduce the suicide rate – which is far greater.

• Their stats are at http://www.rsa.ie/RSA/Road-Safety/Our-Research/Collision-Statistics/
    Some quite useful info if you can distill it out :)

• Well done to the Garda, More patrols on the road is good to catch all the clowns breaking the law. Every day I still see mobile phones being used while driving. I was on a bus monday and the driver was on the phone all the time.

• People giving out about gardai shooting fish in a barrel by placing speed traps on dual carriageways etc. others saying they drove on m7, m3, m50, m4 and didn’t see a Garda. Which is it folks?

• I’ve seen many buses (CIE) speeding, but never saw one get a ticket. Do bus drivers not get points too?

• G. Smith 06/07/12 #

Are you sure they’re actually speeding? I think they have onboard speed limiters set rather low. Busses look like they’re going faster than they often are cause of the size and sound (the bus gearboxes seem to never know when to change up to a higher gear!?).

• The cops said earlier that they have caught 97,000 speeding motorists sofar this year. I was one of them, 67 in a 60 zone (chapelizod bypass!! No residential access either side and not 1 accident there to my knowledge!) – but id love to know how many were actually speeding (driving dangerously) and not exceeding the limit by the thickness of the speedo needle like me!

They have revenue targets just like every other department, thats all this is. Easy money!

• Make cyclists pay insurance. They injure and kill people as well.

• Another revenue making exercise for Enda and the boys. Nothing to do with saving lives. And its raining so they will be no where to be seen.

• Operation money-maker more like

• Just done a 100 mile trip around Waterford and the county incl the N25 R710(outer ring rd) and miles of back road and have not seen one garda car let alone one guard all morning. Typical

• Just got pulled over by a Bean Garda. I was aware she was behind me so obviously wasn’t speeding. She tried to convince my that I was doing 110km per hour in a 100km per hour zone. Not a chance. She said she tried to catch up with me. I’m guessing she thought because she had to do 110kmph to catch up with me that I must have been doing the same speed? She let me off with a caution! Obviously! You can’t prove what speed I was doing because you were only following me.

• Operation money-maker more like -those lads couldn’t give 2 f**ks about safety/accidents/statistics

• Well drove from the m7 to the N3 via the M50 today….not one guard along the route there & back….cars speeding in heavy rain & with no lights on…they would have had a field day. People really do think they are invincible on the roads!

Add New Comment