TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

State spent €70m on private and state accommodation for asylum seekers

Over 5,100 people are currently being housed in 37 accommodation centres around Ireland.

Asylum seekers protesting against planned capacity cuts at the Mosney accommodation centre in 2010.
Image: Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

THE STATE SPENT almost €70 million on housing for asylum seekers at private and state centres around the country last year, according to new figures released by the Reception and Integration Agency (RIA).

The RIA is a state body under the Irish Naturalisation and Immigration Service which is in charge of providing accommodation and services for asylum seekers while their applications for asylum in Ireland are being processed.

According to the Minister for Justice and Equality Alan Shatter, there are currently over 5,100 people being housed in the 37 accommodation centres under contract to the RIA.

Asked by Labour TD Dominic Hannigan for a breakdown of the weekly costs per accommodation centre, Shatter said that “it is not in the interest of the taxpayer that details of current individual contracts are known to the public or to other parties who are, or may be in the future, engaged in negotiations with RIA”.

He added that the Information Commissioner has upheld the policy of updating the table of contracts annually at the end of January in respect of all financial information up to the end of December two years previously.

Last year, the RIA spent €69.459 million, of which €8.258 million was spent on fixed costs relating to the provision of management and other services at the seven state-owned centres. Another €1.458 million was spent on utility and maintenance at these seven centres.

In total, the state spent €57.784m on 37 commercially-owned centres last year (of which seven closed down in 2011), while €68,000 was spent on transport costs to bring asylum seekers to the Dublin reception centre and accommodation centres around the country.

Contracts

Shatter said in the Dáil last week that an EU tendering process recently concluded for the management of the seven state-owned centres under contract to the RIA, and the newly agreed contracts are effective from 14 June.

Four of these state-owned accommodation centres are based in Co Kerry and operated by Onsite Facilities Management (OFM) Ltd. The other three are operated by Campbell Catering Ltd (trading as Aramark) and are based in counties Cork, Clare and Westmeath.

The state-owned centres currently have capacity for 1,150 people; three of the centres accommodate families, two accommodate single males, and the other two are mixed.

Read next:

Comments (91 Comments)

• Serious question 1

Is it not true that asylum seekers are supposed to stop at the first country they encounter?

Serious question 2

How come they haven’t wanted to go home after being fed by cambell catering?

• We should know who owns and runs all of the centres.
    Could some of our political class have vested interests?

• What a joke this country really is, there are homeless people on the streets of Dublin and in most towns around the country what about helping them

• The help is there for homeless people but the majority of them are drug addicts and need to sort out that problem first, otherwise they’ll always be homeless.

This bill is justified, why should asylum seekers not have accommodation, food and a few comforts while their fate is decided, If they’re seeking asylum, they’ve obviously been through something terrible and had to uproot and leave their own country. It works out at around €13,750 to look after them.

• That may be true in some cases, Damien. However, I suspect not all “asylum” cases are genuine. Not every story is genuine. I don’t say that in a heartless way. I say that to be realistic. Look at the Nigerian woman who was deported recently from Sligo. She lied & cost the taxpayers a hell of a lot of money. The bill may be justified in some cases but not “all” cases.

• @Declan: The comment never said ALL cases. Why is that your focus? As for the Nigerian asylum seeker looking to staying Ireland, she did lie. And if it was a cultural practice in my home place that young girls should have their Clitoris cut off (FGM) which was what she was trying to avoid, I would probably lie too.

• It wasn’t cultural practice in her (Pamela Izevbekhai) country.

It is practised in small pockets on Nigeria which is a *huge* country.

This lady had lived in britain, and her husband continued to live there. She was refused alylum here a number of times previously.

Her husband was arrested in the back of a van being smuggled over the border
      She lied in court, and produced false paperwork.
      There was solid evidence that the ’3rd daughter’ never existed !!! There was no birth cert nor death cert in the hospitals.

We should have aleays had a tighter system, and it tokk us some years to cop-on and tighten it up.
      All these people meed to be returned unless they can produce solid verifiable evidence of persecution.

• @Johnny: I didn’t say it was a cultural practice in all of Nigeria. My comment says ‘Home place’. Also, one of the challenges for asylum seekers in producing hard evidence is, for example, if you are fleeing political persecution from a state or power institution that you speak out against and the gardai call that state to ask if their story is true, What do you think the home authorities will say?

• @Alan

Handy that isn’t it ??

• Agreed charity begins at home , time to say no and stop has come and its been long overdue,system has been abused eg how can a nigerian or chinese person seeking asylunmake ireland the country of choice when it is obvious that they stopped in other countries before, scam!!!!

• I find this hard to believe and this is why..
    1999-2002 asylum seekers was between 7 and 10 thousand,fast foward to 2010 it drop to around 2000 a year,so unless the state is housing them in a 7 star hotels or the figures of refugees have gone up again which is very unlikely then someone is telling fibs…

• Could it not be that some of those people were granted citizenship, were deported, returned by themselves, decided to get new identities or just got lost in the system.?! I dread to think of the true and actual figures representing the time between 1999-2012!

• 10s OF 1000s OF FOREIGNERS STILL MOVING TO IRELAND

Here is part of your answer
      DESPITE migration into Ireland dropping since 2006, 10s of 1000s of foreigners are still coming to live in Ireland every year.

Central Statistics Office(CSO) figures have surprised those who believed Ireland was no longer appealing to those from outside our shores.While the demise of the Celtic Tiger has made this country less attractive to migrants, it remains the destination of choice for large numbers of ‘new Irish’.
      Examiner July 01, 2011

• Hang on folks can any of these people play soccer????

• I wonder how those housing contracts were agreed. Complete transparency?

• Just read the 9 @ 9
    And it says majority of the money went to commecial managnent centre’s which houses about 5100 people..so it means the money went to greedy property owners..
    And under UN law.the refugee is thier responsibilty until he/she has been granted asylum.
    So can the government tell us how much they get from UN every year before they publish figures that paint a bad picture of refugees

• Id love to know what the rest of that sign says… Better not speculate!

It should be a country’s No.1 priority to look after its own citizens first – but not our lads! No!

• An asylum seeker receives ?19.10 per week to cover all incidentals. Do you really think we are spoiling them? Compare it to the dole, We all know people, Irish people, who actively avoid work so they can enjoy the trappings of the state such as medical cards, public transport, rent allowance etc. And they are not in fear of their lives ot their freedom, unlike an asylum seeker.

• Alan I don’t believe that for one second. Where does all the gold, new clothes, phones and money for getting their hair come from? They must be given taxis and plates by the government because they would be a long time saving that up!

• Disgusting… It should be a countries number 1 priority to protect the weak and endangered. No matter what side of an imaginary line they happened to e born.

• Paul 16/06/12 #

I Love Lamp do you know for certain that these people you see covered in gold with fancy new phones and so on are asylum seekers ? Not every brown/black person is an Asylum Seeker.

• Paul 16/06/12 #

I can hear the ‘they took our jobs’ from here.

• I forgot to say I would much rather they were working. If they’re better for a job than an Irish person, that’s the Irish persons fault and the best person for it should get it.

• Paul 16/06/12 #

I wouldn’t say well. I would say those in the asylum process are existing until the have been granted or denied asylum and then can get on with the rest of their lives. Oh and I think you should youtube ‘South Park they took our jobs’ to understand what I was really getting at!

• I was thinking that I was going to link it myself.

• @Ilovelamp: What part dont you believe? As for taxi plates etc, You might be combining Asylum seekers & Economic migrants as the same thing, which they are not. Not every ethnic minority person in Ireland is asylum seeker. Some are just like my mates who went abroad from Ireland to find work and opportunity.

• I’m sorry but I didn’t realise they handed out visas to live here for taxi drivers. My brothers girlfriend from Canada had a hard enough time getting in here to stay for a couple of months.

• Why did she have a hard time getting here from Canada? it is very straight forward.

• Vote for Mick Jones.

• alan Hayes

You are a full on pro immigration gombeen. You are fully on board with the no-nations no bordes marxist nutjobs. You are nearly there with making sure the rest of us have no front or back door, and only the high priests of multicult get to have that, such as yourself. What a selfish Gob****.

They get 20 quid a week, do not pay for room and shelter, they get 3 square meals a day, have heat and electricity. They also are entitled to exceptional needs payments, which can allow them a whole array of itmes like phones etc. And dear boyo, it has been proven and stated by the state that the majority of asylum seekers are not in fear of their lives and are in fact telling lies.

• Cheaper to deport them.

• Paul 16/06/12 #

Back to certain death in many circumstances? You sound like a real nice person Louise. Hope you never have to flee your country and seek shelter in another because you are being persecuted.

• John F 16/06/12 #

What about back to the country they came from Paul? Last time I checked we don’t border any war torn countries, sad reality is the asylum system in this country has been abused and tarnished by fraudsters and crinimals like Pamela Izevbekhai making it harder for genuine cases!

• Paul 16/06/12 #

Your comment doesnt any sense. What does bordering war torn countries have to do with it? There is more than one way to get out of a country where you are persecuted than by crossing the border into the nearest country. Under international law we have obligations to provide safe haven to those who flee persecution because of their race, religious beliefs, nationality, political opinion or membership of a social group. Do you suggest we become global pariahs and extricate ourselves from the Geneva convention? I think you are confusing the issue of applying for asylum in the first country of entry in the EU with the rest of the world. Those seeking asylum in an EU country need to do so in the first EU country they enter. This does not apply outside of the EU. Now the last time I checked the EU was in bad shape but we have got to the war torn state just yet so. Yes the asylum system can be abused but it is not fair to tar everyone with the same brush and it is horrific to suggest that we would send someone back to a country where there is a risk that they would be persecuted. Absolutely barbaric.

• @Paul, forgive me if I’m wrong, but I’m pretty sure our transport hubs don’t have many non-European countries as entry points so I would have to think that when we say send them back, let’s send them back along the countries that they’ve already travelled through.

• Tommy C 27/06/12 #

Our own people are leaving and Ireland is being populated with welfare recipients from abroad.
    Irish people cant afford to have families and yet Africans for example, have 7 or 8 kids and Im speaking from experience! In work today, ( I work in a maternity unit) I met 2 African families. One woman had 4 kids and 1 on the way and another family were due their 11th child! This is crazy! neither family work and both families got to stay in the country on the basis of having kids born here. No wonder people are sick of immigration and asylum seekers! We have become desensitised to the ones who genuinely need our help.

• live beside mosney guys and see the lifestyle they live on 19eur a week..driving top of the range cars,new buggies;best of clothes nd free transport to dub etc can just about live on my retail wage here.im nt against asylum seekers here but jus stating a fact!

• Why do they travel across the whole of europe to Ireland to claim asylum ?. Is there something wrong with claiming asylum in the other countries they pass through before reaching the land of milk and honey ?.

• This is an important subject that needs rational debate – and that means not yelling racist at the drop of a hat. In the cases where people are trying to exploit the system there should be extremely stiff penalties to ensure that the money needed to protect the people that do really need asylum isn’t misappropriated. Also there should be a quota based on the size of the country. Keep it simple.

• Need to fast track these people through the system and deport them, country is in the shite and we need to secure our boarders most of these are getting in through the north, but Shatter continues to decrease our armed forces which could be used to cook and guard these asylum seekers instead of paying private companies ripping off the state

• @mac: You want the border closed? Coming from the north? Then you want the army out? Are you leaning to the right? Careful you don’t fall over.

• I remember when the ASYLUM SEEKERS guaranteed the bank debt after the ASYLUM SEEKERS and ASYLUM SEEKERS had ran up speculative debts on the property boom. Then I recall CHIEF ASYLUM SEEKER saying, it’s ASYLUM SEEKERS way or Frankfurt’s way. And that was the day I realised that it was the ASYLUM SEEKERS who ruined the economy :)

• We can’t afford it, it would be cheaper deport them

• F**k me…We have moved now onto asylum seekers….So why don’t we just build a big boat and put the asylum seekers and the social welfare people onto it and set it a draft leaving all the bankers ( the real people robbing you and your country) to build bigger house’s and banks for themselves and their money !!

• In one year? They really need to speed up the process and let people go out and work.

• Out! Out! Out! No room at the inn’due too germans!

• What about helping them both?

• in Australia we keep the asylum seekers on a island. if the country doesn’t have money I think accommodating asylum seekers is not a bright thing to do. lol u guys have Nigerians in Ireland Nice.

• Wasn’t Australia stolen from the Aboriginal People? Wasn’t Australia populated with planters and convicts? LoL you have no heritage in Australia.

• yes we have heritage, we are a young prosperous nation and moving forward all the time. no history is pretty and the aboriginals received an official apology. kinda lame coming from the Irish like yourself. you keep coming here in 100s daily.

• Hm surprisingly small amount of racist comments, good to see. I’m very curious as to the nature of paying private companies to take care of asylum seekers. Why is everything private companies these days?…

• It’s incredibly disheartening how so many people don’t seem to realise the difference between ‘immigrant’ and ‘asylum seeker’. If we can stop some people being persecuted because of their politics, religion, sexual orientation or gender then I’m happy for my taxes to go towards it. Of course the system should be made more efficient so that the genuine asylum seekers should be able to find work if they can and anyone found to be frauding the system should then be deported.

• It’s always the same. Whether it’s public servants, people on the dole or asylum seekers. From reading the comments most people think asylum seekers are here to scam the system, just like everyone on the dole is a cheat and every public servant is lazy and earns too much. Most asylum seekers are here because they are being persecuted. Because of a few who might be taking advantage of the system we should send them all back to where they fled from? What is wrong with people?

• “Most asylum seekers are here because they are being persecuted”

On what basis do you make that statement ??

• What is wrong with people Sean is that most people are not aware of the subtle machinations of the right wing media. They don’t see what yourself and myself see, a concerted effort to apportion blame to the weak and vulnerable in society instead of the people who really are to blame for the economic collapse, i.e. their mates. I’d rather spend €1bn on helping asylum seekers than on bailing out bankers, which is what we’ll be doing in the coming weeks with more bond payments going into the black hole.

• Hrmm, every other article is riddled with comments about how the government are screwing the ordinary person.

Then an article comes up about asylum seekers – people who’ve had terrible lives, escaped and are now just looking for a decent life, and almost everyone here is saying “screw them, get them out of our country, they’ve no right to be here blah blah blah”.

Guess that confirms the suspicion that the site is merely filled with racist Shinners and not much more.

• Wolfgang,
      What evidence do you have that they have had ‘terrible lives’ ?
      Because they said so ?

If I was having a terrible life in Ireland, I could afford to fly almost a thousand miles over 7 countries to get away from it !!

i had really hoped our naiveity in this area had passed, but sadly it seems not.

• @Johnny: That’s why most of the worlds refugees live in neighbouring countries to where they flee. Because they eime from the poorest parts of the world. Because they don’t have money and because they live in hope that they can return to see their family & friends in the future.

• Ok, go fly over to the countries they’re coming in from and see how well you live there.

Good to see vacuous racism alive and well.

• Haha, amazingly enough I actually agree with you Wolfgang. The journal is a strange place. Mild racism is perfectly acceptable here. And I would guess that mild racism is fairly acceptable in SF circles too.

• Mr robert are serious saying that the non irish people that own shops dont pay taxes,and whats wrong with someone sending money to their love ones..
    I think you have to learnt and respect migration cos not every 2nd person live on handout…
    Secondly the people you see sending money most of them are doctors,nurses,office workers,cleaners who pay their tax..
    Sometimes you forget it was not long ago that irish people left here in thier thousands to look for a better life..stop hating the world is for everyone..

• @Robert: Impressive ignorance.

• Paul 16/06/12 #

Serious amount of racism on here. I’d almost respect the commenters more if they came out and just said ‘I don’t like black people’.

• John F 16/06/12 #

Poor argument Paul! Your whole statement there is racist! Are you saying only black people can be asylum seekers?

• Paul 16/06/12 #

Its not at argument, its an observation. So many people saying get out, we dont have enough, they are rich, taking advantage etc…. Its quite clear the majority of people here haven’t got a clue what the different between an asylum seeker and an economic immigrant is. It doesnt take a genius to work out that the majority of ethnic minorities in Ireland are not native Irish. The uninformed tend to assume that anyone who does not look like themselves is an ‘asylum seeker’ and here to take advantage. I wonder how many people have ever actually met an asylum seeker and listened to their story as to why they are here? And anyone who has and still believes they should be sent back because we can’t afford to give them shelter then is a complete heartless moron.

• For the record,i didnt see no complains when obama stop over for a few hours and we spend millions of tax payers money yet when this same government use their lose change to make life a little bit better for 5100 refugees we hear racism and deportation..wonder why yees didnt deport obama cos he is not irish,he is black and havent any tax….

• Obama is Irish.

• John F 16/06/12 #

WTF has this got to do with Obama? Who ever said the Asylum issue was a race issue? Loose change Mensah? Right now we’re borrowing money to pay the welfare/public sector bills and to keep the street lights on! The RaceCard is a tired cliché!

• Deport deport its the only way most of these asylum seekers are scam artists and want to play the system, we must say no and go ath the same time no, not wanted not needed we have our own problems at home without importing the problems of others who just want to play the system for what they can get

• “most of the asylum seekers are scam artists” Now, kind sir, will you link me to academically referenced and peer reviewed research proving said claims? No, cause you made em up :)

• Martin
      Here you go smug wimpboy, apart from the fact that anyone by virtue of being here has skipped over an array of safe countries is by definition here fraudulantly and thus a scammer. But your look-down-your-nose wannabe better than you, attitude of smugly thinking that you have the uncounterable arguments and any who support strict border control must be uneducated, is a banner signalling your own insecurity and weakness typified by exetreme lefties. Pathetic.

MAJORITY ASYLUM-SEEKERS PAY TRAFFICKERS AND USE FALSE PASSPORTS

“The asylum system is open to abuse, it is being abused, and has proven itself to be costly in terms of establishing the ‘bona fides’ of asylum seekers who manage to travel here.”
      said an Official Justice Dept. source

The majority of people who seek asylum in Ireland pay traffickers to get to Dublin using false passports.
      Sunday Times: 13 Sept 2009

• Smug wimpboy? Aww, upset you did I Lorna “The racist” Mulreavy ;)

• Are sure stephen cos a recent article in the irish time said a refugee was deported to a west african country and it cost the state 100k,that 510 million euro if you want to deport the 5,100 refugees that are living here now..so from were im standing is more to do with racism or pure ignorance to accept the facts that they real people that need help not deportation…

Add New Comment